Skip to content
AI & Automation

Best Fraud Prevention Tools: 7 for Small Online Stores 2027

Oct 30, 2026

Key Takeaways

  • The first decision is who absorbs a fraud loss. Screening tools score orders and leave the chargeback with you, while guarantee tools charge a fee and take on fraud liability for the orders they approve.

  • Shopify Protect has no fee and covers fraud-based chargebacks on eligible Shop Pay orders, but only for US stores that fulfill with tracking inside seven days.

  • Stripe's Radar plans start at $10, $14 and $20 per month for Standard, Plus and Pro, and the manual review queue is available only from Plus up.

  • FraudLabs Pro has the clearest published price ladder in this group, running from a free Micro plan to a $99.95 monthly Small plan.

  • Signifyd, Wyllo, Sift and Kount did not show plan prices on the pages we opened, so the real comparison is the fee formula and guarantee scope in a written quote.

TL;DR: Use the free protection you already qualify for, add one screening tool only when manual review has a measurable cost, and request guarantee quotes once you know your own chargeback losses.

Pick a model before a vendor

Ecommerce fraud prevention software scores each checkout or account for risk and returns an approve, review or decline decision, and some versions also reimburse you when an approved order turns out to be fraud.

This comparison covers three models. Built-in chargeback reimbursement is what Shopify Protect offers. Screen-and-decide software, where you keep the loss, covers Stripe Radar, FraudLabs Pro, Sift and Kount. Guarantee-based screening, where the vendor takes fraud liability on approved orders, covers Signifyd and Wyllo, if its quote includes a guarantee.

The model changes the math. Under screen-only tools, every fraud chargeback that gets past the tool is your cost, and every review is your labor. Under a percentage-based guarantee, the fee grows with approved revenue. Signifyd's pricing page says it charges "a percentage of the order total when an order is approved" and advertises a 100% financial guarantee according to Signifyd (2026).

The category is large even though that figure says nothing about your store: Global card fraud losses: $33.41 billion in 2024 according to Nilson Report (2025), down 1.2% from 2023.

Who this is for

This guide is for the owner or operations lead at a small online store who is close to choosing and wants the answer first. It assumes you already take cards and that someone on your team handles chargebacks and flagged orders by hand.

Red flags: nobody owns the daily review of flagged orders; your fulfillment cannot attach tracking inside the window a vendor sets; or you cannot share order and dispute data with a vendor, which every tool here depends on.

How we evaluated these tools

We built this as a buyer's guide from public pages. We opened each vendor's own pricing or product page where one existed, and we used independent sources for market context. We did not run any of these products, so nothing below describes hands-on testing. The weights reflect what moves money for a small store.

CriterionWeightScale usedWhy it carries this weight
Chargeback liability on approved orders25%0–5Decides who absorbs a fraud loss when the tool approves an order
Published price and entry cost20%0–5A small store needs a number to budget before a sales call
Setup effort on your platform15%0–5Work that needs developers adds cost the sticker price hides
Review queue and rule control15%0–5Lets an owner override a decision and see why it was made
Dispute evidence and audit trail15%0–5Chargeback wins depend on records you can export
Scope across checkout and after purchase10%0–5Returns and policy abuse matter once checkout fraud is contained

The 0–5 scale is a rubric for reading each profile. We did not assign numeric scores, because the vendors do not publish comparable data.

We left Riskified out. Its pricing and guarantee pages returned access errors when we opened them, so we could not confirm current terms. Sift's pricing URL returned a not-found error, so its profile relies on its product pages.

Feature matrix at a glance

VendorPublished priceChargeback liabilityFree entry pointManual review queue
StripeYes, monthly starting pricesNot stated on pages openedRadar Lite alerts at no added charge on standard pricingPlus and Pro only
ShopifyFreeFraud-based chargebacks on eligible Shop Pay orders, US onlyYesNot a screening tool
FraudLabs ProYes, six plansNot stated on pricing pageMicro plan, 500 queries a monthNot confirmed
WylloQuote-basedNot confirmed on pages openedTrial offered, terms not on pricing pageNot confirmed
SignifydQuote-basedConfigurable, from fraud-only protection to full transferNot statedNot confirmed
SiftNot publishedNot stated on pages openedNot statedNot confirmed
KountNot published; app free to installNot stated on pages openedShopify app free to installNot confirmed

A "not confirmed" cell means the pages we opened did not say so, not that the vendor lacks the feature. Stripe's plan comparison is the clearest example of plan gating, since it lists manual reviews as unsupported on Standard and supported on Plus and Pro.

