Skip to content
AI & Automation

Eat App vs Resy in 2027: Which Fits a Small Restaurant

Oct 27, 2026

Eat App or Resy: the category decision comes first

For a small restaurant, the choice between Eat App and Resy is a choice between two reservation and table management systems, and three things decide it: whether you can see the price before a sales call, whether your point-of-sale system connects on a plan you can afford, and whether you plan to build anything on top of your booking data. A restaurant reservation system is the software that holds your booking book, floor plan and guest list, and it sends the confirmations and reminders that cut no-shows. Eat App publishes its plan prices on its pricing page. Resy does not publish a price for its restaurant software, so the Resy side of this comparison can only be scoped by asking for a written quote.

Naming matters, because "Resy" covers two products. Diners book through the Resy app, while restaurants run their side of the business in ResyOS. The Apple App Store listing says the ResyOS app "is for restaurants and requires a valid ResyOS account" and points diners to the Resy app instead, according to Apple App Store. This guide compares Eat App with ResyOS, the restaurant-side product.

TL;DR: Eat App is the easier comparison because its prices are public. ResyOS is worth a sales conversation if Resy's diner network is the main reason you want it. Do not sign either one until the POS connection and any per-cover fee are confirmed in writing.

If you are also weighing OpenTable, our OpenTable vs Resy automation guide covers that decision, which this one does not.

Key Takeaways

  • Eat App publishes prices for four plans, including a free tier.

  • ResyOS publishes no plan price, so its cost is Quote-based until Resy sends a written quote.

  • A third-party review lists a $2 per-cover booking network fee that Eat App's own pricing page does not state, so ask for it in writing.

  • POS connection is the cost most likely to surprise you, and Eat App lists a $39 monthly add-on for it.

  • ResyOS POS Integration is limited to two partner plans, so check which plan your register needs before you compare totals.

  • Neither vendor offers self-serve API access in what we found; Eat App's API depends on partner activation, and ResyOS POS access runs through Resy.

  • American Express agreed to acquire Resy in 2019, and Eat App's most recent funding round was announced in January 2026.

How we evaluated these two products

This guide is an informed buyer's guide built from public vendor pages, partner directories and trade coverage. It is not a hands-on trial, and every figure below comes from a page we opened for this review. Where two sources disagree, we used the vendor's own page for what it sells and say so in the text.

Each criterion carries a weight out of 100. We gave cost clarity, POS connection and API access 20% each, because they decide whether a small restaurant can budget, connect the register and build reports or messages on top of its bookings. Guest messaging and no-show controls get 15%, since the reservation system's job is to protect the covers you have planned for. Cover limits also get 15%, because a plan with a hard ceiling changes the price for a busy room. Diner discovery gets 10%, since it matters only when you want new guests from the platform. These weights are our judgment, not vendor data, so change them if your priorities differ.

CriterionWeightWhat it decidesWhat the public record shows
Total cost clarity20%Whether you can budget before a sales callEat App lists prices for 4 plans; ResyOS publishes none
POS connection20%Whether your register links, and on which planResyOS lists 13 POS systems for partner plans; Eat App's POS add-on is $39/mo
API or export access20%Whether a builder can read or write reservationsEat App publishes partner API guides; no self-serve ResyOS API found
Guest messaging and no-shows15%Whether confirmations and deposits are built inNetwork data: 3.7% of parties never arrived
Cover limits and plan gating15%Whether the plan fits your covers a monthEat App's Free plan caps at 100 covers a month
Diner discovery10%Whether the platform brings in new guestsResyOS cites the Resy Demand Network; Eat App lists a partner network

A cover is one seated guest, and it is the unit both vendors use for plan limits. The weights matter most where the public record is thin. On Resy, that is price and API access, which is why those two criteria carry the most weight in this review.

Pricing: what can and cannot be compared

Pricing checked October 26, 2026. Eat App's pricing page lists a free plan, three paid plans and an Enterprise option. Lite, Core and Pro each carry a 14-day trial that needs no credit card. ResyOS pricing is Quote-based: Resy's pricing page publishes no plan price, so a written quote is the only Resy figure you can rely on.

Eat App's Lite plan costs $99 a month on monthly billing and $69 a month on yearly billing, according to Eat App (2026). Eat App's Pro plan costs $389 a month on monthly billing, and Pro plan, yearly billing: $299/mo according to Eat App (2026). The page advertises up to 30% savings on yearly billing, and the Lite plan's yearly saving is the largest in percentage terms.

Eat App's own page is inconsistent in three places, and each one affects the budget. Its comparison table shows a 300-covers-a-month limit on Lite, while its feature list says unlimited guests on every plan. Its Pro plan says POS and payments integration are included, while the same page lists each as a $39 a month add-on. And its Navi AI suite lists a usage-based fee with no amount. Get all three answers in writing before you rely on the plan price.

