Appointment Backfill EHR Software: 6 Options for 2027
The short answer
Appointment backfill EHR software is a waitlist layer that offers a canceled or moved slot to eligible patients and writes the accepted booking back to the EHR schedule. The category decision comes before the feature list: shortlist only vendors that can show, in writing, how an accepted slot lands in your EHR without re-entry. Offer rules, texting and reporting matter, but a refilled slot that never reaches the schedule creates double-booking work for the front desk.
Of the six products below, Luma Health and NextPatient describe automatic write-back on the pages we opened. NexHealth says its online booking syncs to the health record system, but its Waitlist page does not say the same for the Waitlist itself. Doctible's EasyFill page describes a manual push to the EHR after the practice approves a booking. Clearwave's NextUp data sheet and Phreesia's Appointment Accelerator page do not explain write-back in enough detail to rely on.
TL;DR: pick the shortlist by write-back and EHR fit first, then compare written quotes. None of the six publishes a price we could confirm on the page we checked.
Key Takeaways
Write-back decides the shortlist: Luma Health and NextPatient describe automatic booking back to the schedule, and the other four need written confirmation.
Pricing is quote-based across all six, so ask for a line-item quote that includes add-ons and messaging costs.
Offer rules differ: NextPatient sends offers to a few patients at a time, Luma Health can offer one at a time or first-come, and Doctible lets office staff approve before booking.
Vendor speed and fill claims are useful only as direction, because the figures come from the vendors themselves.
Texting needs a consent and opt-out review; the FCC's 2015 healthcare provision covers appointment reminders, but whether a waitlist offer fits it is a legal question.
Zapier, Make and n8n can run a version of this workflow, but the buyer owns error handling, audit evidence and maintenance.
Who this is for
This guide is for the owner or operations lead at a small healthcare business who is close to choosing software and needs answers on EHR fit, write-back and cost before a sales call. It assumes you already keep a schedule in an EHR or practice-management system and have at least one person who can approve offers.
Red flags: your EHR is missing from the vendor's written integration list, nobody on staff can approve or decline offers during business hours, or you cannot give the vendor an API or export route to your schedule.
Where the backfill workflow breaks
A backfill process fails in three places: the cancellation reaches staff late, the offer goes to the wrong patient, or the accepted booking never returns to the schedule. The first two create manual work, and the third creates double-booking risk. MGMA's 2026 poll shows the no-show picture is mixed rather than uniformly worse: No-show rates: 32% of medical groups reported higher year-to-date rates according to MGMA (2026). That poll had 190 applicable responses, and 58% of groups reported about the same rate.
The table below collects the figures this guide uses in one place. Vendor-reported figures are labeled as such, and they are not independent measurements.
| Measure | Value | Year | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Groups reporting higher year-to-date no-show rates | 32% | 2026 | MGMA |
| Groups reporting about the same rate | 58% | 2026 | MGMA |
| Practices reporting higher no-show rates | 27% | 2025 | MGMA |
| Practices reporting the same or lower rates | 73% | 2025 | MGMA |
| Reviewed studies reporting a no-show rate below 20% (26 of 38) | 68% | 2020 | PubMed Central |
| Luma Health's vendor-reported waitlist fill rate | 95% | Undated page | Luma Health |
| NexHealth's vendor-reported Waitlist fill window | Within 20 minutes | 2023 | NexHealth |
| Phreesia's vendor-reported refill time | Under 5 minutes | Undated page | Phreesia |
MGMA's 2026 article advises practices to use waitlists to pull patients into earlier openings, which is the use case the six products below address. For the workflow background, see our healthcare waitlist cancellation backfill guide.
