Skip to content
AI & Automation

6 Best Dental Patient Financing Platforms for Practices 2027

Oct 25, 2026

Start with the category decision: a practice should choose its patient financing platform by what it costs the practice per financed dollar, what the patient risks under the promotion, and how fast the money arrives. The advertised patient rate matters less than most vendors' headlines suggest. Practice-side fees are the largest unknown in this category, and three of the six platforms below do not publish a practice rate on their own provider pages.

This article is published by US Tech Automations, which does not lend money and is not a financing provider. No provider in this guide is a sponsor, and none paid for placement, rank, or verdict language. We do not rank these six in a single order, because each one wins a different case. Where we offer analysis, we label it as ours; where we report vendor data, we name the vendor and say whether the figure is a claim, a third-party summary, or a published rate.

Key Takeaways

  • Practice-side fees are the largest unknown: published merchant figures run from 1.7% (Cherry's own table) to 14.9% (CareCredit, per Rework), so get a written rate sheet before comparing anything else.

  • Three of six platforms (CareCredit, Wisetack, and FinFi) do not publish a practice rate on their provider pages, which means their numbers come from third-party guides or require a quote.

  • Deferred-interest promotions carry the most patient-side risk, because interest accrues back to the purchase date if the balance is not cleared inside the promotional window.

  • Approval claims are not comparable: Sunbit's 87% and CareCredit's 65% to 70% come from different methods, so treat them as direction, not measurement.

  • Payout timing differs by vendor and by trigger point, with some paying when treatment starts and others when work is complete, so confirm which applies to your schedule.

A dental patient financing platform is a third-party loan, card, or payment plan that a practice offers at the treatment stage so patients can spread the cost of care over time, while the practice receives payment from the lender less a fee.

TL;DR: Compare vendors on total practice-side cost at your typical financed amount, check the promo structure for deferred interest, and confirm payout timing in writing. CareCredit fits practices whose patients already carry its card. Sunbit and Wisetack fit practices that want a point-of-sale option with a clear interest-free structure, subject to confirming their fees. Proceed Finance fits larger financed cases. Cherry and FinFi should be evaluated only after you have a written quote.

How we evaluated the platforms

The weights below are our analysis, not vendor data. We weighted practice-side cost highest because it comes directly out of collected treatment revenue, and we weighted patient approval lower because vendors measure it differently and do not publish comparable methods.

CriterionWeightWhy it carries that weight
Practice-side cost on a typical financed amount25%Fees come out of collected treatment revenue, and published rates vary widely
Patient approval and credit-pull fit20%Drives conversion, but vendor approval claims use different methods
Promo structure and deferred-interest exposure15%Deferred interest can add cost for patients who miss the promo window
Front-desk and practice-management workflow fit15%Staff time per application determines the real cost of the tool
Payout speed and trigger point10%Cash timing depends on when the lender considers treatment started or complete
Implementation and ownership10%Setup, training, and support decide how quickly a team can use the platform
Contract and fee clarity5%Unpublished rates cannot be checked, so they score lower

Normalized feature matrix

Each cell comes from the vendor's own page unless a third-party source is named. "Not stated" means the pages we reviewed did not say; it does not mean the feature is absent. Several vendor pages contradict each other, and we note the conflicts in the profiles below.

ProviderPatient term rangeAPR range (vendor)Promo structurePractice fee (published)Approval claimPayout to practice
CareCreditPromos of 6, 12, 18, or 24 months; fixed card plans up to 60 months17.90% to 20.90% on fixed card plansDeferred interest on promosNot on provider page; Rework lists 1.8% to 14.9%65% to 70% (Rework)Within 2 business days (vendor)
Sunbit3 to 72 months (FAQ); no-interest plans up to 24 months (main page)0% to 35.99%Terms conflict across the pageFrom 1.9% per transaction (vendor); 3% to 11% (Rework)87% (vendor); 85%+ (Rework)Not stated
Wisetack3 to 24 months7.9% example at 24 monthsAt least 3 months at 0%, no deferred interest (vendor)Not published on merchant pageNot stated1 to 3 business days by bank transfer
CherryNot stated0% to 35.99%0% example: $1,500 as $60 at purchase plus $60 per month for 24 months1.7% to 13.9% (Cherry's own table)Not stated2 to 3 business days (vendor)
Proceed FinanceUp to 72 months at or below $7,500; 24 to 144 months above6.99% to 10.99% illustrative for well-qualified borrowersNot stated3.9% for $1,500 to $7,500 loans; higher tier not in text70% to 75% (Rework)Not stated
FinFiNot statedNot statedMulti-lender offers with soft-pull prequalificationNot publishedNot statedNot stated

Pricing and fees: what the practice actually pays

Pricing checked October 20, 2026. Vendor fee pages change, and several of them conflict with each other, so confirm every figure below against a written rate sheet before you sign.

