TheraNest vs Jane App for Therapy Practices in 2027
TheraNest vs Jane App: both are practice systems, so billing and seat cost decide it
TheraNest vs Jane App is a choice between two practice-management systems for therapy practices, and both run scheduling, clinical notes and payments in one place. Practice-management software for behavioral health keeps the calendar, session notes, client records and billing in one system, so the real decision is how deep insurance billing needs to go and what each added clinician costs.
TL;DR: choose by billing depth and seat cost. Jane's add-on model suits multidisciplinary clinics that can accept a separate billing add-on, while TheraNest's top tier bundles billing automation for mental-health-only practices.
Check the name and owner before you compare features. TheraNest now sits under Ensora Health. Ensora's news page says the company formerly called Therapy Brands announced its new name, Ensora Health, on April 7, 2025, according to Ensora Health (2025). The TheraNest pricing address redirects to Ensora's mental-health product page, and Ensora's own pages still present TheraNest as a product name. This guide could not confirm a product-level rename. Some third-party listings call the product "Ensora Mental Health (formerly TheraNest)," but no vendor page with that wording turned up in this research, so treat it as unverified. Jane's current ownership was not confirmed in the pages reviewed here, so check Jane's company pages before you sign.
Key Takeaways
Both products cover scheduling, notes and payments, so insurance billing depth and per-clinician cost decide the choice.
Jane's entry plan covers one practitioner profile with a capped appointment count, so it works as a starter plan rather than a growing-caseload plan.
Jane's insurance billing is an add-on on its two higher plans, and one review says it needs a separate Claim.MD subscription.
TheraNest prices each therapist across three plans, puts insurance billing automation in its top tier, and offers a trial of that tier.
Jane's developer documentation is partner-gated, and no public TheraNest API documentation turned up in this research, so ask about exports before committing.
Multi-clinician setups should get a written quote, because Jane's larger-clinic pricing is quote-based and TheraNest lists custom group pricing.
How we evaluated these tools
This guide weights seven criteria by how much each one changes the monthly bill or the daily workload of a small therapy practice. Vendor prices come only from the vendors' own pricing pages, and review and directory sites supply the reputation and complaint signals. Where sources disagree, the vendor page is the baseline and the disagreement is reported rather than averaged.
| Criterion | Weight | What the reader checks |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly cost at your headcount | 20% | Plan price for 1 clinician and for 3, plus add-ons |
| Insurance billing and claims | 20% | Whether claims are included, metered, or need a second subscription |
| Scheduling and client booking | 15% | Online booking, appointment caps and calendar sync |
| Telehealth and group sessions | 10% | Whether telehealth is included or priced per clinician |
| Notes and templates | 10% | Intake forms, note templates and AI note options |
| Support and reliability evidence | 15% | Review scores and recurring complaints on sites opened for this guide |
| HIPAA contract and vendor stability | 10% | Business associate agreement availability and ownership clarity |
Cost and billing carry the most weight because that is where the published terms differ most. Jane charges a plan base plus per-practitioner licenses on its higher tiers, while TheraNest prices each therapist on a three-plan ladder, so both have to be converted to a monthly bill for the same headcount before they can be compared.
Software Finder rates Jane 4.8 out of 5 from 517 reviews according to Software Finder (2026). Support praise was the most common theme among the reviews shown on that page, and pricing plus reporting and billing depth were the recurring complaints, which is why reliability carries 15% of the score. Review coverage for TheraNest was thinner. The Capterra and Software Advice pages returned errors during this research, so TheraNest's reputation signal is weaker and should be tested directly in a trial.
The HIPAA line carries 10% for a specific reason. HHS guidance from October 2016 allows a cloud service to store protected health information only under a HIPAA-compliant business associate agreement, according to Hunton (2016). Ask both vendors for a signed agreement before any client data moves, and ask whether any automation layer added later needs one too.
