Skip to content
AI & Automation

Plex Alternatives for Small Manufacturers 2027: 4 Steps

Nov 5, 2026

Key Takeaways

  • Five of the seven vendors below publish at least one price on their own site. Acumatica and ProShop publish none, and Plex is quote-based.

  • MRPeasy's pricing page is the most specific of the group. It lists per-user prices, named manufacturing features and an API tier in one place.

  • Fishbowl's manufacturing tier starts from a published figure but is finalized by quote, and a third-party FAQ gives a higher starting figure. Get the number in writing before comparing.

  • Business Central publishes per-user prices, but its page routes purchase through a partner and ties manufacturing capabilities to the Premium plan, so the partner's scope sets the real cost.

  • The lowest per-user price is a weak tiebreaker. In our read, data cleanup, integrations and a named owner for the item master decide how long a rollout takes, and none of the vendor pages we opened publishes a verifiable implementation timeline.

  • A workflow layer on top of the chosen system only works with export or API access and named human approvers.

TL;DR: In our view, shortlist MRPeasy if you want published per-user prices with BOM and traceability depth. Add Odoo or Fishbowl if you want a modular suite or a quoted manufacturing package. Keep the quote-only products on the list only if you are ready for a scoped proposal.

A Plex alternative, for this guide, is a manufacturing ERP or MRP system that keeps bills of materials, work orders, inventory and purchasing in one database and can be priced before a sales call.

Decide the category before you compare vendors

The first decision is not which vendor is cheapest. It is whether you need a system that runs the shop floor, a system that runs the back office with manufacturing added on top, or a lighter inventory tool that stops short of production planning. The seven products below fall into those three groups.

Shop-floor-first tools such as MRPeasy and Katana start from inventory, bills of materials and production orders. MRPeasy's pricing page names production planning, BOM management and lot traceability in its entry plan, which places it in this group. Odoo is a modular suite in which Manufacturing is one app among many, and both of its paid plans list "All apps" as included. Business Central and Acumatica start from accounting and purchasing and add production capability around that core. Fishbowl sits between the groups, with an inventory core and a manufacturing tier that is priced by quote. ProShop is built for machine shops and covers estimating, shop-floor scheduling, inventory, quality inspection and job costing, according to ProShop (2026), which publishes no prices.

Plex sits at the full-platform end of this choice. A Rockwell Automation announcement dated 11 June 2026 said a new site would start with Plex MES, QMS, EDI and analytics, and described Plex as "delivered as a cloud-native, single-instance platform," according to Plant Automation Technology (2026). The pricing is not public. CostBench lists the Plex subscription as "Plex subscription (quote)" with "Contact Sales" for enterprise pricing, according to CostBench (2026).

How we evaluated these tools

This is an informed buyer's guide built from public vendor pages and third-party listings. It is not based on hands-on testing. We weighted six criteria to reflect what a small plant can check before a demo. The weights are our judgment, so change them if your product mix is different.

CriterionWeightWhy it carries this weight
Manufacturing depth (BOM, routing, production orders)25%This is the job the replacement has to do. Without it, the shop keeps its spreadsheets.
Inventory and traceability (lots, serials, locations)20%Recall and audit questions depend on it, and it is hard to add later.
Price basis you can check in writing20%A quote-only price cannot be compared until a vendor provides it.
Implementation effort and data cleanup15%Most rollout delay comes from item master and BOM cleanup, not from installing software.
Integrations and data export (API, connectors)10%Purchasing, shipping and accounting tools need the data.
Support for more users or sites10%Growth should not force a second migration.

The weights favor manufacturing depth and price transparency because a buyer can check both without a sales call. Where a vendor did not publish a fact, the tables say "not stated" rather than filling the gap.

What the vendor pages publish

The matrix below normalizes what each vendor's own pricing or product page states. "Not named" means the page we opened does not mention the item. It does not mean the product lacks the feature.

Feature on the vendor pageKatanaMRPeasyFishbowlOdooBusiness CentralAcumaticaProShop
Prices on the vendor pagePartial: Free plan and custom AdvantageYes, per userPartial: three tiers and a manufacturing "from" priceYes, per user, billing label not shownYes, per userNo, quote-basedNo, quote-based
Free trial or free tierFree plan; 15-day test of unlimited SKUs15 + 15 day trialNot statedOne app free30-day trialNot statedNot stated
Manufacturing named on pricing pageNot namedYes: BOM, production planning, quality control, subcontractingYes: Advanced Manufacturing tier"All apps" included, Manufacturing not namedYes: Premium plan lists manufacturing capabilitiesManufacturing calculator linkedYes: machine-shop ERP, MES, QMS
API or webhooks namedNot namedYes, on the Unlimited plan for paid accountsNot namedNot named on pricing page; public external API docsNot namedNot namedNot named
Buying routeSelf-serve free; sales for AdvantageSelf-serveQuote for manufacturing tierSelf-servePartner or "Contact us"Partner-led reviewProposal form

Katana's own page is the most restrictive of the free options. According to Katana (2026), the Free plan on Katana: up to 30 SKUs is the catalog limit, with unlimited users, integrations and locations. The page also says unlimited SKUs can be tested for 15 days, after which the catalog must be cut to 30 SKUs or the business must talk to sales.

