Therapy Two Way Texting Software: 4 Steps to Choose in 2027
The short answer
Therapy two way texting software is a messaging layer that sends appointment reminders from a practice phone number and lets staff read and answer client replies in one thread, under a signed business associate agreement (BAA). For a small therapy business, three checks decide the shortlist: whether the vendor signs a BAA, whether two-way SMS is in the plan you would actually buy, and whether the price is published or quote-based.
TL;DR: Buy only after the vendor confirms in writing that it signs a BAA and that your plan includes two-way SMS. On the vendor pages we could open, Spruce Health is the only product that states two-way SMS, a signed BAA, and a published per-user price together. That makes it the strongest starting point for a solo or small practice, but not an automatic pick.
Key Takeaways
Two-way SMS and a signed BAA are the two gates. A product that fails either one is out for client messages, whatever its price.
Among the published per-seat prices we opened, Spruce's Basic plan is the lowest, but seat count, taxes, and surcharges decide the real bill.
SimplePractice publishes solo plan prices, but its pricing page does not say whether texting is in any plan, so treat texting as unconfirmed until it is in writing.
Curogram prices by quote, and the Emitrr pages we could open show no price, so budget both as open questions.
Carrier cost is the smallest line in the bill, and the worked example below shows it.
Texting consent is a separate legal check. The TCPA's healthcare-provider exemption has conditions, including texting only the number the patient gave.
Why text reminders still earn their place
The Cochrane review, which pooled eight randomised trials with 6,615 participants, reports Text reminders: 78.6% attendance versus 67.8% without according to Cochrane (trials to August 2012). The same review rates the evidence low to moderate and says the current evidence "remains insufficient to conclusively inform policy decisions," so treat a reminder feature as a process change to measure on your own calendar. The review measured reminders, not reply handling, so the case for a shared reply thread rests on workflow rather than on that trial evidence.
Who this is for
This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a small therapy practice who is close to choosing a texting product. It assumes you already run a calendar or EHR and want texts to fit into it rather than replace it.
Red flags: the vendor will not put a BAA in writing; the plan you would buy has no stated texting scope; clients would have to install an app or create an account before they can reply to you.
How we evaluated these tools
We weighted six criteria, shown below. The weights and minimum scores are our judgment for this buyer's guide, not vendor data. They put the most weight on the two items that decide whether client texts are allowed at all: the BAA and two-way SMS.
The reason the BAA is a gate is in the HIPAA rules. A covered entity may share protected health information with a business associate only when it obtains satisfactory assurance that the business associate will safeguard it, and that assurance must be documented in a written contract, according to Cornell Law School LII. A text that names a client and an appointment can itself be protected health information, so treat every texting vendor as a potential business associate until its paperwork says otherwise.
We opened each vendor's own pricing or product page, plus at least one independent source where one was readable. We did not run any of these products. Weave's pricing page says its plans are quote-based, but its texting scope is not on that page, so we left it out of the matrix. Klara redirects into a ModMed page that shows no price, so it is also left out.
| Criterion | Weight (%) | Minimum score to stay shortlisted (0-5) | Why it carries that weight | Evidence we looked for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Signed BAA | 25 | 5 | A missing BAA rules out client texts whatever else is true | BAA stated on the vendor's own page |
| Two-way SMS in the plan | 20 | 4 | Replies are the reason to buy over a one-way reminder tool | Plan-level texting statement |
| Calendar or EHR fit | 20 | 3 | Manual re-entry erases the time savings | Documented sync, export, or API |
| Price transparency | 15 | 3 | Seats and per-message fees drive total cost | Published price, or explicit quote-based status |
| Implementation control | 10 | 2 | Client accounts, number porting, and review steps change rollout effort | Vendor documentation on those steps |
| Independent corroboration | 10 | 2 | Vendor pages are written to sell | A second source beyond the vendor |
What the matrix does and does not show
| Vendor | Two-way SMS on own pages | BAA on own pages | Price on own pages | Client app or account |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SimplePractice | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, solo plans | Not stated |
| TherapyNotes | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified |
| Spruce Health | Yes | Yes | Yes, per user | Not stated by Spruce; a competitor says required |
| Curogram | Yes | HIPAA and SOC 2 cited; BAA not seen | By quote | Not stated |
| Emitrr | Yes, in vendor blog | Not stated | Not on pages opened | Not stated |
| OhMD | Yes, listed under Core | Yes, listed under Core | Yes, starting prices | Not stated |
"Not stated" means the page we opened did not say. It does not mean the feature is missing, and it is the first thing to ask about. TherapyNotes is in the table because it is a sold behavioral-health EHR, but the pages our session could read showed no texting scope or price, so every TherapyNotes cell is unverified.
