DoorLoop Alternatives for Midsize Managers: 5 Picks, 2027
The category decision comes before the vendor list
A property management platform is software that holds units, leases, rent ledgers, maintenance tickets and owner statements in one system of record. If DoorLoop no longer fits a midsize book, the decision is about pricing model and accounting depth, not about which name looks strongest. A per-unit tool with published minimums suits a portfolio whose size is steady and whose accounting is simple. A platform with quote-based tiers, a deeper accounting module and an API that can write data back suits an operator who needs owner reporting and integrations to run without manual rework.
The public pages split along that line. Yardi Breeze and Buildium publish most of their starting prices, so you can budget before a sales call. AppFolio and Rent Manager keep their tier pricing behind a quote. Propertyware publishes per-unit rates but sends add-ons and implementation to sales. For the wider category, see our overview of AI property management platforms. Where a workflow layer sits on top of whichever platform you choose, US Tech Automations designs it as a separate, reviewable process, and a later section covers what that means in practice.
TL;DR: Choose the pricing model first, then check whether the API you need is read-only or read/write on the tier you would actually buy. Treat every starting price as a floor, and get minimums, onboarding and transaction fees in writing before you sign.
Key Takeaways
The full monthly bill at your unit count matters more than any headline rate, because minimums and per-transaction fees change the result.
Yardi Breeze's residential rate is level with Propertyware's Basic tier as the lowest per-unit figure among the vendor pages we opened, but its minimums and add-ons decide the real bill.
Read/write API access is the item buyers most often miss: AppFolio states it for its Max tier, while Plus is read-only, and DoorLoop gates API access behind an application.
Buildium's Growth and Premium tiers require paid onboarding, so year-one cost runs above the monthly starting price.
Propertyware's published tiers run $1 to $2 per unit with monthly minimums of $250 to $450, so confirm the implementation fee before you compare.
Rent Manager's public pricing page publishes no prices, so you need a written quote before you can build a budget.
How we evaluated these tools
We weighted six criteria and scored each vendor against public information only. We ran no trials and no product tests. Every price comes from a vendor pricing page opened on October 25, 2026, and where a page offers no figure we say so. Independent cross-checks were thin, because several review sites refused to load during research. Treat the vendor pages as primary evidence, and confirm each figure in writing before you sign.
| Criterion | Weight | Scale | What we looked for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published price clarity | 15% | 0–5 | Per-unit rate, minimum and billing basis shown on the vendor page |
| Fit at midsize unit counts | 20% | 0–5 | Tiers that scale without a quote, or a clear quote path |
| Accounting and reporting depth | 20% | 0–5 | Owner accounting and ledger features stated on public pages |
| Integration and API access | 20% | 0–5 | Whether API access is open, gated, read-only or read/write |
| Implementation and onboarding burden | 15% | 0–5 | Mandatory onboarding, setup fees and implementation charges |
| Fee transparency | 10% | 0–5 | Transaction, screening and e-signature charges stated |
The weights follow the costs that cause mid-cycle surprises. Price clarity carries 15% because it sets how easily you can compare quotes. Accounting depth and integration access carry 20% each, because they decide whether owner statements and data exchange run without a manual step. Onboarding burden carries 15%, since mandatory setup is easy to miss on a monthly price page.
Who this is for
This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a small property management business who is close to choosing a DoorLoop replacement. You are likely running a midsize book where DoorLoop's per-unit model, its minimums or its accounting depth no longer match how your team works.
Red flags: your current system cannot export ledger and lease data, your accounting spans several entities that need consolidated reporting, or no one on your team will own exception review after go-live.
Decision checklist before you request quotes:
Write down your unit count, your entity count and the all-in monthly bill you pay today.
Ask each vendor for the full monthly bill at that unit count, including minimums.
Confirm whether the API you need is read-only or read/write on the tier you would buy.
Get onboarding, setup and implementation fees in writing.
Name the person who will review exceptions after go-live.
Common mistakes:
Comparing a starting price with a per-unit rate as if they measured the same thing.
Treating a monthly minimum as the whole bill, when transaction and screening fees are often listed separately.
Trusting an aggregator's price over the vendor page. Several roundups still show older DoorLoop tiers that do not match the live page.
Building an automation before you have confirmed the export or API access it depends on.
