Skip to content
AI & Automation

6 Best Bookkeeper Bank Statement Conversion Tools 2027

Oct 31, 2026

Key Takeaways

  • A bank statement conversion tool turns a statement file into rows you can review and import. Decide whether you need that, or a platform that also collects documents and posts entries, before you compare brands.

  • Five of the six products here publish plan prices on their pricing pages. Docsumo's paid tiers are Quote-based, so its real cost cannot be read from the public page.

  • Volume changes the cost picture more than list price does. The same month of statements can fit one vendor's entry plan and force another vendor onto a higher tier.

  • Hubdoc's documented statement extraction covers digital PDFs from supported US and Canadian banks, not scans, so check how your clients send statements before you shortlist it.

  • No tool here removes the review step. Test the shortlist on your own client statements, including scans and your messiest month.

Start with the category decision

A bank statement conversion tool reads a bank or credit card statement you already have and returns its transactions as rows in Excel, CSV, or a QuickBooks or Xero import file. A bank feed works differently: it connects to the bank and pulls transactions on its own schedule, so no statement file is involved.

TL;DR: If your clients send PDFs and you need clean rows for review this month, buy a converter. If you also need documents collected, filed and matched to bills, look at a document platform and budget for the wider scope.

The category question comes first because it sets the cost model. Converters are usually priced per page, so your bill follows your statement volume. Document platforms add seats, setup and approval steps, which can be worth it if manual document chasing is the bigger drain. Several products below sit on both sides of that line, so read the feature matrix against your own workflow.

Who this is for

This guide is for owners and operations leads at small accounting practices who convert client bank statements by hand or in a spreadsheet and are close to choosing a tool. It is not written for firms whose practice-management suite already imports every client's transactions through a native bank feed, because those firms should first check what the suite already does.

Red flags: most of your statements are scanned photos you have not sampled; no one on your team will check converted rows against the statement's opening and closing balances; or you expect a tool to post entries to the ledger with no review step at all.

How we evaluated these tools

This is an informed buyer's guide built from public information. We read each vendor's pricing page and product or help pages, plus Intuit's QuickBooks help article, Xero's post on importing transaction data, and CPA Practice Advisor coverage. Nothing here is a hands-on result, and we did not run any product on client files. The weights below are our judgment about what matters to a small bookkeeping practice, not a vendor score.

CriterionWeightWhy it matters to this reader
Output fit with your ledger (Excel, CSV, QBO, Xero)25%A file that imports cleanly saves more time than one that needs reformatting.
Digital and scanned statement handling15%Scans carry more extraction risk, so a product should say what it reads.
Review and reconciliation controls20%Tie-outs to printed balances and exception queues decide how much rework remains.
Published price at your page volume20%A price you can check on a public page makes a first decision faster.
Integration path (direct push, API, webhooks)10%Decides whether you stay in manual uploads or can automate later.
Fit for a team without developers10%Some products expect engineers to build and maintain the pipeline.

The weights total 100%. We did not collapse them into a single score, because several vendors publish too little to score evenly. Where a page is silent, the matrix says "Not stated" rather than assuming the feature exists.

Feature matrix at a glance

The matrix records what the pages we opened say. "Not stated" means the page did not mention the feature, not that the product lacks it. For the QuickBooks path, Intuit's help article sets the hard limits: Upload cap: 1,000 lines, 350 KB per file according to Intuit (2026). Longer statements therefore need splitting by date range before import.

FeatureDocuClipperBankScanProDext PrepareHubdocAutoEntryDocsumo
Digital PDF statementsYesNot statedNot statedYes, supported banksNot statedYes
Scanned statementsYes, OCRNot statedNot statedNoNot statedYes
Excel or CSV outputYesYesNot statedCSV uploadNot statedNot named
QuickBooks QBO outputYesYesNot statedNot statedNamed as destinationNot named
Xero outputDirect pushNot statedNot statedXero productNamed as destinationNot named
API or webhooksYes, documentedEnterprise tier, quote-basedNot statedNot statedNot statedYes
Review step describedFlags periods that fail tie-outValidated extraction with review flagsAI Assist suggestions onlyNot statedUser chooses categoriesReview queue for unsure fields
Free startNot statedOne-page free previewFree allowance on base planFree trialNot statedFree trial

Read the matrix by workflow rather than by checkmark. DocuClipper's pages are the most explicit about the bank-statement path: digital and scanned input, Excel, CSV and QBO outputs, a direct push to QuickBooks Online and Xero, and a documented webhook. BankScanPro's pricing page confirms CSV, Excel and QBO exports, but the pages we opened do not say how it handles scanned statements. Hubdoc is the Xero-linked option, and its documented extraction is limited to digital PDFs that produce a CSV you upload yourself.

