Skip to content
AI & Automation

6 Revel Alternatives for Multi-Location Groups in 2027

Oct 28, 2026

Short answer: start with four vendors that publish prices

For a group leaving Revel, the category decision is between a restaurant POS that runs several sites from one account and an enterprise platform built for large hierarchies. A Revel alternative, for this guide, is a restaurant POS that can run several locations from one account and report sales across them. Start with Lightspeed, SpotOn, TouchBistro and Square, because their pages publish enough plan or add-on figures to compare on paper. Oracle Simphony is the enterprise option, and it only makes sense if you have IT staff to run it. Toast and Shift4 Dine belong on the shortlist too, but their prices were not readable in our research, so request written quotes before you rank them.

Most operators already describe their restaurants as current on technology, so the question for a group is rarely whether to digitize. Operators calling their restaurants tech-mainstream: 60% according to National Restaurant Association (2026). The question that remains is whether the system reports across sites the way your owners need.

TL;DR: Shift4 has said Revel's features will be folded into its SkyTab line, now named Shift4 Dine, so choose on multi-location reporting, written contract terms, and who reviews exceptions, not on brand.

Key Takeaways

  • Shift4 has said it will fold Revel's strongest features into its SkyTab line, which is now named Shift4 Dine, so ask for Revel's product status in writing before any renewal.

  • Toast, Shift4 Dine and Revel itself had no readable public price in our research, so this guide treats them as quote-based until you hold a written figure.

  • Lightspeed, TouchBistro and SpotOn publish plan prices, Square's restaurant pricing page lists kitchen display add-ons that this guide leaves unpriced, and Oracle's pages gave us no figure we could read.

  • Multi-location costs repeat at every site, so hardware, kitchen displays and card rates matter more than the base plan fee.

  • Lightspeed's pricing table marks multi-location management as included on each published tier, but confirm which tier includes it in writing before you rely on that.

  • An automation layer pays off only when a named manager reviews the exceptions it flags.

Who this is for

This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a restaurant business with several sites who is close to replacing Revel and wants every option compared on the same terms. It covers restaurant POS platforms and one enterprise option, not payroll-only or accounting-only tools.

Red flags: reset your plan before requesting quotes if you expect the cheapest plan to cover card processing, hardware and add-ons at once; if no one on your team can review an exception report each week; or if you plan to switch every location in one cutover without a test site.

What changed at Revel, and why it matters for your renewal

Revel acquisition price: $250 million in cash according to Restaurant Business Online (2024). The same article reports that Shift4 planned to take Revel's strongest capabilities into its own SkyTab POS and eliminate overlapping products, so a Revel group should expect its product to change rather than stand still.

Shift4's release note dated May 12, 2026 says SkyTab POS is now officially Shift4 Dine, according to Shift4 (2026).

Revel's own pricing page now redirects to a Shift4 food-and-beverage page that we could not open, and the pages we could open do not state Revel's current sales status. Treat Revel as a product in transition. Ask Shift4 in writing which POS your locations will run on, how menus, customer records and stored balances move, and whether any fee or contract term changes.

How we evaluated these tools

Our weighting puts what a group owner lives with after signing ahead of what a sales call promises. Each vendor is judged on six criteria, scored from 0 to 5 using only the public pages we could read. The weights below are our analysis, not vendor data.

CriterionWeightScaleWhy it matters for a group
Multi-location reporting and menu control25%0–5Owners compare sites on one view, and each site needs the same menu rules.
Contract and migration risk20%0–5Revel's transition makes exit terms and data moves the likeliest surprises.
Integration and export access15%0–5Reconciliation depends on exports or APIs you can actually reach.
Published price transparency15%0–5Published plan prices let you compare before a sales call.
Hardware and add-on exposure15%0–5Kitchen displays and terminals multiply by every location.
Implementation effort10%0–5Staff hours during a cutover are a real cost, even when the software is cheap.

A vendor whose prices are not published can still score on five criteria, but it cannot score well on published price transparency. A missing page lowers a score rather than being assumed away.

Side-by-side on what each vendor publishes

Each figure in this table is cited in the profile or worked example that discusses it.

