Best Document Signing Platforms: 5 for Dental Groups 2027
Key Takeaways
The first filter for a dental group is the business associate agreement (BAA) path. Dropbox Sign publishes its HIPAA conditions; for the other vendors below, we could not confirm the terms on their own pages in this check, so get them in writing.
Per-user plans fit groups where a few people send most documents. Request-based API tiers fit groups that want practice software to trigger signing.
Envelope and request caps matter as much as the seat price. A plan can look cheap and still fail a group's monthly volume.
SignNow has the lowest entry price among the figures we could read, but its API sits on higher tiers or as an add-on.
Zoho's price was not captured in our check, and because Zoho bills many functions in credits, its cost is hard to forecast. Adobe's business Sign tier is quote-based.
Check whether your practice software already has a signing module that files into the chart before you buy a standalone tool.
Which platform fits a dental group
A document signing platform is software that collects electronic signatures on consent forms, intake packets, and contracts, and keeps an audit record of who signed what and when.
For a dental group, the category decision comes down to three questions, in this order: whether the vendor will sign a BAA that covers the product you buy, what the plan charges per seat or per request, and whether signed forms can file into your practice software without staff re-keying them. Price comes third on purpose, because a cheap plan that cannot hold protected health information or cannot send enough envelopes is the wrong plan at any price.
TL;DR: Choose Dropbox Sign if you want API-triggered signing and can meet its published HIPAA conditions. Choose DocuSign's Business Pro plan if you need API access and bulk send and can pay per user. Choose SignNow if cost matters most and you do not need an API at launch, but get its BAA position in writing first. If you already run Adobe or Zoho, request quotes from Adobe Acrobat Sign or Zoho Sign, since their business tiers depend on volume.
If your question is narrower, read our companion guide on e-signature software for dental practices.
How we evaluated these platforms
This is a desk review of public information, not a hands-on trial. We opened each vendor's pricing or plan page and the vendor help pages that describe HIPAA and API terms, and we used two independent sources: a 2025 trade article on electronic consent in dentistry and the text of the federal E-Sign Act. Where a vendor page did not show a figure or a HIPAA term in our check, the tables say "not verified" rather than filling the gap from a comparison site.
The weights below are our judgment for a dental group, not vendor-published scores. We did not compute a composite score, because the weights tell you which trade-off to settle first.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it matters for a dental group |
|---|---|---|
| BAA path for patient data | 30% | Consent and intake forms carry protected health information; without a signed BAA the account should not hold it. |
| Cost per seat or per request | 20% | Seat pricing and request pricing scale differently across a multi-location group. |
| API and workflow fit | 20% | Signing that triggers filing into the chart removes manual re-keying. |
| Signer experience and audit trail | 15% | Patients need a clear signing step, and the group needs proof of who signed and when. |
| Admin control and identity checks | 15% | Who can send, who can see, and whether identity verification is an add-on. |
Feature matrix for entry paid tiers
| Vendor | Entry paid tier | Send allowance on that tier | API on that tier | BAA path confirmed in this check |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DocuSign | Standard | 100 envelopes per user per year | No | Not verified on a DocuSign page |
| Adobe | Acrobat Standard (Teams) | Unlimited transactions per user per year on plans bought via Adobe.com | Not verified | Not verified; Acrobat Sign Solutions is quote-based |
| Dropbox Sign | API Essentials | 50 signature requests per month (starting point) | Yes, this tier is the API | Published: annual Standard or Premium plan, signed BAA, minimum contract value |
| SignNow | Entry plan (from $8 per user per month) | SignNow's pages conflict on the billing unit; get it in writing | Not on the entry tier | Not verified |
| Zoho Sign | Standard | 25 envelopes per user per month | No | Not verified |
"Not verified" means we could not confirm the item on the vendor's own page in this check. It does not mean the feature is missing.
Pricing and total cost
Pricing checked October 26, 2026. Each figure below comes from the vendor page cited next to it, and where a page did not show a number, we say so.
Standard plan: $30 per user per month according to DocuSign (2026), on an annual plan billed monthly, with 100 envelopes per user per year and no API access on that tier. The Business Pro plan on DocuSign costs $45 per user per month on the same billing terms, and it is the lowest DocuSign tier that includes API access and bulk send, according to DocuSign (2026). DocuSign lists its Enhanced tier as contact sales, so that tier is quote-based.
