Best AI Scribe Software for Physicians: 7 Options for 2027
Pick the category first: self-serve or sales-led
An AI scribe listens to a patient visit and drafts the clinical note, and the clinician reviews, edits, and signs it before it enters the record. Before you compare brands, decide which category you are buying from: a self-serve plan with printed prices that one clinician can start this week, or a sales-led contract built around an EHR rollout. Adoption is no longer the open question, since Physician AI use: 81% in 2026 according to AMA (2026), up from 38% in 2023.
TL;DR: For one to a few clinicians who need a written price soon, start with a self-serve plan and make the BAA the first item you check. Go sales-led only when you need an EHR-embedded rollout across many users, and expect a contract conversation either way.
Key Takeaways
Only two vendors we reviewed print plan prices on their own pricing pages, and both offer a free trial or a free tier.
Only Twofold's pricing page states a signed BAA on a plan, so for every other vendor, get the BAA in writing before any patient data reaches the tool.
Nabla, Suki, Microsoft Dragon Copilot, and Abridge publish no price on the pages we opened, so their costs have to come from a quote.
The strongest public evidence is observational: a before-and-after study with no control group.
A scribe drafts notes. Routing, review queues, and follow-up need a separate layer, with its own BAA and access questions.
Re-check each vendor page on the day you sign, because printed plans can change.
How we evaluated these tools
We did not run these products, and we did not measure note accuracy. Instead, we scored each vendor only on what its own product or pricing page states, then checked the key claims against independent sources and primary HIPAA text. The weights below are our analysis, not vendor data, and each criterion sets a minimum score a vendor must reach to stay in contention.
| Criterion | Weight | Minimum score (of 5) | Why it carries this weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Written HIPAA terms, including a BAA | 25% | 4 | No patient data should reach a tool without a signed contract |
| Clinician review and sign-off built in | 20% | 3 | A scribe drafts, and the clinician stays responsible for the signed note |
| A price you can read on a vendor page | 15% | 3 | Budgets need a number in writing |
| EHR and billing integration stated | 15% | 3 | Notes that cannot reach the chart add copy-paste work |
| Fit for a small practice (seats, trial, self-serve start) | 15% | 3 | Owners need to start without a long contract |
| Coding and admin support stated | 10% | 2 | Useful, but a lower-stakes add-on for most small practices |
The BAA carries the most weight for a reason. HIPAA requires written terms before a business associate handles protected health information, and the required contract terms are specific: according to Cornell Law School LII, the contract must cover permitted uses, safeguards, breach reporting, subcontractor flow-down, and return or destruction of PHI when the contract ends.
What each vendor page states
This matrix records what each vendor's page said when we opened it on the research date. "Not stated" means the page does not say, not that the feature is absent, so ask every vendor for the same details in writing.
| Vendor | Printed price on vendor page | Free tier or trial | BAA stated on page | EHR integration stated | Coding stated | Buyer the page targets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Freed | Yes, two unlabeled figures per paid plan | 7-day trial, no card | Not in plan details; FAQ says HIPAA-compliant | Premier: EHR push integration | Premier: ICD-10 and CPT | Solo clinicians to groups |
| Heidi Health | No; Clinician and Teams say "Talk to us" | Free plan; Clinician free trial | Not mentioned | Teams: custom; Free: none | Free: limited usage | Individuals, teams, and EHR partners |
| Twofold | Yes | Free card; 7 days, no card | Yes: "Signed BAA included" on Personal | "Works with any EHR" | Not listed | Individual clinicians and small groups |
| Nabla | No | "Try it for free" | Not on page | Dictation built into Epic and other major EHRs | E/M and ICD-10 suggestions for clinician review | Health organizations |
| Suki | No | Not listed | Not on page | Not listed; Epic named only as a trademark | "Assisted Revenue Cycle" heading only | Sales-led; buyer size not stated |
| Microsoft Dragon Copilot | No; "Contact us to learn how" | Not listed | Not on page | Not stated on page | Not stated on page | Clinicians and healthcare organizations |
| Abridge | No | Not listed | Not on page | Contact form lists EMR choices | Not stated on page | Health systems |
Pricing checked against vendor pages
Pricing checked October 26, 2026. Freed's pricing page prints two figures for each paid plan, both followed by "/mo", and it does not say which applies: Starter shows $59 and $39, Core shows $59 and $79, and Premier shows $119 and $104, according to Freed (2026). The same page advertises a 7-day free trial with no card needed, so ask which figure applies before that trial ends.
