Skip to content
AI & Automation

5 Best Invoice Capture Software 2027 [Pricing Checked]

Oct 20, 2026

The first decision is the category, not the brand. Invoice and receipt capture tools handle intake: they collect documents from clients by email, app, upload, or mail, read them, and push the fields into a ledger. Accounts payable (AP) suites go further and add approval routing and payment. If your firm only needs client documents to land in the ledger accurately, a capture tool is the right category. If your firm also approves bills and needs a record of who signed off, you need a workflow layer on top, and capture alone will not provide it.

This comparison covers five options that sit in or next to that category: Dext, Shoeboxed, AutoEntry, Hubdoc, and BILL. Pricing was checked on October 20, 2026 against each vendor's public page. Where a page showed no price, we write "contact vendor" rather than estimate. Our analysis is labeled as ours and kept apart from vendor-stated facts. US Tech Automations appears later as an orchestration layer that sits above a capture tool, not as a replacement for one.

Definition: Invoice and receipt capture software reads supplier invoices and expense receipts, extracts fields such as vendor, date, and total, and delivers them to a bookkeeping ledger for review.

TL;DR: Choose by intake channel and ledger sync first, then compare per-user, per-client, and per-document pricing. Add an approval layer only if your firm approves bills, and confirm each vendor's sync tier before you sign.

Key Takeaways

  • Decide the category first: capture tools move documents into the ledger, while AP suites also route approvals and move money.

  • Check the sync tier, not just the logo. Shoeboxed limits QuickBooks Online and Xero integration to its Pro and Plus plans, and BILL's automatic two-way sync starts on its Team plan.

  • Price by the unit you will actually consume. Dext prices accountant plans per client, AutoEntry sells monthly credits, and BILL prices per user.

  • Treat list price as the start of the math. Add-ons, overage, and manual re-keying often change the 12-month total.

  • Plan for human review. Capture reduces keying, but someone still checks totals, tax fields, and duplicates before posting.

  • A no-code build can support retries and logs, but the buyer must design, test, and maintain them.

Who this is for

This fits a firm where client documents arrive through several channels and a bookkeeper re-keys them into QuickBooks Online or Xero. It also fits a firm that can name who reviews exceptions and who approves a bill. Fit weakens if nearly all your transactions come through one bank feed, which the ledger's own feed may already handle.

Red flags: you need approvals and payments but are only shopping for capture; no one owns exception review; or your ledger is not QuickBooks Online or Xero and you have not confirmed the connector.

Evaluation criteria and selection method: how we scored the field

These weights are our analysis, not vendor data. They reflect where month-end work usually breaks down for accounting teams. Vendor claims were used only as inputs to the checks in the table.

CriterionWeightWhy this weightWhat we checked
Intake channels (email, app, upload, mail)25%A client who cannot use their preferred channel creates chasing workVendor capture pages
Ledger sync depth20%Export-only sync leaves manual posting; two-way sync keeps status currentIntegration statements and sync tiers
Multi-client and access model15%Per-client and per-user pricing produce very different totals for firmsPricing pages
Review and verification15%Extraction errors reach the ledger unless a check step existsVendor claims about review
Pricing transparency15%Hidden tiers make budgeting unreliableWhether a price is public
Retention and access control10%Records must survive review, and sub-users need limitsVendor pages; IRS retention rule

Feature matrix

Each cell records what the vendor's public page stated when we checked. "Not stated" means we did not find the feature on the pages reviewed, not that the feature is absent.

FeatureDextShoeboxedAutoEntryHubdocBILL
Email intakeYesYes, forward to addressYes, email inbox addressYes, forward from emailYes, dedicated AP inbox
Mobile appYesYes, iOS and AndroidYesMobile photosMobile photos listed
Desktop uploadYesYes, drag and dropYesYesPDF upload listed
Mail-in paper scanningNot statedYes, free mailingNot statedNot statedNot stated
QuickBooks Online syncNamedPro and Plus onlyNamed; QuickBooks Online not specifiedNamedTwo-way from Team plan
Xero syncNamedPro and Plus onlyNamedNamedTwo-way from Team plan
Line-item extractionAdd-on from $20.50/mo or $0.50/docOCR line items mentioned; detail not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Human verification stepNot statedYes, verification teamNot statedNot statedReview step described
Accountant or multi-client accessPer-client plans; 10-client minimumSub-user for bookkeeperUnlimited client companiesMultiple collaboratorsApproval workflows; per-user pricing
Free trial14 days30 days; card charged at signup25 free credits; length not stated30 daysNot confirmed on page reviewed

Two patterns stand out. Sync tier works as a pricing lever: Shoeboxed and BILL both gate automatic sync behind higher plans. Multi-client support is most explicit at Dext, which prices per client, and at AutoEntry, which says accountants get unlimited client companies. AutoEntry's integration copy leans toward HMRC-recognised UK platforms, and its QuickBooks entry does not specify QuickBooks Online, so a US firm should confirm that connector before a trial.

