Skip to content
AI & Automation

Seal Subscriptions Alternatives: 7 Options by Fee in 2027

Oct 27, 2026

Start with the category decision

For most small Shopify stores, replacing Seal Subscriptions is a choice between three fee models before it is a choice between vendors. The first model is free billing from Shopify's own app. The second is a flat monthly fee with no percentage on orders. The third is a monthly fee plus a percentage of every subscription order, so the bill grows with sales. Pick the model that matches your order values and subscriber count, then pick the vendor inside that model.

A Shopify subscription app adds recurring purchase options to products, bills customers on a schedule, and handles renewals, failed payments and customer self-service. Seal Subscriptions is the baseline in this guide, and each alternative is judged on how well it does the same job at a lower or more predictable cost.

TL;DR: a small store with a modest, stable subscriber count usually gets the lowest bill from a flat-fee plan or a free tier, while a store with large order values should check the percentage fee first. Model your bill at your real subscriber count before you start any trial.

Key Takeaways

  • Subscriber count, not the feature list, sets the bill for most small-store options, so model it before you trial anything.

  • Percentage-fee apps cost more as order value grows, while flat-fee apps cost more as you step up to larger tiers.

  • Free tiers cap either subscriptions or subscription revenue. Check that cap against your next 12 months, not today's count.

  • Shopify's own app has no app fee on the help page we opened, but that page does not confirm discount rules or customer self-service features.

  • Skio's pricing page targets growing, high-volume brands, and its lowest plan shown is the most expensive option in our illustrative model.

  • Confirm payment method rules before you switch, because at least one app accepts only credit cards for subscription orders.

How we evaluated these tools

This guide covers seven options that are sold today on the Shopify App Store or on their own sites: Seal Subscriptions, Shopify's native app, Recharge, Loop Subscriptions, Bold Subscriptions, Appstle Subscriptions and Skio. We used only public pricing pages, App Store listings and help documents. No hands-on trial was run, so anything a vendor did not publish appears as "not stated" rather than as an estimate.

The weights below reflect a buyer who needs predictable cost first and can absorb a moderate setup effort. They are our analysis, not vendor data, and you can reweight them for your own store.

CriterionWeightWhy it matters for a small store
Monthly app cost at your subscriber count30%Flat and percentage fees scale in different ways
Transaction fee on subscription orders20%A percentage fee compounds with order value
Free tier and trial length15%Shows how far you can test before you pay
Subscriber or revenue cap before a plan change15%Caps decide when the bill jumps
Setup, migration and payment rules10%Gateway and checkout limits can block a move
Vendor transparency10%Whether prices and limits are published in full

Cost and transaction fees together carry half the weight, because bills in this category diverge sharply as subscriber counts rise. Setup and transparency carry less, but a fee model you cannot predict is still a risk.

Feature and fee matrix

Table 2 puts the published entry terms side by side. Read it as a first filter, not a final answer, because caps, tiers and trial rules differ by plan.

OptionEntry monthly priceTransaction feeFree trialFree tier or cap
Seal Subscriptions$0 (Free plan)0%30 days on paid plansFree plan: 50 subscriptions
Shopify Subscriptions (native)$0 app feeNot statedNot statedNot stated
Recharge$99 (Starter)1.49% + 19¢ (Starter)60 days (Starter)Not stated
Loop Subscriptions$0 (Free Forever)1.0% (Starter)14 days (Starter)Free plan: 50 active subscriptions
Bold Subscriptions$24.99 (Launch)2% (Launch)30 daysNot stated
Appstle Subscriptions$0 (Free)0%14 days (paid plans)Free plan: up to $500 a month in subscription revenue
Skio$599 (Scale, monthly billing)1% + 20¢Not statedNot offered on the pricing page; Enterprise is a Quote-based plan

Seal caps its LEGEND tier at 500 subscriptions according to Seal Subscriptions (2026). That cap is the number to compare against your own list, because Seal's free plan stops at 50 subscriptions and the step beyond LEGEND is a much larger tier.

Two rows need context. Loop's free plan ends at 50 active subscriptions, while Appstle's free plan is limited by subscription revenue, not subscriber count. A store with fewer, larger orders can hit Appstle's revenue limit well before it reaches any subscriber count that would matter to Loop. Shopify's native app shows no cap, trial or transaction fee on the help page we opened, so check those in your admin before you assume anything.

