5 Construction Takeoff Software for Small Contractors 2027
Pick the takeoff tool first, and treat workflow automation as a separate decision that starts after quantities leave the takeoff tool. For a small contractor, the category question is which measurement engine fits your plan sets, seat count, and budget, not which platform promises to do everything. Construction takeoff software measures quantities such as area, length, and count from digital plan sets so an estimator can price a bid. This guide compares five options (STACK, PlanSwift, Bluebeam Revu, Contractor+, and eTakeoff Dimension) on public pricing, trial terms, and stated features, and it keeps verified vendor facts separate from our own weighting.
TL;DR: For most small contractors, the shortlist comes down to three things: the three-seat annual cost, whether a free tier or trial covers one real bid, and whether the tier you need actually lists the measurement tools you use. Verify all three before you buy.
Key Takeaways
Public entry prices range from $29 per user per month for Contractor+ to $299 per user per month for STACK Takeoff & Estimate, so compare on a three-seat annual basis rather than the headline unit.
PlanSwift's Essential plan is $2,000 per year for one seat, so three licenses at list price cost $6,000 per year before any seat discount.
Free paths exist with limits: STACK offers a free Takeoff & Estimate version with no published terms, and Contractor+ describes a free solo plan, while eTakeoff publishes no free version.
Bluebeam Revu has the lowest published annual entry price at $260 per user per year, but this review did not verify what its tiers include for takeoff.
Third-party articles quote prices that conflict with vendor pages, so use vendor pages and a written quote for any figure you put in a budget.
Workflow automation runs after takeoff, not in place of it; the takeoff tool still has to do the measuring.
Who this is for
This guide is written for small contractors and estimating desks that measure plans by hand or with an older tool, and that have at least one estimator who can run a trial on a live bid. Owners comparing per-seat costs before a purchase will get the most from the pricing section.
Red flags: you need trade-specific measurements that no vendor page lists; you expect a free version to handle multi-user bidding without reading its terms; or no one on your team can run a trial before the next bid deadline.
Small-firm share: 93% of construction small employer firms have 1 to 19 workers according to ABC (2014). That figure reports an SBA Office of Advocacy analysis of 644,333 small employer construction firms, so treat it as directional context rather than a current count.
How we weighted the evaluation
The weights below are our analysis, not vendor data. We weighted cost highest because the billing units differ across these vendors, and the three-seat total is the number a small contractor will actually have to approve.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it matters for a small contractor | What to ask the vendor for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry cost for your seat count | 25% | Per-user and per-seat billing differ, so the multi-seat total decides the shortlist | A written quote for your seat count |
| Automation depth (auto count, scale, takeoff) | 20% | Automation cuts manual measuring on repetitive plan sets | A demo on one of your own plan sets |
| Trial or free tier on real plans | 15% | A test on one live bid shows more than a feature list | Trial access, and whether it needs a card |
| Trade and project fit | 15% | Residential remodel and commercial bids use different sheet types | Named examples from your trade |
| Output and handoff to estimating | 10% | Quantities have to reach the bid, so export formats matter | A sample export file |
| Training and onboarding | 10% | Small teams often have no one to configure templates | Training hours included in the plan |
| Price transparency | 5% | Published prices reduce procurement friction | Published tier pages |
Brand recognition and review volume are not weighted. A tool you can test on your own plan sets is worth more than a well-known name you cannot test.
Pricing and three-seat math
Pricing checked October 20, 2026, against the vendor pages linked below. PlanSwift's page shows no effective date beyond a 2026 copyright footer, and SoftwareConnect's guide states an update date of October 11, 2026.
| Vendor | Plan | Price (as published) | Billing unit | Trial or free version | Seat terms |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| STACK | Takeoff & Estimate | from $299 | per user per month | Free version; terms not published | Per user |
| STACK | Build & Operate | from $49 | per user per month | Two-week free trial | Per user |
| STACK | Full STACK Platform | from $348 | per user per month | Not stated | Custom "Build Your Price" quote |
| PlanSwift | Essential | $2,000 | per year | 14-day trial, no card | One seat; extra seats discounted (amount not shown) |
| PlanSwift | Core | $3,000 | per year | 14-day trial, no card | One seat |
| Bluebeam Revu | Basics | $260 | per user per year, billed annually | 30-day trial (per SoftwareConnect) | Per user |
| Bluebeam Revu | Core / Complete | $330 / $440 | per user per year, billed annually | Not stated on pricing page | Per user |
| Bluebeam Revu | Max | $590 (introductory) | per user per year, billed annually | Not stated on pricing page | Per user |
| Contractor+ | Paid plan | $29 | per user per month, billed annually | Free plan for solo users (per article) | Per user |
| eTakeoff Dimension | Advanced | $795 | per user per year | No free version | Per user |
| eTakeoff Dimension | Premier | $1,495 | per user per year | Not stated on page | Per user; SnapAI listed in features |
| eTakeoff Dimension | Togal.ai add-on | $1,800 | per user per year | Trial service ends at trial expiry | Requires an Advanced or Premier license |
| eTakeoff Dimension | Enterprise | Contact vendor | Custom | Not stated | Sales line by phone |
Annual seat price: PlanSwift Essential at $2,000 per year according to PlanSwift (checked October 20, 2026). The same page lists Core at $3,000 per year, also for one seat, with a 14-day trial that needs no card.