What it costs at your volume

Pricing checked October 28, 2026. Each plan figure below is read from the vendor's own pricing page, and where a vendor publishes no price we say Quote-based.

The Starter plan on DocuClipper costs $20.30 a month for 60 pages, Business costs $111.30 for 640 pages, and Enterprise costs $279.30 for 1,800 pages, according to DocuClipper.

On BankScanPro, the Starter plan costs $19.00 a month for 200 pages and the Pro plan costs $75.00 for 3,000 pages, while Enterprise and API pricing is Quote-based, according to BankScanPro.

The base plan on Dext costs $302.50 billed annually, which the page shows as $25.21 a month for five users and 250 documents with 10 bank statement sheets included, and its extraction add-on starts at a $13.00 monthly bundle, according to Dext.

Hubdoc's standalone plan costs $12 a month after a free 30-day trial with no credit card required, according to Hubdoc.

On AutoEntry, the Bronze plan costs $13 a month for 50 credits and the Diamond plan costs $298 for 1,500 credits, excluding VAT, with pricing above 2,500 credits Quote-based, according to AutoEntry.

Docsumo offers a 14-day free trial covering up to 1,000 pages, and its Business and Enterprise tiers are Quote-based, according to Docsumo.

VendorPlanMonthly priceAllowanceNotes
DocuClipperStarter$20.3060 pages/monthIncludes API access
DocuClipperBusiness$111.30640 pages/monthAdds audit logs and team management
DocuClipperEnterprise$279.301,800 pages/monthAdds SAML single sign-on
BankScanProStarter$19.00200 pages/monthRollover while active
BankScanProPro$75.003,000 pages/monthRollover while active
BankScanProEnterprise and APIQuote-basedNot statedHandled by sales
Dext PrepareBase plan$25.21 (or $302.50 a year)250 documents/month, 5 users10 bank statement sheets included
Dext PrepareExtraction add-onFrom $13.00 bundleNot statedPay-as-you-go is $0.32 per document
HubdocStandalone$12Not stated30-day free trial
AutoEntryBronze$1350 credits/monthExcludes VAT; 3 credits per statement page
AutoEntryDiamond$2981,500 credits/monthExcludes VAT
AutoEntryAbove 2,500 creditsQuote-basedNot statedHandled by sales
DocsumoBusiness and EnterpriseQuote-basedPriced on pages processedFree trial covers up to 1,000 pages

The table repeats figures from the sentences above. Per-page arithmetic in this section is ours.

Here is an illustrative case, not a customer: a bookkeeper with 25 client accounts, each sending one statement of 8 pages a month, handles 25 × 1 × 8 = 200 pages a month. The Starter plan on BankScanPro covers 200 pages for $19.00, or about $0.095 per page at full use. DocuClipper's Starter allowance is 60 pages, so the same month needs a higher tier, and the one that covers 200 pages is the tier that allows 640 pages, sold as Business plan: 640 pages a month for $111.30 according to DocuClipper (2026), or about $0.17 per allowed page at full use. The Starter plan on DocuClipper includes API access, so a proposed configuration could listen for the bank_statement.extraction.completed event, which the webhook reference describes as firing when a bank-statement extraction job succeeds, and route that period to a reviewer. Only successfully extracted pages count toward DocuClipper's allowance, so treat the 200-page figure as a planning estimate.

VendorPlan that covers 200 pagesMonthly pricePages includedPrice per included page
BankScanProStarter$19.00200$0.095
DocuClipperBusiness$111.30640$0.17
AutoEntryDiamond$298500$0.60

AutoEntry charges 3 credits per bank statement page, so 200 pages need 600 credits. Its Platinum tier has 500 credits, which falls short, so the Diamond tier applies, and its 1,500 credits cover 500 pages. Dext is not calculated here: its page does not define the unit that the $0.32 pay-as-you-go rate applies to, so a per-statement cost cannot be derived from the page.

Vendor profiles

Each profile separates what the vendor publishes from our read of the fit. Prices sit in the section above, so the profiles cover product scope, limits, implementation and the pages we opened.

DocuClipper

Facts: The pricing page describes bank and credit card statements going to QuickBooks, Xero or Excel, with API access on every tier including Starter. Its webhook reference lists bank_statement.extraction.completed and document.extraction.completed, and it names the X-DocuClipper-Signature header on each delivery.

Best fit: a practice converting many digital and scanned statements that wants a direct push into QuickBooks Online or Xero now and a path to automation later.

Limitations: The Starter allowance of 60 pages a month is small for a multi-client practice, and the page does not clearly say whether the headline prices assume monthly or annual billing, so confirm the billing cycle before subscribing. The Business tier is the first to add audit logs and team management, which some firms need from day one.

