Upper vs Samsara 2026: Route Planner or Telematics Suite
Upper vs Samsara: route planner or telematics suite?
These two products solve different halves of a fleet's day, and the search "upper vs samsara" tends to hide that. Upper is a route planning and delivery dispatch product that runs on drivers' phones. Samsara is a fleet telematics platform built on vehicle hardware, with routing and dispatch as one module next to ELD compliance, cameras and diagnostics. Route optimization software sequences stops, time windows and driver workload before the day starts. Fleet telematics records what vehicles and drivers actually did once the day is under way.
TL;DR: Choose Upper if your problem is building and dispatching multi-stop delivery or service routes without installing hardware. Choose Samsara if your problem is compliance, driver safety, cameras or vehicle diagnostics. Run both if you have those two problems at once, and budget for the integration work, because the two do not connect natively.
Naming check. Neither name appears to have been retired or merged. According to Upper, the current self-serve plans are Starter, Professional, Optimize and Enterprise, with separate Upper Crew and Upper Solo logins, and the page mentions no earlier plan names. Samsara's pricing page groups routing under "Routing & Dispatch" inside its Fleet Telematics lineup, alongside ELD compliance and dash cams. If you are comparing against an older review that uses different plan names for Upper, treat its prices as stale.
Market context. Route optimization software market: $7.6 billion in 2025 according to NextBillion.ai (2026), which attributes the figure to Future Market Insights. Other publishers use different baselines, so read it as a sense of scale rather than a precise count. The point for a buyer is that routing is a distinct software category with its own vendors, and telematics platforms are one of several ways to get it.
If you are weighing telematics vendors against each other first, our Geotab vs Samsara comparison and the Samsara vs Verizon Connect logistics comparison cover that side. For the routing side, the best route optimization software for logistics roundup lists the wider field.
Key Takeaways
Upper is a route planner and dispatch app; Samsara is a telematics platform with routing as one module. They overlap on live tracking and little else.
Upper's own comparison page says it offers no ELD or hours-of-service tools, no dash cams and no vehicle diagnostics. If you need any of those, Upper alone is disqualified.
Samsara publishes no price, so your cost comparison starts with a written quote covering hardware, term length and add-ons. Upper publishes four plan prices and lets you cancel anytime.
The pages I read do not describe time-window and capacity-constrained optimization in Samsara. Bring your real stop list to the sales conversation and watch the output.
The two products have no native integration, according to Upper's own page, so mid-sized fleets that need both should price the bridge between them as part of total cost.
Brokerages without their own trucks should treat both as carrier-side tools. Your decision is usually about how you receive carrier location data, not which of these to buy.
Who this is for
This guide is for an operations lead at a trucking carrier, a shipper running a private fleet, or a brokerage that has been asked to evaluate fleet tooling. It assumes you are past the "do we need software" stage and are choosing between a route planner and a telematics platform.
Choose to read the Upper sections closely if: dispatchers build routes in spreadsheets, drivers run many stops a day, and missed delivery windows are the recurring complaint.
Choose to read the Samsara sections closely if: hours-of-service compliance, camera evidence, driver safety scoring or maintenance diagnostics drive your spend.
Read the integration sections if: you already own one and are deciding whether to buy the other.
Red flags: (1) You need ELD logging but are shortlisting Upper alone. (2) You need a fixed per-vehicle budget before any sales call and are shortlisting Samsara, which publishes no price. (3) You are a brokerage with no vehicles of your own and expect either product to track carriers' trucks.