Entry price: STACK Takeoff & Estimate from $299 per user per month according to STACK (checked October 20, 2026). At that starting price, one user costs $3,588 per year. The page also offers a free Takeoff & Estimate version but publishes no terms for it, and Build & Operate carries a two-week trial.
Bluebeam lists Basics at $260 per user per year, billed annually, according to Bluebeam (checked October 20, 2026). SoftwareConnect adds a 30-day trial for the same tier according to SoftwareConnect (updated October 11, 2026). eTakeoff lists Advanced at $795 per user per year according to eTakeoff (checked October 20, 2026). Contractor+ states its paid plan at $29 per user per month billed annually, with a free plan for solo users, according to Contractor+ (updated September 10, 2026).
The Full STACK Platform is quoted through "Build Your Price," and eTakeoff's enterprise option is handled by phone, so those rows cannot be compared on list price.
Three-seat list cost
These totals are arithmetic on public entry prices for three seats. They are not quotes, and they exclude taxes, training, and any add-ons.
| Option | Entry price | Three-seat annual list cost | What the total leaves out |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bluebeam Revu Basics | $260 per user per year | $780 | Tier contents not verified in this review |
| Contractor+ paid plan | $29 per user per month | $1,044 | Feature tier not verified; price comes from a vendor-authored article |
| eTakeoff Advanced | $795 per user per year | $2,385 | Premier tier and any add-ons |
| PlanSwift Essential | $2,000 per seat per year | $6,000 | Discount for additional seats (amount not shown) |
| eTakeoff Advanced plus Togal.ai | $795 + $1,800 per user per year | $7,785 | Requires the add-on's base license |
| PlanSwift Core | $3,000 per seat per year | $9,000 | Volume pricing for 10 or more licenses (sales quote) |
| STACK Takeoff & Estimate | from $299 per user per month | $10,764 | Build & Operate or full platform add-ons |
A Contractor+ article dated July 3, 2026 lists PlanSwift at about $1,749 per seat as a one-time license and STACK at about $2,599 per year. Both figures conflict with the vendors' own pages. SoftwareConnect also describes PlanSwift pricing per user, while PlanSwift's page says per seat. We used the vendor pages wherever they publish a price, and we flag the conflicts rather than averaging them.
Feature matrix
This matrix records only what the public pages state. "Not verified" means this review did not confirm the feature on a vendor page; it does not mean the vendor lacks it.
| Feature (as published) | STACK | PlanSwift | Bluebeam Revu | Contractor+ | eTakeoff Dimension |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public price on vendor page | Yes, "as low as" | Yes | Yes | Quoted in vendor-authored article | Yes |
| Billing unit | Per user per month | Per seat per year | Per user per year | Per user per month, billed annually | Per user per year |
| Free version | Yes, Takeoff & Estimate (terms not published) | No | Not stated | Free solo plan (per article) | No |
| Trial | Two weeks on Build & Operate | 14 days, no card | 30 days (per SoftwareConnect) | Not verified | Not stated on page |
| Automated counting | Not verified | Yes, Auto Count in Essential | Not verified | Not verified | Togal.ai add-on: count measurements |
| Automated takeoff | Not verified | Yes, Auto Takeoff in Core | Not verified | Not verified | Togal.ai add-on: area, length, count |
| Separately priced add-ons | Build & Operate; full platform | Core upgrade | Tier ladder | Not verified | Togal.ai, $1,800 per user per year |
| Volume or enterprise route | Custom "Build Your Price" quote | Sales quote for 10 or more licenses | Not stated on tier page | Not verified | Sales line by phone |
Vendor profiles
Each profile separates best fit and limitations from the verified vendor facts above. The evidence line for each vendor points to the page that supports the claims.
