Loop Returns Alternatives for Shopify: 5 Picks in 2027
Short answer: choose the category before the brand
Loop Returns is an exchange-first returns platform built for Shopify. The alternatives in this guide fall into three groups: low-cost apps with a free entry point, drop-off networks built around in-person returns, and enterprise post-purchase suites. A returns management platform is software that takes a return request from the storefront, applies your policy rules, creates the label, and sends the refund or exchange back to your order system.
If you run a small Shopify store and want a free starting point, shortlist AfterShip Returns and Redo. If exchanges and approval rules are the reason you are leaving Loop, compare ReturnGO's Premium and Pro tiers against Loop's own Advanced tier. If shoppers should drop items off in person, Happy Returns is the one option here built around that model. Narvar suits larger brands that want returns inside a wider delivery and tracking experience, and it sells through quotes rather than published prices.
Overall return rate, 2025: 15.8% of purchases according to Digital Commerce 360 (2025). Even a small catalog feels this, because every return touches refunds, inventory and a support ticket.
TL;DR: Decide whether exchanges and in-person drop-off are non-negotiable before you compare prices. Those two requirements remove most of this list, and price comparisons only make sense after that.
For a broader shortlist that is not limited to Loop alternatives, see ecommerce returns management software for 2026.
Key Takeaways
Settle exchanges and drop-off first. Those two requirements eliminate most options before price enters the comparison.
Online returns deserve the most attention: Online return rate, 2025: 19.3% of online sales according to National Retail Federation (2025).
Free entry points are different products. AfterShip's free plan is shopper-funded with a revenue share, and Redo's returns module is free while its checkout and messaging modules are metered.
Quote-based pricing is common at the top end. Narvar publishes no prices, and ReturnGO's Enterprise tier is custom, so ask for written quotes at your own monthly volume.
A starting price is not a monthly cost. Loop and ReturnGO do not publish included return counts on their pricing pages, so the software line can differ from what you expect.
Building the flow yourself in Zapier, Make or n8n is workable, but your team then owns retries, duplicate-refund protection, audit records and access controls.
Who this is for
This guide is for the owner or operations lead at a small ecommerce business who searched for Loop Returns alternatives because a switch is close. You already know returns cost money and create support work. You want a price you can budget and a clear way to leave if the tool does not fit.
Red flags: your return policy is not written down yet, warranty and repair claims are the main workflow you need, or you expect software to approve every refund without anyone checking edge cases.
How we evaluated these tools
This guide compares six products: Loop Returns as the incumbent and five alternatives. Each product was read against six weighted criteria. The weights reflect what a small Shopify operator needs to decide. They are a judgment made for this guide, not a vendor or analyst ranking. The sources were each vendor's own pricing or listing pages, the Shopify App Store listings where they exist, and two independent sources on return volume.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it carries this weight |
|---|---|---|
| Published price clarity | 20% | Quote-only pricing slows budgeting and makes side-by-side comparison unreliable |
| Exchange and refund flows | 20% | Exchanges keep order value in the store, which refund-only flows do not |
| Shopify installation path | 15% | A live App Store listing shortens setup for a Shopify team |
| Free or low-cost entry | 15% | A small store should be able to test before committing to a monthly fee |
| Shipping and drop-off options | 15% | Label and drop-off choices change the cost of each return |
| Operational controls | 15% | Rules, approvals, and API or webhook access decide how much manual work remains |
If your store ships heavy items or sells across borders, raise the weight on shipping and drop-off options and lower the weight on the free entry point.
What each product advertises
| Product | Free tier | Exchanges | Drop-off option | Published prices | Shopify App Store listing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Loop Returns | Checkout+ listed as free | Yes, on Advanced (Shop Now, Instant Exchange, Bonus Credit) | Not confirmed | Yes | Yes |
| AfterShip Returns | Yes, shopper-funded with revenue share | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Yes | Yes |
| Redo | Yes, returns module | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Partly | Yes |
| Happy Returns | Not confirmed | Yes, one-click exchanges | Yes, without printed labels | One plan published | Yes |
| ReturnGO | No free tier shown | Yes, variant and product exchange | Not shown | Starting prices | Yes |
| Narvar | Not shown | Yes, Shield exchanges | Not shown | No | Not checked |
"Not confirmed" means the pages this guide opened did not state the feature. It does not mean the feature is missing. For AfterShip and Redo, confirm exchange handling and drop-off on a call before you rely on either.
