Skip to content
AI & Automation

Best HACCP Log Tools for Restaurant Owners: 5 Picks, 2027

Oct 31, 2026

Start with how temperatures get recorded

A HACCP log is the dated record of critical control point checks, such as cooler and hot-holding temperatures, that shows your written food safety plan is being followed. For most restaurant owners the real choice comes down to two questions: how a reading gets into the system (a phone entry, a Bluetooth probe or a wireless sensor), and who must act when a reading falls outside its limit. Settle those first, then compare price and features.

The rules for the log itself sit with your regulator. The FDA says the 2026 Food Code is the most recent full edition and that regulators use it as a model for their own rules, according to FDA (2026). Your local health department decides what a log must contain, how long you keep it and whether an electronic record counts, so confirm those points in writing before you buy.

TL;DR: Choose by site count and alert process first. Mitti and FoodDocs publish prices on their own pages, while Crunchtime's two products and SmartSense direct buyers to a quote, so get written numbers before you compare them.

Key Takeaways

  • Mitti and FoodDocs publish their prices. The Crunchtime pages and SmartSense's page we opened do not, so those products are quote-based.

  • Mitti's API requires a Premium or Enterprise plan, so budget for that tier before you plan an export into your own reporting.

  • FoodDocs prices per site and Mitti prices per seat, so the two bills grow in different ways as you add locations or staff.

  • Sensor alerts are the main reason to pay more. A phone-only log is cheaper but depends on a person acting on every reading.

  • Confirm log format and retention rules with your health department, because the FDA Food Code is a model that states adopt and change.

  • Ill-worker contamination is one of the most common contributing factors in restaurant outbreaks, so check whether the tool can record staff illness checks as well as temperatures.

How we evaluated these tools

We built this guide from public information only. We opened each vendor's own pricing or quote page, and its API documentation where one is published. We did not run any of these products. The weights and evidence scale below are our editorial judgement, not measured scores.

CriterionWeightEvidence scaleWhat earns a high mark
Temperature capture method25%0–5Probes, wireless sensors or phone entry stated on the vendor's pages
Alerts and corrective actions20%0–5Out-of-range alerts plus a recorded fix
Records an inspector can read20%0–5Reports, exports or downloads stated on the page
Price transparency and scaling20%0–5Public prices, with the unit (per site or per seat) shown
Setup, trial and API access15%0–5A trial, and a plain statement of which plan includes integrations

Weights total 100%. Price transparency carries 20% because a quote-only product cannot be compared on cost until a sales call happens. We left out ComplianceMate. Its features appear on a page with no public prices, and its site now redirects to a root domain rather than a product page we could cite directly.

What each vendor publishes about its features

The matrix uses only what each vendor's own pages say. "Not stated" means the page we opened did not say it. It does not mean the feature is missing.

ProductTemperature captureCorrective actionsReports or exportTrial or demo
Mitti (by SafetyCulture)Temperature sensors with digital checklists, per the food-service pageNot statedAPI on Premium or EnterpriseFree plan; Premium includes a free trial, length not stated
Crunchtime Ops ExecutionBluetooth probe integration and automatic monitoringNot stated; completion tracking shownAudit-ready reports that can be shared with health departmentsDemo request only
Squadle (by Crunchtime)Remote temperature system with real-time alertsDashboard records corrective actionsOnline dashboard, mobile app, real-time alerts and daily emailsNot stated
SmartSense (Jolt)Not stated on the quote pageNot statedNot statedPersonalized quote request
FoodDocsMonitoring app with notifications on the Standard tierPrompted corrective actions on the Lite tierUnlimited downloads on the Lite tierFree trial, no credit card required

Mitti's food-service page describes sensors and checklists in general terms, so ask for a sample export before you sign with any vendor on this list.

What the published prices add up to

Mitti's per-seat prices come from its pricing page, according to Mitti (2026). FoodDocs's per-site prices come from its pricing page, according to FoodDocs (2026). The modeled counts are hypothetical, and the illustrative costs exclude sensor hardware because none of the pages we opened price it.

VendorPlanModeled countMonthly rateBilled annuallyIllustrative annual cost
MittiPremium12 seats$29 per seat$24 per seat$3,456
FoodDocsLite5 sites$99 per site$79 per site$4,740
FoodDocsStandard5 sites$199 per site$167 per site$10,020
FoodDocsProfessional5 sites$299 per site$250 per site$15,000
CrunchtimeOps Execution and SquadleNot modeledQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-based
SmartSenseJolt product lineNot modeledQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-based

Pricing checked October 28, 2026.

Mitti's page lists prices excluding applicable taxes, and FoodDocs's page lists prices exclusive of VAT. Crunchtime and SmartSense publish no prices on the pages we opened, so their rows read Quote-based.

