Skip to content
AI & Automation

Eaglesoft Alternatives for Cloud Practices: 4 Steps in 2027

Oct 27, 2026

Start with the hosting category, not the brand

Nearly 30,000 users rely on Eaglesoft according to Patterson Dental (2026), but the same page describes the product as "currently a server-based practice management solution" that requires a physical server. That is why a cloud-first practice needs its own shortlist: the database has to be hosted by a vendor, not kept in an office closet. Every product below moves the database off your premises, so the decision starts with hosting and only then moves to features.

A cloud-first practice management system is software the vendor hosts and operates, so your staff reach scheduling, charting, and billing through a browser or a thin client, with no database server in your office.

TL;DR: six hosted products belong on a serious shortlist. Only two of them, Open Dental Cloud and CareStack, publish a starting price on their own pricing pages. The other four require a written quote, so budget the switch only after you have one.

Key Takeaways

  • Eaglesoft is server-based, so every alternative here changes where the database lives, and migration is the largest unknown.

  • Open Dental Cloud and CareStack are the only two vendors in this guide whose own pricing pages show starting figures.

  • Open Dental Cloud is limited to US customers and is in limited release, and its hosting fee is billed on top of the support fee.

  • Curve Dental, Dentrix Ascend, Denticon, and Patterson Fuse publish no prices, so ask each one for migration, implementation, and per-location terms in writing.

  • Among the practice management vendors, only Open Dental's API specification was opened for this guide, so automation claims for the others need vendor confirmation.

Who this is for

This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a small dental business who is close to choosing an Eaglesoft replacement and wants the hosting question settled before the feature demos. You likely run scheduling, charting, billing, and imaging in one system today. You need the switch cost in writing before you commit, and you want to know whether reminders and reporting can keep running after the move.

Red flags: you must be live before any vendor will give you a written quote; nobody on your team can own a data export and sign off on a migration plan; or your practice is outside the United States, which rules out Open Dental Cloud on the terms its page lists.

How we evaluated these tools

This is an informed buyer's guide built from public vendor pages, trade press, and documentation we could open. We did not run these products, and no vendor supplied material for this article. The weights below reflect how much each criterion changes a cloud-first decision, and each one is applied only to what a vendor actually publishes.

CriterionWeightWhy this weight
Hosted, with no database server in the office25%Removing the office server is the reason to leave Eaglesoft, so a product that still needs one fails the brief.
Published pricing or stated starting price20%Two of six vendors publish figures, so transparency separates a shortlist quickly.
Migration and implementation terms15%Conversion from Eaglesoft is usually the largest unknown, and named fees make a budget possible.
Fit for single or multi-location practices15%Vendors aim at different site counts, and a mismatch costs more than a higher quote.
Documented data access for reporting and automation15%Post-migration workflows need an API or export; checked only where documentation was opened.
Security and compliance statements10%These are vendor claims to verify, so they carry the lowest weight here.

The weights are our judgment, not a measured index. A vendor can rank well on hosting and still lose on transparency, which is why the matrix below separates what each vendor publishes from what it leaves out.

Feature matrix: what each vendor publishes

VendorHosting model (vendor wording)Target practices (vendor wording)Published priceMigration or implementation termsSecurity claim (vendor-stated)API docs opened here
Eaglesoft (baseline)Server-based, requires a physical serverPrivate practicesQuote-basedNot stated on the page openedNot stated on the page openedNo
CareStackCloud-basedDSOs, multi-location groups, single officesStarting prices shownImplementation fee may applyHIPAA compliant; SOC 2 Type 2; ISO 27001:2022No
Curve DentalCloud-based; eliminates server hardwareIndependent, multi-location, startupsQuote-basedStartup pricing mentioned, no amountsNot stated on the page openedNo
Open Dental CloudHosted Open Dental; US customers onlyPractices already on Open Dental supportStarting packages shown$400 one-time migration feeSigned HIPAA BAA requiredYes (official API specification)
Dentrix AscendCloud-native, no server in the officeSingle and multi-location, groups, DSOs, mobileQuote-basedNot stated on the page openedSOC 2 Type IINo
DenticonCloud-hostedDSOs and multi-location groupsQuote-basedNot stated on the page openedSOC 2 Type 2; HIPAANo
Patterson FuseCloud-based, browser accessMulti-location emphasis (vendor); single or multi (trade press)Quote-based (request information)Onboarding includes data migration (trade press)Not stated on the page openedNo

"Not stated" means the page we opened did not say it, not that the vendor lacks the feature. Ask for every blank in writing before you sign, and treat each security claim as unverified until you hold the report or the signed agreement.

