SmartVault vs Suralink for CPA Firms: Which Fits in 2027
Start with the category decision
Pick SmartVault if your core problem is where client files live and how documents reach your team. Pick Suralink if your core problem is chasing client-provided items against an engagement's request list and tying them to workpapers. Both sell to accounting firms, so the kind of work you run most often should decide first, and published pricing should decide second.
TL;DR: SmartVault publishes per-user prices on its pricing page, while Suralink is quote-based and built around request lists and Excel workpapers.
A PBC (provided-by-client) request list is the itemized set of documents a client must send before an engagement can be finished, and both products offer a way to collect it, in different shapes.
Neither product appears renamed, merged or discontinued in the pages we opened. SmartVault's own FAQ says SmartPath is now part of SmartVault, following SmartVault's 2024 acquisition of it (SmartVault FAQ). We could not open a primary source that names SmartVault's current parent company. A CB Insights profile lists SmartVault's stage as "Acquired" without naming an acquirer, so ask SmartVault for its ownership in writing before you sign. Suralink's investor history is reported inconsistently across listings, and our search found no 2025 or 2026 change of ownership.
Key Takeaways
SmartVault publishes per-user prices for three plans on its pricing page, and each plan states a minimum user count.
Suralink's pricing page publishes no prices and asks buyers to reach out, so you need a quote before you can compare totals.
Suralink's product centers on request lists and Excel workpapers, while SmartVault's document-collection add-on, SmartRequestAI, is sold per return.
The SmartRequestAI per-return rate changes on November 1, 2026, so requests sent before that date are priced lower.
Neither vendor page we opened states trial length or trial terms, so ask for both in writing.
Suralink has an announced Thomson Reuters CoCounsel integration dated September 15, 2026, and the SmartVault pages we opened describe no comparable integration.
How we evaluated these tools
This guide scores the two products on six weighted criteria that a small firm typically decides on when it shortlists a client-document tool. The weights are our judgment, not vendor data. Prices and plan details come only from the vendor pages we opened for this article, and independent sources are used for scope and ownership context. We did not use either product for this article, so nothing here reports a result from hands-on use.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it carries this weight |
|---|---|---|
| Published price you can compare | 20% | Without a published price or quote, you cannot compare totals before a sales call. |
| Client request and document collection | 25% | Chasing client documents is the daily work these tools are meant to reduce. |
| Fit with your engagement type | 20% | Tax and bookkeeping files differ from request-list engagements that involve workpaper testing. |
| Integration and API access | 15% | Decides whether data can move into your tax or accounting software later. |
| Ownership and onboarding clarity | 10% | Shows whether the vendor states its ownership and onboarding scope plainly. |
| Trial and contract flexibility | 10% | Shows whether you can test with real clients before committing. |
The weights total 100%. Client collection and engagement fit carry the most weight, because a low price does not help if the tool does not match your work.
Feature-by-feature matrix
The table below normalizes what each vendor's pages show. "Not stated" means the page we opened does not say, which is not the same as "not offered."
| Capability | SmartVault | Suralink | Check before you buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published price | Yes, per user, for three plans | No, quote-based | Ask for a total at your user count |
| Minimum users | 3 (Business Pro), 2 (Accounting Pro, Accounting Unlimited) | Not stated | Confirm minimums on any quote |
| Trial | "Request A Trial" on each plan; length and terms not stated | Not mentioned on pricing page | Get trial length and terms in writing |
| Clients and storage | Unlimited clients and external collaborators; unlimited cloud storage on listed plans | Not stated | Confirm limits in the contract |
| Document collection | SmartRequestAI add-on, priced per return | Request List Management | Confirm which features your plan includes |
| Excel workpapers | Not described on pages we opened | Workpaper Suite, an Excel add-in that syncs client files into workpapers | Test the Excel workflow with your own engagement type |
| Tax-software integration | Not described on pages we opened | Thomson Reuters CoCounsel integration, announced September 15, 2026 | Confirm the plan that includes it |
| Developer access | Public developer docs; developer account requested by email | Developer docs not publicly available to us | Get API access terms from the vendor |
| E-signature | Not described on pages we opened | E-Signature add-on, which requires the CORE base plan | Confirm pricing for the add-on |
Suralink's Workpaper Suite brings its platform into desktop Excel and syncs client-provided files into workpapers, as CPA Practice Advisor reported in May 2025. On September 15, 2026, Suralink's integration with Thomson Reuters was reported as connecting its platform to CoCounsel Tax, Audit & Accounting, with an Engagement Manager integration also planned, according to CPA Practice Advisor (2026). Thomson Reuters' setup guide walks through both the CoCounsel and Suralink sides of the setup, according to Thomson Reuters (2026). It requires a CoCounsel Admin and an access key copied from a new integration created in Suralink's My Firm, Integrations tab. The guide does not state a required plan or whether the link runs one way or both, so ask Suralink both questions.
