Skip to content
AI & Automation

5 Actionstep Alternatives for Litigation Boutiques in 2027

Oct 29, 2026

Start with the category decision

If you are looking for an Actionstep alternative for a litigation boutique, decide the category first: a litigation-first case platform, a general practice management suite, or a lighter tool built for small firms. A litigation boutique case management platform tracks matters, deadlines, documents, time, and billing for a firm whose work is mostly contested matters.

Most options in this category look similar on a feature list. They differ on three things: whether the vendor publishes prices, how much configuration the platform needs before it is usable, and how cleanly it exposes matter data to other systems. For a boutique, those three factors usually matter more than the length of the feature list, because one operations lead often ends up owning the system after the purchase.

This guide compares five alternatives to Actionstep: Filevine, Clio Manage, MyCase, Smokeball, and Litify. Actionstep stays in every table as the baseline, so you can see what changes if you leave it.

TL;DR: If depositions and discovery drive your workload, start with Filevine and Litify. If you need a published per-user price to get budget approval, MyCase is the only vendor here whose pricing page I could read in this review that lists dollar amounts. Clio Manage publishes matter endpoints you can map from its developer site. Smokeball's public positioning leans toward document-heavy practice, so test it against your contested-matter workflow before you rely on it.

Key Takeaways

  • Four of the six platforms here publish no dollar prices on their own pricing pages, and Clio's pricing page could not be reached in this review.

  • MyCase is the only vendor here with per-user list prices on a page I could read, which makes its cost the easiest to budget before a demo.

  • Clio's developer site documents matter endpoints, and Actionstep's developer site lists its resource names. The other vendors' developer pages were not reachable in this review.

  • Get API and export scope in writing before signing, including who owns authentication and whether a sandbox exists.

  • Filevine's public module list names deposition tools by name, which matters if depositions drive your workload.

  • A Zapier build can cover parts of the workflow, but the buyer owns error handling, credentials, and upkeep.

Who this is for

This comparison is for an owner or operations lead at a litigation firm small enough that one person owns the software decision, and who is close to replacing Actionstep or adding a second system. It assumes you have a list of your busiest matter types and a budget range, but no pre-approved vendor.

Red flags: you need a published price before you can get budget approval, nobody on staff can own data mapping, or a key workflow depends on a feature you have not confirmed in writing.

How we evaluated these tools

This is a desk review of public information. It draws on vendor pricing and developer pages, two independent guides, and a 2025 survey from a litigation support provider. No vendor was trialed, and no score comes from hands-on use. The weights below reflect what a boutique buyer should prioritize, and they are a judgment call, not a vendor or industry benchmark.

CriterionWeightWhy it carries this weight
Litigation workflow fit (matters, deadlines, depositions, documents)25%Generic matter tools push boutiques into workarounds on contested work
Data access (documented API or export)20%Reconciliation and reporting depend on clean access to matter records
Price transparency and total cost20%Budget approval and renewal planning need a number in writing
Implementation effort15%Setup, partner dependence, and migration drive time to value
Vendor-stated security posture10%Matter confidentiality is required; this review checked public claims only
Evidence from independent sources10%Third-party guides and surveys check vendor claims

The weights sum to 100%.

Feature matrix: what public pages confirm

The matrix records only what I could confirm on a public vendor page, guide, or developer page. "Not verified" means the page was unreachable or silent, not that the feature is absent.

PlatformDeveloper documentationPublished prices on vendor pageLitigation modules namedAI features namedSalesforce dependency
ActionstepEndpoint list publishedNo; quote-based, per user plus implementationNot named; add-ons Builder, Capture, Trace, AcumenTrace (AI Time Capture)Not stated
FilevineNot verifiedNo; quote-basedDepo Copilot, Depo Library, Deposition Scheduling and HostingLOIS, AI Drafting, Deposition Summaries AINot stated
Clio ManageMatters v4 endpoints publishedNot verifiedNot named; G2 lists mid-sized litigation firms as a fitNot verifiedNot stated
MyCaseNot verifiedYes, per user per monthDiscovery Assistant pages as an add-onNot namedNot stated
SmokeballNot verifiedNo; quote-basedNot namedNot namedNot stated
LitifyNot verifiedNo; quote-based, demo-firstNot namedLitify AILogin links point to Salesforce

Surveys help set expectations, but they define tools differently. In a 2025 survey of 2,011 legal professionals, U.S. Legal Support's tool list shows Practice management use: 25% in the 2025 survey according to U.S. Legal Support (2025), while legal research appears at 69% on the same list. Read that gap as a sign that firms use many tools for many jobs, not as a benchmark for your firm.

Pricing and total cost of ownership

Pricing checked October 26, 2026.

