5 Steps to the Best Legal Case Management Software 2027
For a small firm, the first decision is the category, not the brand. You need one system of record for matters, contacts, deadlines, time entries, invoices, and trust ledgers before you need anything that moves data between tools. Legal case management software is that system of record, so the real question is which platform your firm will standardize on, and what it costs once every seat is counted.
We publish this comparison. US Tech Automations is a managed workflow service that sits above whichever system of record a firm chooses. It is not a case management product and it is not in the vendor ranking. Vendor facts below come from vendor pages and named third-party reviews checked in August 2026. Weights, verdicts, and fit judgments are our analysis, and we label them that way.
Legal case management software is a practice-management platform that tracks matters, deadlines, client contacts, documents, time entries, and billing, and that may also hold trust accounting for client funds.
TL;DR: shortlist two or three platforms, confirm in writing which plan includes trust accounting, price the seat count you actually have, and test with your own matters before signing. Published per-user prices for the plans checked here run from $49 to $150 a month depending on plan and billing term, and the cheapest published plan is not always the one that lists trust accounting.
Key Takeaways
Choose the system of record first. Workflow automation is a layer on top of it, not a replacement for it.
Trust accounting is plan-specific. MyCase lists it from its Basic plan, PracticePanther lists it only on Business Pro, and Rocket Matter does not tie its trust features to a tier.
On annual billing, PracticePanther's Solo plan lists no trust accounting, while its Business Pro plan lists it, so price the plan that matches your trust needs.
Smokeball, Filevine, and Clio's paid tiers are quote-based, so compare them on written quotes rather than list prices.
Trial access differs. MyCase offers 10 days and PracticePanther 7 days, both without a credit card. Rocket Matter does not state its trial length.
Cross-tool automation can be built with Zapier-style tools, but the buyer owns retention, retries, escalation, and maintenance.
Step 1: Map the workflow and the trust-money rules
Start by listing the five workflows a small firm usually runs through its system: intake and conflict checks, matter opening, time capture, invoicing, and trust deposits and disbursements. Mark every step that touches client money. Trust accounting is the one requirement where a general vendor claim is not enough. You need the plan name, the reconciliation method, and a clear answer on who can see and edit trust ledgers.
Trust rules are set by your jurisdiction, not by software vendors. According to the ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct, Rule 1.15 covers safekeeping of client property, and states adopt their own versions of it. Check your state's trust-account rules before you configure any workflow that touches client money.
Step 2: Evaluation method: weight the criteria before you open a pricing page
Set the weights before you read vendor pages, or the most attractive pricing page will set them for you. The table below is our analysis. You should adjust the weights to your practice, but the order reflects where small firms most often lose money or time when they switch tools.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it carries this weight | How we checked it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trust accounting on the exact plan you would buy | 25% | A plan without it can force a second product or a manual ledger | Plan tables on vendor pages |
| Cost for your real seat count | 20% | Per-user pricing multiplies, and billing term changes the total | Vendor pricing pages |
| Fit with your matter types and intake | 20% | A tool built for injury work can be a poor fit for estate planning | Vendor pages and named third-party reviews |
| Setup and configuration effort | 15% | Setup time is a real cost even on lower-priced plans | Third-party reviews; quote-based vendors flagged |
| Integration with your other systems | 10% | Decides whether workflow automation is possible without a second tool | Vendor pages; integration lists often unverified |
| Trial access and data export | 10% | Lets you test with your own matters and leave later | Trial terms on vendor pages |
Trust accounting carries the largest weight because a plan that lacks it can force a second product. The seat-cost weight is high for the same reason. A $10 difference per seat becomes $600 a year across five seats on annual billing.
