Skip to content
AI & Automation

3 Steps to Replace SafetyCulture for Restaurant Groups 2027

Nov 5, 2026

Key Takeaways

  • Shortlist food-safety-specific platforms first if temperature readings, alerts and corrective actions drive your compliance work. Keep a general inspection app only if most of your checks are non-food.

  • Only one pricing page we opened shows per-seat plan prices. The Premium plan on SafetyCulture's page, now served from mitti.com, is $24 per seat per month on annual billing.

  • Crunchtime owns Crunchtime Ops Execution, the product formerly called Zenput, and Squadle. One negotiation may therefore cover two shortlisted options.

  • Digi International acquired Jolt for about $145.5 million in cash, announced August 18, 2025. Jolt now sits inside Digi's SmartSense business.

  • Sensor savings and battery-life figures on vendor pages are vendor claims. Ask each vendor for its method before you put them in a budget.

  • No-code tools such as Zapier can keep run histories and retries, but you still own duplicate handling, escalation and access controls.

The category decision comes first

A SafetyCulture alternative for a restaurant group is software that runs food-safety checklists, temperature records and corrective-action tasks across several locations from one admin view. The decision is narrower than a long feature list suggests. If temperature readings, alerts and follow-up tasks drive most of your compliance work, choose a platform built around those jobs. Keep a general inspection app only if most of your checks are non-food. Three of the six products in this guide describe sensor-based monitoring on pages we opened, so that is where the shortlist starts.

Trade press shows the same shift toward digital temperature records. Foodservice Director reported that Metz Culinary Management replaced hand-written temperature logs with digital records, according to Foodservice Director (June 9, 2026). Metz is a food-service contractor, not a restaurant group, so treat it as direction rather than a benchmark. Regulation sets the checklist content. The 2026 edition is the most recent full Food Code, according to FDA (2026), so check any checklist you build against that edition with your local regulator.

TL;DR: Shortlist one Crunchtime product and one other option, get written quotes that name billing terms, and confirm export access before you sign. Among the pages we opened, only SafetyCulture's pricing page showed plan prices.

How we evaluated these tools

We built this guide from public information only. A vendor's own pricing and product pages came first, because they are the only sources that state what a vendor charges or says it does. Trade press, a government food-code page and a documented developer API supplied context and dated facts. Where a vendor did not publish a figure, the tables say "Quote-based" rather than an estimate. We did not assign numeric scores to vendors. The weights below are a framework for your own scoring, and they reflect this reader's decision: a group close to choosing needs food-safety coverage and cost certainty before it needs a long feature list.

CriterionWeightScaleWhat a buyer should check
Food-safety coverage (sensors, logs, corrective actions)25%1–5Whether the vendor's own pages describe automated readings, alerts and follow-up tasks
Restaurant fit (multi-site, shift tasks, labeling)20%1–5Whether restaurant or food-service language appears on the vendor's own pages
Published pricing15%1–5Whether a plan price, billing period and seat basis appear on a page you can open
Integration and export15%1–5Whether a documented API or export exists, and whether plan limits apply
Implementation burden15%1–5Hardware, training and setup work the vendor describes
Ownership and stability10%1–5Who owns the product and whether ownership changed recently

What the feature matrix shows

ProductOwnerTemperature sensorsCorrective-action tasksPublished priceRestaurant language on own page
SafetyCultureSafetyCultureNot stated on pages openedIssue reporting on Free planYes, per seatNot on pricing page
Crunchtime Ops ExecutionCrunchtimeYes, Bluetooth probes and sensor hardwareYes, automated follow-up tasksQuote-basedFood prep labeling, Crunchtime Kitchen display link
SquadleCrunchtimeYes, 24/7 remote temperature systemYes, alerts trigger corrective actionsQuote-basedMulti-unit franchise operations
Jolt, inside SmartSense ONEDigi InternationalNot verified on pages openedNot verifiedQuote-basedFood service named as a target sector
FoodDocsNot verifiedYes, sensor integrations for fridge readingsNot statedQuote-basedHospitality section
LumiformLumiformNot verifiedNot verifiedQuote-basedNot stated

Read the matrix as what each vendor's own pages say. "Not verified" means the pages we opened did not say it, so the vendor may still offer it. Jolt is the hardest row to read. Its pricing link now resolves to a SmartSense quote form, and SmartSense's about page lists seven SmartSense ONE modules, named Monitor, Operate, Guard, Schedule, Assure, Service and Label, without describing any of them. Schedule and Label appear by name only, so ask Digi which modules a restaurant group would actually buy.

