Skip to content
AI & Automation

Extensiv Alternatives for Growing 3PLs: 5 Options in 2027

Oct 27, 2026

If you run a growing third-party logistics business, the first decision is a category decision. You either need a multi-client warehouse management system (WMS), meaning warehouse software that keeps each client's inventory, rates and reporting separate inside one operation, or you need a general warehouse system where client billing is added later. Settle that split first, and the shortlist gets much shorter.

TL;DR: Extensiv 3PL Warehouse Manager is the incumbent this guide measures against. Of the five alternatives reviewed here, Zenventory is the only one whose pricing page lists plan prices, Logiwa and Zenventory describe the most specific per-client billing, and Deposco is built around a site-based subscription and a white-label client portal. Most of the others publish no price, so the real comparison happens in written quotes.

Key Takeaways

  • Among the vendors reviewed, only Zenventory lists plan prices on its own pricing page. The rest quote, or publish no figure.

  • Per-client billing is what separates a multi-client system from a warehouse system. Logiwa's billing page lists an itemized set of charges, including tiered pricing, markup rates and client-specific price calculation.

  • Four vendors describe a client-facing portal on their pages. Extensiv's product page does not mention one, so ask for it in writing before you compare anything else.

  • Published go-live timelines are rare. Deposco's 2026 guide states one, and the other pages reviewed gave no timeline we could verify.

  • Any integration you build yourself needs a named owner. Extensiv's own help docs set token and webhook rules that a self-built connection has to handle.

Who this is for

This guide is for the owner or operations lead at a small logistics business who is close to choosing. You already know you need a WMS, and you want to know which Extensiv alternative fits a growing 3PL, including whether you need a multi-client platform at all.

Red flags: you need a published price before any sales call; your clients never log in to see their own stock; nobody on your team can own API credentials or billing-rule changes.

Why growing 3PLs look past Extensiv

Extensiv's 3PL Warehouse Manager product page describes its billing module as "From tracking every chargeable event to automatically pushing invoices to your Quickbooks account," and lists rule-based order routing, serial, lot and expiration tracking, EDI and an open REST API among its features. Those are the right capabilities for a multi-client operation, which is why the product is the baseline here. The same page publishes no price, and its calls to action are "Request Demo" and "Talk to an expert."

Growing 3PLs usually look elsewhere for one of three reasons: they want a number they can compare before a sales call, they want clients to log in without a manual workaround, or they want the go-live timeline in writing before they sign. None of those is a verdict on Extensiv. They are the questions this guide uses to score the field.

The category is large. U.S. 3PL net revenue: $138.2 billion in 2025 according to Logistics Management (2025), up 5.1% from 2024 in Armstrong & Associates' count. The macro picture is less useful for a software decision. The 2026 State of Logistics report puts US business logistics costs at $2.40 trillion for 2025, down 1% from 2024, according to Supply Chain Digest (2026). That is an economy-wide figure, not a warehouse software benchmark, so it should not decide your purchase.

How we evaluated these tools

This is an informed buyer's guide built from public vendor pages, trade press and directory listings. We did not run trials, and nothing below is a measured result. Each criterion carries a weight in the table below. The weights are our judgment for a growing 3PL, not vendor data, so change them if your clients or workflows differ.

CriterionWeightWhy it matters for a growing 3PL
Per-client billing and invoicing25%Each client has its own rates, and month-end work grows with every client added
Client visibility and portal15%Clients who can check their own stock send fewer status questions
Warehouse execution depth15%Receiving, lot and serial tracking and routing must hold across clients
Integration and API openness15%Accounting and channel links decide how much manual re-keying remains
Scale across clients and sites10%Multi-client and multi-warehouse support has to hold as volume grows
Implementation disclosure10%A written go-live timeline and migration terms reduce surprise cost
Pricing clarity10%A published number, or a written quote, makes the options comparable

Billing and client visibility carry 40% of the weight because they decide how much month-end and client-question work grows as you add clients. Pricing clarity carries 10%. A quote-only vendor can still be the right choice, but it has to be budgeted against a written number before you commit.

Feature matrix: what each vendor's own pages state

Blank cells in a matrix like this usually mean the page did not say it, not that the vendor lacks the feature. Where we did not open a relevant page, the matrix says "Not checked."

