Best HOA Management Software 2027: 6 Picks Compared
Key Takeaways
Choose by who keeps the books. A volunteer board running one association and a firm running dozens of associations need different billing, permissions and staffing.
Three of the six products publish a dollar price on their own pricing page: Buildium, PayHOA and Communitrak.
Condo Control, Vantaca and CINC Systems publish no prices on the pages we opened, so you need a written quote before you can compare total cost.
PayHOA and Communitrak list unit or property tiers you can model yourself. Buildium lists flat monthly plans and a 14-day trial with no credit card.
Confirm API or export access before you scope any automation. Buildium's Open API page does not say which plan includes API access, and none of the other pages we opened named an API.
Keep a named person approving owner notices, violation letters and payment exceptions, whichever platform you pick.
TL;DR: For a small firm that needs prices in writing, start with PayHOA, Communitrak or Buildium. Request quotes from Vantaca or CINC Systems if you run many associations and want the vendor to scope the work.
Start with the category decision
HOA management software is a cloud platform that tracks association accounting, owner dues and payments, violations, architectural requests and board communication. The category is large. The Foundation for Community Association Research's 2025 Statistical Review counts Community association residents: 78.1 million according to National Law Review (2025), and the same release reports 373,000 associations and 35.2% of U.S. homes.
The buying question is not which product has the longest feature list. It is whether your firm runs one board's books or many associations for clients, and whether you need a published price before a sales call. That split decides most of the shortlist below.
The reader for this guide is an owner or operations lead at a small property management business who is close to choosing. The sections below give a direct recommendation for each situation, then show where the public evidence is thin so you know what to ask for.
How we evaluated these tools
This is a desk review of public vendor pages, a review directory, a trade press release and review profiles, all cited inline. We did not run any of these products, and we did not score anything we could not read on a page. The weights are our judgment. Model fit carries the most weight because a tool built for a volunteer board and one built for a management firm differ in billing, permissions and staffing.
| Criterion | Weight | Scale | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fit to your management model | 25% | 0–5 points | Board tools and firm tools differ in billing, permissions and staffing |
| Published price or tier clarity | 20% | 0–5 points | Quote-only products take longer to compare at the same unit count |
| Payment and fee transparency | 20% | 0–5 points | Card and bank fees change what dues collection costs |
| Owner and board communication | 15% | 0–5 points | Notices, portals and voting drive most support requests |
| Integration and API evidence | 15% | 0–5 points | Any automation depends on an export or API path named in writing |
| Trial and contract terms | 5% | 0–5 points | Month-to-month terms limit lock-in while you check fit |
If your firm is a single board rather than a management company, shift weight from integration to price clarity. The ranking changes with the weights, so treat the picks below as a starting shortlist.
Feature visibility across the six products
"Feature visibility" means what the vendor states on the pages we opened. A "Not stated" cell does not mean the product lacks the feature. It means you need to ask, and the answer should be in writing before you sign.
| Vendor | Price on its own site | Free trial stated | Management-company pricing | API named on site | Resident portal named |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Buildium | Yes | Yes, 14 days, no card | Not stated | Yes, Open API | Not stated |
| PayHOA | Yes | Yes, 30 days, no card | Yes, per unit | Not stated | Not stated |
| Communitrak | Yes | Yes, 30 days, no card | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Condo Control | No, custom quote | Not stated | Custom-quote block | Not stated | Not stated |
| Vantaca | No, demo only | No free trial, per SelectHub | Targets firms | Not stated | Yes, homeowner portal |
| CINC Systems | No | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, homeowner experience portals |
Among the pages we opened, only Buildium's names an open API. Its Open API page says your team can generate its own API keys, and it links to a developer portal. The page names no endpoints and does not say which plan includes API access, so treat that as an open question rather than a yes.
What each vendor publishes on price
Pricing checked October 29, 2026. The figures below come from each vendor's own pricing page. They are starting or tier prices, not total cost, and a firm's real bill depends on unit count, billing term and fee responsibility.
| Vendor | Lowest published price | Larger tiers or add-ons | Trial and billing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Buildium | $65/month for Essential, according to Buildium | Growth $202/month; Premium $420/month | 14-day trial, no credit card |
| PayHOA | $49/month for 1–25 units billed yearly ($54 monthly), according to PayHOA | 26–50 units $59/month; 401–500 units $249/month; over 500 units $0.55 per unit | 30-day trial, no card; yearly about 9% less |
| Communitrak | $49/month for 1–50 properties billed annually, according to Communitrak | Over 1,000 properties custom; access control priced separately | 30-day trial, no credit card; annual saves 10% |
| Condo Control | Quote-based; pricing page | 500+ units go to sales | Trial not stated |
| Vantaca | Quote-based; demo page | Quote-based | No free trial, per SelectHub |
| CINC Systems | Quote-based; pricing page | Quote-based | Not stated |
Buildium's page labels each plan price as "starting at," and it sends community-association pricing and portfolios above 5,000 units to sales. PayHOA's page prices its tiers by unit count and says it has no setup fees or long-term contracts. The page we read does not show prices for the 51–400 unit range, so ask for those in writing. Communitrak's page has one plan, priced by property count, and shows a price only for the 1–50 property band in the text we read.
