Dropbox Sign Alternatives for Medical Clinics: 5 Picks 2027
Decide the BAA first, then the plan, then the price
A clinic searching for Dropbox Sign alternatives is rarely shopping for cheaper e-signature in general. It needs a tool that can hold signed intake, consent and release forms, which often contain protected health information (PHI), without creating a HIPAA gap. That narrows the field to e-signature with a signed business associate agreement (BAA) on a plan the practice can actually buy. HIPAA Journal's January 2026 update summarizes HHS guidance that electronic business associate contracts can count as written documents when they satisfy state contract law, and it says a BAA should be in place before an e-signature vendor handles PHI, according to HIPAA Journal (2026).
Dropbox Sign is the baseline here, but it is not automatically the answer. Its HIPAA route covers only annual Standard or Premium plans with a signed BAA and a minimum contract value, so the Essentials plan is out for patient work, according to Dropbox (2026). On its pricing page, Dropbox lists Standard plan rate: $17.50 per user per month on yearly billing according to Dropbox (2026), with the same plan at $25 per user per month on monthly billing.
The decision order follows from that. Confirm the BAA on a specific plan, check whether that plan's volume limits fit your forms, and compare price last. For a wider view of e-signature tools for practices, read our earlier guide to e-signature software for medical practices.
TL;DR: shortlist only vendors that will sign a BAA on a plan you can buy, check the per-user caps against your yearly packet count, and then compare the per-user price.
Key Takeaways
Filter by whether the vendor signs a BAA on a plan you can buy, because a cheap plan without one cannot hold patient forms.
Dropbox Sign's HIPAA route covers annual Standard and Premium plans only, so its Essentials plan is excluded.
DocuSign's public pricing grid marks HIPAA support through a BAA as not included on its self-serve Standard and Business Pro plans, so that route runs through sales.
BoldSign accepts a BAA inside the product on its Business Yearly and Premium Yearly plans, while SignNow and SignWell route BAA access through sales or vendor claims that still need written confirmation.
Envelope caps change the answer: DocuSign and SignNow both cap each user at 100 envelopes or invites per year, which can force a plan change partway through the year.
How we evaluated these tools
We built this guide from public vendor pricing and HIPAA pages plus two independent sources, and we weighted each criterion toward what a small clinic must get right before signing. The weights are our judgment for a practice without a dedicated compliance function, not vendor data. A practice with a compliance officer may reasonably weight the BAA line higher.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it matters for a clinic |
|---|---|---|
| BAA on a plan you can buy | 30% | Without a signed BAA, the vendor should not handle patient forms. |
| Published per-user price | 20% | Shows what a three-user team pays on annual or monthly billing. |
| Envelope or invite caps | 15% | Per-user yearly caps can stop an intake team partway through the year. |
| Audit trail and access controls | 15% | Shows who signed what and when, which matters when a chart is reviewed. |
| Setup and admin burden | 10% | Shows who must configure HIPAA mode and accept the BAA. |
| API and event access | 10% | Needed if signed forms feed a filing or records workflow. |
Six products made the shortlist: Dropbox Sign as the reference point, and five alternatives: DocuSign, Adobe Acrobat Sign, SignNow, SignWell and BoldSign. We left out PandaDoc because its pricing page could not be opened during research, and we left out Zoho Sign because the page we could read did not show per-plan dollar figures.
Pricing and cost for a three-user team
Pricing checked October 25, 2026. Every figure here comes from a vendor pricing page read on that date. The annual cost column is arithmetic: the listed price times three users times twelve months, before taxes, add-ons or any minimum contract value.
DocuSign's Standard plan rate: $30 per user per month according to DocuSign (2026). Business Pro is listed at $45 per user per month on the same page, and both plans cap each user at 100 envelopes a year. That page also marks HIPAA support through a BAA as not included on the Personal, Standard and Business Pro plans and routes Enhanced plans to sales, so for a clinic the BAA is a quote conversation rather than a self-serve checkbox.
Adobe does not publish a price for Acrobat Sign, its e-signature product, and the public prices belong to Acrobat PDF team plans instead. Acrobat Pro for teams is listed at $23.99 per license per month on an annual commitment billed monthly, and Adobe's FAQ credits bulk e-signature sending to the Pro plan, according to Adobe (2026).