Heidi's pricing page lists a Free plan with a free seat, and it offers the Clinician plan with a free trial of 14 days, according to Heidi Health (2026). Its Clinician and Teams prices read "Talk to us," so Heidi's paid pricing is quote-based on the page.
Twofold's pricing page is the most explicit about the first month. Introductory offer: $19 for the first month according to Twofold (2026). The Personal card also prints "Was $69/mo," and the page does not state the rate after the first month, so get that figure in writing before you budget past it.
Nabla's page offers a "Try it for free" path and prints no tier price. Suki's and Abridge's pages show no price and route buyers to a sales form, and Microsoft's clinical-workflow page says "Contact us to learn how" with no per-user price. Third-party reseller listings quote figures for these products, but they conflict with one another and with the vendor pages, so we print none of them.
Published prices and trials, as printed on the vendor pages cited above:
| Vendor | Plan | Price as printed | Free trial or free tier |
|---|---|---|---|
| Freed | Starter | $59 and $39, unlabeled | 7-day trial |
| Freed | Premier | $119 and $104, unlabeled | 7-day trial |
| Twofold | Free | $0 per month | 7 days, no card |
| Twofold | Personal | $19 for first month; "Was $69/mo" printed | 7 days, then $19 for the first month |
Vendors without a published price, shown as Quote-based or not published:
| Vendor | Plan or tier | Public price | Trial or free tier |
|---|---|---|---|
| Heidi Health | Clinician | Quote-based ("Talk to us") | 14 days free |
| Heidi Health | Free | No price shown | Free plan with a free seat |
| Freed | Groups | Quote-based | Not listed |
| Nabla | Tiers not named | Not published | "Try it for free" |
| Suki | Not named | Quote-based | Not listed |
| Microsoft Dragon Copilot | Not named | Quote-based | Not listed |
| Abridge | Not named | Quote-based | Not listed |
Vendor profiles
Freed
Vendor page says: Starter is for one clinician with a cap on monthly notes. Core adds unlimited notes, a template builder, and clinical evidence answers. Premier adds visit summaries, letters, dictation, ICD-10 and CPT coding, and EHR push integration. Groups is custom-priced and adds SSO, admin dashboards, and a dedicated account manager.
Best fit: a solo clinician or small clinic that wants a self-serve start and an EHR push option at the Premier tier.
Limitations: the page prints two figures per plan without labels, the Starter tier caps notes, and no BAA appears in the plan details. Its FAQ says Freed is HIPAA-compliant, which is not the same as a signed BAA.
Implementation: start the trial with no patient data, ask for the BAA in writing, then have your EHR administrator confirm which fields EHR push writes on Premier.
Who should choose it: a practice that wants printed plan names and can complete a written BAA step before go-live.
Heidi Health
Vendor page says: the Free plan includes unlimited transcription and standard templates, with coding and advanced templates on limited usage, and it has no EHR integration. Clinician offers a free trial and routes pricing to sales. Teams is a custom seat mix with SSO and EHR integration. Heidi's developer page describes a widget for web-based EHRs and an API for partners.
Best fit: an individual clinician who wants to try a no-cost plan before any contract.
Limitations: the Free plan has no EHR integration, paid pricing is quote-based, and the pricing page does not mention a BAA.
Implementation: use the Free plan only after a BAA covers any patient data. For Teams, ask in writing for SSO and EHR integration scope.
Who should choose it: a clinician who wants to test documentation before a practice-wide decision, once the BAA question is settled.
Twofold
Vendor page says: the Free card lists no charge, unlimited notes, "Works with any EHR," and a free trial with no card. The Personal card offers a first month at a reduced rate after a free week, and it states "Signed BAA included." Group pricing is custom. Twofold's FAQ says a BAA is included for every account.
Best fit: a single clinician or very small practice that wants a signed BAA stated on the plan and a low-friction first month.
Limitations: the ongoing Personal rate is not on the page, "Works with any EHR" is a general claim rather than a documented integration, and group pricing is custom.
Implementation: request the signed BAA and confirm your EHR can receive pasted or exported notes before you pay past the first month.
Who should choose it: a small practice that wants a low-friction start and will confirm the ongoing rate in writing.
Nabla
Vendor page says: the site describes ambient documentation, dictation built into Epic and other major EHRs, E/M and ICD-10 code suggestions for clinician review, and Nabla Connect and an API for partners. It offers "Try it for free" and a "Talk to our sales team" path for organizations.
Best fit: a health system or large group with an Epic environment that wants embedded dictation and coding suggestions and will negotiate a contract.
Limitations: no price is published, and the page names no practice-sized buyer.
