Best Patient Check-In Kiosk Software: 4 Steps to Pick 2027
Key Takeaways
Choose the category before the vendor. A kiosk purchase means hardware plus software for patients who walk in, while a phone-first tool covers patients who check in before they arrive.
Most vendors in this guide are quote-only. Phreesia, Clearwave, OmniMD, QLess, and Solutionreach publish no subscription prices on the pages reviewed.
The clearest public prices are hardware prices from Medical Check In, and its subscription price is not on a page this guide could cite.
Independent evidence is thin. KLAS's 2025 patient intake ranking covers Phreesia and Clearwave, and its scores measure customer-reported performance, not whether a kiosk fits your arrival pattern.
Check-in only saves time if the data reaches your EHR or practice-management system, so get the integration and export path in writing before you compare prices.
Finger-Ink prices in Australian dollars and lists Australian practice-software integrations, so US buyers should treat it as a reference point rather than a shortlist option.
The category decision
A patient check-in kiosk platform is software that runs a self-service arrival flow on a tablet or touchscreen and passes demographics, forms, insurance, and payment information into the clinic's systems.
Your first decision is whether patients check in at a station in the lobby or on their own phone before they arrive. Walk-in clinics, urgent care, and any practice where patients still sign paper at the desk need a station. Practices with scheduled visits and patients who already use a phone can often get by with pre-arrival check-in, which needs less hardware and less front-desk setup.
The bigger hidden cost is the handoff after check-in. The KLAS 2026 ambulatory report, as covered by trade press, found that Intake handled by third parties: 57% according to HIT Consultant (2026). Many practices already run intake outside their core systems, so the integration question matters as much as the hardware question.
TL;DR: If patients walk in, shortlist Phreesia, Clearwave, OmniMD, and QLess (QLess for queue management only), and get written quotes that name every integration. If you need a station and a queue on a tight hardware budget, Medical Check In has the lowest published hardware price in this guide, but its software terms need confirmation. If most patients can check in from a phone, Solutionreach is the phone-first option. Finger-Ink is relevant only to clinics in Australia.
Who this is for
This guide is for the owner or operations lead of a small healthcare business who has decided to replace paper check-in and now needs to pick a product. It assumes you run an EHR or practice-management system, can ask a vendor to name integrations in writing, and want a quote before you sign.
It is not written for a multi-site organization running a formal RFP, which needs a security review that no public product page can replace.
Red flags: the vendor cannot name your EHR or practice-management system in writing; no signed business associate agreement is offered before patient data moves; or the quote leaves out hardware, shipping, implementation, or payment-processing fees.
How we evaluated these tools
This is a desk review of public information: vendor pricing and product pages, the KLAS ranking, and trade press. No vendor was tested hands-on, and no vendor-stated figure is treated as a measured result. Each criterion carries a weight that reflects where a small clinic usually loses time and money, which is re-keying data, surprise costs, and the path from check-in into the chart.
| Criterion | Weight | Scoring scale | Why this weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Check-in flow fit for your arrival pattern | 25% | 1-5 | Walk-in desk check-in and pre-arrival check-in need different products |
| Named EHR or practice-management integration | 20% | 1-5 | Re-keying data into the chart is where front-desk time goes |
| Pricing transparency and total cost | 20% | 1-5 | Hardware, shipping, implementation, and payment fees change the real cost |
| Security and business associate agreement evidence | 15% | 1-5 | Patient data cannot move before a signed agreement is in place |
| Implementation timeline and support | 10% | 1-5 | A stated go-live window shows how much staff time the rollout takes |
| Independent evidence (KLAS, trade press) | 10% | 1-5 | Vendor-stated metrics need an outside check before they carry weight |
The weights tell you where to spend questions on vendor calls. A vendor that is clear on integrations but silent on hardware and shipping fees should still lose ground on the cost criterion. We do not publish a numeric ranking, because the public pages do not support one.
What each vendor states on its own site
The table below separates what each vendor says about its own product from anything we inferred. Blank or "not stated" means the vendor's page did not say it.
