Provet Cloud vs Vetspire: Which Vet PIMS Fits in 2027
The decision you are actually making
For most clinics, the choice between Provet Cloud and Vetspire turns on one question: can you compare the costs on paper before a sales call? Provet publishes per-vet prices on its own pricing page, and Vetspire publishes none. A practice manager who needs a number to take to an owner should start with Provet, while a practice ready to negotiate can start with either and should expect a quote from Vetspire.
A practice management information system, or PIMS, is the software that runs appointments, medical records, invoicing and client messages in one clinic system. Both products are cloud PIMS platforms, so the real comparison is about site count, staff workflow, data access and how much of the buying process you can get in writing.
Ownership comes first because it changes the contract conversation. Provet Cloud is Nordhealth's product, and Nordhealth described itself as a "publicly listed, fast-growing cloud-based healthcare SaaS company" in a March 2022 release that refers to its "SaaS-based Provet Cloud," according to Nordhealth (2022). Vetspire has changed hands before. Pathway buyout: April 13, 2021 according to PrivSource (2021), a deal record that lists the transaction as a buyout with no financial terms disclosed. In August 2026, Battery Ventures made a growth investment in Vetspire, and the size and valuation were not disclosed, according to SaaSRise (2026). We found no rename or merger for either product, but Vetspire's website now redirects from vetspire.com to vetspire.ai, so update any saved links. We could not open the full text of the 2026 announcement, so ask Vetspire to confirm its current ownership and data terms in writing.
TL;DR: Choose Provet Cloud if you need a published per-vet price, a defined multi-location tier and a documented API route you can request. Choose Vetspire if you are ready for a quote, want an AI scribe and a token-based API, and can get ownership and migration terms in writing.
Key Takeaways
Provet Cloud publishes per-vet pricing on its pricing page and Vetspire publishes none, so only one side of this comparison can be checked before a sales call.
Provet's Pro tier lists multi-location management as a feature. Vetspire markets itself to multi-location practices but does not describe what multi-location use costs or includes.
Both vendors offer an API, but Provet requires an access request and a sandbox, while Vetspire issues a token for a GraphQL endpoint.
Provet's own page describes a test migration before go-live. The Vetspire pages we read give no migration timeline.
Vendor pages and a third-party comparison disagree on inventory, telehealth and payments, so confirm those in a live demo.
Vetspire was bought in 2021 and took a growth investment in 2026, so ask who would control your data if ownership changes again.
How we evaluated these tools
We weighted seven criteria to match what an owner or operations lead decides before signing. The weights are our judgment for this buyer, not an industry standard, and they are shown so you can change them.
| Criterion and why it matters | Weight |
|---|---|
| Published price clarity: lets you compare totals before a sales call | 15% |
| Multi-site fit: what changes across locations and what it costs | 15% |
| AI documentation: scribe and summary features, and whether they are priced separately | 15% |
| API and data access: whether your team or an integration layer can read your records | 15% |
| Front-desk and money coverage: booking, reminders, payments and inventory | 15% |
| Migration and go-live risk: timeline, test migration and staff effort | 15% |
| Ownership and vendor stability: who controls the product and what is committed in writing | 10% |
We left star ratings out. The review pages we tried for both products would not open, so we did not guess at ratings; read recent reviews yourself before you sign. Facts in this article come from vendor pages, deal records, trade press and a survey, and each figure carries an inline citation. Our analysis is labeled as analysis.
What each vendor's own site says
The matrix below separates what each vendor's own site states from what a third party reports. An entry that says "not described" means we did not find the capability on the pages we read, which is not the same as a confirmed no.