Pricing: what the published numbers cover
Pricing checked October 21, 2026.
| Vendor | Plan | Published price | What the price covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Loop Returns | Essential | Essential plan, starting price: $155 per month according to Loop Returns (2026) | Unlimited destinations and return policies, carrier rate shopping, workflows; included return volume not published |
| Loop Returns | Advanced | Starting at $340 per month, according to Loop Returns (2026) | Shop Now, Instant Exchange, Bonus Credit, fraud prevention |
| AfterShip Returns | Free plan | Free, with revenue share | Shopper-funded returns; return labels handled by AfterShip |
| AfterShip Returns | Essentials and Premium | See the worked example below | Return allowance and overage on each tier |
| Redo | Returns module | Free, according to Redo (2026) | Returns; checkout, email and fulfillment are separate paid modules |
| ReturnGO | Premium | Starting at $147 per month, according to ReturnGO (2026) | Self-service portal, exchanges, refunds and store credit, approval automations |
| ReturnGO | Pro | Starting at $297 per month, according to ReturnGO (2026) | Adds advanced automation, item validation, ERP integrations, API and webhooks |
| ReturnGO | Enterprise | Quote-based | Multi-store plans, omni-channel, dedicated account manager |
| Happy Returns | Plus | $500 per month, according to Shopify App Store (2026) | Shipping charges may apply; some external charges bill outside the Shopify invoice |
| Narvar | Plan not published | Quote-based | Post-purchase modules; sales runs through demo requests |
Redo's checkout rate is not the same on its pricing page as on its Shopify App Store listing, so ask for the current rate sheet before you commit. AfterShip's own pricing page could not be opened for this guide, so its figures come from its Shopify listing. Third-party comparison tables show different tiers, so treat the live listing as the number to confirm. Happy Returns' own pricing page returned not found, which leaves its Shopify listing as the only published price source for that product.
Return Prime and Returnly are not profiled. Return Prime's own pricing page and its Shopify listing show different monthly prices. The sources checked also disagree on whether Returnly still operates under its original owner. If Returnly comes up in your shortlist, the Loop Returns vs Returnly comparison is a useful reference.
A 120-return month, priced out
Assume a store handles 120 returns a month, an illustrative figure and not a benchmark. The Essentials plan on AfterShip includes 20 returns for $19 per month with $0.50 for each extra return, so the 100 extra returns add $50 and the software line comes to $69. The Premium plan costs $119 per month for 100 returns with $1 for each extra return, so the 20 extra returns add $20 and the line comes to $139, according to Shopify App Store (2026). Those are software fees only, before labels, shipping and staff time. Loop's Essential plan has a starting price but no published included-return count, so this comparison stops there until a quote states the volume. A proposed workflow would wait for the reverse_fulfillment_orders/dispose event from Shopify before issuing a refund, which keeps a disposal or restock decision between the return and the money going back.
Vendor profiles: the incumbent and five alternatives
Loop Returns (the incumbent)
Best fit: Shopify brands that want exchanges as the default outcome. The Advanced tier lists Shop Now, Instant Exchange, Bonus Credit and fraud prevention, and the Checkout+ tier is listed as free with US and Canada domestic return labels.
Limitations: both paid tiers are "starting at" prices, and the page does not say what return volume each one includes. A "20,000+ annual order volume" line appears in the support section without a clear label, so ask what it qualifies. Loop Core is named but has no price on the page.
Implementation: install from the Shopify App Store, then configure return policies, workflows and carrier rules. The support section lists dedicated onboarding and a merchant success manager for the paid tiers, so confirm whether those come with the plan you pick.