VendorClient portalPer-client billingAccounting sync namedOpen API namedPublished price
ExtensivNot on product pageBilling Manager with client-level rates (vendor blog)QuickBooksOpen REST APINone
ShipHeroSelf-serve client portal3PL billing automation (landing page)Not statedNot checkedCustom, by order volume
LogiwaClients view and pay billsItemized billing list, tiered pricing, markupsQuickBooks and NetSuiteNot checkedNone
InfoplusNot describedNo 3PL billing module documented (directory profile)Not namedAPI section listed, no detailNone
ZenventoryClient login with own brandingFees set per client, statements by clientQuickBooks OnlineNot checkedListed
DeposcoBright Portal, white-labeledBilling shown in 2026 guide, not on portal pageNot namedNot checkedNone

Zenventory and Logiwa describe the most concrete per-client billing on their pages. Infoplus's 3PL page names 3PL as an industry but does not describe client billing, which is why its profile in the next section matters.

Pricing and total cost: what is public and what is quoted

Pricing checked October 25, 2026.

Zenventory is the only vendor here whose pricing page lists plan prices. The Starter plan on Zenventory lists at $499 a month and the Growth plan at $799 a month, with new customers getting 50% off their first three months ($249 and $399 a month), a one-time setup charge of $1,000 on each plan, and $100 a month for each additional warehouse, according to Zenventory.

Logiwa's pricing page declines to publish tiers. It describes "a simple, transparent model based on your fulfillment volume and complexity, not your user count," and says a custom plan comes out of a consultation. It also says users are unlimited and that standard integrations, implementation and ongoing support are included in the plan.

ShipHero's landing page describes "Custom pricing for your order volume" and directs buyers to request a quote. We could not verify a plan figure on the vendor's own page.

Deposco does not publish a price. Its 2026 guide describes the subscription as site-based, and says that means "peak labor does not trigger a license true-up," so headcount is not the billing unit. Extensiv's product page publishes no price, and Infoplus's page offers a customized demo and lists neither prices nor plans.

VendorPrice on vendor pageSetup or implementationWhat sets the quote
ExtensivNone on product pageNot statedQuote after a demo
ShipHeroCustom pricing for order volumeNot statedOrder volume
LogiwaNone, no published tiersImplementation described as includedFulfillment volume and complexity
InfoplusNone, demo offeredMigration fees not publishedNot stated
ZenventoryStarter and Growth listedSetup charge listed for each planShipments and warehouses
DeposcoNone statedNot statedSite-based subscription

License fees are one line in total cost. For a 3PL, the full number adds setup, add-ons, integration work and the staff hours needed to maintain billing rules. Ask every vendor for those lines in one written document, then compare that document with the month-end hours in the worked example below.

The five alternatives, one by one

Extensiv 3PL Warehouse Manager (baseline)

Best fit. A 3PL that already runs Extensiv, or one that wants invoices pushed to QuickBooks alongside routing, lot and serial tracking and EDI in a single product. The product page also lists pick, pack and ship workflows, replenishment, label generation and "Advanced reporting & dashboards."

Limitations. The product page publishes no price and does not mention a client portal, so both belong in your written questions. The REST API is open, but using it takes setup work on your side, covered in the worked example below.

Implementation. The product page does not state a go-live timeline. Ask for one, along with the list of integrations included in the quote.

Primary evidence. The Extensiv product page and the Extensiv REST API help article.

ShipHero

Best fit. 3PLs and high-volume brands that want a self-serve client portal and 3PL billing automation in one WMS. The landing page says it can "give each client a self-serve portal for inventory, orders, and tracking," and describes billing automated "down to the action."

Limitations. The landing page says "Custom pricing for your order volume," so the budget conversation starts late. It does not describe which billing rules you can configure, so ask for a walkthrough on one of your real rate cards.

Implementation. No timeline or migration terms appear on the landing page. Ask for both in writing.

Primary evidence. The ShipHero 3PL landing page.

Logiwa

Best fit. 3PLs with contract-heavy billing. The 3PL billing page lists tiered pricing, markup rates, base contracts and client-specific price calculation, and says invoices can be sent to "QB and NetSuite." Itemized billing list on Logiwa's page: 15 items according to Logiwa.

Limitations. Pricing is quote-based. The pricing page explains that "a one-size-fits-all price doesn't work for growth-minded 3PLs and brands," which is why it publishes no tiers. Ask for the quote in writing and check that it covers every billing item your clients pay for.

Implementation. The pricing page says standard integrations, implementation and ongoing support are included. It gives no go-live timeline.

Primary evidence. The Logiwa pricing page and the 3PL billing page.

Infoplus

Best fit. Smaller operations that need a general WMS for inventory, shipping and reporting, with an API, where client billing is a secondary need. The site describes itself as "more than a WMS" and lists 3PL among its industries.