The table converts each published practice rate into a dollar fee on a $3,600 financed balance, which is the financed portion of a $4,800 treatment plan in the worked example that follows. Where a platform does not publish a rate, we say so and do not estimate one.

ProviderPublished practice-side rateFee on $3,600 financedSetup or monthly feePricing status
CareCredit1.8% to 14.9% (Rework, third-party)$64.80 to $536.40Not stated on provider pageContact vendor; rates sit in a separate document
SunbitFrom 1.9% (vendor); 3% to 11% (Rework)$68.40 at 1.9%; $108 to $396 at 3% to 11%None (vendor claim)Sources conflict; confirm in writing
WisetackNot published on merchant pageNot calculableNone listedContact vendor
Cherry1.7% to 13.9% (Cherry's own table)$61.20 to $500.40Not statedVendor table; confirm in writing
Proceed Finance3.9% for $1,500 to $7,500 loans$140.40Not statedPublished tier; contact vendor above $7,500
FinFiNot publishedNot calculableNot statedContact vendor

The Sunbit row shows the gap that matters most. Sunbit practice fee: from 1.9% per transaction according to Sunbit (2025), with no setup, monthly, or minimum charges, and the same page claims an 87% approval rate against roughly 40% for CareCredit. Rework's third-party comparison lists Sunbit at 3% to 11%, a range that is more than 1.5 times the vendor's floor. The page also says the fee depends on whether the borrower is prime or subprime, not on the plan the patient selects. A written rate by borrower tier resolves this in one step.

Worked example: a practice quotes a $4,800 implant-and-crown plan, collects a $1,200 down payment by card through Stripe, and finances the remaining $3,600 with a lender. The Stripe charge emits payment_intent.succeeded, which a US Tech Automations webhook trigger (included on every plan) can use to start the next step, such as creating a staff task to submit the financing application behind an approval step so the front desk confirms the $3,600 balance before anything reaches the patient. At Proceed Finance's published 3.9% provider fee for the $1,500 to $7,500 tier, the practice pays $140.40 on that $3,600; at Sunbit's advertised 1.9% floor, $68.40; and at the 3% to 11% range Rework reports for Sunbit, $108 to $396. The prerequisite is a lender intake path the workflow can actually reach, because some portals require manual submission, and the workflow cannot see a lender's decision until that decision is returned to it.

Vendor profiles

Each profile lists the best fit, the main limitations, the implementation picture, who should choose the vendor, and the primary evidence. We do not rank the profiles; read the one that matches your patient mix first.

CareCredit

Best fit: Practices whose patients already hold a CareCredit card, or practices that want the most recognized name at checkout. CareCredit says it is accepted at 290K+ locations, a figure on its provider page that is undated and is a vendor claim.

Limitations: The card's promotional plans carry deferred interest. Rework describes it as interest accruing from the purchase date if the balance is not paid by the end of the promotion, and the CFPB has documented how that structure costs patients (see the common mistakes section). The provider page does not publish a merchant rate; its footnote refers to a separate Rates and Fees document. CareCredit merchant fees: 1.8% to 14.9% according to Rework (2026), with the fee rising with promo length.

Implementation: Provider enrollment with CareCredit handling billing and collections. According to CareCredit (undated provider page), providers are paid within two business days and the platform lists 290K+ enrolled locations.

Who should choose it: Practices with high cardholder overlap and staff who will explain promotion deadlines at the chair before a patient signs.

Sunbit

Best fit: Practices that want a point-of-sale option where approval friction is a known problem. Rework notes that Sunbit weighs more than credit score, which is one reason its approval claim is higher than CareCredit's. Rework reports Sunbit at 85%+ approval, and Sunbit's own page claims 87%; both are not independently verified. According to Rework (2026), Sunbit merchant fees run 3% to 11%, which is the figure to test against the vendor's 1.9% floor.

Limitations: Sunbit is not offered to patients in Vermont, West Virginia, or U.S. territories. The main page says no-interest plans run up to 24 months, while the FAQ says plans run up to 72 months, so the term structure needs confirmation. Its practice fee depends on borrower tier, which the page itself says.

Implementation: The page describes setup "within a few days," which is an undated claim. Confirm the point-of-sale integration with your practice-management system before committing.

Who should choose it: Practices that will request a rate sheet by borrower tier and that serve patients for whom approval rates matter most.

Wisetack

Best fit: Practices that want a 0% option without deferred interest. Dental Intelligence describes its Wisetack program as including at least 3 months at 0% APR on every plan, with interest-bearing options up to 24 months. According to Dental Intelligence (undated), a $1,000 plan at 24 months costs $45.18 per month at 7.9% APR, and the page says no practice-side fees are disclosed.