Why the stack question matters now
Multi-system stacks are common among midsize operators, which is why integration gets its own weighting. Survey: 67% say one data system improves performance according to Multifamily Executive (2025). That NAA and AppFolio study drew on nearly 2,000 real estate professionals, and it found that nearly 60% use three or more separate software logins every day, according to Multifamily Executive (2025). Because the study was co-produced with a vendor, read these figures as directional rather than exact.
Feature matrix: what each vendor publishes
This matrix records what each vendor's public page states. A "not stated" cell means we did not find that item on the page we opened, which is not the same as the product lacking it. The figures match the pricing table below.
| Vendor | Per-unit or starting price | Monthly minimum | API access as stated | Onboarding or setup |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DoorLoop | Per unit, $2.50 to $5.00 | $199 to $399 | Gated; apply for access | Not stated on pricing page |
| Buildium | Starting prices, $62 to $400 per month | Not stated | Not stated on pricing page | Required for Growth and Premium; fee not published |
| AppFolio | Per unit, $3.20 (Plus) and $5.00 (Max), starting | Minimum spend applies; quoted | Read-only on Plus; read/write on Max | Not stated on Plus page |
| Yardi Breeze | Per unit, $1 residential | $100 (Breeze); $400 (Premier) | Not stated on pricing page | No onboarding or training fees listed |
| Rent Manager | Quote-based | Quote-based | Not stated on pricing page | Get Quote leads to a demo |
| Propertyware | Per unit, $1 to $2 | $250 to $450 | Enterprise/API adds a per-unit charge | Implementation fee tied to subscription |
Pricing and total cost, checked October 25, 2026
Pricing checked October 25, 2026. Figures come only from each vendor's own pricing page, and where a page offers no figure the table says Quote-based.
DoorLoop's pricing page lists One at $2.50 per unit per month, Connect at $4.00 and Multiply at $5.00, with monthly minimums of $199, $299 and $399, according to DoorLoop. Buildium's page lists starting prices for each tier, and Growth plan starting price: $192 per month according to Buildium (2026). Buildium presents Essential and Premium the same way, as starting points rather than final bills. Yardi's pricing page lists residential Breeze at $1 per unit per month with a $100 minimum, and residential Premier at $1 per unit with a $400 minimum, on an annual agreement where terms and minimums apply, according to Yardi Breeze. Propertyware's page lists three tiers, with Basic tier rate: $1 per unit monthly according to Propertyware (2026). Its Plus and Premium tiers are listed at $1.50 and $2 per unit, with monthly minimums of $250, $350 and $450 across the three tiers, according to Propertyware.
AppFolio's Plus and Max pages show starting rates only, and both say minimum spend and units apply. Rent Manager's page names Basic, Plus and Premium plans but publishes no prices, so its row reads Quote-based.
| Vendor | Tier | Published rate | Published minimum | 400-unit illustration | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DoorLoop | One | $2.50 per unit; $1.50 above 100 units | $199 per month | Depends on how the above-100 rate applies | Pricing |
| DoorLoop | Connect | $4.00 per unit | $299 per month | $1,600 per month | Pricing |
| DoorLoop | Multiply | $5.00 per unit | $399 per month | $2,000 per month | Pricing |
| Buildium | Essential | $62 per month, starting | Not stated | Not computable from public page | Pricing |
| Buildium | Growth | $192 per month, starting | Not stated | Not computable from public page | Pricing |
| Buildium | Premium | $400 per month, starting | Not stated | Not computable from public page | Pricing |
| AppFolio | Plus | $3.20 per unit, starting | Minimum spend applies, not published | $1,280 per month before minimum | Plus page |
| AppFolio | Max | $5.00 per unit, starting | Minimum spend applies, not published | $2,000 per month before minimum | Plus page |
| Yardi Breeze | Breeze (residential) | $1 per unit | $100 per month | $400 per month | Pricing |
| Yardi Breeze | Premier (residential) | $1 per unit; terms and minimums apply | $400 per month | $400 per month | Pricing |
| Rent Manager | Basic, Plus, Premium | Quote-based | Quote-based | Quote-based | Pricing |
| Propertyware | Basic | $1 per unit | $250 per month | $400 per month | Pricing |
| Propertyware | Plus | $1.50 per unit | $350 per month | $600 per month | Pricing |
| Propertyware | Premium | $2 per unit | $450 per month | $800 per month | Pricing |
Each source link points to the page the rate came from. The 400-unit column is arithmetic on the published rate, not a quote, and it leaves out transaction, screening and onboarding fees. The page's own header reads "Starts at $1 Per Unit, Per Month + Start Up", which matches the Basic tier rate.