On Adobe's Acrobat pricing page, the Teams Standard plan is listed at US$16.99 per license per month and the Teams Pro plan at US$23.99, both on an annual plan billed monthly, according to Adobe (2026). Those are Acrobat subscriptions with e-signature features, not the Acrobat Sign Solutions business tier. Adobe's own pricing fragment says Acrobat Sign Solutions are priced by the number of users or expected transactions, which makes that tier quote-based, according to Adobe (2026).
Zoho's pricing page lists 25 envelopes per user per month on its Standard plan and unlimited envelopes on Professional and Enterprise, according to Zoho (2026). The same page says Enterprise includes 50 credits per user per month, capped at 2,500 per organization, and that API and bulk sends draw on credits. Zoho's per-user prices did not render in our check, so Zoho's rows in the table show limits rather than a price.
| Vendor | Plan | Price | Billing | Limit or allowance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DocuSign | Standard | $30 per user per month | Annual plan, billed monthly | 100 envelopes per user per year |
| DocuSign | Business Pro | $45 per user per month | Annual plan, billed monthly | 100 envelopes per user per year |
| DocuSign | Enhanced | Quote-based | Not stated | Custom |
| Adobe | Acrobat Standard (Teams) | US$16.99 per license per month | Annual plan, billed monthly | Unlimited transactions per user per year on plans bought via Adobe.com |
| Adobe | Acrobat Sign Solutions | Quote-based | Not stated | Priced by users or expected transactions |
| Dropbox Sign | API Essentials | $75 per month | Monthly or annual; $900 billed yearly | 50 requests per month (starting point) |
| Dropbox Sign | API Standard | $250 per month | $3,000 billed yearly | 100 requests per month (starting point) |
| Dropbox Sign | API Premium | Quote-based | Not stated | Custom |
| SignNow | Entry plan | From $8 per user per month | Billed annually | SignNow's pages conflict on the billing unit; get it in writing |
| Zoho Sign | Standard | Not captured in our check | Not captured | 25 envelopes per user per month |
| Zoho Sign | Enterprise | Not captured in our check | Not captured | 50 credits per user per month, capped at 2,500 per organization |
These are list prices read from vendor pages, not quotes. Dropbox Sign's API price depends on request volume, and its price cells rendered poorly in our check, so confirm the figures on the page before you budget.
A worked example for three dentists
This example is illustrative, not a benchmark. Suppose three dentists send about 240 consent and intake packets a month, or 2,880 a year (240 × 12). Three DocuSign Standard seats cost $90 a month (3 × $30 at the price above) and give the group 300 envelopes a year (3 × 100), roughly a tenth of that volume, so the group would need the Enhanced quote. Three Business Pro seats cost $135 a month (3 × $45), or $1,620 a year, and the 100-envelope-per-user cap still leaves the same 300-envelope ceiling. On the Dropbox side, the entry API plan costs $75 per month according to Dropbox (2026). That buys 50 requests, so 240 packets sits above the starting point and needs a volume quote. The completed-packet trigger, the signature_request_all_signed event, is covered in the workflow section below.
The point of the math is not which vendor is cheapest. The envelope or request cap, not the seat price, decides whether a three-dentist group can run its volume on a standard plan at all.
Vendor profiles
Each profile separates what the vendor publishes from our read of it.
DocuSign
Published: Personal is a single-user plan limited to five envelopes a month and no API. Standard and Business Pro are per user with 100 envelopes per user per year, and identity verification is an add-on on those two tiers. Business Pro includes API access, bulk send, and PowerForms.
Best fit: groups that need API access and bulk send and can justify a per-user plan. Our read: the per-user envelope cap is the constraint to model first, because it applies to each seat rather than the account.
Limitations: every self-serve tier caps envelopes per user, which suits a few senders but strains front-desk-heavy groups. We did not confirm a BAA path on a DocuSign page in this check. Third-party guides say a BAA typically comes with an enterprise agreement, which means a quote route.
