Skip to content
AI & Automation

TenantCloud vs Innago for Landlords: Which Fits in 2027

Nov 2, 2026

Short answer: who pays decides it, and TenantCloud has a new owner

For a small landlord, this choice mostly comes down to who pays for the software and for each rent payment. Innago's core platform is free to the landlord, with no monthly fee, no setup fee and no contract, according to ipropertymanagement (2026). TenantCloud is a paid platform with no free plan, so its monthly plan price is the first line of your budget. Both platforms charge tenants for some payment types, and that difference shapes both your monthly cost and your tenants' experience.

The bigger change is ownership. TurboTenant has acquired TenantCloud, and the deal was reported in August 2026 with financial terms undisclosed. TurboTenant says it serves more than 1 million landlords according to ColoradoBiz (August 21, 2026).

TurboTenant's renter FAQ says renters will pay rent on TurboTenant, that autopay carries over without action, and that TenantCloud becomes "view-only" for historical records, according to TurboTenant Support (2026). The same FAQ says landlords are also moving from TenantCloud to TurboTenant. The pages reviewed for this guide give no cutover date, so get the migration timeline and a full data export in writing before you commit to either platform.

TL;DR: Choose Innago if a free subscription matters most and you can accept tenants carrying the default payment fees. Choose TenantCloud if you want its published tiers and can confirm the TurboTenant migration before you sign.

Key Takeaways

  • Innago's core platform costs landlords nothing, and tenants carry its payment fees by default.

  • TenantCloud has no free plan, and its tenant-paid ACH fee falls as the plan rises.

  • TurboTenant's acquisition of TenantCloud means the platform you pick may migrate, so ask for the timeline in writing.

  • Innago's help center names the record types its QuickBooks sync covers, while TenantCloud's sync is limited to US users.

  • Neither platform's API appears on the pages reviewed, so confirm export or API access before you plan any automation.

  • Third-party listings disagree on both vendors' prices, so check the vendor page on the day you buy.

How we evaluated these two tools

This is an informed buyer's guide built from public vendor pages, vendor help centers, two independent reviews and trade press coverage of the acquisition. It does not rank either product overall, and it is not based on hands-on use. Landlord software is a hosted platform for listings, applications, rent collection, maintenance requests and bookkeeping. The seven criteria below match the decisions a small owner actually makes, and the weights are our judgment rather than a vendor-published score.

CriterionWeightWhy it carries this weight
Landlord subscription cost25%Sets the fixed monthly budget before any tenant fees
Tenant-paid payment fees15%Decides whether tenants push back and whether you absorb costs
Accounting and QuickBooks sync20%Drives bookkeeping time and reconciliation work
Screening, applications and leasing10%Affects how fast a unit fills and what applicants pay
Maintenance intake10%Affects how quickly repair requests reach a vendor
Ownership and continuity15%Now a live factor for TenantCloud after the acquisition
Support responsiveness5%Weighted low because public evidence is thin and mostly anecdotal

Cost and fee exposure carry 40% of the weight together, which matches the first question most owners ask. Accounting and ownership carry 35% combined, because they decide how much work and risk follow the subscription. Support carries the least weight because the public evidence on it is thin.

What each option costs, and who pays it

Pricing checked October 29, 2026. TenantCloud's pricing page shows four plans. Its Starter monthly price reads $18 in the main pricing section but $25 elsewhere on the same page, so confirm it before you buy. Innago's pricing page shows its figures as an image, so this section relies on its help center for fees and on the independent review for its free status.

VendorPlanMonthly list priceAnnual priceTenant-paid ACH fee per paymentLease allowance
TenantCloudStarter$18$15 a month ($180 a year)$1.9510
TenantCloudGrowth$35$29.17 a month ($350 a year)$1.7530
TenantCloudPro$60$50 a month ($600 a year)$1.5060
TenantCloudBusinessFrom $100Quote-basedQuote-basedCustom
InnagoCore platformFreeFree$2Not stated

Growth plan on TenantCloud: $350 a year, billed annually according to TenantCloud (checked October 29, 2026). The same page lists a 14-day trial on all four plans, unlimited properties and units on every tier, and recurring maintenance request caps of 100, 200 and 500 on the first three plans. It shows full tenant screenings as included but paid by the applicant.

ACH fee on Innago: $2 per payment, tenant-paid by default according to Innago Help Center (undated). The same page charges 2.99% on credit and debit cards and says a landlord can choose to absorb those fees. TenantCloud's tenant-paid ACH fee is the per-plan amount in the table, and its pricing page does not state a card fee.

Here is a worked example, which is illustrative and not a benchmark. Take a landlord with 20 units who collects every rent by ACH, which is 20 × 12 = 240 payments a year. On TenantCloud's Growth plan, the landlord pays $350 a year for software, and tenants pay $1.75 × 240 = $420 a year in ACH fees. On Innago, the landlord pays $0 for software, and tenants pay $2 × 240 = $480 a year by default; if the landlord absorbs that fee, the landlord's cost is $480 while the subscription stays at $0. The example assumes no card payments, because Innago's 2.99% card fee and TenantCloud's unpublished card fee would change the math. When these invoices reach QuickBooks Online, the field to check is Invoice.DueDate, the invoice's due date in the QuickBooks Online API, so a reconciliation rule can compare due dates against posted payments.