SignWell's Business plan shows $30 per month on yearly billing and $36 monthly, with three senders included, according to SignWell (2026). The same page says SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA and audit trails are included on every paid plan, which is a vendor claim that still needs a BAA in writing.
BoldSign's pricing page shows Business at $15 and $25 per user per month without labelling which figure is the annual rate, according to BoldSign (2026). Premium is listed as a flat rate at $99 and $138 per month.
| Vendor | Plan and billing | Listed price | Annual cost, 3 users |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dropbox Sign | Standard, yearly billing | $17.50 per user per month | $630 |
| Dropbox Sign | Standard, monthly billing | $25 per user per month | $900 |
| DocuSign | Standard, annual commitment | $30 per user per month | $1,080 |
| DocuSign | Business Pro, annual commitment | $45 per user per month | $1,620 |
| DocuSign | Enhanced | Quote-based | Quote-based |
| Adobe Acrobat Sign | Acrobat Sign | Quote-based | Quote-based |
| SignNow | Business Premium, annual billing | $15 per user per month | $540 |
| SignNow | Business Premium, monthly billing | $30 per user per month | $1,080 |
| SignWell | Business, yearly billing, three senders | $30 per month | $360 |
| SignWell | Business, monthly billing, three senders | $36 per month | $432 |
| BoldSign | Business, lower of two unlabelled rates | $15 per user per month | $540 |
| BoldSign | Business, higher of two unlabelled rates | $25 per user per month | $900 |
SignNow's figures are cited in its profile below. The BoldSign rows give a range of $540 to $900 a year for three users until the vendor confirms which rate applies to annual billing.
Vendor profiles: where each option fits
Each profile covers best fit, limitations, implementation and the evidence we read. None of these is a reason to buy without a written BAA for the plan you intend to use.
Dropbox Sign (the baseline)
Best fit: a clinic that already pays for an annual Standard or Premium plan and needs the BAA signed so HIPAA use can start.
Limitations: once HIPAA mode is on, users cannot CC people on signature requests, cannot receive PDF copies of signed documents by email, and cannot edit a document's title and message. Admins can restore title and message editing for the team in the admin console, according to the same Dropbox help article cited above.
Implementation: contact your account manager, or use the sales contact form if you have none, and finish the minimum contract value before any patient form is sent. The help article does not state that minimum amount.
Evidence: the Dropbox pricing page and HIPAA help article cited in the opening section.
DocuSign
Best fit: a larger organization that can negotiate an Enhanced plan with sales and wants the BAA handled through its own contracting process.
Limitations: the public pricing page does not show a BAA on Personal, Standard or Business Pro, and the Standard and Business Pro plans cap each user at 100 envelopes per year. Standard also offers a monthly option with up to 10 envelopes per user per month, which is a much smaller ceiling.
Implementation: request an Enhanced quote in writing, confirm that the BAA covers every envelope type you plan to send, and ask which features fall inside HIPAA scope before any patient form is uploaded.
Evidence: the DocuSign pricing page cited above.
Adobe Acrobat Sign
Best fit: an organization that already has an Adobe enterprise relationship or a larger team, since Adobe describes Acrobat Sign Solutions as a comprehensive e-signature solution for businesses that need integration with existing business systems.
Limitations: the public Acrobat Sign price is quote-based, and the pages we read do not mention HIPAA or a BAA. The Acrobat PDF team plans are different products, so a clinic should not assume a PDF bundle covers signed patient forms.
Implementation: ask for a written quote, a BAA and a written statement on HIPAA scope in one request, and do not treat the Acrobat team plans as a substitute.
Evidence: the Adobe pricing page cited above.
SignNow
Best fit: a small team that wants per-user pricing on annual billing and is willing to negotiate its BAA with sales. Invite caps are published, which makes volume easy to plan for.
Limitations: SignNow's own blog says HIPAA compliance is enabled through a BAA and activated only after the BAA is executed, but it does not say which tier includes one. Annual billing also halves the Business Premium cost compared with monthly billing.
Implementation: ask SignNow sales in writing which plan the BAA attaches to, plan around the cap, and keep PHI out of the account until the BAA is executed.
