6 Hemlane Alternatives for Self-Managing Landlords in 2027
Start with the category decision, not a brand
The first decision for a self-managing owner is which category of software to buy, and the brand comes second. Self-management software runs rent collection, leases, screening, accounting and maintenance intake from one account, and it is priced per unit, by flat monthly fee, or by a mix of both. Hemlane belongs to this category, and so do the alternatives below, but they differ on two points that matter most to a small portfolio: whether repair coordination is bundled, and whether a monthly minimum applies before units are counted.
TL;DR: Pick by unit count and by how much of the repair and accounting work you want handled inside the tool. Flat or capped plans are easiest to forecast, per-unit plans stay cheap only when their minimum does not apply, and every option needs a check of what sits outside the headline price.
Key Takeaways
Hemlane works as the baseline, but its per-unit tiers mean the cost at your unit count matters more than the headline rate.
Some per-unit tools set a monthly minimum, which can make a small portfolio pay far more than its unit count suggests.
Flat-fee and capped plans are simpler to forecast, but screening, credit reporting and ACH fees often sit outside the headline price.
Owner payouts, tax reports and accounting sync depend on the tier, so check the tier you would actually buy.
API access is limited to higher tiers on several products, so decide whether you need to connect other software before you buy.
Third-party scores are one signal, and they can disagree with vendor pages, so verify prices on the vendor's own site.
How we evaluated these tools
This is an informed buyer's guide built from public vendor pages and public third-party sources. We did not open accounts, run the software or speak with customers, so every claim below comes from a page we read or from arithmetic on those pages. Hemlane is the reference point in the tables and is not counted among the six alternatives. We planned to include Avail, but its pricing page did not open during research, so it is not ranked here. We also could not open the Capterra or G2 review pages, so user review counts are absent from this guide.
Each criterion carries a weight. Price transparency and fit at your unit count are weighted highest because they decide the real monthly cost for a self-manager.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it carries this weight |
|---|---|---|
| Price transparency and minimums | 25% | Monthly minimums and per-unit fees decide the real bill |
| Fit at your unit count | 25% | Tiers change at unit bands, and some plans cap properties |
| Core operations | 20% | Rent collection, leases, screening and maintenance intake |
| Accounting and owner money | 15% | Bank sync, owner payouts and tax-ready reports |
| Integration and API access | 10% | Matters when you plan to connect other software |
| Setup and support | 5% | Onboarding requirements, phone and chat support |
We did not weight third-party review scores. The one independent scoring page we could read covers only some vendors, so weighting it would reward whichever vendors it happened to rank. Accounting depth matters because depreciation follows federal rules: the IRS's Publication 527 sets a 27.5-year recovery period for residential rental property under MACRS according to IRS (2025), so ask whether a tool's reports can carry a depreciation schedule.
Price floors and what the pricing pages show
Pricing checked October 25, 2026. Every figure below comes from the vendor's own pricing page, and the Source column links to that page. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, the table says so.
Basic tier: $30 a month for one unit according to Hemlane (2026). That figure is a $28 platform fee plus a $2 per-unit charge, so each extra unit adds $2 a month on that tier, per the Hemlane pricing page. Hemlane's Starter tier is software only and shows $0 a month, while the Essential and Complete tiers apply per-unit charges of $20 and $58 on the same platform fee.