VendorPlanMonthly billingYearly billing (per month)
Eat AppFree, 100 covers a month$0$0
Eat AppLite, 300 covers a month in one table$99$69
Eat AppCore, unlimited covers per feature list$199$159
Eat AppPro, unlimited covers per feature list$389$299
Eat AppEnterpriseLet's talkLet's talk
ResyResyOS plansQuote-basedQuote-based

The fee that changes the math most is one Eat App's own page does not state. Booking network add-on: $2 per cover according to FrontDesk Review (2026), and the same review says the flat-fee story only holds if the add-on is skipped. Ask Eat App to confirm in writing whether it applies to your account.

Take a hypothetical restaurant that seats 900 covers a month and is considering Eat App's Pro plan on yearly billing at $299 a month. If all 900 covers came through the booking network at $2 each, the add-on would cost $1,800 a month, about 6.0 times the plan price (1,800 ÷ 299 ≈ 6.02). If only a third of covers came through the network, the add-on would cost $600 a month, about twice the plan price. The number to check is the share of covers that would hit the add-on. The integration side needs its own check too: Eat App's POS sync guide describes a reservation webhook event named update_reservation, which fires when a booking is updated, so anyone building on it must confirm webhook delivery is enabled on the account.

Feature matrix for a small restaurant

The matrix below uses each vendor's own description where one exists, and it marks the cells where the public record conflicts or is silent.

FeatureEat AppResyOS
Reservations and online bookingOnline booking channels and a partner networkReservation booking and management
Table managementDedicated product with guest recordsTable management with integrated CRM
WaitlistWaitlist product; online waitlist add-on at $19/moWaitlist with two-way SMS and Resy Notify
Confirmation textsNot described on its About page; WhatsApp messaging coveredAutomated SMS confirmations
Deposits and cancellation feesDeposits and pre-payments add-on at $19/moFive reservation types, from cancellation fees to deposits
POS integration$39/mo add-on, though Pro's page says includedPartner plans only (Platform and Platform 360)
Guest CRMGuest database and CRM with a Loyalty SuiteIntegrated CRM within table management
Public priceFour priced plans plus EnterpriseQuote-based
API accessPartner and Concierge API guides; partner activation neededNo self-serve API found
Free tierFree plan, 100 covers a monthNot published

Eat App's About page lists reservations, table management, a guest CRM with a Loyalty Suite, a waitlist, WhatsApp messaging, Pay At Table and shift management. The ResyOS listing on Olo describes table management with an integrated CRM, waitlist management with two-way SMS, Resy Notify for self-serve waitlisting, automated SMS confirmations, five reservation types and ticketing with PCI-compliant card handling. Olo is a partner directory, so treat those listed features as unverified until a demo confirms them.

Vendor profiles: best fit, limits and setup

Eat App

Eat App fits an owner who wants the price on paper before a demo, a free tier for a room under 100 covers a month, and add-ons bought one at a time. A waitlist at $19 a month or deposits at $19 a month can be added without moving to a higher plan, according to the same pricing page. Its limits are the cover-limit conflict, the unconfirmed booking network fee and the usage-based AI fee. The page also does not state contract length or cancellation terms, and Enterprise is "Let's talk," so multi-location groups will be in a quote-based buying process.

Implementation is the part to check first. Eat App's partner API guide says it is written for Eat App partners who run booking platforms, and that tech providers serving individual restaurants should use a different API. It also says regional access depends on Eat App activating a partnership with a restaurant in that region. Confirm which key you can get and whether your location is active before you design anything.

Eat App's backers have changed recently. Its most recent funding round was a $10 million Series B extension, led by PSG Equity through its portfolio company Zenchef SAS, which took total funding past $23 million according to Wamda (2026). Read the data-handling terms in your contract rather than assuming them.

ResyOS

ResyOS fits a restaurant that wants Resy's diner network inside its back office. The ResyOS app listing says restaurants can "get discovered through the Resy Demand Network and potentially grow your guestbook." The network is the reason to consider it, and the case for it rests on that claim rather than on any published price.

Resy's scale and ownership are the clearest facts in this comparison. Restaurants on Resy at acquisition: 4,000 according to Restaurant Dive (2019), across 154 U.S. cities. American Express agreed to acquire Resy in May 2019, and the Resy brand and its leadership were to stay in place. We found no later report of a sale.

The limits are concrete. POS Integration is available only to Platform and Platform 360 restaurant partners, according to the Resy Help Center (13 named POS systems). The Olo listing says the Resy integration is "currently only supported through the Omnivore API," and in this research we found no public, self-serve Resy API. POS access and upgrades go through your Resy account manager or resysupport@resy.com.

Where a proposed workflow sits in your week

US Tech Automations would design these as proposed, configurable workflows, not as a live deployment. Each one depends on a data path you confirm before anything is built. The reason to build one at all is the no-show problem: Guests who never arrived: 3.7% of parties according to Bloom Intelligence (2026), and the authors call these network-level figures "directional benchmarks, not universal constants."

