Skip to content
AI & Automation

5 Best Patient Financing Tools for Veterinary Clinics 2027

Oct 30, 2026

Key Takeaways

  • Choose the payment model before the brand. In a lender-funded plan, a third party carries the wait for repayment. In a clinic-run or platform-run plan, your team or its platform carries it.

  • Practice-side pricing is the number most often missing. Scratchpay and VetBilling publish specific figures, while CareCredit and Varidi keep practice rates behind a quote.

  • Cherry publishes no setup, annual or monthly fee for practices, but its merchant rate is not on the page we checked.

  • Default risk and refund rules decide how a plan feels in month three, so get them in the contract rather than from the sales page.

  • The Frontiers study in this review covers a small group of clinics and examines a single vendor's program, so treat its findings as directional.

  • Confirm your practice management system and export format before you sign, because reconciliation is where staff hours tend to go.

Choose the payment model before the brand

Patient financing is a payment plan or loan that lets a pet owner spread a vet bill over months while the clinic is paid up front or on a set schedule. The category decision matters more than any single logo. IDEXX's 2026 payment guide, written by a veterinarian (DVM) who notes that the views do not necessarily reflect IDEXX, describes third-party financing as the option that lets practices "receive payment up front while clients repay the lender over time," according to IDEXX. The same guide notes that in-house payment plans give more flexibility but require more administrative oversight.

The lender-funded products in this review are CareCredit, Scratchpay and Cherry. The clinic-run or platform-run options are VetBilling and Varidi. Those labels describe who carries the wait, not which product is better.

TL;DR: If your clinic's problem is slow cash, start with a lender-funded product and get its practice fee in writing. If your problem is owner trust or credit-check friction, start with a clinic-run or platform-run plan and test it against your own collection history. Either way, decide who absorbs non-payment before you compare anything else.

How we evaluated these five tools

This is a buyer's guide built from public vendor pages and independent sources, not a hands-on trial of the products. The weights below reflect how much each criterion changes a clinic's cash and staff time. They are our judgment, not vendor data.

CriterionWeightWhy it matters
Practice-side cost transparency25%A rate you cannot find on the vendor's own pages cannot be compared
Payout speed and default exposure20%Cash timing and who absorbs non-payment shape the plan's real cost
Client credit and approval design15%Soft versus hard checks and promotional terms affect whether owners say yes
Operational fit with your system15%Named integrations and exports decide how much staff time reconciliation takes
Client cost terms15%APR ranges, late fees and refund rules show what owners actually pay
Evidence quality10%Primary pages and independent sources outrank a vendor's claims about itself

Each vendor statement in this guide is either a figure the vendor published, a claim the vendor makes about itself, or our analysis, and the sentence says which. The study in Frontiers in Veterinary Science is the most useful independent evidence in this set. It is a 2025 prospective observational study covering 16 clinics that added a Varidi option, and its average plan term was 9 months. It reports that Frontiers study: 35.8% of cases had severe bond break without the option according to Frontiers in Veterinary Science (2025). Read its funding statement before you weigh the findings, because the study examines one vendor's program.

Two names did not make the list. Our searches did not find a veterinary product from PatientFi or CarePayment, so we left both out. All Pet Card is a veterinary-focused credit card that pet owners can use only at participating veterinary providers. We could not open its own practice-side terms, so it stays out of the cost table.

Published pricing and fee terms

The number a practice cares about most is the cost taken from each payment, and only some vendors publish it. Scratchpay's veterinary page states its practice fee: Scratchpay provider fee: 5% of each plan according to Scratchpay (checked 2026). A second Scratchpay page does not state the amount, so put the fee in writing before you sign.

The Scratchpay practice page publishes its borrower terms. Scratch Pay loans: $200 to $10,000 over 12 or 24 months come with APRs from 0% to 36%, and the page's example is $860.62 a month on $10,000 at 5.99% over 12 months, according to Scratchpay (checked 2026). That page also says clinics pay no setup or monthly fees, and that late fees apply without stating the amount.

Cherry's veterinary page says practices receive full payment minus the merchant fee in 2-3 business days, lists no setup, annual or monthly fee, and sets a 60-day refund window. It also shows both a $35,000 approval cap and a $35 to $65,000 range, according to Cherry (checked 2026). Ask which figure applies. Cherry's merchant rate is not on that page.