Feature matrix: what each plan includes
The table separates published plan contents from the reading that follows. Treat it as a checklist to confirm, not a ranking.
| Capability | Jane App | TheraNest |
|---|---|---|
| Entry plan | Balance: one practitioner profile, capped at 20 appointments a month | Essentials: scheduling, secure client portal, calendar sync, basic intake and notes |
| Insurance billing | Add-on, available only on Practice and Thrive | Included in Premier as insurance billing automation |
| Claims allowance | Not stated on the pricing page reviewed | Advanced includes free claims per practice each month; Essentials has no claims processing |
| Telehealth | Group Telehealth is an add-on per opted-in practitioner | Add-on on Essentials; included on Advanced and Premier |
| Online booking | Unlimited appointments on Practice and Thrive | Online booking and secure messaging from Advanced |
| Client portal | Not stated on the pricing page reviewed | Included on Essentials |
| AI notes | AI Scribe add-on per opted-in practitioner, with a few free notes to try | Ensai Session Assistant, a paid add-on |
| Free trial | None; Jane says it has no free trial | 21-day trial of Premier with no card required |
| Larger teams | Quote-based at 10 or more licenses | Custom group pricing |
Analysis: the most consequential gap is insurance billing. Jane offers it as an add-on on Practice and Thrive, while TheraNest bundles billing automation into Premier. Neither public page shows claim-level accuracy, and only a trial using your own payer mix can show that.
Pricing and total monthly cost
Balance is capped at one practitioner profile and 20 appointments a month, while Jane's Balance, Practice and Thrive plans cost $59, $79 and $99 per month according to Jane (2026). Jane has no free trial, and its Insurance Billing add-on sits only on the two higher plans.
On TheraNest, Essentials adds telehealth as a $12 per therapist add-on, Advanced includes 50 free claims per practice each month, and Premier adds insurance billing automation with a 21-day trial that needs no card, while TheraNest's plans cost $29, $59 and $89 per therapist per month according to Ensora Health (2026).
The table puts both vendors on one scale, with each row showing the published price and the rule that drives the bill.
| Vendor | Plan | Monthly list price | Practitioner rule | Billing rule |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jane App | Balance | $59 | 1 practitioner profile and 20 appointments a month | Not offered on this plan |
| Jane App | Practice | $79 | 1 full-time practitioner included; per-license fee not shown on the page | $20 Insurance Billing add-on per month |
| Jane App | Thrive | $99 | 1 full-time practitioner included; per-license fee not shown on the page | $20 Insurance Billing add-on per month |
| Jane App | 10 or more licenses | Quote-based | 10 or more licenses | Quote-based |
| TheraNest | Essentials | $29 per therapist | 1 therapist per seat | Not included; no claims processing |
| TheraNest | Advanced | $59 per therapist | 1 therapist per seat | 50 free claims per practice each month |
| TheraNest | Premier | $89 per therapist | 1 therapist per seat | Insurance billing automation; claims unlimited within fair use |
| TheraNest | Custom group pricing | Quote-based | 2 or more therapists | Quote-based |
Pricing checked October 18, 2026. Vendor figures come from the two pricing pages cited above, and cells marked quote-based have no public price.
CostBench lists TheraNest as custom-priced and an annual AMA CPT license fee of $19.50 per therapist, according to CostBench (2026). That conflicts with the public per-therapist rates above, so start from the vendor page and get any group or multi-site quote in writing, line by line.
Take an illustrative solo clinician who bills insurance and wants occasional group sessions. On Jane, the Practice plan costs $79 per month, the Insurance Billing add-on adds $20 per month plus $5 per additional full-time practitioner, and Group Telehealth adds $15 per opted-in practitioner, according to Jane (2026). The math is $79 plus $20, or $99 a month and $1,188 a year, and $99 plus $15, or $114 a month and $1,368 a year. That total still excludes the separate Claim.MD subscription that a ChoosingTherapy reviewer says insurance billing requires, because its price did not appear on the pages reviewed. Jane's developer documentation, which describes partner-authenticated endpoints, lists booking_type on appointment records to separate one-on-one, group and class bookings, so any team building its own sync has to plan for that field. TheraNest's Premier plan, priced in the table above, includes insurance billing automation and unlimited telehealth, so it is the closer comparison for this scenario, though the buyer should confirm that Premier's claims terms match their volume.