Pricing and 12-month cost

Pricing checked October 20, 2026 from each vendor's public page, except BILL's competitor figures, which come from BILL's own comparison (stated as of September 2026). The 12-month column is simple arithmetic on the listed prices. It excludes tax, add-ons, overage, and staff time, so treat it as a floor, not a quote.

Lowest listed paid start: $9 per month for Shoeboxed Starter

Vendor and planListed price (USD)Annual billingIncluded limitsAdd-on or overage12-month list cost (our arithmetic)
Dext business plan$25.21/mo billed annually$302.50/yr5 users, 250 docs/moLine-item from $20.50/mo or $0.50/doc$302.50
Dext accountant plansContact vendorContact vendor10-client minimumContact vendorContact vendor
Shoeboxed Starter$9/mo$97/yr50 digital scans/mo, 3 users$0.19 per digital scan$97 (annual)
Shoeboxed Plus$79/mo$797/yr1,000 scans/mo, 10 users$0.09 per digital scan$797 (annual)
AutoEntry Bronze$13/mo (excl. VAT)Not shown50 credits/mo, unlimited usersCredit overdraft up to 200%$156 (12 × $13)
AutoEntry Silver$24/mo (excl. VAT)Not shown100 credits/moSame overdraft rule$288 (12 × $24)
Hubdoc$12/moNot shownUnlimited usage; multiple collaboratorsNone stated$144 (12 × $12)
BILL Essentials (AP)$49/user/moNot shownPer user; manual CSV sync for QBO and Xero$0.59 per ACH payment$2,940 for 5 users
Rossum (named in BILL's comparison)From $18,000/yr per BILLNot shownOne-year minimum contractPay per additional page$18,000 (BILL's figure, unverified)

Dext's business plan stops extracting documents once the monthly limit is reached, until the next bill date or an upgrade. Shoeboxed Starter charges $0.19 per digital scan over its allowance. AutoEntry lets credits run into a 200% overdraft, which its page says is added to the next bill, so forecast credit use before choosing a tier.

Accountant plans are the gap in this table. Dext's US page shows per-client plans with a 10-client minimum but no rate, so you need a quote. Third-party guides cite figures for those plans, but we did not verify them, so we do not print them.

Vendor profiles

Each profile separates what the vendor states from our read. Vendor facts link to the page they came from.

Dext

Vendor-stated facts

  • Business plan: $25.21 per month billed annually for 5 users and 250 documents a month, with a 14-day trial, according to Dext (2026). The bold figure: Dext business plan: $25.21 per month billed annually.

  • Accountant plans are billed per client per month with a 10-client minimum, and the US page shows no rate.

  • Dext states it integrates with QuickBooks Online and Xero, with 36+ accounting and e-commerce platforms and over 11,500 banks.

Best fit: bookkeeping practices that receive documents from many clients and bill per client. Limitations: the US accountant rate is not published on the page reviewed, and the business plan has a hard document cap. Implementation: connect the ledger, set client upload channels, turn on bank feed sync, and name an exception reviewer before go-live. Our read: Dext is the most explicit multi-client option here, but get the per-client price in writing before a trial, because the page does not show it.

Shoeboxed

Vendor-stated facts

  • Monthly plans: Starter at $9 (50 digital scans, 3 users) and Plus at $79 (1,000 scans, 10 users), with annual prices of $97 and $797, according to Shoeboxed (2026).

  • No free plan. The trial is 30 days, and the card is charged at signup.

  • QuickBooks Online and Xero integrations are available on Pro and Plus only.

  • Paper receipts can be mailed in for scanning, and Shoeboxed states that its verification team double-checks extracted fields.

Best fit: small offices with paper receipts and a few users. Limitations: Starter has no ledger integration and a 3-user cap. Implementation: forward receipts to the designated address, use the mobile app, and test the mail-in path with real receipts for a few weeks. Our read: Shoeboxed is a sensible low-cost pick for paper-heavy intake, but it is a poor match for a firm that needs ledger sync on the cheapest tier.

AutoEntry

Vendor-stated facts

  • USD monthly credit plans, excluding VAT: Bronze $13 (50 credits), Silver $24 (100), Gold $46 (200), Platinum $103 (500), Diamond $298 (1,500), and Sapphire $469 (2,500), according to AutoEntry (2026).