What the published prices show

Pricing checked October 26, 2026. Only prices printed on each vendor's own pricing page appear here. Everything else is marked quote-based or not published.

Standard tier: from $10 per month according to Stripe (2026). The same page starts Plus at $14 and Pro at $20 per month. Stripe's per-screened-transaction rate sits behind a "Show pricing" link that we did not read, so the real monthly cost will exceed the starting price.

VendorPlanPublished priceWhat the price covers
StripeRadar StandardFrom $10 per monthPlus a per-screened-transaction fee, rate not read
StripeRadar PlusFrom $14 per monthAdds custom rules and manual reviews
StripeRadar ProFrom $20 per monthAdds dynamic risk thresholds and customer-abuse signals
ShopifyShopify ProtectFreeFraud-based chargebacks on eligible Shop Pay orders, US stores only
FraudLabs ProMicroFree500 queries per month
FraudLabs ProMini$29.95 per month1,500 queries per month
FraudLabs ProSmall$99.95 per month5,000 queries per month
SignifydCustomQuote-basedPercentage of order total on approved orders, rate not published
WylloCustomQuote-basedNo plan prices on the pricing page we opened
SiftCustomNot publishedNo pricing page reachable; product pages show no prices
KountShopify appFree to installAdditional service fees apply, amounts not published on pages opened

Mini plan: $29.95 per month according to FraudLabs Pro (2026). FraudLabs Pro counts queries rather than orders and states no overage fee, so ask whether a declined attempt counts toward the query limit.

Signifyd, Wyllo, Sift and Kount show no plan prices on the pages we opened. Ask each for a written quote that states the fee formula, the guarantee scope and any minimums.

Worked example: review load and plan cost

Illustrative scenario, not a customer: a small store takes 2,500 orders a month and sends 2% of them to manual review, which is 50 orders. At an assumed six minutes per review, that is five hours of owner time each month. FraudLabs Pro's pricing page does not spell out whether one order equals one query, so assume it does; on that basis FraudLabs Pro's Small plan costs $99.95 per month, or $1,199.40 a year, and covers 5,000 queries. On the Stripe side, a payment entering the review queue fires the review.opened webhook, and review.closed carries the reason for the decision, so the store can log both events, provided it is on Plus or Pro, since manual reviews are unsupported on Standard.

Vendor profiles

Shopify Protect

Facts: Shopify describes its protection as "free, built-in chargeback protection" that covers fraud-based chargebacks on eligible Shop Pay transactions authorized through Shopify Payments, for US stores only. Eligible orders need fulfillment within seven days of order receipt, a tracking number and an approved carrier, according to Shopify (seven days).

Best fit: US stores where Shop Pay carries a large share of orders and the team already ships with tracking. It is the only option here that covers chargebacks at no fee.

Limitations: It is not a screening tool and does not decide which orders to approve. It covers fraud-based chargebacks only, and the page does not list the full exclusions, so read the terms in the Help Center before relying on it.

Implementation: Nothing to install on an eligible store. The work is operational: track each fulfillment against the seven-day window and keep carrier tracking attached to every order.

Evidence: Shopify Protect page.

Stripe Radar

Facts: Stripe's documentation lists four plans: Radar Lite, Standard, Plus and Pro. Standard, Plus and Pro charge a fee for each screened transaction. Custom rules and manual reviews are supported on Plus and Pro, not Standard.

Best fit: Stores already processing on Stripe that want screening without adding a second vendor. Plus makes sense only if the review queue and custom rules earn their cost.

Limitations: Standard has no review queue or custom rules. Stripe does not present a chargeback guarantee on the pages we opened, so chargeback losses stay with you.

Implementation: Configure Radar in the Dashboard, then subscribe to review.opened and review.closed if you want those events in your own systems. Stripe's guidance is to pass order and shipping details as metadata so reviewers see them at decision time.

Evidence: Stripe review documentation and Stripe's plan comparison.