How we evaluated these tools
This is an informed buyer's guide built from public pages: each vendor's pricing page, Upper's published comparison page, Samsara's developer documentation and independent trade press. No product was run for this article, and nothing here is a measured result. The weights below are our analysis of what an operations lead decides on. Re-weight them for your own operation before you score anything.
| Criterion | Weight | Scale | Why it carries this weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Core job fit (route planning vs telematics) | 25% | 1 to 5 | Buying the wrong category is the costliest mistake and cannot be fixed with configuration |
| Compliance and safety coverage | 20% | 1 to 5 | ELD, cameras and diagnostics are either present or you need a second vendor |
| Cost and contract terms | 20% | 1 to 5 | Per-user, per-vehicle, hardware and term length produce very different totals |
| Integration and API access | 15% | 1 to 5 | Routes only pay off if orders flow in and status flows back to your TMS or customers |
| Implementation effort and hardware | 10% | 1 to 5 | Phone-based rollouts and device installs have different timelines |
| Driver and customer experience | 10% | 1 to 5 | Proof of delivery, notifications and driver app quality decide adoption |
Facts from vendor pages are labelled as such. Where Upper's comparison page characterizes Samsara, that is a competitor's claim and should be verified with Samsara directly. Independent evidence on either product's routing quality was thin in the sources I could open, so I do not rank them on routing performance.
What each product covers: a normalized feature matrix
The matrix lists what the public pages state. "Not stated" means the pages I opened did not say, which is different from "no."
| Capability | Upper | Samsara |
|---|---|---|
| Multi-stop route optimization | Yes, from the Starter plan | Routing and dispatch module listed; optimization depth not described on pages opened |
| Time windows and stop duration | Yes, from the Starter plan | Stops accept scheduled arrival and departure times and appointment windows in the Routes API |
| Driver app and proof of delivery | Yes: e-signature, notes, photos (3 to 10 depending on plan) | Stop tasks via documents and forms; driver app details not stated |
| Live tracking | Phone GPS, from the Professional plan | Vehicle gateway hardware |
| ELD and hours-of-service | No, per Upper's comparison page | ELD Compliance listed on pricing page |
| AI dash cams | No, per Upper's comparison page | Listed under Cameras and Video |
| API and webhooks | Enterprise plan only | Routes API plus route webhooks, which the docs label Beta |
| Hardware required | No | Yes, vehicle devices |
| Free trial | 7 days, no credit card | Not stated on pricing page |
| Native link to the other product | None, per Upper's page | None stated |
Two reading notes. First, Upper's pricing page is internally inconsistent in places: the Enterprise stop cap appears as 3,000+ on one card and 1,500+ in the comparison table, and the trial's scope is described two ways. Get plan limits confirmed in writing. Second, the Samsara routing documentation describes routes as a set of addresses and stops carrying scheduled times, with a sequencingMethod setting of either scheduledArrivalTime or manual. That is how a routing API receives a plan; it does not tell you whether the product builds an optimized plan under capacity and time-window constraints. Ask Samsara to run your own stop list and judge the output.
Pricing and total cost
Pricing checked October 8, 2026. Upper's yearly price range: $40 to $71 per user monthly according to Upper (2026), with monthly billing about 25% higher on the self-serve plans. Samsara's pricing page asks how many vehicles or assets you have, from 1-5 up to 5,000+, and publishes no dollar amounts. I have not estimated a Samsara price, and third-party estimates are unreliable for a quote-based product.
| Vendor | Plan | Yearly billing, per user per month | Monthly billing, per user per month | Stops per route | Driver profiles |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Upper | Starter | $40 | $50 | 250 | 10 |
| Upper | Professional | $48 | $60 | 500 | 15 |
| Upper | Optimize | $71 | $89 | 1,500 | 30 |
| Upper | Enterprise | Quote-based | Quote-based | 1,500+ (card says 3,000+) | Unlimited |
| Samsara | Fleet telematics with routing and dispatch | Quote-based | Quote-based | Not published | Not published |
Upper also lists add-ons: customer notifications from $0.01 per text, live tracking for customers at $20 per driver, capacity optimization at $25 per driver and barcode scanning at $50 per company. Upper's page says there are no contracts, setup fees or cancellation fees. Because billing is per user, confirm whether dispatcher seats count in addition to driver seats.