Limitations: Wisetack's merchant page says the practice pays "a per transaction fee" deducted from the treatment payment, but it gives no percentage and no tiers. Third-party comparisons cite tiered or flat rates in the 4.9% range, but we could not confirm those figures on Wisetack's own pages, so treat them as unverified. Payout timing also differs: the merchant page says funds land within 1 to 3 business days after treatment starts, while the Dental Intelligence page describes payment when work is complete. Confirm which trigger applies to your scheduling.

Implementation: Dental Intelligence presents Wisetack as part of its enterprise financing program. Confirm which practice-management integrations apply before you commit.

Who should choose it: Practices already on Dental Intelligence, or practices that want a single-lender interest-free structure and will get the per-transaction fee in writing.

Cherry

Best fit: Practices that want a published fee comparison and a 0% structure with a clear example. Cherry's disclosure gives a worked case: a $1,500 purchase at 0% over 24 months, paid as $60 at purchase plus $60 per month. It also states that its APR range is 0% to 35.99%.

Limitations: The fee comparison is Cherry's own table, which the page says is "based on 2026 internal analysis." Its competitor column is self-reported. Cherry describes payout as "immediate funding upon approval" on its homepage and as 2 to 3 business days on its process page, so confirm the timing. We could not verify a setup or monthly fee, because the pages we fetched do not state one.

Implementation: Not stated on the pages we reviewed. Ask for a written implementation timeline.

Who should choose it: Practices that will request a written merchant rate and compare Cherry's stated structure against at least one alternative.

Proceed Finance

Best fit: Larger financed cases, where longer terms matter. Proceed's offers page lists a 3.9% provider fee for loans from $1,500 to $7,500, and a term of up to 72 months at or below $7,500. Above $7,500, it lists terms of 24 to 144 months. According to Proceed Finance (effective February 17, 2026), the fee change took effect on that date for the smaller tier.

Limitations: The provider fee for loans from $7,501 to $75,000 appears only in an image, not in the page text, so you need to ask for it directly. A third-party guide lists Proceed with terms up to 84 months, which conflicts with Proceed's own 144-month figure, and that guide also lists 70% to 75% approval and 3% to 8% merchant fees. The page's illustrative patient APRs of 6.99% to 10.99% apply to well-qualified borrowers only.

Implementation: Not stated on the page. Ask for a written onboarding plan.

Who should choose it: Practices whose case mix leans toward larger treatment plans, provided they confirm the fee above $7,500 before they commit.

FinFi

Best fit: Practices or dental support organizations that want several lenders behind a single application. FinFi describes a multi-lender application with soft-pull prequalification, which lets patients browse offers without a credit impact, and it says it scales from solo practices to DSO networks. FinFi also offers one-on-one training and daily live support, according to its page.

Limitations: The page lists no loan amounts, APRs, terms, or practice fees. It does not name its lenders or state whether a hard pull follows final approval. Prequalified offers remain valid for 30 days.

Implementation: Point-of-sale integration into the existing payment process, with off-the-shelf or white-label options. No timeline is given.

Who should choose it: Organizations that will request full pricing, the lender list, and the hard-pull policy before they compare anything else.

Where each vendor wins

The table below states where each platform's structure fits best and the main disqualifier to check before signing. A caution is not a verdict; it is the question that will decide the choice in your practice.

VendorWins whenDisqualifier or caution
CareCreditPatients already hold its card and brand recognition matters at checkoutDeferred-interest promos can cost patients who miss the window; merchant rate is not on provider page
SunbitApproval friction is the main patient problem and you can get a rate by borrower tierNot offered in Vermont, West Virginia, or U.S. territories; term claims conflict
WisetackYou want a 0% option without deferred interest and a bank-transfer payoutPractice fee is not published on merchant page; payout trigger differs across pages
CherryYou want a published comparison and a clear 0% exampleComparison is self-reported; payout wording is inconsistent
Proceed FinanceLarger financed cases need terms beyond 72 monthsFee above $7,500 is image-only; third-party 84-month figure conflicts with the vendor's 144
FinFiMulti-lender routing matters more than a single brandNo rates, amounts, or fees published on its page

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: a workflow layer adds cost and one more failure point, so skip it if your practice-management system already connects to the one lender you use and that connection handles the only step you need. It also does not fit if nobody at the practice will own the workflow, because automations need maintenance and a stalled flow can leave patient applications unanswered. And if most of your treatment is covered by insurance, with financing rarely offered, a simpler lender-side process will usually do the job.

Where a workflow layer fits

US Tech Automations sits above the lenders. It does not lend, set patient rates, or change any fee in the tables above. Its role is to route steps between the systems a practice already uses, which matters only when those steps are currently done by hand.

The realistic alternative for most offices is stitching this together in Zapier, Make, or n8n, or building the flow in-house. Those tools can keep run histories, retries, error branches, and audit evidence when they are configured that way. The buyer still has to design and own idempotency (so one treatment plan does not generate two applications), escalation, access controls, retention, and ongoing maintenance, whichever tool is chosen.

