Suralink Alternatives for Small Audit Firms: 6 Picks, 2027
The short answer: pick the tool by the audit step it replaces
Suralink is a client-request and workpaper layer, so its alternatives are not one kind of product. In this guide, a Suralink alternative is any product that covers some or all of the request, evidence and workpaper cycle that Suralink handles for client collaboration. For a small audit firm the choice falls into three groups: a full engagement platform that replaces the audit file (CaseWare, Fieldguide, Inflo, TeamMate+), an Excel evidence tool that works inside your existing schedules (DataSnipper), or an extraction service that turns client documents into rows a person can review (Lido).
If the pain is client request tracking and secure uploads, test Suralink's own add-ons before you switch. If you need one engagement file, shortlist CaseWare and Fieldguide and confirm methodology fit first. If the bottleneck is reading client documents, compare Lido and DataSnipper. Get written quotes from every vendor that publishes no prices.
Technology is already a top concern for firms. AICPA 2026 survey: tech adoption ranked first for 101–500 staff from 629 respondents, according to Journal of Accountancy (2026). That survey covers firms of every size, so it does not say which tool a small practice needs. The audit step that hurts most does.
Key Takeaways
Suralink publishes no prices. Its pricing page lists modules and asks for a quote, so budget from a written proposal.
Among the vendors we checked, only Lido publishes plan prices, so it is the only one you can budget from a public page today.
Full platforms such as CaseWare and Fieldguide solve more than request tracking, but neither public site we opened shows a price or a small-firm package.
DataSnipper and Lido are evidence tools, not request systems, so each still needs a client-collaboration layer.
The CaseWare Cloud page we opened was a UK-edition page, so ask for the US edition's templates and methodology before any demo.
The Thomson Reuters integration with Suralink is planned, not generally available, so do not buy on the strength of it.
Who this is for
This guide is for the owner or operations lead at a small accounting firm who has Suralink on the shortlist and must decide what to replace, add or keep. It assumes you run audit or assurance engagements and that client document requests still move through email, spreadsheets or a portal that does not feed your workpapers.
Red flags: a vendor will not give a written price range or plan list before a demo, the product cannot name an API or export route for your data, or its templates and methodology are built for a jurisdiction you do not audit in.
If you only need a request list and secure uploads, read the Suralink section first and compare it against Suralink's own add-ons before you look elsewhere.
How we evaluated these tools
Our shortlist started from the search intent and from vendors that publish audit-specific product pages. We checked each vendor's own site first, then independent sources where we could open them. We weighted six criteria for a small firm. The weights are our judgment, not a vendor or survey figure.
| Criterion | Weight (%) | What we looked for |
|---|---|---|
| Audit workflow coverage | 25 | Client requests, workpapers and tie-out in one place, so fewer hand-offs |
| Evidence and data import | 20 | Imports from QuickBooks or Xero and extraction from client PDFs, so less re-keying |
| Price transparency | 20 | A published price or plan list you can budget from before a sales call |
| Implementation effort | 15 | Setup a small team can own without a dedicated IT specialist |
| Integration and API access | 10 | A documented route to your ledger and workpaper system |
| Methodology and standards fit | 10 | Templates and methodology that match the standards you audit under |
We did not score the products numerically, because we did not run them. Each profile below states what the public pages show and what a buyer must confirm.
Independent research on small-firm adoption is thin. CPA.com's December 2025 Audit Transformation Survey describes firms that are only just starting to embrace modern audit methods, according to CPA.com (2025). The FRC makes a similar point about smaller firms relying on off-the-shelf tools, in its research summary.
Feature matrix: what the public pages show
Use this table as a demo checklist, not as proof. "Not stated" means we did not find the feature on the pages we opened, not that the product lacks it.
| Vendor | Client requests (PBC) | Workpapers | Document extraction | Imports QuickBooks or Xero | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Suralink | Yes (request lists) | Yes (Workpaper Suite add-on) | Yes (OCR in CORE) | Not stated | No |
| CaseWare | Partial (replies filed to the engagement) | Yes (cloud engagement file) | Not stated | Yes | No |
| Fieldguide | Not stated | Engagement steps run by agents | Not stated | Not stated | No |
| DataSnipper | No | Yes (inside Excel) | Yes (form extraction, document matching) | Not stated | No |
| Lido | No | No (exports to Excel or CSV) | Yes (any file type) | Not stated | Yes |
| Inflo | Yes (Digital Collaboration) | Yes (Working Papers) | Not stated | Not stated | No |
| TeamMate+ | Not stated | Yes (electronic workpapers) | Not stated | Not stated | No |
Suralink's CORE tier also covers rollforward request lists, SSO and a customizable user portal. The integration with Engagement Manager and CoCounsel described below is not a feature you can buy today.