Evidence: Invite cap: 100 signature invites per user per year according to SignNow (2026). The same page lists Business Premium at $15 per user per month on annual billing, and the SignNow blog states the BAA route, according to SignNow (2026).
SignWell
Best fit: a three-person clinic that wants the lowest listed per-seat figure in this table if the BAA is confirmed. The listed Business rate works out to $10 per sender per month on yearly billing, which is below the $15 per user rates listed for SignNow and BoldSign Business.
Limitations: the HIPAA claim comes from the vendor's own pricing page, which does not show a separate BAA document. Additional senders cost extra on top of the included three.
Implementation: request a BAA in writing for the paid tier before you buy, and confirm sender counts with the sales team so the monthly bill matches your staffing.
Evidence: the SignWell pricing page cited in the pricing section.
BoldSign
Best fit: a small clinic that wants the BAA accepted inside the product rather than negotiated by phone. Only account admins can review and sign it.
Limitations: the BAA is available only on Business Yearly and Premium Yearly plans. Monthly and trial plans are not eligible, the Growth tier has no BAA option, and custom plans may need support to enable it.
Implementation: in account settings, open Compliance, find the HIPAA Compliance card and select Review and Accept BAA. Accepting it turns on HIPAA mode immediately, according to BoldSign (2026).
Feature and BAA matrix
The matrix records what each vendor's public pages say. A "Not stated" cell means the page we read did not say, not that the vendor lacks the feature.
| Vendor | Route to a BAA | Plan that carries it on public pages | Envelope or invite cap | Audit trail on public page |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dropbox Sign | Account manager or sales form | Annual Standard or Premium | Unlimited signature requests on Standard | Listed |
| DocuSign | Sales contact | Enhanced, quote-based | 100 envelopes per user per year on Standard | Not stated |
| Adobe Acrobat Sign | Not on public page | Acrobat Sign, quote-based | Not stated | Not stated |
| SignNow | Sales contact | Not stated | 100 invites per user per year | Not stated |
| SignWell | Vendor says HIPAA is included; BAA not shown | Every paid plan, per vendor | Not stated | Listed on every paid plan |
| BoldSign | Admin accepts in Compliance settings | Business Yearly and Premium Yearly | Growth 50 per user per month; Business unlimited | Not stated |
The BAA column is the one to verify in writing before you buy, because it is the difference between a usable tool and an unusable one for patient forms.
Volume caps and a worked example
Price is only half the cost. A plan that caps each user's envelopes can force a second purchase partway through the year, and the published caps differ widely.
| Vendor | Published cap | Three-user capacity per year | Gap against 720 packets a year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dropbox Sign | Unlimited signature requests on Standard | Not capped | None needed |
| DocuSign | 100 envelopes per user per year on Standard | 300 | 420 short |
| SignNow | 100 invites per user per year | 300 | 420 short |
| BoldSign | Premium: 250 envelopes per month, flat | 3,000 | 2,280 spare |
| BoldSign | Business: unlimited envelopes | Not capped | None needed |
Illustrative example, not a customer: three intake staff send 60 consent packets a month, which is 720 a year (60 × 12). On DocuSign's Standard plan, three users can send 300 envelopes a year (3 × 100), leaving 420 packets with no room, and the annual cost would be $1,080 (3 × $30 × 12). That plan has no public BAA, so the real comparison is against an Enhanced quote. On Dropbox Sign's Standard plan on yearly billing, the same three users would pay $630 a year (3 × $17.50 × 12) with unlimited signature requests, and Dropbox Sign's events overview lists signature_request_all_signed, an event name a filing step can listen for.
Automating the signed-form handoff
The pain starts after signing, when a completed packet has to reach the right chart without someone downloading and renaming files by hand.
Proposed, configurable design, not a live deployment: when Dropbox Sign sends the signature_request_all_signed event to a callback URL, US Tech Automations could configure a flow that fetches the completed file, matches the patient name and date of birth against the intake record, files the PDF to the clinic's document store, and writes a log row with the request ID and timestamp.
The prerequisites are an API-enabled plan, a callback URL the vendor can reach, a BAA with every system that stores the file, and an access role for the flow that can read only the signature-request folder. The human review points are two: a staff member confirms any mismatch between the form and the chart before filing, and a second person reviews any packet that returns without all signatures. Because HIPAA mode blocks emailing PDF copies to signers, the flow should not email patients. A staff member should deliver copies through whatever patient-access channel the clinic already uses. Treat this as a design to configure and test in a sandbox before any patient form is routed through it.
