Skip to content
AI & Automation

Pendo vs Chameleon 2027: Which Fits a Small SaaS Team

Oct 19, 2026

Pendo vs Chameleon: the short answer

For a small SaaS team, pendo vs chameleon comes down to what you need to buy first. Chameleon fits teams that want in-app guidance and experiments with a visible starting price. Pendo fits teams that want product analytics and session replay alongside guidance, and that can run a quote-based buying process.

Pendo's one public number you can plan around is its free tier: Pendo free plan: 500 MAU limit according to Pendo (2026). Its Base, Core and Ultimate tiers are listed as quote-based on the same page, so a paid budget needs a sales conversation.

A digital adoption platform, or DAP, is software that places guidance such as tours, tooltips and checklists on top of another web application so users can finish tasks without leaving it. Both products sell that layer and also collect usage data, so they overlap on some features and diverge on others.

TL;DR: Choose Chameleon when published tiers and in-app guidance matter most. Choose Pendo when analytics depth drives the purchase and you can wait for a quote.

Checked October 18, 2026: the Chameleon Startup, Pro and Growth starting prices and the Pendo free plan's 500 MAU limit were re-checked against the vendors' pricing pages on that date.

On ownership and naming: in the sources we checked, neither product has been renamed, merged or discontinued. Pendo's pricing page lists Novus as a free beta and Agent Analytics as an add-on, so both are current product lines. Chameleon's About page names only its operating company, Chameleon Intelligent Tech, Inc., and no parent company, and our searches found no 2026 report of a sale.

Key Takeaways

  • Pendo is the analytics-first option. Its paid tiers are quote-based, so the budget conversation happens with sales.

  • Chameleon is the guidance-first option. Its pricing page publishes starting prices and MTU-based limits for its paid tiers.

  • Pendo has a permanent free plan with a user cap. Chameleon lists a free trial instead of a permanent free plan.

  • Both need a JavaScript snippet. Pendo's server-side events also need a shared secret, and Chameleon sends events with chmln.track.

  • Usage limits are not comparable until you confirm how each vendor counts users, since Pendo uses MAU and Chameleon uses MTU.

  • Quote-based pricing is not disqualifying on its own. It is a reason to get the same scope priced in writing before you compare totals.

Why buyers compare these two now

Market value: US$3.16 billion in 2025 according to The Insight Partners (2025), and the same report forecasts a 21.63% CAGR over the forecast period to 2034. That forecast explains why both vendors keep adding features, but it does not settle a purchase. The rest of this guide sticks to published plans, vendor documentation and independent review data. If analytics depth is your main question, our Pendo vs Amplitude comparison covers that pairing.

How we evaluated these tools

This is an informed buyer's guide built from public information. We did not run either product in a trial, and nothing below describes a test we ran. The weights reflect what a small SaaS owner or operations lead must settle before signing: cost certainty, usage limits, setup effort, analytics, guidance features and governance. The weights are our judgment, not vendor or market figures.

CriterionWeightEvidence we usedKey figure
Price transparency and entry cost20%Vendor pricing pages$279 for 2,000 MTUs (Startup tier on Chameleon)
Usage limits at your user count20%Plan caps and count definitions500 MAU (free plan on Pendo)
Setup effort and data plumbing15%Vendor developer documentation5,000 named Track Events (cap on Pendo)
Analytics depth15%Published plan contentsProduct analytics from Base up (Pendo)
In-app guidance and experiments15%Published plan contents10 live experiences (Startup tier on Chameleon)
Governance, security and support15%Plan contents and add-on prices$400 per month (SAML add-on on Pro, Chameleon)

The weights total 100%. The figures in the table are repeated with their citations in the sections below.

Review data is thin and inconsistent, so we weight it lightly. G2 rating: 4.4 for both products according to Toolradar (2026). One directory lists only 4 ratings per product, according to Techjockey (2026), so star averages should carry little weight. Aggregator pricing also conflicts with the vendor's own page, so this guide uses vendor pricing for every number.

Published prices and limits

Chameleon's published pricing. The Startup tier on Chameleon starts at $279 for 2,000 MTUs, according to Chameleon (2026), and the page does not state a billing period, so we do not annualize it. Its Pro tier is from $750 per month for 5k MTUs and its Growth tier is from $1,250 per month for 5k MTUs, billed annually, on the same page.

Pendo does not publish paid prices. Its pricing page lists the Base, Core and Ultimate tiers as quote-based and offers a free-forever plan with a user cap, per Pendo's pricing page. Where a public figure is missing, the tables below say Quote-based.

VendorPlan or add-onPublished limit or price
PendoFree500 MAU
PendoTrack Events5,000 named events per application
ChameleonStartup2,000 MTUs and 10 live experiences
ChameleonPro5k MTUs and up to 20 live experiences
ChameleonGrowth5k MTUs and unlimited live experiences
ChameleonSeats on Pro10 seats, viewers unlimited
ChameleonCustom events on Pro20 events
ChameleonExtra seats add-on$300 per month for 5 seats on Pro
ChameleonSAML SSO add-on$400 per month on Pro

The Pendo Track Events cap is a configuration limit, not a plan price. The Chameleon seat, event and add-on figures apply to the plan named in each row. A review aggregator warns that MTU limits can lead to overage charges, so model your count before you commit, per Toolradar's comparison.