| Vendor | Kiosk or self check-in (vendor-stated) | Named integrations | Payments at arrival | Pricing published |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phreesia | Not stated on its pricing page | Not named on its pricing page | Not stated | Quote-based, with a free-access promotion |
| Clearwave | Registration and check-in kiosks | PMS and EMR integrations, not named | "Payment Solutions," no detail | Quote-based |
| OmniMD | Tablet or touchscreen check-in | EHR, PMS, and RCM stated; list cut off mid-sentence | Copays and balances at arrival | Get Pricing button, no figures |
| Medical Check In | Tablet kiosk stands | Not stated on hardware page | Not stated | Hardware published; subscription not citable |
| QLess | Onsite kiosk to join a line or book | None named | Not stated | Quote-based; ROI tool only |
| Solutionreach | No kiosk; check in from phone | EHR integration, not named | Not stated on pricing page | Quote-based |
| Finger-Ink | iPad kiosk check-in on a kiosk-only plan | Cliniko and Nookal sync | Not stated | Published in A$ plus GST |
Our read: Clearwave and OmniMD are the only two that describe a desk check-in with registration or insurance steps on the same screen. QLess describes an onsite kiosk, but for joining a line rather than collecting forms. Solutionreach has no kiosk at all, which makes it a different product for a different arrival pattern. Every "named integration" gap in this table is a question to put to the vendor in writing.
Pricing and total cost of ownership
Most vendors in this guide do not publish a subscription price, and that is itself a finding. A quote-only price means you must add hardware, shipping, implementation, and payment fees to the comparison yourself.
Pricing checked October 30, 2026.
| Vendor | Plan or item | Published figure | Scope | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Medical Check In | Counter-top kiosk stand | $149 plus shipping | Stand only; tablet not included | Medical Check In |
| Medical Check In | Floor-standing kiosk stand | $299 plus shipping | Stand only; tablet not included | Medical Check In |
| Medical Check In | Sunmi Android kiosk | $649 plus shipping, or $799 with printer | All-in-one unit; warranty needs a current subscription | Medical Check In |
| Finger-Ink | Kiosk-only plan, Solo | A$19 per month | One practitioner; unlimited iPads and check-ins | Finger-Ink |
| Finger-Ink | Basic, pay as you go | A$30 per month base | 30 check-ins and 30 form responses included | Finger-Ink |
| Phreesia | Intake platform | Quote-based | Free-access promotion; end date conflicts on the page | Phreesia |
| Clearwave | Kiosk and intake platform | Quote-based | Pricing tied to size, volume, and providers | Clearwave |
| Solutionreach | Tiered platform | Quote-based | Monthly SMS allowances of 1,750, 3,500, and 4,500 | Solutionreach |
| OmniMD | Kiosk module | Quote-based | Get Pricing button, no figures | OmniMD |
| QLess | Queue and kiosk | Quote-based | No price shown | QLess |
Hardware price: $149 plus shipping according to Medical Check In (page undated). The tablet is not included, so add its cost to any budget. The subscription price is not on a page this guide could cite, so get it in writing before you compare it with anything else.
Phreesia's pricing page is the time-sensitive item. Its banner says full intake access is free through spring 2027 and that standard pricing begins May 1, 2027, according to Phreesia (page undated), while its FAQ says free access runs through May 31, 2027. The page does not reconcile the two, so ask which date applies to your contract.
Finger-Ink's kiosk-only plan costs A$19 per month for one practitioner, and its Basic plan has an A$30 monthly base, according to Finger-Ink (page undated). Confirm what happens beyond the 30 included check-ins before you assume the Basic plan is cheap.
For any quote, list these line items separately: hardware and shipping, tablet, implementation, integration fees, payment processing, support, and staff training hours.
Vendor profiles: best fit, limits, and evidence
Each profile labels the vendor's own claims and our read of them. Vendor claims are not independent measurements.
Phreesia
Vendor-stated: Pricing is "customized to your organization based on factors like your size, workflows and the products you use," and the page says "Most practices go live in as little as six weeks."
Best fit: A practice that wants one intake platform with the largest organization count in the KLAS table below and can plan around a go-live of about six weeks.
Limitations: The pricing page does not mention kiosk hardware or leasing, so ask for both in writing. The free-access dates conflict, as noted above.
Evidence: KLAS scored Phreesia 86.5 in its 2025 patient intake ranking, across 43 unique organizations.
Choose it if you want a broad intake platform and will accept a quote-only price. Disqualifier: a quote that omits hardware or integration fees makes the comparison meaningless.
Clearwave
Vendor-stated: Its page lists "Registration and check-in kiosks: Patient-led data capture, collections, and check-in," along with automated eligibility and benefits verification.
Best fit: A practice that wants kiosks, insurance eligibility checks, and self-scheduling from one vendor.
Limitations: The page shows no prices, does not mention forms, and its own client counts conflict: "nearly 500 successful clients" and "Join 500+ Healthcare Practices" appear next to a footer reading "Powering 5,000+ Multi-Specialty Organizations." Its claim that self-scheduling "drops staff workloads by 87%" comes with no method, according to Clearwave (page undated).
Evidence: KLAS scored Clearwave 81.8 in 2025, across 31 unique organizations.
Choose it if you want registration and eligibility in one platform and will ask for named references. Disqualifier: if forms must be completed at the kiosk, ask for a live walkthrough of the forms flow before you sign.