What the price pages say
Only one vendor here publishes plan prices. Suralink, CaseWare, Fieldguide, DataSnipper and TeamMate+ are quote-based, and Inflo's platform page states no price or pricing model. Suralink's pricing page lists modules including CORE, Cloud Testing Suite, Financial Statement Tie Out and Workpaper Suite, and asks buyers to reach out for a plan.
Pricing checked October 25, 2026. Each row below is either a figure from the vendor's own page or a note that none is published.
| Vendor | Pricing model | Published price | Ask for in the quote |
|---|---|---|---|
| Suralink | Quote-based, modular | None published | Module list, add-on costs and API access terms |
| CaseWare | Quote-based | None published | Module list, user count and US template coverage |
| Fieldguide | Quote-based, sales-led | None published | Agent scope, data hosting and contract length |
| DataSnipper | Quote-based, tiered | None published | Which tier includes your features and how Excel licences are counted |
| Lido | Published per plan | $29 a month (Standard), $7,000 a year (Scale) | Whether API access is in your plan |
| Inflo | Not published | Not published | Module pricing and whether the core digital audit is free |
| TeamMate+ | Quote-based | None published | Seat count, module selection and internal-audit fit |
Lido is the only vendor here with published plan limits, which are below.
| Plan | Price | Page limit | Users |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free trial | No card needed | 50 pages | Not stated |
| Standard | $29 a month | 100 pages a month | 1 |
| Scale | $7,000 a year | 42,000 pages a year | Up to 10 |
| Enterprise | Quote-based | Custom | Custom |
Standard plan on Lido: $29 a month according to Lido. Scale is $7,000 a year with up to 10 users, and Enterprise is quote-based, according to Lido. The same page gives two different Enterprise starting points, so confirm the current figure before you budget.
Six alternatives, profile by profile
Each profile covers best fit, limitations, implementation and the evidence we could open. Suralink comes first because it is the baseline.
Suralink: the baseline to compare against
Best fit: a firm whose main pain is client request tracking, document collection and a reviewable audit trail, and that wants a collaboration layer in front of its workpapers. The CORE tier includes request lists, OCR and 50+ API endpoints, according to Suralink (undated).
Limitations: pricing is quote-based, and the modules (Cloud Testing Suite, Financial Statement Tie Out, Workpaper Suite, plus Secure File Sharing and E-Signature add-ons) make the total hard to estimate before a quote. We could not confirm a public API reference, so ask for API access in writing before you design around it. In September 2026, Thomson Reuters and Suralink announced a planned integration with CoCounsel Tax, Audit & Accounting and Engagement Manager, and the CPA Practice Advisor report gives no launch date.
Implementation: start with request lists and secure file sharing. Add Workpaper Suite only if your reviewers work in Excel, since its Excel add-in is the piece the product page emphasizes.
Evidence: CBIZ expansion: 1,700+ additional licenses according to Suralink (2025). That is a vendor-issued release, and we could not verify it independently.
CaseWare: one engagement file with a risk library
Best fit: a firm that wants one cloud engagement file with planning, roll-forward and analytics, and that is ready for a platform rollout. CaseWare's risk library: over 1,500 predefined risks according to CaseWare (undated). The same page says the platform imports from Excel, ERP systems, APIs, Xero, QuickBooks and CSV files.
Limitations: the page names Mercia or HAT methodologies and templates for limited companies, charities and academies. That was a UK-edition page, so a US firm should ask for the US edition's templates and methodology before buying. Pricing is available only through a demo request, with no published price.
Implementation: expect a platform migration of templates and client data. That makes the rollout longer than a request-list tool. Ask who builds and maintains your templates.