Pricing and total cost

Pricing checked October 25, 2026. Only figures printed on a vendor's own pricing page appear as published numbers below, and every other vendor is listed as Quote-based.

Entry hosted package costs $250 a month according to Open Dental (2026). The same page lists 7 concurrent sessions, 5 GB of database storage, and 20 GB of image storage for that package, a $400 one-time migration fee collected before the final migration starts, and $0.40 per GB over the monthly allotment.

Essentials plan starts at $829 a month according to CareStack (2026), and its Intelligence plan starts at $1,299 a month on the same page. CareStack says pricing depends on the number of locations, chairs, and providers, and that it may charge an implementation fee depending on data migration complexity and training needs.

VendorPlan or itemPublished figureScope or condition
CareStackEssentials$829 a month, startingScope set by locations, chairs, and providers
CareStackIntelligence$1,299 a month, startingAdd-on prices not listed
Open Dental CloudSmall$250 a month7 concurrent sessions, 5 GB database, 20 GB images
Open Dental CloudMedium$520 a month15 sessions, 10 GB database, 40 GB images
Open Dental CloudEnterprise$2,370 a month75 sessions, 45 GB database, 130 GB images
Open Dental Cloud75+ sessionsCustom quoteQuote-based
Open Dental supportPer location, first 12 months$199 a month$149 a month after 12 consecutive months
Open Dental CloudMigration$400 one timeCollected before the final migration starts
Open Dental CloudExtra storage$0.40 per GBBilled on the largest size reached in the cycle
Curve DentalAll plansQuote-basedStartup pricing mentioned, no amounts
Dentrix AscendAll plansQuote-basedPackages offered, no amounts
DenticonAll plansQuote-basedPricing routed to sales
Patterson FuseAll plansQuote-basedRequest information
EaglesoftBase to GrowthQuote-basedDiscounts off a Service Club rate by tier

Each figure in the table comes from the vendor pages cited in this section and in the profiles below.

Support fee: $199 a month per location according to Open Dental (2026) for the first 12 months, dropping to $149 after 12 consecutive months. The cloud page requires each location to remain on Open Dental support and bills cloud fees separately from support, so a cloud location should expect both lines.

The build-up below assumes the $199 support rate applies to a cloud location. The cloud page requires support but does not print a combined price, so confirm that figure in the quote.

Line itemCalculationAmount
Support fee, first 12 months$199 × 12$2,388
Small hosted package, first 12 months$250 × 12$3,000
One-time migration$400$400
First-year total$2,388 + $3,000 + $400$5,788
Monthly run rate, first 12 months$199 + $250$449 a month
Image overage example(45 GB reached − 20 GB allotment) × $0.40$10 a month

Worked example (illustrative, not a customer): assume one location sends 400 reminder texts a month through Twilio, with a StatusCallback URL on each message so the delivery result reports back to your systems (Twilio's status-callback guide). If 6% of those texts come back undelivered, that is 24 messages a month for a person to review, or 288 a year. With the Small hosted package, the first-year total is $5,788 including the $400 migration fee, and the monthly run rate after migration is $449. If the image folder reaches 45 GB against the 20 GB allotment, the 25 GB of overage adds $10 a month at $0.40 per GB. The review queue does not change the hosting bill, but it sets the staffing load the office absorbs after cutover.

Vendor profiles

Each profile separates the vendor's own statements from the outside evidence we could open. Where we could not check a claim, the profile says so.

CareStack

Best fit: multi-location groups that want one hosted system across several sites. CareStack's pricing page says licenses are usually tied to locations and providers rather than individual users, and that adding users does not require a new license for each one.

Limitations: the page does not list prices for its add-ons (VoiceStack, CareRevenue, and Ace DSN) or for API access, and it does not mention a free trial. Plan on a quote for anything beyond the two listed plans.

Implementation: ask for the implementation fee in writing and ask exactly what the data migration from Eaglesoft covers. The page says there are "no other additional charges when you switch over," which is a vendor statement to confirm line by line.

Evidence: the pricing page is the primary source. The homepage claims HIPAA compliance, SOC 2 Type 2, and ISO 27001:2022 certification; we did not check those against certificates.

Curve Dental

Best fit: independent and startup practices that want no server and are comfortable with a quote-based purchase. Curve's pricing page says the product "eliminates the need for server hardware and 3rd-party IT fees" according to Curve Dental (2026), and it offers special pricing on implementation and license fees for startups.

Limitations: the pricing page lists no plan names or amounts and routes buyers to a demo or a personalized quote. It names implementation and license fees as cost lines and mentions startup pricing, but gives no amounts.