Implementation: ask for the BAA and the Enhanced quote in writing before buying seats, and map which staff send documents and which only sign them.
Adobe Acrobat Sign
Published: Acrobat Standard and Pro team plans bought via Adobe.com include unlimited transactions per user per year, and Acrobat Sign Solutions is priced by users or expected transactions.
Best fit: practices that already edit PDFs in Acrobat daily and want e-signature inside the same subscription. Our read: the team Acrobat plans look like the cheapest route, but only for groups that need Acrobat anyway.
Limitations: the business Sign tier is quote-based, and the "unlimited" language applies to plans purchased on Adobe.com, not necessarily to a negotiated Sign contract.
Implementation: ask Adobe sales in writing whether any per-user transaction cap applies to the quote and whether the BAA covers the Sign service. Adobe publishes HIPAA configuration documentation, but we did not open it in full in this check.
Dropbox Sign
Published: API plans are tiered by signature requests per month, with monthly or discounted annual billing. A test mode lets developers try most endpoints and features without charge, even from a free account. Embedded signing needs the Standard API plan, and embedded templates need Premium, according to Dropbox (2026). Dropbox also publishes HIPAA conditions: an annual Standard or Premium plan, a signed BAA, and a minimum contract value, as stated in its HIPAA help article updated August 12, 2026.
Best fit: groups that want practice software to trigger signing and file the result. Dropbox's event reference includes signature_request_all_signed, signature_request_signed, and signature_request_declined, which are the events a filing workflow listens for.
Limitations: the entry API tier starts at a set request count, so volume above that needs a quote. We did not capture Dropbox Sign's app-plan prices, which are billed separately from the API.
Implementation: a developer or integrator must build the callback handler, test it in test mode, and confirm that the signed BAA names Dropbox Sign before any patient document goes through the account.
SignNow
Published: Entry price: from $8 per user per month according to SignNow (2026), billed annually. The features page says subscription plans carry no overages or hidden fees at renewal, and that API access sits on higher tiers or as an add-on. SignNow's plans help page says all paid plans include unlimited users at no extra cost. SignNow's own pages therefore describe the billing unit in different ways (per user, per document sent, and unlimited users), so get the billing unit in writing before you budget.
Best fit: small groups that mostly need signatures on patient and staff forms and do not need an API at launch. Our read: the entry price is the lowest we could read, but a low seat price does not settle the BAA question.
Limitations: the monthly-billing rates did not render in our check, the entry tier does not include API access, and we did not verify a BAA path.
Implementation: get the BAA and the invite-counting rules in writing, including how multi-signer packets are counted.
Zoho Sign
Published: the free plan is single-user. Standard allows 25 envelopes per user per month. Professional and Enterprise have unlimited envelopes, with automations and integrations drawing on credits. The API-only option has no monthly commitment, and credits are sold in blocks of 500.
Best fit: groups already on Zoho's suite who want credit-based API sends without a monthly commitment. Our read: credits make the bill harder to forecast, but they can suit a group that already pays for Zoho.
Limitations: the per-credit price was not captured in our check, and we did not verify a BAA path.
Implementation: model monthly credit use against real volume before choosing, and ask for the per-credit price and the BAA in writing.
Where signed forms stall after the signature
The pain usually starts after the signature. A completed consent sits in the signing tool while the chart still says pending, and someone re-keys a PDF into the practice system.
In a proposed US Tech Automations design on Dropbox Sign, the trigger is the signature_request_all_signed event, which fires once every signer has completed a request. The action is a webhook handler that downloads the signed file, matches the request to a patient record through the practice management system's API or a scheduled export, and files the PDF with its signature metadata. The output is a chart task marked "consent received" and an audit row holding the request ID, the signer, and a timestamp. The prerequisites are an API-capable Dropbox Sign plan, a publicly reachable callback URL, a signed BAA that covers the signing and integration path, and API or export rights in the practice system. The human review point is the patient match: a staff member should confirm it before filing, because a name-only match can put a form in the wrong chart.
The second configurable path runs from intake to scheduling. When a new-patient packet completes, the same handler can create a front-desk task to confirm insurance details before the appointment. Requests that fire signature_request_declined or signature_request_expired go to a review queue rather than an automatic reminder loop, so a person decides whether to re-send. This is a configurable design, not a live deployment, and no customer result is implied.
