Appcues Alternatives for Product Teams: 6 Options for 2027
Key Takeaways
Appcues publishes no dollar amounts on its pricing page. It sizes plans by monthly active users (MAU) and experience count, so a cost comparison needs a quote first.
Userpilot, Chameleon and UserGuiding each publish at least one paid monthly price. Pendo publishes a free tier capped at 500 MAU, and Whatfix and WalkMe publish no prices.
Check the billing unit before you compare caps. Chameleon bills on monthly tracked users (MTUs), while Appcues, Userpilot, UserGuiding and Pendo describe their caps in MAU, and Whatfix and WalkMe use articles and segments.
If you want published numbers and a small-team fit, UserGuiding and Userpilot have the clearest starting prices. If governance and enterprise support come first, Whatfix and WalkMe are the usual shortlist, and both are quote-based.
An in-app guidance tool shows a user a checklist. It does not decide who follows up with a stalled account, so plan that workflow separately and confirm the data export path before you sign.
Start with the category, not the logo
A digital adoption platform (DAP) is software that places guidance such as tours, checklists and tooltips inside a product and tracks whether users follow it. Appcues describes itself as an in-app customer engagement platform, and most alternatives in this guide sit in the same group. Pendo and Whatfix also sell analytics or authoring tools next to their guidance products, which changes what you pay for.
TL;DR: buy an in-app guidance tool when the problem is users stalling inside your app. Add an operations layer when the problem is what your team does after a user stalls. Most of the tools below solve the first problem. Only a configured workflow touches the second.
Two questions decide most shortlists. First, does the guidance have to render inside the product? Second, can event data leave the tool in a form your team can act on? Appcues' event-trigger documentation says that for Segment events, server-side events do not trigger Experiences, so a trigger that starts only on your backend will not display an in-app experience (Appcues event triggering docs). That one detail changes how much engineering time a custom pipeline needs.
If your parallel question is the copy inside your guides rather than the tool, see AI writing tools for SaaS for a different decision with its own criteria.
How we evaluated these six tools
This is a desk comparison of public information, not hands-on testing. We read the pricing and product pages for Appcues and six alternatives: Userpilot, Chameleon, Pendo, UserGuiding, Whatfix and WalkMe. We also read Appcues' developer documentation for the identifiers it documents, plus two records outside the vendors' own sites: a CB Insights funding profile for Appcues and SAP's newsroom release on its acquisition of WalkMe. Review-site ratings from G2, Capterra, Gartner Peer Insights and GetApp were not reachable during our research, so this article prints no star ratings and no review counts.
The weights below reflect our judgment about what a small team can verify before a sales call. The scoring range is qualitative: 5 means the public pages state the answer clearly, and 1 means they do not address it.
| Criterion | Weight | Scoring range | Why it matters for this reader |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published pricing and usage caps | 25% | 1 to 5 | Shows whether a cost comparison is possible before any sales call |
| In-app guidance coverage | 20% | 1 to 5 | Tours, checklists, tooltips and surveys are the core job |
| Data path out of the tool | 20% | 1 to 5 | Export, sync or documented events decide what you can automate |
| Compliance statements | 15% | 1 to 5 | SOC 2, GDPR, HIPAA and SSO decide whether legal review is quick |
| Implementation burden | 10% | 1 to 5 | SDK work, mobile support and onboarding services set the timeline |
| Ownership and stability | 10% | 1 to 5 | Acquisitions can change roadmap, support and pricing |
Feature matrix: what each vendor states publicly
The matrix records what each public page we opened says. "Not stated" means the page did not mention the feature. It does not prove the feature is missing, and a sales call can settle it.