For Eat App, a proposed workflow would start with a trigger: a booking is updated, which Eat App's sync guide describes as the update_reservation event once webhook delivery is enabled. The action reads the reservation, checks it against a deposit rule that you set, such as a party size you choose, and queues a text reminder. The output is a row in your reservations log and a flag on the host stand list. Prerequisites are API access that Eat App approves and a named person who owns the deposit rule. A manager must approve each new deposit rule and read every message template before it goes live.

For ResyOS, the trigger would differ, because no self-serve API turned up. A proposed workflow would start from a nightly export of the day's reservations, if Resy makes one available to your account, or from a POS event if your register is on one of the partner systems and the right plan. The action flags bookings that match a no-show pattern you define from your own history, such as repeat bookers who cancelled last time, and queues a confirmation. The output is a daily list for the host stand. Prerequisites are a written answer from Resy on export or partner access. The owner decides which flagged guests get a personal call, because a text sent to the wrong guest cannot be recalled.

The DIY route is Zapier, Make or n8n, or an in-house script. Those tools can keep run histories, retries and error branches when you configure them, and you can see each step they took. The owner then carries the rest: stopping a retried webhook from sending two texts, deciding who is alerted when a step fails, restricting access to guest data, and repairing the flow each time Eat App or Resy changes its interface. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure the same run history, retries and review queue, but it would still need the same API prerequisites and sign-offs. The choice is about who maintains the work, not which tool is smarter.

Who this is for, and who should choose which

Your situationLean towardWhy
You need prices before a sales callEat AppFour plan prices are on its pricing page
You want Resy's diner networkResyOSIts listing cites the Resy Demand Network
Your POS must connect from day oneNeither until confirmedEach has a plan or add-on condition to confirm in writing
You plan custom reservation automationEat App, if partner access is grantedPublic partner guides exist; ResyOS access runs through partner agreements
You stay under 100 covers a monthEat App's Free planThe Free plan includes up to 100 covers a month

Who this is for: owners who want prices on paper before a demo and can live within Eat App's cover limits or pay for the next tier. Red flags: an unconfirmed $2 per-cover fee that appears on the first invoice; a POS requirement with no written plan confirmation; a plan to build integrations before partner access is granted.

Who this is for: owners who want Resy's diner network and will run a quote-first buying process. Red flags: you need a published price to compare at all; you expect the register to connect without confirming the POS plan; you need an API for custom reporting and have no partner agreement in place.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: if the reservation system's own reminders and reports already cover what you need, a workflow layer adds cost and review work you do not need. If your booking and POS systems give you no export or API access and you have no plan to build on the data, a weekly spreadsheet review is the better fit. And if you take a handful of bookings a day and check the book by hand, the built-in confirmations in either product may be enough.

Common mistakes before you sign

  • Comparing Eat App's list price with a Resy quote as if both were final, when the Eat App figure excludes add-ons.

  • Choosing the monthly price when yearly billing is available; on Eat App's page, Lite falls from $99 to $69 a month.

  • Ignoring the cover ceiling; the Free plan stops at 100 covers a month and forces an upgrade past that.

  • Assuming the POS connects because a plan name sounds like it includes it. Confirm the plan in writing.

  • Designing an automation before the API key is issued, since Eat App ties partner access to activation.

Frequently asked questions

Is Resy the same product diners use to book?

No. Diners book through the Resy app, and restaurants run their side in ResyOS, which the Apple App Store listing says is for restaurants and requires a ResyOS account.

Does Eat App publish its prices?

Yes. Its pricing page lists a Free plan, Lite, Core and Pro, with Enterprise on a "Let's talk" basis.

What does ResyOS cost?

ResyOS is Quote-based, because Resy's pricing page publishes no plan price. Ask for a written quote that separates the platform fee, POS access and any payment or per-cover charges.

Does Eat App charge per cover?

Eat App's own pricing page lists no per-cover fee, while a third-party review says a booking network add-on costs $2 per cover. Get the answer in writing before you rely on the flat-fee story.

Can I connect either one to my point-of-sale system?

For ResyOS, POS Integration is available only to Platform and Platform 360 restaurant partners, and Resy's help center names 13 supported systems, including Square, Toast and Upserve. For Eat App, POS integration is a $39 a month add-on on its page, while the Pro plan description says it is included, so confirm which one applies.

Can I build my own automation on either platform?

Eat App publishes partner and Concierge API guides, but its partner guide is written for booking platforms and says regional access depends on activation. In this research we found no self-serve ResyOS API, so plan on a partner agreement before you design anything.

Next step before you sign

Before you sign either contract, get written answers to these questions:

  • Does the $2 booking network add-on apply to your Eat App account?

  • Which Eat App plan includes POS integration, and does the $39 add-on or the Pro plan's "included" note apply?

  • What are Eat App's contract length and cancellation terms, which its pricing page does not state?

  • Can Resy send a written quote that lists platform, POS and payment fees on separate lines?

  • Which Resy plan does your POS need, and how do you request an export or API key?

If you want to see how US Tech Automations configures this for your booking and POS setup, see how US Tech Automations configures this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.