| Vendor | Plan | Monthly | Annual | Unit model | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hemlane (reference) | Basic | $30 for one unit; $28 platform fee plus $2 per unit | Not shown | Per unit | Hemlane pricing |
| TurboTenant | Essentials | $12.42 starting | $149 for 1 to 10 units; $199 for 11 to 30 | Banded by units | TurboTenant pricing |
| TurboTenant | Pro | $16.58 starting | $199 for 1 to 10 units; $399 for 11 to 30 | Banded by units | TurboTenant pricing |
| TurboTenant | Autopilot | Quote-based | Quote-based | Flat fee for full service | TurboTenant pricing |
| DoorLoop | One | $2.50 per unit; $199 minimum | Not shown | Per unit with minimum | DoorLoop pricing |
| DoorLoop | Connect | $4.00 per unit; $299 minimum | Not shown | Per unit with minimum | DoorLoop pricing |
| Landlord Studio | Go | Free, capped at a small unit count | Not listed | Unit cap | Landlord Studio pricing |
| Landlord Studio | Pro | Unresolved: £12.00 on cards, $15.00 in table | $144 | 3 units, then $1.20 per extra unit | Landlord Studio pricing |
| Rentec Direct | Starter | $25 for up to 10 properties | Not shown | Capped at 10 properties | Rentec Direct pricing |
| Rentec Direct | Pro | $50, unlimited | "Save $60, billed annually"; total not shown | Unlimited | Rentec Direct pricing |
| RentRedi | Annual | $12, billed annually | Save $215.40 a year vs monthly | Unlimited | RentRedi pricing |
| RentRedi | Monthly | $29.95 | Not applicable | Unlimited | RentRedi pricing |
| Buildium | Essential | From $62 | Not shown | Unit limit not stated | Buildium pricing |
| Buildium | Growth | From $192 | Not shown | Unit limit not stated | Buildium pricing |
| Buildium | Premium | From $400 | Not shown | Unit limit not stated | Buildium pricing |
Landlord Studio's page needs care. Its pricing cards show the Pro plan at £12.00 a month, its comparison table shows $15.00, and its annual figure is in dollars, so the monthly price is unresolved. We use only the annual figure and treat the monthly price as unverified until the vendor confirms it in writing. Landlord Studio's Pro plan lists $144 a year according to Landlord Studio (2026), with three units included and $1.20 for each unit above that.
The 12-unit cost check below applies the displayed prices to one illustrative owner, so the totals can be compared side by side.
| Vendor | Plan | Math at 12 units | Monthly | Annual |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hemlane (reference) | Basic | $28 platform fee + 12 × $2 | $52 | $624 |
| TurboTenant | Essentials | 11 to 30 unit band, annual price | $16.58 | $199 |
| DoorLoop | One | 12 × $2.50 = $30, below the $199 minimum | $199 | $2,388 |
| Rentec Direct | Pro | Starter caps at 10 properties | $50 | $600 |
| RentRedi | Annual | Unlimited units | $12 | $144 |
| Buildium | Essential | Unit tier not stated; starting price | From $62 | From $744 |
| Landlord Studio | Pro | Monthly price unresolved | Not computed | $144 base, plus $10.80 a month for nine extra units |
Monthly figures are our arithmetic on the displayed prices unless the vendor shows a monthly price directly. Annual figures are the vendor's own where shown, and otherwise monthly times 12. Read the table as a floor, not a quote, and add screening, credit reports, ACH and eSignature fees from each vendor's page before comparing totals.
Feature fit for a self-managed portfolio
| Vendor | Units in entry price | Owner portal | Accounting | API on pricing page | Screening and add-ons |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hemlane (reference) | Per unit on paid tiers; Starter is software only | Not listed | Bank sync, cash flow and income statement on Starter | Not listed | Screening on Starter; $0 ACH fees on Basic |
| TurboTenant | Banded by units | Not listed | Built-in financial tools on Pro | Not listed | Screening on Free; income verification on Pro |
| DoorLoop | Per unit with a monthly minimum | Yes, on One | Not listed in the text we read | Full API access on One | AI available as an add-on on Connect and Multiply |
| Landlord Studio | Free under a unit cap, then per extra unit | Not listed | Xero integration on Pro | Not listed | Not listed |
| Rentec Direct | Starter up to 10 properties; Pro and PM unlimited | Owner portal on PM | QuickBooks sync on Pro and PM | Open API on Pro and PM | 1099 e-file on Pro and PM |
| RentRedi | Unlimited | Not listed | Accounting included | Not listed | Screening $39.99 or $49.99; credit reporting $5.99 a month |
| Buildium | Tiered; unit limit not stated | Not listed in highlights | Not listed in highlights | Open API on Premium | Screening from $17 per screening |
"Not listed" means the item does not appear on the pricing page we read. It does not confirm that the product lacks the feature, so ask each vendor for its feature list at the tier you plan to buy.
