Skip to content
AI & Automation

Good-Better-Best Proposal Software: 7 Plumbing Tools, 2027

Oct 30, 2026

Key Takeaways

  • TL;DR: A good-better-best proposal is a three-option quote, so the right tool shows those options in one proposal, lets the customer approve one online, and writes the choice to the job.

  • Category decision: Choose a proposal or field-service tool that already holds options inside the quote, then confirm which plan includes that feature before you compare vendors.

  • Four of the seven products publish plan prices. FieldEdge, FieldPulse and ServiceTitan are quote-based, so budget those with a written quote.

  • Housecall Pro's Sales Proposal Tool and FieldPulse's variant proposals are the most explicit tier flows on their own pages. FieldPulse's sits in an add-on, and Housecall Pro's webhooks need its Max plan.

  • Jobber's option features are split. Optional line items are available on select plans, and its newer Quote Options feature required a Labs enrollment when we checked.

  • A workflow layer earns its cost only after the approval step, and only if you can name the event, the owner and the human review point.

What good-better-best means on a plumbing quote

Good-better-best is a proposal format that prices three levels of the same job, so the customer chooses a service level instead of accepting or rejecting one price. On a plumbing quote that usually means a repair that restores function, a standard replacement, and an upgrade with a longer warranty or higher-efficiency equipment. The format only holds up when all three tiers come from the same pricebook and sit on the same job record, because a tier written by hand in a separate document is where stale prices and mismatched scope creep in.

Who this is for

This guide is written for an owner or operations lead at a small home services business who is close to choosing a tool and who sends written estimates that a technician presents on site. If you only need an estimate template and no customer approval, a simpler tool will do, and the estimating side of the decision is covered in our estimating software guide for plumbing companies.

Red flags: you have no pricebook to build tiers from, you expect a beta or Labs feature to be live on your account, or nobody in the office will own the follow-up after the customer picks an option.

How we evaluated these tools

This is an informed buyer's guide built from public pages: each vendor's pricing and help pages, plus two third-party listings used only where they disagree with the vendors. We did not run any of these products, and we did not turn the evaluation into numeric scores. The weights below are our judgment about what a small plumbing shop needs most, and they sum to 100%.

CriterionWeightWhat a strong answer looks like
Native good-better-best presentation25%Three or more options grouped inside one proposal, not three separate documents
Customer approves an option online20%The client selects and approves inside the proposal, and the choice lands on the job
Plan includes the feature at a published price20%The feature sits on a public plan, or its add-on price is shown
Follow-up and status events15%Automated reminders, or webhook events a workflow can read
Plumbing fit10%Tiers built from a pricebook and shown on a technician's phone
Setup burden10%A small office can configure it without a multi-month implementation

The weights order the criteria when two options look close. A tool that is strong on the first two rows but quote-only on price is still a serious candidate; it simply needs a written quote before you decide.

Which products show tiers natively

The matrix reads "not stated" as "not on the page we checked," not as "missing." Confirm any gap with the vendor before you sign.

ProductOption presentationCustomer selects onlineE-signatureFollow-up or eventsPlan gate
Housecall ProSales Proposal Tool, side-by-side viewHelp article says a customer can approve more than one option; selection screen not describedNot statedPipeline follow-ups; estimate option eventsTool listed on Max; webhooks on Max
JobberOptional line items; Quote Options in LabsClient checks optional items in the client hubNot statedAutomated quote follow-upsFollow-ups from Connect; upsell options on Grow and Plus
ServiceTitanTiered options grouped on proposal templates, shown in mobileNot described on the help page reviewedNot stated on the page reviewedNot statedEnabled by a Customer Success Manager; quote-based
Service FusionEstimate Options on all three plansNot statedAdd-on on Starter and Plus; included on ProNot statedPro includes e-signature and customer portal
FieldEdgeMulti-option quotes; Proposal Pro for good, better, best and budget optionsNot statedNot statedNot statedMulti-option from Premier; Proposal Pro on Elite
FieldPulseVariant proposals, side by sideCustomer selects one option inside the proposalElectronic signature on the spotNot describedRequires the Sales Suite add-on
MyQuoteIQOptions estimatesNot statedNot statedNot statedIncluded on all five plans

Housecall Pro's help article says a customer can approve more than one option, but it does not describe the selection screen or e-signature. FieldPulse is the only product in this set whose help page describes a customer signing inside the proposal and paying a deposit in the same visit. Jobber's help article describes optional line items as checkboxes the client can deselect, and it says the feature is limited to select plans. Its newer Quote Options feature sits behind a Labs enrollment, and its help page returned an error when we tried to open it, so treat that feature as unconfirmed for your account. ServiceTitan's proposal help page explains how to group estimate templates into proposal types and notes that labels and colors appear in its mobile app; it does not describe customer selection or e-signature on the page we reviewed.