Feature matrix: where the platforms differ

FeatureTenantCloudInnago
Landlord subscriptionPaid plans, no free planFree core platform
Units and leasesUnlimited properties and units; 10, 30 and 60 leases on Starter, Growth and ProNot stated on pages reviewed
Tenant ACH fee$1.95, $1.75 or $1.50 per payment on Starter, Growth or Pro$2 per payment, tenant-paid by default
Card feeNot stated on pricing page2.99% on credit and debit cards
Tenant screeningIncluded on all plans, paid by the applicant$30 to $35 paid by the tenant for criminal, credit and eviction reports
QuickBooks Online syncAvailable to US users onlyProperties, units, leases, invoices, payments and expenses
Maintenance intakeUnlimited online maintenance requests on all plansTenant portal with photo and video upload and work orders
Listing syndicationAdvanced syndication sold as an add-onAdvertising to listing sites, not automatic
Lease generationListed in the lease row of the pricing tableeSignatures and customizable templates
API accessNot mentioned on pricing pageNot mentioned on pages reviewed
OwnershipTurboTenant acquisition announced in 2026No acquisition found in public sources reviewed

A "not stated" cell means the pages reviewed did not say, not that the feature is missing. The two gaps that matter most are TenantCloud's card fee and API access for both platforms, and both should go to the vendor in writing.

Accounting and QuickBooks sync

Accounting is where the two platforms look most different on paper. Innago's help center describes a QuickBooks integration that syncs properties, units, leases, invoices, payments and expenses, according to Innago Help Center (undated). The same page says electronic payments sync only after they are disbursed to your bank account, and that the free QuickBooks version allows a maximum of 40 classes and sub-classes. TenantCloud's QuickBooks Online sync is available to US users only, according to TenantCloud Support (May 20, 2026). That page offers a manual mode, which you start by choosing dates, and a real-time mode, and it says the sync is one-way.

A proposed US Tech Automations reconciliation workflow would start when a rent payment record appears in the platform, match it to the open invoice in QuickBooks Online, and send any mismatch to a review queue. For Innago, the trigger should wait for disbursement, because a payment that has not yet reached the bank will not appear in QuickBooks and would otherwise look like a missing payment. The output is a daily exception list that separates unmatched payments, tenant-paid fees and fees the landlord absorbed. The prerequisites are a payments and invoices export or API access from the platform, which the pages reviewed do not state for either vendor, QuickBooks Online access with a home currency that matches the transactions, and one named owner for the queue. The review points stay with people: a bookkeeper approves every reversal or write-off, and the owner decides whether to absorb any fee.

Screening, leasing and maintenance intake

Screening is where the tenant-paid model is most visible. Tenant screening on Innago: $30 to $35 paid by tenants according to ipropertymanagement (2026), which also lists $10 for income verification. TenantCloud's pricing page says full screenings are included on every plan and marked as paid by the applicant, so an applicant pays on either platform. For a landlord whose vacancies move fast, that cost is a tenant-experience question, not just a software question.

The two platforms also package leasing differently. TenantCloud's lease limits by tier appear in the pricing table above, and the independent TenantCloud review says lease generation is free on Pro and Business and carries extra cost on Starter and Growth, per the review. Innago's independent review lists eSignatures and customizable lease templates, and says Innago's maintenance portal takes photo and video uploads and feeds work orders to repair staff.

A proposed US Tech Automations maintenance flow would start when a tenant submits a request with photos through the platform's tenant portal. It would classify urgency using rules the owner writes, such as no heat or active water leak counts as an emergency, send the request to the matching vendor on the owner's list, and create a work-order ticket with unit, category and attachments. The prerequisites are a new-request export, webhook or API access, which neither pricing page states, and a vendor list the owner keeps current. The review points are an owner approval for any emergency dispatch, an approval for any repair above a spending limit the owner sets, and staff confirmation before any message tells a tenant that a visit is booked.

Vendor profiles: TenantCloud and Innago

TenantCloud

  • Best fit: a landlord who will pay a monthly plan for published tiers, wants lease and maintenance caps spelled out, and can wait out the migration to TurboTenant.

  • Limitations: there is no free plan, the platform is changing hands and renters and landlords are moving to TurboTenant, the QuickBooks sync is limited to US users, and the card fee is not on the pricing page. The independent review also says add-on costs are not always disclosed at signup.

  • Implementation: before you sign, get the migration timeline and a full data export in writing. Choose the plan by its lease and maintenance caps, pick manual or real-time sync, and test the sync against one month of payments before trusting the books.

  • Primary evidence: TenantCloud pricing, TenantCloud QuickBooks help, TurboTenant renter FAQ, ColoradoBiz report on the acquisition.

Innago

  • Best fit: a landlord who wants no software subscription and whose tenants will pay the default ACH and card fees, or whom the landlord will absorb.

