Skip to content
AI & Automation

Vitally vs Catalyst: Which SaaS CS Tool Fits 2026

Oct 13, 2026

Pick the operating record before the brand

A customer success platform is the system that holds each account's health, the work owed to that account, and the signals that should change the work. The search "vitally vs catalyst" is a late-stage buying question, so the useful answer is which product can run a renewal week with the data you already have. This comparison is about Catalyst Software, the customer growth platform, which is a different product from Cisco Catalyst networking gear and from Zoho Catalyst.

TL;DR: both products are quote-based, Vitally publishes three named plans and a broad connector directory, and Catalyst is documented as a Totango product whose parent site now presents a new name. Totango and Catalyst had closed a merger backed by Great Hill Partners, both brands were to keep their names in the near term, and a Forrester analyst told buyers to expect disruption while the technology was combined, Merger report: March 5, 2024 according to CX Dive (2024). Catalyst's help overview, still live in this research, calls Catalyst a product of Totango and points readers at Totango's Catalyst product path.

On October 12, 2026, requests for that Totango product path and for Totango's packages path returned a page headed as Totango now being Odie, a customer knowledge engine for post-sales teams. That page described pricing inputs and did not print a Catalyst dollar rate. The Catalyst help center still documents portfolio health, playbooks, and a public read API. Treat Catalyst availability as needing vendor confirmation, and treat the commercial wrapper as something you must confirm in the quote. If you are also weighing the parent platform, the mid-market comparison of Totango and Vitally is the companion read.

Key Takeaways

  • Vitally's pricing page names three plans, Tech-Touch, Hybrid-Touch, and High-Touch, and every one of them says request pricing. No dollar amount was printed.

  • Catalyst did not show a public rate card on the vendor paths opened for this guide. Price it as quote-based, and ask which legal entity renews the contract.

  • Vitally's public REST API documents create, update, and list actions for six object types at 1,000 requests per minute. Catalyst's public API page documents GET reads at 100 calls per minute per instance.

  • Catalyst publishes an explicit health model: field scores on a 1 to 10 scale, up to 10 groups, and group weights that must total 100%. Vitally's pages opened here did not publish an equivalent formula.

  • SoftwareReviews scores Catalyst at 7.9 from 30 reviews and the Totango product at 7.7 from 22 reviews, compared on October 12, 2026. That page is not a Vitally rating.

  • A renewal queue still needs a human review before any customer email goes out, whether the trigger is a platform playbook or a workflow sitting above it.

Who this is for

This is for a customer success operations lead at a B2B SaaS company who already has a CRM, a source of usage or subscription data, and a renewal motion that still depends on someone pasting the story together. You are close to a decision, so screenshots matter less than the account record, the health math, the API direction, and the name on the renewal contract. Teams earlier than that, still inventing their stages, will get more from a written playbook in the CRM than from either platform.

Red flags: you require a public dollar price before any sales conversation; you need Catalyst to be a standalone company with no parent rebrand; you need a public API that creates Catalyst records, which the API page opened here does not document.

How we evaluated these two platforms

The weights below are a buying model for this reader, not a score the vendors earned. Health model fit is 20% because a renewal queue that nobody can explain will be ignored by week three. Renewal execution is 20% because tasks, notes, and conversations are the work, not the dashboard. Data in and data out is 20% because a customer success system that cannot see billing and cannot be read by an ops queue becomes a second spreadsheet. Auditable automation is 15% because unlimited automations are only useful if a person can see what fired. Commercial clarity is 15% because a quote with no account band, seat rule, or implementation line cannot be compared. Ownership risk is 10% because a 2024 merger plus a 2026 public-site rebrand changes who you call at renewal. Points in the last column are the weight itself, used only so a shortlist can show a gap. They are not a test result.