VendorRestaurant-specific productMulti-location signal on the page we readKitchen display add-onDeveloper evidence opened
Revel (incumbent)Not confirmed on pages readNot confirmed; pricing page redirectsNot confirmedNone
LightspeedYesListed as included on each published tier$30 per screen a monthHelp article blocked
SquareYes, Square for RestaurantsNot stated on the page we readPriced per device on Plus and Premium; figure not verifiedWebhook event reference
TouchBistroYesNot stated on the page we readQuote-basedNone
SpotOnYesMulti-unit build is quote-basedNot stated on the page we readNone
Oracle SimphonyEnterprise; single unit to multi-unitEnterprise and hierarchy chapters listedNot statedConfiguration guide, no API page
Shift4 DineYes, named as the POS in the release noteRelease note cites multi-location featuresNot statedNone
ToastNot verified this sessionNot verified this sessionNot verified this sessionNone

The matrix is thin because the public pages are thin. Most vendors keep multi-location detail behind a quote form, and that is itself a finding. If a vendor cannot show its location rules on a public page, make them a written line item in the quote.

Pricing and total cost, read line by line

Pricing checked October 26, 2026. Every figure below comes from a vendor page we read in this research, and any figure we could not read is marked as not verified.

Essential plan on Lightspeed: $189 listed according to Lightspeed (2026), with Starter at $69 and Premium at $399 on the same page. The page does not label the billing period on those tier figures or say whether they apply per location, so ask both questions before you compare them.

VendorPlanMonthly figureCard or add-on figureStatus
LightspeedStarter$69Not statedPublished
LightspeedEssential$189Kitchen display $30 per screenPublished
LightspeedPremium$399Kitchen display $30 per screenPublished
LightspeedEnterpriseQuote-basedNot statedQuote-based
TouchBistroPoint of SaleFrom $69Hardware requiredPublished
TouchBistroEssentials BundleFrom $119Hardware included; payment fees applyPublished
TouchBistroCustom SetupQuote-basedAdd-ons quote-basedQuote-based
SpotOnAll-In$0 per station2.79% + $0.20 card-presentPublished
SpotOnPOS Essentials$55 per station2.45% + $0.15 card-presentPublished
SpotOnBuild Your OwnQuote-basedCustom ratesQuote-based
SquarePlusNot readKitchen display add-on, figure not verifiedPartly read
SquarePremiumNot readKitchen display add-on, figure not verifiedPartly read
Oracle SimphonyEnterpriseQuote-based (not readable)Not statedQuote-based
ToastNot verified this sessionNot verified this sessionNot verified this sessionNot verified
Shift4 DineCurrent planNot verified this sessionNot verified this sessionNot verified
Revel (incumbent)Current planQuote-based (not readable)Not verifiedQuote-based

Toast and Shift4 Dine show "not verified" because the pages that would carry their figures refused access during our research. A missing price is not a higher price, so do not rank either one on cost until you hold a written quote.

Worked example, illustrative only: a four-location group with two kitchen display screens per site would pay 4 × 2 × $30 = $240 a month for those screens at the $30 per screen per month that Lightspeed lists according to Lightspeed (2026), or $2,880 a year before plan fees and card processing. On Square, the cross-location check would be built differently: Square's developer reference describes order.created for each new order and payment.updated for each change in payment status, according to Square (developer docs), so a counter can track orders against completed payments during service, if the group builds and owns that job.

The same arithmetic at other group sizes, using only the $30 per screen a month rate cited in the worked example above:

LocationsScreens per locationMonthly screen costAnnual screen cost
22$120$1,440
42$240$2,880
62$360$4,320
82$480$5,760

Vendor profiles: fit, limits and evidence

Each profile separates what the vendor's page says from our read. Published facts carry a citation where a figure is involved, and our read carries no figure of its own.

Lightspeed

Published: On Lightspeed's restaurant pricing page, the tiers are Starter, Essential and Premium, with a custom Enterprise tier, and its table marks multi-location management as included on each published tier.

Our read: Lightspeed is the easiest of this group to compare on paper because its tiers and its kitchen display rate both appear on one page.

Best fit: a group that wants published tiers and per-screen kitchen pricing it can model site by site.

Limits: the page gives no per-location or per-account billing basis, and we could not open Lightspeed's multi-location help article.

Implementation: ask for a cutover plan and a test location before you sign, because the public pages describe neither.

Square

Published: On Square's restaurant pricing page, the kitchen display add-on is priced per device on Plus and Premium, and a custom top tier is offered for sellers above $250,000 a year in processing, according to Square (2026).

Our read: the base monthly price and device inclusion rules did not appear in the text we could read, so this guide prints no base figure for Square.

Best fit: a group that wants to buy add-ons only at the sites that need them.

Limits: multi-location detail was not on the page we read, so confirm it in writing before you assume it.

Implementation: the developer reference cited in the worked example lists the order and payment events a reconciliation build would subscribe to, and that build would need a developer on your side.