OmniMD
Vendor-stated: Patients scan a QR code or tap their name, the system pre-fills demographics and history, checks insurance in real time, collects copays at arrival, and notifies staff when check-in is complete.
Best fit: A practice already on OmniMD's EHR, or evaluating it, that wants arrival steps inside the same product.
Limitations: Hardware is described only as "tablets or touchscreens," with no models named. The integration sentence on the page cuts off mid-sentence. The page claims HIPAA compliance without naming a certification, and its "in Under 3 Minutes" check-in claim has no supporting data, according to OmniMD (page undated).
Evidence: None independent in this review.
Choose it if you already run OmniMD. Disqualifier: if you run a different EHR, confirm the integration in writing before you give this product more weight.
Medical Check In
Vendor-stated: Its hardware page sells floor-standing and counter-top kiosk stands for iPads and Android tablets, plus an all-in-one Sunmi unit.
Best fit: A single-site clinic or other small business that needs an iPad sign-in station with a queue on a low hardware budget.
Limitations: The subscription price is not on a citable page. The hardware page calls its software "Check In Systems software," so confirm the contracting entity and terms. Sunmi warranty repair depends on "a current subscription," and the hardware page does not describe EHR integration.
Choose it if you need a station and a queue but not a data sync into the chart. Disqualifier: if you need EHR write-back, the hardware page does not confirm it exists.
QLess
Vendor-stated: QLess describes an onsite kiosk where patients join a line or book appointments, a "Summon next" button for staff, countdown alerts for patients, and "QLESS Live Insights" analytics, according to QLess (page undated).
Best fit: An outpatient clinic whose main pain is the waiting room rather than forms and insurance.
Limitations: The page describes no registration workflow, names no EHR integrations, and shows no price. Its only pricing-adjacent tool is an ROI calculator that asks for visit volume and no-show rate.
Choose it if queue management and flow analytics are the goal. Disqualifier: if insurance or forms must be complete at check-in, the page shows neither.
Solutionreach
Vendor-stated: Patient Check-In is marketed as letting patients "check in from their phone – no lines, no kiosks, no hassle," and the FAQ says onboarding can finish "in under 1 week, depending on your practice management system."
Best fit: A practice where most patients can check in on their phone before arrival, so a station is not needed.
Limitations: The page has no kiosk. It is not clear which tier includes Patient Check-In or Digital Intake, and the page lists monthly SMS allowances of 1,750, 3,500, and 4,500 messages according to Solutionreach (page undated) without mapping them to tiers.
Choose it if most arrivals are scheduled and pre-visit forms matter more than a lobby station. Disqualifier: walk-in desk check-in. If forms are your bottleneck, our intake form software guide for medical practices covers that decision separately.
Finger-Ink
Vendor-stated: Its kiosk-only plan supports check-ins with unlimited iPads, and the native iPad app requires iOS 15.5 or later. Pricing is in Australian dollars, plus GST.
Best fit: Clinics in Australia that use Cliniko or Nookal.
Limitations: The pricing page reviewed does not mention HIPAA or a business associate agreement, and its integrations are Australian practice-management systems.
Choose it if you practice in Australia. Disqualifier: if your practice is subject to US privacy requirements, this page does not address them.
Not profiled
Simple Interact ranked first in KLAS's 2025 list at 96.7, but its pages could not be retrieved during this review, so it is not profiled. Yosi Health's site could not be retrieved either, and KLAS lists it without a rank. Tebra's pricing page lists no patient kiosk product, and NexHealth's pricing page lists no check-in or kiosk package. Vecna's page describes touchless mobile check-in and gives no kiosk details.
Independent evidence from KLAS
KLAS is the most useful independent source in this set because it ranks vendors on customer-reported performance. Its 2025 patient intake page lists a market average of 86.7 and a software average of 80.6, which places Phreesia just under the market average and Clearwave below it.
| Vendor | KLAS 2025 score | Unique organizations | Status in this guide | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Simple Interact | 96.7 | 15 | Not profiled; site not retrieved | KLAS Research |
| Yosi Health | 90.1 | 11 | Not profiled; not ranked by KLAS | KLAS Research |
| Phreesia | 86.5 | 43 | Profiled | KLAS Research |
| Clearwave | 81.8 | 31 | Profiled | KLAS Research |
KLAS 2025 score: Phreesia 86.5 of 100 according to KLAS Research (2025).
Read these scores as a filter for a shortlist, not as a winner. The KLAS scale describes how customers rate a vendor's performance. It does not tell you whether a station fits your arrival pattern, what your integration will cost, or whether your staff will adopt it.