What the prices show
Pricing checked October 18, 2026.
The Basic plan on Spruce costs Basic plan: $24 per user per month according to Spruce Health, with the Communicator plan at $49 per user per month and a one-time $19.50 fee to enable outbound SMS. CostBench lists the same two per-user prices, last verified October 10, 2026, which is the independent check we used. SimplePractice's solo plans are $49, $79, and $99 a month according to SimplePractice, and its group Plus tier lists per-practitioner pricing on the same page. OhMD's Core plan starts at $300 a month and its AI and Automation plan at $500, with calling usage billed separately, according to OhMD. Curogram lists its pricing as "By quote," and the Emitrr pricing page did not open in our session.
Spruce's page says prices exclude taxes and fees, and that pass-through taxes and telecom surcharges are added to invoices. Those lines are not in the list prices above, so ask for a sample invoice before you budget.
| Vendor | Plan | Monthly list price | One-time or per-message fee on page | Texting in plan |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SimplePractice | Starter | $49 | Not stated | Not stated |
| SimplePractice | Essential | $79 | Not stated | Not stated |
| SimplePractice | Plus | $99 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Spruce Health | Basic | $24 per user | $19.50 one-time SMS enable fee | Two-way SMS included |
| Spruce Health | Communicator | $49 per user | $19.50 one-time SMS enable fee | Included, plus call flows and AI transcription |
| OhMD | Core | $300 starting | Not listed | Two-way SMS and BAA listed |
| OhMD | AI and Automation | $500 starting | Calling billed separately | Adds routing and workflows; texting not itemized separately |
| Curogram | All plans | Quote-based | Not stated | Two-way SMS stated |
| Emitrr | Not on pages opened | Not published | Not stated | Two-way texting in vendor blog |
| TherapyNotes | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified |
Messaging carrier rates are $0.0083 per segment and $1.15 a month for a leased long-code number, according to Twilio. The table below assumes 40 reminders and 10 replies per clinician each month, one segment per message, one leased number, and no vendor markup. Spruce's Basic seats are priced at $24 per user.
| Scenario | Clinicians | Messages a month | Messaging cost (USD) | Number fee (USD) | Carrier total (USD) | Basic-plan seats (USD) | Seats as multiple of carrier total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Solo practice | 1 | 50 | 0.42 | 1.15 | 1.57 | 24 | about 15 times |
| Three clinicians | 3 | 150 | 1.25 | 1.15 | 2.40 | 72 | about 30 times |
| Six clinicians | 6 | 300 | 2.49 | 1.15 | 3.64 | 144 | about 40 times |
Worked example: take the three-clinician row. Forty reminders per clinician, times three clinicians, is 120 reminders, and 10 replies per clinician adds 30 replies, so the practice sends or receives 150 messages a month. At $0.0083 per segment, 150 one-segment messages cost $1.245, which rounds to $1.25. Adding one $1.15 number gives a carrier total of $2.40. On the Basic plan from Spruce, the same three clinicians would pay $24 per seat at Spruce Health, or $72 a month, about 30 times the carrier total. Check each message's num_segments value in Twilio's message resource documentation, because a message that splits into two segments bills for both, which changes the carrier line but not the seat line. The buyer's lesson is that the seat price and the texting scope set the bill, and the message rate is the smallest line.
Vendor profiles
SimplePractice
Best fit: a solo or group practice that already runs its calendar, notes, and billing in SimplePractice and wants reminders without a second system.
Limitations: the pricing page lists solo plans and a per-practitioner group tier, but it does not say whether text reminders or two-way texting are included in any plan. The FAQ question about reminder cost appeared without an answer in the text we could read.
Implementation: get the texting scope, per-message fees, and whether client replies arrive by SMS or through the client portal, all in writing. Request the BAA before any client data is entered.
Evidence: the pricing page cited above. No second source in our session confirmed its texting scope. For the practice-management side of this choice, see our Jane and SimplePractice comparison.
TherapyNotes
Best fit: a group that wants a behavioral-health EHR as its system of record and will treat texting as a separate question to verify.