Upper's comparison page applies the yearly prices to common team sizes. The multiplication is simple, and I checked it:
| Drivers | Starter (yearly billing) | Professional (yearly billing) | Optimize (yearly billing) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 | $200 | $240 | $355 |
| 10 | $400 | $480 | $710 |
| 15 | $600 | $720 | $1,065 |
| 20 | $800 | $960 | $1,420 |
For Samsara, total cost has no public number to multiply. The quote will depend on fleet size and chosen features, and the buyer should ask in writing about per-vehicle hardware, contract length, early termination terms, renewal pricing and which add-ons are separate lines. Those are generic questions for any hardware-plus-subscription purchase, not claims about Samsara's terms. Upper's comparison page asserts specific Samsara contract terms but attributes them to reviews it does not show, so I treat them as unverified.
A worked example: 15 drivers, 180 stops
This is an illustration, not a customer result. A regional carrier runs 15 drivers at 12 stops each, so 180 stops a day. Suppose dispatchers field a check call on 10% of stops, which is 18 calls, and each takes 6 minutes, so 108 minutes a day, or 39.6 hours across 22 working days. If proactive arrival messages triggered from the nested data.routeStopDetails.eta field in the RouteStopArrival webhook payload from Samsara cut half of those calls, that returns 19.8 hours a month. At an assumed loaded labor cost of $32 per hour, that is $633.60 a month. Meanwhile 15 drivers on the Professional plan on Upper cost $48 each, or $720 a month on annual billing, so the check-call saving alone covers about 88% of the licence. The routing gains, meaning fewer miles and more completed stops per driver, would have to cover the remaining $86.40 and then some. Swap in your own call volume, call length and labor rate before trusting any of it.
| Input | Value | Result |
|---|---|---|
| Stops per day (15 drivers x 12) | 180 | 180 |
| Check calls (10% of stops x 6 minutes) | 18 calls | 108 minutes a day |
| Monthly hours (108 minutes x 22 days) | 39.6 hours | 39.6 |
| Hours saved at 50% fewer calls | 19.8 hours | 19.8 |
| Value at an assumed $32 per hour | 19.8 x $32 | $633.60 |
| Professional plan, 15 users at $48 | 15 x $48 | $720 |
Vendor profiles
Upper
Best fit. Delivery and service fleets that plan multi-stop routes every day, want to retire spreadsheets, and prefer a phone-based rollout with no devices to install. Upper's own comparison page recommends itself for teams of roughly 1 to 15 drivers wanting no hardware or contracts, which is a vendor's view but matches the product's shape. Trade press agrees on positioning: PC Tech Magazine places Upper seventh in its 2026 list of route optimization vendors and credits it with multi-stop routing and a usable driver app, according to PC Tech Magazine (2026). That list is editorial and promotional, so use it as a pointer, not a ranking.
Limitations. By Upper's own account it has no ELD or hours-of-service tooling, no AI dash cams, no driver safety scoring and no vehicle diagnostics. Its "Driver Hours Tracking" feature on the Optimize plan is not an ELD. Tracking depends on drivers' phones. API access and webhooks sit on the Enterprise plan, which matters if you want to connect orders in and status out. The pricing page inconsistencies noted above need written confirmation.
Implementation. Starter includes CSV and Excel import and bulk address import, which is the fastest path from a spreadsheet. A 7-day trial requires no credit card. Plan the first week around importing a real day of stops and comparing the output with what your best dispatcher would have built.
Primary evidence. Upper's pricing page and Upper's own Samsara comparison. The second is vendor-authored, so read its Samsara descriptions as claims.
Samsara
Best fit. Carriers and private fleets whose spend is driven by compliance, safety and vehicle data: ELD, dash cams and diagnostics, with routing and dispatch in the same system. Upper's comparison page points larger fleets toward Samsara, which is again a competitor's view. Samsara's pricing page itself lists Routing & Dispatch, ELD Compliance and AI dash cams in one lineup.
