ShipHero vs ShipBob: Warehouse or Outsource 2026
Key Takeaways
ShipHero vs ShipBob is a choice about who employs the pickers. ShipHero sells warehouse software. ShipBob sells outsourced fulfillment and a separate warehouse system for brands that still run a US building.
Warehouses using the software: 5,000+ according to ShipHero (2026). That page says ShipHero launched its own fulfillment network in 2019, spun that business into a separate company, LVK, in 2023, and does not run warehouses.
Fulfillment software fee: $0 according to ShipBob (2026). The same page says fulfillment quotes are customized, that ShipBob can ship to more than 250 destinations, and it publishes customer claims of over $2 per order and $1.5 million in freight savings. Those claims are their customers' words, not a rate card.
Fulfillment center count: 60+ according to ShipBob (2026). ShipBob's warehouse system on that page is aimed at buildings you operate, with a path to place stock in the network as well.
Shipping-email open rate: 62.67% according to Omnisend (2026), with a 16.01% click rate on shipping-confirmation mail in the 2025 dataset. The label scan is not the whole customer experience.
TL;DR: pick ShipHero when your team will run the building on software, and pick ShipBob fulfillment when you want their network to pick, pack, and ship, using ShipBob's own warehouse system only if a US site stays on your payroll.
Who this is for
This comparison is for an operations lead at an online brand who is close to a signature and is trying to tell a software subscription from a fulfillment invoice. You are weighing labor you would hire, a building you would lease or already lease, and a network someone else staffs. A warehouse management system is the software that tells a building what to receive, where to store it, what to pick, and which label to print. The search phrase hides that definition, and the wrong read produces a contract for a job you still have to staff.
Red flags: you need the vendor to employ the pickers and lease the nodes, which ShipHero's about page says it does not do. You will not sign without a complete public rate card, and neither company put a full fulfillment price list on the pages opened for this guide. You want one login to replace the store, the helpdesk, and the books.
The fork this search is actually about
The products were not renamed. The operating model was. ShipHero's about page is plain that the company ran fulfillment and then stopped, so a 2022 memory of "ShipHero will ship it for us" is stale. A September 15, 2026 trade comparison describes the same split, according to AfterShip (2026): hand the building to ShipBob, or run a building on software. Fit Small Business, writing on January 7, 2026, still scored both firms as fulfillment operators and posted Fit Small Business score: 4.53 according to Fit Small Business (2026) for ShipBob, beside 3.68 for ShipHero, with integration counts of 70+ and 60+. Use those scores as one reviewer's marks. Do not use them as proof that ShipHero still operates your nodes. ShipHero's own 2026 about page is the primary record on that point.
ShipBob's pricing FAQ confirms a second door. Merchants with a US warehouse can license ShipBob's warehouse system, and the fulfillment dashboard for customers of the network is included. International nodes, quoted fulfillment, and a US software license are three different purchases that share a logo. Reading them as one SKU is how finance approves the wrong budget line.
Older blog posts from both vendors still talk as if each company both writes software and runs a wide set of its own buildings. Where a page and the about page disagree, this guide follows the about page for ShipHero and the pricing and warehouse-system pages for ShipBob, because those are the pages that describe what is for sale now.
How we evaluated these tools
The weights below are this guide's buying weights, not a vendor score and not a lab test. Nothing here is a timed pick test. Operating model is heaviest because it decides headcount. Cost shape is next because a quote you cannot spread across an order forecast will surprise you in month four. Reach matters when a second region should not require a new landlord. Control matters when lot codes, splits, and holds are daily work. Implementation and exit matter because a year-long resume is a real cost even when the monthly fee looks small. Post-purchase is on the list because the customer judges the tracking page, not the scanner. Staffing reality is the check that the winner is a team you can actually hire.
| Criterion | Weight | Checks | Why this weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who operates the building | 25% | 4 | Headcount and leases dwarf a software seat |
| Cost shape you can forecast | 20% | 4 | Quote-only lines break a 12-month model |
| Reach without a new contract per node | 15% | 3 | A second region should not mean a new landlord |
| Inventory and order control | 15% | 3 | Lots, splits, and holds are daily work |
| Implementation and exit | 10% | 3 | Go-live time and notice period are cash |
| Post-purchase and returns | 10% | 3 | The buyer judges the tracking page |
| Staffing reality | 5% | 2 | Software without pickers does not ship |
A pass on the first row can fail the second. A brand that will not hire pickers should stop at ShipBob's fulfillment service even if ShipHero's scanner story is attractive. A 3PL that already has buildings should stop at software and should not pay a network for labor it already employs. The same weight set is why this is not a star-rating contest. Displayed stars from a vendor's about page are recorded later as displayed stars, and they are not reweighted into a winner.