Step 3: Normalize the plan facts into one matrix
We recorded only what a vendor's own page or a named third-party review states. "Not verified" means our check could not confirm the item, not that the product lacks it. Where a vendor publishes no price, we say so rather than estimating one.
| Vendor | Plans on page | Entry price per user/month, annual billing | Top plan price per user/month, annual billing | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MyCase | 3 (Basic, Pro, Advanced) | $50 (Basic) | $130 (Advanced) | 10 days, no credit card |
| PracticePanther | 4 (Solo to Business Pro) | $49 (Solo) | $114 (Business Pro) | 7 days, no credit card |
| Smokeball | 4 (Bill, Boost, Grow, Prosper+) | Quote | Quote | Not stated on the page we reviewed |
| Rocket Matter | 4 (Essentials to Elite) | $59 (Essentials) | $145 (Elite) | Length not stated |
| Filevine | Custom packages | Quote; free LOIS Explore tier excludes case management | Quote | Free LOIS Explore only |
| Clio | Quote for all tiers except entry (third-party) | Reported by a third party, not verified (EasyStart) | Quote | Not verified |
Trust accounting is a tier decision, and it does not line up with price. MyCase lists it from its entry plan. Smokeball lists it on its entry plan, Bill. PracticePanther lists it only on its top plan. Rocket Matter lists trust features on its pricing page without tying them to specific tiers. Clio's core matter management is described as including IOLTA trust accounting in third-party reviews, but we could not confirm the tier.
Step 4: Price five seats, not one
Per-user pricing is the number small firms most often underweight. MyCase says its monthly rate depends on the number of active firm users on the account, and Smokeball says its pricing depends on user count, plan, and contract term. The table below prices each published plan across several seat counts so the plans compare on the same basis.
MyCase's Basic plan: $50 per user per month billed annually according to MyCase (2026), which lists the plan at $60 billed monthly and includes trust accounting.
| Plan | 1 seat, annual | 5 seats, annual | 5 seats, monthly | 10 seats, annual | Trust accounting listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MyCase Basic | $600 | $3,000 | $3,600 | $6,000 | Yes |
| PracticePanther Solo | $588 | $2,940 | $3,540 | $5,880 | Not listed |
| PracticePanther Business Pro | $1,368 | $6,840 | $7,440 | $13,680 | Yes |
| Rocket Matter Essentials | $708 | $3,540 | Not stated | $7,080 | Not confirmed |
These figures are arithmetic on each vendor's listed per-user price, not vendor quotes. Smokeball, Filevine, and Clio's paid tiers have no public per-user price, so for those you should contact the vendor for a quote before comparing.
PracticePanther's Business Pro plan: $114 per user per month billed annually is the only plan where the pricing page lists trust accounting. The company's plans run from $49 to $114 per user per month billed annually, according to PracticePanther (2026).
Three cost lines are easy to miss. MyCase's Accounting add-on, which covers three-way trust reconciliation, costs extra per user per month on Pro and Advanced, so get the amount in writing. Rocket Matter's FAQ says plans start at $49, while its pricing table starts at $59, so get the current number in writing. Rocket Matter also lists e-signature overage at $2 per envelope.
Pricing checked August 22, 2026. Clio's own pricing page returned an access error during that check, so Clio figures in this article come from third-party reviews and are marked as such. Filevine's onboarding runs through Certified Implementation Partners, and its page does not state what that costs.
Step 5: Test with your own matters before you sign
A trial is the cheapest way to check what a feature table cannot show. PracticePanther's trial runs 7 days with no credit card, according to PracticePanther (2026). MyCase offers 10 days without a card. Rocket Matter says every plan includes a free trial but does not state its length. Filevine's free LOIS Explore trial does not include Filevine Case Management, so it cannot test the core product.
Run the trial with a short script. Open a new matter from intake, record a trust deposit and a disbursement, reconcile one month, and export the matter data to a file you can open without the vendor. If a vendor cannot show the reconciliation or export during the trial, treat that as a finding, not a gap to fix later.
Vendor profiles
Each profile separates the vendor's published facts from our reading of them. Third-party commentary is labeled as such.
MyCase
Best fit: firms that want trust accounting on the lowest-listed paid plan. MyCase's Basic plan lists "Time Entry, Invoicing and Trust Accounting."
Limitations: three-way trust reconciliation needs the separate Accounting add-on on Pro and Advanced. SimpleLaw's roundup reports limited workflow customization for complex case types and basic reporting. We did not test either claim.