Prices, the November change, and the math
Pricing checked October 29, 2026.
SmartVault's pricing page lists three per-user plans, and each one includes unlimited cloud storage and unlimited clients and external collaborators. The table compares the published rates, with the source for the SmartVault rows following it.
| Vendor | Plan | Annual billing | Monthly billing | Minimum users |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SmartVault | Business Pro | $65 per user/month | $85 per user/month | 3 |
| SmartVault | Accounting Pro | $65 per user/month | $85 per user/month | 2 |
| SmartVault | Accounting Unlimited | $85 per user/month | $110 per user/month | 2 |
| Suralink | CORE and five add-ons | Quote-based | Quote-based | Not stated |
Source for the SmartVault rows: SmartVault pricing page.
Suralink's pricing page says "Reach out to us, and we can find the right plan for you," and it lists a CORE base platform and five add-ons with no prices, according to Suralink (2026). Each add-on requires CORE, so the base platform cost belongs in any budget, even if you only want one add-on.
SmartRequestAI is the per-return add-on for document collection on SmartVault. Per-return add-on: $12.50, rising to $15.00 on November 1 according to SmartVault (2026). The page says the rate is $12.50 through October 31 and rises to $15.00 per request on November 1, so the increase lands three days after our pricing check.
Consider an illustrative firm with three users on SmartVault's Accounting Pro plan and 40 SmartRequestAI returns in a season. At the published rates above, three users on annual billing cost 3 × $65 = $195 a month, or $2,340 a year, while monthly billing costs 3 × $85 = $255 a month, or $3,060 a year, a $720 yearly difference. Forty returns cost 40 × $12.50 = $500 if sent before November 1, and 40 × $15.00 = $600 if sent on or after it, a $100 difference. If your team later connects SmartVault to an internal tracker, one endpoint in the vendor's developer documentation is rest.smartvault.com/nodes/pth, which returns account structure information when the children and eprop parameters are set, after you have a developer account and a registered client.
SmartVault: where it fits and where it stops
Facts from the vendor's pages
SmartVault's plan names include Accounting Pro and Accounting Unlimited, and each plan shows a "Request A Trial" button without stating a trial length or terms. Accounting Pro annual rate: $65 per user/month according to SmartVault (2026). Its developer documentation says you request a developer account by emailing its API team, then register a client, then have each user approve access through a delegation token (SmartVault developer docs). That setup is a real cost if you plan to connect the vault to other systems.
Best fit
SmartVault fits firms that want a published per-user price to put in a comparison, and that exchange many client files, where unlimited clients and unlimited storage on the listed plans matter. It also suits a buyer who wants the document store first and automation later, because the core product does not depend on a custom build to start.
Limitations
Three limits matter. First, the pages we opened show no request-list or workpaper feature comparable to Suralink's, and document collection beyond the base plan runs through SmartRequestAI, which is priced per return. Second, the per-return rate rises on November 1. Third, the ownership answer and the onboarding scope are not on the pricing page, so both need written confirmation before you commit.
Implementation: a proposed US Tech Automations design
The proposed design for SmartVault would be a configurable flow, not a live deployment. The trigger is a new file landing in a client folder. The action reads the file's folder path and name through the vendor's API, matches it to the client and request name, and writes a row to your tracker. The output is a tracker entry with the status "Needs review." Prerequisites are a SmartVault developer account, a registered client, a token for each approved user, and a decision on the authentication method, since the autonomous method requires an RSA key pair that you must keep private. The human review point is a preparer who confirms the match before any status moves to filed, because a wrong client match is the failure this flow has to catch.
Suralink: where it fits and where it stops
Facts from the vendor's pages
Suralink describes itself as "an agentic platform for accounting firms and their clients" (CPA Practice Advisor). Its pricing page lists a CORE base platform and five add-ons, all quote-based. The NYSSCPA's company profile describes its two main components as Request List Management and Workpaper Suite, and says it targets audit, tax and advisory teams at accounting firms (NYSSCPA Hub).
Best fit
Suralink fits firms whose work runs on request lists, such as audit, review or advisory engagements, and firms that want those lists tied to Excel workpapers. If your firm already uses CoCounsel, the Thomson Reuters integration is the main reason to put Suralink on the shortlist.
Limitations
No public price means you cannot compare totals before a sales conversation. Every add-on requires CORE. The Thomson Reuters integration requires a CoCounsel Admin, and its guide does not state a required plan. We could not open Suralink's developer documentation, so API access is an open question for the vendor. Our search also found no independent review of Suralink's controls or data handling, so request its security documentation directly.