Worked example, illustrative only: take a firm with 400 units weighing DoorLoop's Connect tier against Yardi Breeze's residential rate. At the rates in the table above, Connect at $4.00 per unit comes to $1,600 a month, while residential Breeze at $1 per unit is $400 a month, which sits at its $100 minimum or above it. That gap is $1,200 a month, or $14,400 a year, before transaction and screening fees. If the firm also wants a sync from DoorLoop, the documented example endpoint https://app.doorloop.com/api/accounts is the starting point for a reconciliation job, but the account fields sit behind DoorLoop's gated reference, so confirm them before you design around them.
Vendor-by-vendor profiles
Each profile separates what the vendor publishes from our reading of it. Facts link to the page they come from. The "Our read" lines are analysis.
DoorLoop (the baseline you are leaving)
Best fit: owners who want a per-unit plan with a visible minimum and a simple tier ladder.
Limitations: API access is gated. DoorLoop says it is selective about who gets access and asks developers to apply, according to DoorLoop (checked 2026).
Implementation: plan an application step before any integration work. The API reference documents a bearer token in the Authorization header.
Our read: the per-unit model is easy to budget at a fixed size, but the minimums mean smaller books pay more per unit than the headline rate suggests.
Buildium
Best fit: operators who want a clear tier ladder, published starting prices and a visible per-transaction fee schedule. The Buildium pricing page is the primary evidence.
Limitations: Growth and Premium require Buildium's onboarding service, and the page does not publish its cost. Very large portfolios and community associations go to a phone quote rather than the published tiers.
Implementation: the onboarding service imports existing data and builds a training plan, so budget that step and its timing before go-live.
Our read: the fee schedule makes the bill easier to model than most, but eSignature, screening and transaction charges all scale with activity, so model them against your last year of usage.
AppFolio
Best fit: operators who want a broad platform and will go through a quoted buying process.
Plus tier starting rate: $3.20 per unit monthly according to AppFolio (2026). Both tiers say minimum spend and units apply, and the page sends buyers to a quote for the final amount.
Limitations: the Plus API is read-only, and only the Max tier states read/write API access on the page we opened.
Implementation: ask for the minimum, the API scope and the onboarding scope in one written quote. The Plus page lists features such as Realm-X Flows on Plus and a leasing CRM on Max.
Our read: a bidirectional sync needs the Max tier, which changes the budget conversation before the demo, not after it.
Yardi Breeze
Best fit: teams with a residential book that want a low per-unit rate, with onboarding and training fees waived on the residential and commercial tabs.
Limitations: add-on prices are not on the page. RentCafe websites, ScreeningWorks Pro and Bill Pay are listed without costs, and commercial Premier is quote-based.
Implementation: the page lists no onboarding, training or support fees on its residential and commercial tabs. Ask for that list in writing and confirm it covers the integrations you need.
Our read: the base residential rate is level with the lowest in this set, but the minimums and add-ons decide whether it stays lowest for your book. The page carries no effective date, so confirm it at signing.
Rent Manager
Best fit: buyers running a formal request for quote across several vendors, who can wait for a demo before they see a figure.
Limitations: the Rent Manager pricing page names Basic, Plus and Premium plans but shows no prices, and its Get Quote button leads to a demo page. You cannot compare budgets from the public page alone. Third-party roundups list per-unit figures we could not confirm on the vendor's site, so keep them out of your budget.
Implementation: request a written quote that states the tier, unit count, minimum, implementation fee and any add-ons, then compare it line by line with the others.
Our read: quote-based pricing is not a red flag by itself. It means the budget question has to come first in the demo.
Propertyware
Best fit: firms that want a configurable platform and can carry a per-unit basis and an implementation step in the budget.
Basic tier rate: $1 per unit monthly according to Propertyware (2026), with the implementation fee tied to the monthly subscription.
Limitations: the Enterprise/API option adds a per-unit charge, and transaction fees apply to screening and payments.
Implementation: get the implementation fee amount and the way billable units are counted in writing before you compare.