Implementation: the page lists a 10-day trial with no credit card and says pricing depends on active users. It does not describe onboarding, so ask about it during the trial.
Evidence: MyCase pricing page.
PracticePanther
Best fit: attorneys who work from a phone in court or on the move. SimpleLaw's roundup credits its mobile apps. Trust accounting is the reason to choose Business Pro over Solo.
Limitations: the pricing page names trust accounting only on Business Pro. SimpleLaw reports that advanced automation requires the Business plan and that the interface can feel cluttered with many matter types.
Implementation: the page lists a 7-day trial with no credit card. SimpleLaw reports free data migration on the Business plan, which you should confirm in writing.
Evidence: PracticePanther pricing page.
Smokeball
Best fit: firms that work mainly from desktop computers. The Bill plan lists "Trust accounting & reporting," and the Grow plan is designed for firms with three or more staff who collaborate on matters.
Limitations: no dollar prices are published. SimpleLaw reports that setup and workflow configuration take longer than with simpler tools, and that the desktop-first design suits mobile-heavy practices less well.
Implementation: pricing depends on user count, plan, and contract term. Firms request a custom quote.
Evidence: Smokeball pricing page.
Rocket Matter
Best fit: teams that want stated storage and e-signature allowances. Essentials lists 25GB of storage and 5 e-signatures per user per month, and the higher tiers list unlimited storage.
Limitations: the page lists trust features such as "Matter-Based Trust Accounts" and "Auto Trust Transfer," but our check could not confirm which tiers include them. Its FAQ and pricing table disagree on the starting price, and e-signature overage is $2 per envelope.
Implementation: every plan includes a free trial, but the page does not say how long it lasts.
Evidence: Rocket Matter pricing page. RunSensible's roundup of case management tools, dated May 22, 2023, names Rocket Matter but gives no prices, so it cannot be used to confirm current pricing: RunSensible roundup.
Filevine
Best fit: according to SimpleLaw's roundup, personal injury and mass tort practices with high document volumes. Filevine's free LOIS Explore tier lets users upload documents, ask questions about them, and receive answers with citations, but it excludes Filevine Case Management.
Limitations: add-ons such as Periscope, Timely, Client Portal, DataBridge, and Integrations are listed without prices. SimpleLaw reports significant setup time and a steeper learning curve.
Implementation: onboarding runs through Certified Implementation Partners, and the page does not state the cost.
Evidence: according to Filevine, no dollar figures are published and packages are custom built.
Clio
Best fit: according to SimpleLaw's roundup, a platform that scales from solo practices to mid-sized firms. It is also the vendor most readers will already know.
Limitations: SimpleLaw reports that full CRM features require higher-tier subscriptions, per-user costs can grow for larger teams, and some firms face a learning curve during setup. Accessing both Clio Manage and Clio Grow adds cost.
Implementation: Clio's own pricing page was not retrievable during our check. A third-party review by Layer3 Labs, updated August 23, 2026, reports an entry tier and quote-based higher tiers, but we did not verify the entry price. Confirm current figures with Clio before comparing.
Evidence: third-party only, as stated above.
Who should choose each vendor
SimpleLaw's roundup, dated August 26, 2026, is the most current third-party comparison we checked. According to SimpleLaw (2026), the post ranks its own product first, so we used it only for the limitations it names and did not adopt its ranking.