| Vendor | In-app guidance | Analytics | Session replay | Free tier | Data export or sync | Compliance named |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Appcues | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated on pricing or product page | Not stated |
| Userpilot | Yes | Yes | Yes, from Growth | Not stated | Bulk export and data warehouse sync at Enterprise | Not stated |
| Chameleon | Yes | Not listed | Not listed | Not stated | Not stated | Governance suite at Growth |
| Pendo | Yes | Yes | Core and Ultimate; extra cost on Base | Yes, free plan | Data Sync at Ultimate | SOC 2, GDPR and HIPAA on all plans |
| UserGuiding | Yes | Yes | Yes, from Growth | Not stated | Premium integrations at Growth | SOC 2, GDPR and HIPAA at Enterprise |
| Whatfix | Yes | Yes | Add-on, price not published | Product analytics free with a DAP plan | SCORM export in Mirror | Audit logs and SSO named |
| WalkMe | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Integration Center on the customer plan | US and EU hosting |
The clearest data path in this group sits in the top tiers. Userpilot's Enterprise plan lists bulk data import and export with data warehouse sync, and Pendo's Ultimate plan includes Data Sync. Appcues' pricing page and product page name no export or warehouse feature, so ask for one in writing before you assume it exists.
What the pricing pages publish
Only some of these vendors publish prices, and the ones that do often publish a monthly figure without an annual one. Appcues is the clearest case of a page with no dollar amounts. Appcues lists its Start plan as "For up to 3,000 MAUs", according to Appcues (2026), and states that every plan includes every experience type, feature and integration from day one. Its tiers differ by volume and reporting history, not by feature access.
Userpilot's Starter plan costs $299/mo and its Growth plan starts from $849/mo, according to Userpilot (2026). That page prints two different MAU figures for the same plans, a 0-2,000 range row and a row reading 2k, so confirm the cap in writing before you buy. Chameleon's Pro plan costs from $750/mo, and its Growth plan is $1,250/mo billed annually, according to Chameleon (2026). Chameleon's unit is monthly tracked users, which is not the same count as MAU.
Starter plan price: $249/mo according to UserGuiding (2026). UserGuiding's Starter plan costs from $249/mo and lists $2,988 per year, while its Growth plan costs from $499/mo and lists $5,988 per year. Both plans start from 2,000 MAU, and the page sends larger volumes to a custom quote.
| Vendor | Plan | Monthly price | Annual price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Appcues | Start, Grow, Enterprise | Quote-based | Quote-based |
| Userpilot | Starter | $299/mo | Not published |
| Userpilot | Growth | From $849/mo | Not published |
| Chameleon | Pro | From $750/mo | Not published |
| Chameleon | Growth | Not published | $1,250/mo, billed annually |
| Chameleon | Startup | From $279 (billing period not stated) | Not published |
| UserGuiding | Starter | From $249/mo | $2,988/year |
| UserGuiding | Growth | From $499/mo | $5,988/year |
| Pendo | Free | Not published (FAQ says free-forever) | Not published |
| Pendo | Base, Core, Ultimate | Quote-based | Quote-based |
| Whatfix | Standard and Premium (DAP) | Quote-based | Quote-based |
| WalkMe | Employee and customer plans | Quote-based | Quote-based |
Pricing checked October 21, 2026. Every figure in the table comes from the vendor pricing page cited in the profiles below. "Not published" means the vendor's page gave no figure for that cell, and "Quote-based" means the page directs buyers to a sales conversation for pricing.
Here is a worked example with an illustrative team, not a real customer. Suppose a product team with 2,000 MAU wants to know whether new accounts finish a three-step setup checklist. UserGuiding's Starter plan costs $249/mo, so twelve months comes to $2,988, which matches the annual figure on the page. Userpilot's Starter plan costs $299/mo, so the same twelve months come to $3,588, a $600 gap per year before any add-ons. If the team stays on Appcues, it would call Appcues.track at each setup step and listen for the SDK event flow_completed, which Appcues documents for finished flows. Appcues does not publish a price, so the team would need to ask for an annual figure before it could place that line beside the two published numbers.