Limitations. The 3PL industry page does not describe client segmentation or billing. A directory profile states that "No 3PL billing module is documented," according to rfp.wiki. The Infoplus pages we opened do not describe client billing, so ask for a billing demo on one of your rate cards. The profile also warns that its content "may contain inaccuracies," so confirm its points with Infoplus directly.

Implementation. The same profile says migration and data-conversion fees are not published. Infoplus's own page offers a customized demo and nothing else on timing, so ask for a written timeline.

Primary evidence. The Infoplus page and the rfp.wiki profile.

Zenventory

Best fit. Smaller 3PLs that want published prices and unlimited clients, users and SKUs. The 3PL page describes a separate SKU catalog for each client, client-specific billing rules, and user access controlled by client. It also names QuickBooks Online as the accounting sync, with no export-and-re-enter step.

Limitations. Plans cap shipments and warehouses. Starter covers up to 10,000 shipments a month on one warehouse, and Growth covers up to 50,000 shipments across three warehouses, according to Zenventory. Above those limits the Enterprise tier is quote-only. The pricing page also contradicts itself in places: the Enterprise shipment limit reads above 50,000 on the price card and "Unlimited" in the comparison table. The 3PL page says you can "invoice from" a statement but does not describe built-in invoice generation, so ask how invoices are produced.

Implementation. The 3PL page says you can implement the system yourself and that no implementation consultant is required. The setup charge on the pricing page applies to each plan.

Primary evidence. The Zenventory pricing page and the 3PL page.

Deposco

Best fit. Multi-site 3PLs with complex fulfillment that want client-facing reporting. The client portal page describes "SLA performance dashboards," "QBR-ready reporting" and "configurable permissions by client group," and calls the portal white-labeled.

Limitations. Deposco publishes no price, and its subscription is site-based. The portal page calls Bright Portal "a premium offering available to Deposco's 3PL customers," so it is a cost to ask about. The 2026 guide says the portal exposes billing in real time, but the portal page we read does not mention billing, so confirm that in a demo.

Implementation. Deposco go-live claim: 90 days according to Deposco (2026). That is a vendor claim, so ask what the timeline assumes about your sites, data and integrations.

Primary evidence. The Deposco client portal page and the 2026 3PL WMS guide.

Where the month-end billing gap shows up

The billing gap usually shows up at month end, when a billing lead rebuilds each client's charges by hand from receiving, storage, pick and shipping records. US Tech Automations can configure a proposed workflow for that step, though it is a design to review, not a deployed result. The trigger is the scheduled month-end run or a saved billing export. The action pulls each client's charge lines from the WMS export or API, matches each line to that client's rate card, and builds a draft invoice per client. The output is a draft in QuickBooks Online plus an exceptions list for any charge with no matching rate. The prerequisites are an export or API credential from the WMS vendor, a current rate card for every client, and a QuickBooks Online connection. The human review points are fixed: a billing lead approves each draft and clears every exception before anything is sent.

The second proposed workflow targets client questions rather than invoices. The trigger is a shipment whose status changes in the WMS, or an order that runs past a service window the 3PL sets. The action drafts a short stock and order-status summary for that client from the same export. The output lands in an account manager's queue as a draft message. The prerequisites are order-status data in the export or API, plus a clean client contact list. An account manager reads every draft before it goes out, and no client message is sent automatically. If your WMS already produces client-ready statements, the first workflow shrinks to a review step, which is an honest outcome for many buyers.

Worked example: month-end billing hours

Take an illustrative 3PL with 12 client accounts, where the billing lead spends 2.5 hours per client building invoices by hand, or 30 hours a month. If per-client statements from the WMS cut the job to a 0.75-hour review per client, the review takes 9 hours a month, which leaves 21 hours saved each month and 252 hours a year (21 × 12). If the team pulls those statements through the Extensiv REST API instead, the authorization call carries a user_login value that the warehouse representative provides, and the help article says to refresh tokens at least every 30 minutes, according to Extensiv. That refresh cycle is maintenance a spreadsheet never needs, so the 252 hours should be netted against the time to keep the connection working.

StepIllustrative value
Client accounts billed12
Manual build time per client (hours)2.5
Manual hours per month30
Review time per client after export (hours)0.75
Review hours per month9
Hours saved per month21
Hours saved per year252

These are inputs to replace with your own numbers. They are not vendor data.

Zapier, Make, n8n or in-house: a fair comparison

Many 3PLs will not buy a new system at all. They will stitch the export into QuickBooks Online with Zapier, Make or n8n, or build a script in-house. Those tools can support run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when they are configured that way, so a well-built stitch is a real option. The buyer still designs and owns idempotency, which means a re-run cannot create a second invoice; the escalation path; access controls on the credentials; and maintenance when the WMS or the accounting API changes.