TouchBistro

Published: Point of Sale plan on TouchBistro: from $69 a month according to TouchBistro (2026), with hardware required; the Essentials Bundle starts at $119 a month with hardware included, and payment fees apply.

Our read: the base plan is clear, but every add-on, including kitchen display, inventory and reservations, sits behind a quote button, so the full group cost stays unknown until you ask.

Best fit: a group that wants a bundled, quoted setup rather than assembling add-ons itself.

Limits: the page we read states no contract term and no free trial, and it offers hardware financing for venues with two or more terminals.

Implementation: ask for the hardware list for each site and the financing terms in the same quote.

SpotOn

Published: The All-In plan on SpotOn costs $0 per station a month with hardware included and a 2-year minimum term, while the POS Essentials plan costs $55 per station a month with hardware extra, according to SpotOn (2026). On the same page, card-present processing is 2.79% plus $0.20 on All-In and 2.45% plus $0.15 on POS Essentials.

Our read: the zero-dollar plan carries the higher card-present rate and a 2-year minimum, so the lower software fee is not automatically the lower total.

Best fit: a group that values hardware included from the start and accepts a longer commitment.

Limits: multi-unit Build Your Own pricing is quote-based and requires a demo request, so there is no published figure for a multi-site build.

Implementation: implementation costs are added on top of the POS Essentials and Build Your Own tiers, so put them on the quote line.

Oracle Simphony

Published: Oracle's Simphony configuration guide describes the product as an enterprise transaction processing platform for businesses from single unit to global, franchised, multi-unit operations, according to Oracle (version 19.6 guide).

Our read: Simphony is built for an IT function that can own configuration, and a group without that function would be buying work it cannot staff.

Best fit: a larger group with enterprise IT and a need for hierarchy-level control.

Limits: Oracle's pricing and product pages refused access during our research, so this guide treats Simphony as quote-based and prints no figure.

Implementation: the guide's contents list an Enterprise Management Console and a Hierarchy chapter; we read those titles only, not their steps.

Shift4 Dine

Published: Shift4's release note, cited above, says the product draws on Shift4's wider platform, including multi-location and reporting features.

Our read: because Shift4 has said Revel's features will be folded into SkyTab, a Revel group should ask whether its contract moves to Shift4 Dine or ends.

Best fit: a Revel group that wants to stay within Shift4's POS and payments line.

Limits: Shift4's product and pricing pages refused access during our research, so this guide prints no Shift4 Dine price or feature beyond the release note.

Implementation: get the migration terms for menus, customer records and stored balances in writing before any cutover date is set.

Toast

Published: Toast's pricing and developer pages refused access during our research, so this profile makes no price, plan or feature claim.

Our read: Toast belongs on this list because a group leaving Revel is likely to compare it, but this guide cannot grade it on evidence we could read.

Best fit: a group that can obtain a written quote covering every location's hardware, add-ons and processing rate before comparing.

Limits: no plan names, prices or multi-location terms are verified here.

Implementation: ask for the same written line items as every other vendor on this list, plus the data move from Revel.

Who should choose each vendor

This is our read of the published pages, not a ranking.

VendorChoose it ifRed flag
LightspeedYou want published tiers and per-screen kitchen pricing you can model site by siteThe multi-location tier must be confirmed in writing
SquareYou want to buy add-ons only at the sites that need themBase plan figures were not readable in this research
TouchBistroYou want a bundled, quoted setupEvery add-on requires a quote
SpotOnHardware included at the start matters more than contract lengthThe zero-dollar plan carries a 2-year minimum
Oracle SimphonyYou have enterprise IT to own configurationNeeds internal staff and a quote before any cost is known
Shift4 DineYou are a Revel group and need the migration termsProduct and pricing pages could not be read
ToastYou can get a written quote covering every locationNot graded here, because its pages could not be read

Where multi-location reporting breaks, and a workflow to test it

Multi-location groups usually break at two points: menus drift between sites, and sales do not match what reaches the ledger. A new POS fixes the first only if menus are controlled centrally, and it fixes the second only if sales data can be exported or pulled reliably. The workflows below are proposed designs a group could configure. Neither one is a live deployment or a measured result.