Consider a three-provider practice that logs 12 cancellations in one week; that count is illustrative, and you should replace it with your own schedule export. If front-desk staff spend 6 minutes per cancellation on phone outreach, the week costs 72 minutes, or 1.2 hours, before any slot is refilled. Suppose an offer workflow refills 4 of those 12 slots and each refilled visit holds 30 minutes of provider time: 4 × 0.5 hours = 2 provider-hours recovered per week, or about 104 hours across 52 weeks. The setup risk sits in the mapping, because in NexHealth's documented slot flow the /available_slots endpoint calculates bookable times from working hours and unavailabilities, and passing appointment_type_id sets the slot length from the appointment type's minutes value, so a 30-minute refill only works if your visit types map to the same lengths in the EHR.
A proposed US Tech Automations workflow for this step would start when the EHR records a cancellation or reschedule (trigger), query waitlist entries that match the visit type, provider and days-until-appointment window, and send offers two at a time by text (action). Its output would be an offer log showing who was offered each slot and when. The prerequisites are read access to the schedule through an API or scheduled export, a messaging provider that signs a business associate agreement, and a staff approver who reviews each batch when a visit type needs clinical review.
When a patient replies, the proposed workflow would re-read the slot in the EHR before it writes the booking (action), send a filled-slot text to anyone who lost the race, and write one audit row per offer with the offer time, reply time and final status (output). The human review points are the slot re-check, the write-back confirmation from the EHR, and a sandbox test of two near-simultaneous replies before any live patient receives an offer.
How we evaluated these tools
We weighted six criteria, and the weights are our judgment rather than a market measure. Every vendor fact below comes from a page we opened in October 2026; where a page was silent, the matrix says "Not stated" rather than filling the gap from memory. We excluded third-party roundups whose publisher sells one of the products it ranks, so DoctorConnect's 2026 ranking did not count as evidence. We did not compute a composite score, because the vendors publish too little comparable data for a score to mean much.
| Criterion | Weight (%) | Why it carries that weight |
|---|---|---|
| EHR write-back of accepted bookings | 25 | A booking that stays out of the schedule creates double-booking work. |
| Offer and claim rules | 20 | Decides who is offered a slot and what happens when two patients accept. |
| Named EHR or PMS coverage | 15 | Published names let you check your system before a sales call. |
| Texting consent and opt-out | 15 | Text offers carry consent and opt-out obligations. |
| Pricing transparency | 15 | Quote scope and add-on fees change total cost. |
| Evidence quality | 10 | Independent data outranks vendor claims. |
Feature matrix: what each vendor states
The matrix turns each vendor's own description into the same four questions. Read it as a list of things to get answered in writing: any cell marked "Not stated" is a gap the vendor must fill before you can compare it with the others.
| Vendor | Trigger and offer order | Claim rule | EHR write-back stated | Named EHR systems |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Luma Health | Cancellation by phone, SMS or portal; offers matched on type, length and provider; one at a time or first-come | Patient texts a confirmation; next patient offered if declined | Yes: cancellations write back; schedule changes sync near-real-time | Not stated |
| NexHealth Waitlist | Reads open calendar slots for the next 7 days; staff requests suggest slots | Patient rebooks through Online Booking from the notification | Online Booking syncs; Waitlist sync not stated | Long list on the pricing page; support level not stated |
| NextPatient | Slot opens; a few patients at a time via live link | Three clicks to select; two-accept rule not stated | Yes: API connection, real-time booking back | AdvancedMD, athenahealth, Nextech, ModMed, NextGen |
| Doctible EasyFill | Cancellation notice by text or voice | First accepted booked automatically, or office approves | Manual push by the practice after approval | Not stated |
| Clearwave NextUp | Canceled or rescheduled slots | Not stated | Not stated | Clearwave Scheduling (per data sheet) |
| Phreesia Appointment Accelerator | Slot opens; eligible patients contacted without staff effort | Not stated | Integrates with PM and EHR systems; booking path not stated | Not stated |
Two readings follow from the matrix. Only two vendors describe the booking path in enough detail to test against your workflow. The rest leave the most expensive failure, a booking that never reaches the schedule, to be settled on a sales call.
Vendor profiles
Each profile separates what the vendor's page states from our read. Nothing below describes a live practice or a measured result; each profile rests on the page we opened.