What each option publishes about price

Only one of the six products shows per-seat prices on a page we opened. Pricing checked October 30, 2026.

Premium plan: $24 per seat per month, billed annually according to Mitti (2026). The same page lists the monthly-billed Premium plan at $29 per seat per month, excluding applicable taxes, and says annual billing saves 17%. Its Free plan is $0 for teams of up to 10 seats, with 5 active inspection templates. The page shows "$" with no currency code, so confirm the currency before you compare it with other quotes.

VendorPlan or tierPublished priceBillingCost for 10 seats per year
SafetyCultureFree$0 per seatFree$0
SafetyCulturePremium, monthly$29 per seat per monthBilled monthly$3,480
SafetyCulturePremium, annual$24 per seat per monthBilled annually$2,880
SafetyCultureEnterpriseQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-based
CrunchtimeOps ExecutionQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-based
SquadlePlatformQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-based
JoltSmartSense ONEQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-based
FoodDocsPlansQuote-basedMonthly or annual, per FAQQuote-based
LumiformProfessional and EnterpriseQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-based

Crunchtime Ops Execution, Squadle, Jolt, FoodDocs and Lumiform publish no plan price on the pages we opened. Crunchtime's page offers demo requests only, and Squadle's page offers a "Request Info" form only. Jolt's pricing link now leads to a SmartSense form where a SmartSense expert follows up after you enter your details. FoodDocs lists a 14-day free trial according to FoodDocs (2026) and says no contract is required. Lumiform's pricing page offers "Request a quote" for both its Professional and Enterprise plans, and it bills in euros, British pounds or US dollars. Lumiform's comparison guide prints competitor prices, but we did not reuse them, because they come from a competing vendor rather than from each vendor's own pricing page.

Ten seats, two billing options: a worked example

This is an illustrative scenario for the arithmetic, not a customer. Suppose a group of six restaurants needs ten logins for managers and office staff. On SafetyCulture's pricing page, the Premium plan costs $24 per seat per month on annual billing according to Mitti (2026), so ten seats cost 10 × $24 × 12 = $2,880 a year. The same ten seats at $29 per seat per month, billed monthly, cost 10 × $29 × 12 = $3,480, so annual billing saves $600 before taxes. If the group also wants a weekly export of completed inspections into its own reporting, the developer reference documents a search call at /audits/search that requests field=audit_id and field=modified_at, and modified_after pages through records that changed since a given date. That page does not say whether API access depends on plan, so confirm it before you budget for the export. Hardware, training time and any sensor kit fall outside these figures.

Team situationSeatsAnnual cost on published pricingStart with
Inspections only, annual billing10$2,880Premium plan on annual billing, SafetyCulture's page
Inspections only, monthly billing10$3,480Premium plan on monthly billing, SafetyCulture's page
Checklists only, small team10$0Free plan, if five active templates are enough
Sensor monitoring across sitesNot publishedQuote-basedCrunchtime Ops Execution or Squadle

Vendor profiles

SafetyCulture

Best fit: a team that wants a published per-seat price, a documented search API and a free tier to start. Choose it if your priority is cost certainty and inspections rather than sensors. Its limitations are concrete. The Free plan caps active inspection templates at five, so a group with separate checklists for each site type will outgrow it quickly. The pricing page does not name restaurant food-safety features, and sensor coverage did not appear on the pages we opened. Red flag for this reader: if temperature sensors and alerts drive the decision, the pages available to you do not show that capability. Evidence: SafetyCulture's pricing page, now at Mitti and the developer reference.