Insurance billing: where the two tools diverge
Insurance billing is where the two products differ most. On Jane, billing sits behind an add-on that applies only to the Practice and Thrive plans, and a ChoosingTherapy reviewer says it needs a separate Claim.MD subscription. On TheraNest, Advanced includes a monthly allowance of free claims per practice, and Premier moves to insurance billing automation with claims unlimited within fair use. Essentials has no claims processing, so a practice that bills insurance should not start there.
Analysis: price the claims allowance before the seat license. An allowance that runs out mid-month becomes a hidden cost, and the sources reviewed list billing depth among the recurring complaints on Jane, so the billing setup deserves the longest trial.
A proposed US Tech Automations workflow for the Jane side would be configurable, not live. The trigger is a one-on-one session marked complete in the scheduler, identified by booking_type. The action assembles the payer, session date and service code into a claim-prep record and flags missing co-insurance fields. The output is a review queue for the billing lead, not an automatic submission. Prerequisites are API or export access that Jane's partner process would have to approve, a destination claims service such as a Claim.MD account, and a business associate agreement covering the automation layer. The human review points are the billing lead approving each claim before it leaves the practice and a weekly review of rejected claims.
Jane App: best fit, limits and implementation
Jane suits a solo clinician who wants a scheduling-first system that can grow into more practitioners, or a multidisciplinary clinic that wants one system across disciplines. ChoosingTherapy says Jane suits solo practices through larger multidisciplinary clinics, and its reviewer gives the product ChoosingTherapy scores Jane 4.5 out of 5 according to ChoosingTherapy (2025).
The limits are clear. Balance is the wrong plan for anyone who needs more than one practitioner profile or a higher appointment cap, and it has no insurance add-on. The same ChoosingTherapy review lists limited treatment plans, a secure messaging feature still in beta and no free trial among its cons, and it calls Jane pricier than some solo-focused platforms.
For implementation, plan a configuration period before go-live that covers templates, the calendar, staff profiles and billing. Jane's developer documentation lists appointment and webhook endpoints but describes them as authenticated for partners, so a self-built integration depends on Jane approving access rather than on a self-serve key. Ask Jane whether the plan you choose includes the reports and exports you need.
Analysis: Jane fits better when scheduling and templates matter more than a built-in billing engine. The strongest praise in the reviewed sources concerns form and template customization, and the recurring complaints concern billing and reporting depth.
TheraNest: best fit, limits and implementation
TheraNest suits a mental-health-only practice that wants a per-therapist plan ladder, a client portal and a trial of its top tier before paying. Ensora's pages describe the product as built for behavioral health from the start, so the fit is clear. The decision turns on whether Premier's billing automation justifies the top tier.
The limits are mostly about evidence and pricing scope. The review pages reachable for this guide were few, so the trial should test support response and billing setup directly. Software Finder says TheraNest offers custom pricing for group practices, according to Software Finder (2026), which means a multi-clinician site should not assume the public ladder is the final price. Advanced's claims allowance is a per-practice monthly limit, so rising claim volume is the cost to model.
A proposed US Tech Automations workflow for the TheraNest side would start from a scheduled export rather than an API, because no public TheraNest API documentation turned up in this research. The trigger is a weekly export of completed sessions. The action matches each session to a client record and flags missing insurance details. The output is a reconciliation sheet for the office manager, not an automatic claim. Prerequisites are an export that the chosen plan includes, confirmed in writing, and a business associate agreement covering the automation step. The human review point is the office manager signing off on each reconciliation, with any mismatch returned to the clinician who wrote the note.
Confirm the claims allowance, telehealth tier and any credentialing terms in writing before signing.
Who this is for
Choose Jane App if you run a multidisciplinary clinic, value scheduling and template depth, and can accept an insurance billing add-on plus a separate claims subscription. Choose TheraNest if you run a mental-health-only practice, want billing automation inside the top tier, and want to trial that tier before paying.