Pricing and total cost of ownership

Pricing checked October 30, 2026. Only prices read on each vendor's own pricing page appear in the table below. Where a vendor did not publish a number, the table says "Quote-based" or "Not published," and the source link in the last column points to the page that was checked.

VendorPlanPublished priceBilling and notesSource
KatanaFree$0Up to 30 SKUs; unlimited usersKatana pricing
KatanaAdvantageQuote-basedAnnual contract scoped per businessKatana pricing
MRPeasyStarter$49 per user per monthBilled annually, one month freeMRPeasy pricing
MRPeasyProfessional$69 per user per monthAdds quality control, serial numbers, subcontractingMRPeasy pricing
MRPeasyEnterprise$99 per user per monthAdds master production schedule, multiple sites, RMAMRPeasy pricing
MRPeasyUnlimited$149 per user per monthMinimum 2 users; API and webhooks for paid accountsMRPeasy pricing
FishbowlEssentials$229 per monthBilled annually; CostBench says no manufacturing featuresFishbowl pricing
FishbowlAdvanced ManufacturingFrom $675 per monthFinal price quoted by users and deploymentFishbowl pricing
OdooStandardUS$31.10 and US$38.90 per user per monthPage does not label which figure is annual or monthlyOdoo pricing
OdooCustomUS$61.00 and US$76.20 per user per monthSame billing label gap; all apps includedOdoo pricing
Business CentralEssentials$80 per user per monthPaid yearly; "Contact us" button, not checkoutMicrosoft pricing
Business CentralPremium$110 per user per monthPaid yearlyMicrosoft pricing
Business CentralTeam Members$8 per user per monthPaid yearlyMicrosoft pricing
AcumaticaAll editionsQuote-basedDepends on applications, usage and deploymentAcumatica pricing
ProShopStandard and GovernmentQuote-basedDepends on user count and optionProShop pricing
PlexSubscriptionQuote-based"Contact Sales" on CostBenchCostBench Plex

The MRPeasy figures are the easiest to compare. Unlimited tier on MRPeasy: $149 per user monthly according to MRPeasy (2026). The page says the Unlimited tier needs a minimum of two users, and that bulk pricing starts at the 11th user at $79 per 10 users.

Here is a worked example for a plant that has ten users. On the MRPeasy pricing page, the Professional plan is $69 per user per month. Ten users at $69 is $690 a month, which is $8,280 over twelve months at monthly billing. The page says annual billing gives one month free, so the same year costs 11 payments of $690, or $7,590. The difference is $690. The math holds because ten users stay below the 11th-user bulk threshold. If the same plant's customer records sit in Odoo, the external API reads them through the res.partner model, which the Odoo external API documentation uses in its search examples. The data mapping for that step should name res.partner before anyone signs.

Fishbowl's manufacturing price needs more care. The vendor page lists Advanced Manufacturing from $675 a month, and says final pricing is quoted to your users and deployment. A CostBench page lists the same tier at $675 in its table but gives $729 in its FAQ, according to CostBench (2026). Ask Fishbowl for the written figure.

Vendor profiles

Katana

Best fit. Shops that want to start on a free plan and move to a paid plan later, as long as the catalog stays within the 30-SKU free limit.

Limitations. Paid pricing is custom on the Advantage plan. One aggregator lists an older paid tier that Katana's own page does not show, so third-party numbers are not a substitute for the vendor's quote.

Implementation. A free-plan start forces an early SKU review, because the catalog size becomes a constraint. Plan that cleanup before importing any data.

Evidence. Katana pricing page.

MRPeasy

Best fit. Small plants that need MRP, BOM management and lot traceability at a published per-user price, and that can start on the Starter or Professional plan.

Limitations. Quality control, serial numbers and subcontracting sit on the Professional plan. API and webhooks are on the Unlimited plan for paid accounts. A plant that wants those integrations from day one should price the Unlimited tier, not the entry tier.

Implementation. The page offers a 15 + 15 day free trial with no credit card. In our read, the BOM and item-master cleanup is the step most likely to slip, so start it during the trial. The page also lists integrations with QuickBooks Online, Xero, Shopify and Zapier, which covers many of the connections a small plant needs first.