Crunchtime Ops Execution (formerly Zenput)

Best fit: multi-site operators that want sensor-based temperature monitoring, food-prep labeling and kitchen-display links. Crunchtime's page says temperature checks connect to Crunchtime Kitchen so they appear on KDS screens, that Bluetooth probes integrate, and that AI photo validation flags blurry or noncompliant images. It also says operators can pull reports of completed work for health departments and other third parties. Its limitations are the absence of a published price, a demo-only call to action, and the rename itself, since older Zenput reviews and integrations may describe a different product. Vendor claims need checking: Vendor claim: 60+ minutes of staff time saved daily per store according to Crunchtime (2026). The same page says sensors "can run up to 12 years on two AA batteries," a figure we could not verify independently. The operations page also says "Zenput is now Crunchtime Ops Execution" and cites that less than half of operators have complete real-time visibility into food safety compliance, according to Crunchtime (2026). Choose it if sensors and kitchen-display integration matter most and you want one contract with the owner of Squadle too.

Squadle, by Crunchtime

Best fit: multi-unit operators that want 24/7 remote temperature monitoring with real-time alerts and digital shift checklists. The page describes a reporting dashboard that shows which corrective actions were taken and when, digital food-safety checklists with automated logging through the company's ZeroTouch technology, and shift management for pre-shift tasks and safety checks. Its limitations are that no price or contact-sales statement appears, and the page is written for franchise businesses, so ask how it fits a group that owns its sites. Setup depends on sensor placement and shift configuration. Its copyright notice names Crunchtime Information Systems, Inc. as owner. Disqualifier: if you need a published price before any sales call, this option fails that test. Evidence: Squadle on Crunchtime's site.

Jolt, now inside SmartSense ONE (Digi International)

Best fit: groups that want scheduling, labeling and sensor monitoring from one vendor, if the SmartSense ONE modules match the workflow you need. Digi's own release describes Jolt as "a leading solutions provider to the convenience store and food and beverage industries," and the acquisition was announced August 18, 2025. Digi paid about $145.5 million in cash for Jolt according to Silicon UK (2025). Its limitations are that Jolt's own feature pages did not open in our session, the pricing route ends in a quote form, and the SmartSense about page lists modules without describing them. The ownership change also means you should ask about the roadmap and whether existing terms carry over. Implementation: request a module-by-module quote. Choose it if you accept a change of owner in exchange for one vendor. Evidence: SmartSense quote request and SmartSense about page.

FoodDocs

Best fit: a small group whose first gap is a written HACCP plan. The page says its builder produces a hazard analysis, critical control points, SOPs and a flow chart, and says this can be done in an hour or less. It also syncs fridge and storage readings from sensor integrations. Its limitations are that the page presents HACCP support as general rather than restaurant-specific, supplier management appears only in a list of covered items, and no plan price is published. Implementation: start with the free trial, then confirm which integrations your equipment supports. Evidence: FoodDocs pricing. Choose it if a documented HACCP plan is the priority and the multi-site dashboard can come later.

Lumiform

Best fit: teams that want configurable checklists and audits across industries, bought on quote-based Professional or Enterprise plans. Its limitations are that the pricing page does not say whether pricing is per user or per plan, add-ons are sold separately with Professional, and no restaurant-specific food-safety language appears on the pages we opened. Its comparison guide is written by Lumiform, so weigh its ranking accordingly. Implementation: standard plans carry no onboarding fee, but enterprise onboarding services may. Choose it if you want a general audit tool and can accept less restaurant-specific guidance. Evidence: Lumiform pricing and the comparison guide.

Where a proposed US Tech Automations workflow fits the pain

A proposed US Tech Automations configuration sits between the food-safety platform you choose and the people who act on its records. It does not replace the platform, and nothing in this section describes a live deployment or a measured result.

