Best Contractor Toolbox Talk Software: 6 Picks for 2027
Pick the category before the brand
Toolbox talk software schedules short job-site safety briefings, records who attended with a sign-in or signature, and keeps a history of topics for later review. For a small contractor, the real decision is between two shapes: a dedicated talk and safety-meeting app, or a daily-report or field platform with talks built in. Choose the shape first, because a talk module attached to a reporting tool answers a different question than a standalone safety app does.
Topic choice matters as much as the sign-in. The Focus Four hazards are falls, struck-by, caught-in or between, and electrocution. Focus Four share of fatal construction injuries: 65% (2011–2021) according to CDC (2023). A talk that covers those hazards, with a record of who attended, is the record the software has to keep.
TL;DR: Pick the shape first, confirm in writing that the talk module is in the plan you would buy, and check how a sign-in turns into a follow-up before you pay for anything.
Key Takeaways
A toolbox talk is a short, job-specific briefing, so the software's value is proof of attendance and follow-up on absent workers, not the slide content.
Mitti and Contractor Foreman publish prices on their pricing pages. Raken, HammerTech, SiteDocs, and Clue send buyers to a quote.
Contractor Foreman's pricing page describes a toolbox-talk feature but does not say which tiers include it.
Mitti's pricing page is written for an inspection platform and does not mention toolbox talks, so confirm the talk module before treating its per-seat price as your talk budget.
Mitti's developer documentation exposes an inspection feed with
modified_afterandtemplate_id, which is the hook for any follow-up automation.Build the roster-to-sign-in check before you buy. The sign-in tool records attendance but does not decide who missed the talk.
How we evaluated these tools
This is a desk review of public pages opened on October 26, 2026, not hands-on testing. Clue's roundup, which is published on the blog of Clue, one of the six vendors in this comparison, was updated October 22, 2026 and compares 10 products according to Clue (2026). We used it as a map of the field, not as a ranking, and we treat its notes on other vendors as one competitor's view.
Six products made the list: Mitti (by SafetyCulture), Contractor Foreman, Raken, HammerTech, SiteDocs, and Clue. Safesite and Workyard appear in roundups, but we could not confirm a toolbox-talk detail on their own pages. Safesite's pricing page would not open, and Workyard's pricing page does not mention talks, so we left both out.
We scored each product on six weighted criteria. The weights reflect what a small contractor can check before buying.
| Criterion | Weight | What we checked on the pages we opened |
|---|---|---|
| Toolbox-talk fit | 30% | Whether the page names a talk library, scheduling, or attendance |
| Sign-in and record quality | 20% | Whether sign-in, signatures, or exports are described |
| Price transparency | 15% | Whether a figure or a quote path is published |
| Crew-size fit | 15% | Whether user limits or tiers are published |
| Field and data fit | 10% | Whether daily reports, an inspection feed, or an export is described |
| Setup burden | 10% | Whether the page says onboarding, training, or sales is required |
Toolbox-talk fit carries the most weight because a product that cannot schedule or record a talk fails the core job, however low its price. Sign-in and record quality comes next, because an attendance list without signatures or an export is hard to defend in a file review. Price transparency is weighted at 15% because a quote path is not disqualifying, but a missing figure makes budgeting harder for a small firm. We did not score star ratings, because the rating and roundup pages we could open were mostly written by vendors and did not show their method.
Pricing as published
Pricing checked October 26, 2026. Only figures read on each vendor's own pricing page appear in the table. Where the page published no figure, the cell says Quote-based.
| Vendor | Plan | Published price | Billing and scope | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mitti | Free | $0 | Small teams up to 10 | Mitti pricing |
| Mitti | Premium | $24 per seat per month | Annual billing; $29 per seat per month on monthly billing | Mitti pricing |
| Mitti | Enterprise | Quote-based | Page directs buyers to sales | Mitti pricing |
| Contractor Foreman | Basic | $49 per month | 1 user; $588 a year after a 30-day free trial | Contractor Foreman pricing |
| Contractor Foreman | Standard | $105 per month | Up to 3 users; $1,264 a year; $139 monthly | Contractor Foreman pricing |
| Contractor Foreman | Plus | $166 per month | Up to 8 users; $1,997 a year; $199 monthly | Contractor Foreman pricing |
| Contractor Foreman | Pro | $221 per month | Up to 15 users; $2,654 a year; $279 monthly; free setup | Contractor Foreman pricing |
| Contractor Foreman | Unlimited | $332 per month | Unlimited users; $3,984 a year; $399 monthly; free setup | Contractor Foreman pricing |
| Raken | Not published | Quote-based | Pricing page lists no figures | Raken pricing |
| HammerTech | Custom | Quote-based | Scale based on construction volume and sites | HammerTech pricing |
| SiteDocs | Custom | Quote-based | Annual, based on company size | SiteDocs pricing |
| Clue | Custom | Quote-based | Plan built around equipment, crew, and job | Clue pricing |
Premium plan: $24 per seat monthly on annual billing according to Mitti (2026). Mitti's list is per seat, and its Enterprise tier is quote-based. The page does not mention toolbox talks, so the Premium price buys an inspection platform whose talk module you must confirm separately.