VendorPlanPublished priceAnnual at list price
PendoFreeFree$0
PendoBaseQuote-basedQuote-based
PendoCoreQuote-basedQuote-based
PendoUltimateQuote-basedQuote-based
PendoPredict add-onQuote-basedQuote-based
ChameleonStartup$279 for 2,000 MTUs, period not statedNot annualized
ChameleonProfrom $750 per month$9,000
ChameleonGrowthfrom $1,250 per month, billed annually$15,000
ChameleonEnterpriseCustomCustom

Our arithmetic multiplies the published monthly figure by 12: $750 × 12 = $9,000, and $1,250 × 12 = $15,000, where the Growth tier is billed annually. These are list-price totals, not quotes, and they exclude add-ons, taxes and overage.

What each plan includes

Chameleon figures in this section come from the pricing page linked above. Pendo's rows come from its plan descriptions on the same pricing page.

CapabilityPendoChameleon
Permanent free planYes, free-forever plan with a user capNo; free trial listed instead
Product analyticsIncluded from Base upNo analytics row on the pricing page
In-app guides or experiencesIncluded from Base up (In-app Guides)Live experiences on every tier, capped on Startup and Pro
A/B testingNot listed on the pricing pageListed on Pro and above
Session replayCore and UltimateNot listed on the pricing page
Surveys and feedbackPendo-branded NPS on Free; sentiment surveys on UltimateNot listed on the pricing page
Custom eventsTrack Events, with a named cap per application20 on Pro and Growth; 50 on Enterprise
LocalizationNot listed on the pricing page5 languages on Pro; 10 on Growth; unlimited on Enterprise
Webhooks and APIsServer-side REST Track EventsListed on Pro and above
AI featuresLeo in all plans; Agent Analytics and Predict as add-ons10,000 free AI credits on Pro

The Chameleon comparison table covers Pro and above, so A/B testing on Startup is not shown. The Pendo pricing page does not list A/B testing at all, so confirm it in a demo or documentation before you rely on it.

Pendo: where it fits and where it stalls

Vendor-published facts: Pendo's plan contents put product analytics and in-app guides in Base, add session replay in Core, and add sentiment surveys, Orchestrate, Listen and Data Sync in Ultimate. Leo, Retroactive Analytics, Security and Integrations appear in every plan. Agent Analytics is generally available, according to CFOtech (January 12, 2026), which reports that Pendo made it free to get started.

Our read: Pendo fits a team where analytics, session replay and feedback sit in one purchase and someone owns the data model. Its limitation for a small team is budget visibility. Without a published paid price, you learn the real cost late, and Predict and Agent Analytics are separate purchases on top of a paid tier. Its free plan works for a trial, but a team that passes the user cap will be in a quote conversation.

Implementation: Pendo's web SDK sends client-side events through the install script. Server-side Track Events go out as REST API calls, must include Visitor and Account IDs that match the web events, and require a shared secret, per Pendo's Track Events article.

Chameleon: where it fits and where it stalls

Vendor-published facts: Chameleon's Startup tier covers live experiences, customization and targeting, and email support. Pro adds Copilot, themes with custom CSS, A/B testing and goals, localization and AI credits. Growth adds unlimited live experiences, a governance suite, HelpBar and dedicated onboarding. No plan on its pricing page lists an analytics, survey or session-replay row.

Our read: Chameleon fits a team that wants no-code guidance and a visible entry price, and that will keep event names disciplined from the start. Its limits are the MTU definition, the absence of listed analytics, and a Growth tier that routes through a sales conversation. Note also that a small team on Startup will not see A/B testing on the comparison table.

Implementation: Chameleon's JavaScript API sends user actions with chmln.track(EVENT_NAME), and events from admin users are dropped so they do not clutter analytics, per Chameleon's events documentation. Webhooks and APIs are listed for Pro and above.

Who this is for

Choose Pendo if product analytics and session replay are the core purchase, and an owner can run a quote-based evaluation. Choose Chameleon if you need in-app guidance and experiments on a visible starting tier, and your team will name events carefully. For Pendo against a customer-success platform, see Gainsight vs Pendo.

Red flags: You need a budget figure before any sales call, since Pendo's paid tiers are quote-based. You need analytics or session replay from the same tool on a Chameleon plan, since neither appears in its pricing rows. Your user count sits near a tier cap and you have not confirmed how each vendor counts it.

Decision checklist

  • Confirm your monthly count and whether it is measured as MAU (Pendo) or MTU (Chameleon).

  • Ask Pendo for a written quote covering the same scope you priced on Chameleon.

