Skip to content
AI & Automation

JotForm vs SimplePractice Intake Forms: Which Fits in 2027

Nov 2, 2026

Key Takeaways

  • JotForm's HIPAA features and Business Associate Agreement (BAA) sit at its Gold plan and above, so its lower tiers are not an option for protected intake data.

  • SimplePractice is practice-management software, so intake, scheduling, notes and billing can live in one record; its pricing page does not say which plan includes a BAA.

  • Read SimplePractice's BAA before you start a trial, because a JotForm-published checker says trial sign-up counts as agreement.

  • SimplePractice's pages I opened do not confirm a public API you can build on, so plan any automated routing into its record around manual export until the vendor confirms access in writing.

  • JotForm's Enterprise plan and SimplePractice's groups of six or more practitioners are both Quote-based.

The category decision comes first

An intake form is the set of client-facing questions and signed consent documents a practice collects before the first session.

TL;DR: Choose JotForm if you want a flexible form layer and already have a clinical record system you trust. Choose SimplePractice if you want intake, scheduling, notes and billing in one place. In both cases, get the BAA terms for the plan you intend to buy in writing before any client data goes in.

Pick the category before the brand. A form builder collects answers and stores them in its own system. A practice-management system keeps those answers next to the calendar, the clinical notes and the billing record, which is why many therapy practices move intake into one. JotForm is the first kind of tool and SimplePractice is the second. Both products are live: each vendor's pricing page lists current plans, and I found no sign that either product has been renamed, merged or discontinued.

How we evaluated these tools

This is an informed buyer's guide built from public pages, not a hands-on trial. We weighted six criteria by how much each one decides whether a therapy practice can use a tool for intake at all. The weights are our judgment; the vendor facts come from the cited pages in the sections below.

CriterionWeightWhy it decides the purchase
HIPAA eligibility and BAA terms30%A form that cannot lawfully hold protected information is the wrong tool at any price
Cost of the lowest tier that carries those terms20%Compares list prices on each vendor's pricing page, not the cheapest plan on the page
Intake and consent depth15%Custom questions, consent documents and client completion before the first session
Fit with records, scheduling and billing15%Whether intake answers reach the clinical record without re-keying
Export and integration path10%Whether an outside tool can read or write submissions reliably
Ownership burden10%Who maintains routing, access reviews, failure logs and exports
Total100%Weights are our analysis, not vendor data

HIPAA and BAA terms carry the largest weight because a form that cannot hold protected health information is disqualified regardless of cost. The cost criterion counts only the tier that carries those terms, since a cheaper tier that fails the first criterion does not help a covered practice.

What each vendor publishes

The matrix below uses only what the pages I opened say. "Not stated" means the page does not say, not that the feature is missing.

CriterionJotFormSimplePractice
HIPAA features by planAvailable from Gold; Enterprise includes HIPAA optionsPlan coverage not stated on the pricing page
BAASigned by covered-entity customers that enable HIPAA features; Gold or Enterprise per PauboxPublished as a standalone BAA page; trial sign-up treated as agreement per a JotForm checker
Who can customize the BAAEnterprise only, per PauboxNot stated
Custom intake formsCore product: a general form builderPlan contents not stated on the pricing page I opened
Clinical notes and billingNot part of the productDescribed as EHR and practice-management software
Client portalNot a portal productPortal product page exists; plan contents not stated
Public APIPublic API documented, including webhooksNo public API confirmed; third-party sources disagree

Our read: JotForm's strength is its general builder and tiered volume caps, and its gap for a therapy practice is that it is not a clinical record. SimplePractice's strength is that intake lands inside the record a clinician already uses. Its gap in this comparison is that the pages I opened do not say which plan includes custom intake forms or a BAA. Get that answer before you compare prices.

Pricing and total cost

Gold plan: $129 per month list price according to JotForm (2026), with an annual price of $1,188 per year and 10,000 monthly submissions. On the same page, Bronze is $39 per month and Silver is $49 per month, both with HIPAA features marked not available, and Starter is free with 100 monthly submissions. Enterprise is Quote-based.

Essential plan: $79 per month list price according to SimplePractice (2026). The same page lists Starter at $49 and Plus at $99 per month, all as monthly prices, and shows no annual prices. Group pricing is per practitioner, and groups of six or more are sent to a sales conversation, so that tier is Quote-based. The page also advertises 50% off for the first three months, but its promotional figures are hard to read, so this guide uses list prices only.

Pricing checked October 29, 2026. Table 3 gathers the list prices and submission caps in one place, with "Not published" where a vendor gives no figure.