CriterionWeightShortlist points
Health model you can explain20%20
Renewal and task execution20%20
Data in and data out20%20
Automation you can audit15%15
Commercial clarity15%15
Ownership and roadmap risk10%10

Page facts and this reading stay separate. A connector count, an API rate, and a review composite are facts from the page named beside them. A recommendation about who should buy is our reading of those facts for a B2B SaaS renewal motion. SoftwareReviews, comparing the Totango and Catalyst products rather than Vitally, lists Catalyst's Composite score: 7.9 from 30 reviews according to SoftwareReviews (2026), with the Totango product at 7.7 from 22 reviews on the same page, dated October 12, 2026. Thirty reviews is a small base. Use it as a satisfaction signal, then verify the workflow on your own accounts.

Where the products actually differ

The matrix is limited to behavior confirmed on pages opened for this guide. Empty-sounding cells are gaps in the public page, not a claim that the product lacks the feature.

Buying questionVitallyCatalyst
Price page openedThree named plans, each quote-basedNo dollar rate card loaded
Stated motionOne-to-many, hybrid, and one-to-one plansPortfolio health, playbooks, expansion signals
Public API directionCreate, update, retrieve, and listGET reads for viewing data
API rate1,000 requests per minute100 calls per minute per instance
List page sizeDefault and max 100Default 25, max 100
Connectors confirmedDirectory of 30+, including CRM, billing, support, warehousesFinancial, usage, support, feedback, Gmail or Microsoft
Health formula publishedNot on the pages opened here1 to 10 scores, up to 10 groups, weights total 100%
Seats on a price pageUnlimited observer seats on every plan; unlimited full seats worded with High-TouchNot stated on a price page we could open

Vitally's directory publishes Listed connectors: 30+ according to Vitally (2026), including Salesforce, HubSpot, Stripe, Zendesk, Slack, warehouse and product-analytics tools, and a Zapier connector the page says covers over 1,000 apps. The Salesforce and HubSpot lines on that directory say accounts, contacts, and activity can sync both ways. Stripe on that page includes customers and subscription data such as trials, MRR, renewal dates, and churn. That is a practical stack for a SaaS company whose renewal date lives in billing and whose conversation history lives in support.

Catalyst's overview describes data streams for financials, product usage, support tickets, and customer feedback, plus email and calendar from the team's own Microsoft or Gmail inbox. It does not, on that page, publish a connector count, so this guide does not invent one. Health configuration can trigger playbooks, and the API page says playbooks are the older name for workflows. The same health guide documents sending Catalyst health fields to Salesforce. Those are strong fits when the CRM stays the commercial system and Catalyst is the outcome layer.

The rows above are page facts. Our reading is that Vitally is the wider system of record for a team that wants tasks, notes, conversations, and NPS responses in one workspace with many SaaS connectors. Catalyst is the tighter outcome model when weighted health, segment-specific profiles, and expansion signals are the point, and when a read API plus Salesforce health fields are enough. Neither fact set includes a measured renewal lift from an independent study opened for this guide.

The Monday failure is usually not the score. It is the gap between a score change and a queue a person will actually work. A proposed US Tech Automations workflow can take a scheduled API read or a file export as the trigger, map account id, health, and renewal date into one queue, and write a review packet for the operations lead. The prerequisite is an API key or a scheduled export from the customer success platform and from the CRM, plus a field map you control. A person approves any customer-facing note before it sends. This is a configurable design with a human review point, not a live customer and not a measured result.

What the price pages do and do not say

Pricing checked October 12, 2026. Vitally's pricing page lists three plans and prints no dollar amount on any of them. Vitally's Tech-Touch plan is described for one-to-many and product-led success. Vitally's Hybrid-Touch plan is described for any customer success model. Vitally's High-Touch plan is described for one-to-one success, and the page places the words unlimited full seats with that plan. The shared list on every plan is core features, unlimited automations, unlimited observer seats, single sign-on, the full integration library, and unlimited docs. The page also says a buyer can try the product in a dedicated trial sandbox with their own customer data and team. It does not state how long that sandbox lasts.