What each tool charges

Pricing checked October 26, 2026. Only figures read on each vendor's own pricing page appear here, and quote-based products show no figure. Third-party listings disagree with the vendor pages. A review aggregator's Housecall Pro listing, for example, shows a different Basic price from Housecall Pro's own page (SoftwareSuggest listing), so confirm any figure on a call before you budget from it.

VendorPlanMonthlyAnnualUsers included
Housecall ProBasic$79$591
Housecall ProMax$329$2998
JobberCore$49$291
JobberGrow$199$1491
Service FusionStarter$245$208Unlimited
Service FusionPro$627$533Unlimited
MyQuoteIQEssentials$29.99Not listed1
MyQuoteIQMax$699.99Not listed20
FieldEdgeSelect, Premier, EliteQuote-basedQuote-based2, 4 or 6 mobile licenses

Jobber's figures are regular rates after introductory pricing, so Core's annual rate is $29 only after its 12-month introductory period. Housecall Pro's page labels only the Basic price as billed annually, so we read the lower Max figure as the annual rate. Service Fusion's monthly figures appear without a billing label.

Core plan monthly rate after intro: $49 per month according to Jobber (2026). Connect for one user is $139 per month on monthly billing after its introductory period, and Grow is $199 on the same basis.

Max tier listed at $299 per month according to Housecall Pro (2026). The same page shows $329 per month for Max on the other billing option, so the lower figure is the one we read as annual.

Pro tier, billed annually: $533 per month according to Service Fusion (2026). The page shows the Starter, Plus and Pro figures twice, once labeled as billed annually and once without a billing label, so ask which rate applies before you compare.

Essentials plan billed monthly: $29.99 per month according to MyQuoteIQ (2026). That entry plan includes one user and options estimates, and the page lists extra users separately.

Quote-based means no published figure. FieldEdge's page shows "Call for Pricing" for add-ons on Select and Premier. FieldPulse describes its pricing as seat-based with a custom quote. ServiceTitan says its per-technician pricing is "designed to fit your business and goals, at any size." Ask each for a written quote that includes add-ons, renewal terms and any implementation fees.

Seats and add-ons

VendorUsers or licenses includedExtra user costNote
Housecall Pro8 on Max$35 per month per additional userMax lists the Sales Proposal Tool
Jobber1, 5, 10 or 15 on Connect and Grow$29 per month per added userConnect and Grow list those user tiers
MyQuoteIQ4 on Pro$25 per month per additional user, up to 100Options estimates on every plan
FieldEdge2, 4 or 6 mobile app licensesNot publishedLicense counts rise by plan

The Housecall Pro, Jobber and MyQuoteIQ seat prices in this table come from the pricing pages cited above. Service Fusion lists unlimited users on all three plans, which suits a crew that keeps adding technicians. FieldPulse prices by seat and ServiceTitan by technician, and neither publishes a per-seat figure.

Vendor profiles

Housecall Pro

Best fit: a shop already running estimates, invoices and dispatch in Housecall Pro that wants options shown side by side inside the estimate. The help article describes the Sales Proposal Tool as a good-better-best model, with a side-by-side proposal view, attachments, expiration dates and follow-ups through Pipeline.

Limitations: the article does not describe how a customer signs online, and the pricing page lists the tool in Max's feature list and in its add-ons section. The article also says access depends on your current plan; otherwise you add it through the vendor's chat or its App Store trial.

Implementation: build the tiers as saved estimate templates, then present the estimate as a proposal from the web or mobile app. Webhooks are a separate decision, covered in the workflow section below.

Evidence: Sales Proposal Tool article and pricing page.

Jobber

Best fit: an owner who wants quoting, invoicing and follow-ups in one app and who is willing to use optional line items as tiers.

Limitations: optional items are checkboxes, so a client can skip all of them or deselect the one you pre-selected, and unselected items disappear when a quote becomes a job. Automated quote follow-ups start on the Connect plan, so a Core account cannot send them.