Contractor Foreman's Basic plan costs $49 a month for one user according to Contractor Foreman (2026), with a 30-day free trial. The page lists annual totals for each tier, but its annual totals for Standard, Plus, and Pro do not equal 12 times the monthly rate, and the page does not explain the gap. Ask for the written annual figure before comparing.
Raken's pricing page, HammerTech's U.S. page, SiteDocs' pricing page, and Clue's pricing page publish no per-seat or per-month figure in the pages we opened, so they are Quote-based in the table.
The table below applies the published per-seat and per-month rates to a 10-person crew. It prices the platform only. It does not confirm that the talk module is included.
| Vendor | Plan | Seats | Annual cost | Math |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mitti | Premium, annual billing | 10 | $2,880 | 10 × $24 × 12 |
| Mitti | Premium, monthly billing | 10 | $3,480 | 10 × $29 × 12 |
| Contractor Foreman | Pro, annual billing | Up to 15 | $2,654 | Published annual total |
| Contractor Foreman | Plus, annual billing | Up to 8 | Not eligible | Crew of 10 exceeds 8 |
| Raken, HammerTech, SiteDocs, Clue | Quote-based | 10 | Quote-based | No published figure |
Feature matrix: what each page says
The matrix records what each page we opened says, not what each product can do. "Not stated" means the page did not say it, not that the product lacks it.
| Product | Talk library | Scheduling | Sign-in or signatures | Field data | Pricing published |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mitti | Pre-written topics | Reminders | Not stated | Inspection feed (API) | Yes, per seat |
| Contractor Foreman | Not stated | Not stated | Attendance tracking | Not stated | Yes, monthly and annual |
| Raken | Built-in library | In-app scheduling | Attendance; signatures not described | Daily reports | No, quote path |
| HammerTech | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Safety Meetings listed | No, custom |
| SiteDocs | Not stated | Not stated | Forms and signatures listed | Not stated | No, quote |
| Clue | Named feature, details not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Equipment-linked | No, quote |
The clearest difference is in the sign-in layer. Raken's guide names attendance alongside in-app scheduling, and Contractor Foreman's pricing page says it tracks attendance, but neither page describes how signatures are captured for a talk. Ask each vendor to show that step on a phone before you choose.
Vendor profiles
Each profile separates what the vendor publishes from our read. Our read is an analytical judgment from public pages, not a finding from using the product.
Mitti (by SafetyCulture)
Vendor facts: The former SafetyCulture pricing address now redirects to Mitti, whose page reads "Mitti (by SafetyCulture)." Mitti's toolbox-talk page describes pre-written topics, templates, reminders, and photo or video documentation. Its developer documentation describes an inspection feed that filters on modified_after and returns template_id on each record, behind a bearer token.
Our read: Best fit is a team that wants one tool for talks plus inspections and checklists, and that is willing to build a template for each recurring topic.
Limitations: The pricing page does not mention toolbox talks. Premium adds unlimited templates, advanced analytics, advanced training, integrations, and SSO. Confirm which plan includes both the talk module and the feed you need before you design around them.
Implementation: Build one template per recurring talk, invite the crew, and generate an API token only if you plan to automate follow-up. The feed paginates through metadata.next_page, so any script must follow every page. Primary evidence: Mitti pricing and the Mitti inspection feed reference.
Contractor Foreman
Vendor facts: The pricing page describes its Safety Meetings feature as "a complete system for running toolbox talks, tracking attendance." It offers five tiers on monthly or annual billing, and its Pro and Unlimited tiers include free setup.
Our read: Best fit is a small or midsize firm that wants talks in the same system as its other office and field work, and that stays within the top tier's user limit.
Limitations: The pricing page does not show which tiers include Safety Meetings, so request a written plan comparison. Monthly billing costs more than annual billing on every tier that offers both.
Implementation: The annual tab includes a free trial. The page's FAQ says annual plans are charged when the trial ends, while monthly plans are charged immediately. Run a full talk cycle, including sign-in and attendance review, before the trial ends. Primary evidence: Contractor Foreman pricing.