  • Unlimited users on all plans, 25 free trial credits, unused credits kept for up to 90 days, and card-only payment.

  • Accountant copy says unlimited client companies at no additional cost.

Best fit: teams with uneven monthly volume who prefer paying by credit. Limitations: credit use has to be forecast, payment is card-only, and the integration copy leans UK. Implementation: use the trial to confirm the QuickBooks Online connector and run a full month of real documents. Our read: AutoEntry suits variable volume, but a US firm on QuickBooks Online should verify the connector first, since the page does not name it.

Hubdoc

Vendor-stated facts

  • One price of $12 per month in USD, with a 30-day free trial and no card required, according to Hubdoc (2026). The page shows no plan names and no user count.

  • Capture is by mobile photo, desktop upload, email forwarding, or direct scanning, with sync to Xero and QuickBooks Online.

  • Third-party sites say Hubdoc is included in Xero plans. Xero's US Smart Document Capture page, at xero.com, does not mention Hubdoc, so we did not confirm the bundling.

Best fit: practices on Xero or QuickBooks Online that want one flat monthly price. Limitations: no tiers, no stated user count, no stated line-item extraction, and unconfirmed Xero bundling. Implementation: connect the ledger, forward one client's documents for two weeks, and track how many need manual fixes. Our read: Hubdoc is the simplest single-ledger choice here, and it is a weak choice if you need approvals, client billing, or line-item detail.

BILL

Vendor-stated facts

  • AP plans of $49, $65, and $89 per user per month (Essentials, Team, Corporate), and $0.59 per ACH transaction, according to BILL (2026). BILL published this comparison, so its competitor figures are unverified.

  • Capture uses OCR and AI extraction, with an AP inbox, PDF and mobile intake, and approval routing.

  • Two-way sync with QuickBooks Online and Xero starts on the Team plan. Essentials uses CSV import and export.

  • BILL says Rossum starts at $18,000 a year. We did not verify that on Rossum's site.

Best fit: finance teams that approve and pay vendor bills. Limitations: per-user pricing adds up, and a buyer who only needs receipt capture will overbuy. Implementation: map the approval matrix, choose the Team tier if you need automatic sync, and define who approves payments. Our read: BILL is a capture-plus-payments suite, so compare it against an approval workflow rather than a receipt app.

Where orchestration fits above these tools

US Tech Automations is positioned above these tools. In a proposed design for a firm already using one of them, it would receive the extracted fields, apply routing rules, send low-confidence or mismatched items to a named reviewer, and post approved items to the ledger. Before any design goes live, the firm would need API or export access to the capture tool and the ledger, a written approval matrix, a named exception owner, and a retention rule for the run log. Human review points would sit at low-confidence fields, duplicate detection, and anything that leads to a payment. This is a scoping conversation, not a claim that the platform already connects to every tool named here. You can learn more about US Tech Automations, or read related guides on Stampli alternatives for invoice processing, Bill.com vs Ramp for accounts payable, and corporate card receipt matching in NetSuite.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations

US Tech Automations is the wrong choice if your firm only needs documents in the ledger, since a capture tool's native sync may already cover that. It is also the wrong choice if no one owns exceptions, because automation without an owner moves errors faster. For a sole practitioner whose only pain is paper receipts, a $9-per-month Shoeboxed Starter plan is a simpler fit.

The no-code alternative

Many firms compare these tools against a build in Zapier, Make, or n8n, or against an in-house script. That is a fair comparison. Zapier's pricing page lists a Professional plan from $19.99 per month billed annually for 750 tasks, with Autoreplay for retries, customized error settings, and Paths for branching, and a Team plan that retains audit logs for six months, according to Zapier (2026).

These builds can produce run histories and audit evidence when configured. The difference is ownership. The buyer must design and test idempotency so a retry does not post the same bill twice, define escalation, set access controls on client data, choose a retention period, and maintain the flow when a vendor's API changes. Zapier's pricing page does not state run-history retention for Professional or Team, so confirm it in Zapier's documentation before you rely on it.

