Skip to content
AI & Automation

RentRedi vs Avail for Small Landlords: Cost and Fit in 2027

Oct 27, 2026

Pick by cost model first: flat fee or per transfer

For a small landlord, the RentRedi vs Avail choice is mostly a choice between two cost models. A flat-fee platform charges one subscription no matter how many units you add, while a pay-per-transfer model adds a fee each time a tenant pays. RentRedi is the first kind, since its plans cover unlimited properties, tenants and teammates. Avail is a mix: its Unlimited plan has no subscription but charges per tenant bank transfer, and its Unlimited Plus tier charges per unit. The cheaper product for a given owner depends on unit count, on who absorbs the payment fees, and on whether the books need to reach QuickBooks Online.

TL;DR: RentRedi suits owners who want one predictable bill and a QuickBooks Online export. Avail suits owners who want no subscription on a few units and can accept spreadsheet exports.

Neither product has been renamed or discontinued in the sources reviewed. RentRedi, a venture-backed PropTech firm, acquired eRentPayment and PaymentReport on August 8, 2023, according to PYMNTS (2023). Avail has been part of Move, Inc., the operator of realtor.com, since December 15, 2020, according to Avail (2020). No 2026 ownership change appeared in the sources reviewed, but third-party write-ups disagree about Avail's current parent company, so confirm the owner in writing before you sign.

Key Takeaways

  • Avail's Unlimited plan costs $0 per unit, but its $2.50 per-transfer fee passes RentRedi's $144 yearly price once an owner pays for about 58 bank transfers a year.

  • RentRedi's annual plan costs $12 per month, billed yearly, and its published plans carry no unit cap.

  • RentRedi exports tenant charges and payments to QuickBooks Online, but its Desktop/Pro export works only with 2018 or older versions.

  • Avail's accounting page lists no integrations and offers spreadsheet exports, so a QuickBooks Online import is a manual step.

  • No public API could be confirmed for either vendor, and a third-party scorecard says RentRedi has none.

  • Trustpilot scores are close: RentRedi at 4.0 from 292 reviews and Avail at 3.8 from 423 reviews, with about one in five reviews rating 1 star for each.

How we evaluated these two tools

This comparison is desk research built from public vendor pages, vendor help centers, trade press, a federal housing survey and public review profiles. It is not hands-on testing, and neither vendor reviewed it. Seven criteria are weighted by how much each one changes a small landlord's monthly cost or monthly workload. The weights are judgment for this reader rather than vendor data, so an owner with different priorities should change them.

CriterionWeightWhy it carries that weight
Subscription cost at 1 to 8 units25%A fixed monthly cost; RentRedi's annual plan is $144 a year at any unit count
Accounting export and reconciliation20%Decides how much manual import work lands on the owner each month
Tenant payment fees and who pays them15%Per-transfer and card fees can exceed the software bill at moderate unit counts
Listing and screening coverage10%Affects how fast a vacancy gets exposure; Avail's Unlimited plan lists on 19 sites
Integrations and API access10%Determines whether a custom workflow can read data without manual exports
Customer ratings10%Trustpilot average and 1-star share as a rough proxy for service experience
Mobile and tenant experience10%Whether owners and tenants can handle routine tasks from a phone

Cost gets the largest share because every owner sees it first. Accounting export is second because it decides how much cleanup follows each month. Ratings and mobile carry less weight because they describe the experience rather than the bill.

What the price sheets show

Pricing checked October 26, 2026. Both vendors publish their plan prices, so no quote-based tier applies to this comparison.

RentRedi's annual plan costs $12 per month, billed yearly according to RentRedi (checked 2026). The monthly plan is $29.95, the six-month plan is $20 per month, and the annual plan saves $215.40 a year against monthly billing. All plans cover unlimited properties, tenants and teammates with no per-unit fee, and the page offers a 30-day money-back guarantee rather than a free trial.