VendorPlanMonthly submissionsMonthly list priceAnnual list price
JotFormStarter100$0$0
JotFormBronze1,000$39$408 per year
JotFormSilver2,500$49$468 per year
JotFormGold10,000$129$1,188 per year
JotFormEnterpriseUnlimitedQuote-basedQuote-based
SimplePracticeStarterNot published$49Not published
SimplePracticeEssentialNot published$79Not published
SimplePracticePlusNot published$99Not published
SimplePracticeGroups of six or moreNot publishedQuote-basedQuote-based

Worked example, illustrative and not a customer: a solo clinician expects 400 intake submissions a month. That volume fits inside Bronze's 1,000-submission cap, but Bronze has no HIPAA features, so the required tier is Gold, which caps at 10,000 submissions. On monthly billing, Gold costs $129 × 12 = $1,548 a year, against $1,188 on annual billing, a $360 difference. If the same clinician sends SMS reminders through Twilio, a proposed rule could read each delivery record and queue a staff call whenever error_code is set, because Twilio's Message resource lists 13 status values and that property, according to Twilio. SimplePractice's public API documentation was not available to me, so this example names a Twilio field instead, and the rule still needs a named reviewer and a log of each reminder.

JotForm: where it fits and where it stops

Published facts first. JotForm's pricing page marks HIPAA features as unavailable on Starter, Bronze and Silver. A Paubox review with a 2026 update says JotForm signs a BAA only with Gold or Enterprise customers, and that only Enterprise customers can customize the agreement, according to Paubox (original byline May 14, 2020; "As of May 2026" in the update).

Our read: JotForm fits a practice that wants a custom question flow and will keep the clinical record and billing in another system. Its monthly submission caps are the limit to plan around, and a practice with bursts of intake should check its volume against the tier before it signs up. JotForm's HIPAA FAQ says covered-entity customers with HIPAA features enabled can sign a BAA, which matches the Gold-and-above line on the pricing page.

Implementation, in order: start on Gold only if you will handle protected information; enable the HIPAA features and sign the BAA before any real client data enters a form; restrict who can view submissions; and decide how you will export them before go-live. The form builder does not decide what counts as valid consent, so have your own consent wording reviewed rather than relying on a template.

SimplePractice: where it fits and where it stops

SimplePractice's homepage describes it as EHR and practice-management software, covering scheduling, billing, documentation and telehealth, and it names therapists, speech-language pathologists, occupational therapists and psychiatrists as its audiences. It publishes a standalone BAA page titled "SimplePractice™ Business Associate Agreement," with a footer dated 2026, according to SimplePractice (2026). That page did not show its full text in my fetch, so the terms need to be read directly.

On the trial question, a JotForm checker page updated August 11, 2025 says SimplePractice users agree to its BAA by signing up for a free trial, according to JotForm (August 11, 2025). JotForm is a competitor and this is its characterization, so confirm the trial term with SimplePractice before you start one. A Paubox review dated May 21, 2024 says SimplePractice signs a BAA and judged its functionality best suited to mental health professionals and non-prescribing providers, a weaker fit for medical doctors, according to Paubox (May 21, 2024).

Our read: SimplePractice fits a therapy practice that wants intake, scheduling, notes and billing in one record. The gaps are the questions the pages do not answer: which plan includes custom intake forms, whether the plan you buy includes a BAA, and whether an outside tool can read or write data. Ask those three questions in writing before you trial the product. During the trial, confirm what an export looks like before you rely on it for reporting or for any outside system.

Routing and follow-up after the form is submitted

The pain usually starts after submission: someone has to notice a missing consent, chase an unanswered intake and pass a flagged answer to the right clinician. Two proposed workflows show how a configurable layer could handle that, with prerequisites and review points named.

Proposed workflow A is triggered by a new submission to a HIPAA-enabled JotForm intake form. The action checks the answers against a list the practice sets, such as acknowledgement of the Notice of Privacy Practices and the consent-to-treatment document, and creates a staff task for each missing item. Any answer the clinician has marked as a safety item skips automated handling and goes straight to a named clinician. The output is one task that carries the submission ID, a missing-items list and a timestamp. Prerequisites are a webhook or export path on the JotForm plan that holds protected data, a signed BAA, and a decision on whether the automation vendor needs its own BAA review. Human review points: a clinician reviews every safety flag, and a staff member confirms identity before any client contact.

Proposed workflow B is triggered by an intake link that has gone unanswered for a waiting period the practice sets. The action sends a reminder through the practice's messaging provider with no clinical detail in it, and logs each attempt. After the configured number of attempts, the output is a staff call task rather than another automated message. The prerequisite is a way to write intake completion back to the SimplePractice record. Because I could not confirm a SimplePractice API, the design uses a scheduled CSV import or staff entry until the vendor confirms access in writing. Human review point: staff confirm the client's identity before the call and decide when to close the task. US Tech Automations would configure both rules as written here, with the logs and access controls named above; neither rule is a live deployment.