Luma Health
Stated on the page: cancellations can come in by phone, SMS or patient portal and write back to the EHR, and schedule changes sync "in near-real-time." Offers go to waitlisted patients who match the canceled visit's type, length and provider, and staff can send them one patient at a time or first-come, first-served. A patient accepts by texting a confirmation, and the system can offer the slot to the next patient if someone declines. The page names no specific EHR systems and shows no price. Luma Health's waitlist fill rate: 95%, vendor-reported according to Luma Health (undated page). The page's other case-study figures come from clinics it does not name, so treat them as marketing.
Best fit: practices that want SMS offers with a documented write-back path and can confirm the named EHR during evaluation.
Limitations: no published price, no named EHR list on the page, and undated fill figures.
Implementation: ask for the connector scope for your EHR, the matching rules in writing, and a pilot on one visit type before you widen it.
Our read: among the six, this page describes the booking path most directly, but a web page is not a confirmation for your system.
NexHealth Waitlist
Stated on the page: the July 2023 update says the Waitlist reads open calendar slots for the next 7 days and shows them on the NexHealth dashboard. Staff requests suggest open slots, and patients can rebook through Online Booking from their Waitlist notification. The page says Online Booking "syncs directly to your health record system," but it does not say the Waitlist itself syncs. The pricing page says "Tell us about your practice to get a quote" and lists many named systems, a mix of dental, orthodontic and medical products.
Best fit: practices whose EHR is on the named list and that already use NexHealth online booking, so the notification-to-rebook path stays in one tool.
Limitations: the Waitlist page is dated 2023, Waitlist write-back is not stated, and the integration list does not say which systems support waitlist features.
Implementation: confirm in writing whether Waitlist bookings write back to your EHR, and map your visit types to the EHR's slot lengths.
Our read: NexHealth's developer documentation is the most specific about slot logic in this group, but the Waitlist sync question still needs a written answer.
Source pages: NexHealth's pricing page and NexHealth's July 2023 updates.
NextPatient
Stated on the page: a slot that opens sends a live link to a few patients at a time, which the page describes as "never a blast to your whole list." A built-in algorithm deprioritizes patients who repeatedly ignore offers, though the page does not say how priority is set. The EHR connects through an API, and "a confirmed move-up books back to your schedule in real time." The "Works with" section names AdvancedMD, athenahealth, Nextech, ModMed and NextGen. Automated Waitlist sits under add-on features, with the note "Service plan required. Additional fees apply."
Best fit: specialty practices on one of the five named EHRs that want offers sent a few at a time.
Limitations: the add-on sits on top of a service plan, the page does not explain two patients accepting the same opening, and the amounts on the plans page did not read cleanly in our check, so we did not use them.
Implementation: confirm the API route to your EHR and the service plan the add-on requires before you request a quote.
Our read: the offer logic is the most specific of the six, and add-on pricing is the least transparent part of the offer.
Source pages: NextPatient's automatic waitlist page and NextPatient's plans page.
Doctible EasyFill
Stated on the page: a cancellation triggers text or voice notices to waitlisted patients. The practice can let the first patient who accepts book automatically, or require office approval. The page says nothing reaches the EHR or PMS until the practice approves, and after approval the practice pushes the appointment to its system. The page names no specific EHR or PMS. The pricing page lists Launch, Build and Scale plans without amounts and places EasyFill in Build, while the EasyFill page says it is included in all Gold+ packages, so the package name needs confirming.
Best fit: practices that want office approval before any booking and can accept a manual step after approval.
Limitations: by the page's own description the write-back is manual, the plan names conflict, and no EHR names are published.
Implementation: confirm which package name applies and whether the EHR push is a staff task or a connector.
Our read: the most conservative design of the six. It suits offices that want approval on every booking and accept staff time as the cost of control.
Source pages: Doctible's EasyFill page and Doctible's pricing page.