STACK
Choose STACK if you want a free starting point and expect to add job-operations tools later. The Takeoff & Estimate tier starts at $299 per user per month, and the Build & Operate tier starts at $49 per user per month with a two-week trial, per the STACK pricing page.
Limitations: STACK publishes only "as low as" prices, the free Takeoff & Estimate version has no published terms, and the full platform requires a custom quote. The Contractor+ article's figure of about $2,599 per year conflicts with STACK's per-user-per-month pages, so use STACK's page or a written quote for any budget number.
Implementation: trial the free version on one real bid, and confirm that it covers your takeoff type before you depend on it.
Red flag: if your budget is set on fixed annual licenses, check whether per-user monthly billing still fits.
Evidence: STACK pricing page.
PlanSwift
Choose PlanSwift if you are one estimator who wants a one-seat annual license with clearly named automation features. Essential at $2,000 per year lists Auto Count, Auto Scale, Auto Bookmark, and pre-built assemblies. Core at $3,000 per year adds the Takeoff BOOST suite with Auto Takeoff, according to PlanSwift's pricing page.
Limitations: additional seats are discounted by an amount the page does not show, teams of 10 or more licenses need a sales quote, and the Contractor+ article's one-time $1,749 figure conflicts with the vendor's annual price.
Implementation: the 14-day trial needs no card. Essential includes two hours of live one-on-one training.
Red flag: if your team needs per-user monthly billing, an annual seat model may not match your cash flow.
Evidence: PlanSwift pricing page.
Bluebeam Revu
Choose Bluebeam Revu if your team already reviews and marks up plans in it and wants the lowest published annual per-user entry price. The pricing page lists Basics at $260, Core at $330, Complete at $440, and Max at $590 as an introductory price, all per user and billed annually.
Limitations: this review did not verify takeoff-specific features in any tier. The 30-day trial length comes from SoftwareConnect, because Bluebeam's page shows a "Try It Free" button without the terms.
Implementation: check the tier comparison for measurement tools before you buy Basics. A low price does not show whether the tier includes the measuring tool you need.
Red flag: if your main need is automated counts, Basics may not be the right tier.
Evidence: Bluebeam pricing page and SoftwareConnect roundup.
Contractor+
Choose Contractor+ if you are a solo operator or a very small team that wants a per-user monthly plan and a free solo option. The Contractor+ article lists $29 per user per month billed annually and a free plan for solo users.
Limitations: the article is vendor-authored, dated July 3, 2026 and updated September 10, 2026. We did not verify plan tiers, feature lists, or seat caps on the vendor's own site, so treat this profile as partial.
Implementation: run the solo plan on a live bid before you commit, and get the feature list in writing.
Red flag: multi-user needs cannot be confirmed from the sources checked here.
Evidence: Contractor+ article.
eTakeoff Dimension
Choose eTakeoff Dimension if you want annual per-user licenses and will pay separately for measurement automation through the Togal.ai add-on. Advanced lists at $795 per user per year and Premier at $1,495 per user per year. The Togal.ai add-on adds $1,800 per user per year and requires an Advanced or Premier license. Togal.ai's stated purpose is gathering area, length, and count measurements.
Limitations: there is no free version. The Togal.ai agreement says its fees are not refundable except for material breach, the subscription auto-renews after one year, and the service stops working when a trial ends.
Implementation: for enterprise pricing, the page directs buyers to (888) 825-2877 x1005.
Red flag: if you need flexible terms or cancellation before renewal, the add-on's terms are a poor fit.
Evidence: eTakeoff pricing page.
Where a workflow layer fits
A takeoff tool answers how much material and labor a plan needs. A workflow layer picks up after that answer, for example by drafting a bid follow-up, routing a question to the right person, or moving a quote record into a CRM. Solo plan: $117 per month with 3 active workflows, as listed by US Tech Automations (checked October 20, 2026). The public page describes no-code workflows, 14 integrations including Gmail, and an Approval Queue, and it does not describe takeoff or plan measurement.
The Approval Queue holds AI-drafted replies, such as a bid follow-up, until a person approves, edits, or rejects them. That is the review step a contractor should want before any customer email goes out. Yearly billing saves 17%, and each self-serve plan carries a 14-day free trial that requires a card. Growth is $447 per month with 5 active workflows and up to 6 runs per day, and Scale is $1,647 per month with 10 active workflows, up to 72 runs per day, and custom code steps.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations
Skip a workflow layer in three cases. If the only bottleneck is measuring plans, a takeoff tool solves that directly, and a follow-up flow adds nothing to the count. If your estimating or CRM software already sends bid follow-ups and you are satisfied with it, that built-in feature is the simpler choice. If no one on staff can own the review step for customer-facing drafts, the approval queue becomes the bottleneck instead of the time saver.