What each option costs at 400 subscribers

Pricing checked October 25, 2026. Figures come from each vendor's pricing page or, for Appstle, its Shopify App Store listing, because Appstle's own pricing page did not show any figures. Where a vendor offers only a custom quote, we label it Quote-based: the Custom tier on Recharge, the Enterprise tier on Loop and the Enterprise plan on Skio.

Recharge base fee: $99 a month plus 1.49% according to Recharge (2026). The Starter plan includes a 60-day free trial, and the Plus tier and Custom tier run on 12-month terms, so a downgrade waits until the term ends. The page we opened also lists usage-based SMS charges on the higher tiers.

Table 3 applies each option to the same illustrative store. It counts app fees only, because Shopify's own payment processing is extra and varies by setup.

OptionPlan used in the modelMonthly app feesHow the figure is built
Seal SubscriptionsLEGEND$24.95Flat fee, 0% transaction fee, cap of 500 subscriptions
Shopify Subscriptions (native)Free app$0No app fee; card processing still applies
RechargeStarter$413.40$99 + 1.49% of $16,000 ($238.40) + 19¢ × 400 ($76.00)
Loop SubscriptionsStarter$259.00$99 + 1.0% of $16,000 ($160.00)
Bold SubscriptionsGrow$209.99$49.99 + 1% of $16,000 ($160.00)
Appstle SubscriptionsBusiness Premium$100.00Flat fee, 0% transaction fee, limit of $100,000 a month in subscription revenue; the Business plan's listed monthly revenue limit is below this store's monthly subscription order value, so Business Premium is the cheapest plan that covers it
SkioScale, monthly billing$839.00$599 + 1% of $16,000 ($160.00) + 20¢ × 400 ($80.00)

Worked example (illustrative, not a customer result): imagine 400 active subscribers, each on one order a month at an average of $40, so the store handles 400 subscription orders and $16,000 of subscription order value each month. On Recharge's Starter plan, the app bill is $99 plus 1.49% of $16,000 ($238.40) plus 19¢ on each of 400 transactions ($76.00), or $413.40 a month. The LEGEND plan on Seal costs $24.95 a month and covers up to 500 subscriptions with no transaction fee. The Grow plan on Bold comes to $209.99, made up of $49.99 plus 1% of $16,000. The Scale plan on Skio works out to $839 a month on monthly billing. The read_subscriptions scope in the Recharge API documentation is the permission a configured tool would need to read that live subscriber count, so you can replace the average-order guess in this math with real data before you decide.

Vendor profiles

Each profile gives the best fit, the main limitation, what setup involves and the evidence behind the figures.

Seal Subscriptions (baseline)

Best fit: stores that already run Seal and want to keep its free-to-paid ladder. The 0% transaction fee makes the cost easy to forecast as order value rises.

Limitations: the cap is counted in subscriptions, and the step beyond the LEGEND tier is a large jump in both price and capacity. Model that step before you pass 500 subscriptions. Seal's pricing page says it builds custom plans only near its highest tier.

Setup: the public pages we opened do not describe a migration path, so ask Seal directly what export and import options exist before you commit to a move.

Shopify Subscriptions (native)

Best fit: stores that want the fewest moving parts and no app fee. Shopify's help page describes it as the free first-party Shopify Subscriptions app, so the cost is card processing rather than an app charge.

Shopify's help page calls its subscriptions app free, a $0 app fee, according to Shopify Help Center (2026).

Limitations: the help page we opened describes recurring schedules such as monthly, weekly or daily, and it says Shopify stores payment information securely. It does not describe discount rules or customer self-service, so confirm both in your admin before you choose it.

Setup: you add a subscription as a purchase option on the product and manage subscription products in the Shopify admin.

Recharge

Best fit: stores that want an established platform with a clear base fee and a 60-day trial on the Starter plan to test with real subscribers.

Limitations: the Starter plan carries a per-transaction charge on top of the percentage, so small orders carry a heavier share of that charge. The Plus and Custom tiers run on 12-month terms, and downgrades wait for the term to end.

Setup: the API documentation lists subscription endpoints and webhook topics such as subscription/cancelled, so a configured workflow could react to cancellations. Check the Recharge API documentation before you plan that integration.

Loop Subscriptions

Best fit: stores that want a free start up to 50 active subscriptions, then a fixed monthly fee with a lower percentage than the Starter plan on Recharge.