Condo Control's pricing page names Standard Living, Modern Living and Premium Living plans but shows no dollar amounts. CINC Systems' pricing page publishes no prices and points to demo buttons. Vantaca's demo page shows no pricing either. Quote-based does not mean expensive, and it does not mean cheap. It means you cannot compare cost until a vendor gives you a number for your unit count.
Communitrak's one plan: $49/month for 1–50 properties according to Communitrak (2026). Above 1,000 properties, the page routes you to custom pricing, so a larger firm should expect a quote even with a published entry price.
Vendor profiles
Buildium
Best fit: a firm that runs rentals and associations on one system and wants flat monthly tiers with a 14-day trial. Buildium's Essential, Growth and Premium plans are listed in the table above, and its Open API is the clearest API statement among the pages we opened.
Limitations: the public pricing page does not list which HOA-specific features sit in which tier, so ask for a feature-by-plan sheet. Review directories do not agree with Buildium's own numbers, which is why the table uses the vendor page.
Directory listing: Buildium at $62/month, October 2026 according to SourceForge (2026). That figure is lower than the vendor's own starting price, so a directory price is a reason to ask, not a basis for budgeting.
Implementation: start with the 14-day trial, confirm which plan includes API access, and get that answer in writing before you scope any integration. Choose Buildium if your team already works in its rental and accounting tools, because the switching cost is the largest hidden expense.
PayHOA
Best fit: self-managed boards and firms that want per-unit tiers, billing and communications in one product. PayHOA is the only product here whose management-company rate is written as a per-unit price with a monthly minimum, which makes it easy to model in the worked example below.
Limitations: payment fees are the largest surprise. The community decides whether the fee is absorbed or passed to the homeowner, and card and bank fees are set per payment. The page does not show prices for every unit band between 51 and 400, so a firm in that range needs a quote.
Implementation: the 30-day trial requires no credit card, and the page says there are no setup fees or long-term contracts. Confirm which tier applies to each association, because the tier boundaries decide the monthly bill more than the feature list does. Evidence: PayHOA's pricing page.
Communitrak
Best fit: smaller communities that want one plan with a clear property-count price and a 30-day trial. The page is a single product with no plan tiers to compare, which simplifies a first-year budget.
Limitations: the price shown is for the 1–50 property band only. Larger bands require the page's size slider or a sales contact, and access control is a separate add-on. For a firm managing several large associations, the entry price will not describe the bill.
Implementation: billing is monthly or annual with no long-term contract and cancellation at any time. The page says you can export your community data at no charge, so ask how that works at cancellation. Evidence: Communitrak's pricing page.
Condo Control
Best fit: condo and HOA communities that put a resident portal and mobile app first. A 2026 roundup from Guideflow describes it that way, and its pricing page names three living-tier plans.
Limitations: the pricing page shows no dollar amounts and routes 500-plus unit communities to sales. No trial is stated on that page, so you cannot test fit without a conversation.
Implementation: request a custom quote for your exact unit count and ask which plan names map to which modules. Evidence: Condo Control's pricing page.
Vantaca
Best fit: management companies running many associations that need financial reporting, violations tracking and a homeowner portal. Its demo page leans toward management companies rather than self-managed boards, and it lists reporting, violation tracking and document management among its features.
Limitations: according to SelectHub, customer support is the main concern, with users reporting difficulty reaching someone directly and slow ticket responses. The same profile reports problems with the inspection module and notes that the homeowner and board experience can be limited.
Implementation: there is no published price and no free trial, so the path runs through a demo and a written quote. Ask for a support-level description in the contract, not just a verbal promise.
CINC Systems
Best fit: large management companies that need deep financial controls, according to the Guideflow roundup, which describes it as an enterprise choice.
Limitations: the pricing page publishes no prices, and the demo buttons are the only path to a number. The public pages put management companies first.
Implementation: plan for a demo, a scoped quote and a migration plan that names the data you will bring over and the data you will need to export on exit. Evidence: CINC Systems' pricing page.
Implementation checkpoints for a small firm
US Tech Automations describes its work as a managed service. Its site says it maps your process, designs the workflow and builds it on its own platform, and it calls the result "a managed outcome, not a DIY tool." The workflows below are proposed and configurable. They are not a description of a live deployment for any customer, and each one depends on prerequisites your chosen platform must meet.
Proposed workflow, owner notices. The trigger is a new violation case opened in your HOA platform. The action fills a board-approved notice template with unit, violation type and cure date, then places the draft in a community manager's queue. The output is a sent notice and a log entry, but only after the manager approves, edits or rejects each draft. The prerequisite is that the platform can export or expose case records. US Tech Automations' site names Gmail, Google Sheets, HubSpot, QuickBooks and Stripe as integrations, and it does not name an HOA platform connector, so that connection is a scoping question for your vendor. For text-message notices, Twilio's Message resource exposes error_code and date_sent on a failed send, so a failure can route to a staff task instead of disappearing.