Evidence: Loop's pricing page and its Shopify App Store listing. For a head-to-head with AfterShip, see Loop Returns vs AfterShip Returns on Shopify.
AfterShip Returns
Best fit: small stores that want a free entry point and a predictable return allowance on a paid tier. The Free plan is shopper-funded and uses a revenue share, and the paid tiers list a return allowance with a per-return overage fee.
Limitations: the listing does not state a return allowance for the Free plan. Third-party tables disagree with the listing on tier prices, so confirm the live numbers before you budget. The vendor's own pricing page could not be opened for this guide.
Implementation: install from the listing, decide whether shoppers pay for labels, and set how overage returns are billed and reported.
Evidence: the Shopify App Store listing, used for the worked example above.
Redo
Best fit: stores that want a free returns module now and are willing to pay per order for checkout and upsell features later. Redo's pricing page lists returns, claims, warranties and reclaim as free modules.
Limitations: rates for the checkout module differ between Redo's pricing page and its Shopify App Store listing. Costs scale with orders and sends, so model them at your own volume. The listing shows fulfillment as a separate paid module, so do not assume it is included in the free returns tier.
Implementation: install the free returns module first, add other modules one at a time, and measure order-level cost before you turn on upsells.
Evidence: Redo's pricing page and its Shopify App Store listing.
Happy Returns
Best fit: stores where shoppers will drop items off in person. The listing describes drop-off without printed labels or boxes, reusable containers, Return Bars, one-click exchanges and real-time returns tracking inside Shopify. The listing also names Happy Returns as a UPS company.
Limitations: the only plan on the listing is Plus, and other tiers are not published. The listing warns that shipping charges may apply and that some external charges can bill outside your Shopify invoice, so ask for a full cost example before you sign.
Implementation: install the app, confirm that drop-off locations are near your customers, and set return reasons and refund methods so policy rules apply automatically.
Evidence: the Shopify App Store listing.
ReturnGO
Best fit: stores that want exchanges and approval automation inside an embedded portal. Premium lists variant and product exchange, refunds, gift cards, store credit, request approval automations and shipping integrations. Pro adds advanced automation, item validation, ERP integrations, and API and webhooks.
Limitations: paid tiers show a "Request a Quote" button, so the starting price is not the final price. Included returns are not published on the pricing page. The Enterprise tier is custom and adds multi-store plans and a dedicated account manager.
Implementation: the embedded portal is configured on your storefront, and approval automations need written rules before launch. If your team plans to connect its own systems through webhooks, budget at the Pro level rather than Premium.
Evidence: ReturnGO's pricing page.
Narvar
Best fit: larger brands that want returns to sit inside a wider post-purchase experience. Narvar's site lists Promise, Secure, Track, Shield, Notify and Assist. It describes Shield as using AI and shopper behavior data to flag fraudulent returns, enforce return rules and offer exchanges instead of refunds.
Limitations: Narvar publishes no prices, and its only purchase path is a demo request. This guide could not open the Shield product page, so exchange mechanics, including how price differences are collected, need to be confirmed with the vendor in writing.
Implementation: expect a scoped project rather than an app install. Ask for a written scope that names each module, the systems it connects to, and who owns the exchange rules.
Evidence: Narvar's homepage and its product names.
Where the manual work sits, and a proposed workflow
A proposed configuration would start when Shopify sends the returns/request webhook topic for a new return. The flow would check order age, item eligibility and the return reason against rules you write down. It would then offer an exchange or store credit, or create a task for a person when the item is high value, damaged in transit or flagged for fraud. The output is a decision and an audit row that records which rule fired, who approved any exception, and what the shopper was offered. Prerequisites are Shopify Admin API access with return and order permissions, a webhook subscription, a written return policy, and a shared queue where a person can approve or reject exceptions. A design from US Tech Automations would be configured around those rules. This is a configurable design, not a live deployment or a measured result. For a related pattern that connects a returns tool to payment and messaging steps, see automating ecommerce returns with Loop, Stripe and Attentive.