VendorPlanPublic priceWhat the page statesSeat note
VitallyTech-TouchQuote-basedOne-to-many and product-led motionObserver seats unlimited in the shared list
VitallyHybrid-TouchQuote-basedAny customer success modelObserver seats unlimited in the shared list
VitallyHigh-TouchQuote-basedOne-to-one motionUnlimited full seats worded with this plan
VitallyAll plansQuote-basedCore features, unlimited automations, single sign-on, full integration library, unlimited docsNo dollar amount printed
CatalystNone listedQuote-basedHelp docs say selected features are on all plansNo seat price found
CatalystParent siteQuote-basedOdie describes curation and usage inputs, not a Catalyst rate cardDo not treat that text as a Catalyst price

Catalyst is quote-based. The help center says health profiles are available on all plans and that a high access level is required to configure them, but it does not name a price, an account band, or a seat fee. Third-party pages that guess an annual contract were not used here, because the price check fails a figure that is not on the vendor's own pricing page. First-year cost is the subscription quote plus whatever implementation line the seller adds. Neither vendor page opened for this guide listed an implementation dollar fee, so the honest total-cost cell is quote-based plus an unpublished services line. Ask the quote to split subscription, account volume, seats, connectors, and implementation, and to name the renewing entity.

Our reading of the commercial gap is simple. You cannot rank these products on price from the public web in October 2026. You can rank them on whether the quote matches the motion. A product-led book with many low-touch accounts should ask how Vitally's Tech-Touch plan counts accounts versus full seats. A one-to-one book should ask why unlimited full seats are worded on the High-Touch plan and not on the other two. A Catalyst buyer should ask whether the contract is still Catalyst, still Totango, or already Odie, and which of those names owns support.

Limits that change a Monday morning

Rates and page sizes are the limits an operations lead feels first, because a nightly sync that exceeds them fails quietly. Vitally's public REST API is documented at an API limit: 1,000 requests per minute according to Vitally (2026), and list calls on that page use a default and maximum of 100. The same page says write requests may count as more than one request against that budget, and that a list crawl should keep a stable sort or later pages can duplicate or skip records. The objects named for create, update, retrieve, and list are users, accounts, conversations, tasks, notes, and NPS responses.

Documented limitVitallyCatalyst
API calls per minute1000100
Max records per list call100100
Default records per list call10025
Dollar amounts on the price page00
Named plans on the price page opened30

Catalyst's matching numbers sit in the next profile, on the API page opened beside the health guide. The table is there so the two rates stay visible together. A book of a few hundred accounts will not stress either cap if you sync changes rather than the full book every few minutes. A full-book crawl of notes and tasks, repeated by several jobs, will hit Catalyst's 100-call cap long before it hits Vitally's 1,000-request cap. That is a design constraint, not a quality ranking.

Vitally in practice

Vitally fits a B2B SaaS team that wants the customer success workspace itself to be the place CSMs start the day. The pricing page organizes the product by motion, not by a feature fence around core tools. Unlimited automations, unlimited observer seats, single sign-on, and the full connector library are written into every plan. That matters when finance, support, and a manager need to look at accounts without a full seat, and when product-led and one-to-one work share one record. The REST surface matches that story: an ops team can create and update the same objects the CSM touches, including NPS responses.

The limitation is commercial and methodological. There is no public dollar price, so a budget meeting cannot end on the website. The pages opened here also do not spell out a 1 to 10 health formula with group weights. Vitally talks about indicators and account context on its own marketing, but this guide will not treat that language as the same thing as Catalyst's published scoring math. If health explainability is the top weight in your shortlist, make the seller show the formula on your data before you treat the products as equal.

Implementation, from the docs opened here, starts with an API key created in settings and with the connectors you actually use, not the full directory. Plan on the 1,000-request minute budget, on write calls costing more than one unit, and on pagination that stays stable only if every page uses the same sort. The trial sandbox is real language on the pricing page, and it is supposed to use your customer data and your team. It is not a published duration, and it is not a substitute for a written quote. Best fit is a team with Salesforce or HubSpot, Stripe or a similar billing tool, and a support inbox, that wants one record and can wait for a quote. A poor fit is a buyer who must show a list price to finance this week.