| Capability | Provet Cloud | Vetspire | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published per-vet price | Yes, on the pricing page | No; quote-based | Vendor pages |
| Multi-location | Pro tier includes multi-location management | Marketed for multi-location practices; scope not described | Vendor pages |
| AI documentation | Clinical Agent add-on, an AI scribe with actions | AI Scribe and AI Summary described on the website | Vendor pages; add-on price public only for Provet |
| Online booking and reminders | Online booking; SMS and email reminders | Online booking; two-way email and text messaging | Vendor pages |
| Payments | Unified payments; Provet Pay listed at a share of revenue | Not described | Third party lists payments for both |
| Inventory | Not a native feature on the vet-cloud page; an inventory integration is listed | Not described | Third party lists inventory for both: conflict |
| Telehealth | Appears only as an integration category | Not described | Third party lists neither: conflict |
| Client app or portal | Not stated on vendor page; third party lists one | Not stated on vendor page; third party lists none | Third party only |
| Public API | REST API documentation; access by request form and sandbox | GraphQL endpoint; API token required | Vendor docs |
| Lab links | IDEXX, Antech and Zoetis named for diagnostics | Third party lists IDEXX and Antech | Mixed |
Where the sources disagree, vendor pages are the firmer starting point because a vendor can be held to them. A third-party comparison from PupPilot lists 26 feature rows for both products and differs from Provet's own page on inventory and telehealth. PupPilot sells an AI phone answering service and says it syncs with both products, so treat its ticks as leads to check, according to PupPilot (2026).
Our analysis: on vendor pages alone, Provet is the more specific of the two. It names its tiers, fees, add-on price and migration approach. Vetspire's site is stronger on how its AI features work and thinner on the operational items you would sign for, such as payments, inventory and plan scope. That gap is a reason to ask for a written feature list, not a reason to assume a feature is missing.
What you will pay
On Provet, the Core plan is $99 per vet per month with a $249 platform fee that includes one vet, the Pro plan is $129 per vet per month with a $299 platform fee that includes one vet, and the Clinical Agent add-on is $40 per user per month, according to Provet (2026). Pro adds a referral portal, multi-location management, a triage board and dedicated Customer Success. Enterprise is quote-based, with custom terms, a service level agreement and single sign-on.
Pricing checked October 26, 2026. The table below records only what each vendor's pricing page showed on that date.
| Vendor | Plan | Published price (US) | Platform fee | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Provet | Core | $99 per vet per month | $249 per month, includes one vet | Provet pricing |
| Provet | Pro | $129 per vet per month | $299 per month, includes one vet | Provet pricing |
| Provet | Enterprise | Quote-based | Not published | Provet pricing |
| Vetspire | Plan names not published | Quote-based | Not published | No public price found; /pricing redirects to the home page |
Vetspire publishes no prices that we could find. Its /pricing path now redirects to its home page, so we could not verify any figure or savings claim there and did not use one in any total.
The Provet wording leaves one question open. Both platform fees say they include one vet, but the page does not say whether the per-vet rate also applies to that first vet. The table below shows both readings. Reading A adds the per-vet rate to the platform fee for every vet. Reading B treats the platform fee as covering the first vet, and it is the more natural reading of the wording. Ask Provet which one its invoices follow before you budget.
Monthly and annual cost on Provet by plan and vet count, using the published rates. Figures exclude the Clinical Agent, payments and Enterprise terms.
| Plan and vets | Monthly, reading A | Monthly, reading B | Annual range |
|---|---|---|---|
| Core, 1 vet | $348 | $249 | $2,988 to $4,176 |
| Core, 3 vets | $546 | $447 | $5,364 to $6,552 |
| Core, 6 vets | $843 | $744 | $8,928 to $10,116 |
| Pro, 1 vet | $428 | $299 | $3,588 to $5,136 |
| Pro, 3 vets | $686 | $557 | $6,684 to $8,232 |
| Pro, 6 vets | $1,073 | $944 | $11,328 to $12,876 |
Running the numbers for a three-vet clinic
Take a hypothetical three-vet clinic, an illustration rather than a customer, weighing Provet's Core plan. Under reading B, the clinic pays $249 for the first vet and $99 for each of two more, which is $447 a month or $5,364 a year, while reading A gives $546 a month, according to Provet (2026). Now assume the clinic wants a weekly list of lapsed clients, and that a run over 1,200 client records flags 9% of them, or 108 clients. At an assumed five minutes per review, those 108 records take 9 hours a week of front-desk time. On Vetspire, the pull would start with a token-authenticated request to https://api.vetspire.com/graphql, the GraphQL endpoint whose API overview says every request needs a token. On Provet, the same pull waits on the access request and sandbox described in its developer documentation, so it is not a same-week task.