A managed build from US Tech Automations would follow the pattern its homepage describes: its team maps the process, designs the workflow, builds it, and then monitors and maintains it. Proposed trigger: at each location's close, the day's sales export, or an API pull where the POS offers one, is delivered to a shared folder. Proposed action: the workflow totals net sales, refunds, voids and tips per location and compares them with the same day's entries in QuickBooks, which the homepage lists among the systems the service connects to. Proposed output: a variance sheet in Google Sheets and a summary message to the operations lead. Prerequisites: read access to each location's export or API, read access to the ledger, and a written owner threshold for what counts as a variance, since the design does not set one. The homepage does not name restaurant POS systems among its connections, so confirm the POS export path before anything else. Human review: a manager approves each flagged variance before any correction is entered, and in this design the workflow never posts to the ledger on its own.

On Square, the same design could run during service rather than after close. The events order.created and payment.updated would let a counter track orders against payment status as they happen. Refund alerts would use refund.created, and each alert would reach the owner as a Gmail draft that the owner approves, edits or rejects before anything is sent, which is the same approval pattern the homepage describes with the line "You approve, edit or reject each draft before it sends." Prerequisites here are a Square developer application, webhook subscriptions that someone on your side can maintain, and a named owner for alerts.

Where automation fits, and where a simpler tool wins

Most groups will compare this against Zapier, Make or n8n, or against an in-house script. Those tools can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when they are configured. Whichever route you take, the buyer still designs and owns observability, idempotency (so a repeated event does not post twice), escalation paths, access controls and ongoing maintenance. A managed build changes who maintains the workflow, not who approves the money.

When not to use US Tech Automations. Skip a managed build if you only need the POS swap, because the new system's own multi-location reports may answer your questions. Skip it if your current POS already syncs to your accounting tool without errors, since a native sync is simpler to keep running. Skip it if no manager can review flagged variances, because the design depends on that approval point and fails without it.

Glossary

  • Multi-unit: one account that runs several locations, each with its own menu, staff and sales reports, plus a combined view for the owner.

  • Kitchen display system (KDS): a screen in the kitchen that receives orders from the POS; vendors often price it per screen.

  • Station: a terminal unit that SpotOn counts when it prices its plans.

  • Card-present rate: the processing rate for a card tapped, inserted or swiped at a terminal.

  • Keyed rate: the processing rate for a card entered by hand, which SpotOn's page lists above its card-present rate.

  • Webhook: an automatic message a platform sends when an event occurs, such as a new order.

  • Idempotency: a design rule that stops a repeated event from being posted twice.

  • Variance: the gap between a location's POS sales and what reached the ledger for the same day.

Decision checklist before you request quotes

  • Ask every vendor for one written line per location, covering hardware, kitchen displays, and card-present and keyed rates.

  • Get the multi-location tier name and its exact contents in writing.

  • Ask Shift4 whether your Revel contract moves to Shift4 Dine, stays, or ends, and on what dates.

  • Confirm the export or API access your ledger check needs, and who pays for it.

  • Name the manager who approves flagged variances before any rollout begins.

  • Pick one test location and set its cutover date separately from the rest.

Frequently asked questions

Is Revel still a safe choice for a multi-location group?

Not without written status: the pages we could read do not state Revel's current sales status, and its pricing page now redirects to a Shift4 page. Ask Shift4 for that status and the migration terms before you renew.

Does Shift4 Dine replace Revel?

Shift4 has said Revel's strongest features will be folded into SkyTab, which is now named Shift4 Dine, but we could not open a page that confirms how existing Revel accounts move. Treat the move as a question for Shift4 to answer in writing.

Why does this guide show no Toast price?

Toast's pricing and developer pages refused access during our research, and this guide prints only figures it read on a vendor's own page. Get a written Toast quote and compare it against the same line items as every other vendor.

Can Zapier or Make replace a POS integration?

They can cover some of the same steps when configured, including run histories and error branches, but you still own the design, the access controls and the maintenance. Use them when the workflow is simple and someone on your team will maintain it.

Which vendor should a three-location group shortlist first?

Start with Lightspeed and SpotOn, because their pages publish enough plan figures to compare side by side, then request written quotes from TouchBistro and Square on the same line items. Toast and Shift4 Dine come after you hold a written figure for each.

Do I need an enterprise POS like Oracle Simphony?

Only if you have IT staff who can own configuration, because Oracle's guide describes a platform built for everything from single units to global multi-unit operations. A group without that staff should compare restaurant POS platforms first.

Bottom line before you request quotes

Choose the shortlist by reading the same four items in every quote: multi-location pricing, hardware, card rates and exit terms. Then decide who reviews the exceptions, because no POS or automation layer removes that job. If you want a proposed design for a multi-site variance check, see how US Tech Automations configures this, and ask for its prerequisites and review points in writing before you commit to anything.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.