Consider a hypothetical group of five restaurants that wants one shared log and a dozen staff members logging checks. The Standard tier from FoodDocs, billed annually at $167 per site per month, comes to 5 × $167 × 12 months. Annual cost: $10,020 for five sites according to FoodDocs (2026). Monthly billing at $199 per site, from the same page, would total $11,940 a year, which is $1,920 more. If the group wants records pulled into its own reporting, Mitti's API documentation names the inspection key audit_id, and that setup would sit on a Premium or Enterprise plan.

Vendor profiles: best fit, limits and evidence

Each profile separates the published facts from our read.

Mitti (by SafetyCulture)

Published: SafetyCulture's pricing address now redirects to Mitti's page, which lists a free plan, a per-seat Premium plan and a custom Enterprise tier. Its food-service page describes temperature sensors with digital checklists.

Our read: Per-seat pricing is the easiest of the five to model, and it favors small teams. It gets expensive as every shift lead needs a seat.

Best fit: Teams that want checklists and sensors on per-seat pricing and plan to export records into their own reporting.

Limitations: The API needs a higher plan. Mitti's API requires a Premium or Enterprise plan, and its search needs audit_id in the field list or it returns a 400 error, according to Mitti (2026). We found no corrective-action record described on the pages we opened.

Implementation: Start on the free plan to check checklists, then move to Premium before you build any export. Ask Mitti in writing what sensor hardware costs.

Evidence: Mitti pricing, Mitti food-service page, Mitti API reference.

Crunchtime Ops Execution (formerly Zenput)

Published: Zenput's pricing address now redirects to Crunchtime's Ops Execution page, which shows no prices and offers a demo request. The page lists Bluetooth probe integration, automatic temperature monitoring, temperature checks on the kitchen display when connected to Crunchtime Kitchen, and audit-ready reports.

Our read: The strongest case is an operator already running Crunchtime Kitchen, because the kitchen-display checks depend on it.

Best fit: Multi-unit operators already on Crunchtime Kitchen, or operators who want temperature tasks on the kitchen display.

Limitations: The product is quote-only, and the kitchen-display benefit depends on Crunchtime Kitchen. It is a poor fit for a single restaurant that wants to sign up the same day.

Implementation: Request a demo, then ask for probe hardware costs and a sample audit-ready report in writing.

Evidence: Crunchtime Ops Execution.

Squadle (by Crunchtime)

Published: Squadle's page describes 24/7 remote temperature monitoring with alerts, and automated temperature logging under what the page calls patented ZeroTouch technology, according to Crunchtime (2026). Squadle's pricing address also redirects to this page, which shows no prices and no trial.

Our read: Squadle is the most alert-focused product in this set. Because the ZeroTouch claim is the vendor's own, treat it as something to verify in a demo.

Best fit: Multi-site operators who want alerts when a unit drifts out of range and want automated logging.

Limitations: No public prices and no published trial. The ZeroTouch claim comes from the vendor, so test it before you rely on it.

Implementation: Ask which hardware each location needs and how alerts route to a named manager. Squadle and Ops Execution share an owner, so ask Crunchtime whether one product covers your needs before you request both.

Evidence: Squadle by Crunchtime.

SmartSense by Digi (Jolt)

Published: Digi paid $145.5 million in cash for Jolt in 2025, according to SEC (2025). Digi's filing describes Jolt as software for team accountability and digital food safety compliance, according to SEC (2025). Jolt's pricing address now redirects to SmartSense's quote page, which names SmartSense by Digi and shows no public prices.

Our read: The ownership change matters more than the feature list. A buyer should expect a sales-led process and ask which Jolt food safety features are included in the SmartSense package.

Best fit: Buyers who want one owner for food safety checklists and monitoring, and who are ready for a quote-led process.

Limitations: The quote page names no modules or plans, so the feature list has to come from the vendor in writing.

Implementation: Ask for the plan, the modules and any hardware in one written quote.

Evidence: SmartSense quote page.

FoodDocs

Published: FoodDocs lists Lite, Standard, Professional and a custom Enterprise tier, with unlimited users and a free trial that needs no credit card. Standard adds HACCP plan creation, a monitoring app with notifications and auto-generated SOPs. Professional adds traceability and data export.

Our read: FoodDocs is the only product here with a public per-site price you can model and a free trial that needs no credit card. Its cost grows with every site, so it suits a few locations better than a large chain.

Best fit: Single or small multi-site operators who want to self-serve a trial and see prices before any sales call.

Limitations: The pages we opened do not say whether monitoring uses wireless sensors, and the Enterprise tier is custom.