Building it yourself in Zapier, Make or n8n

The real alternative for many practices is a workflow built in-house in Zapier, Make or n8n, and those tools can do more than the phrase "DIY" suggests. Zapier's help center says Autoreplay, which retries failed steps, is an account-wide setting available on Professional plans and higher, according to Zapier. Auto-pause threshold: 95% of runs in 7 days according to the same page, which pauses a Zap that errors on that share of its runs unless the Zap is set to keep running.

Those features provide run history, retries and error paths when they are configured. What no tool supplies is ownership. The practice must still design and own the observability (who reads the failure log and how often), idempotency (deduplicating on the submission ID so a retry does not create two staff tasks), escalation, access controls for protected data, and maintenance, because a renamed JotForm field can break a rule without any visible error. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure the same controls, but the practice still has to name the person who owns them. If your team has no one for that job, a stitched-together Zap is a liability, not a saving.

Who this is for

PriorityLean towardWhy
Protected intake that must sit next to scheduling and notesSimplePracticeIntake lands in the same record; confirm the plan, BAA and export answers first
Flexible question flow with a separate record systemJotFormThe builder is the product; you bring the record and the access controls
Lowest-cost forms that carry no protected dataJotFormLower tiers exist, but they carry no HIPAA features
Routing across tools with no dedicated ownerNeither aloneName the owner before you choose the stack
Practice dominated by medical doctorsCheck firstThe 2024 Paubox review judged SimplePractice a weaker fit for medical doctors

Who this is for: JotForm. A practice that wants a flexible form layer, has a HIPAA need that the Gold plan covers, and already keeps notes and billing elsewhere. Red flags: you need a clinical record with scheduling and notes in one tool; your monthly volume would push past the plan's submission cap; or nobody on staff will own access reviews and exports.

Who this is for: SimplePractice. A practice that wants intake, scheduling, notes and billing in one place and can get the plan, BAA and export answers in writing. Red flags: you need a public API you can confirm before you buy; your clinicians are mostly medical doctors, which the 2024 Paubox review judged a weaker fit; or the vendor cannot confirm plan contents before you pay.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations. Skip an automation layer if your volume is a handful of intakes a month and a staff member can check each one by hand, if you only need a signed consent document filed in a record you already use, or if you cannot yet confirm export or webhook access on your plan, because the automation would have nothing reliable to read. In those cases the simpler option, whether that is the record system's own intake flow or a manual checklist, wins on cost and on fewer moving parts.

Decision checklist

  • Get the plan that includes HIPAA features and the BAA in writing before you price anything.

  • Ask whether custom intake forms are included on the plan you would buy, and record the answer.

  • Ask for export or API access in writing; treat an unanswered question as a no.

  • Name one person who owns access reviews, exports and the failure log.

  • Price the tier that carries the BAA, not the cheapest tier on the page.

  • Read the BAA before any trial starts, and confirm whether signing up counts as agreement.

Terms used in this guide

  • BAA (Business Associate Agreement): the contract a covered practice signs with a vendor that handles protected health information for it.

  • ePHI: electronic protected health information, the data the HIPAA rules protect.

  • Covered entity: a health care provider or plan that conducts standard electronic transactions, such as billing insurers electronically.

  • Business associate: a vendor that creates, receives, maintains or transmits protected information for a covered entity.

  • Intake packet: the forms and consent documents a client completes before the first session.

  • Webhook: an automatic message a form tool sends to another system when a submission arrives.

  • Idempotency: a design in which a retried event does not create a duplicate record or task.

Questions buyers ask

Does JotForm sign a BAA on every plan?

No. HIPAA features and BAA signing sit at the Gold tier and above, and Enterprise is the only tier where the agreement can be customized, per the Paubox review and JotForm's pricing page.

Is SimplePractice's BAA signed when I start a free trial?

Treat it as signed until SimplePractice confirms otherwise in writing, because a JotForm checker page says trial sign-up counts as agreement.

Can JotForm send intake data straight into SimplePractice?

I could not confirm a supported connector or a public API on SimplePractice's side, so plan for a manual import or staff entry until the vendor confirms access in writing.

Does a BAA make a practice HIPAA compliant?

No. A BAA is a required contract, not a compliance program. The Hunton summary of HHS cloud guidance says a covered entity may use a cloud provider only under a HIPAA-compliant business associate contract, according to Hunton (October 20, 2016), and access controls, staff training and the rest of the compliance program stay with the practice.

Do I need an automation layer at all?

Not if a staff member can check every submission by hand. Add one when volume or follow-up rules start to make manual checks miss items.

Which plan should I price?

Price the plan that carries HIPAA features and a BAA, because a cheaper tier that cannot hold protected intake data is not a real option for a covered practice.

Next step

If you are choosing between a form builder and a practice-management system for a law firm rather than a therapy practice, the decision is different, and the law-firm comparison of JotForm and Typeform covers it. For a therapy practice, get the plan, BAA and export answers in writing first; once those are settled the choice is usually clear. If you want the proposed routing rules scoped to your own intake, see how US Tech Automations configures this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.