Published figures, kept identical wherever they repeat
Every figure in the table is a number from a page opened for this guide. Vendor marketing claims stay labeled as claims. Review counts are the counts ShipHero displays on its about page, not a fresh pull from the review site. Where a later section repeats a number, it uses this value and no other.
| Published figure | Value | Page year |
|---|---|---|
| Warehouses ShipHero says use the software | 5,000+ | 2026 |
| Average star rating ShipHero displays | 4.4 | 2026 |
| G2 score ShipHero displays | 4.5 | 2026 |
| G2 reviews ShipHero displays | 221 | 2026 |
| Capterra score ShipHero displays | 4.2 | 2026 |
| Capterra reviews ShipHero displays | 83 | 2026 |
| Trustpilot score ShipHero displays | 4.5 | 2026 |
| Trustpilot reviews ShipHero displays | 608 | 2026 |
| Shopify app score ShipHero displays | 4.3 | 2026 |
| Shopify app reviews ShipHero displays | 115 | 2026 |
| ShipBob fulfillment centers on the WMS page | 60+ | 2026 |
| Destinations on the ShipBob pricing page | 250+ | 2026 |
| ShipBob fulfillment software fee | $0 | 2026 |
| Fit Small Business score for ShipBob | 4.53 | 2026 |
| Fit Small Business score for ShipHero | 3.68 | 2026 |
ShipHero's pick-to-light page adds operating claims that are not in the rating block. Shipping accuracy claim: 99%+ according to ShipHero (2026), beside 3X picking efficiency, 30% faster shipping, and a 35% reduction in costs. Treat that cluster as the vendor's marketing claims. This guide did not remeasure them.
Feature matrix for the decision you can actually make
Cells say what the opened pages support. "Not on the pages opened" means this research did not treat a third-party checklist as proof. ShipHero's public order object, documented on the order type, includes partner_order_id for the storefront's order id and fulfillment_status for pending, fulfilled, cancelled, and related states. Those two fields are the practical handoff between a store and a building you run.
| Decision | ShipHero | ShipBob fulfillment | ShipBob WMS |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who employs pickers | Your team or your 3PL | ShipBob's network | Your team |
| Public price | Quote-based | Software $0; service Quote-based | Quote-based |
| Places stock in a network | Only buildings you or a partner operate | 60+ centers | Your sites, plus the network as a blend |
| Geography limit stated | Not stated as US-only | More than 250 destinations | US-based warehouses |
| Storefront order id | partner_order_id | Dashboard for network customers | Open API on the WMS page |
| Carrier choice | Rate shopping on the product page | UPS, USPS, FedEx, DHL discounts passed through | Carrier selection stated |
| B2B and EDI | Not confirmed on the pages opened | Yes, at an additional cost | B2B and EDI integrations stated |
| Returns | Returns exist on the order object | Flat fee; amount not on the pricing page | You run returns in your building |
| Users | Not published as a seat count here | Included with the $0 dashboard | Unlimited users on the WMS page |
| Implementation owner | Your ops lead plus their onboarders | Their fulfillment onboarders | Virtual or on-site, you still staff the floor |
The matrix is the whole argument in one view. ShipHero wins the row about software depth for a building you already control, including rate shopping, pack-to-light, and an order object a developer can query. ShipBob fulfillment wins the row about employed pickers and a center count you do not have to lease. ShipBob's warehouse system wins a narrow third case: you run at least one US building and you want a contractual path to spill volume into the same company's network. A wider shortlist of warehouse software for operators who already are a 3PL sits in warehouse management software for a 3PL. That page is a category tour. It does not change the fork on this page.
Pricing checked against the public pages
Pricing checked October 9, 2026. ShipHero's /pricing path returned a 404 page on that date, so the license is Quote-based. No seat price, no per-order software price, and no onboarding price from ShipHero is printed here. Third-party pages quote monthly licenses. Those figures are not used, because they were not on a ShipHero price page opened in this session.