Limitations: the pages our session could read showed the product title "Behavioral Health EHR/EMR" and no plan prices or texting detail, and its pricing and support pages returned errors. We therefore print no TherapyNotes price and cannot confirm its texting scope, per-message charges, or BAA language.
Implementation: request the texting price, the per-message charge, and the BAA in writing before you compare it with the others here.
Evidence: none readable in our session.
Spruce Health
Best fit: a solo or small practice that wants one business number for calls and texts, a published per-user price, and a signed BAA.
Limitations: prices are per user, so every clinician adds a seat. The page says prices exclude taxes and fees. The free trial excludes sending SMS. The product is a general medical communications bundle with phone, text, video, and fax, not a therapy-only tool.
Implementation: enabling outbound SMS takes a one-time fee. The Basic plan includes one line per user plus one additional line, and the page says existing numbers can be moved and the practice number stays the same. Spruce's page does not say whether clients must create an account to reply. A competitor's comparison says they must, so ask.
Evidence: the Spruce pricing page and the CostBench listing cited above. The Spruce page says every plan includes a signed BAA "if yours is an organization that requires one."
Curogram
Best fit: a practice whose EHR already holds the schedule and that wants a texting layer on top, with the sync limit accepted.
Limitations: Curogram's own comparison page says data syncs one way, from the EHR into Curogram, so confirmation status does not post back automatically. It lists pricing as "By quote" and names HIPAA and SOC 2 Type II rather than a BAA. That page is Curogram's own comparison and ranks Curogram first, so read its competitor claims as sales copy.
Implementation: expect an integration project. Ask for the BAA, the list of supported EHRs, and the security attestations in writing.
Evidence: the comparison page at curogram.com, which describes two-way SMS from the practice number and the one-way sync.
Emitrr
Best fit: a small business that wants texting and calling from one vendor, once a BAA is in writing.
Limitations: the pricing page did not open in our session, and the home page shows no price, so we print no Emitrr figure. Its vendor blog says Emitrr is "fully HIPAA compliant" and describes two-way texting from a shared inbox, but the blog does not mention a BAA.
Implementation: require a signed BAA before any client data reaches a trial account, then confirm number porting and the texting plan.
Evidence: vendor material only. No independent source in our session confirmed its pricing or BAA status.
OhMD
Best fit: a practice that wants published starting prices and an AI and automation tier, and can accept a higher monthly floor than the seat-based products here.
Limitations: the Core plan's $300 starting price is a floor, and calling usage sits on top of the AI and Automation plan. The pricing page lists two-way SMS and a BAA under the Core plan. A competitor's comparison lists OhMD as "By quote," which conflicts with the published figures, so ask which is current.
Implementation: confirm the texting scope and the BAA in writing, and ask how appointment data reaches the messaging.
Evidence: the pricing page cited above. No independent source in our session confirmed its feature list.
Who should choose which
| Buyer situation | Start with | Confirm before signing |
|---|---|---|
| Solo clinician who wants a business number with texts and a published per-user price | Spruce Health | Client account requirement, taxes and surcharges, and trial limits on SMS |
| Group already running SimplePractice | SimplePractice | Texting scope and per-message fees in writing |
| Practice that wants an EHR-linked texting layer and accepts one-way sync | Curogram | Write-back limits, the quote, and the BAA text |
| Practice that wants published tiers and can absorb a higher monthly floor | OhMD | Two-way SMS scope, calling charges, and the conflicting "By quote" listing |
| Practice that wants texting and calling from one vendor | Emitrr | Pricing and BAA status, neither of which we could confirm |
| Operator building custom flows | Zapier, Make, or n8n with a messaging API | Monitoring, consent records, and a BAA with the messaging provider |
| Any buyer who cannot get a BAA in writing | Nobody on this list yet | Hold until the BAA is in hand |
Where the reminder and reply work breaks
A proposed US Tech Automations design for reminders would start with a trigger: a new or changed appointment in the practice's calendar or EHR. It would only run if that system exposes appointment events or a nightly export, which we could not confirm for any product in this guide, so that connection is the first prerequisite. The action would check a consent flag on the client record, skip anyone without consent, fill an approved reminder template, and send it through an SMS provider that also signs a BAA. The output would be a log row for each message with its delivery status and segment count, so a reviewer can audit what went out.