Avail's Unlimited Plus plan costs $9 per unit per month according to Avail (checked 2026). Avail's Unlimited plan is $0 per unit, with tenant bank transfers at $2.50 each and a 3.5% fee on tenant card payments, and Unlimited Plus waives the bank-transfer fee. The page does not say whether owners or tenants pay those transfer and card fees, so the cost math below treats the owner as the payer, which is the conservative case for the owner.

VendorPlanPriceAnnual cost at 8 units (illustrative)
RentRediMonthly$29.95 per month$359.40
RentRediSix-month$20 per month$240
RentRediAnnual$12 per month$144
AvailUnlimited$0 per unit$0 subscription; $240 in transfer fees if the owner pays them
AvailUnlimited Plus$9 per unit per month$864

The eight-unit column assumes one rent payment per unit per month. Using only the prices above, the Unlimited plan's transfer fees equal RentRedi's $144 at 4.8 units, so five or more units cost more on Avail's Unlimited plan if the owner pays. Unlimited Plus costs $108 a year per unit, so two units already exceed RentRedi's $144. Those break-even points assume the owner pays the fees; if tenants pay them, Avail's Unlimited plan costs the owner $0 a year.

Where the feature sets diverge

FeatureRentRediAvail
Plan modelFlat subscription covering unlimited unitsFree Unlimited plan plus per-unit Unlimited Plus
Subscription$12 per month annual; $29.95 per month monthly$0 per unit (Unlimited); $9 per unit per month (Unlimited Plus)
Unit capNone published"Unlimited Units" on Unlimited
Who pays tenant processing feesTenant by default; landlord can cover them in SettingsNot stated on the pricing page
QuickBooks exportQuickBooks Online supported; Desktop/Pro 2018 or older onlyNo QuickBooks mention; spreadsheet export per property
Public APINone published; a third-party scorecard says none existsNone found in the sources reviewed
ListingsListed as a feature in its FAQSyndication to 19 sites on Unlimited
ScreeningOptional tenant-paid add-onCost varies by location; tenant usually pays
Mobile appsSeparate landlord and tenant apps (per a competitor's comparison)No standalone app; responsive website (per a competitor's comparison)
Tenant supportPhone 9 to 5 EST and 24/7 chatFaster response on Unlimited Plus, listed as 2x
Trustpilot TrustScore4.0 from 292 reviews3.8 from 423 reviews

Read this matrix as a checklist of gaps rather than a scorecard. The two biggest gaps are the QuickBooks path and the cost curve, and the rest mostly shifts convenience.

A competitor's comparison adds two claims that matter for daily use: RentRedi has separate landlord and tenant apps, while Avail has no standalone app, and neither product has a full in-platform messaging system, according to TurboTenant (updated July 24, 2026). TurboTenant sells its own landlord software, so treat these as claims to verify during a trial or demo rather than settled facts.

Books, payments and the QuickBooks question

The books question is whether your ledger reaches an accountant without retyping. RentRedi's export sits under Payments, then Export Charges, and offers four formats: spreadsheets, QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop/Pro and QuickBooks Enterprise. The QuickBooks export works with QuickBooks Online or Desktop/Pro 2018 or older, and 2019 and 2020 Desktop/Pro versions do not import properly, according to RentRedi (checked 2026). The same article does not say whether Enterprise works, even though it appears as an option, and it describes exporting tenant charges and tenant payments with no mention of deposits.

Avail takes a different route. Its accounting page says owners can track income and expenses "in one place — no integrations, setup, or added costs," export a spreadsheet for each property, and receive a 1099-K when they collect rent through Avail. The page does not mention QuickBooks, so an owner who needs QuickBooks Online would move spreadsheet rows into it by hand each month.

Here is where a proposed US Tech Automations design could fit. The trigger is a monthly export from RentRedi's Export Charges menu or Avail's per-property spreadsheet landing in a shared folder. The configurable action matches each charge to its payment by unit and month and sorts the rows into matched and unmatched. The output is a reconciliation sheet and an exceptions list that the owner reviews before anything posts to QuickBooks Online. Prerequisites are the vendor file export, a stable unit naming convention, and a QuickBooks Online login the owner controls. Human review points are every match and every exception, since the design does not post entries on its own. This is a proposed workflow the owner would configure, not a deployment that exists today.