Provet Cloud: where it fits and where it strains
Provet Cloud fits clinics that want a published per-vet rate, a clear split between single-site and multi-site tiers, and a documented API route. The vendor describes Core as for single-site practices, Pro as for multi-site practices and Enterprise as for veterinary groups with complex needs. Its vet cloud page says non-vet staff are free, user accounts are unlimited, and part-time and locum vets get a reduced rate when they log in only a limited number of days each month. Check that threshold on the live page before you plan locum coverage.
The main limits are operational. Inventory is not listed as a native feature on that page, which points to an inventory integration instead, and telehealth appears only as an integration category. A third-party comparison also disagrees on both, so ask for the inventory workflow in a live demo.
Implementation is where Provet's pages are most specific. The vet-cloud page describes an in-house migration team and a test migration before go-live, and it describes a multi-week process, not a weekend cutover. Its API access steps require a request form before a sandbox or API access is issued, and integrations can be restricted to particular Provet tenants or countries.
Vetspire: where it fits and where it strains
Vetspire fits practices that want an AI-forward cloud PIMS and are comfortable with a quote-based purchase. Its website describes medical records with real-time documentation, drag-and-drop scheduling, two-way email and text messaging, and automated messages tied to events such as pet birthdays and wellness plan expirations. It also describes an AI Scribe that records and transcribes conversations into the chart, and an AI Summary that condenses each visit. The site lists practice types from general practice to enterprise groups, emergency hospitals, specialty clinics, mobile clinics and universities.
Its API is a GraphQL endpoint. The API overview gives https://api.vetspire.com/graphql as the endpoint, says all API requests require a token, and directs token setup to Vetspire Support. The developer site adds that a secret key grants read and write access to the organization's data, so treat it like an administrator's password. That is the control point to plan around for any integration.
The gaps are the items the site does not describe. The pages we read do not describe inventory, invoicing, payments or reporting, do not publish plan scope or an implementation timeline, and do not say what multi-location use costs. Put those questions in writing before any contract discussion. For a multi-year commitment, the ownership changes covered at the top of this article raise a direct question: who controls data export, and what happens if control changes again.
Proposed workflows: where an integration layer would sit
The part of this comparison that a tool such as US Tech Automations could address is the seam between the PIMS and the rest of the clinic: reminders, migration checks and exception reporting. The two workflows below are proposed, configurable designs, not a live deployment, and none is a measured result for any clinic. Each needs API or export access on your side before it can run.
Proposed workflow, lapsed-client reminders. The trigger is a weekly schedule. The action reads each client's last visit from the PIMS, either through Vetspire's GraphQL API with a token or, on Provet, through an approved API integration or a scheduled export. The output is a review queue of lapsed clients with consent status attached, and no text or email goes out until a staff member approves the batch. Prerequisites are read access to client and visit records, a sandbox test, and a written check that the consent field is current.
Proposed workflow, migration reconciliation. The trigger is a full export from the current system and a test load into the new one. The action compares record counts and open balances for clients, patients and invoices. The output is an exception report grouped by category, and the human review point is the practice manager, who signs off each category before go-live. Provet's vet-cloud page describes a test migration before go-live, so reconciliation would run against that test. Vetspire's site gives no equivalent detail, so request its process in writing.
Zapier, Make and n8n can run the same logic, and when configured they can support run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence. The difference is ownership. Your team would design and maintain observability, idempotency (so a retried run cannot text the same client twice), escalation paths, access controls and updates when either vendor changes its API. A proposed US Tech Automations design would set those controls up front, to be confirmed against the access you are granted, and the vendor credentials would stay in your name.
Who should choose which
Choose Provet Cloud if you want a published per-vet price, a defined multi-location tier and a route to API access you can request. It is also the clearer choice when the buying group needs a number before any sales call.
Red flags: you cannot get a written answer on how the platform fee applies to your first vet; your core workflow depends on native inventory, which the vet-cloud page does not list; you expect the switch to finish in days rather than weeks.
Choose Vetspire if you are ready to request a quote, want an AI scribe and summary built into a cloud PIMS, and have someone who can own a token-based GraphQL integration. It is the better fit if AI charting is the main reason you are shopping.