Limitations: the free plan stops at 50 active subscriptions. Loop's pricing page marks turning one-time buyers into subscribers at checkout as requiring Shopify Plus. Enterprise pricing is Quote-based.

Setup: the pricing page says all paid plans bill month to month with a 14-day free trial.

The Starter plan on Loop costs $99 a month with a 1.0% transaction fee, according to Loop Subscriptions (2026).

Bold Subscriptions

Best fit: stores that expect to climb tiers and want the transaction fee to fall at each step. Bold's public pricing lists three standard tiers at 2%, 1% and 0.9%.

Limitations: the lowest tier carries the highest transaction fee of the three, so a store on Launch pays more per order than it would on Grow once volume justifies the step. Bold's support article says subscription orders can only be purchased by credit card for now, and that migrations require Shopify Payments or Authorize.net.

Setup: Bold's pricing page says "Start free for 30 days. No credit card required." Its top tier, Ultimate Retention, is the only plan marked with a "Talk to sales" call to action.

On Bold, the Launch tier is $24.99 a month plus 2%, Grow is $49.99 plus 1%, and Scale is $74.99 plus 0.9%, according to Bold Commerce (2026).

Appstle Subscriptions

Best fit: stores whose growth is measured in subscription revenue rather than subscriber count, and that want a 0% transaction fee across the listed plans.

Limitations: the Appstle pricing page we opened describes "flat monthly pricing" but lists no figures, so the App Store listing is where to check the numbers. Its limits are monthly subscription revenue, so they can move faster than your subscriber count.

Setup: Appstle's site says migrations to its subscriptions app are complementary across all plans.

On the Appstle listing, the Starter plan is $10 a month, Business is $30, and Business Premium is $100, all at a 0% transaction fee, according to Shopify App Store (2026).

Skio

Best fit: brands with high subscription volume and a product that already sells on repeat. Skio's pricing page frames its product around growing subscription brands.

Limitations: the pricing page we opened lists only a Scale plan and an Enterprise plan. Scale is the lowest plan shown and carries the highest monthly fee in our model. The FAQ questions on Shopify Plus, plan gating and onboarding fees appear without answers on the page, so ask about them directly.

Setup: confirm the migration path and onboarding terms before you sign, because the public page does not state them.

On Skio, the Scale plan costs $599 a month on monthly billing or $499 billed annually, with 1% plus 20¢ on each subscription order, according to Skio (2026).

What 2026 subscription data suggests for small stores

Overall subscription growth slowed to 12.6% according to Recurly (2026). Recurly's 2026 report covers about 76 million subscribers and 2,200 merchants. Recurly sells subscription billing software, so treat its figures as a vendor report rather than neutral research.

Pause usage rose 337% year over year according to Recurly (2026), and the same report says most subscribers who pause eventually return. For a small store, a pause option costs little to offer and is worth testing against cancellations, because the report also says many consumers cancel because they stopped using the product.

Free trial conversion fell from 46% to 33% according to Advanced Television (2025). That figure comes from Recurly's 2025 report, one year older than the 2026 figures above. Trial length matters less on its own than what happens when the trial ends, so test your billing reminders during the trial, not only the length.

Where a workflow layer fits

A subscription app handles billing. A workflow layer handles what happens around billing: getting a cancellation reason to the person who can act on it, or flagging mismatches before a cutover. The two proposed designs below are not live deployments. They describe what a store moving off Seal Subscriptions could configure.

US Tech Automations could configure a cancellation triage workflow. The trigger is a cancellation event in the new app, such as the subscription/cancelled webhook topic in Recharge's API or the equivalent event in the app you choose. The action reads the subscriber's order history and writes the cancellation reason and last order date to the helpdesk record. The output is a daily review queue for a named person, who decides whether a save offer goes out. Prerequisites are API access or an export that includes status and cancellation reason, plus a written rule for offers. The human review point is simple: nothing reaches the customer until the owner approves it.

A second proposed design covers the move itself. The trigger is a scheduled daily run during migration. The action compares the active subscriber list in the old system with the new app's list, matching customer ID and next billing date. The output is an exception report that lists mismatches, such as a subscriber missing from the new app or a billing date that moved. Prerequisites are read access or a complete export from both apps, and confirmation that each app exposes the next billing date. The owner signs off on the exception report before the cutover date, and nothing cuts over automatically.