Clearwave NextUp
Stated on the page: NextUp is described as a way to "fill canceled or rescheduled slots," to build and manage a waitlist, and to send appointment requests. The data sheet does not explain offer order, claim handling or EHR sync, and it links to a general PMS/EMR integrations page. It states no prices and no statistics, and it says NextUp works with Clearwave Scheduling.
Best fit: practices already running Clearwave Scheduling, which the data sheet names as the connected product.
Limitations: the data sheet leaves offer order, claim handling and sync undescribed, and no price is published.
Implementation: request written answers on offer order, claim rules and whether sync is real-time or batch before you compare it with the others.
Our read: a useful question list rather than a shortlist pick on the published evidence alone.
Source page: Clearwave's NextUp data sheet.
Phreesia Appointment Accelerator
Stated on the page: the feature starts when a slot opens, and the page contrasts this with practices where most slots stay open. It reaches eligible patients without staff effort, but it does not say how eligibility is set, which channel is used, or how a patient claims the slot. The page says Phreesia "integrates with leading practice management and EHR systems" without explaining how bookings write back. Phreesia claims open slots refill in under five minutes according to Phreesia (undated page). The same page also claims patients are seen up to 30 days sooner, which is a vendor claim we did not verify.
Best fit: practices already evaluating Phreesia for scheduling who want the offer step added to that stack.
Limitations: no price, no claim method and no write-back detail on the page, and the speed and sooner-care claims are vendor-reported.
Implementation: ask how an accepted offer writes back to your EHR, and how eligibility rules are set and reviewed by clinical staff.
Our read: one of the least documented products on the booking path, alongside Clearwave. It belongs on your list only if the vendor answers those questions in writing.
Pricing and total cost of ownership
Pricing checked October 21, 2026. None of the six vendors publishes a price we could confirm on the page we opened, so every row below reads Quote-based.
| Vendor | Plan or add-on named on the page | Public price on the page we opened | What to get in writing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Luma Health | Patient waitlist | Quote-based; no price shown on the page | Messaging fees, EHR connector scope, per-location terms |
| NexHealth | Waitlist within scheduling | Quote-based; page offers custom plans on request | Whether Waitlist sits in the base plan and whether write-back needs an add-on |
| NextPatient | Automated Waitlist add-on | Quote-based; add-on needs a service plan and "additional fees apply" | Service-plan tier and the add-on's cost |
| Doctible | EasyFill, in the Build package on the pricing page | Quote-based | Which package name applies, Build or Gold+ |
| Clearwave | NextUp | Quote-based | Sync model and offer messaging costs |
| Phreesia | Appointment Accelerator | Quote-based | Whether the feature is priced separately from scheduling |
The pricing pages we checked were NexHealth's pricing page, Doctible's pricing page and NextPatient's plans page. The true cost of any of these tools is rarely the headline plan. Ask for messaging volume, EHR connector fees, implementation hours and the staff time spent on approval steps, and build the total from those lines.
Texting rules and consent checks
The FCC released its order on July 10, 2015, according to Mintz (2015). Its healthcare provision exempts autodialed calls and texts from TCPA consent requirements when they have a healthcare treatment purpose and exigency, and the listed purposes start with appointment and exam confirmations and reminders. The same summary says messages must include an easy way to opt out of future messages.
A waitlist offer is different from a reminder. It invites a patient to take an opening rather than confirm an existing booking, so whether it fits the exemption is a legal question. Ask counsel before the first offer goes out. Separately, ask each vendor for a business associate agreement before it touches schedule data, and keep each text to the minimum needed: the date, the provider, the location and how to reply.
DIY versus buying: Zapier, Make and n8n
Zapier, Make and n8n are the realistic alternative for a practice with a technical owner. Configured well, they can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence. The buyer still designs and owns observability, idempotency so one slot is never booked twice, escalation when a write fails, access controls over patient data, and maintenance when the EHR's API changes. A proposed US Tech Automations configuration would put those controls into the workflow itself: a slot re-check before each booking, a named approver for each batch, an audit row per offer, and an escalation queue for failed writes. This describes a proposed design, not a deployment. Its prerequisites are the same as any build: schedule access through the EHR API or an export, a messaging provider under a business associate agreement, and a sandbox test before live use.