Implementation: request implementation and license fees on separate lines, the data conversion scope, and written confirmation of which startup terms apply. The page we opened makes no HIPAA or audit claim, so request the compliance paperwork directly.

Open Dental Cloud

Best fit: practices already comfortable with Open Dental's software that want it hosted, and US customers who can accept a limited-release onboarding queue. The cloud page says the service accepts a limited number of customers and gives preference to good-fit situations.

Limitations: the service is US only and in limited release. Cloud fees sit on top of support, each location must stay on support, and third-party integrations work only if they use the Open Dental API. Hosting fees may change with the vendor's external hosting costs, and cloud fees are non-refundable once services have been rendered. The fees page says customers may switch to self-hosted at any time without penalty, which is the fallback to ask about before you sign.

Implementation: the $400 migration fee is one-time and collected before the final migration starts, and a signed HIPAA BAA is required. Open Dental's public API specification names Patient and Appointment resources and recommends the API for most interfaces unless you are connecting to an existing FHIR interface. That is the detail to check if you plan any automation.

Dentrix Ascend

Best fit: practices that want a packaged cloud system from a large dental distributor and are willing to compare quoted packages. Henry Schein One's product page calls Ascend "one cloud-native practice management software" for single and multi-location practices, group practices, DSOs, and mobile dentistry. The page claims Ascend "was the first dental practice management software solution to achieve SOC-2 Type II compliance" according to Henry Schein One (2026). That is a vendor claim, so ask for the report and its date. The page publishes no prices and invites buyers to explore packages.

Limitations: the only subscription terms we found come from the 2013 beta launch. According to DentistryIQ (2013), "subscriptions for the Dentrix Ascend service will be offered on a month-to-month basis." That was a launch statement, so current contract length is unknown and needs to be asked.

Implementation: confirm the packaged modules you actually need, the contract term, and how Eaglesoft data converts before you compare totals.

Denticon

Best fit: groups planning several sites or a DSO-style rollout, because the vendor's site positions Denticon around DSOs and multi-location groups. The site says the product is hosted in the cloud rather than on in-house servers.

Denticon cites more than 13,000 practices according to Planet DDS (2026). That is a vendor-stated reach figure we did not verify independently. The same page says Planet DDS is compliant with "all standards included in the SOC 2 Type 2," and it sends pricing questions to sales.

Limitations: the site is DSO-first, so a single-office buyer should ask in writing for a solo-practice package and its price. The page lists no software pricing.

Implementation: ask for the onboarding plan, the data conversion scope, and whether reporting and patient messaging are included or sold separately.

Patterson Fuse

Best fit: buyers who want a cloud system from Patterson and expect to add locations later. Fuse comes from the same company as Eaglesoft, so treat it as a same-vendor upgrade path rather than an independent rival. Patterson's Fuse page says the product can "consolidate multi-location practice data and processes in one place." Trade press calls it "browser based so any dental practice can use it" and "suitable for both single-and multilocation dental practices," according to Dental Products Report (2023).

Limitations: Patterson's page leads with multi-location language and offers "Request information" rather than prices. The trade coverage we found is from 2023, and we did not confirm whether Fuse and Eaglesoft share a migration path. Ask directly.

Implementation: the 2023 trade article says onboarding includes "a personalized onboarding plan that includes data migration, training, and practice adoption." Pin down exactly what that covers in the quote.

Eaglesoft (baseline)

Best fit: practices that already run Eaglesoft well and can keep the server, backups, and remote access under control. Patterson's FAQ says Eaglesoft Mobile is "primarily view-only" and recommends a third-party remote-access tool for full access.

Limitations for a cloud-first buyer: staying means running a physical server and managing backups yourself. Patterson lists the plans as Base, Starter, Foundations, Professional, and Growth, and says plans require a 24-month enrollment according to Patterson Dental (2026). Compare that commitment with the hosted quotes on the same terms.

Migration and the reporting gap

Migration is where a cloud switch hides its cost, and it is also where automation helps most. The two workflows below show what to configure. Neither describes a live deployment.

A proposed US Tech Automations reminder workflow starts with a trigger: a Twilio status callback reports an undelivered or failed reminder text. The action writes the patient ID, appointment time, and error details to a log, then checks the appointment in the practice system through its API or a scheduled export. The output is a daily exception list that a front-desk person reviews before anything is resent. Prerequisites are a Twilio account with status callbacks enabled, API or export access from the chosen practice system (confirm it in the contract for any vendor other than Open Dental), and a signed business associate agreement with each vendor that touches patient data. Human review points: staff approve every resend, and the workflow never writes to a patient chart.