Fieldguide: agent-run engagement steps
Best fit: audit and advisory practices that want AI agents to run planning, auditing and review steps inside one platform. Its demo page describes Fieldguide's claimed 55% cut in engagement hours according to Fieldguide (vendor-stated). The same page routes buyers to a demo request rather than a price list.
Limitations: there is no public price list, and we found no free trial on the route we read. Firm-size fit is not stated. Fieldguide raised $75 million in February 2026 and says it works with half of the top 100 U.S. accounting firms, according to CPA Practice Advisor (2026). The firm-count claim is company-reported, and funding size does not tell you what a small practice would pay.
Implementation: a demo, then configuration. Ask for the agent scope and the human review points on each step before you sign.
DataSnipper: Excel evidence inside your schedules
Best fit: teams that already build audit schedules in Excel and need evidence tied to cells. DataSnipper's pricing page lists Start with document matching and form extraction, Accelerate with AI extractions and agents, and Elevate with Client Spaces, Audit Workbench and Review Workflow.
Limitations: none of the tiers we read is a request list, and Client Spaces, the nearest thing to a client portal, sits only in the top tier. Pricing is quote-based. We could not open the public review pages we found, so there is little independent feedback here. Run a pilot on one closed engagement before you commit.
Implementation: it is an Excel add-in, so confirm your staff's Excel setup and how licences are counted in the quote.
Lido: document extraction with a published price
Best fit: firms that need client PDFs and statements turned into rows a reviewer can check, with a price they can read before a sales call. Lido's pricing page says Standard converts any file type with Excel and CSV export, and it offers a free trial of 50 pages.
Limitations: Lido is not a request list or a workpaper system. Standard covers one user, so a team needs Scale or Enterprise. Confirm in writing which plan includes API access, because the pricing page places API and workflow access on Scale.
Implementation: upload and review happen in the web app. Automation needs an API key and a plan that includes API access.
Inflo: one platform for working papers and analytics
Best fit: firms that want working papers, audit data analytics, digital collaboration and quality management in one platform. Inflo's platform page lists those four solutions and describes "assistive AI" as a capability.
Limitations: the platform page states no pricing or pricing model, and Inflo's pricing URL returned not-found when we checked. A third-party listing gives a US figure we could not confirm on Inflo's site, so this guide does not use it. Ask for module-by-module pricing and whether the core digital audit is free to use.
Implementation: it is demo-led. Ask for a sandbox on one closed engagement and for references from firms of your size.
TeamMate+: internal audit and GRC
Best fit: internal audit and GRC teams that need risk-based planning, electronic workpapers, dashboards and AI-assisted drafting. ERP Research describes the scope as covering the full audit lifecycle.
Limitations: ERP Research describes the product as internal audit and GRC software, so a small external practice may pay for scope it does not use. Pricing is quote-based. The page says that "Wolters Kluwer does not publish a price list for TeamMate+" and lists no free trial, according to ERP Research (undated). Wolters Kluwer's own pages blocked our check, so the scope details here rest on a third-party page.
Implementation: sales-led. Seat count and module selection drive the quote.
Choose or skip each vendor
| Vendor | Choose it if | Skip it if |
|---|---|---|
| Suralink | Client requests and secure uploads are the main pain | You need an engagement file with methodology templates |
| CaseWare | You want one cloud engagement file and your methodology fits | The edition you are quoted does not cover the standards you audit under, or you need a published price. |
| Fieldguide | You want agent-run engagement steps and can accept a demo-led sale | You need a published price before any sales call |
| DataSnipper | Your team works in Excel and needs traceable evidence links | You need a client portal on a lower tier |
| Lido | You need client documents turned into reviewable rows with a published price | You need a request list or workpapers |
| Inflo | You want one platform with working papers and analytics, and will ask for module pricing | You need a published price before talking to sales |
| TeamMate+ | You run internal audit or GRC work | You run a small external practice and want simple pricing |
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: a custom workflow adds moving parts, so skip it when a simpler product already covers the job. Suralink's own CORE tier and file-sharing add-on may cover a request list without any integration project. A full methodology file is better bought from CaseWare or Fieldguide than assembled from a workflow layer on top of a point tool. If you run only a handful of audits a year, a shared checklist in tools you already pay for may be enough.