VendorPlan or productMonthly list price (USD, per user)Annual list price (USD, per user)
ActionstepPractice ManagementQuote-basedQuote-based
FilevineCase managementQuote-basedQuote-based
Clio ManageNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verified
MyCaseBasic$60$50
MyCasePro$120$100
MyCaseAdvanced$150$130
SmokeballBill, Boost, Grow, Prosper+Quote-basedQuote-based
LitifyLitify PlatformQuote-basedQuote-based

Actionstep's pricing page says it prices per user plus implementation fees for each module, and each priced item routes to a request link. Filevine, Smokeball, and Litify send buyers to a quote or demo before any number appears. Clio's pricing page could not be reached in this review, so its row stays unverified rather than estimated.

Pro tier list price: $120 per user per month according to MyCase (2026). The same page lists annual billing at $100 for Pro, says no long-term contract or setup fee is required, and lists an accounting add-on at $39 per user per month on Pro and Advanced.

Vendor profiles

Actionstep (the baseline)

Best fit: firms that already run matter workflows in Actionstep and want to price a change before leaving. The vendor positions its platform as law firm management software with add-on modules for capture, time tracking, building, and analytics.

Limitations: pricing is quote-based, and implementation runs through certified partners. Its legal accounting module is available only in North America, according to its pricing page.

Implementation: plan for partner-led setup, and ask for the implementation fee as a separate line. Its accelerators, which are pre-packaged workflows, require a conversation with the vendor.

Evidence: the endpoint resource list names resources such as actions, actionparticipants, bills, and tasks according to Actionstep. The page does not describe authentication or a sandbox, so ask for both in writing.

Disqualifier for this list: if your budget process requires a list price before a demo, Actionstep's own pages will not supply one.

Filevine

Best fit: litigation firms whose workload includes depositions, discovery, and AI-assisted drafting. The pricing page names Depo Copilot, Depo Library, Deposition Scheduling and Hosting, and Deposition Summaries AI, along with LOIS for drafting.

Limitations: the vendor publishes no prices and describes its packages as custom built. The free LOIS Explore tier does not include Filevine Case Management, according to its pricing page. Filevine's developer portal was not reachable in this review, so treat any API claim as unconfirmed until it is in writing.

Implementation: scope it through the sales team, since the page directs buyers to a custom quote.

Evidence: the Filevine pricing page. On AI use generally, Legal professionals using AI: 79% according to 2civility (2025), which summarizes Clio's 2025 Legal Trends Report.

Disqualifier for this list: if you need a fixed price in the same week as your first demo, the Filevine page does not provide one.

Clio Manage

Best fit: a firm that wants intake, matters, billing, and documents in one platform. A G2 guide describes Clio Manage as suited to firms from solo practices up to mid-sized litigation firms. Clio user base: 96% small businesses according to G2 (2026), and the same guide gives average implementation as 0.9 months.

Limitations: Clio's pricing could not be verified in this review, so budget against a current quote. Its matters endpoint does not return custom_field_values unless you request them, and the guide does not list rate limits.

Implementation: creating a matter requires a client contact ID and a description, according to Clio. The same guide documents the matter list filters status, client_id, and updated_since.

Disqualifier for this list: if your reporting depends on custom fields in every list call, your integration needs explicit field requests from the start.

MyCase

Best fit: small and boutique firms that want published per-user prices and a single place for heavy client correspondence. The pricing page says the monthly rate depends on the number of active firm users.

Limitations: discovery help is sold as an add-on. The page lists $30 for 5,000 additional Discovery Assistant pages for the whole firm, and those pages expire at the end of the subscription period.

Implementation: the pricing page states no setup fee and no long-term contract, so the main implementation cost is your staff time.

Evidence: the MyCase pricing page.

Disqualifier for this list: if your litigation workflow needs deposition tooling beyond discovery-page help, confirm that it is included in the plan you buy.

Smokeball

Best fit: document-heavy practices. The G2 guide describes Smokeball as best for automated time tracking and document management, and it names estate planning, family law, and real estate closings as examples.

Limitations: pricing is quote-based. The page says cost depends on users, the selected plan, the contract term, and any optional products. The plans are Bill, Boost, Grow, which the page labels "Best Value," and Prosper+.

Implementation: request a quote through the vendor's pricing form, which the FAQ describes as personalized and no-obligation.

Evidence: the Smokeball pricing page.

Disqualifier for this list: if your core work is contested litigation with heavy discovery, Smokeball's public positioning points to a different fit.

Litify

Best fit: firms that have Salesforce administration in-house or are willing to fund it. The vendor presents Litify Platform, Litify AI, and industry-specific solutions as its main offerings.

Limitations: no prices are published. The buying path starts with a 30-minute intro call and a 60-minute tailored demo, followed by an account executive. The login links on the pricing page point to Salesforce's login domain, so confirm the Salesforce licensing and administration the platform requires before you commit.

Evidence: the Litify pricing page.

Disqualifier for this list: no in-house Salesforce administrator and no budget to hire one.