A second proposed US Tech Automations workflow covers the cutover. The trigger is that the Eaglesoft export and the new system's import both finish. The action compares patient counts, appointments booked for the next 30 days, and open balances between the two extracts. The output is a discrepancy report for the office manager and a go or no-go note before cutover. Prerequisites are a complete export from Eaglesoft in a format the new vendor accepts, which none of the pages we opened describe, and read access to the new system. Human review points: the owner or operations lead signs off on each mismatch category, and the workflow reports differences without correcting them.

Do-it-yourself stacks versus a managed workflow

Zapier, Make, and n8n can build the same reminder and reconciliation logic without a vendor. Compared fairly, those tools can keep run histories, retries, error branches, and audit evidence when they are configured that way, and some teams run them well. The buyer still has to design and own observability, idempotency so a retried job does not text the same patient twice, escalation paths, access controls, and maintenance whenever the practice system's API changes.

A proposed US Tech Automations design would define those pieces up front: the exception queue, the approval step, the log retention period, and the access list would be part of the configured workflow rather than a project your office builds later. That changes the setup effort, not the prerequisites, and it does not guarantee a result.

Glossary

  • Cloud-hosted: the vendor runs the application and database, and staff access them over the internet.

  • On-premise: the software's database runs on a server in your office.

  • BAA (business associate agreement): the HIPAA contract a vendor signs before it handles patient data.

  • SOC 2 Type 2: an audit report on security controls over a period of time; a claim without the report is unverified.

  • Concurrent session: one active user interface instance, the unit Open Dental uses to size its cloud packages.

  • Status callback: a webhook from Twilio that reports the delivery state of a message.

  • Idempotency: a design property that stops a retried job from repeating an action, such as sending the same text twice.

  • Migration fee: a one-time charge for moving historical data into a new system.

Four steps to a shortlist

  1. Settle the hosting question first. Remove any option that still needs a database server in your office, since that defeats a cloud-first goal, and note what Eaglesoft still does well for your site.

  2. Request written quotes from every candidate. The two vendors with published figures still need a quote for your site count, and the four quote-based vendors need one before you can compare. Each quote should separate license, hosting, implementation, migration, support, and add-ons.

  3. Get the data path in writing. Ask what Eaglesoft data moves, in what format, who runs the export, and whether the new system exposes an API or scheduled export for the reconciliation check above.

  4. Verify the security paper. Request the signed BAA and, for any SOC 2 Type 2 claim, the report and its date, then compare them with the claims in the matrix.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: if your only need is appointment reminders, the messaging that already ships with your practice system may be enough and simpler to run. If your monthly review is a handful of standard reports, the built-in reporting in a hosted system may cover it without an added layer. If the practice system has no API or export path, the workflows above cannot run as designed, and a manual checklist is the better tool until that path exists.

Frequently asked questions

Is Eaglesoft a cloud product?

No. Patterson describes Eaglesoft as a server-based practice management solution that requires a physical server, so by its own description it is not a cloud product.

Which alternatives publish prices?

Open Dental Cloud and CareStack publish starting figures on their own pricing pages. Curve Dental, Dentrix Ascend, Denticon, and Patterson Fuse are quote-based in the pages we opened.

Is Open Dental Cloud cheaper than CareStack?

It may be on the published starting figures, but the two numbers are not like-for-like. The Small hosted package is $250 a month before the separate $199 support line, while CareStack's Essentials plan starts at $829 a month and is scoped by locations, chairs, and providers.

Can I move my Eaglesoft data myself?

We could not confirm an export path in the Eaglesoft pages we opened, so do not assume one. Open Dental's cloud migration is a $400 one-time fee, CareStack may charge an implementation fee, and trade press on Fuse describes onboarding that includes data migration. Get the export format and migration scope in writing before you sign.

Do I need an automation layer after the switch?

Not always. Start with the reminders and reports the practice system already includes, and add a workflow only when a recurring task has a clear trigger, an API or export, and a named person who reviews the output.

What security evidence should I ask for?

Ask for the signed business associate agreement and, for any SOC 2 Type 2 claim, the audit report and its date. Open Dental requires a signed HIPAA BAA for cloud customers, while the CareStack, Denticon, and Dentrix Ascend pages we opened state compliance claims without attaching audit reports.

Next steps

Start with the hosting category, then request written quotes from the four quote-based vendors and the two published-price vendors. Each quote should cover migration, support, and add-ons for your site count. Use the four steps above as the checklist, and treat any unverified claim as open until it is in writing. If reminders and reconciliation matter to your team, see how the workflow is configured before you commit to a data path.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.