For replies, the proposed design would route each inbound text into a staff queue with the client's appointment context, and it would hold any drafted reply for human approval before it sends. That is the approval step described on the US Tech Automations site for its sample support drafts. Two review points matter most. Any reply that mentions symptoms, medication, risk, or a crisis goes straight to a clinician with no draft, and opt-out keywords such as STOP are handled before anything else. Prerequisites are an inbound message webhook or export from the texting vendor and a named owner for the consent list. The site lists Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Sheets, HubSpot, QuickBooks, and Stripe as integrations, so a therapy EHR connection is something to confirm, not something to assume.
Build it yourself in Zapier, Make, or n8n
Stitching this together yourself is a real option, and it is the alternative most small practices should price first. Zapier, Make, and n8n can connect a calendar to a messaging API and, when configured, keep run histories, retries, error branches, and audit records. A capable builder can get a reminder flow running quickly.
The work does not disappear afterward. The buyer must design and own observability (who is alerted when a send fails), idempotency (so a retry does not text a client twice), escalation paths for clinical content, access controls on stored messages, and maintenance when an API changes. Those are the parts a managed build is supposed to cover, and they are the parts to ask about in any proposal.
The messaging layer itself is cheap compared with the labor. Outbound SMS: $0.0083 per segment according to Twilio, so the cost risk sits in the build and the review time, not in the carrier rate. If your EHR is different, our eClinicalWorks two-way SMS recipe is a worked setup example to compare against your own steps.
A proposed managed design could configure the same retry, error-branch, and approval steps, but get the prerequisites in writing first: the EHR export, the BAA with the SMS provider, and a named reviewer for each message type.
Four steps to choose
Get the BAA in writing before any client data enters a trial or demo account. Spruce's trial excludes sending SMS, so ask for a BAA you can read before any test, not after.
Confirm two-way SMS in the exact plan and seat count you would buy, and ask whether clients must create an account to reply.
Price seats and messages separately, using the scenario table above, then add taxes, surcharges, and one-time fees from the vendor's own invoice terms.
Keep intake forms out of the texting thread, and run a short pilot with the staff who will own replies. Our intake software guide for therapy practices covers that split.
Decision checklist before you sign
- A BAA in writing that names the texting product and where messages are hosted.
- Two-way SMS in the exact plan quoted, with the seat count written out.
- Number porting, and confirmation that the practice number stays the same.
- Whether clients must install an app or create an account to reply.
- Per-message fees, one-time fees, taxes, and surcharges, from a sample invoice.
- Consent capture and an opt-out keyword that staff can see.
- A named staff reviewer for every message type that could carry clinical content.
Questions buyers ask
Is two-way texting the same as appointment reminders?
No. A reminder is one-way, while two-way texting lets a client reply and lets staff answer in the same thread.
Do I need a BAA before the first text?
Yes, if the vendor handles client information for you. The HIPAA rule requires satisfactory assurance, documented in a written contract, before a business associate receives protected health information.
Does SimplePractice include text messaging?
Its public pricing page does not say, so ask for the texting scope in writing before you assume it is included.
How much does therapy texting software cost?
Spruce publishes per-user prices, OhMD publishes starting prices, and Curogram quotes by request. The figures are in the pricing table above, and the Emitrr and TherapyNotes figures were not readable in our session.
Can I build this in Zapier or Make instead?
Yes, but you then own the monitoring, retries, consent records, and access controls, which you must configure and maintain yourself.
Does a reminder text to a client need consent under the TCPA?
Get consent in writing, and check the exemption's conditions with counsel. A provider's exemption applies only to texts sent to the number the patient provided, and it limits what a provider may initiate, according to Cornell Law School LII.
Where a simpler tool wins
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: a solo clinician whose EHR already sends reminders and replies through its own texting add-on should use that add-on, because a custom workflow adds a vendor and a review step with no clear gain. A practice that wants one vendor to hold the BAA, the phone number, and the texting on a single bill should buy a bundled product such as the Basic plan from Spruce rather than assemble parts. A practice that cannot name a reviewer for each message type, or cannot keep a consent list current, should not build a managed flow until those owners exist.
Bottom line
For most small practices the decision is narrow. Confirm the BAA, confirm texting in the plan you would buy, then compare seats against messages. On the pages we could read, Spruce Health offers the clearest published path. SimplePractice or OhMD fit if you need their broader platforms and can get the texting scope in writing. If you want reminders and replies configured around your own calendar and review rules, see how US Tech Automations configures this, and ask for the prerequisites in writing before you sign anything.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.