Skip to content
AI & Automation

Vagaro Alternatives for Solo Injectors: 3 Steps for 2027

Oct 27, 2026

Key Takeaways

  • The category decision comes first. A solo injector leaving Vagaro is choosing between an aesthetics-specific system that bills per user and a general booking tool, so charting and patient-data terms should be settled before the seat price is compared.

  • Aesthetic Record's per-user seat price is the lowest published figure in this set, but its one-time onboarding fee changes the year-one total.

  • Mangomint and Boulevard bill per location, so a one-injector practice pays for the room before it pays for the person. Boulevard's entry tier is the clearer choice if you expect to add bookable providers.

  • Fresha's Independent plan is the simplest published price for one team member, but its marketplace commission on new clients is an extra cost beyond the seat.

  • Pabau and PatientNow publish no monthly price, so a written quote is the only way to compare them with the published tools.

  • Get a business associate agreement signed before any patient record moves. The HIPAA Privacy Rule text at 45 CFR 164.502 allows disclosure to a business associate only with satisfactory assurance that it will safeguard the information.

TL;DR: For one injector who values charting, Aesthetic Record is the closest published fit. Mangomint and Boulevard make more sense if you expect to add providers and accept per-location billing. Fresha works only if you accept the marketplace commission and confirm charting separately. Pabau and PatientNow need a quote before they can be compared.

A Vagaro alternative for a solo injector is a booking, client-record and payments platform that one practitioner can run in place of Vagaro, judged on what one seat costs, whether it stores clinical records, and whether the vendor will sign a business associate agreement.

Who this is for

This guide is for the owner or operations lead of a practice with one injector who is close to replacing Vagaro and wants a direct answer on cost and fit. It also helps a practice that expects to add providers and needs to know which platforms bill per location and which bill per person. It is not written for multi-site medical groups that need enterprise contracts, or for salons that sell only hair and nail services, where a general booking tool may be enough.

Demand is the reason the choice matters now. Cosmetic surgical procedure growth: 7% in 2025 according to American Med Spa Association (2025 data), summarizing the American Society of Plastic Surgeons' 2025 procedural statistics.

Red flags: nobody on your staff will review exceptions or failed reminders; your current platform cannot export clients, appointments and balances; or you plan to switch before the vendor has confirmed in writing whether it will sign a business associate agreement.

How we evaluated these tools

This is an informed buyer's guide built from public information: vendor pricing pages, the HIPAA text, and an industry association's summary of plastic surgery data. We did not run trials of any product. We weighted six criteria for a one-injector buyer. The weights are our judgment, not an industry standard, and the table shows what each criterion checks.

CriterionWeightWhat we checked
Published price you can verify20%Whether the pricing page shows a monthly figure for a single seat or location
Fit for one injector20%Whether a single-seat or single-provider option exists, and what the billing unit is
Aesthetic charting and consent15%Whether procedure charting, photos or memberships appear on the pricing page
Patient-data terms15%Whether the vendor addresses a business associate agreement
Fee exposure beyond the seat15%Card rates, marketplace commissions, add-ons and onboarding fees
Migration and onboarding15%Whether data transfer, onboarding or export support is stated on the page

Patient-data terms are the weakest-evidenced row. The pricing pages we read do not describe business associate agreements, so treat that criterion as a question to put to each vendor in writing. Vagaro is included as the baseline, not as an alternative. We dropped Square Appointments from the profiled set because the pricing text we could read did not show plan prices.

What each platform costs for one injector

Pricing checked October 25, 2026. Every figure below comes from the vendor's own pricing page. Where a page shows no monthly figure, the cell says Quote-based. Some third-party listings disagree with these pages, so the vendor pages control.

VendorPlanPublished priceMonthly, one injectorYear one, before add-ons
Vagaro (baseline)One bookable calendar$23.99 (an exclusive rate for the first 6 months) or $30 per month, with $10 per extra calendar up to seven, according to Vagaro$23.99 to $30$323.94 to $360
Aesthetic RecordEssentials$15 per user per month plus a one-time $399 onboarding fee, according to Aesthetic Record$15$579
PabauSeat-band plansQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-based
MangomintOne location, one user$120 per location and $10 per user, according to Mangomint$130$1,560
PatientNowStandardQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-based
BoulevardEssentials, one location$143 per month for one location, according to Boulevard$143$1,716
FreshaIndependent, one team member$19.95 per month for one team member, according to Fresha$19.95$239.40

Vagaro's pricing page shows two monthly figures, and the table gives both: $23.99 applies for the first six months and $30 per month after that, so the year-one range is $323.94 to $360. Aesthetic Record's Accelerator tier is the other published seat price in this set. Accelerator seat price: $19 per user monthly according to Aesthetic Record (2026 pricing page).

