Rentec Direct Alternatives: 4 Steps to Pick One in 2027
The short answer for a small manager
The category decision comes before any feature list. Alternatives to Rentec Direct fall into three pricing structures: per-unit plans with a monthly minimum, flat tiers that cap leases or units, and quote-based platforms that publish no list price. Choose the structure that fits your unit count first, then compare features inside it.
A Rentec Direct alternative is a property management platform that covers the same core work, which is tenant ledgers, rent collection, maintenance tickets and owner reporting, at a price structure that suits your portfolio.
Our read: a per-unit plan only saves money once your portfolio clears the platform's monthly minimum, because below that floor you pay the floor. Switch for workflow reasons rather than a lower headline rate, and only after you hold a written quote and a test export from the new vendor.
Key Takeaways
Per-unit pricing with a monthly minimum is the first filter, because below the minimum the floor is your real bill.
Rentec Direct's published per-unit schedule is the baseline every alternative should be measured against.
Lease caps and unit minimums can decide a small portfolio as often as the headline rate does.
Quote-based vendors, and vendors whose prices we could not read, need a written quote before any fair comparison.
Aggregator sites often disagree with vendor pages, so the vendor's own page controls every figure in this guide.
Test a data pull or export on a few units before you close the Rentec Direct account.
Who this is for
This guide is written for owners and operations leads at a small residential management business who already run Rentec Direct and are close to changing platform or pricing structure. The reader usually has a small team and needs a direct answer on cost and data portability, not a feature tour.
Red flags: no vendor will issue a written quote for your unit count, your portfolio sits just under a published unit minimum, or nobody on your team can run an export before the current account closes.
How we evaluated these tools
This is an informed buyer's guide built from public vendor pages, Rentec Direct's own help article, and two third-party comparison sites. We did not open accounts or run any software, so vendor facts come only from pages we read during research. Vendor facts appear in cited sentences and tables, and our judgments are labeled as our read.
We weighted five criteria to total 100 percent, as shown below.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it carries that weight |
|---|---|---|
| Total monthly cost at 40 units | 30% | Minimums and caps set the bill for a small portfolio |
| Published, checkable pricing | 15% | A quote-only price cannot be compared until a quote arrives |
| Minimums, unit caps and lease caps | 15% | A low rate can still fail at your unit or lease count |
| Data export and API access | 20% | A switch usually fails on migrated records, not on the subscription |
| Owner-operator workflow fit | 20% | Rent collection, tenant records and owner reporting must work for a small team |
Price at your unit count carries the most weight because minimums and caps determine the bill. Workflow fit is scored only from features a vendor publishes, and where a vendor publishes nothing, we score it lower rather than guessing.
What 40 units costs on published prices
We use 40 units as a neutral illustration, not a threshold. The figures come from each vendor's own pricing page, and the 40-unit cost is calculated from them.
Rentec per-unit rates: $2.00 Pro, $2.50 PM, $50 minimum according to Rentec Direct (2026). That same page also lists a fixed Starter fee, so the Starter plan is priced by a flat rate rather than by unit count.
Aggregator figures do not match that page. According to ToolRadar (2026), the Pro plan lists at $55 a month and the PM plan at $65 a month, with no per-unit rate shown. That gap is why this guide takes every figure from the vendor's own page.
Pricing checked October 29, 2026. The table below sets each vendor's published starting price, per-unit rate or minimum beside the 40-unit cost. Cost uses the published starting or per-unit figure and applies the minimum where one exists. Card and ACH fees are excluded. The sources for each row appear in the vendor profiles and the worked example below.
| Vendor | Plan | Starting price per month | Per-unit rate | Monthly minimum | Cost at 40 units per month |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rentec Direct | Starter | $25 | — | — | Unverified at 40 units |
| Rentec Direct | Pro | — | $2.00 | $50 | $80 |
| Rentec Direct | PM | — | $2.50 | $50 | $100 |
| Buildium | Essential | $65 | — | Not stated | $65 |
| DoorLoop | One | — | $2.50 | $199 | $199 |
| DoorLoop | Connect | — | $4.00 | $299 | $299 |
| TenantCloud | Pro (60-lease cap) | $60 | — | None stated | $60 |
| AppFolio | Core | — | $1.49 | 50 units | Not offered below 50 units |
| AppFolio | Plus | — | $3.20 | Not stated | $128 at starting rate |
| Yardi Breeze | Breeze residential | — | $1 | $100 | $100 |
Rent Manager publishes no prices, and Innago's plan figures were not readable on its page, so neither appears in the table.
Take a 40-unit owner-operator who runs Rentec Direct's Pro plan today. At the $2.00 per unit rate cited above, the bill is 40 × $2.00 = $80 a month, or $960 a year, before card and ACH fees. DoorLoop's One plan is priced at $2.50 per unit with a $199 monthly minimum, according to DoorLoop (2026). At 40 units the per-unit math gives $100, so the $199 floor sets the bill at $2,388 a year. Yardi Breeze's residential rate of $1 per unit gives 40 × $1 = $40, which the $100 monthly minimum lifts to $100, according to Yardi Breeze (2024). For a cheaper alternative, TenantCloud's Pro plan is $60 a month with a 60-lease cap, which is $20 a month, or $240 a year, below the Rentec Pro bill if your 40 units fit under that cap. Price is only part of the comparison, because every lease also has to map to a renter_id in the new system.