Vendor profiles: best fit, limits and evidence
The caps below are the figures buyers most often misread, because each vendor counts a different unit.
| Vendor | Plan | Usage cap as printed | Experience or segment count | Reporting or retention |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Appcues | Start | Up to 3,000 MAUs | 10 experiences | 12 months |
| Appcues | Grow | Starting at 3,000 MAUs | 25 experiences | 24 months |
| Appcues | Enterprise | Custom MAUs | 100 experiences | 36 months |
| Userpilot | Starter | 0-2,000 MAU range | Not published | Not published |
| Userpilot | Growth | 0-100k MAU range | Not published | 36 months |
| Chameleon | Pro | 5k MTUs | 20 live experiences | Not published |
| Chameleon | Growth | 5k MTUs | Unlimited live experiences | Not published |
| Chameleon | Startup | 2,000 MTUs | 10 live experiences | Not published |
| Pendo | Free | 500 MAU | Not published | Not published |
| UserGuiding | Starter | Starting from 2,000 MAU | Not published | Not published |
| Whatfix | Standard (web and desktop) | 2,000 content-aggregation articles and 2 integrations | Not published | Not published |
| WalkMe | Employee plan | Up to 50,000 users per segment | Up to 10 segments per system | Not published |
Appcues: the baseline you are comparing against
Appcues fits a team that wants one vendor for in-app messages, surveys, guides and analytics and accepts a quote-based price. Its homepage describes AI-assisted building and agentic experience creation, which is a claim to check against your own workflow in a sales conversation. The limit is visibility: the public pages we opened do not state a data export or an API for analytics. Implementation is client-side. Appcues' JavaScript API documentation covers calls such as Appcues.identify and Appcues.track, and its docs show group properties such as company_name and plan_level in an Appcues.group example. You can review those pages before a call: Appcues JavaScript API docs. Its pricing page also says every customer receives implementation services, onboarding support and a dedicated experience manager.
Userpilot: engagement with analytics, and a data path at the top tier
Userpilot fits mid-market SaaS teams that want in-app engagement and product analytics in one tool. Its Growth plan adds session replays, with 5k free per month on the page, and three-year data retention. The limit is the MAU ambiguity noted above, plus the fact that the annual price is not published on the page. Implementation at the Enterprise tier includes bulk import and export and data warehouse sync, which is the only tier where the public page names a warehouse path. The evidence sits on its pricing page.
Chameleon: AI and governance features, with a different unit
Chameleon fits teams that want an AI copilot and a governance suite. Its Growth plan lists unlimited live experiences, the Ranger agent and a governance suite, and its Enterprise plan adds roles and permissions. The limits are a 20-experience cap on Pro and a unit change: Chameleon's page counts monthly tracked users, not MAU. Its Startup plan starts at $279 with the billing period not stated, so ask which period applies. The evidence sits on its pricing page.
Pendo: analytics first, with a free starting point
Pendo fits teams that put product analytics ahead of guidance and want to start without a contract. Its free plan includes product analytics, in-app guides, Pendo-branded roadmaps and NPS surveys.
Free tier limit: 500 MAU according to Pendo (2026). Every paid plan on the page is quote-based, and the Predict and Agent Analytics add-ons have no published price. The Novus tier is a free beta with no MAU limit during the beta, and it advertises AI-generated pull requests for instrumentation. Treat beta features as unproven for production until the vendor confirms general availability. Session replay costs extra on the Base plan.
UserGuiding: published monthly prices for small teams
UserGuiding fits a small team that wants published monthly prices and onboarding experiences that come with its Starter plan. The Growth plan adds session replay, no-code event tracking and premium integrations. The limits are the 2,000 MAU starting point and an AI feature, Lighthouse AI, marked as beta on the page. The Enterprise plan adds SAML SSO, a custom contract and SOC 2, GDPR and HIPAA statements, but no Enterprise price is listed. The evidence sits on its pricing page.
Whatfix: enterprise and desktop coverage, with prices held back
Whatfix fits larger teams with desktop applications, self-hosting requirements and a need for SCORM export from its Mirror authoring product. The page publishes no dollar prices and describes pricing as a flat fee plus user license fees. Its Standard web plan lists 2,000 content-aggregation articles and two integrations.