For a wider set of Vitally tradeoffs against other customer success systems, see ChurnZero versus Vitally and Vitally versus Planhat. Those are separate decisions. They do not change the Catalyst ownership facts above.

Catalyst in practice

Catalyst fits a team that wants customer health tied to outcomes, with more than one profile when an SMB account and an enterprise account should not share a definition of healthy. The health guide lets you run a single profile or several profiles off a segment field, ignore null inputs, override a score when a CSM marks sentiment red, and fire a playbook from the result. Catalyst scores each health input on a Score scale: 1 to 10 according to Catalyst (2026), and that page also caps a profile at 10 groups whose weights must total 100%, moving in 5% steps. After you publish, the page says the score may take a few minutes to apply. If you delete a profile and rebuild it later, the old history persists.

Catalyst's public API is capped at an API cap: 100 calls per minute according to Catalyst (2026), with list calls defaulting to 25 records and maxing at 100, and health-change history starting October 31, 2025. The page describes a JSON API for viewing data. Paths opened there include accounts, health scores, notes, tasks, emails, and playbooks. The filter score_updated_at_gte is how a job asks for health rows updated since a moment you choose. That is a clean trigger for a renewal queue. It is not, on this page, a write API. If your design needs to create tasks or notes from outside, confirm a different interface with the seller. Do not assume the UI's buttons exist as public endpoints.

The limitation is ownership and commercial fog. The 2024 report said costs would not change for customers at that time, and that both names would continue in the near term. Those sentences are two years old. In this session the parent product URL resolved to the Odie introduction, while the help center still said Totango. Best fit is a revenue-minded success team that will live in weighted health, Gmail or Microsoft engagement timelines, and Salesforce health fields, and that can tolerate a quote. A poor fit is a team that needs a stable vendor name on a public price page, or a public API that creates records. Ask, in the order form, which product you are buying, what happens to Catalyst data if you later move to the parent workspace, and who answers a severity incident.

Run the renewal math before you sign

An illustrative book of 400 accounts, with 15% renewing inside 60 days, is 60 accounts, and at 20 minutes to assemble each brief from CRM notes, usage, and open tasks that is 20 hours of prep. If only 1 in 3 of those accounts changed health since yesterday, the working set is 20 accounts and about 6.7 hours, because 20 times 20 minutes is 400 minutes. A read of Catalyst health changes filtered with score_updated_at_gte can supply that changed set, and the same arithmetic applies if the source is a Vitally export of tasks and notes instead. This paragraph is a planning example with round figures, not a recorded deployment and not a vendor benchmark.

A proposed US Tech Automations workflow can run that cut every morning. The trigger is a scheduled read of health rows or tasks changed since the prior run. The action is to match them to accounts inside the renewal window, drop anything already assigned, and write a queue item that names the account, the old score, the new score, and the open task. The output is a review list plus a stored run note. Prerequisites are the API key, a stable account id in both systems, and a written rule for what counts as a change. A CSM still marks the item reviewed before any outreach. Nothing here implies a current customer or a measured time save. The 6.7 hours is the arithmetic of the example, not a result from a deployment.

The do-it-yourself version

The real alternative for many teams is not another customer success suite. It is stitching the CRM, billing, and a shared inbox together in Zapier, Make, or n8n, or building the same glue in-house. Those tools can support run histories, retries, error branches, and audit evidence when someone configures them. They do not arrive with your health model, your idempotency key, or your escalation path already decided. The buyer has to design and own observability, idempotency, escalation, access controls, and maintenance. A scenario that posts a Slack message when a Stripe renewal is near can be enough. A scenario that also writes back to the CRM, suppresses duplicates, and proves who approved the email is a small product you will keep staffing.

A proposed US Tech Automations design could configure that handoff as one flow with a named review step and a replayable run record tied to the account id, using the same API or export the DIY stack would use. The difference to plan for is where the review, the retry, and the access rule live, and who maintains them when the connector field changes. Prerequisites stay the same: credentials you are allowed to use, a field map, and a person who can stop a bad run. If the only missing piece is a notification from a playbook you already trust, the lighter tool is the better buy.