Feature matrix: what each vendor publishes
| Vendor | Prices on the page | Trial or demo | Unit or lease limits | API access on the pages read |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rentec Direct | Per-unit rates and fixed Starter fee | Free-trial button, length not stated | Not stated | Included with Pro and PM accounts |
| Buildium | Starting prices by tier | 14-day trial on sample data | Quote required above 5,000 units | Not confirmed on the pages read |
| DoorLoop | Per-unit rates with monthly minimums | Demo only | Not stated | Selective, by application |
| TenantCloud | Tier prices with a yearly option | 14-day trial on all plans | Lease caps by tier | Not checked |
| AppFolio Property Manager | Starting per-unit rates | Demo only | 50-unit minimum on Core | Not verified on the pages read |
| Rent Manager | No published prices | Not stated | Not stated | Not checked |
| Yardi Breeze | Per-unit rates in a 2024 post | Not stated | Not stated | Not checked |
| Innago | Plan figures not readable | Not stated | Not stated | Not checked |
"Not checked" means the page we read did not show the item. It does not mean the feature is missing.
AppFolio per-unit starts: $1.49 Core, $3.20 Plus, $5.00 Max according to AppFolio (2026). Core also carries a 50-unit minimum and a minimum spend, so a 40-unit portfolio cannot buy it as listed. Plus and Max state unit minimums without a number on the page.
Vendor profiles
Rentec Direct stays the baseline. Each profile covers best fit, limitations, implementation and the disqualifiers that matter most.
Rentec Direct (the baseline)
Best fit: owners who want to keep per-unit pricing and need API access to their own lease data. Limitations: the pricing page does not state a trial length, and card fees differ between the Starter plan and the Pro and PM plans. Implementation: Open API keys are created under Settings, then Tools, then Utilities, then API Keys, and access is tied to Pro and PM accounts, according to Rentec Direct (2026). Disqualifier: a Starter account if your plan depends on an API pull, so confirm the account type before you build anything around it.
Buildium
Best fit: owners who want tiered plans with published starting prices and a trial on sample data. Buildium tiers start at $65, $202 and $420 a month according to Buildium (2026). The page labels these as starting prices, does not list annual pricing, and says Growth and Premium customers must use a customized onboarding service. Limitations: portfolios above 5,000 units and community associations go to a sales line, and the trial uses sample data, so test with your own export. Disqualifier: a cutover plan that cannot absorb mandatory onboarding on the higher tiers.
DoorLoop
Best fit: owners who want per-unit pricing and can accept a monthly floor. Limitations: the minimums dominate a small portfolio, as the worked example shows, and the page offers a demo rather than a trial. DoorLoop's API page says access is selective and approved partners receive documentation, so an API-first plan is a disqualifier unless DoorLoop approves it. Implementation: request the demo, ask which AI add-on costs extra, and ask how the yearly option changes your minimum.
TenantCloud
Best fit: landlords who think in leases and want a flat plan with unlimited properties. TenantCloud's Growth plan is $35 a month with a 30-lease cap, and Pro is $60 a month with a 60-lease cap, according to TenantCloud (2026). Limitations: the Business tier is custom above a base price, and the same page shows two different Starter prices, so confirm that figure before you budget. Disqualifier: a lease count above the Pro cap pushes you into custom pricing. Implementation: every plan has a 14-day trial, so test your real lease count before you choose a tier.
AppFolio Property Manager
Best fit: portfolios at or above the minimum unit count, and teams that want a scoped quote for each tier. Limitations: there is no trial, only a demo, and the Core tier needs 50 units with a minimum spend. Disqualifier: a portfolio under 50 units cannot buy Core as listed. Implementation: request a quote for each tier and ask in writing how the unit minimum applies to a portfolio below it.
Rent Manager
Best fit: owners who expect to customize and are willing to request a quote before comparing. Limitations: the Rent Manager pricing page lists Basic, Plus and Premium with no published prices, per-unit rates or trial terms. Aggregators publish estimates, but the vendor does not, so treat Rent Manager as quote-based. Disqualifier: a budget that must be fixed before you talk to sales. Implementation: send one request with your unit count, lease count and accounting needs. The page footer names London Computer Systems, Inc.
Yardi Breeze
Best fit: residential managers who want per-unit pricing with a published minimum and onboarding included. Limitations: the vendor's pricing post is dated November 14, 2024, so confirm the figures before you budget. Commercial, self-storage and manufactured housing options require a conversation with the vendor, and the Premier residential bundle carries a contract term. Disqualifier: commercial or manufactured housing portfolios, which the page routes to sales. Implementation: the post says both tiers include no-cost onboarding and training.