Here is a worked example for one practice. Take a solo injector at one location who books 40 paid appointments a month at an average of $250 each, so $10,000 of monthly revenue passes through the booking tool. Using the table, the Essentials plan on Aesthetic Record comes to $180 a year in seats plus $399 onboarding, or $579 in year one. Mangomint comes to $1,560 a year before its marketing add-on, and Boulevard's Essentials tier comes to $1,716. The Independent plan on Fresha is cheapest on paper at $239.40 a year in seats. Card fees are not counted for any vendor in these totals, because Vagaro, Aesthetic Record, Mangomint and Boulevard also charge them, so compare each vendor's published card rate before choosing. The extra cost unique to Fresha is its 20% one-time commission on new marketplace clients. A self-built reminder workflow sits outside every table: Square's Bookings API documentation describes the booking.created event, which fires when a booking is created, and any workflow that listens for it needs an endpoint, retry handling and a named owner for failed deliveries.

Six alternatives, profiled

Aesthetic Record

Best fit: a one-injector practice that wants procedure charting, photo management, memberships and online booking in one aesthetics system. The pricing page lists those features on its base tier, and AR Pay is an extra-cost item. Limitations: the per-user seat price is only part of the cost because the onboarding fee is separate, and two-way texting, KPI dashboards and an eFax inbox sit on the higher tier. Implementation: the page describes guided onboarding with training and live audit calls, so ask how much staff time the audit needs before you sign. Primary evidence: Aesthetic Record pricing page.

Pabau

Best fit: a practice that wants clinical and marketing tools in one suite and will accept a quote built on seat bands. Pabau's pricing page groups plans by user count, from a solo band up to an enterprise band, and says pricing depends on location and the number of users. Limitations: no monthly figure appears on the page, and the optional add-ons (Marketing Plus, Care Plus, Insights Plus and Engage Plus) show no price. Engage Plus messages and AI call minutes run on credits billed as you go. Its FAQ says there are no per-patient fees on any tier. Implementation: ask for a written quote that lists every add-on you plan to use before comparing it with anything else. Primary evidence: Pabau pricing page.

Mangomint

Best fit: a one-location practice that wants no contracts, free onboarding and free data transfer. The page names the product Mangomint Salon and Spa Software, so confirm that charting, consents and injection mapping meet your needs before buying. Limitations: add-ons change the total, and the page's calculator example does not say what configuration it reflects. The add-ons are a phone line at $70 per month, marketing from $30 per month, and payroll at $50 per month plus $8 per worker, according to Mangomint. Implementation: the page advertises free data transfer but does not say how long migration takes, so ask for a dated plan. Primary evidence: Mangomint pricing page.

PatientNow

Best fit: a multi-provider aesthetic practice or med spa that wants a sales-led setup built around its size, locations and feature set. The pricing page names three tiers, Standard, Amplify and Catalyst AI, and says each is built from a quote. Limitations: you cannot compare cost from public figures, and the page says only that Amplify and Catalyst AI advertise higher user capacity than Standard. Implementation: expect a discovery conversation before the first number appears. Primary evidence: PatientNow pricing page.

Boulevard

Best fit: a practice that expects to add bookable providers at one location, since its entry tier is priced per location rather than per person. Limitations: the higher tiers show limited-time fall offers for new customers, the page gives no start or end dates, and add-ons for forms, QuickBooks and ePrescribe are priced separately. Enterprise is quote-based. Implementation: the page describes an Onboarding Specialist and says what data migration can import depends on your previous system, so ask in writing what can be imported from Vagaro. Primary evidence: Boulevard pricing page.

Fresha

Best fit: one practitioner who wants a simple published price for one bookable team member and accepts a marketplace. The Independent plan is built for one bookable team member, and the Team plan is priced per team member. Limitations: online card payments cost 2.79% plus $0.20, and new marketplace clients carry a 20% one-time commission with a $6 minimum, according to Fresha. The pricing page does not list charting, so confirm that separately. Implementation: the FAQ mentions importing key information such as client details and product inventory, so ask for a full migration path before you commit. Primary evidence: Fresha pricing page.

Side-by-side feature matrix

Each cell states only what the vendor's pricing page shows. "Not stated" means the page did not say, not that the feature is missing.