Mistakes that survive the demo

  • Treating a vendor's comparison page as an independent audit. Vitally's own Catalyst comparison is a sales page. This guide did not use its trigger counts or its claim about missing connectors as facts.

  • Comparing two blank quotes and calling the price a tie. Quote-based means you do not know yet. Make both sellers price the same account volume, the same seats, and the same year of service.

  • Ignoring the parent name. Catalyst's docs say Totango. Totango's public site now says Odie. The order form has to pick one.

  • Assuming a screen you can click is an API you can call. Catalyst's public API page is a read interface. Vitally's documents writes for six object types. Design to the page, then re-check in a pilot.

  • Turning on customer email from a health change with no review. A wrong score, a null input, or a stale renewal date will reach the customer faster than a weekly meeting would have.

Glossary for the buying meeting

  • Account record: the single object that should hold identity, revenue, health, and open work for one customer.

  • Health score: a calculated read of whether that account is healthy, neutral, or at risk, only as good as the inputs.

  • Tech-touch: a one-to-many motion where most accounts get automated plays rather than a named CSM every week.

  • High-touch: a one-to-one motion where a person owns the relationship and the system supports that book.

  • Playbook: a rule that enrolls an account and takes actions. Catalyst's API page says the current name for this is a workflow.

  • Observer seat: a login that can see the workspace. Vitally says these are unlimited on every plan. It is not the same phrase as a full seat.

  • Quote-based: the vendor does not print a price. You cannot compare cost until both quotes use the same scope.

  • Read API: an interface that returns data, such as Catalyst's GET paths, and does not by itself create tasks or send email.

Questions CS operations leads ask

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: stay with the customer success platform's own playbook if it already creates the task and the message you need, and use Zapier, Make, or n8n if the only gap is a notification plus a retry you are willing to own. Stay in the CRM when the account record is already complete and a second system would only copy it. Skip any extra workflow layer when your security review will not allow another store of customer notes, or when nobody on the team will maintain credentials and field maps after the first month.

Did Catalyst stay an independent product?

No. The help overview calls Catalyst a product of Totango, and a March 5, 2024 trade report documented the closed merger. In this session, Totango's public product path presented the Odie name instead of a Catalyst price list. Confirm the contracting entity before you sign.

Do Vitally or Catalyst publish a dollar price?

No. Both are quote-based on the pages opened for this guide. Vitally names three plans and still says request pricing. Catalyst's help center refers to plans and does not print a rate. Pricing checked October 12, 2026.

Which platform is the better renewal system?

Neither public page proves a renewal outcome. Choose Vitally when you need the wider connector directory and a write API for tasks, notes, and conversations. Choose Catalyst when you need the published 1 to 10 health model and can live with a read API plus a quote.

Can both products sync Salesforce?

Vitally's integrations directory documents a two-way sync of Salesforce accounts, contacts, and activity. Catalyst's health guide documents sending health fields to Salesforce. The object lists are not the same promise. Get the field list in the quote.

Is the public API enough to feed an ops queue?

It is enough only for the operations the page documents. Vitally's REST overview includes creates and updates at 1,000 requests per minute. Catalyst's API page includes reads at 100 calls per minute, with health history from October 31, 2025. Pilot the exact call you intend to run.

Should a small team buy either platform?

Do not decide from headcount, because neither vendor page opened here published a minimum team size. If one CRM already holds health, tasks, and the renewal date, keep the process there until the manual brief, like the 20-hour example above, is the problem you are paying to remove.

What should the quote include?

The quote should name the plan, the account volume, full seats, observer seats, the connectors, the implementation fee, the renewal term, and the legal entity. Without those lines, two quote-based proposals cannot be compared, and a parent-company name change can show up at renewal.

The choice is a record and a contract, not a logo. Map one renewal play, price it on the same account volume, and keep a person on the send step. You can see how US Tech Automations configures this as a proposed layer above whichever platform you select, with your API keys, your review rule, and your audit note.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.