Whatfix's Standard plan lists those caps according to Whatfix (2026). Product analytics is free only with a DAP web and desktop plan, and it caps at 25 tagged user actions. Support on the Standard plan runs 24/5 with a named customer success manager, per the page. The main limit is cost visibility: you cannot compare Whatfix on price from public data.
WalkMe: enterprise employee programs, with an SAP parent
WalkMe fits enterprises running employee-facing adoption programs, and its employee plan lists SAP GUI support. Its employee and customer plans are both quote-based. The employee plan's behavioral segments are capped at 10 per system and 50,000 users per segment.
WalkMe's employee plan caps behavioral segments at 10 per system, according to WalkMe (2026). Hosting is in US and EU data centers, and the customer plan adds an Integration Center. The main limit for a small team is cost and procurement overhead. Ownership is covered in the next section.
Who owns these tools and why it matters
Ownership changes roadmap and support risk more than features do, and it is easy to miss on a pricing page.
WalkMe deal: about $1.5 billion equity value according to SAP (2024). SAP's release, dated September 12, 2024, says SAP completed its acquisition of WalkMe. Buyers evaluating WalkMe should ask how the roadmap and support model now relate to SAP's own products.
Series B funding: $32.1M according to CB Insights (2022). The profile dates the round to January 20, 2022, and names NewSpring Capital, Sierra Ventures, Columbia Partners Private Capital and Accomplice among its participants. In the sources we could open, we found no later round and no acquisition of Appcues. A 2022 funding record is not a 2026 ownership statement, so confirm the current position with the vendor before a multi-year contract.
We did not verify ownership for Userpilot, Chameleon, Pendo, UserGuiding or Whatfix beyond their own pages, so treat ownership questions for those vendors as open until the vendor answers them. Third-party valuation estimates for Pendo conflict with each other, so this article does not print one.
Where a no-code stack or in-house build fits
The reader's real alternative is often stitching the workflow together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or building it in-house. Those tools can support run histories, retries and error branches when configured. The buyer still designs and owns observability, idempotency (a rule that a retried event does not repeat its action, such as sending the same email twice), escalation, access controls and ongoing maintenance. That work is the real cost of the DIY route, and it does not appear on any vendor's price list.
A proposed US Tech Automations design would sit after the in-app tool, not inside it. The US Tech Automations site describes a customer support sample built on a managed approach, where a Customer Support Agent drafts replies, an Approval Queue lets staff accept, edit or reject each draft, and AI Ticket Triage sorts tickets on arrival. The site does not state an API or data export, so each design below depends on a path you must confirm.
In the first proposed workflow, the trigger is a setup event leaving the in-app tool, such as a flow_completed event for the checklist or a stalled-step event, if your plan exports it. The action is a lookup of the account in HubSpot, which the site lists among its integrations, followed by a request for a check-in message. The output is a draft in an approval queue for the account owner, who accepts, edits or rejects it before anything sends. The prerequisites are a webhook or scheduled export from the in-app tool, HubSpot access with a field mapping, and a rule that no message goes out without approval.
In a second proposed workflow, the trigger is a support ticket from a user who has not finished setup, or a billing email. AI Ticket Triage sorts the ticket when it arrives, and the site's sample routes outages and billing to separate queues. Escalation Routing flags problem tickets for a lead and holds an approved reply. The human review points are the triage category and the holding reply, which should never reach the customer unreviewed. The prerequisites are inbox access, a help-document source and a CRM connection. The site says the tool connects to Gmail, Google Sheets and HubSpot "and more", so confirm the exact connectors for your stack before you plan around them.
A configured Zapier, Make or n8n flow can also keep run histories and retries. The difference is who owns the observability and the escalation design, and whether you want to maintain that design yourself.
Who this is for
Who this is for: a small SaaS owner or operations lead who needs a price range before a sales call and wants guidance and follow-up decided together, not in separate tools.
Red flags: nobody can name who owns follow-up when an account stalls; you need a data export that no vendor page confirms in writing; you expect a fixed price from a vendor that publishes only quotes.