Build it yourself in Zapier, Make or n8n?
The realistic alternative is stitching the same flow together yourself in Zapier, Make or n8n. Configured properly, those tools can keep run histories, retry failed steps, branch on errors and keep audit evidence. The buyer still has to design and own duplicate protection, so a retried callback does not file the same packet twice, escalation when a step fails, access controls for each connected account, and maintenance when a vendor changes its event names. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure the same retry, error-branch and escalation steps in one place and write the review queue and audit log at each run, but it still depends on the same prerequisites: API access, a BAA with each system that holds the file, and named staff reviewers.
Who this is for, a checklist and common mistakes
Who this is for: owners or operations leads at small healthcare businesses who must choose a signing tool before the next patient form goes out, and who need the BAA settled first.
Red flags: the vendor will not put a BAA in writing for the exact plan you plan to buy; the plan you can afford is one the vendor excludes from HIPAA, such as Essentials or a monthly plan; your workflow depends on emailing signed PDFs to patients while HIPAA mode is on.
Decision checklist:
Get the BAA in writing for the exact plan and billing cycle you will buy.
Confirm whether the plan must be annual, since Dropbox Sign and BoldSign both restrict HIPAA use to yearly plans.
Divide your yearly packet count by the per-user cap, then multiply by the number of users to check capacity.
Confirm who at the vendor and at your clinic can sign and store the BAA.
Decide where completed PDFs live, who can open them, and confirm that location is also covered by a BAA.
Check API and event access before you design any workflow.
Common mistakes:
Treating a HIPAA line on a pricing grid as a BAA. DocuSign's grid marks Standard as not included.
Buying a monthly plan when the vendor reserves HIPAA for yearly plans.
Choosing the cheapest per-user plan without checking the envelope cap against yearly volume.
Assuming HIPAA mode leaves emailed PDF copies and title editing unchanged.
Frequently asked questions
Is Dropbox Sign HIPAA compliant for a clinic?
Dropbox Sign supports HIPAA use only on an annual Standard or Premium plan with a signed BAA and a minimum contract value, and it is not offered on the Essentials plan. Confirm the BAA for your exact plan before you send any patient form.
Does a HIPAA line on a pricing page mean a BAA is included?
No, a pricing-page line is a claim that still needs a signed BAA for the plan you buy. DocuSign's pricing grid, for example, shows HIPAA support through a BAA as not included on its self-serve Standard and Business Pro plans.
Can a free tier handle patient forms?
No public page we read puts a BAA on a free plan. Dropbox Sign's Essentials plan, BoldSign's Essential plan, DocuSign's Personal plan and SignWell's free plan all show no BAA route.
What does a three-user team pay for each option?
On the listed numbers, three users pay $540 to $900 a year for BoldSign's Business rates, $630 for Dropbox Sign's Standard plan on yearly billing, $540 for SignNow's Business Premium on annual billing, and $360 to $432 for SignWell's Business plan with three senders. DocuSign's Standard plan comes to $1,080, but it has no public BAA. These totals are arithmetic from listed prices, before taxes and add-ons.
Do signed forms need a BAA if they contain only a patient's name?
Usually yes: a patient's name on a clinic form links that person to care, so the form generally counts as PHI and the vendor needs a BAA. Confirm the answer for your specific forms with compliance counsel.
When is a simpler setup better than US Tech Automations?
A simpler setup wins when your signed forms never feed another system, when a handful of signers a month does not justify an automation layer, or when the vendor's built-in reminders and downloads already cover your filing step. In those cases, keep the vendor's native templates and reminders, file the PDF by hand, and skip US Tech Automations until volume or a second system makes manual filing the bottleneck.
Confirm the BAA before the next form
Start with the plan that carries the BAA, check its cap against your yearly packet count, and then compare the price. Ask each vendor for the BAA and the plan it attaches to in writing, and do not send a patient form until both are in hand. Prices and plan terms change, so reconfirm them on each vendor's page before you sign. If the BAA route is settled and the open question is how signed forms reach the chart, see how our automation team configures this.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.