Red flags: you need insurance billing on Jane's Balance plan, which has no billing add-on; you need more than Balance's single-profile limit; or you need a self-serve API before signing with either vendor.
| Scenario | Better fit | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Solo clinician, self-pay clients only | Either entry plan | Neither a billing add-on nor a claims allowance is needed |
| Multidisciplinary clinic, scheduling first | Jane App | Scheduling depth and templates are its strongest reviewed points |
| Mental-health-only practice, insurance billing | TheraNest Premier | Billing automation sits inside the top tier |
| Insurance-heavy, claims above a monthly allowance | Model both before choosing | Advanced's allowance can run out mid-month |
| Need a self-serve API on day one | Neither, confirmed in writing | Jane's docs are partner-gated and no public TheraNest API documentation turned up |
If Jane's pricing does not fit your practice, compare the Jane alternatives for therapy practices first.
Decision checklist
Confirm in writing which plan includes the billing you need.
Price each clinician on the plan you would actually buy, not the cheapest one.
Get the claims allowance, or unlimited-claims terms, for your expected monthly volume.
Request a signed business associate agreement before any client data moves.
Test scheduling, intake and telehealth with one real clinician during the trial.
Ask whether any export or API is included, and what it costs.
Common mistakes
Comparing the entry plan's sticker price while ignoring the add-on or tier that actually bills insurance.
Assuming both vendors offer a free trial. Jane says it has none, and TheraNest's trial is on Premier.
Treating third-party prices as current. Review and directory sites disagree with each other and with the vendor pages.
Forgetting that an automation layer added later may need its own business associate agreement.
Build it yourself with Zapier, Make or n8n?
Zapier, Make and n8n can connect a scheduler to a claims destination, and when configured they can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit logs. The buyer still owns the design and upkeep: idempotency so a retried event does not create a duplicate claim, escalation paths for failures, access controls for protected data, and maintenance whenever either vendor changes a field. A proposed US Tech Automations design could configure run history, a retry policy and a named human escalation step differently, but it would need the same export or API access and business associate agreement prerequisites described above.
Where a simpler setup wins
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: a simpler built-in setup wins if your clients are all self-pay, if you have one clinician and no claims to submit, or if the plan you are buying will not provide export or API access. In those cases the reminders, notes and scheduling built into either product cover the need, and a custom layer adds upkeep without a clear return.
Frequently asked questions
Is TheraNest still sold under its own name?
Yes, the TheraNest pages checked for this guide still use the name, and Ensora Health now publishes it, though a product-level rename was not confirmed.
Does Jane App offer a free trial?
No, Jane's pricing page says it has no free trial, though its AI Scribe add-on includes a few free notes to try.
Which tool includes insurance billing automation?
TheraNest's Premier plan includes insurance billing automation, while Jane's insurance billing is an add-on on the Practice and Thrive plans.
Do either of these tools offer a public API?
Jane publishes developer documentation, but it describes partner-authenticated access, and no public TheraNest API documentation turned up in this research, so plan for exports unless the vendor confirms otherwise.
Do I need a business associate agreement with either vendor?
Yes, any vendor that stores client records for your practice needs a signed business associate agreement before client data moves.
Why do third-party prices for these tools disagree?
Directories and review sites show different figures and sometimes label TheraNest as custom-priced, so the vendor pricing pages are the baseline and group or multi-site pricing needs a written quote. If you are weighing TheraNest against other options, the TheraNest alternatives guide lays out the field, and the Jane vs SimplePractice comparison covers a third option.
Conclusion
Choose Jane App when scheduling depth and a multidisciplinary setup matter more than built-in billing, and accept a separate billing add-on and claims subscription. Choose TheraNest when the practice is mental-health-only and billing automation belongs in a top tier you can trial before paying. Either way, get the business associate agreement, the claims allowance and the export terms in writing before you sign, and see how US Tech Automations configures this for a proposed workflow on your own stack.
Sources: Ensora Health, Jane, Ensora Health, CostBench, ChoosingTherapy, Software Finder, Software Finder, Hunton
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.