Evidence. MRPeasy pricing page.

Fishbowl

Best fit. Plants that want an inventory core and a manufacturing tier, and are willing to get the manufacturing price through a quote.

Limitations. The manufacturing tier shows a starting price only. CostBench reports that the base Essentials, Growth and Scale plans do not include manufacturing features, which means the buyer should price the Advanced Manufacturing tier, not the cheaper base plans. Advanced Manufacturing tier on Fishbowl: from $675 monthly according to Fishbowl (2026).

Implementation. CostBench says an implementation package is required and that its price is not published, so ask for it in writing with the manufacturing quote.

Evidence. Fishbowl pricing page and the CostBench page cited in the pricing section.

Odoo

Best fit. Teams that want Manufacturing as one app inside a broader suite, and that can own the configuration work or pay a partner to do it.

Limitations. The Standard plan on Odoo shows US$31.10 and US$38.90 per user per month, according to Odoo (2026). The page does not label which figure applies to annual or monthly billing, so get the billing basis in writing before comparing it with other per-user prices.

Implementation. The free tier covers one app with unlimited users, according to the same Odoo pricing page. Its public external API documentation uses res.partner as its example record model, which gives an integration team a concrete starting point for customer data.

Evidence. Odoo pricing page and Odoo external API documentation.

Business Central

Best fit. Shops already standardized on Microsoft tools that want a per-user ERP and have a Microsoft partner to define the scope.

Limitations. The pricing page shows "Contact us" buttons instead of checkout, says the prices are for informational purposes and may differ at checkout, and ties manufacturing capabilities to the Premium plan. Essentials plan on Business Central: $80 per user, paid yearly according to Microsoft (2026). That per-user figure does not show what the partner's scope will cost.

Implementation. The page lists a 30-day free trial. Copilot Studio is priced separately in Copilot Credits, and it requires an Azure subscription.

Evidence. Microsoft Business Central pricing.

Acumatica

Best fit. Buyers who want a partner-led pricing review and are willing to wait for a scoped proposal before budgeting.

Limitations. The page publishes no dollar figures. According to Acumatica (2026), pricing is tailored using three factors: applications, usage and resources, and deployment preferences.

Implementation. The page offers a no-obligation custom pricing review and says a partner will explain the cost differences between deployment options. It links a Manufacturing calculator, but the calculator's output is not visible in the page text we could read, so do not assume it shows a price.

Evidence. Acumatica pricing page.

ProShop

Best fit. Machine shops that want estimating, shop-floor scheduling, inventory, quality inspection and job costing in one system.

Limitations. The page publishes no prices. According to ProShop (2026), cost depends on the number of users and on whether the shop needs the standard or Government option. It is a poor fit for a plant that needs a published price to get budget approval.

Implementation. The pricing route is a personalized proposal form on the vendor site. Ask for the proposal to state the implementation scope separately from the license.

Evidence. ProShop pricing page.

Who this is for

This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a small manufacturing business who is close to choosing a system. They have a shortlist, they want the price basis and fit answers before a sales call, and they need to decide whether to move off Plex, or away from a spreadsheet, at all.

Red flags: no one owns the item master and BOM data; the plant needs machine-level data collection on the floor before anything else; or the budget decision cannot move until a vendor writes a price, which pushes the quote-only products to the end of the list.

Disqualifiers and who should choose each

The table below is our judgment, built from the vendor facts cited above. Each row names the check that most often eliminates a vendor and the buyer for whom it still makes sense.

VendorDisqualifier to checkChoose it if
KatanaFree plan caps the catalog at 30 SKUs; Advantage is customYou want to start free and your SKU list is small
MRPeasyQuality, serial and subcontracting sit on Professional; API on UnlimitedYou need MRP and traceability at a published per-user price
FishbowlManufacturing tier is quote-based and the FAQ and table disagree on the starting priceYou want an inventory core plus a manufacturing package that you price by quote
OdooBilling basis is not labeled on the published figures; Manufacturing not named on the pricing pageYou want modular apps and can own configuration
Business CentralPer-user prices exclude partner scope; manufacturing capabilities sit in the Premium planYou are standardized on Microsoft tools and have a partner
AcumaticaNo published dollar figures; partner-led cost reviewYou will run a partner-led review before budgeting
ProShopNo published prices; built for machine shopsYou run a machine shop and want ERP, MES and QMS together

Plex is not in this table because its only public price is "Contact Sales." It belongs on the shortlist of plants that have a budget for a formal selection and multi-site scope, as the 2026 announcement describes.