Implementation: Run one month of statements through the upload path, compare the output against printed balances, and only then enable webhooks. The prerequisites are API access on your plan and a receiving endpoint that verifies the signature header. Human review point: any period the product flags before export.

Evidence: DocuClipper's webhook reference and DocuClipper's pricing page.

BankScanPro

Facts: The pricing page lists a one-page free preview, a Starter plan for 200 pages a month, a Pro plan for 3,000 pages a month, and one-time page packs that do not expire. The monthly plans export CSV, Excel and QuickBooks QBO files.

Best fit: a low-volume practice that wants to test a tool on a free preview and pay as pages come in, or a seasonal firm that prefers packs it can hold for busy months.

Limitations: The pages we opened do not say how scanned statements are handled or whether Xero is supported, and they describe review only as validated extraction with review flags. Enterprise and API access are Quote-based, so an automation path is not priced publicly.

Implementation: Upload statements, export CSV, Excel or QBO, and check the output against the printed balances before import. You are the review step, so budget the time for it.

Evidence: BankScanPro's pricing page.

Dext Prepare

Facts: Dext's US page shows one base Prepare plan with bank statement extraction sold as an add-on. The pay-as-you-go rate is Pay-as-you-go: $0.32 per document, extraction add-on according to Dext (2026). CPA Practice Advisor reported in March 2026 that Dext's AI Assist suggestions "can be reviewed, refined or rejected before it is applied," per the CPA Practice Advisor article on AI Assist.

Best fit: a practice already using Dext for receipts and bills that wants bank statements in the same system.

Limitations: The page does not define what counts as a bank-statement sheet or a document for pay-as-you-go pricing, so the per-statement cost cannot be calculated from it. The AI Assist article covers categorization suggestions, not statement-extraction accuracy, so do not read it as an extraction benchmark.

Implementation: Get the unit definition and the bundle's allowance from Dext in writing before you model costs. Human review point: the accountant approves or rejects each AI Assist suggestion before it applies.

Evidence: Dext's US pricing page and the CPA Practice Advisor article.

Hubdoc

Facts: Hubdoc's pricing page lists a standalone plan with a free 30-day trial, and it says the product automatically extracts key data from bank statements along with bills, invoices and receipts. Xero's post on importing transaction data says statement extraction converts digital PDFs from supported Canadian and US banks into a CSV you upload, and that it is included with Hubdoc subscriptions. That post is dated 2022 and was updated in 2023. Hubdoc is a Xero product, and CPA Practice Advisor reported Xero's acquisition of it in 2018 in its August 2018 article.

Best fit: Xero users who want document capture next to their ledger and who mainly receive digital PDFs from supported banks.

Limitations: By the post's own account, photos and scans do not work. The pages we opened do not confirm current automatic-retrieval coverage for each bank, and the feature descriptions differ across sources, so treat automatic pulls as unconfirmed until Hubdoc confirms them for your accounts.

Implementation: Confirm coverage for each client's bank, download the digital PDFs, and upload the CSV. Human review point: check the totals against the printed statement before import.

Evidence: Xero's post on importing transaction data and Hubdoc's pricing page.

AutoEntry

Facts: AutoEntry's pricing page lists credit tiers excluding VAT, with statements costing 3 credits per page. The page names Sage, Xero and QuickBooks as destinations, plus FreeAgent, KashFlow, SortMyBooks and ClearBooks. Its VAT reporting and trial-balance add-on are written for UK and Irish accountants.

Best fit: UK or Irish practices that handle VAT work and want categories and VAT grouping built in.

Limitations: For a US practice, the VAT and UK ledger references make it a weaker fit. The pages we opened do not name Excel output, and they do not say whether a person checks extracted data before it posts.

Implementation: Convert your monthly page count to credits (pages × 3) before you choose a tier, as the table above shows. Human review point: the user chooses the categories and VAT codes.

Evidence: AutoEntry's pricing page.

Docsumo

Facts: Docsumo's bank statement page says it handles digital and scanned statements from any bank, accepts intake by email, upload or API, and delivers structured data as JSON via webhook. It describes a review queue for fields the model is unsure about, and an audit log of reviews and approvals.

Best fit: a team building document intake for lending, underwriting or a data warehouse, where structured JSON output and an API matter more than a bookkeeping file.

Limitations: The bank statement page does not name Excel, CSV or QuickBooks outputs, so a bookkeeping path would need to be built. Its examples point to borrower uploads and loan systems, so a small bookkeeping team will find the setup heavier than the other products here.

Implementation: Use the free trial to send real files through the API and compare the JSON fields against the statement. Human review point: the review queue for low-confidence fields.