Limitations. No published price, so budgeting waits on a quote. Vehicle devices mean install logistics. The documentation I read describes routes as loads made of stops, addresses and scheduled times; it does not describe capacity-constrained optimization, and I could not confirm that either way. Route event webhooks are labelled Beta in the docs: the schema page for RouteStopArrival is titled "[Beta] RouteStopArrival Event Schema," according to Samsara (2026). Beta labels matter if you intend to build customer-facing messages on top of them.
Implementation. Per Samsara's routing guide, you create Addresses first, then a Route that references them, then Stops with scheduled times and notes, then assign the route to a driver or vehicle or leave it unassigned for a driver to claim. Route start and completion conditions are configurable through routeStartingCondition and routeCompletionCondition. Progress can be polled from an audit-log feed or received by webhook.
Primary evidence. Samsara's pricing page, according to Samsara (2026), asks for fleet size from 1-5 vehicles to 5,000+ and shows no plan tiers or dollar amounts, and the routing guide linked above documents the API objects.
Where telematics projects stall, and why it matters for this choice
Telematics is common but not always satisfying. Small-fleet telematics use: 32% in 2024 according to Trucking Dive (2026), citing a Penske report that found a little more than half of carriers overall using it. That adoption gap suggests many small operators are still deciding whether hardware pays back. Satisfaction among adopters is also uneven. Telematics adopters fully satisfied: 45% according to AJOT (2026), reporting Escalent's 2025 research and pointing to a lack of broader data integration as a driver of the gap.
These are fleet-wide telematics numbers, not statistics about Samsara or Upper, so do not read them as product ratings. The useful lesson is narrower: the data a platform collects is only worth what the rest of your operation can do with it. A route plan that never reaches the driver's app, or an arrival event that never reaches the customer, is the same gap whichever vendor you pick.
The gap between the plan and the execution
Upper's page says the two products have no native integration. Here is a proposed, configurable workflow from US Tech Automations for fleets that run both. The trigger is a dispatcher finalizing the day's plan in Upper and exporting the stop list as CSV, or, on Upper's Enterprise plan, which lists API and webhooks, a plan-ready event. The automation would validate each address and driver against your roster, then call Samsara's route-creation endpoint to create one route per driver with at least two stops, writing your order number into externalIds so a rerun updates the route instead of duplicating it. The output is a set of routes in the Samsara driver app and an exceptions list of unmatched drivers or failed address matches. A dispatcher reviews and approves that list before anything is released. Prerequisites are a consistent export or Enterprise API access on Upper, a Samsara API token scoped to routes and addresses, and a driver ID mapping between the two systems.
A second proposed workflow handles execution. The trigger is a stop-arrival or early/late-arrival webhook from Samsara. The automation would compare actual arrival with the scheduled time and window, and when a stop runs later than a tolerance you set, it would write a note to your TMS or ticketing system and draft a customer message that includes the live sharing URL from the payload. The human review point is that a dispatcher approves customer-facing messages for named key accounts, while routine updates go out on their own. The output is a timestamped exception log. Prerequisites are a webhook endpoint you control, verification of the X-Samsara-Signature header, and acceptance that the route event schemas are Beta. This is a design to scope, not a deployment, and I am not claiming any measured result. For the alerting side of Samsara, our guide to automating GPS fleet alerts from Samsara into ServiceTitan and Slack covers a related pattern, and automating route optimization software for logistics covers the planning end.
DIY alternatives. Many teams will reach for Zapier, Make or n8n, or build in-house, and that is a reasonable choice. Those tools can keep run histories, retries and error branches when configured well. What you take on is designing and owning the rest: idempotency so a retried run does not create a second route, escalation when a step fails at 6 a.m., access controls on API tokens, and maintenance when either vendor changes a field. A US Tech Automations design would configure those pieces up front: de-duplication keyed on externalIds, a named escalation owner per failure type, role-scoped credentials and a reconciliation report comparing planned stops with created stops. The prerequisites are the same as above, and a person still owns the exception queue. If your team has an engineer who will own that for years, the DIY route is cheaper in licences.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations. Skip it if a single dispatcher uses one of these products alone and nothing needs to move between systems, since Upper's own CSV import and Zapier support, or Samsara's built-in alerts, will do the job. Skip it if no one can own the exceptions queue, because an automation that raises flags nobody reads adds noise. And skip it if your plan data is not exportable in a stable format, since the first problem to solve is the export, not the orchestration.