Implementation: a proposed US Tech Automations design
The proposed design for Suralink would start from the request list. The trigger is a request item with no upload past its due date, checked once a day, but only if the API exposes due dates, which you should confirm first. The action drafts a reminder for the engagement lead to approve, and the output is a log entry plus a summary of open items. No reminder goes to a client without approval. Prerequisites are a Suralink access key from the firm's My Firm, Integrations tab, a CoCounsel Admin if you use the Thomson Reuters link, and written confirmation of API access. The human review points are the approval step and a monthly check that reminders match the open items on the list.
Building it yourself with Zapier as the reference
For many firms, the real alternative to either vendor is a do-it-yourself stack. Pro annual rate: $49.00 per month for 2,000 tasks according to Zapier (2026). Zapier's Pro plan retries tasks that fail from temporary errors and lets you set error notifications per Zap, and its Team plan keeps audit logs for 6 months, according to Zapier (2026). Configured well, tools like these can support run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence. The buyer still has to design and own idempotency, so a retry does not create a duplicate tracker row, plus escalation to a named person, access controls for client data, and maintenance when either vendor changes its API.
| Zapier tasks per month | Pro, annual billing (per month) | Pro, monthly billing (per month) |
|---|---|---|
| 2,000 | $49.00 | $73.50 |
| 5,000 | $89.00 | $133.50 |
| 10,000 | $129.00 | $193.50 |
Source: Zapier pricing page. We did not open Make or n8n pricing for this article, so this section uses Zapier as the reference point. US Tech Automations can specify a proposed version of the flows above, so the buyer does not start from a blank Zap. A proposed US Tech Automations build would write down the retry rules, error branches and duplicate check in advance, and name the escalation owner and access roles before go-live. The difference from a DIY build is what gets designed and who owns it, not whether the automation runs.
Who this is for
Choose SmartVault if you want published per-user pricing to compare, you handle many client files, and you can accept per-return fees for document collection.
Red flags: your work centers on request-list engagements with workpaper testing, you cannot get trial terms or an ownership answer in writing, or per-return fees would make your budget hard to forecast.
Choose Suralink if your work runs on request lists and Excel workpapers, or you use CoCounsel and need its integration, and you can get a quote that fits your budget.
Red flags: you need a published price before any sales conversation, your engagements do not use request lists, or you need API access before you have had a vendor conversation.
Glossary
PBC (provided-by-client) list: the itemized documents a client must supply for an engagement.
Workpaper: the file where a preparer records testing and supporting evidence for an engagement.
Add-on: a separately priced module that requires a base plan, such as the five Suralink add-ons that require CORE.
Minimum users: the smallest seat count a plan will sell, such as 2 or 3 on SmartVault's listed plans.
Per-return fee: a charge for each return processed through a feature, such as SmartRequestAI's per-return rate.
Access key: the credential Suralink issues for an integration, which you paste into CoCounsel.
Developer account: the separate account needed before an API call, which SmartVault says you request by email.
Audit log: a record of who did what and when, which Zapier's Team plan keeps for 6 months.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations
A simpler setup beats a custom build in three cases. If the vendor's built-in reminders and request list already cover your follow-ups, a custom flow adds a maintenance owner without adding a control. If your client document volume is low enough that a shared checklist and the vendor's own notifications keep files moving, a build costs more time than it saves. And if no one will own the access roles and escalation rules after go-live, wait until someone does before you build anything.
Frequently asked questions
Is SmartVault cheaper than Suralink?
Only SmartVault publishes a price, so you cannot yet say which costs less for your user count. Ask Suralink for a quote at the same number of users, then compare totals.
Does Suralink offer a free trial?
Suralink's pricing page does not mention a trial, so ask for trial terms in writing before you commit.
When does the SmartRequestAI price change?
The per-return rate rises from $12.50 to $15.00 on November 1, 2026, per the SmartVault pricing page.
Do SmartVault and Suralink connect to each other?
The pages we opened do not describe a direct connection between them. Suralink's documented integration is with Thomson Reuters' CoCounsel, which was reported on September 15, 2026.
Who owns SmartVault now?
The pages we opened do not name SmartVault's parent company, so ask SmartVault for its ownership in writing before you sign.
Can a Zapier build replace either vendor?
A Zapier build can automate a narrow workflow, but it does not replace a client portal or a document vault. You would also own the error handling, access controls and upkeep.
Making the call before November 1
Choose SmartVault if the question is where client files live and what each user costs. Choose Suralink if the question is how request lists and workpapers stay in step, and you are willing to get a quote first. Either way, get trial terms, ownership, data export and API access in writing, and check the SmartRequestAI rate before you buy document collection, since it changes on November 1, 2026. To see how a configured flow would be specified for either tool, see how US Tech Automations configures this.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.