FraudLabs Pro

Facts: FraudLabs Pro lists six plans in US dollars: Micro at no cost for 500 queries a month, Mini at $29.95 for 1,500, Small at $99.95 for 5,000, Medium at $249.95 for 25,000, Large at $499.95 for 100,000 and Enterprise at $1,249.95 for 500,000. The page promotes a 14-day free trial.

Best fit: Low-volume stores that want a fixed monthly cost and can start on the free Micro plan. It is the only zero-cost screening entry on this list.

Limitations: The pricing page does not mention a chargeback guarantee, a review queue or integration options, so confirm those before committing. Query counting matters too: if declined attempts count, your real volume runs above your order count.

Implementation: Confirm the integration method for your platform and whether the query limit includes declined attempts.

Evidence: FraudLabs Pro pricing.

Wyllo (formerly NoFraud)

Facts: NoFraud announced on March 19, 2026, that it is rebranding as Wyllo, following its acquisition of the post-purchase risk platform Yofi. The company says its platform combines identity signals with behavioral intelligence from checkout through returns, refunds and support, and that it integrates with Salesforce Service Cloud, Kustomer and Gorgias. The pricing page we opened shows no plan prices.

Best fit: Stores where returns, policy abuse and support tickets cause as much trouble as checkout fraud, particularly if Gorgias is already the helpdesk.

Limitations: Older reviews and integrations still say NoFraud, so older evidence may describe a different product. We did not confirm guarantee terms on pages we opened, so ask for them in writing.

Implementation: Request a quote that scopes checkout and returns separately, and confirm whether the helpdesk integration is included in the quoted price.

Evidence: the rebrand announcement and Wyllo pricing.

Signifyd

Facts: Signifyd's pricing page publishes no prices and says the rate varies by product, merchant vertical, order volume and average ticket size. It charges a percentage of the order total on approved orders, with no charge when an order is declined for fraud. Its guarantee is configurable, from fraud-only chargeback protection to full liability transfer. Its approval-rate performance commitment is a separate term from the financial guarantee.

Best fit: Stores whose main worry is paying for fraud chargebacks on approved orders, and who will accept a percentage fee in exchange for transferring that risk.

Limitations: The fee follows approved revenue, so the cost rises as the store grows, and nothing is knowable until the quote. Read the approval-rate commitment as its own contract term, not as part of the guarantee.

Implementation: Expect a quote conversation and a data connection to your order flow. Ask for the exact guarantee scope in the contract, not on the marketing page.

Evidence: Signifyd pricing.

Sift

Facts: Sift's homepage lists four products: Payment Protection, Account Defense, the Sift Score API and Expert Services. Its Payment Protection one-pager promises to "approve more transactions with real-time fraud decisions," lists no prices and does not mention chargebacks or dispute management.

Best fit: Stores that want account-level defense alongside checkout decisions and will request a demo and quote before committing.

Limitations: No published prices, and we did not confirm a chargeback guarantee on pages we opened. Do not assume dispute coverage from the one-pager.

Implementation: Expect a sales-led setup. Ask for the integration path and the event feed you would receive on your platform.

Evidence: Sift Payment Protection one-pager.

Kount

Facts: Kount's Shopify listing says the app is "Free to install," that "Additional service fees may apply," and that charges are billed in USD. The Kount pricing link leads to an Equifax identity and fraud page that offers a sales consultation and lists no prices, according to Equifax. Equifax announced Kount Essentials on May 03, 2023, for smaller merchants, with self-service onboarding through the Shopify App Store. That announcement gives no fees.

Best fit: Shopify merchants who want a no-cost install and will get the fee schedule from sales before turning on paid features.

Limitations: Fee amounts are not published on pages we opened, and the 2023 announcement may not describe current tiers. Confirm which tier the app installs and what it bills.

Implementation: Install from the Shopify App Store, then confirm the active tier and fee schedule in writing before go-live.

Evidence: Kount on the Shopify App Store and Equifax's Kount Essentials announcement.

Where a workflow layer fits

Most small stores hit the same problem after a tool says "review": someone has to decide, record the decision and keep evidence for a dispute. That is where a workflow layer helps. The design below is proposed and configurable, not a live deployment or a measured result.