Worked example: reconciling a switch

Consider a hypothetical boutique that moves 340 open matters out of Actionstep and into Clio Manage. Suppose the reconciliation finds 12 mismatched client_reference values, which is 3.5% of records (12 divided by 340). At 10 minutes per exception, the operations lead spends 2 hours on review (12 times 10 minutes). The reconciliation pull is /api/v4/matters.json filtered by status set to open and updated_since set to the migration cut-off date, then compared row by row with the Actionstep export. The arithmetic is simple. The real risk is that nobody owns the mismatch list, and the 12 exceptions sit unreviewed in a shared folder until the cut-over is already live.

Where the pain sits: reconciliation and billing exceptions

US Tech Automations can configure a proposed reconciliation workflow for a switch like this one. The trigger is a scheduled pull of open matters from the target platform's matters endpoint, filtered by status and updated_since. The action compares each client_reference against the Actionstep matter reference in a read-only export. The output is a reconciliation log plus a short exception list for the operations lead. The prerequisites are API credentials issued by the target vendor, an Actionstep export the firm is permitted to make, and a field map an attorney has approved. The human review point is fixed: the operations lead signs off on every exception before anyone edits a matter record.

A second proposed workflow reads Actionstep's bills resource on a weekly schedule and lists bills older than an age threshold the billing lead sets. The output is a review list for the billing lead, not an automatic reminder to a client. The Actionstep endpoint page lists bills among its resources but does not describe authentication, so confirm API access in writing before design work starts. A reminder goes out only after a named person approves the wording and the amount, which keeps client communication under attorney control.

Build it yourself in Zapier, Make, or n8n?

The fair alternative to a managed build is a stack you assemble yourself. Tools such as Zapier, Make, or n8n can support run histories, retries, error branches, and audit evidence when a builder configures them that way. Zapier's pricing page shows how cost scales with task volume.

Tasks per monthPro, annual billing (USD per month)Team, annual billing (USD per month)Autoreplay included
100Free planNot offeredNo
750$19.99Not offeredYes, on Pro
2,000$49.00$69.00Yes, on Pro and Team
5,000$89.00$119.00Yes, on Pro and Team
10,000$129.00$169.00Yes, on Pro and Team

Team tier at 2,000 tasks: $69 per month, billed annually according to Zapier (2026). The same page says failed actions are not counted as tasks, and that autoreplay for temporary errors is included on Pro, Team, and Enterprise but not on Free.

What you own in a DIY build is the part that is easy to skip: idempotency so a retry does not create a duplicate matter, escalation paths when a step fails, access controls on credentials, and maintenance when an API changes. A proposed US Tech Automations design would need the same API credentials, the same exception review, and a named owner on your side. The difference is who carries the upkeep, not whether the upkeep exists.

Where a simpler tool wins

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: if your only need is a matter database with billing and a client portal, a plan from MyCase or Clio Manage may already cover it, and a configured integration adds one more system to maintain. If nobody at your firm can own credentials and exception review, a managed design will not close that ownership gap for you. If you want a single hosted platform with a quote and no integration work at all, choose the vendor whose bundle covers your features and keep automation out of scope for now.

Common mistakes

  • Comparing list prices without implementation fees, which Actionstep quotes separately from its per-user pricing.

  • Assuming an integration exists because a vendor mentions integrations. Ask for endpoint documentation, authentication, and export scope in writing.

  • Migrating without a reconciliation key such as client_reference, so mismatches appear only after cutover.

  • Letting an automation send client messages without a named approver.

  • Running the demo on a generic matter instead of your busiest contested matter type.

Decision checklist

  • A written answer on API or export scope, including authentication and any sandbox.

  • A price in writing that itemizes implementation, add-ons, and contract term.

  • A named owner for field mapping and exception review.

  • A demo script built from your three busiest matter types.

  • A confirmed export format for leaving the platform later.

Questions buyers ask before switching

Does Actionstep publish its prices?

No. Its pricing page lists per-user pricing and implementation fees without dollar amounts, and each item routes to a request link.

Which alternative here publishes per-user prices?

MyCase is the only vendor in this review whose pricing page I could read that lists per-user dollar amounts, at $60, $120, and $150 per month for Basic, Pro, and Advanced on monthly billing.

Does Filevine offer an API?

I could not open Filevine's developer portal in this review, so the answer is unverified; ask for endpoint documentation in writing before you assume one.

Does Litify require Salesforce?

Its pricing page links to Salesforce's login domain, so treat Salesforce licensing and administration as a likely requirement until the vendor confirms the full stack in writing.

Is Clio's pricing published?

I could not verify Clio's current plans in this review, so check the live pricing page before budgeting and do not rely on third-party figures.

Should a boutique build this in Zapier instead?

Only if one person can own error handling, credentials, and maintenance, because autoreplay and custom error settings are not included on Zapier's Free plan.

Shortlist and next step

For a shortlist, take Filevine if depositions and drafting drive your workload, Clio Manage if you want a documented matter API, and MyCase if a published per-user price matters most. Keep Actionstep in the comparison as the baseline, and get each vendor's API scope and price in writing before the demo ends. If your switch depends on reconciling matters or flagging billing exceptions, see how US Tech Automations configures this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.