Implementation: Start with the trial to test checklists, then choose a tier once you know your site count. Confirm whether the Standard monitoring app takes readings from probes or only from staff entries.

Evidence: FoodDocs pricing.

The gap between logging a bad reading and acting on it

Ill-worker factor: 205 of 500 outbreaks according to CDC (2023). In that study of 800 outbreaks at 875 retail food establishments, investigators identified a contributing factor in 500 outbreaks, and ill-worker factors accounted for 205 of them. Norovirus and Salmonella were the most common pathogens, at 47.0% and 18.6% of outbreaks with a confirmed or suspected agent, according to CDC (2023). A log records what happened, but it prevents nothing unless someone sees the entry and acts, so the alert path matters as much as the form.

Many owners consider building this in Zapier, Make or n8n, or in-house. Those tools can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when they are configured well. The buyer still has to design and own idempotency, so a retried request does not log one reading twice, along with escalation paths, access controls and ongoing maintenance. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure those pieces, but the review rules below would still apply.

Proposed, configurable workflow, not a live deployment: the trigger is a new temperature entry or sensor reading that reaches the log tool. The workflow reads that record through an API or scheduled export, compares the value with the critical limit copied from your written HACCP plan, and if the value is out of range, alerts the named shift lead and starts a timer. The output is an exception row in a shared sheet and a daily summary listing each corrective action and the time it was taken. In this design, US Tech Automations would own the configuration, and the buyer would own the thresholds.

Prerequisites: an export or API that carries each record's ID and timestamp, which Mitti's documentation requires a Premium or Enterprise plan to access, a written table of critical limits, and a named owner for each check. Human review points: the shift lead signs off every corrective action, the food safety lead approves any change to a limit, and a missing entry after the timer goes to a person rather than closing on its own.

Who this is for

  • A single-site owner or a small group that needs a log an inspector can read and will assign one person to act on out-of-range readings.

  • An operations lead who wants written pricing before any demo.

  • A buyer who needs a self-serve trial before committing budget.

Red flags: nobody is named to sign off corrective actions; you expect a self-serve trial from a quote-only vendor; or you need overnight alerts but plan to skip sensors.

Choosing by situation

Your situationWhere to startWhy
One site, phone-based checksFoodDocs or Mitti's free planBoth let you test before any sales call
Remote alerts across several sitesSquadleIts page describes 24/7 monitoring with real-time alerts
Probe checks tied to a kitchen displayCrunchtime Ops ExecutionIts page describes kitchen-display checks when connected to Crunchtime Kitchen
Export into your own reportingMitti on Premium or EnterpriseThe API requires that plan level
One vendor for checklists and monitoringSmartSenseQuote-led, so ask for the feature list in writing

When NOT to use US Tech Automations. Skip a custom workflow if you run one location and the log tool's own alerts already reach the person who acts on them, if your health department accepts a printed log that you already keep, or if nobody is available to own the escalation rules. In those cases the vendor's built-in alerts or a printed sheet is simpler, and an added integration layer is one more system to maintain.

Common mistakes

  • Comparing per-seat and per-site prices as if they were the same unit.

  • Buying on the lowest visible price without asking whether sensor hardware costs extra. None of the pages we opened price it.

  • Assuming an API is included on every plan. Mitti's API is not.

  • Routing alerts to a phone that nobody watches during service.

  • Learning your health department's log rules at the inspection itself.

Decision checklist

  • Count your sites and the staff who will log checks.
  • Get written pricing that shows the unit, the billing term and any hardware or setup fee.
  • Copy the critical limits from your written HACCP plan into the tool.
  • Name one person to sign every corrective action.
  • Ask for a sample export and confirm your health department accepts it.

Questions buyers ask

Is a paper HACCP log still acceptable?

Paper can be acceptable if your health department accepts it, so confirm that before you switch.

Do I need wireless sensors?

No. Sensors reduce manual checks but add hardware cost, and none of the pages we opened priced that hardware.

Which of these tools publish prices without a sales call?

Mitti and FoodDocs publish prices on their own pages, while Crunchtime Ops Execution, Squadle and SmartSense direct buyers to a demo or quote.

Does a log tool replace my HACCP plan?

No. The plan is the written document, and the tool stores the records that show you followed it.

Can I build this in Zapier, Make or n8n instead?

Yes, but you then own run history, error handling, access controls and maintenance for as long as the build runs.

How long do I keep the logs?

Your local regulator sets the retention period, so ask them before you set a retention rule.

Make the call before your next inspection

Start with your site count, whether you need sensor alerts, and whether you need prices in writing before a call. FoodDocs and Mitti let you check numbers first, and the other three will need a quote-led conversation. If you want to see how an alert and escalation design could sit on top of whichever log you choose, see how US Tech Automations configures this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.