Who should pick which
| Situation | Better starting point | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Spreadsheet routing, many daily stops, no compliance gap | Upper | Plans and dispatches routes from phones, no hardware, cancel anytime |
| ELD, dash cams or diagnostics are required | Samsara | Upper does not cover these by its own account |
| Both routing and compliance needs, mid-sized fleet | Both, with a bridge | Price the integration as part of total cost |
| Private fleet of a shipper, routes change daily | Upper first, telematics later | Planning pain is usually more immediate than data pain |
| Brokerage with no trucks | Neither as a core tool | Your need is carrier data intake; see the routing roundup for vendor-side options |
| Need fixed pricing before any vendor call | Upper | Samsara quotes only |
Decision checklist and common mistakes
Before you sign anything, work through this checklist:
Do your drivers need an ELD, or can you rule it out? If it is required, Upper cannot be the sole platform.
Do you need camera or safety evidence? If yes, shortlist telematics vendors first.
Have you run a real day of stops, including your worst-traffic day, through each planner?
Do you have written quotes covering hardware, term length, renewal and add-ons?
Does your plan require API access? On Upper that points to Enterprise, which is quote-based.
Who owns the bridge between the two systems, and who reviews its exceptions?
Have you confirmed seat counts, including dispatchers, on per-user pricing?
Common mistakes to avoid:
Comparing a route planner with a telematics suite on price alone. One bills per user, the other is quote-based and hardware-linked; the totals measure different things.
Treating a vendor's comparison page as neutral. Upper's page describes Samsara in terms that favor Upper, and Samsara's own materials would do the reverse.
Assuming a Beta webhook is production-grade for customer messaging. Build a human review step until the schema is stable.
Skipping the unglamorous mapping work. Driver IDs, address records and order numbers must line up across systems before any automation can be trusted.
FAQ
Is Upper a replacement for Samsara?
No, because Upper says it does not provide ELD, dash cams, driver safety scoring or vehicle diagnostics, so it replaces Samsara only if your need is route planning and dispatch alone.
Does Samsara publish its pricing?
No, Samsara's pricing page publishes no dollar amounts and asks for your fleet size, so a written quote is the only reliable source.
How much does Upper cost?
Upper's self-serve plans cost $40, $48 and $71 per user per month on yearly billing and $50, $60 and $89 on monthly billing, with Enterprise quote-based, as listed on Upper's pricing page.
Can Upper and Samsara be used together?
Yes, but without a native integration, per Upper's comparison page, you would connect them through exports or APIs, and Upper's API and webhooks are on the Enterprise plan.
Do I need an ELD to choose Samsara over Upper?
Not necessarily, but if your drivers must keep records of duty status under FMCSA hours-of-service rules, you need an ELD from some vendor, and Upper does not provide one.
What does US Tech Automations do in this comparison?
It is a proposed orchestration layer that would pass routes and events between a planner and a telematics platform, with a dispatcher approving exceptions, rather than a replacement for either product.
Conclusion
The decision is simpler than the search suggests. If dispatchers are drowning in manual route building, Upper addresses that directly and costs a published $40 to $71 per user per month on yearly billing. If compliance, safety and vehicle data are the constraint, Samsara belongs on the shortlist and the first task is a written quote. Most mid-sized operations end up needing both, and the integration and the exception handling between them is where the real effort and cost sit. To see how that bridge could be scoped for your stack, see how US Tech Automations configures this.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.