ShipBob's pricing page is a quote request plus a FAQ, not a pick-fee table. The fulfillment service is Quote-based. Standard fees named on the page are implementation, receiving, warehousing, and picking, packing, and shipping. Custom work such as kitting is an additional cost. B2B, wholesale, and EDI orders are an additional cost. Returns are a flat fee charged when the return arrives, and the dollar amount of that fee is not on the pricing page, so it is not printed. Plain boxes, poly mailers, bubble mailers, tape, dunnage, and labels are included. Custom branded packaging is stored at your cost. The warehouse system for a building you run is a separate quote, limited to US warehouses.
| Vendor | Offer | Public price | What the page leaves open |
|---|---|---|---|
| ShipHero | Warehouse software | Quote-based | Seats, onboarding, and any per-order software fee |
| ShipBob | Fulfillment service | Quote-based | Pick, storage, receiving, and carrier totals |
| ShipBob | Fulfillment dashboard | $0 | Included for fulfillment customers |
| ShipBob | WMS for a US site you run | Quote-based | Separate from the $0 dashboard |
A fair total-cost read puts four lines under whichever logo you prefer. Line one is software. Line two is labor. Line three is space. Line four is carrier plus packaging. On ShipHero, line one is Quote-based and lines two through four are yours or your 3PL's. On ShipBob fulfillment, line one is $0 and lines two through four arrive as a customized quote that already mixes labor, packaging, and postage. Comparing line one across the two logos, and ignoring the other three, will make the network look more expensive and the software look cheaper than the year of cash you will actually wire. The same discipline shows up when finance reads a quote-only professional bill, which is the method in transaction billing software for real estate: write every line, and mark anything still unpriced before you rank vendors.
Customer savings printed on ShipBob's pricing page are not list prices. One published comment says expanding from 2 warehouses to 4 produced $1.5 million in freight savings. Another says fulfillment cost fell by over $2 per order versus that brand's previous 3PL. Use them as existence proof that node count can move freight. Do not paste them into your budget as your savings.
Where each vendor fits
ShipHero
Best fit: a brand or a 3PL that already has a building, or will sign a lease, and wants ecommerce-native warehouse software with rate shopping, barcode picking, returns on the order, and a public API. The about page's customer base includes Shopify Plus brands and high-volume 3PLs. The product page shows Shopify, Amazon, UPS, WooCommerce, FedEx, and USPS among the logos, plus reporting from cost of goods to picker efficiency.
Limitations: you still hire, train, and schedule the floor. You still negotiate carrier accounts. You do not inherit a 60+ center footprint by signing the software. Public pricing was not available on the date checked. The 99%+ shipping accuracy claim and the 3X picking claim are vendor statements, useful as questions for a reference call, not as a guaranteed error rate on your SKUs. International coverage is whatever buildings you or a partner 3PL add. The software will not, by itself, give you a branded tracking page on your domain.
Implementation: plan a software onboard, a location file, a SKU file, and a parallel count before you cut the store over. Their page offers setup conversations through sales. Budget your own trainers for temps, because the scanner only helps a person who shows up. Exit means taking inventory files and order history with you. Ask for the export list before signature, including orders keyed by partner_order_id.
Primary evidence: the about page for the 2023 spinoff and the 5,000+ warehouse claim, and the pick-to-light page for the operating claims.
ShipBob fulfillment
Best fit: a brand that wants pickers, packers, and buildings on someone else's payroll, with inventory that can sit in more than one region, and with a dashboard included at $0. The pricing page says a quote is customized per customer and that carrier discounts with UPS, USPS, FedEx, DHL, and regional carriers are passed through. Standard packaging is included. Kitting is available once approved. B2B and EDI are available at an additional cost.
Limitations: you do not control the pick path hour by hour. Storage of slow SKUs, receiving that runs long, and custom packaging can move the quote in ways the pricing page does not price in public. The per-order fulfillment number you will live with is Quote-based. A published customer claim is not your rate. Returns cost a flat fee whose amount was not on the page opened here. If your catalog is awkward, hazardous, or heavily regulated, the quote may not match a lightweight direct-to-consumer story, and only the quote will say so.
Implementation: you send product data, a receiving plan, and inventory. Their team onboards the account and the buildings. Your job becomes vendor management, replenishment, and reading exceptions. Exit is an inventory retrieval plus a store reconnect to the next building. Ask who pays outbound freight on that retrieval before you treat the contract as easy to leave.