  • Limitations: tenant-paid fees by default, which the independent review warns could cause renter dissatisfaction. The same review says advanced accounting features may be limited and quotes a user who finds customer service almost impossible to reach. No acquisition of Innago appeared in the public sources reviewed. If DoorLoop is also on your list, our Innago versus DoorLoop comparison covers that pair.

  • Implementation: confirm the free terms in writing, decide in advance whether you will absorb the ACH fee, and turn on the QuickBooks sync. Check that disbursement timing matches your bank deposits before you rely on the synced books.

  • Primary evidence: Innago fee terms, Innago QuickBooks overview, independent Innago review.

Who this is for

Innago is for a landlord who needs a free core platform and accepts that tenants carry payment fees by default.
Red flags: you expect tenants to resist those fees and will not absorb them, you need accounting depth beyond the record types its QuickBooks help page lists, or you need phone support you can count on.

TenantCloud is for a landlord who will pay a monthly plan for published tiers and can wait out the TurboTenant migration.
Red flags: you need your records to stay exactly where they are without a migration, you need a QuickBooks setup outside the US sync, or your software budget cannot carry a monthly plan.

DecisionPoints toward TenantCloudPoints toward Innago
Software budgetPaid plans, starting at $18 a monthFree core platform
Published limits by tierYes, for leases and maintenance requestsNot stated on pages reviewed
QuickBooks record typesSync available to US usersProperties, units, leases, invoices, payments and expenses
Ownership certaintyPending TurboTenant migrationNo acquisition found in public sources reviewed
Who pays the ACH feeTenant, $1.95 to $1.50 by planTenant by default at $2, or landlord absorbs

Decision checklist

  1. Write down your monthly software budget. If it must be zero, Innago is the only one of the two that fits.

  2. Decide who pays the ACH and card fees, and whether you will absorb them.

  3. Ask TenantCloud or TurboTenant for the migration timeline and a full data export, in writing.

  4. Check whether you need QuickBooks sync for invoices, payments and expenses, and whether your books are US-based.

  5. Ask both vendors for export or API access before you plan any automation.

  6. Use a trial period where one is offered, and reconcile one month of payments against your bank before you rely on either platform.

Glossary

  • ACH: an electronic bank transfer from the tenant's account to the landlord's.

  • Tenant-paid fee: a per-payment charge that the tenant pays by default.

  • Absorbed fee: a tenant payment fee that the landlord chooses to cover.

  • Syndication: pushing a listing out to outside rental websites.

  • Sync mode: how transactions move into QuickBooks, either manually by date range or continuously.

  • Reconciliation: matching payments in the platform to deposits and invoices in your books.

  • View-only: read-only access to old records after a platform migration.

Build it yourself or buy it configured

The real alternative for many owners is a stack of Zapier, Make or n8n flows. Those tools can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit logs when they are configured that way, so they are a serious option. The buyer still designs and owns the parts that break first: idempotency so a payment is not posted twice, escalation when a step fails, access controls on tenant and bank data, and upkeep when either platform changes its export or API.

A proposed US Tech Automations design could configure the same pieces differently, with a named owner for each exception queue, retry and error branches written into the flow, and an audit log of every match or hold. It would carry the same prerequisites as above, including export or API access, QuickBooks access and a vendor list. Its review points would stay with people: a bookkeeper approves reversals, the owner approves spending and emergency dispatch, and no tenant-facing message goes out without a staff check.

When a simpler tool is the right call

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip it if your only need is collecting rent and sending a lease, because the platform's own ACH and eSignature flows already cover that. Skip it if the platform gives you no export or API path and you will not build one, because a flow has nothing to read without a data source. Skip it if you want one vendor to own screening, accounting and listings with no custom logic, since a single subscription handles that without configuration. A small portfolio with a free platform may also be fine with the platform's own reports and a spreadsheet.

Frequently asked questions

Is TenantCloud still an independent company?

No, TurboTenant announced in August 2026 that it has acquired TenantCloud, and the financial terms were not disclosed.

Does Innago cost landlords anything?

Innago's core platform is free to landlords, and its payment fees go to tenants unless the landlord chooses to absorb them.

Which platform syncs better with QuickBooks?

On the help pages reviewed, Innago is more specific about what syncs, while TenantCloud's sync is limited to US users.

Do TenantCloud renters need to do anything after the TurboTenant change?

Renters should not create a new TurboTenant account until they receive the setup email, and autopay continues without action, according to the TurboTenant FAQ.

Can landlords absorb tenant fees on either platform?

Yes on Innago, where the help page lets a landlord cover the ACH and card fees, but the pages reviewed do not say whether TenantCloud lets landlords absorb its payment fee.

Is there an API for automation?

Neither pricing page reviewed mentions API access, so ask both vendors in writing before you plan an automation.

Making the call

Pick Innago if the subscription must be zero and you can live with tenant-paid fees. Pick TenantCloud if you need published tiers and can get the TurboTenant migration timeline in writing. Before you sign with either, ask for the payment-fee terms, the export path and the migration plan, and see how our automation team configures this if you want the bookkeeping and exception handling designed rather than assembled.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.