The trigger is Stripe's review.opened event, which fires when a payment enters the review queue. The workflow then pulls the matching order from Shopify, compares shipping and billing details, and creates a review card that includes Stripe's risk insights and a map link to the shipping address, which Stripe's docs suggest as reviewer metadata. The output is a card in a shared queue assigned to a named reviewer. Prerequisites are a Stripe webhook endpoint, read access to Shopify orders, and one named human owner.

The second step closes the loop. When review.closed arrives with its reason, the workflow writes the decision, the reviewer's name and the reason to an audit log. Two actions stay human-approved: any refund, and any "refund and report fraud" action, because Stripe's documentation says the latter adds the card fingerprint and customer email to block lists. The weekly check of closed reviews is the human point that feeds rule changes.

The alternative most small stores consider first is stitching this together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or building it in-house. Those tools can support run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when they are configured that way. The buyer still has to design and own observability, idempotency so a retried webhook does not log or refund twice, escalation paths, access controls and ongoing maintenance. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure those as explicit steps with the human checkpoints above, but the store still owns its fraud policy and reviewer staffing.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: three scenarios where a simpler option wins. If you are a US Shopify store whose Shop Pay orders carry most of your volume and you ship with tracking, Shopify Protect may cover the losses you care about at no fee, and a workflow adds nothing. If you run Stripe on Plus and your review volume is small enough for the built-in queue, the webhook layer adds moving parts you must maintain. If your real need is a financial guarantee rather than better decisions, a guarantee quote is a purchase, not a build.

Common mistakes

  • Buying a guarantee before measuring your own losses. A percentage fee on approved revenue only makes sense once you know what your chargebacks cost you today.

  • Assuming the free tier covers the same scope as the paid one. Stripe's Lite tier and Plus tier differ on manual reviews and custom rules, and Shopify Protect is not a screening tool at all.

  • Ignoring first-party misuse. Chargebacks filed on genuine purchases still cost you money, so count them in your loss estimate and not only stolen-card fraud.

  • Treating a percentage fee as a flat cost. Signifyd's fee follows approved revenue, so a good sales month raises the bill.

  • Turning on automatic declines before anyone reviews the first week of decisions. Check the false-decline pattern before tightening rules.

  • Skipping shipping hygiene. Shopify Protect eligibility depends on fulfillment and tracking inside seven days, so a slow warehouse can void coverage you assumed you had.

Decision checklist

  • Which processor and checkout do you use, and does it already include screening?

  • Do most of your orders come through Shop Pay, and do you ship US addresses with tracking?

  • Who reviews a flagged order each day, and how long can an order wait?

  • Can you export order, shipping and dispute data to a vendor without custom engineering?

  • Is the guarantee in writing, and does it cover fraud only or a broader set of reason codes?

  • Do you have a written fee schedule from each quote, including minimums and any per-transaction charges?

Frequently asked questions

Is Shopify Protect enough for a small Shopify store?

It is enough only when your store is US-based, your orders run through Shopify Payments with Shop Pay, and you can meet the seven-day fulfillment and tracking rules. It covers fraud-based chargebacks and no more, so you still need a screening step if you want fewer fraud orders in the first place.

Do I need a screening tool if my payment processor already screens payments?

Start with the screening your processor already includes, and add a second tool only when your review workload or losses justify the cost. The processor layer is the cheapest place to learn what your real fraud rate looks like.

Why are most of these prices quote-based?

Most vendors price by order volume, product mix and risk, so one list price would mislead many buyers. Signifyd's own pricing page says its rate varies by product, vertical, order volume and average ticket size.

Can I use Stripe Radar without paying for a plan?

Yes, at the entry level. Stripe's pricing page says fraud alerts come at no additional charge for businesses on standard payments pricing, but the review queue and custom rules require Plus or Pro.

Should I build this in Zapier, Make or n8n instead?

Build it there if the output is an alert or a summary. For decisions that move money, you need to own the logging, retries, escalation and access controls, which is the work the proposed design above breaks out as explicit steps.

Conclusion

For most small stores the order of work is clear. Confirm the free protection you already qualify for, add one screening tool on the processor you already use, and request written guarantee quotes only after you have measured your own chargeback losses. If you want the workflow side of that plan with its review queue, audit log and human checkpoints, see how US Tech Automations configures this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.