Red flags: you need a published price before any sales conversation; you cannot get written confirmation of ownership, data export and migration terms; your core workflow depends on inventory, invoicing or payments that the site does not describe.
Decision checklist before you sign:
Ask each vendor for the price in writing, including how the platform fee applies to the first vet.
Ask whether your site count needs Pro's multi-location management or an Enterprise contract.
Ask for the AI scribe price per user, based on the people who will actually use it.
Ask for API steps, a sandbox and a token before you assume any integration.
Ask who owns your data if control changes, and how you export it.
Ask for the migration plan in writing, including the test migration and go-live checks.
Ask for a live demo of inventory, payments and telehealth, the three items where sources disagree.
Common mistakes when comparing these two
Comparing Provet's per-vet rate with a Vetspire number from a different call, when the two may not count the same fees.
Treating "Quote-based" as a signal of cost. It only means the price is not public.
Reading a third-party tick-box table as a vendor statement. The PupPilot grid differs from vendor pages on inventory and telehealth.
Skipping the ownership check. Vetspire's public record includes a 2021 buyout and a 2026 growth investment.
Forgetting that the AI add-on is priced per user on Provet, while non-vet staff are free.
Starting an integration before the sandbox and token are approved.
If scheduling is your main pain, the veterinary scheduling guide covers booking tools in more depth before you commit to a PIMS.
Where a simpler setup wins
US Tech Automations is not the right step for every clinic. A small practice that only needs online booking and reminders is better served by the booking and reminder tools inside its PIMS, because an extra layer is one more system to maintain. A practice whose vendor will not issue API access or a data export has nothing to connect, and a monthly report from the PIMS may cover the need. A single automation that already runs reliably in Zapier, Make or n8n is worth keeping as it is. An integration layer makes sense only when several recurring tasks move data between systems by hand and the owner is prepared to review the output.
Market context from surveys and trade press
Trade reporting on the AVMA's 2024 economic report says many practices use practice information management software, while digital inventory, online scheduling and telehealth have been adopted more slowly, according to dvm360 (2024). That fits the gaps above: the less mature a capability is across the industry, the more likely it is to be a demo question rather than a checkbox.
AI tool use: 39.2% of 3,968 respondents according to Digitail (2024). Digitail is a practice management vendor and ran the survey with the American Animal Hospital Association, so treat it as a vendor-led sample. In the same survey, reliability and accuracy of AI systems was the most prevalent concern, cited by 70.3% of respondents, according to Digitail (2024). Accuracy is therefore the first thing to test on any AI scribe, using your own recordings in a demo.
Frequently asked questions
Is Provet Cloud cheaper than Vetspire?
We cannot say from public information, because Vetspire publishes no price and no total can be compared on paper. Provet's Core and Pro rates are in the pricing table above, so ask Vetspire for a written quote for the same vet count before you decide.
Do both products have an API?
Yes, both document one, but the access paths differ. Provet requires a request form before it issues a sandbox and API access, and Vetspire requires an API token for its GraphQL endpoint, with a key that grants read and write access to the whole organization.
Did Vetspire change owners?
Vetspire was bought in a buyout and later took a growth investment, and both events are covered in the first section of this article. Ask Vetspire to confirm current ownership and data terms in writing before you sign.
Do the tools cover inventory, telehealth and payments?
Not for every item on the public pages. Provet's vet-cloud page lists unified payments, does not list inventory as a native feature, and mentions telemedicine only as an integration category. Vetspire's site does not describe inventory, invoicing or payments at all.
How long does a switch take?
Provet describes a multi-week migration with a test migration before go-live, and the Vetspire pages we read give no timeline, so request one in writing from both vendors.
Should I build this with Zapier, Make or n8n instead?
Build it yourself only if your team will own run logs, retries, access reviews and maintenance, because those tools support them only when they are configured. The trade is lower software cost in exchange for design and upkeep time.
Making the call before the next sales conversation
Choose Provet Cloud if the number you need first is a per-vet price on a public page. Choose Vetspire if you are ready to negotiate and AI charting is the reason you are shopping. In either case, get ownership, data export, inventory and migration answers in writing before you sign. If you want to see how a proposed integration layer could be configured around either system, see how US Tech Automations configures this.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.