Vendor profiles: best fit, limits and evidence
TurboTenant
Best fit: Owners with a few doors who want free listings, screening and online rent collection, and who will pay only when leases need e-signature or financial reports. The Essentials tier on TurboTenant is $149 a year for 1 to 10 units according to TurboTenant (2026).
Limitations: The Free tier is a starting point, not a full operating system, and the Autopilot flat-fee service is quote-based, so a full-service comparison needs a sales conversation. Pro is where income verification and tax-ready reports appear, so the tier you need depends on whether those matter to you.
Implementation: Start on the Free tier to list vacancies and collect rent, then move up when a unit band or a lease feature becomes necessary. For the manager's side of this pair, see our TurboTenant vs Hemlane comparison for property managers.
Evidence: The TurboTenant pricing page lists plan contents and the unit-band table.
DoorLoop
Best fit: Owners who want owner and tenant portals, showings and full API access in a base plan, and whose portfolio is large enough that the monthly minimum is not the dominant cost.
Limitations: The One plan's per-unit rate is $2.50, per the DoorLoop pricing page, but the minimum sets the bill for small portfolios. One plan minimum: $199 a month for small portfolios according to DoorLoop (2026). A 10-unit owner pays the $199 minimum rather than the $25 that per-unit math produces, and AI features are an add-on above the One tier.
Implementation: API keys are created under "Zapier & API Keys" in company settings. The DoorLoop API authentication reference says a 405 response with METHOD_NOT_ALLOWED means the token's role lacks access to that endpoint, so plan key roles before you build anything.
Landlord Studio
Best fit: Owners with a few units who want a free tier to test their workflow, or an accounting-first owner who needs Xero rather than QuickBooks.
Limitations: The free Go tier is capped at a small unit count and a single user. The pricing page conflicts on the Pro plan's monthly price, and it lists Xero integration on Pro rather than QuickBooks.
Implementation: Run one or two units through the Go tier, then get the current Pro price and extra-unit billing confirmed in writing for your count before you move the rest of the portfolio.
Evidence: The Landlord Studio pricing page carries the conflicting figures, so read it alongside the vendor's written confirmation.
Rentec Direct
Best fit: Owners who want accounting depth and a route to owner payouts, starting on Starter only if the portfolio stays within its 10-property cap. Rentec Direct's Starter plan costs $25 a month for up to 10 properties according to Rentec Direct (2026), and Pro and PM are $50 a month with unlimited properties.
Limitations: Starter lacks QuickBooks sync and Open API, and the Pro annual total is not published, only a "save $60" line. The developer page we opened, Rentec's API documentation, is an AI chat widget that lists no endpoints, so ask Rentec for endpoint documentation before you plan an integration.
Implementation: Free personalized setup is listed on all three plans, so budget for your own data migration rather than setup fees.
RentRedi
Best fit: Owners who want unlimited units on one flat price with few tiers, and who accept screening as a per-applicant cost.
Limitations: The base price excludes screening, which the page lists at $39.99, or $49.99 with income verification, and credit reporting at $5.99 a month. The pricing page does not list an owner portal or API.
Implementation: RentRedi's annual plan costs $12 a month, billed annually, according to RentRedi (2026), while the monthly plan is $29.95. Pick the billing cycle before you start, because the page shows the annual plan saves $215.40 a year. The page also lists a 30-day money-back guarantee and no contract.
Buildium
Best fit: Operators who expect to outgrow a self-managed portfolio, want Open API on the top tier, or need live phone support on Growth and Premium.