Raken
Vendor facts: Raken's pricing page, when we opened it, listed no figures and routes buyers to sales. Its toolbox-talk guide describes a "built-in library of toolbox talks plus in-app scheduling and attendance," according to Raken. The guide does not describe signatures, reporting, or how talk records connect to daily reports.
Our read: Best fit is a crew that already runs daily reports in Raken, so talks sit next to the daily record they support.
Limitations: A competitor's view: Clue's own roundup says the value falls if the company does not use Raken for daily reporting, and that its project management features are lighter than full enterprise platforms. Pricing requires a quote.
Implementation: If you only want talks, ask whether the product still makes sense without daily reporting. Request the quote with a walkthrough of attendance capture on a phone, including signatures. Primary evidence: Raken pricing and Clue's roundup.
HammerTech
Vendor facts: HammerTech's U.S. page says it "does not use per-user pricing." It bases pricing on yearly construction volume, concurrent sites, company size, and onboarding needs, according to HammerTech. Pricing includes implementation, training, and support. Subcontractors have free access that the general contractor provides. The page lists Safety Meetings under its Coordinate category and does not use the term toolbox talks.
Our read: Best fit is a general contractor that manages many subcontractors across concurrent sites and needs their talk records inside its own system.
Limitations: No tier names or figures are published. A competitor's view: Clue's own roundup says implementation may need more training and governance. A small firm that only needs a talk log will likely pay for scope it does not use.
Implementation: Expect a discovery conversation and onboarding. Confirm talk templates, subcontractor access, and talk-record export in writing before you sign.
SiteDocs
Vendor facts: SiteDocs' pricing page describes an annual subscription based on company size. It says an initial call is required for "a custom price quote tailored to your company's size and needs," according to SiteDocs. The same page lists unlimited forms and signatures and worker profile tracking. It does not mention toolbox talks by name.
Our read: Best fit is a firm that wants signed forms and worker profiles in one place and accepts a quote-first sale.
Limitations: The pricing page does not describe a talk library or how talk signatures are reported. A competitor's view: Clue's own roundup notes login or usability concerns in some mobile app reviews.
Implementation: Ask for the quote, then confirm how talks are scheduled, how signatures are captured in the field, and what the worker-profile setup requires.
Clue
Vendor facts: Clue's pricing page lists an "Effective Toolbox Talks" feature and directs buyers to a plan "built around your equipment, crew, and job requirements." Clue's roundup calls it "the most equipment-focused platform in this comparison."
Our read: Best fit is an equipment-heavy contractor that wants talks tied to inspections and maintenance.
Limitations: Clue's roundup says telematics and immediate sync depend on jobsite connectivity, and specialized dashboards may need extra configuration. Pricing is quote-based.
Implementation: Map your asset list before the sales conversation, since the plan is built around equipment and crew. Primary evidence: Clue pricing.
Who this is for
This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a small construction business who needs talk records that hold up in the field and in a file review, and who is close to a decision.
Red flags: you need a verified audit trail for every worker on every job before you buy; your crews have no reliable connectivity on site; or your first need is equipment telematics rather than talk records.
Who should choose which product
| Product | Choose it if | Skip it if |
|---|---|---|
| Mitti | You want talks plus inspections in one tool and will build templates | You need the talk module confirmed on a specific plan before you can budget |
| Contractor Foreman | You want talks inside a system that also handles office and field work, within the top tier's user limit | Its plan comparison does not confirm Safety Meetings for the tier you need |
| Raken | Your crew already runs daily reports in Raken | You want talks only and will not use daily reporting |
| HammerTech | You are a general contractor managing many subcontractors across sites | You are a small firm with one crew and no subcontractor access needs |
| SiteDocs | You want signed forms and worker profiles with a quote-first sale | You need a visible talk library or a published price before a sales call |
| Clue | Your crews run heavy equipment and you want talks tied to inspections | Your jobsites lack the connectivity that telematics needs |
Worked example for a 10-person crew
Take an illustrative 10-person crew that holds one talk on each of five workdays, which is 5 talks a week and 260 talks a year. If every worker signs each talk, that is 50 signature records a week and 2,600 a year, and the follow-up has to read all of them. On Mitti's Premium tier, 10 seats at $24 a month on annual billing come to 10 × $24 × 12 = $2,880 a year, while monthly billing at $29 comes to 10 × $29 × 12 = $3,480, a difference of $600 according to Mitti (2026). Contractor Foreman's Plus tier covers only 8 users, so the same crew moves to Pro, which the page lists at $2,654 a year on annual billing for up to 15 users according to Contractor Foreman (2026). If your talk records are stored as inspections, a script can send modified_after to the inspection feed to pull only records changed since its last run, group them by template_id, and check date_completed against that day's roster. Because the feed paginates through metadata.next_page, the script must keep following pages until none remain. The arithmetic shows the platform's cost only; it does not show whether the talk module is in the plan.