| Vendor | Wins when | Main disqualifier or loss | Choose it if |
|---|---|---|---|
| MyCase | Trust accounting appears on the lowest-listed paid plan; 10-day trial | Three-way reconciliation needs a separate per-user add-on on Pro and Advanced | You want trust accounting early and can work within standard workflows |
| PracticePanther | Published Solo and Business Pro prices; mobile apps; 7-day trial | Trust accounting only on Business Pro; advanced automation needs the Business plan | Your team works from phones and will pay for Business Pro if trust is required |
| Smokeball | Desktop-first workflow; Bill plan lists trust accounting | No published prices; longer setup per SimpleLaw | You can take a quote and want a desktop-centered system |
| Rocket Matter | Stated storage and e-signature allowances on Essentials | Starting-price conflict ($49 vs. $59); trust tiers unconfirmed; trial length unstated | You want clear storage and signature limits and will verify trust tiers in writing |
| Filevine | Document-heavy personal injury and mass tort work | No published prices; significant configuration time; steeper learning curve | You have implementation budget and heavy document volume |
| Clio | Broad range from solo to mid-sized firms | Full CRM features on higher tiers; per-user cost grows; quote-based pricing | You will accept a quote and want a broad platform |
Trust accounting for small firms
Trust accounting is the feature most likely to be misread on a pricing page, so check it plan by plan. MyCase lists it on Basic and higher, with three-way reconciliation through its add-on. PracticePanther lists it on Business Pro only. Smokeball lists it on Bill, and its comparison grid also shows "Trust management" marked "Fees apply," so confirm which plan carries that feature. Rocket Matter lists trust features without confirming tiers. We could not confirm the tier for Filevine, and Clio's trust accounting is described in third-party reviews without a tier.
Ask each vendor for four things in writing: the plan name that includes trust ledgers, whether three-way reconciliation is native or an add-on, how client ledgers are reported, and whether the audit log covers edits to trust records. A listed feature is not the same as a feature that meets your state's requirements, so take the questions to your bar's guidance.
Clio alternatives for small law firms
Clio is one option among several here, so the right alternative depends on the constraint that matters most to your firm.
If trust accounting on a lower-listed paid plan matters most, look at MyCase Basic, which is priced in the table above.
If published allowances matter most, look at Rocket Matter. Rocket Matter Essentials: $59 per user per month billed annually according to Rocket Matter (2026), with 25GB of storage and 5 e-signatures per user per month.
If the lowest published entry price matters most, PracticePanther's Solo plan starts at $49 per user per month on annual billing, but confirm that five seats are allowed on a plan with that name and that trust accounting is not needed on it.
If document-heavy personal injury work matters most, Filevine fits the profile SimpleLaw describes, but budget for a quote and an implementation partner.
If you want a desktop-centered system and can take a quote, Smokeball is the alternative to test.
A fair Clio comparison requires Clio's written quote for the seat count and tier you would buy. Until then, the Clio column in the matrix is incomplete by design.
Where orchestration fits: DIY workflows versus a managed layer
The reader's real alternative is often not doing nothing. It is stitching these tools together in Zapier, Make, or n8n, or building the connecting logic in-house. That approach can work well, and the comparison below treats it fairly.
Zapier run history: about 60 days guaranteed according to Zapier (2026), which displays up to 10,000 runs. Longer records need regular exports. Zapier also lets failed runs be replayed from Zap history, and Make and n8n keep their own execution logs, so check each platform's retention limits before you rely on them.
These tools can support run histories, retries, error branches, and audit evidence when they are configured deliberately. What the buyer must design and own is idempotency, so a retry does not post the same payment twice; escalation paths; access controls; retention periods; and ongoing maintenance.
Worked example (hypothetical): a five-lawyer firm takes about 40 invoice payments a month through Stripe, and wants each Stripe invoice.paid event to update the matter record without staff re-keying. Manual posting takes about 3 minutes per invoice, or 120 minutes a month. Suppose 10 of the 40 invoices are tied to retainers or client-fund balances; the build routes those 10 to a person for review and automatically posts the other 30, saving about 90 minutes a month. The retainer path still needs a check against your state's trust-account rules before anything posts.