A second proposed workflow covers late rent. The trigger is a scheduled check that runs a set number of days before each due date. The action reads the unit list from the export and sends reminder texts through Twilio to tenants with open balances. The output is a log of reminders sent and a list of tenants who still owe, with any balance message held for approval. Prerequisites are a Twilio account the owner controls, texting consent that meets local rules, and an export that shows open balances, since neither vendor's public pages describe a live feed or webhook. Human review points are late-fee notices and any tenant-facing message that mentions a balance, which go to the owner before sending.

Worked example for an eight-unit owner

Illustrative only, not a customer: take an owner with eight units at $1,200 rent each and one payment per unit per month. On RentRedi's annual plan the software costs $12 × 12 = $144 a year, with no per-unit charge as the count grows. On Avail's Unlimited plan the subscription is $0, but eight units paying by bank transfer make 8 × 12 = 96 transfers, which at $2.50 each is $240 a year if the owner pays them. Avail's Unlimited Plus would cost 8 × $9 × 12 = $864 a year with the transfer fee waived, and a card payment of $1,200 carries a 3.5% fee of $42 on Avail. A proposed reminder step that sends texts through Twilio's Message resource docs could write each message's date_sent into the reconciliation sheet, so the owner can see when reminders went out, and it would flag any row with an empty date_sent for the owner to review rather than resend it automatically.

Customer ratings and what they signal

VendorTrustScoreReviews1-star share5-star share
RentRedi4.029221%62%
Avail3.842318%60%

RentRedi's Trustpilot score is 4.0 from 292 reviews according to Trustpilot (latest review October 3, 2026). Avail's Trustpilot score is 3.8 from 423 reviews according to Trustpilot (latest review October 12, 2026).

The averages are close enough that review volume and recency matter as much as the star rating. RentRedi's higher average comes with a higher 1-star share than Avail's (21% against 18%), which points to a split between very satisfied and very unhappy owners. Trustpilot reviews are self-selected, so read these as a signal about payments and service rather than a verdict on the product. The competitor's page cited above says RentRedi's negative reviews focus on its payment processor and Avail's on customer service, which matches the split but should be checked against the live review pages.

Who should choose which

Small-property owners are a large share of the rental market. Share of U.S. rental units in 1–4 unit properties: nearly 46% according to HUD (2021 survey, released 2022). That is a large group of owners weighing a flat plan against a per-transfer plan. If your real alternative is a larger platform rather than a small-landlord tool, the AppFolio alternatives guide covers that decision.

Who this is for

RentRedi fits if you want one fixed bill as your unit count grows, you need a QuickBooks Online export, and you are comfortable paying a subscription from the first month.

Red flags: you need a public API or webhook for custom reporting; you run QuickBooks Desktop 2019 or 2020; you want no monthly bill at all.

Avail fits if you want no subscription on a few units, most tenants pay by bank transfer, and listings on 19 sites matter more to you than a QuickBooks feed.

Red flags: you need an automatic QuickBooks feed; most of your tenants pay by card, which carries a 3.5% fee; you need a native mobile app.

Vendor profiles: fit, limits and evidence

RentRedi

Best fit: owners who want a predictable cost and a QuickBooks Online export. The pricing page says the only difference between its plans is the billing cycle, so the real decision is how long you want to commit.

Limitations: no public API could be confirmed, and a third-party scorecard found no programmatic path to property, tenant, lease or payment data. QuickBooks Desktop 2019 and 2020 versions do not import, and Enterprise compatibility is not stated.

Implementation: choose a billing cycle, set the convenience-fee settings before the first rent cycle, and schedule a month-end export. The 30-day money-back guarantee is not a free trial, so plan your test around it.

Evidence: the RentRedi pricing and export pages cited above, a third-party API scorecard that gives RentRedi an overall grade of F (verified October 2026), and the 2023 acquisition coverage. The scorecard is a secondary source on API access, so confirm access directly with the vendor.

Avail

Best fit: owners with a few units who want a free start, listings on 19 sites and state-specific leases with digital signing.