A US Tech Automations design would differ in its configuration. Its webhook triggers are included on every plan. Its conditional logic and approval steps can hold a patient-facing message until a staff member reviews it. Its API access is full on Scale, read-only on Growth, and not included on Solo.

PlanMonthly list priceYearly price (17% discount, our calculation)Active workflowsAPI access
Solo$117About $1,1653Not included
Growth$447About $4,4525Read-only
Scale$1,647About $16,40410Full
PerformanceContact salesContact salesScoped in discovery callScoped

The yearly figures are our arithmetic: 12 months at the list price, less 17%. The plan details come from the pricing page, which does not mention financing, healthcare, or dental use cases.

Prerequisites before a design goes live: a lender intake path the workflow can call or monitor; a practice-management export or integration (the pricing page lists 14 integrations in total, and we could not verify a dental practice-management integration among them); and a review of whether any patient data flows through the workflow triggers the handling terms your practice needs. Human review points: staff confirm the financed amount before any application is submitted, staff review every declined or incomplete application, and no patient message goes out without an approval step.

Who this is for

This guide fits practice owners, office managers, and billing leads who choose a financing partner and own the front-desk handoff. It is most useful when more than one of the six platforms is on your shortlist.

Red flags: nobody on staff tracks promotion deadlines or reconciles lender payouts against scheduled treatment; most of your treatment is covered by insurance, so financing is rarely offered; or your front desk cannot explain deferred-interest terms before a patient signs.

Decision checklist

  1. Write down your typical financed amount and the mix of treatments you finance, then ask every vendor to quote the practice fee at those amounts.

  2. Get the merchant rate sheet in writing, including the rate for loans above $7,500 with Proceed Finance and the rate by borrower tier with Sunbit.

  3. Map the promotion type: is it deferred interest or a true 0% structure, and what happens to the patient if the balance is not cleared by the promo end date?

  4. Confirm the payout trigger (treatment start or completion) and the number of business days to funding.

  5. Ask each vendor which patients it cannot serve, including state exclusions and minimum credit requirements.

  6. Decide whether anyone owns reconciliation. If nobody does, skip a workflow layer until someone does.

Common mistakes

  • Comparing approval claims as if they were measured the same way. Sunbit's 87% and CareCredit's 65% to 70% come from different methods.

  • Treating "no setup or monthly fee" as "no cost." The per-transaction fee is the cost, and it is the number to compare.

  • Ignoring the promotion deadline. CFPB deferred interest: about $1 billion, 2018 to 2020 according to CFPB (2023), as summarized in secondary coverage of the report; check the full PDF before quoting it.

  • Using a third-party guide's figure without checking the vendor's current page. The 84-month Proceed figure and the Wisetack tier figures are examples.

  • Assuming payout timing is the same across vendors. Trigger points differ, and that changes your cash-flow forecast.

Each of these mistakes is avoidable if the rate sheet and the promotion terms are in hand before the first patient is quoted.

Frequently asked questions

How does CareCredit compare with Sunbit for dental practices?

Neither vendor publishes a rate that you can compare line by line, so the honest comparison is structure and conditions. Sunbit advertises a per-transaction fee from 1.9% with no setup or monthly charges and claims an 87% approval rate. CareCredit does not publish its merchant rate on its provider page, and Rework's range of 1.8% to 14.9% depends on promotion length. Choose CareCredit when patients already hold its card, and choose Sunbit when approval friction is the main problem and you can confirm its rate in writing.

What do dental financing merchant fees usually cost a practice?

In the sources we checked, practice-side fees run from about 1.7% to about 14.9% of the financed amount, depending on the vendor and the promotion length. On a $3,600 balance, that is roughly $61 to $536. Only some vendors publish the rate, so a written quote is the only reliable way to compare them.

What are the alternatives to CareCredit for dentists?

The five most common alternatives in this guide are Sunbit, Wisetack, Cherry, Proceed Finance, and FinFi. Proceed Finance suits larger financed cases with longer terms, Wisetack suits a 0% structure without deferred interest, Sunbit suits approval-sensitive patient mixes, and Cherry and FinFi need written pricing before they can be compared.

Does Wisetack's dental patient financing cost the practice anything?

Yes. Wisetack says the practice pays a per-transaction fee that is deducted from the treatment payment, and it lists no setup or subscription fee. Its merchant page does not publish the percentage, so ask for the rate in writing before you rely on the fee.

Do I need a workflow layer on top of a financing platform?

Not always. A workflow layer helps when plan acceptance, the application, status updates, and payout reconciliation live in different systems and staff re-key data between them. If your practice-management system already connects to your one lender and reconciliation is handled, skip it.

To see how workflow routing could fit around the lender you choose, read more on our automation platform overview.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.