Design responsibilityNo-code buildCapture tool plus workflow layer
RetriesConfigurable; Autoreplay on paid plansVendor-defined; confirm before buying
Audit trailConfigurable; retention set by plan and buyerConfirm retention with vendor
Duplicate-post protectionBuyer designs and testsConfirm with vendor
Escalation to a reviewerBuyer designsBuyer or vendor, per contract
Ongoing maintenanceBuyer ownsConfirm connector support terms

Worked example: a Dext cost check and a QuickBooks match

Illustrative only, not a benchmark: a bookkeeping team on Dext's business plan at $25.21 per month billed annually can process up to 250 documents a month across 5 users. Suppose 40 of those documents are supplier invoices that need line-item extraction. At the pay-as-you-go rate of $0.50 per document, that is $20.00 for the month, slightly under the $20.50 monthly line-item add-on, so pay-as-you-go is cheaper at that volume. A proposed design would then take each extracted bill, match it to the QuickBooks Online record by DocNumber and vendor name, and use MetaData.LastUpdatedTime to pull only bills changed since the last run, so a rerun does not repost the same invoice. Any mismatch above a tolerance the firm sets, such as any difference in total, would go to a named reviewer before posting. The design would need QuickBooks API access, a documented matching rule, and a retention setting for the run log.

Industry context: intake and retention

Cloud use is now the baseline rather than the frontier. Global cloud adoption: 52% of firms expanded solutions in 2025 according to CPA Practice Advisor (2025), which reports on Wolters Kluwer's Future Ready Accountant research.

On the professional side, the AICPA's June 2026 CPA Firm Top Issues Survey drew 629 respondents, and it ranked managing technology and AI change first for five-year impact across firm sizes, according to AICPA (2026).

Retention is a separate constraint. Default retention: 3 years unless exceptions apply according to the IRS, which lists longer periods for omitted income (6 years), bad debt or worthless securities (7 years), and employment tax records (4 years). Whatever capture tool you choose, confirm that its retention and export settings cover those periods.

Glossary

  • OCR (optical character recognition): software that turns an image or scan into machine-readable text.

  • Line-item extraction: capturing each product or service row on an invoice, not just the total.

  • Capture channel: the route a document enters, such as email forwarding, a mobile app, upload, or mail.

  • Two-way sync: data moves to the ledger and status moves back, so the capture tool reflects posting.

  • Per-client pricing: billing per client company rather than per user.

  • Exception queue: documents the software cannot match or read confidently, held for a person.

Common mistakes

  • Buying on list price and ignoring the sync tier. A cheap plan without ledger sync can add re-keying hours every month.

  • Assuming "integrates with QuickBooks" means QuickBooks Online, two-way, on your plan.

  • Forgetting overage. Shoeboxed Starter charges $0.19 per digital scan past its allowance, and Dext stops extracting once its document limit is reached.

  • Naming no owner for exceptions, so mismatches sit unposted.

  • Skipping the trial with real client documents. Test with a month of actual intake and measure how many items need manual fixes.

Frequently asked questions

What are the best Dext alternatives for accounting firms?

The strongest alternatives in this set depend on the job. Shoeboxed suits paper-heavy small offices, Hubdoc suits a single Xero or QuickBooks Online ledger at a flat $12 per month, and BILL suits teams that need approvals and payments as well as capture. AutoEntry suits uneven volume if you verify its QuickBooks Online connector first.

How much does receipt capture software cost per month?

Among the vendors reviewed, the lowest monthly paid start is Shoeboxed Starter at $9, with Hubdoc at $12 and AutoEntry Bronze at $13. Dext's business plan is $25.21 per month billed annually for 5 users and 250 documents. Dext's accountant plans are priced per client and need a quote, and BILL's AP plans start at $49 per user per month.

Hubdoc vs AutoEntry vs Dext: which should a firm pick?

Pick Hubdoc if you want one flat price for a single ledger and simple capture. Pick Dext if you bill per client and need multi-client intake, but get its accountant price in writing first. Pick AutoEntry if your volume swings month to month and you can confirm the QuickBooks Online connector in the trial.

Is there a free receipt scanning app for bookkeepers?

None of the five paid tools reviewed has a permanent free plan. Shoeboxed has no free plan, Hubdoc offers a 30-day trial, Dext offers a 14-day trial, and AutoEntry gives 25 trial credits with no stated length. We did not evaluate free-only apps in this review, so check their current terms before relying on one.

Should you buy capture software or build the flow in Zapier?

Buy if the job is document intake into one ledger and your team does not want to own retries, logs, and access controls. Build if you have a technical owner who will design idempotency, escalation, and retention, and who will maintain the flow. Either way, US Tech Automations can scope the design above a capture tool, with the prerequisites and review points listed earlier; see our orchestration overview for the general approach.

Can you trust third-party receipt software rankings?

Use them as a directory, not a verdict. iTechGuides states that it is reader-supported, that vendors can pay for top positions, and that some slots are marked "Sponsor this spot." Its listed prices also differ from the vendors' own pages, which is why this review uses vendor pages as the source for every figure.