Where spreadsheets and handoffs break

Most small plants do not leave a spreadsheet because the shop floor is too complex. They leave because a supplier's date change sits in an inbox while the work order still shows the old date. The fixes below are proposed workflow designs, not live deployments.

The first is a purchase-order exception workflow. The trigger is a PO line whose confirmed receipt date falls after the planned date in the MRP export. The action pulls the PO number, original date, revised date and affected work order into a draft exception record, and drafts a note to the buyer. The output is a logged exception with a timestamp. Nothing goes to the supplier until the buyer approves it. Prerequisites are read access to the ERP's purchase order export or API, a field map for PO number and dates, and one named approver. A proposed design from US Tech Automations would hold the approval step as a required gate, and the plant would own the export credentials.

The second is a quote-intake workflow for a job shop. The trigger is a new RFQ email or web form submission. The action extracts part number, quantity and requested date into a draft sales order in the ERP, and flags any part number not found in the item master. The output is a draft order and a review task for the estimator, who checks pricing and routing before release. The same prerequisites apply: write access or an import template in the ERP, and a rule for unknown part numbers. The estimator approves every draft, so the workflow never releases an order on its own.

Zapier, Make or n8n instead of a workflow vendor

Zapier appears on MRPeasy's integration list, which makes it a realistic first step for a plant that wants order and inventory data to reach a spreadsheet, a CRM or a shipping tool. Make and n8n are common alternatives. When configured, these tools can keep run histories, retry failed steps, branch on errors and write audit records. That is a fair capability, and for a single low-risk handoff it may be the right choice.

What the buyer must still design and own is the rest. Idempotency means a retry does not create a second draft order. Escalation means someone is named when the buyer does not respond. Access control means the ERP credentials are scoped and rotated. Maintenance means someone updates the workflow when the ERP's API or export format changes. A proposed US Tech Automations design could configure the same approval gates, error queues and run logs as part of the setup. It would still need API or export credentials, a field map and a named owner inside the plant. Choose the DIY route if one person can own the workflow end to end. Choose a configured design if the workflow has to survive staff changes.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: a plant whose MRPeasy or Katana setup already covers the data flow, with one person who can run the exports, does not need an extra workflow layer. A single connector between an accounting tool and a shipping tool is usually better handled by Zapier or the connector the ERP vendor ships. A plant with no ERP or spreadsheet export yet has nothing for a workflow to read, so the first step is the system choice, not the automation.

Terms used in this guide

  • BOM (bill of materials): the list of components and quantities needed to make one finished item.

  • MRP (material requirements planning): the calculation that turns demand into purchase and production dates.

  • MES (manufacturing execution system): software that tracks work orders and production on the shop floor.

  • QMS (quality management system): software for inspections, nonconformances and corrective actions.

  • Lot traceability: a record of which batch of material went into which finished item.

  • SKU (stock keeping unit): a unique code for a stocked or sellable item.

  • Quote-based: no list price is published, so the vendor prices after a conversation.

Four steps to shortlist a Plex alternative

  1. Write your scope: list your BOM depth, routing needs, lot or serial requirements and the number of sites.

  2. Keep only vendors whose price basis you can get in writing. Move quote-only vendors to a second round.

  3. Ask each shortlisted vendor for its export or API documentation before the demo.

  4. Name the person who will own item master and BOM cleanup, and give that role time in the plan.

Then score the shortlist against the weights in the method table above.

Questions buyers ask first

Is there a free Plex alternative?

Katana has a free plan, and it is the only free tier on a vendor page we opened that carries a catalog cap of 30 SKUs, per Katana's pricing page. Odoo also has a free tier, but it covers one app only, per Odoo's pricing page.

Which Plex alternative publishes the clearest price?

MRPeasy publishes per-user prices for four plans, from $49 per user per month on Starter, on its pricing page. It also states the free trial length, which is 15 + 15 days with no credit card.

Do Business Central and Acumatica require a partner?

Both vendor pages route the buying conversation through partners or sales contacts. Microsoft's page says a partner can provide an assessment, consulting and pricing, and Acumatica's page describes a custom pricing review with an expert.

Can a no-code tool replace a workflow vendor?

For a single, low-risk handoff, often yes. The condition is that someone owns retries, duplicate prevention, access control and maintenance, which the tool does not decide for you.

How long does implementation take?

None of the vendor pages we opened publishes a timeline we can verify, so ask each shortlisted vendor for one in writing, along with the named implementer's scope.

The short version

A small plant comparing Plex alternatives should choose the category first, then keep only the vendors whose price basis can be checked in writing. Start with the scope, then the price basis, then the data owner. If your next step is a workflow between the chosen system and your purchasing or quoting tools, see how US Tech Automations configures this against your export and approval rules.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.