Proposed workflow, payment exceptions. The trigger is a payment that posts to the ledger, or a returned payment in the platform's payment report. The action matches the payment to an owner account and flags mismatches or returns. The output is an exception list for the bookkeeper, not an automatic ledger entry. The prerequisite is read access to payment and ledger exports, plus an agreed rule on who may reverse entries. The review point is that a bookkeeper approves every adjustment, and the workflow never posts to the ledger on its own.
Running the numbers on a 900-unit portfolio
Take an illustrative firm with 900 units spread across 12 associations, quoted at PayHOA's management-company rate. PayHOA lists $0.55 per unit per month with a $275 monthly minimum, and its Gable AI add-on at $0.27 per unit for management companies after a free period, according to PayHOA (2026). At 900 units the platform costs 900 × $0.55 = $495 per month, which is above the $275 minimum, so the minimum does not apply. The add-on adds 900 × $0.27 = $243, for $738 a month or $8,856 a year. A $200 card payment at 3.5% plus $0.50 costs $7.50 in fees, so decide who absorbs that before launch. If a text notice fails, Twilio's Message resource reports the failure in error_code and the send time in date_sent, and those are the fields a staff task should use to re-send. Compare that total against a quote from a quote-only vendor for the same 900 units, not against a tier price for a single association.
Who should shortlist which platform
Who this is for:
A single self-managed board: start with PayHOA or Communitrak, since both publish a price and a no-card trial.
A firm running rentals and associations on one system: Buildium's flat tiers and 14-day trial fit this shape best, provided its plan includes what you need.
A firm running many association accounts: Vantaca or CINC Systems, with a written quote and a demo before you commit.
A condo or HOA group that puts a resident app first: Condo Control, with a custom quote in hand before you compare.
Red flags: the vendor will not put a per-unit or per-property rate in writing for your count; the product cannot export your ledger and owner records; or the API or portal features you need appear only in a higher tier that was not in the quote.
The table below gives the questions to put to every vendor before you sign.
| Question for the vendor | Why it matters | Where the pages we opened gave no answer |
|---|---|---|
| Written rate at our unit or property count | Per-unit and flat tiers diverge as the portfolio grows | Condo Control, Vantaca, CINC Systems; PayHOA's 51–400 unit range |
| Which plan includes API or data export | Automation needs a read path | All six on API; Buildium's Open API page names no plan |
| Who pays card and bank fees | Fee responsibility changes the owner's bill | Buildium, Communitrak, Condo Control, Vantaca, CINC Systems |
| Support hours and escalation path | SelectHub lists support as Vantaca's main concern | All six |
Build it yourself, or hire a managed build?
Zapier, Make and n8n are a fair alternative to a managed build. When you configure them, they can support run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence. What you still own is idempotency, so a retried notice is not sent twice, along with escalation paths, access controls and maintenance whenever the HOA platform changes a field. If your firm has someone who can own those pieces, a self-built flow is a reasonable choice.
A proposed US Tech Automations design could configure those pieces differently. It would place a human approval gate before every owner-facing send, route payment exceptions to a queue, name an owner for each failure, and hand over run logs in writing. It still needs the prerequisites above, and because it is a managed build, you would scope it with the team rather than configure it yourself.
When not to use US Tech Automations: skip a managed build if your only need is collecting dues from one association, since the platform's own billing already handles that. Skip it if your team needs violation tracking and board voting inside one platform rather than across tools. Skip it if the platform you pick has no export or API path, because there is nothing for a workflow to read.
Common mistakes and a decision checklist
Common mistakes that inflate the bill:
Comparing entry prices without the unit count your firm actually manages.
Treating a directory price as the vendor's price. Check the vendor's pricing page first.
Ignoring card and bank fees, which the community or the homeowner may pay.
Automating owner notices with no approval step.
Signing before you have the export terms in writing.
Decision checklist before you sign:
- A written rate for your exact unit or property count
- A named plan that includes the API or export path you need
- An agreed rule for who pays payment fees
- A defined trial or pilot scope, with a set end date
- A human approval step for every owner-facing message
Common questions before you buy
Which of these products publish prices?
Buildium, PayHOA and Communitrak publish dollar figures on their own pricing pages, while Condo Control, Vantaca and CINC Systems do not.
Is the lowest entry price the cheapest option?
No, because per-unit rates can cost more than flat tiers as the portfolio grows. The 900-unit example above shows how a per-unit rate scales.
Does Buildium's Open API include my plan?
The public Open API page does not say which plan includes API access, so ask Buildium in writing before you scope any workflow.
Can a small firm automate owner notices safely?
Yes, if every owner-facing message passes through a human approval step and the platform exposes the records the workflow reads.
Should I trust review-site prices?
Use them only as a starting point. In our research, a review directory listed a different Buildium price than Buildium's own page, so check the vendor page and get the number in writing.
Choosing with confidence
For most small firms the shortlist is two products: one with published prices that matches your management model, and one quote-based vendor if you run many associations. Ask each vendor for a written rate at your unit count, the plan that includes export or API access, and who pays payment fees. If you want to see how a configurable, approval-gated workflow could be set up for this kind of decision, see how US Tech Automations configures this.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.