The main alternative is stitching these flows together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or building them in-house. Those tools can keep run histories, retry failed steps, branch on errors and leave an audit trail when they are configured that way. The buyer still has to design idempotency, so a retried webhook does not create two records, and to set escalation paths, access controls and a maintenance owner for when an app's API changes. A proposed US Tech Automations design would write those pieces into the workflow up front, with run logs, retry rules and an approval step, but the same prerequisites apply: API access, a named owner and a review schedule.

Who should choose which option

Table 4 gives a short decision for each option. It reflects the evidence above, not a ranking.

OptionChoose it ifSkip it if
Seal SubscriptionsYou want to stay on the same vendor's tier ladder and your count fits its capsYou expect to cross the next tier boundary soon and have not modeled the step
Shopify Subscriptions (native)You want no app fee and a simple setupYou need discount rules or self-service features the help page does not confirm
RechargeYou want a 60-day Starter trial and can accept a percentage feeYour orders are small and the per-transaction charge dominates
Loop SubscriptionsYou want a free start up to 50 active subscriptionsYou are above 50 subscriptions and need checkout upgrades without Shopify Plus
Bold SubscriptionsYou expect to grow into a tier and want the fee to fall at each stepYour customers pay with methods other than credit card
Appstle SubscriptionsYour growth is measured in revenue and you want a 0% transaction feeYou need a full published price table on the vendor site
SkioYou run high subscription volume and can absorb the highest plan price in our modelYou are a small store with a tight monthly budget

Do not use US Tech Automations for this decision if a simpler tool already covers the job. If your store has one subscription product, a single monthly discount and no retention steps beyond the app's own emails, the native admin is enough. If you only need to move a subscriber list once, a checked export and a spreadsheet reconciliation can do the job with far less design work. And if nobody on your team will own a daily review queue, a workflow that only creates tasks will go unread, so pick an app with the built-in reports you will actually check.

Who this is for

This guide fits a small ecommerce owner or operations lead who sells a subscription product, knows roughly how many active subscribers they have, and is close to a choice. It is less useful for a brand still testing whether customers want a subscription at all, because a free tier will answer that faster than any comparison.

Red flags: your customers pay with methods other than credit card, since Bold's support article says subscription orders are credit-card only for now; you have not checked what your current subscriber list exports before planning a move; you expect to pass a plan cap within a few months without budgeting for the next tier.

Common mistakes to avoid

  • Comparing only monthly fees and ignoring the percentage charged on each subscription order.

  • Choosing a free plan whose cap ends before your next growth step.

  • Assuming the trial length tells you how the app handles failed payments or reminders. Test those directly.

  • Moving subscribers without checking whether the new app can read their next billing dates.

  • Sending automated customer messages without a named person who reviews them.

Questions before you switch

Is Seal Subscriptions free for a small store?

Yes, up to the free-plan cap shown in the matrix above. Once you pass that cap, you need a paid plan, so check the step cost before you grow.

Does Shopify's native app cost anything to use?

Shopify's help page describes its subscriptions app as free, so there is no app fee. Payment processing still applies to each order, and the help page we opened does not list a full feature set, so confirm features in your admin.

Which option has the lowest cost at 400 subscribers?

In the illustrative model, the free native app has the lowest app fee, and the LEGEND plan on Seal is the lowest paid option. The Scale plan on Skio is the most expensive. Your real answer depends on your order values, because percentage fees move with them.

Can I move subscribers to a new app without re-billing them?

It depends on both apps. Bold's support article says a migration requires Shopify Payments or Authorize.net, so check your gateway before you start. Appstle's site says migrations are complementary across all of its plans. In every case, test the move on a small set of subscribers and confirm each next billing date before you cut over.

Do I need a workflow tool on top of a subscription app?

Usually not for a basic setup. A workflow layer earns its place when cancellation reasons, migration checks or support handoffs must move between systems on a schedule and a named person has to review them.

Conclusion

Start with a cost model at your real subscriber count, then choose among a free tier, a flat-fee plan and a percentage-fee plan. Seal is a reasonable baseline when its caps fit your next year of growth. Shopify's native app is worth testing when you want no app fee. The other options earn their place only if their trial, tier steps and payment rules fit your store. Recheck each plan page before you sign, because vendor prices change. If you want to see how a cancellation or migration check would be set up, see how US Tech Automations configures this in a proposed design, with prerequisites and review points spelled out. For a narrower look at one replacement, read our Recharge alternatives guide for ecommerce brands.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.