Where a configured workflow fits
US Tech Automations can scope a proposed, configurable workflow between the tools above. It is a design to review with your team, not a live deployment or a measured result.
The first handoff is client intake. The trigger is a client upload to a request item in your collaboration tool. The workflow pulls the file and its request metadata through an export or API route you have confirmed, sends the document to an extraction service, and writes the rows to a review sheet for the engagement senior. The output is a list of matched, unmatched and low-confidence rows. Prerequisites are a documented API or export route from the collaboration tool, an extraction plan that includes API access, and a named owner for the review sheet. The human review point is simple: the senior approves every unmatched row before any request status changes.
The second handoff is the tie-out. The trigger is a reviewer marking an extraction complete. The workflow compares extracted totals with the trial balance pulled from QuickBooks Online through the firm's own OAuth connection, grouped by account. Each mismatch goes to an exception queue with the engagement lead as owner, and the output is a reconciliation note in the engagement file. Prerequisites are read access to the general ledger, a sample of past engagements for a test run, and a tolerance the firm agrees in advance. A senior signs off on every exception, and the firm, not the workflow, sets the tolerance.
A worked example with real plan limits
Take an illustrative firm with 40 audit engagements a year, 25 provided-by-client items per engagement, and an average of 2 follow-up messages per item at 6 minutes each. That is 1,000 items, 2,000 follow-ups and 12,000 minutes, or 200 hours of chasing a year. Suppose each client upload averages 3 pages, so the 1,000 items produce 3,000 pages a year. Lido's Standard plan allows 100 pages a month, or 1,200 pages a year, so it falls 1,800 pages short, while Scale allows 42,000 pages a year. If an intake workflow cut follow-ups in half, the firm would recover 100 hours of chasing a year, but that is an assumption to test against your own records, not a measured result. A configured step that posts each upload to sheets.lido.app/api/v1/ for extraction would only work if your plan includes API access.
The DIY route in Zapier, Make or n8n
Zapier, Make and n8n can run flows like the two above, and when configured they keep run histories, retries and error branches. What you still own is the design: idempotency so a re-sent upload does not post twice, escalation when a reviewer is away, access controls on client files, and upkeep when either API changes. A proposed US Tech Automations design would specify those pieces up front, including the exception queue, duplicate checks and reviewer log. It would still leave credentials, sign-off and retention decisions with your firm.
Decision checklist
Name the audit step that hurts most: request tracking, evidence extraction or the engagement file.
Get a written price or plan list from each shortlisted vendor, and label any vendor that gives none.
Check the methodology and templates against the standards you audit under.
Confirm in writing that your data can leave the tool by API or export, and which plan includes it.
Name the person who owns exceptions and the person who signs off.
Run one closed engagement through the tool before you commit.
Common mistakes
Buying a full platform to solve a request-list problem.
Reading "Not stated" as "not available" instead of asking in the demo.
Budgeting from a third-party price listing when the vendor's own page shows none.
Assuming an announced integration is live. The Thomson Reuters and Suralink work is planned.
Skipping the pilot, so OCR errors or template gaps show up after you sign.
Frequently asked questions
Does Suralink publish its prices?
No. Its pricing page lists modules and asks buyers to reach out for a plan, so you need a written quote to compare costs.
Which Suralink alternative publishes prices?
Lido does, on a per-plan basis, and it is the only vendor in this guide with public plan figures. The plan table above has the details.
Can a small firm use CaseWare for US audits?
Yes, CaseWare is widely used by US audit firms and sells US-standards editions. The Cloud page we read was a UK-edition page, so ask for the US edition's templates and methodology in writing before a demo.
Can an extraction tool replace a request list?
No. On the pages we read, neither Lido nor DataSnipper tracks client requests, so pair either one with a collaboration layer.
Is the Thomson Reuters integration with Suralink available now?
Not on the evidence we found. The September 2026 announcement describes the integration as planned, and the article gives no launch date.
Next step
Start with the audit step that hurts most, then get written quotes from the two or three vendors that fit it. If you want to see how a proposed workflow would sit between those tools, see how US Tech Automations configures this and bring your own list of prerequisites.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.