Evidence: Docsumo's bank statement parser page and Docsumo's pricing page.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: if you convert a few statements a month, a per-page tool such as BankScanPro's Starter plan is simpler to test and cheaper to start with. If your clients send digital PDFs and you only need an import file, QuickBooks' own upload or Xero's import is enough. And if no one on your team can review flagged periods, no workflow will replace that check, so a manual tool is the honest choice.

Where review goes wrong

Review is the step where most statement conversion goes wrong, and it is where a configured workflow earns its place. Extraction does not finish the job, because someone still has to decide whether a period is right.

A proposed US Tech Automations design, which would be configured for your practice rather than already running for anyone, works like this. The trigger is a new statement arriving in a client folder or inbox. The action submits the file to the extraction tool's API and waits for its completion event. The output is a period-level set of rows, flagged when the extracted transactions do not add up from the printed opening balance to the printed closing balance. The human review point is the flagged periods: a named reviewer approves or corrects them before the rows are written to a QuickBooks or Excel import file. The prerequisites are API access on the extraction plan, an endpoint that verifies the vendor's signature header, and a named reviewer for each client.

The workflow should never approve a flagged period on its own. Keep the approval visible in an audit log that records who approved what, and have the reviewer check figures against the statement itself, not against the extractor's confidence alone.

Stitching it together yourself

The alternative many firms reach for is Zapier, Make or n8n connected to an extraction API. Configured well, those tools keep run histories, support retries and error branches, and can produce audit evidence. What they do not provide is the design: you have to decide how a duplicate webhook is ignored so the same transactions are not posted twice, who is alerted when a period fails, who may see client statements, and who maintains the flow when a bank changes its statement layout.

A proposed US Tech Automations build would configure the same pieces as a single workflow, and it would still need your inputs: an extraction tool with API access, a QuickBooks Online or Xero account with an import path, a named reviewer for failed periods, and a decision about where statements are stored. Keep the human checkpoint in place. The workflow can route a flagged period to a person, but it should not approve one automatically.

Common mistakes

  • Comparing allowances as if pages, credits and documents mean the same thing. DocuClipper counts successfully extracted pages, BankScanPro uses monthly pages with rollover, and AutoEntry charges credits per statement page.

  • Assuming scanned statements will convert like digital PDFs. Hubdoc's documented extraction is digital-only.

  • Skipping the balance check because the output looks clean.

  • Buying an entry tier that sits below your monthly page count and planning around it.

  • Assuming automatic statement retrieval still runs. Confirm current bank coverage for each account in writing.

Glossary

  • Bank feed: a live connection that pulls transactions from the bank on a schedule.

  • Digital PDF: a statement file with a text layer, so the characters can be read directly.

  • Scanned statement: an image of a statement that needs OCR (optical character recognition) to be read.

  • Tie-out: a check that the extracted transactions add up from the printed opening balance to the closing balance.

  • Webhook: a message the extraction service sends to your system when an event, such as a completed job, occurs.

  • Credit: a unit some vendors meter usage in, such as AutoEntry's 3 credits per statement page.

  • Page allowance: the monthly page count a plan includes, often with rollover or expiry rules.

Frequently asked questions

Is a bank statement converter the same as a bank feed?

No. A converter reads a statement file you already have and returns its transactions, while a bank feed connects to the bank and pulls transactions on a schedule.

Which product has the lowest entry price?

Hubdoc has the lowest entry price among the plans in the table above, but its documented extraction covers digital PDFs only.

Can these tools post directly into QuickBooks Online or Xero?

DocuClipper documents a direct push to both, BankScanPro's pricing page describes QBO file exports, and Hubdoc produces a CSV that you upload yourself. Intuit's help article limits a manual transaction-list upload to Upload cap: 1,000 lines, 350 KB per file according to Intuit (2026), so long statements need splitting.

Do I need an API to start?

No. Start with uploads and a manual check, and add the API only when you want to automate. DocuClipper's Starter plan includes API access, and Docsumo's intake accepts API uploads.

Does Hubdoc still pull statements automatically?

We could not confirm it from the pages we opened. Hubdoc's pricing page describes automatic extraction of key data from bank statements, but Xero's post describes a manual CSV upload, so confirm coverage for each client's bank before you rely on it.

Which tool suits a US practice that wants a file, not a developer project?

For a file-based US workflow, DocuClipper and BankScanPro export the formats a bookkeeper imports, while Docsumo's output is built for intake pipelines. Choose by whether you need a spreadsheet or a data feed, then test the export on one month of your own statements.

Our conclusion

Choose on two questions: do you need a file to review or a pipeline to automate, and how many pages a month do you convert? For a manual, file-based path at low volume, a per-page tool with a published price is the simplest test. For higher volume with an API later, price the tier that covers your actual page count, not the entry plan. Test on your own scanned statements before you buy, and see how US Tech Automations configures this if you want a review workflow mapped to the tools you already use.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.