Innago
Best fit: owners who want a free-to-start option and accept a thinner published record. The Innago pricing page says "No monthly fee. No setup fee. No contract." Limitations: its plan figures appear in an image we could not read, and feature depth is not verified here. Disqualifier: a vendor that will not state tenant-paid and landlord-paid fees in writing. Implementation: ask for a written list of every fee before you assume zero cost.
Keeping data flowing after you switch
The reader's real alternative is often stitching this together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or building the workflow in-house. Compare that fairly: those tools can support run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when configured. The buyer still has to design and own observability, idempotency, escalation, access controls and ongoing maintenance. Whichever route you take, test a pull keyed on renter_id, a field Rentec's help article uses in its examples, together with the /leases endpoint, so each lease maps to a tenant in the new system before you cancel.
A proposed US Tech Automations design for this migration would be configurable rather than a finished product. A late-rent escalation workflow would trigger on a past-due balance read from the platform's export or API, draft a reminder, and place it in a manager's review queue, so nothing sends until a person approves it. Prerequisites are API access or a scheduled CSV export, a stable tenant identifier, and a named reviewer. The output is a logged reminder with a timestamp and the approver's name.
A second proposed workflow would run during cutover. On each export from the old and new systems, it would match unit, rent and lease end dates and produce a discrepancy list. The owner signs off on that list before the Rentec Direct account closes. US Tech Automations would configure the comparison rules, but the reconciliation decision stays with your team, and this is a design, not a deployment.
Who should choose which vendor
| Your situation | Start with | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You want to keep per-unit pricing and API access | Rentec Direct | The per-unit schedule and Pro and PM API access are published |
| You want per-unit pricing and your portfolio clears the floor | Yardi Breeze | The residential rate and minimum are published, but the post is from 2024 |
| You accept a monthly floor and want a demo first | DoorLoop | Minimums are published, and the floor matters most below your size |
| You think in leases and want flat tiers | TenantCloud | Published tiers with lease caps and a 14-day trial |
| You want published starting prices and a sample-data trial | Buildium | Starting prices by tier, with onboarding mandatory on higher tiers |
| You are near or above 50 units and comfortable with a quote | AppFolio Property Manager | Per-unit starting rates, with a 50-unit Core minimum |
| You expect heavy customization and will request a quote | Rent Manager | No published prices, so the quote is the only figure |
| You want no stated monthly fee | Innago | The page states no monthly, setup or contract fees; verify tenant-paid fees |
Common mistakes
Comparing headline rates without checking the minimum or the lease cap.
Trusting an aggregator's figure over the vendor's own page, since the aggregator figure for Rentec's plans does not match its per-unit schedule.
Treating "no monthly fee" as zero total cost before listing tenant-paid and landlord-paid fees.
Assuming a trial reflects your real portfolio when it uses sample data.
Signing before a test export or pull has mapped every lease to a tenant.
Four steps to choose before you cancel
Count your units and leases, then check each vendor's minimum and cap against both numbers.
Get a written quote from every quote-based vendor, plus a list of every fee, both landlord-paid and tenant-paid.
Run a test export or API pull on a sample of units and confirm each lease maps to a tenant.
Name the person who signs off on migrated records, and set the cutover date only after that sign-off.
Frequently asked questions
Which alternative costs least at 40 units?
On the table's 40-unit figures, TenantCloud Pro is lowest, provided your lease count fits under its 60-lease cap, followed by Buildium Essential, which is labeled a starting price and may rise. Rentec Direct Pro comes next, and Yardi Breeze and DoorLoop cost more. Rentec's Starter plan is left out of this ranking because the post does not confirm it covers 40 units, so verify the cap and the starting price against your own portfolio.
Does Rentec Direct offer API access on every plan?
Rentec's help article ties Open API keys to Pro and PM accounts, so confirm your account type before you plan around an API pull.
Which vendors offer a free trial?
Buildium and TenantCloud list trial periods on their pricing pages, DoorLoop and AppFolio offer demos instead, and Rentec Direct shows a free-trial button without stating its length.
Can I move my data without losing history?
Usually only if you test an export or API pull first, so confirm that tenant identifiers, lease dates and ledger balances carry over before you close the old account.
Is Innago actually free?
Its pricing page says "No monthly fee. No setup fee. No contract," but the plan figures appear in an image we could not read, so ask for a written list of fees before you assume zero cost.
When should you skip a workflow layer such as US Tech Automations?
A simpler existing tool wins when the platform's built-in reminders and exports already handle your process, when one person handles every lease by hand at low volume, or when nobody will review a workflow's output. In those cases a configured workflow adds maintenance you would have to own, so US Tech Automations is not the right first purchase.
Next steps
Choose the pricing structure first, get the written quote, and run the export before you cancel. If you want to see how a review queue or a reconciliation check could be set up for your data, see how US Tech Automations configures this in a proposed design, and ask each vendor which fields it can export.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.