Who should choose each vendor:
Appcues: teams that accept a quote, want one vendor for guides and analytics, and will confirm the export path in writing.
Userpilot: mid-market teams that want engagement and analytics, and that need warehouse sync badly enough to budget for Enterprise.
Chameleon: teams that value AI copilot and governance features and can work in monthly tracked users.
Pendo: teams that want analytics first and a free starting point, and that can tolerate beta features.
UserGuiding: small teams that want published monthly prices for in-app onboarding.
Whatfix: larger or regulated teams with desktop software or self-hosting needs.
WalkMe: enterprises with employee-facing programs that can accept SAP ownership and quote-based procurement.
Decision checklist
Write your MAU count and confirm which unit each vendor bills: MAU, MTU, articles or segments.
Ask each quote-based vendor for an annual figure in writing before you compare.
Confirm the export path in writing: API, webhook, warehouse sync or CSV.
Confirm that the events you need fire client-side, because Appcues' documentation says server-side events do not trigger Experiences for Segment events.
Name the person who approves any outbound message before the workflow goes live.
Confirm ownership and renewal terms, including any change in the vendor's parent company.
Terms used in this comparison
Digital adoption platform (DAP): software that places in-app guidance on a product and tracks whether users complete it.
MAU: monthly active users, the billing unit most vendors here use.
MTU: monthly tracked users, Chameleon's billing unit.
Experience: Appcues' term for an in-app message, flow or checklist shown to a targeted audience.
Session replay: a recording of user sessions, usually priced separately.
Webhook: a server call sent when an event happens, the usual way to start an automated follow-up.
Approval queue: a holding area where staff accept, edit or reject a drafted message before it sends.
Frequently asked questions
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: a simpler tool wins if all you need is a product tour and a checklist on one web app, in which case a UserGuiding or Appcues plan is the faster launch. It also wins if your problem is retention analytics rather than follow-up, where Pendo's free tier or a dedicated analytics product fits better; see product analytics tools for SaaS. Finally, if you have an engineer who can own webhooks, idempotency and access controls, Zapier, Make or n8n with your own monitoring can be the right start, and a configured workflow adds little.
Is Appcues cheaper than its alternatives?
Public data cannot rank Appcues on price, because its pricing page publishes no dollar amounts. Among vendors that publish a paid monthly price, UserGuiding's Starter plan at $249/mo is the lowest starting figure in this table, and the Appcues quote still needs to be requested.
Which alternative should a small team check first?
Start with UserGuiding or Userpilot if you want published monthly prices to compare, and check Pendo's free tier if analytics comes before guidance. Ask each vendor for the cap in its own unit, since the units differ across this group.
Does any alternative publish a data export or sync?
Userpilot's Enterprise plan names bulk export and data warehouse sync, and Pendo's Ultimate plan includes Data Sync. Appcues' public pages name no export, so request its API documentation in writing before you assume one exists.
Do all of these tools need developer time?
Most need an SDK installed on the product, so plan some developer time for any option. Appcues' documentation describes client-side installation and event calls, and its event triggers depend on those client-side calls.
Is US Tech Automations a replacement for an in-app guidance tool?
No. A proposed design sits after the in-app tool and handles follow-up and ticket triage, with human approval before any message sends.
Do Whatfix or WalkMe publish prices?
Neither publishes a dollar price on its pricing page. Both direct buyers to a sales conversation, so budget for a quote before comparing them with the published tools.
Choosing before your next renewal
If you are weighing Appcues against these alternatives, start with the cost question you can answer on public pages: UserGuiding and Userpilot have the clearest published monthly prices, and Appcues needs a quote before any comparison. Confirm the export path and the MAU unit in writing, then decide who owns the follow-up that the in-app tool cannot do. For a proposed design of that follow-up layer, see how US Tech Automations configures this and ask for its API and export terms before you commit. For the analytics side of the decision, compare product analytics tools for SaaS and Pendo vs Amplitude for product-led growth before you sign anything.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.