VendorPublished monthly figureBilling unitSingle-seat optionTrialCharting on pricing pageMarketplace or new-client fee
VagaroYesPer bookable calendarYes, one calendarTrial offeredNot statedNot stated
Aesthetic RecordYesPer userYes, per userTrial offeredProcedure charting listedNot stated
PabauNoSeat bands by user countSolo bandNot statedNot statedNot stated
MangomintYesPer location plus per userNot stated as a planFree trial accountNot statedNot applicable
PatientNowNoQuoteNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
BoulevardYesPer locationYes, one locationNot statedNot statedNot stated
FreshaYesPer team memberYes, one team member7-day trialNot stated20% commission on new marketplace clients

Choose by buyer type

VendorChoose it ifSkip it if
Aesthetic RecordYou want procedure charting, photos and memberships in one aesthetics systemYou need only a cheap booking calendar with no clinical features
PabauYou want one suite and will take a written quote that lists every add-onYou need a published monthly figure before any sales conversation
MangomintYou have one location and want no contracts and free data transferClinical features such as charting and consents are not confirmed in writing
PatientNowYou want a sales-led setup with tiers built from a quoteYou want to compare costs on your own before talking to sales
BoulevardYou expect to add bookable providers at one locationThe monthly fee is too high for one injector who will not add providers
FreshaYou want the simplest published price and accept marketplace commissionYou will not pay commission on new marketplace clients or need charting confirmed

Boulevard's entry tier is the clearest case for room to grow. Essentials tier: up to 5 bookable providers at one location according to Boulevard (2026 pricing page).

Three steps to switch from Vagaro

  1. Match the billing unit to your real setup. Vagaro bills per bookable calendar, Mangomint per location plus per user, Boulevard per location, and Fresha per team member. Count the people who hold a calendar or a login, not everyone who works in the room.

  2. Get the business associate agreement and an export test in writing. Ask whether the vendor will sign a business associate agreement before patient data moves, then export a sample of clients, appointments and balances from your current platform to confirm the fields you need survive the move.

  3. Run both calendars in parallel until reminders, holds and balances agree, then cut over. Keep Vagaro active until the new platform matches it on the cases you care about most, such as cancellations and deposits.

Step two has a configurable helper. US Tech Automations could set up the export check as a reviewable workflow rather than a one-time script. The trigger is a scheduled CSV export of clients, appointments and balances from the current platform. The action maps columns to the new platform's import template, flags duplicate phone numbers and missing dates of birth, and holds those rows out of the import. The output is a reconciliation sheet a staff member reviews line by line. Prerequisites are a complete export from the current platform, import access on the new one, and a business associate agreement covering any party that handles the file. Human review points are every merged record and every consent form, since consents are not migrated automatically and the injector should re-verify each one with the patient. This is a proposed design, not a description of a deployed system.

Build it yourself or configure it

A common alternative to a dedicated platform is stitching the same steps together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or building them in-house. Those tools can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit records when they are configured that way. The buyer still owns the design: idempotency so a retried booking event does not send two reminders, escalation when a message fails, access controls on every connected account, and maintenance when the booking tool renames a field. A self-built workflow usually costs less in licensing and more in staff hours to keep running.

A proposed US Tech Automations design would handle the reminder step differently. It would start from a new-appointment event in the booking tool, create a pre-visit intake task, queue a reminder, and route any missing consent to a staff member before the visit. The output is a task list for the injector and a log of every message sent. Prerequisites are a webhook or scheduled export from the booking tool, a messaging provider that will sign a business associate agreement, and a named owner for failed sends. Human review points are any message with clinical content and every patient whose consent is incomplete. US Tech Automations would configure the escalation path, but the practice still decides who owns it.

Questions solo injectors ask before switching

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip it in three cases. If you need only a booking calendar, a card reader and reminders with no custom routing, a built-in plan such as Fresha's Independent tier is less work to set up. If charting, consents and photos must sit in one aesthetic system with no custom work, Aesthetic Record or Pabau is the simpler buy. If nobody on your staff can own an exception queue, any automation will fail quietly, and a managed suite with vendor support is the safer choice.

Which billing unit fits one injector best?

The unit that fits best is the one that matches the people who hold a calendar or login, so check whether a vendor bills per location, per user or per calendar before comparing totals.

Do I need a business associate agreement before switching?

Yes, if the vendor will create, receive, maintain or transmit patient health information for you, get a signed business associate agreement before any patient data moves, because the HIPAA text at 45 CFR 164.502 requires satisfactory assurance from the business associate.

Is Fresha a good choice for a medical injector?

Fresha can be a low-cost booking tool for one practitioner, but its pricing page does not list charting and its commission applies to new marketplace clients, so confirm both before choosing it for clinical work.

Why not just pick the lowest seat price?

Pick on the year-one total instead, because card processing, onboarding fees, add-ons and marketplace commissions can move the total more than the seat price does, as the onboarding fee in the worked example above shows.

How long should the switch take?

End the switch when the new platform matches your current one on the cases that matter most, such as cancellations, deposits and balances, rather than on a date set in advance.

Can Zapier or n8n replace a dedicated platform?

They can replace some workflow steps if you own the monitoring, retries, access controls and maintenance, but on their own they do not provide charting, consent management or a patient-facing booking product.

Decide the unit, then the paperwork

Start with the billing unit, then check the paperwork: charting, the export test and the business associate agreement. Those three checks decide most switches more reliably than the headline seat price. If you want to see how US Tech Automations configures the export and review loop described above, see how US Tech Automations configures this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.