  • List the events you need, then check them against Pendo's named-event cap and Chameleon's custom event allowance for your plan.

  • Decide who owns event naming and who signs off on experiments before the first tour goes live.

  • Check SSO and seat needs against the add-on prices in the limits table.

  • Write down whether the first purchase is for analytics or guidance, and choose the tool that covers that job.

Stitching it yourself versus a configured workflow

The alternative most small teams weigh is stitching the flow together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or building it in-house. Those tools can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when they are configured for it. The buyer still designs and owns idempotency, so a retry does not create a duplicate task, along with escalation paths, access controls and maintenance when an API changes. For a workflow-focused view of Pendo, see automating around Pendo vs Amplitude.

A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure those same parts as named steps: run logs, retry and error branches, a duplicate check before any CRM write, and a human approval step before outreach or any plan-change recommendation. Its prerequisites match the DIY route: API or export access from the chosen tool, CRM API credentials, and a shared account ID that maps product users to CRM accounts. It is a configurable design, not a live deployment, and the review points stay with your team.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations

Skip a workflow layer if you only need one welcome tour or a short checklist, since the tool's own guides handle that without another system. Skip it if you cannot export or call the events at all, because a workflow has nothing to act on without access. Skip it also if your main question is dashboards and reporting, where the analytics suite you already pay for or a BI tool is the simpler route.

Implementation: events, identity and proposed workflows

Event plumbing decides how much engineering time a rollout takes. Track Events on Pendo: 5,000 named per application according to Pendo Support (2026), and an event must be sent under the same name it was configured with. Chameleon sends its events through chmln.track, so the same discipline applies: pick names once and document them.

Proposed workflow A, configurable and not live: the trigger is a chmln.track event named "Subscribed to Plan", the example name in Chameleon's documentation, or the matching Pendo Track Event. The action is a CRM lookup for the account, followed by a check for an open follow-up task, with a new task created only if none exists. The output is a draft task for the account owner and a row in an operations log. A person approves any customer message before it is sent. The prerequisites are event export or webhook access, CRM API access, and a shared account ID.

Worked example: a 4,000-user team on Chameleon's Pro tier

Take a hypothetical team with 4,000 monthly tracked users that wants guided onboarding and A/B tests. Pendo's free plan cannot cover that size, so its paid figure would come from a quote and the team cannot budget it from a public page. On Chameleon, the Pro tier is from $750 per month for 5k MTUs, which leaves 1,000 MTUs of headroom if the two counts match, and the SAML 2.0 SSO add-on is $400 per month, according to Chameleon (2026). At list price, Pro costs $9,000 a year ($750 × 12) and SAML adds $4,800 a year ($400 × 12), for $13,800 in the first year before overage and taxes. The team would send each onboarding milestone with chmln.track, for example "Subscribed to Plan", and would confirm that its MTU count matches Chameleon's definition before it treats 4,000 users as 4,000 MTUs.

Proposed workflow B, also configurable and not live, runs once a day. The trigger is a scheduled pull of tracked-user counts from the tool's export or API. The action compares each count with the cap of the plan you bought and flags any account that passes a threshold you set. The output is an alert to the operations lead and a row in the renewal sheet. A person decides whether to upgrade, trim targeting or accept overage. The prerequisites are a written definition of the count, export or API access, and plan caps copied from the vendor page on the day you check. The same US Tech Automations design can hold the count definition in one place so the check does not drift.

Questions buyers ask

Is Pendo or Chameleon cheaper to start with?

Chameleon is the one you can budget from a public page, because its Startup tier has a published starting price. Pendo's paid tiers are quote-based, so a like-for-like comparison needs a written Pendo quote for the same scope.

Does Chameleon have a free plan?

No permanent free plan appears on its pricing page; the page offers a free trial instead. Pendo's free-forever plan is the only permanent free tier of the two, and it carries a user cap.

Which one has better analytics?

Pendo, on published plan contents: product analytics appears from Base upward, while Chameleon's pricing page has no analytics row for any plan. If analytics decides the purchase, the Pendo path is more direct.

Can I send custom events to Chameleon?

Yes. Its JavaScript API uses chmln.track(EVENT_NAME), and the custom event allowance rises by plan, as the limits table shows.

Does either tool replace a workflow automation platform?

No. Both handle in-product guidance and usage data. CRM updates, routing and approvals need a separate workflow layer, whether that is Zapier, Make, n8n or a configured design.

Does Pendo cap named events?

Yes, Pendo's Track Events have a named-event cap per application, which the implementation section above covers.

Conclusion

For pendo vs chameleon at a small SaaS team, the answer follows your first job. Guidance with a published starting price points to Chameleon, while analytics depth with a sales-led rollout points to Pendo. Before you sign, get Pendo's quote in writing, confirm how each vendor counts users, and check that your event data can reach the tool you pick. If you want that check run as a configured workflow, see how US Tech Automations configures this with your event and CRM exports.

Sources:

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.