Limitations: Buildium's Essential plan starts at $62 a month according to Buildium (2026), which sits above most of the self-manager tools here. The page does not state a unit limit, and new Growth and Premium customers must use an onboarding service.
Implementation: Budget for transaction costs as well as the subscription. The Buildium pricing page shows incoming EFT at $2.35 on Essential and $1.35 on Growth, outgoing EFT at $0.99 on every plan, and card payments at 2.99% per transaction.
Review signals and what they cannot tell you
SelectHub score: 86 out of 100 for Buildium according to SelectHub (undated page). That is the highest score in the part of SelectHub's leaderboard we could read. SelectHub describes its method as analyst scoring of functional requirements that work out of the box, and it notes that it sells a vendor verification program that can affect final placement, so treat the score as one signal.
Its listed prices also differ from vendor pages. SelectHub lists Buildium at $55 a month to start according to SelectHub (undated page), against the $62 on Buildium's own pricing page, so this guide uses the vendor figure.
Where the manual work piles up
For a self-managed owner, the pain usually sits in the gap between the rent ledger and the lease. A late payment shows up in one place, while the reminder, the late-fee date and the owner's report live in others. A proposed US Tech Automations rent-exception workflow would start when a payment record shows a missed or partial rent payment in the platform's export or API feed. Its action step matches that payment to the lease terms, works out the late-fee date and drafts a tenant reminder and an owner note. The output is a queue of drafts, not sent messages, and the owner approves each one before it reaches a tenant. The prerequisite is a CSV export or API access from the current tool: DoorLoop's One plan lists full API access, Rentec Direct lists Open API on Pro and PM but not Starter, and a tool without either falls back to a scheduled export that adds a manual step.
A second proposed workflow handles maintenance intake. The trigger is a new tenant request in the platform's export or API feed. The workflow tags urgency using keywords the owner sets, routes routine requests to a vendor list the owner maintains, and drafts a work order with the tenant's description. Its output is a work-order draft and an owner log. The review points are fixed: any request tagged as an emergency goes to a named person immediately, and any repair above an owner-set spend limit waits for approval. A configured version from US Tech Automations would keep those review points whatever the source platform, and it would not approve spend on its own. If the vendor's own tier handles this, the simpler path may be the vendor's tier. Hemlane's Complete plan, for example, includes repair price thresholds and approvals.
Build it yourself or configure it
Zapier, Make and n8n are the usual alternatives for an owner who wants to connect these tools without a vendor. Configured well, they can keep run histories, retry failed steps, branch on errors and leave an audit trail, so they are a serious option rather than a shortcut. The buyer still designs and owns the parts that fail quietly: observability that shows which run failed and why, idempotency so a retried payment event does not send two reminders, escalation to a person, access controls for each connected account, and the maintenance that follows when a vendor changes its API or export format.
A proposed US Tech Automations design would differ in specific ways. It would place one approval queue in front of every outbound tenant message, record an idempotency key per payment event before any action runs, route emergencies to a named person on a fixed schedule, and limit each connected account to the permissions the workflow needs. These are configurable choices, not features of a live system, and each depends on the prerequisites above: an export or API from every source platform, and an owner who signs off on the review points.
A 12-unit owner's annual math
Take an illustrative owner with 12 units who wants rent collection, leases and accounting and does not need a repair network. On DoorLoop's One plan, 12 units at $2.50 comes to $30 a month, but the $199 minimum applies, so the bill is $199 a month or $2,388 a year, per the DoorLoop pricing page. On Hemlane's Basic tier, the $28 platform fee plus 12 units at $2 comes to $52 a month, or $624 a year, which is our arithmetic on the Hemlane pricing page. On RentRedi's annual plan, $12 a month covers unlimited units, or $144 a year, per the RentRedi pricing page. The gap between the DoorLoop minimum and the RentRedi annual rate is $2,244 a year before screening, credit reporting or ACH fees. If the same owner also wants a prospect record to trigger a follow-up task in a CRM, a configured design could listen for the ASSOCIATION_ADDED event, which HubSpot's webhook reference describes as firing when two objects become associated. We used a HubSpot identifier because the DoorLoop and Rentec developer pages we opened listed no usable object or event names beyond one example path, and the owner must confirm the event covers their record types before relying on it.