Primary evidence: the pricing page for the $0 software fee, the 250+ destination statement, and the quote model.
ShipBob's warehouse system
Best fit: a merchant that will keep at least one US warehouse and wants warehouse, inventory, order, and transportation tools, unlimited users, and a documented option to use the 60+ center network as extra capacity. The page lists batch, auto-cluster, custom cluster, and single-order picking, visual pack steps, cycle counts, an app store, and an open API, with named connections including NetSuite, Gorgias, Klaviyo, and Happy Returns. White-glove implementation can be virtual or on-site. A dedicated account manager is part of the stated onboard.
Limitations: the license is Quote-based and is not the $0 fulfillment dashboard. The pricing FAQ limits this warehouse system to US-based warehouses. You still employ the building. Blended fulfillment is a second commercial relationship, not an automatic spillover. Case-study percentages on that page are customer stories. They are not a baseline this guide applies to you.
Implementation: expect a process redesign, not a login. Unlimited users remove a seat argument and do not remove training. Cut over one zone of the building, reconcile inventory, then add channels. Keep the old label path until a day of orders matches.
Primary evidence: the WMS page for the 60+ center count, unlimited users, and the US-network blend.
One month sketched at 2,000 orders
Take an illustrative brand at 2,000 orders in a month, inside the range an operations lead usually means by this search. Using the pricing-page figures cited above, ShipBob's fulfillment software fee is $0, so 2,000 times $0 is a $0 software line. The same page carries a customer claim of over $2 per order saved after a move from 2 warehouses to 4. Applied only as arithmetic on that claim, not as your quote, 2,000 times $2 is $4,000 in that month. A separate published claim on that page, $1.5 million of freight savings, is a different brand's multi-year result and is not the monthly figure. If the brand instead runs ShipHero, the nightly match key on the order object is partner_order_id. If 1% of 2,000 orders sit in a bad fulfillment_status, that is 20 orders. At 6 minutes of human review each, the queue is 120 minutes, or 2 hours, before anyone writes the customer. The 1% and the 6 minutes are sketch assumptions so the hours are visible. They are not a measured error rate.
The layer above either warehouse record
The warehouse decision does not answer the ticket that says the tracking link is dead. Shipping confirmation is one of the most opened operational emails in Omnisend's 2025 set, at the 62.67% open rate and 16.01% click rate cited above. Those clicks land somewhere. If they land on a carrier page, your team still re-types the answer into the helpdesk. Neither contract automatically builds one history across a store, a building you run, and a network node.
A held order, a late scan, and a storefront that still says processing are three screens. A proposed US Tech Automations workflow can take a scheduled export, match partner_order_id to the store order, and open a review item when fulfillment_status is anything other than fulfilled. The output is a queue a named person clears before any customer email sends. Prerequisites are a ShipHero token that can read orders, or a CSV that includes those fields, plus a store that can export its order id. This is a configurable design, not a live deployment and not a measured save.
Zapier, Make, and n8n can move the same event, and a careful owner can turn on run history, retries, error branches, and an audit log. Those tools are real. The buyer then owns observability, idempotency so a replay does not open two tickets, escalation when a retry dies, access control on the token, and the maintenance when a field name changes. A proposed US Tech Automations design could watch status changes, dedupe on partner_order_id, retry a failed pull, and write an audit row, while a person still approves any refund, reship, or customer message. Prerequisites are the same export or token, a written map from store order to warehouse order, and a reviewer on the calendar. The no-code stack is the right call when that owner is already on staff and the path is a single alert.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: one store, one building, and a lead who already clears holds inside the warehouse tool do not need a second queue. A team that will not name a reviewer should stay on the vendor screens. A shop whose only gap is a carrier link inside the shipping email can keep the notification the store already sends. The pattern is the same one used for listing alert automation: a trigger fires, a person reviews, and only then does a message leave.
Glossary
WMS. Warehouse management software: receiving, locations, picks, packs, and the label decision inside a building.
3PL. A third-party logistics firm that stores your goods and ships orders with its own labor. After 2023, that firm is not ShipHero.
Fulfillment network. Many buildings under one commercial relationship, which is the ShipBob service you quote.
Quote-based. No public number on the vendor page opened for this guide. The price arrives in a proposal.
Rate shopping. Picking a carrier service from live rates against rules you set. ShipHero sells this on the software page.