Limitations: no QuickBooks integration appears on its accounting page, the free plan charges per tenant bank transfer and card payment, and a competitor's comparison says there is no standalone mobile app. Third-party write-ups disagree about the parent company, so confirm it before you commit.

Implementation: start on Unlimited, check how your tenants actually pay, and move to Unlimited Plus only when bank-transfer fees exceed what you want to spend. Export a spreadsheet for each property every month for your accountant.

Evidence: Avail's pricing page and press page cited above, plus its accounting page, which describes no integrations and spreadsheet exports.

Decision checklist before you sign

  • Count your units and how many tenants pay by bank transfer or card each month.

  • Ask each vendor, in writing, who pays the transfer and card fees.

  • Check your QuickBooks version against RentRedi's 2018-or-older rule before you buy.

  • Ask whether either vendor offers a public API or webhook if you plan any automation.

  • Confirm Avail's current parent company on its own terms or support page.

  • Re-read both pricing pages on the day you buy, since plan prices can change.

Common mistakes that cost more than the subscription

  • Comparing monthly list prices. RentRedi's monthly plan works out to $359.40 a year against $144 on the annual plan.

  • Treating Avail's free plan as zero cost. Ninety-six transfers at $2.50 is $240 a year if the owner pays them.

  • Assuming card fees are small. A 3.5% fee on a $1,200 payment is $42 each time.

  • Skipping the QuickBooks version check and discovering the Desktop problem at tax time.

  • Relying on the Trustpilot average alone instead of reading the 1-star reviews for your payment and service concerns.

Stitching it together yourself instead

The real alternative for many owners is to stitch the work together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or to build it in-house. Those tools can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when configured. The owner still has to design and own idempotency, escalation paths, access controls and ongoing maintenance. In the sources reviewed, I found no official Zapier connector for either vendor, so a DIY build would rely on file exports or on unofficial access. A proposed US Tech Automations design could add a documented run log, retry rules and a review queue to the same export-and-match steps, but the owner would still supply the export files, the QuickBooks access and the sign-off on exceptions.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: a managed workflow is the wrong tool if you have a couple of units and need only rent collection and a lease, because the built-in features of RentRedi or Avail already cover that. It is also the wrong choice if you do not want to send and review monthly exports at all, since the design depends on them. And if the only task is one QuickBooks import per month, the vendor's own export plus a bookkeeper's import is simpler and cheaper to run.

Frequently asked questions

Is RentRedi cheaper than Avail for a small landlord?

It depends on who pays the transfer fees. If the owner pays, Avail's Unlimited plan passes RentRedi's $144 a year at about 58 bank transfers, and if tenants pay, Avail's free plan costs the owner nothing.

Does RentRedi export to QuickBooks Online?

Yes, RentRedi exports tenant charges and payments to QuickBooks Online from its Export Charges menu, but its Desktop versions are limited to 2018 or older.

Does Avail integrate with QuickBooks?

Not that could be confirmed. Avail's accounting page says the tracker needs no integrations and offers spreadsheet exports, and it does not mention QuickBooks.

Does either vendor offer a public API?

Not that could be confirmed. A third-party scorecard says RentRedi has no public API, and no Avail API documentation turned up in the sources reviewed.

Who pays tenant fees on RentRedi and Avail?

RentRedi's fee settings default to charging the tenant and let the landlord cover the fees instead. Avail's pricing page does not say who pays its transfer and card fees, so ask before you sign.

Can I move my records between them later?

The vendor pages reviewed do not describe a migration tool for either product, so export your rent history before you commit to either one.

Which one to pick

For a flat monthly cost that stays the same as you add units, plus a QuickBooks Online export, RentRedi is the closer fit. For a free start on a few units, mostly bank-transfer tenants and listings on 19 sites, Avail's Unlimited plan is the cheaper option, provided you accept spreadsheet exports and do the QuickBooks import yourself. Check who pays the fees before you choose. If you want a reconciliation or reminder design built around whichever export you use, see how US Tech Automations configures this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.