Implementation: if you plan a custom workflow, confirm API access terms and which data the API exposes before you sign.
Red flag: a trial that starts with patient data before a written BAA exists.
Suki
Vendor page says: the products are Ambient Documentation (notes, patient instructions, and orders), Suki Dictation, Suki for Clinicians (from pre-charting through documentation and clinical reasoning), and Suki for Partners. "Assisted Revenue Cycle" and "Clinical Reasoning" appear only as headings. The contact form routes to sales, and the page links a Trust Portal.
Best fit: a practice that wants ambient documentation and dictation from one vendor and expects to negotiate.
Limitations: no price is shown, and the revenue-cycle and reasoning features are described only by heading, so ask for a written feature list.
Implementation: use the Trust Portal to request security documentation as part of your BAA review.
Who should choose it: an organization that prefers one vendor for documentation and dictation and expects a procurement process.
Microsoft Dragon Copilot
Vendor page says: Dragon Copilot turns patient visits into clinical documentation with less manual typing. The page includes a migration path for existing Dragon Medical One customers and a "Contact us to learn how" call to action. Its customer examples are health systems. According to Microsoft, the page cites a survey of 879 clinicians across 340 healthcare organizations using DAX Copilot, and that figure is vendor-reported.
Best fit: a practice already on Dragon Medical One, or an organization that can buy through Microsoft or a reseller.
Limitations: the page has no price, reseller listings conflict, and the outcome figure comes from the vendor.
Implementation: ask whether the license comes through a Microsoft account team or a reseller, and what the BAA covers.
Who should choose it: an organization with existing Microsoft or Dragon contracts.
Abridge
Vendor page says: the homepage describes an enterprise AI platform for health systems. The contact form asks for the EMR, the buyer's role, and a physician-count band, and the page shows no price. According to Yale Medicine (2025), the scribe in the study was "developed by the company Abridge."
Best fit: health systems with an Epic environment and a sales-led rollout.
Limitations: there is no self-serve path and no published price, so a small practice buyer will spend time in a sales process.
Implementation: plan an IT-led project with your EHR team and complete a BAA review before any pilot.
Who should choose it: health systems and large groups rather than an office with a few clinicians.
Who this is for
This is for owners and operations leads at small healthcare businesses who are close to choosing and need contract terms and a written price before anyone records a visit. A one-clinician practice, a multi-site group, and a health system are different buyers, so match the category first.
Red flags: no written BAA before patient audio or PHI reaches the tool; a price you cannot get in writing; and an EHR integration that exists only in a sales demo.
Decision checklist
Before you sign, check these five items:
A signed BAA covers the scribe and every subprocessor it uses, and you have a copy on file.
The monthly price for your exact seat count is in writing, including what happens after any first-month offer.
The EHR fields the tool writes are named, and you know whether it writes into the chart or only pastes text.
A clinician signs every note, and nothing sends or signs automatically.
A named person owns access reviews, seat changes, and cancellation.
Where the documentation time goes
The scribe handles drafting, but the work around the note is still manual: routing drafts to a clinician, checking for missing sections, and creating follow-up tasks. The evidence on drafting is encouraging but limited. Burnout: 51.9% to 38.8% in 30 days according to Yale Medicine (2025). That study surveyed 263 physicians at six U.S. health systems before and after 30 days of use, and the article describes no control group, so read it as a signal rather than proof of effect.
A proposed US Tech Automations workflow would sit after the note is drafted. The trigger is the scribe marking a note draft-ready, delivered through the vendor's API or an approved export path. The action routes the draft to the clinician's review queue and checks for gaps, such as an unsigned attestation or an empty plan section. The output is a staff task with a link to the note and a list of gaps. The human review point is the clinician, who signs; the workflow does not sign, send, or bill anything. The prerequisites are API or secure export access from the scribe, a BAA covering every system the note passes through, and an EHR login or file path that staff can reach.
A second proposed design handles patient instructions. The trigger is a clinician signing a note that contains an instructions section. The action creates a draft after-visit summary from that section and places it in a staff outbox in the patient portal. The output is a message that staff can approve or edit. The human review points are the clinician's approval of clinical content and a staff check of the recipient before anything is sent. The prerequisites are portal or EHR API access, a patient-communication policy your compliance lead has reviewed, and confirmation that the portal vendor will sign a BAA.