Our read: the monthly minimums of $250 to $450 are the main cost to check at small unit counts, so get them and the implementation fee in writing.
Who should choose each vendor
| Vendor | Choose it if | Disqualifier to check |
|---|---|---|
| Buildium | You want published starting prices and a visible fee schedule | Onboarding fee is not published for Growth and Premium |
| AppFolio | You can run a quoted buy and need read/write API access | Plus is read-only; minimum spend is not published |
| Yardi Breeze | Your book is residential and you want a low per-unit rate | Minimums and add-on prices are not on the page |
| Rent Manager | You will run a formal request for quote with several vendors | No public prices to budget from |
| Propertyware | You want configurable software and can carry an implementation step | Implementation fee and Enterprise/API per-unit charge are extra |
| DoorLoop | You want per-unit pricing with visible minimums | API access is gated behind an application |
Build it yourself or buy the workflow layer?
The real alternative for many midsize teams is stitching the workflow together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or building it in-house. Those tools can support run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when they are configured that way. The buyer still has to design and own observability, idempotency, escalation paths, access controls and maintenance, and those are the parts that fail quietly when the person who built them leaves.
A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure the same loop differently: each workflow is written as a trigger, an action and an output, with human approvals fixed in place rather than added later. It is a configurable proposal, not a live deployment, and it depends on prerequisites your platform must meet.
Where collections and reconciliation break
Collections follow-up, proposed workflow: the trigger is a scheduled export of open lease balances from the platform. The action sorts each balance into aging buckets and drafts a reminder for each lease. The output is a queue in your task list that a property manager approves before anything reaches a tenant. Prerequisites: a scheduled export, or read access through the API. On AppFolio that means the Plus or Max tier, since Plus provides read-only API access. On DoorLoop it means an approved API key. Review point: a person approves every tenant message, and any step that could start a legal process stays with a person.
Owner statement reconciliation, proposed workflow: the trigger is a month-end ledger export. The action matches bank deposits to rent postings and flags mismatches. The output is an exception list and draft owner-statement lines. The job must be idempotent, so re-running a month does not double-post, and your team has to design and test that rule. Review point: a bookkeeper approves every journal entry before it posts, and bank data stays read-only. None of these workflows should be read as already running in any customer's account.
When a simpler tool is the better buy
US Tech Automations is the wrong buy in three cases. If the only problem is the monthly bill and your platform's native reminders and reports already cover the workflow, switching vendors is simpler than adding a layer. If you need a system of record for multi-entity accounting, an automation layer does not replace it, so accounting depth comes first. If no one on your team will review exceptions, the workflow will drift into unread queues, and a single-owner shop may do better with native tools. TenantCloud is built around smaller lease counts: its Pro plan is $50 per month billed annually for up to 60 leases, according to TenantCloud, so it is a poor fit for a midsize book.
Common questions
Which DoorLoop alternative has the lowest published per-unit rate?
Yardi Breeze's residential rate is level with Propertyware's Basic tier as the lowest per-unit figure among the vendor pages we opened, but its minimums and add-ons decide what you actually pay.
Can I build a sync against DoorLoop's API without applying?
No, DoorLoop says it is selective about API access and asks developers to apply before it grants documentation and keys.
Which vendor states read/write API access on its public page?
AppFolio's Max tier is the only plan we found with read/write API access stated on its public page, while Plus is read-only.
Do midsize teams have to pay for onboarding?
On Buildium, Growth and Premium require its onboarding service, and the page does not publish the fee, so budget it separately. Yardi's residential and commercial tabs list no onboarding fees.
Should I choose a per-unit or quote-based vendor?
Choose per-unit pricing when your unit count is stable and you want a budget line you can model. Choose quote-based pricing when you need accounting depth, multi-entity reporting or API access, because the price depends on scope.
How do I verify a price before I sign?
Ask for a written quote that lists the tier, unit count, minimum, onboarding, implementation, transaction and screening fees and the API access level, then check it against the vendor's public page on the day you decide.
Choosing and next steps
Start with the pricing model and the API level, because those two facts eliminate most options before a demo. Keep DoorLoop's minimums in the comparison so the new bill is measured against the old one, and put every quote in writing. Once you know which platform's exports and API access you can rely on, see how US Tech Automations configures this for the workflow layer.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.