Connecting check-in to the rest of the front office
The pain usually starts after the kiosk. A patient enters an address, and then someone re-keys it into the chart and the billing system. A configurable workflow can narrow that gap, but only if the vendor exposes its data. US Tech Automations can scope this kind of design for clinics, and the walkthrough below is a proposal, not a description of a live deployment or a measured result.
A proposed US Tech Automations design would start with a trigger: a completed check-in record that the kiosk vendor exports on a schedule or exposes through an API. The action would copy demographic and insurance fields into a staging record and flag any field that differs from the chart. The output is a review item for a front-desk staff member, who approves each change before anything writes to the EHR. Prerequisites are a documented export or API from the kiosk vendor, a field-mapping sheet agreed with your practice-management system, and a signed business associate agreement with every vendor that touches patient data. The human review points are any insurance change and any balance change.
A second branch would handle balances. When a check-in shows an open balance, the workflow would create a task for the billing lead with the visit identifier and the amount, and leave the charge decision with a person. That removes the copy step without making a payment automatically, which is the safer default for a small practice.
The fair alternative is stitching this together yourself in Zapier, Make, or n8n. Those tools can keep run histories, retries, error branches, and audit trails when you configure them. You still own the parts that fail quietly: observability (who checks that a run succeeded), idempotency (so a retried event does not create two patient records), escalation, access controls, and maintenance when a vendor changes its API. A DIY build is cheap to start, and its real cost shows up as staff hours later.
Worked example: the paper-to-kiosk math
Take a hypothetical clinic with 40 arrivals a day, where front-desk staff spend 5 minutes re-keying each paper intake form into the chart. That is 200 minutes, or 3.3 hours, of data entry every day, and about 833 hours over 250 clinic days (200 minutes times 250 days, divided by 60). A single counter-top stand costs $149 plus shipping before the tablet, which Medical Check In does not include, so the hardware price is small next to the re-keying hours. If the clinic later wants a workflow to react to new patient records, a HubSpot webhook subscription to contact.creation can notify it when a new contact is created, provided the app has the crm.objects.contacts.read scope, per the HubSpot webhooks reference; keep patient records out of any CRM unless that vendor has signed a business associate agreement. Replace the hypothetical counts with your own before you decide.
Common mistakes
Buying hardware before naming the integration. A station that cannot write to the chart moves the re-keying work rather than removing it.
Treating a vendor-stated metric as measured. A line such as "drops staff workloads by 87%" is a claim until the vendor shows its method.
Comparing subscription prices without shipping, tablet, implementation, and payment-processing fees.
Signing before the business associate agreement is in hand.
Forgetting walk-ins. A pre-arrival app does not help patients who arrive unannounced.
4 Steps to pick the right vendor
Map your arrivals. Count how many patients check in at the desk and how many could check in from a phone before they arrive.
Name your systems. Write down your EHR or practice-management system, and ask each vendor to name the integration and the export or API you will use.
Get written quotes that list hardware, shipping, implementation, support, and payment fees, plus the date any promotion ends.
Hold the contract until the business associate agreement and the security documentation are in hand.
Frequently asked questions
Is there one best patient check-in kiosk software for every clinic?
No. The right product depends on whether your patients walk in or check in from a phone, and on which EHR or practice-management system you run.
Which vendors publish prices?
Medical Check In publishes hardware prices and Finger-Ink publishes prices in Australian dollars. Phreesia, Clearwave, OmniMD, QLess, and Solutionreach give quotes only on the pages reviewed.
Can a phone check-in replace a kiosk?
For patients who check in before they arrive, yes. For walk-ins and patients who cannot use a phone, no, so a station or a staffed desk still needs to exist.
How long does implementation take?
Phreesia says most practices go live in as little as six weeks, and Solutionreach says onboarding can finish in under one week depending on the practice management system. OmniMD, Clearwave, and Medical Check In state no timeline on the pages reviewed.
What should a business associate agreement cover?
Any vendor that creates, receives, maintains, or transmits protected health information for your practice should sign a business associate agreement before any data moves. Ask the vendor to confirm the agreement in writing before the first patient record is loaded.
Is a configured workflow ever the wrong choice?
A configured workflow is the wrong choice in three cases. When NOT to use US Tech Automations: if your EHR or practice-management system already covers check-in, forms, and payments under a signed business associate agreement; if you only need a tablet stand and a queue; or if the kiosk and practice-management system offer no export or API, because there is nothing for the workflow to read.
Next step
Start with your arrival pattern and your EHR's integration list, then ask every vendor on this list for a written quote that includes hardware and integration fees. If you want to see how a configurable check-in handoff could be scoped around your kiosk's exports, see how US Tech Automations configures this.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.