| Capability | Zapier, Make, or n8n built in-house | What your firm must still own |
|---|---|---|
| Run history | Zapier keeps about 60 days of guaranteed run data; export for longer records | Retention period and an export schedule |
| Retries | Failed runs can be replayed manually or with autoreplay | Decide which steps are safe to repeat, such as payment postings |
| Error branches and escalation | Configurable branches and alerts | Name the person who owns each escalation |
| Audit evidence | Logs exist; completeness depends on the build | Confirm the logs meet your record-keeping rules |
| Approval points | Any step can wait for a person if built that way | Mark every trust-related step as human-only |
| Maintenance | Your team | Who approves changes after go-live |
The US Tech Automations agentic-workflows page describes a managed service that builds, runs, and supports custom workflows across the systems a firm already uses. It says the team defines approval and escalation points during the build, provides audit trails at every step, and tracks workflow versions with rollback. The page does not describe retry behavior or log retention, and it does not name the legal systems it connects to, so those items belong in scoping. Review the workflow page for the full description. Prerequisites for any design include a named case-system owner, written trust-account rules, and access to each system involved.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations
US Tech Automations is the wrong purchase in three cases. If your case system already runs every workflow you need and your only gap is a trust report, a native feature or a plan upgrade is simpler. If you want a self-serve tool you can switch on this week, a managed build needs scoping time and approval design, which a self-serve product does not. If your processes change every month and nobody will own the automations after launch, a written checklist in your existing system will do more good than an automation layer that drifts out of date.
Who this is for
This comparison fits a solo or small firm that handles client trust money, wants matters, time, and billing in one system, and is choosing between published-price and quote-based vendors. It also fits a firm that already has a case system and needs a cross-system workflow designed, approved, and owned by someone inside the firm.
Red flags: you cannot get the trust-accounting plan name in writing from the vendor; you want a self-serve tool with no configuration step; no one at the firm will own the workflow after go-live.
Glossary
Matter: the unit of work, such as a client engagement or case, that time, documents, deadlines, and trust funds attach to.
Trust account: a bank account that holds client money separately from firm operating funds. Many states use a pooled version called IOLTA (Interest on Lawyers' Trust Accounts).
Three-way reconciliation: matching the bank statement, the trust ledger, and each client ledger.
Active user: the seat unit some vendors bill on, including MyCase.
System of record: the one place where matters, deadlines, and trust balances are authoritative.
Orchestration: coordinating steps across systems, including human approval points.
Idempotency: a design property where repeating a step does not duplicate its effect, such as posting one payment twice.
Frequently asked questions
Which legal case management software is cheapest for a 5-lawyer firm?
At list prices on the pages checked, PracticePanther's entry plan is lowest per user at $49 a month on annual billing, but it does not list trust accounting. MyCase's Basic plan at $50 a month is the lowest-priced plan on this list that does. Confirm in writing that five seats are allowed on the Solo plan, since the name suggests a single-attorney plan.
What is the cheapest legal practice management software for solo attorneys?
The lowest published entry price in this comparison is PracticePanther's Solo plan at $49 per user per month on annual billing. MyCase's Basic plan at $50 is the lowest published price among plans that list trust accounting on their pricing page. Clio's paid tiers are quote-based, and its entry tier is not verified.
Which small-firm platforms list trust accounting on a plan?
The pricing pages we checked name trust accounting on MyCase Basic and higher, on Smokeball's Bill plan, and on PracticePanther's Business Pro plan. Rocket Matter lists trust features without confirming tiers. We could not confirm the tier for Filevine, and Clio's trust accounting appears in third-party reviews without a confirmed tier.
Is Clio the only real option for small firms?
No. Clio is one option among several in this comparison. MyCase, PracticePanther, Smokeball, and Rocket Matter all publish or describe small-firm plans, and Filevine targets heavier document work. Because Clio's own pricing page could not be retrieved during our check, get a written Clio quote before comparing it on cost.
Can I skip case management software and build everything in Zapier?
Not for matter records or trust accounting. A workflow tool moves data between systems, but it does not replace the system of record that holds matters, deadlines, and trust ledgers. Zapier's run history covers about 60 days, so longer audit records need scheduled exports.
Do I need a managed workflow service on top of a case management system?
Usually not at first. Start with the case system's native automations and a written checklist. Add a managed layer when a repeatable workflow crosses several systems and someone at the firm must maintain it after launch.
Pick the system of record first; if a cross-system workflow is still left to scope after that, a managed workflow service is one way to build it.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.