Implementation: mark each tier's items as optional, pre-select the recommended one, and check the selection before you schedule. The deposit follows the items the client selects, so confirm the amount before the job is booked.

Evidence: optional line items article and pricing page.

ServiceTitan

Best fit: multi-technician replacement businesses with a pricebook that office staff maintain, and enough administrative capacity to set permissions and proposal types.

Limitations: there is no public price, and the pricing page asks for a per-technician request. The help page says a Customer Success Manager must enable the feature. A competitor's analysis reports a contract minimum, and we cite it as one account, not a neutral benchmark: ServiceTitan contract minimum: 12 months according to Projul (2026). Projul sells a competing product and its article recommends it, so confirm the term in writing.

Implementation: the help page sets out a path through Pricebook, Templates, Proposal Templates and Proposal Types, then asks you to choose a progressive or additive selling mode. The page does not explain the difference, so ask your success manager before you build templates.

Evidence: proposal templates help and pricing page.

Service Fusion

Best fit: a growing crew that wants estimate options inside its field-service system, with unlimited users on every plan.

Limitations: e-signature and the customer web portal are add-ons on Starter and Plus and are included only on Pro, and the pricing page does not list proposals as a separate feature. Its 2021 product announcement claims homeowners choose something better than the basic repair 60% of the time, without citing a source, so treat that figure as marketing.

Implementation: estimate options appear on all three plans, so confirm the option layout you want on a demo before you pick a tier.

Evidence: pricing page and 2021 product announcement.

FieldEdge

Best fit: an established shop that needs multi-option quotes and proposal management and is willing to take a demo.

Premier and Elite include multi-option quotes. Proposal Pro, which the page says lets you present good, better, best and budget options, is included on Elite and sold as an add-on on Select and Premier.

Mobile app licenses by plan: 2, 4 and 6 according to FieldEdge (2026). Those counts rise with each plan, and the add-on prices appear only as "Call for Pricing."

Limitations: the pricing page publishes no figures, and its FAQ says a demo call shares pricing for each feature. Implementation: schedule the demo, then ask for a written quote that includes the add-ons you need.

Evidence: pricing page.

FieldPulse

Best fit: a seat-based team that wants the customer to sign and pay a deposit inside the proposal, then convert the accepted proposal to an invoice.

Limitations: variant proposals, the good-better-best format, sit inside Dynamic Proposals, which requires the Sales Suite add-on and must be turned on under Company Settings > Features & Plugins. The variant help article does not state a maximum number of options, and the pages we checked do not describe follow-up automation. Pricing is a custom quote for seats.

Implementation: customer, service and product records carry into the proposal, so clean those records before you build the first one.

Evidence: variant proposal article and pricing page.

MyQuoteIQ

Best fit: a small shop that wants published monthly prices and options estimates from the start.

Limitations: the pricing page does not use the phrase good-better-best, and the pages we checked do not confirm customer selection, e-signature or follow-up. The page shows monthly billing for each plan and gives only one annual example, so ask for annual pricing before you budget.

Evidence: pricing page.

A 30-quote month, worked through

Take a shop that sends 30 written quotes a month and wins 9 of them, a 30% close rate on single-price quotes. Assume, for illustration only, that three-option proposals lift that to 34%: 30 times 0.34 is 10.2 wins, which is 1.2 more jobs a month and, at 3 labor hours per job, 3.6 more technician hours. Housecall Pro's Max tier is $299 per month on the lower figure its page shows, which is $3,588 for a full year, so the shop needs its average job margin before it can say whether 1.2 extra jobs covers the plan; we do not assume one. If the office wants a task the moment a client picks an option, the event to watch is estimate.option.approval_status_changed, and Housecall Pro's help article says webhooks are available only on the Max plan.

Where a workflow layer fits after the proposal

A proposal tool stores the option the customer chose, but someone still has to notice it, check the scope and tell the scheduler. US Tech Automations describes its work as custom automation workflows that it designs, builds, tests and maintains for each client, so a proposed design would be configured for one shop rather than sold as a fixed template.