Build it yourself or configure it
Many groups will consider stitching this together in Zapier, Make, or n8n, or building it in-house. Those routes can work. Their run histories, retries, error branches, and audit logs can be configured to support a signing workflow. The buyer still has to design and own the parts that fail quietly: idempotency, so a retried webhook does not file the same form twice; escalation when a patient match fails; access controls on the protected data that passes through the automation; and maintenance when a vendor changes its API.
A proposed US Tech Automations configuration would address those same parts with specific design choices: keying each filing to the signature request ID, routing exceptions to a named reviewer, and logging each step. It carries the same prerequisites as the DIY route: API access on the signing plan, a signed BAA with each system that touches patient data, and a named person who approves the matching rules. These are design choices to review, not measured outcomes.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip a custom workflow when your forms are few and a vendor's own plan covers them, when you only sign occasional vendor or lease contracts, or when your practice management software already has a signing module that files into the chart. In those three cases, a plan from the signing vendor or the module you already pay for is the simpler choice, and it avoids adding another system that needs a BAA.
Common mistakes
Buying seats for everyone who touches a form, instead of counting who actually sends.
Treating "HIPAA-ready" marketing as a BAA. Get the signed agreement that names the product you buy.
Forgetting the envelope or request cap until the first busy month of the year.
Using a single-user or free plan for a group that needs shared templates and audit access.
Leaving identity verification out of the budget. On DocuSign it is an add-on on specific tiers.
Who should choose which platform
| Vendor | Choose it when | Avoid it when |
|---|---|---|
| DocuSign | You need API access and bulk send and can pay per user | Your volume exceeds the per-user cap and you cannot get a quote |
| Adobe Acrobat Sign | Your group already runs Acrobat and you can get written terms | You need published prices for the business tier before buying |
| Dropbox Sign | Practice software should trigger signing and you can meet its HIPAA conditions | You cannot commit to an annual plan or a minimum contract value |
| SignNow | Entry cost matters most and you do not need an API at launch | You cannot get the BAA confirmed in writing |
| Zoho Sign | You already use Zoho and can forecast credit use | Your monthly volume is hard to forecast |
Who this is for: a dental group with several dentists or locations that sends consent, intake, or financing forms every week and wants them filed without manual re-keying.
Red flags: nobody owns the BAA and vendor paperwork; the vendor will confirm HIPAA terms only by email without a signed agreement; or your signing volume is so low that a single-user plan covers the whole group.
Questions dental groups ask
Is an e-signature legally valid on patient consent forms?
Generally yes: under 15 U.S.C. 7001, a signature or record cannot be denied legal effect solely because it is electronic, according to Cornell Law School LII. A 2025 trade article in Decisions in Dentistry describes electronic consent as legally binding and says e-signatures are less susceptible to forgery than paper, according to Decisions in Dentistry (2025). State dental rules and the wording of your own consent form still apply.
Does a signed form need a BAA?
Usually yes when the form ties a patient's name to care or billing, because that combination counts as protected health information. Get the vendor's signed BAA before the first upload, and confirm that it names the signing product itself.
Which vendor publishes its HIPAA conditions?
Dropbox Sign does: its help article, updated August 12, 2026, requires an annual Standard or Premium plan, a signed BAA, and a minimum contract value. For the other vendors in this guide, we did not confirm a BAA path on their own pages in this check.
Can we skip a dedicated platform?
Possibly. Check whether your practice management software already has a signing module that files into the chart, because that removes the re-keying step. Use a standalone tool when the module cannot handle your volume or your signers.
Should we pay per seat or per request?
Pay per seat when a few people send most documents and volume stays under the envelope cap. Pay per request when software triggers signing at higher volume, and get a quote for the request count you expect rather than the starting tier.
Making the call
The decision starts with the BAA path, moves to what a plan charges per seat or per request, and ends with whether signed forms can file into the chart without re-keying. If two vendors confirm a BAA in writing, price each one against your real monthly volume, and choose the plan whose cap you can live with for a full year.
For the workflow side, see how US Tech Automations configures this against your practice software, starting with the prerequisites listed above.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.