The follow-up gap after the talk
A sign-in sheet proves who was present, not who missed the talk. For most small firms, the hard part is the list of rostered workers with no signature, and it usually gets built by hand the next morning. Falls to lower level: 53.5% of Focus Four deaths according to Safety+Health (2023). A missed talk on falls is therefore the follow-up that most needs a named owner.
A proposed US Tech Automations workflow could run that check without retyping anything. The trigger is a scheduled afternoon run that pulls completed talk records changed since the last run from the vendor's data feed. The action matches each signature against the day's roster, exported from the firm's timekeeping or HR system, and flags any rostered worker with no signature for that topic. The output is a short exception list for the foreman and the safety lead, plus one row per exception in the firm's own record store.
The design depends on prerequisites the firm must confirm first. The vendor must expose talk records through an API or export, the firm needs a bearer token and a plan that includes that feed, and worker IDs must match across the roster and the talk system. A person stays in the loop. The foreman checks whether each flagged worker was on site, the safety lead decides on a make-up talk, and no discipline or payroll record changes without a person's review. If the feed call fails, the run should log the error and wait for a person to check it rather than quietly skip the day.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations
Skip a custom workflow when a simpler tool already answers the question. A crew that only needs a talk library and a signed sheet should use a standalone talk app or keep the paper sheet, because there is no roster to match and nothing to automate. A firm that wants talks, sign-ins, and reporting handled by one vendor out of the box should buy that vendor's workflow directly, such as Raken or Contractor Foreman, and accept its limits. If the talk system exposes no API or export, there is nothing to automate yet, so fix the export before you spend time on design.
The DIY route with Zapier, Make, or n8n
Many small firms reach for a no-code tool first, and that is a reasonable choice. Zapier, Make, and n8n can each read a spreadsheet, call an API, and write a row. When they are configured well, they keep run histories, retries, and error branches that leave an audit trail of each run. What the buyer must still design and own is idempotency, so a retried run does not flag the same worker twice; escalation to a named owner; access controls on roster data; and maintenance when a vendor changes its API. A proposed US Tech Automations design would set those owners, retry rules, and review points on day one, write them down for the foreman, and keep worker data inside the access rules the firm already uses. The fair test is whether the person who inherits the workflow can maintain it after the builder leaves.
Common mistakes
Buying on the talk library alone and skipping the sign-in test on a phone.
Treating a per-seat list price as the full budget when the talk module sits in a higher tier.
Counting a sign-in as proof of follow-up, when the absent-worker list is the real control.
Assuming a free tier covers talks, scheduling, and reporting together.
Postponing the export question until you need to leave the vendor.
Decision checklist
- Choose the category: a standalone talk app or a daily-report platform with talks.
- Get a written statement of which plan includes toolbox talks.
- Confirm that sign-ins and signatures work on phones in the field.
- Ask for an export of talk records in a format you can keep.
- Ask whether an API or feed exists, and which plan includes it.
- Price every option on the same basis: per seat or per crew, annual or monthly.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a free toolbox talk option?
Yes, Mitti lists a free tier for small teams, but that tier is built around inspection templates, so confirm it covers talk scheduling and sign-in before you rely on it.
Does OSHA require toolbox talks?
No OSHA standard names toolbox talks, but employers must train workers to recognize and avoid hazards, and a signed talk record is a common way to show it. Check the rules for the state where you work, because some states add their own requirements.
How much should a small crew budget?
Treat the published figures as a floor, not a budget. Only Mitti and Contractor Foreman publish figures in this review, and four of the six vendors require a quote.
Do I need an API before I buy?
Only if you plan to automate follow-up. A clean export of talk records and rosters is enough for most small firms to start.
When should a crew stop using paper sign-in sheets?
Switch when you need a record of who was briefed and a list of who was missed. Paper can still work for a very small crew, but it makes the follow-up manual.
Next step for your shortlist
Start with the category decision, then confirm in writing which plan includes the talk module and how sign-ins are captured in the field. Compare the two vendors that publish prices against the quote-based options on the same basis, per seat or per crew and annual or monthly. If the follow-up on absent workers is the hard part, see how US Tech Automations configures this against your roster and talk records.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.