The first design is a proposed, configurable workflow, not a live deployment. The trigger is the Housecall Pro webhook estimate.option.approval_status_changed. The action writes the accepted option to a QuickBooks or Google Sheets record, both of which the US Tech Automations site lists among its integrations. The output is a scheduling task for the office. Nine estimate webhook events, Max plan only according to Housecall Pro (2026). Prerequisites are a Housecall Pro Max plan, a receiving endpoint that verifies the signing secret Housecall Pro issues, and QuickBooks or Google Sheets access. The human review point is the office confirming the chosen option before anything is scheduled, and the workflow does not message the customer.

The second design covers quotes that go quiet. The trigger is estimate.sent with no approval event after a waiting period the shop chooses. The action drafts a follow-up message, and the output is a queue for staff. A person approves, edits or rejects each draft before it is sent, which matches the approval step the US Tech Automations site describes for its sample support workflow. If Housecall Pro's Pipeline follow-ups already cover this, skip the second design.

The do-it-yourself path is to connect Zapier, Make or n8n to the same webhook. Those tools can keep run histories, retries and error branches when they are configured, so a buyer does not have to invent those features. The shop still owns the design: duplicate-event handling so one approval does not create two tasks, escalation when a webhook fails, access controls on the QuickBooks or Sheets connection, and someone to maintain the flow when Housecall Pro changes its event payloads. A managed build shifts some of that maintenance to the vendor, but the review points still sit with your office.

Common mistakes

  • Counting a Labs or beta feature as live on your account before the vendor confirms enrollment.

  • Assuming e-signature is included when the pricing page lists it as an add-on.

  • Presenting three tiers with no trade-offs, so the customer compares only the price.

  • Forgetting that unselected optional items disappear when a Jobber quote becomes a job.

  • Buying a workflow layer before you name the event, the owner and the review step.

Choosing by situation

  • Housecall Pro on Max: start with the Sales Proposal Tool, then decide on webhooks as a separate purchase.

  • Jobber: optional line items cover simple tiers today, but confirm your plan includes them before you build around them.

  • FieldEdge or ServiceTitan: request written quotes from both finalists, including add-ons and renewal terms.

  • FieldPulse: budget the Sales Suite add-on in the quote if you want the signature and deposit flow.

  • Service Fusion: if you need e-signature, Pro is the only plan that includes it.

  • MyQuoteIQ: a fit for a shop that wants a published monthly price and options estimates, provided a demo confirms e-signature and follow-ups.

Frequently asked questions

Which products show good-better-best options natively?

Housecall Pro's Sales Proposal Tool, FieldPulse's variant proposals and FieldEdge's Proposal Pro each name the format on their own pages. ServiceTitan's tiered proposal templates and Jobber's optional line items reach a similar result by a different route.

Can a customer buy more than one option?

Sometimes. Jobber's optional line items are checkboxes, so a client can combine several. ServiceTitan's help page asks you to choose a progressive or additive selling mode without explaining the difference, so ask before you build templates.

Are the quote-based products worth a call?

Yes, when they are finalists. FieldEdge, FieldPulse and ServiceTitan publish no plan figures, and their pages tie cost to add-ons, seats or technicians. Ask for a written quote that lists add-ons and renewal terms, since a competitor's analysis reports a 12-month minimum contract for ServiceTitan.

Is e-signature included?

Only in limited cases. Service Fusion includes e-signature on Pro, and FieldPulse's electronic signatures sit inside its Dynamic Proposals add-on. The other pages we checked do not say, so ask the vendor directly.

Do I need a workflow layer if my proposal tool already sends follow-ups?

Usually not for reminders. A workflow layer earns its place when an approved option has to reach a system outside the proposal tool, such as accounting or a schedule, and someone must review the result.

When is a workflow layer the wrong choice?

Skip it if your tool's native follow-ups already cover your reminders, as Housecall Pro's Pipeline follow-ups do on a plan that includes the Sales Proposal Tool. Skip it if the owner approves every quote in the same app and nothing needs to reach accounting or scheduling. Skip it if Jobber's optional line items already show the tiers you need and no one wants to maintain a webhook. In those cases a configured flow adds a system to maintain without removing a human step, and US Tech Automations would be the wrong first purchase for a shop with no one to own the approval step.

Bottom line

For most plumbing shops the decision starts with the plan, not the feature list. Confirm which tier includes the option presentation and the approval step you need, get written quotes from the quote-based vendors, and then decide whether a workflow layer is worth the maintenance. If the approval has to reach accounting or scheduling, see how US Tech Automations configures this and ask for a design with named review points before you commit.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.