The first proposed workflow handles out-of-range readings. Its trigger is a sensor or manual log entry that falls outside the range the operator sets for that unit. Its action opens a corrective-action task at that location, assigns it to the shift lead, and sets a re-check time the operator chooses. Its output is one record that holds the reading, the timestamp, the assignee and the closing note. The prerequisite is that the platform exposes readings and tasks through an API or a scheduled export, and that each reading maps to one task through a stable record ID, so a retry does not create a second task. The human review point is the manager, who decides what happens to the food and signs off the closure. The workflow routes the reading to a person; it never marks food as safe.

The second proposed workflow produces a weekly exception summary. Its trigger is a fixed weekly schedule. Its action pulls inspections changed since the last run, using a modified_after filter, summarizes failed items and open corrective actions by location, and routes the summary to the operations lead. Its output is one report per week. The prerequisites are API access to completed inspections and an agreed definition of which fields count as failures. The human review point is the operations lead, who checks the summary before it reaches owners or franchise partners. Both designs depend on the platform exposing its records, and both need a named owner for each exception.

Build it yourself in Zapier, Make or n8n?

A packaged platform is not the only option. Many groups stitch a flow together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or write an in-house script. We checked Zapier's documentation only, and the same questions apply to the other tools. Zapier turns off a Zap when 95% of runs error in 7 days according to Zapier (2026). The same article describes run statuses, Autoreplay retries for scheduled runs, and a Logs tab that shows the response code, error text and endpoint for a failed step.

Those tools can support run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when configured. The buyer must still design and own duplicate handling, so that a retry does not create two corrective tasks, along with escalation to a manager, access controls, and maintenance whenever a source API changes. A packaged platform carries part of that work for you. A DIY flow puts all of it on your team.

Who this is for

This guide is for owners and operations leads at small restaurant businesses who are close to choosing a food-safety platform and need to compare cost, sensor coverage and data export before signing.

Red flags: no named person will own corrective actions, you expect software to replace your written food-safety procedure, or your sites cannot keep devices connected to the network reliably.

Three steps to shortlist and switch

  1. Write the scope first. List the temperature points, the checklists and the records an owner or inspector will ask for, then mark which items must come from sensors and which can stay manual.

  2. Ask each shortlisted vendor for a written quote that names the billing period, the seat or location basis, the hardware cost, and whether API or export access depends on plan.

  3. Pilot one site before a group-wide rollout, and write down the human review points: who signs off a corrective action, who decides food disposition, and who can edit a closed record.

Frequently asked questions

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: a single-location operator who needs only a printed checklist and a temperature log book should buy a basic checklist tool and skip a workflow layer entirely. A group that needs sensor hardware, alerts and labeling on one bill should buy a sensor platform such as Crunchtime Ops Execution or Squadle, because both already describe those jobs on their own pages. An operator whose inspection evidence must stay inside one vendor's system for a health department should keep it there and add nothing on top.

Is SafetyCulture the cheapest option on this list?

Cheapness cannot be proven from the pages we opened. SafetyCulture is the only product whose pricing page shows per-seat figures, so it is the only one you can budget before a sales call.

Which alternatives describe temperature sensors?

Crunchtime Ops Execution and Squadle both describe sensor-based monitoring on their own pages, and FoodDocs describes sensor integrations for fridge and storage readings. The other products did not say so on the pages we opened.

Do I need an API?

Only if you want inspection or task records in your own reporting. SafetyCulture's developer reference documents search and fetch calls, and we did not verify API documentation for the other products.

Who owns Jolt now?

Digi International acquired Jolt, and the deal was announced August 18, 2025. Jolt now sits inside Digi's SmartSense business, which markets the combined offering as SmartSense ONE.

Should a group build this in Zapier instead?

For a narrow flow, such as one alert creating one task, a no-code tool can work. You must build duplicate handling, escalation and access controls yourself, and you must maintain the flow when a source API changes.

Bottom line

Choose the category first. For most restaurant groups, that means a food-safety-specific platform, with one Crunchtime product and one other option on the shortlist, each quoted in writing before you sign. Confirm export access, name the human review points, and ask each vendor for the method behind any time-savings figure. If you want to see how a proposed configuration would route those alerts and reports, see how US Tech Automations configures this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.