On approval, the flow would wait for the reverse_fulfillment_orders/dispose event before issuing any refund, so a disposal decision comes before money goes back. The output is a refund or store credit, a notice to the shopper and a row in the audit log. The prerequisite is that the returns app exposes its refund or exchange action through an API, webhook or export. If it does not, the flow stops at a task for a person. Human review stays in place for exceptions, and the operations lead should own the rule set, not the developer who connects it.
Zapier, Make, n8n, or an in-house build
Zapier, Make and n8n can run a flow like this, and when configured they keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence. The buyer still designs and owns the parts that cause costly failures: idempotency so a retried webhook cannot issue two refunds, escalation paths when a rule is unclear, access controls on the Shopify token, and maintenance when Shopify or the returns app changes its fields. An in-house build carries the same ownership with more of it. A proposed US Tech Automations design would differ mainly in how those pieces are specified up front. The rule set, approval queue, audit row and escalation path are named before anything is connected, so the review points are visible to the operator instead of discovered later.
Who should choose which tool
| Your situation | Start with | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Small store testing a switch without a monthly commitment | AfterShip Returns or Redo | Both list a free entry; check the paid tiers before you rely on them |
| Exchange-led policy and growing order volume | Loop Returns or ReturnGO | Both sell exchanges as a core outcome; compare Loop's Advanced tier with ReturnGO's Pro tier |
| Shoppers who prefer in-person drop-off | Happy Returns | Drop-off without printed labels is the core model its listing describes |
| Larger brand that wants returns inside delivery and tracking | Narvar | Post-purchase suite with quote-based pricing |
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip a custom workflow if a free app tier already covers your return rules and volume, because a configured flow adds maintenance you do not need. Skip it too if returns arrive rarely enough that one person can approve each one from a shared inbox. If you want one vendor with a built-in portal, carrier network and drop-off locations under one contract, Happy Returns or ReturnGO is simpler than wiring tools together. In those cases, US Tech Automations is the wrong first purchase.
Common mistakes when switching
Treating a starting price as the final price. Ask each vendor for the included return count at your monthly volume.
Leaving label and shipping costs out of the comparison. On a small order they can outweigh the software fee.
Switching during a busy return period. Run the old and new tools side by side for a short window with clear rules.
Configuring approvals before the return policy is written. Rules written after go-live tend to be applied inconsistently.
Assuming a free tier covers exchanges. Confirm exchange handling on the product's own page before you move.
Frequently asked questions
Is Loop Returns the only exchange-first returns tool for Shopify?
No. ReturnGO's Premium tier lists variant and product exchange, and Happy Returns' listing describes one-click exchanges, so both are real alternatives for an exchange-led policy.
Which Loop Returns alternative has a free plan?
AfterShip Returns lists a Free plan that is shopper-funded and uses a revenue share, and Redo's returns module is listed as free. Confirm what the free plan covers at your volume before you rely on it.
Can I trust the starting prices on these pages?
Use them as entry points. Loop, ReturnGO and Happy Returns show starting or single prices, and the included return volume is not always stated, so request a written quote using your monthly return count.
Do I need a developer to switch?
A Shopify App Store install does not need one. A custom workflow that reads webhooks, retries failed calls and writes an audit log does need someone who can manage tokens, logs and error handling.
What should I export before I cancel my current returns tool?
Export return history, the status of any open returns, and refund and store-credit records. Confirm how the new tool will handle returns that started on the old one, so no shopper receives two refunds.
Making the switch with less risk
Start by writing down the return rules you already enforce, because every alternative in this guide is only as consistent as the rules you give it. Then pick the category: a free entry for a test, an exchange-led product for growth, drop-off for shopper convenience, or a quoted enterprise suite for a wider post-purchase program. Run the shortlist against your own return count and label costs rather than the starting prices.
If the workflow above matches how your team handles exceptions, see how US Tech Automations configures this for a returns stack and compare the rule set against your current policy.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.