Zone. A distance band the carrier prices. More buildings can shorten zones. They also split inventory.
partner_order_id. The storefront's order id on ShipHero's order object. It is the match key in the sketch above.fulfillment_status. ShipHero's status string for that order, including pending, fulfilled, and cancelled.
Mistakes that show up after the contract
Treating ShipHero as the company that will pick your orders. The about page says the opposite. If a salesperson offers operated fulfillment, ask which legal entity employs the floor and get that name on the order form.
Comparing a $0 dashboard with a Quote-based software license and calling the $0 option cheaper. The $0 line is software for fulfillment customers. Labor, space, and postage are the rest of the invoice.
Assuming ShipBob's warehouse system is free because the fulfillment dashboard is free. They are different offers. The warehouse system is Quote-based and, on the pricing FAQ, limited to US warehouses.
Pasting a published customer save into your model. Over $2 per order and $1.5 million are claims on the pricing page from named customers. Your SKU weight, zone mix, and storage turns are not theirs.
Leaving the tracking page on the carrier, then staffing a helpdesk to reread it. The open-rate figure above is a reason to own the page, whichever building prints the label.
Skipping the exit file. Orders, inventory by location, and open returns should export before you sign, whether the key is partner_order_id or a ShipBob shipment id from the dashboard.
Signing a blended model without writing which SKUs stay in your building and which SKUs may move. Unlimited users on a warehouse system do not decide inventory placement. A sloppy blend double-sells the same unit.
Ignoring holds. fulfillment_status and address or payment holds are where labor actually goes. A demo of the happy pick path will not show that queue. Ask for a week of held-order counts from a reference account of similar SKU shape.
Questions ops leads ask
Is ShipHero still a fulfillment company?
No. ShipHero sells warehouse software, and its about page says the fulfillment business was spun into LVK in 2023 and that ShipHero does not run warehouses. You bring the building, or you hire a 3PL that runs ShipHero. Older reviews that describe ShipHero warehouses describe the company before that split, or they describe a partner. Ask any reference which company employs the pickers on their floor.
Does ShipBob publish a full price list?
No. Fulfillment is Quote-based, and the fulfillment dashboard software costs $0, according to the pricing page cited above. The US warehouse system is a separate Quote-based license. Storage, receiving, and the returns flat fee were not priced as public numbers on that page. A sales call can still be specific. This guide will not invent the number the call might say.
Who should choose ShipHero?
A team that will operate the warehouse, including a 3PL, and that wants software with rate shopping, barcode picking, and an order API. You should be ready to hire the floor and to accept a Quote-based license. If you wanted to stop running a building, this is the wrong signature. The 5,000+ warehouse claim is a software-install claim, not a promise that those buildings will ship your orders.
Who should choose ShipBob?
A brand that wants the network to pick and ship, across a stated 60+ centers and more than 250 destinations, and that will judge the relationship by the quote rather than by a public rate card. Choose ShipBob's warehouse system instead if you will keep a US building and want a path to spill into that network. Those are two contracts. Do not approve them as one.
Can one brand use both?
Yes, as a hybrid you design on purpose. A US building on ShipHero or on ShipBob's warehouse system can sit beside ShipBob fulfillment for overflow, and the hard part is a single order identity. partner_order_id covers the ShipHero side. The network side needs its own shipment export. Someone still has to reconcile the two so a support agent sees one order. That reconcile step is the work the sketch priced at 2 hours per 20 exceptions, under the stated assumptions.
What should finance ask before signature?
Ask for the order form, every fee that was not on the public page, the notice period, and the export you get if you leave. Ask which line is software, which line is labor, and which line is postage. Ask whether a card payment adds a processing fee, because the pricing page did not state one. Put the answers next to the weights above. A low software line with an open labor line is not a completed model.
Do Zapier, Make, or n8n replace either vendor?
No. They can connect a store, a warehouse tool, and a helpdesk, with retries and error branches if you build them. They do not receive inventory, pick a unit, or buy a label. Use them, or a proposed design from the home site, only for the review queue above a system you have already chosen. The warehouse contract is still the thing that ships the box. The connector only decides who hears about the box that did not ship.
The choice is the building. Software without labor does not ship, and a network without a written quote does not have a price. See how US Tech Automations configures this as a review queue on top of whichever contract you sign, with an export, a match key, and a person who still approves the message.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.