Who should choose which vendor
| Vendor | Choose it if | Pass on it if |
|---|---|---|
| Luma Health | You want SMS offers with a documented write-back path and can confirm your EHR in writing | Your EHR is not confirmed by name, or you need a published price before budgeting |
| NexHealth | Your EHR is on the named list and you already use NexHealth online booking | Waitlist write-back stays unanswered in writing |
| NextPatient | You run one of the five named EHRs and accept an add-on fee on top of a service plan | Your EHR is not in the named list, or you need a fixed price before you can budget |
| Doctible EasyFill | You want office approval before any booking and can accept a manual push | You need automatic write-back and no EHR names are confirmed |
| Clearwave NextUp | You already run Clearwave Scheduling and can get written answers on sync and offer order | Offer order and claim handling stay undescribed after your questions |
| Phreesia Appointment Accelerator | You already evaluate Phreesia for scheduling and can confirm write-back in writing | Write-back and claim handling stay undescribed after your questions |
The meaningful disqualifiers are specific. A vendor with no written answer on write-back is out, and so is one that cannot name a match for your EHR. A workflow that offers a slot where a visit type needs clinical review, with no approver in the loop, is out too, as is any add-on fee you cannot see in writing. Speed claims are not comparable across vendors: NexHealth says most Waitlist slots fill within 20 minutes according to NexHealth (2023), a figure from a 2023 page. If you run a dental office, the dental cancellation waitlist guide covers the dental version of this workflow.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip a managed workflow if your EHR's built-in waitlist already writes back and you handle only a few cancellations a week, because a manual call list is simpler. Skip it if your only need is reminders, which a reminder-only product covers with less setup. Skip it if no one on your team can own the workflow after go-live, because a packaged vendor waitlist has less to maintain. If the bigger gap is recurring membership billing rather than open chairs, the in-house membership platform guide covers that problem.
Decision checklist
Name your EHR and version, and ask the vendor to confirm the integration in writing.
Ask what happens to the schedule when an accepted offer arrives, and whether the booking writes back without re-entry.
Ask how two patients who accept the same slot are handled.
Ask who receives the first offer, and whether offers go one at a time or to several at once.
Confirm the text wording, consent language and opt-out handling.
Request a line-item quote that covers add-ons, messaging and any connector fees.
Ask for a business associate agreement and a sandbox test before go-live.
Frequently asked questions
Is appointment backfill EHR software the same as a reminder tool?
No. A reminder tool confirms a booking that already exists, while backfill offers an open slot to waitlisted patients and then has to record the accepted booking in the schedule.
Do these vendors write accepted bookings back to the EHR automatically?
Not all of them. Luma Health and NextPatient describe automatic write-back, Doctible describes a manual push after approval, and the pages for NexHealth Waitlist, Clearwave NextUp and Phreesia Appointment Accelerator do not settle the question.
Can I see prices before talking to a vendor?
Not for these six. None publishes a price we could confirm on the page we opened, so the practical step is a written quote with add-ons spelled out.
How do these tools stop two patients from taking one slot?
The pages we opened mostly do not say. NextPatient describes sending offers to a few patients at a time, and Luma Health describes one-at-a-time or first-come settings, but neither page fully explains a near-simultaneous double acceptance, so ask for that rule in writing.
Does the FCC healthcare exemption cover a waitlist text?
The 2015 order covers exigent healthcare treatment messages such as appointment reminders, but whether a waitlist offer fits that exemption is a legal question, so answer it with counsel before you send.
Next steps
Shortlist two vendors whose written answers on write-back, named EHR and offer rules match your schedule, then request line-item quotes and check them against the list above. If you want to see how a configured design would handle your own approval and re-check steps, see how US Tech Automations configures this.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.