Who this is for
Who this is for: owners and operations leads who manage their own units and want one account for rent, leases and accounting, and who will compare costs at their actual unit count before signing. A small management business with a few owners on the same software also fits, provided the owner portal is confirmed on the chosen tier.
Red flags: you need a vendor-managed repair network, your current tool cannot export your ledger, or your portfolio includes property types that a unit-based plan does not model.
Checklist before you switch
Count your units today and over the next year, and check which tier band or property cap they fall into.
Ask for any monthly minimum in writing, and confirm whether it applies at your count.
List every add-on that sits outside the headline price, including screening, credit reports, ACH, eSignature and inspections.
Confirm owner payouts, trust-account handling and tax exports on the exact tier you will buy.
Decide whether you need QuickBooks, Xero or an Open API, and which tier includes it.
Export your current ledger and test an import with one unit before moving the rest.
Name the person who approves outbound tenant messages and repair spend before any automation goes live.
Terms to check on each pricing page
Per-unit fee: a charge for each unit you list or manage, usually billed monthly.
Platform fee: a flat monthly charge that applies before per-unit fees start.
Monthly minimum: the least a plan charges, even when the per-unit math comes out lower.
Owner disbursement: the transfer of collected rent to the owner, after fees and expenses.
ACH payment: a bank-to-bank electronic transfer, which vendors often price differently from card payments.
Open API: a vendor's published interface for reading or writing your data from other software, often limited to higher tiers.
Webhook: a message one system sends to another when a record changes, which needs a listener on the receiving end.
Questions owners ask before switching
Is Hemlane the right baseline for a self-managing owner?
Hemlane is a reasonable baseline when you want repair coordination bundled with the software, and it is not the cheapest option at every unit count. Its Starter tier covers software only, and its paid tiers add per-unit charges that grow with the tier you choose.
Which alternative has a free entry point?
TurboTenant, Landlord Studio and Hemlane each have a free entry tier, but each limits what it covers. TurboTenant's Free tier covers listing, screening and online rent collection, Landlord Studio's Go tier is capped at a small unit count, and Hemlane's Starter tier is software only.
Do I need an API before I buy?
Most owners do not, but check before you commit if you plan to push data into another system. DoorLoop's One plan lists full API access, Rentec Direct lists Open API on Pro and PM, and Buildium lists Open API on Premium.
Are third-party scores enough to choose?
No, a score is one input. The publisher sells a vendor verification program, and its starting prices can differ from the vendor's own page.
Should I build this in Zapier, Make or n8n instead?
Build it yourself only if you will own the run histories, retries, access controls and maintenance. Those tools can support all of that when configured, but the upkeep falls on you.
When should you not use US Tech Automations?
Skip a configured workflow layer when your unit count and tasks fit on one vendor's free or entry tier with no integrations, because the built-in reminders and e-signature will cover them. It is also the wrong choice if your current platform cannot export or expose data, since the design would depend on manual exports, and if you want a vendor to handle repairs end to end without any approvals on your side. In those cases, TurboTenant's Free tier, RentRedi's flat plan or Hemlane's Complete tier, which includes repair approvals, is the simpler path.
Where to go from here
Start with your unit count, then read the minimum and add-on lines on each pricing page before you compare totals. Choose the tier that covers your accounting and owner payouts, and treat a third-party score as a tie-breaker rather than a verdict. If you later want a configured workflow on top of one of these tools, see how US Tech Automations configures this, and check the export and approval prerequisites against each vendor page before you plan around them.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.