A proposed US Tech Automations design could configure those same pieces differently. Exceptions and human approval live inside the workflow rather than in someone's inbox, run logs record which rate card was applied to each billing line, and the workflow stops instead of guessing when a rate is missing. The prerequisites are the same as for any integration: API or export credentials, one named owner, and a test month that a billing lead checks line by line before go-live. The review point never goes away. Vendor platforms also set rules you must design around. Extensiv's webhook guide shows what happens when a delivery fails: Extensiv waits a maximum of three seconds for an endpoint's response, and failed deliveries are retried for about six hours and then moved to a dead letter queue for three more days, according to Extensiv.

Who should choose which vendor

VendorChoose it ifLook elsewhere if
ExtensivYou already run it, or you want routing, EDI and billing pushed to QuickBooks in one productYou need a client portal confirmed in writing, or a published price, before the demo
ShipHeroYou want a self-serve client portal and 3PL billing inside one WMSYou need a figure before any sales call
LogiwaYour billing is contract-heavy, with tiered pricing and markupsYou want a list price on the vendor's page
InfoplusYou need a general WMS with an API, and billing is secondaryClient billing is central and Infoplus cannot demonstrate it on your rate card.
ZenventoryYou are a smaller 3PL that wants published plan prices and unlimited clients and usersYour volume exceeds the published Starter and Growth limits
DeposcoYou run several sites and want SLA reporting in a white-labeled portalYou run one site on a tight budget, since the portal is a premium offering

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: a custom workflow layer is the wrong answer in three cases. If your WMS already produces client-ready statements that your billing lead trusts, a spreadsheet check is cheaper than any integration. If you bill one client from one warehouse, a manual monthly statement is less to maintain than a connection. If nobody on your team can own API credentials, error queues and rate-card changes, buy the WMS with its billing module and skip the layer, because the design only works with an owner.

Glossary and shortlist checklist

  • Multi-client WMS: warehouse software that keeps each client's stock, rates and reports separate inside one operation.

  • Per-client billing: charges calculated against each client's own rate card, such as receiving, storage, pick and shipping fees.

  • Client portal: a login where a client sees its own stock, orders and shipments.

  • Site-based pricing: a subscription priced per facility rather than per user or per transaction.

  • Quote-based pricing: no list price on the vendor's page; the number comes after a sales conversation.

  • Idempotency: a design property where re-running a job does not create duplicate invoices.

  • Dead letter queue: a holding area for messages that could not be delivered after retries.

  • Demonstrate per-client billing on one of your real rate cards.
  • Confirm whether clients log in, what they see, and whether the portal costs extra.
  • Get setup, add-on, per-warehouse and integration fees in one written document.
  • Get the go-live timeline and migration terms in writing.
  • Name the person who owns API credentials and billing-rule changes.

Frequently asked questions

Is Extensiv a good baseline for a growing 3PL?

Yes, as a baseline: its product page lists routing, lot and serial tracking, EDI, an open REST API and a Billing Manager that pushes invoices to QuickBooks, but it publishes no price and does not mention a client portal on that page.

Which alternative publishes the clearest price?

Zenventory, whose pricing page lists Starter and Growth plans with list and new-customer prices; the other vendors here route you to a quote or publish no figure.

Does any vendor here publish a go-live timeline?

Deposco does, in its 2026 guide, though it is a vendor claim; Zenventory says you can implement without a consultant; the other pages reviewed gave no timeline.

Can I skip a 3PL WMS and build billing in Zapier, Make or n8n?

You can for a small number of clients with a stable rate card, but then you own retries, exception handling, idempotency and access controls, as described in the section above.

Do I need a client portal before I upgrade my WMS?

Not always. If clients rarely ask about stock, a portal is a convenience; if they ask often, it is a requirement, and you should test it with one of your real clients before you buy.

Should I ask for a quote in writing?

Yes. Ask for setup, add-on, per-warehouse and integration fees in one document, because a monthly line on a quote is rarely the full cost.

Next step for your shortlist

Start with the category decision. If billing and client visibility are central, shortlist Logiwa, Zenventory and Deposco first, and ask Extensiv and ShipHero for written answers on the portal and the price. If you need a general warehouse system with light billing, Infoplus may be enough. If you already run Extensiv, its billing module may be the simplest path. For the wider warehouse software view, see our best warehouse management software for 3PL guide. Then see how US Tech Automations configures this against your own rate cards and export format, and check the prerequisites before you commit to any design.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.