The no-code alternative
For many small teams, the real alternative is not doing nothing. It is stitching the follow-up together in Zapier, Make, or n8n, or writing a script in-house. Those tools can keep run histories, retries, error branches, and audit evidence when they are configured that way. Whichever route you take, the buyer still has to design and own observability, idempotency so a retry does not send a duplicate email, escalation paths, access controls, retention, and ongoing maintenance. A proposed US Tech Automations design would differ mainly in what is pre-built: the Approval Queue is the human review point before any AI-drafted message leaves, and the plan limits cap how many runs can fire. The prerequisites are a Gmail connection, a named reviewer, and an agreed takeoff export format. This is a design to evaluate, not a claim about how any deployment would perform.
Worked example: this is illustrative arithmetic, not a customer result. A remodeler with three estimators sends 40 bid requests a month, and 10 of those bids need a follow-up email after three days. Drafting each follow-up by hand at 10 minutes takes 100 minutes, or about 1.7 hours, per month. A proposed design would run a Gmail step that calls users.messages.send only after a named reviewer approves the draft in the Approval Queue, with the takeoff total pulled from an export the estimator has already checked. On the $117-per-month Solo plan, a once-daily scheduled batch would cover those 10 follow-ups in a 30-day month, roughly one-third of a run per day, and the design would still need a Gmail connection check, a sample takeoff export, and a named owner for the review step before any send.
Common mistakes
Comparing headline unit prices, such as $29 per user per month against $2,000 per seat per year, without converting to a seat-count total.
Treating a free tier as a full bidding tool without reading its limits. STACK's free version publishes no terms.
Budgeting from third-party articles whose prices conflict with the vendor's own pages.
Assuming a tier includes automated measuring when the tier page does not list it.
Buying a workflow layer before the takeoff output is consistent enough to hand off.
Decision checklist
Write down your seat count and convert every vendor price to a one-year total for that count.
Confirm whether the tier you need lists the measuring tools you use, in writing.
Run the free version, trial, or solo plan on one real bid from your own plan sets.
Ask for the export format and check it against what your estimate needs.
Decide who owns the review step before you add any automation that drafts customer messages.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best takeoff software for a small contractor?
No single product wins on the evidence here, because the right pick depends on seat count, the sheet types you measure, and whether a trial covers one real bid. PlanSwift's Essential plan is the clearest one-seat option with named automation features, while STACK's free tier is the lowest-risk starting point if it covers your takeoff type.
How much does construction takeoff software cost?
Public entry prices in this review run from $29 per user per month for Contractor+ to $299 per user per month for STACK Takeoff & Estimate. Bluebeam Revu Basics is the lowest annual per-user entry at $260, and PlanSwift's entry plan costs $2,000 per year for one seat.
Is PlanSwift or STACK cheaper?
For one user on the published entry prices, PlanSwift Essential at $2,000 per year costs less than STACK Takeoff & Estimate at its starting price of $299 per user per month, which is $3,588 per year. The comparison depends on which tier you actually need, and the STACK price is a starting figure, so get a quote before you decide.
Is there free construction takeoff software?
Yes, with limits. STACK offers a free Takeoff & Estimate version but publishes no terms for it, and a Contractor+ article describes a free plan for solo users. eTakeoff publishes no free version, so test any free option against one real bid before you rely on it.
Which takeoff software fits residential remodelers?
This review did not verify residential-specific features for any of the five vendors, so it does not name a residential pick. Run a trial on a typical remodel plan set, and check the sheet types, measurements, and export format your estimates need.
Does a workflow layer measure plans?
No. A workflow layer works on the output of a takeoff tool, and the public pages reviewed for it describe approval steps, integrations, and workflow runs rather than plan measurement.
Should I automate follow-ups before I buy a takeoff tool?
No. Automating follow-ups depends on a consistent quote, so settle the takeoff step first and add the workflow layer once the estimate output is reliable enough to hand off.
Next step
If you already have a takeoff tool and the bottleneck is what happens after the quote, look at the Solo, Growth, and Scale plans from our workflow platform, and keep a named person on the Approval Queue before any customer email goes out.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.