Worked example for a four-clinician practice
Take a four-clinician practice considering the Premier plan on Freed, which lists EHR push integration. The page prints $119 and $104 for Premier according to Freed (2026), so we use $119 as the ceiling: four seats at $119 come to $476 a month, or $5,712 a year, and at $104 they come to $416 a month, a $60 monthly gap. Next, assume each clinician spends 30 minutes a day on after-hours charting across 20 clinic days, which is an illustrative input to replace with your own count. That is 40 hours a month for the group (4 × 0.5 hours × 20 days). If drafting plus routing recovered 25% of that time, the group would reclaim 10 hours a month, but that 25% is a hypothesis, not a measured result, and the owner must weigh $476 a month against 10 hours of clinician time at a value only the practice can set. On the workflow side, if the practice used HubSpot as its patient-outreach CRM, a proposed follow-up step would subscribe to contact.propertyChange events, which carry the new value of a changed property, and create a staff task for recall outreach; per HubSpot's webhook guide, that subscription type exists, and the practice must confirm HubSpot's BAA terms for its plan before any patient data goes there.
Zapier, Make, n8n, or your own code
Many small practices will try to stitch this together themselves. Zapier, Make, and n8n can route triggers, branch on conditions, send alerts, and keep run histories with retries when you configure them. What they do not do is decide the hard parts for you: you must design idempotency so a repeated event does not create two tasks, set escalation when a step fails, assign access controls for PHI, and maintain the connectors when a vendor changes its API. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure approval gates, role-based review queues, and failure alerts per workflow, but it still needs a BAA review, an IT access review, and a named owner for each failure path. Choose the DIY route if one staff member can own those duties indefinitely; choose a configured workflow if no one can.
Common mistakes
Treating a first-month offer as the price, when the ongoing rate may not be printed anywhere.
Starting a trial with patient data before the BAA is signed.
Reading "works with any EHR" as write-back into the chart.
Buying seats only for clinicians and forgetting medical assistants or staff who need access; Freed's Groups plan includes Medical Assistant users, so check who needs a seat.
Letting a scribe send or sign anything without a clinician check.
Which tool fits which situation
This table is our analysis of the vendor pages, not a ranking.
| If you are | Start with | Why |
|---|---|---|
| One clinician who needs a clear first-month price | Twofold (Personal) | The page prints a Free card and a first-month offer, and states a signed BAA on Personal |
| One to a few clinicians who want printed plan names and EHR push | Freed (Premier) | The page lists EHR push integration and coding on Premier; confirm the BAA in writing |
| A clinician who wants a no-cost start before any contract | Heidi Health (Free) | The Free plan is named; confirm a BAA before any patient data |
| An Epic group that wants embedded dictation and coding suggestions | Nabla | The page lists Epic dictation and E/M and ICD-10 suggestions; sales-led |
| A group that wants ambient and dictation from one vendor | Suki | The page lists ambient documentation and dictation; sales-led |
| A practice already on Dragon Medical One | Microsoft Dragon Copilot | The page describes a migration path; quote through Microsoft or a reseller |
| A health system with an Epic rollout | Abridge | The homepage addresses health systems; sales-led |
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a BAA before a scribe records a visit?
Yes, get a signed business associate agreement before any protected health information reaches the tool. The regulation lists what the contract must cover, so check each item against the vendor's paperwork.
Which AI scribes offer a free option?
Heidi Health and Twofold both publish a free tier, Freed and Twofold offer free trials, and Nabla offers a "Try it for free" path without printed tier prices. Free terms change, so confirm the limits and BAA status before loading patient data.
Does AI scribing reduce clinician burnout?
The best-known study we found reports lower burnout after 30 days, but its before-and-after design has no control group, so it supports a trial rather than a promise. Measure burnout and after-hours charting in your own practice before and after go-live.
Should a small practice buy Abridge first?
Usually not as a first purchase: the vendor's homepage addresses health systems, and its contact form routes buyers into a sales process. A few clinicians will get more from a self-serve plan with a written BAA.
Do I need a workflow tool on top of a scribe?
Often no. A scribe alone is the simpler choice when you only need a note draft and your staff can review it inside the EHR. When NOT to use US Tech Automations: a self-serve plan from Twofold or Freed is simpler if you have one clinician and no downstream routing; if your EHR's own ambient feature already drafts and routes notes, a separate layer duplicates that work; and if no one in your office can own access reviews and alerts, a configured workflow will be hard to supervise.
Next steps before you sign
Start with the BAA, then get the price for your exact seat count in writing, then run a short trial that uses no patient data until the agreement is signed. If your gap is the routing and follow-up around the note rather than the drafting itself, see how US Tech Automations configures this, and compare that design against the DIY option above. If your office is in financial advising rather than clinical care, our meeting notetaker guide for financial advisors covers a different buyer and decision.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.