VetBilling's how-it-works page lists its subscription tiers. VetBilling subscription: $69 Basic, $89 Premium monthly comes with a self-reported 93.8% repayment rate, according to VetBilling (checked 2026). The same page lists no setup fee and no percentage fee on each payment, but it does not state contract length or cancellation terms. Standard card processing fees may apply.

Pricing checked October 26, 2026. In the table below, "Quote-based" means the vendor's page we opened does not publish that number, so request it in writing.

VendorPractice feeMonthly feeSetup feeClient amountClient term
CareCreditQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-basedPromotional period; length not stated
Scratchpay5% per plan$0$0$200 to $10,00012 or 24 months
CherryQuote-based$0$0$35,000 cap (headline)1 to 60 months
VetBilling0% per payment$69 Basic, $89 Premium$0Quote-basedQuote-based
VaridiQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-based9-month average in study

Read the table as a checklist, not a ranking. The row with the lowest-looking practice fee can still cost more if non-payment sits with the clinic and the contract does not say so.

Feature matrix: what each product states

The matrix below records what each vendor's pages say, not what we assume. Where a page is silent, the cell says so.

VendorWho carries the waitCredit checkNamed integrationRefund or late-fee terms
CareCreditLender-funded card; practice paid through the lenderNot described on enrollment pageNone namedPromotional balance must be paid within the promotional period
ScratchpayLender-funded loanNot stated on pages checkedScratch Checkout names CornerstoneLate fees apply; amount not stated
CherryLender-funded; practice paid minus merchant feeSoft check at application; no hard checkVetBilling named as complementary60-day refund window
VetBillingPractice-run plan; no lenderOptional soft-check service; price not listedNone named on pageCard processing fees may apply
VaridiPlatform-run plan; monthly deposits to practiceNo credit check requiredNone namedOne-time client setup or processing fee

Integration is the cell most often left blank, and it is the one that decides staff time. Scratch Checkout names Cornerstone, and Cherry names VetBilling as a platform it complements. Neither page guarantees an integration with your system, so ask for it in writing.

Vendor profiles: best fit, limits and evidence

CareCredit

CareCredit suits clinics whose owners already know the card and want a promotional-financing product with wide acceptance. The enrollment page says practices are paid in 2 business days and lists 25k+ enrolled veterinary provider locations, while CareCredit acceptance: 75% of vet hospitals according to CareCredit (checked 2026).

The main limit is that the enrollment page does not publish processing or merchant rates. Cherry's comparison page, which is a competitor's marketing, says CareCredit's merchant fees start "around 5.9%": CareCredit merchant fee claim: starting around 5.9% according to Cherry (checked 2026). Treat that as Cherry's claim, not a CareCredit rate, and ask for the actual figure in the agreement. Implementation runs through a contact step on the enrollment page, and that page gives no timeline.

Evidence on the vendor's history matters here too. CFPB refund order: up to $34.1 million according to CFPB (2013) followed a December 2013 action against GE Capital Retail Bank and CareCredit LLC over deceptive health care credit card enrollment. The enforcement page now lists the matter as expired, terminated or dismissed, so it is history rather than a live finding. It is still a reason to read owner-facing enrollment scripts closely.

Choose CareCredit when owners want a recognized card and you can confirm the processing rate in writing. Avoid it when owners are unlikely to understand promotional deferred interest, or when the rate stays unpublished.

Scratchpay

Scratchpay suits clinics that want a loan product with a stated practice percentage. Its practice page describes Scratch Checkout, a separate payment product, as having no setup costs and no cancellation fees, and it names Cornerstone as an integration. Scratch Pay plans are available in all U.S. states except West Virginia.

The limit is the disagreement between Scratchpay's own pages. The veterinary page states a 5% provider fee, while the practice page says the provider fee amount is not stated. That practice page also does not explain how approvals are decided. Confirm the 5% figure in your contract before you budget around it. Setup is described as turnkey, but no timeline is given.

Choose Scratchpay when you want the practice fee expressed as a percentage and the owner's loan terms fall in a published range. Avoid it if your clinic is in West Virginia, or if the 5% fee does not appear in your agreement.

Cherry

Cherry suits clinics that put fast payout and soft-check approvals ahead of the lowest possible fee. Its veterinary page says integration can be completed the same day, and it names VetBilling as a platform it complements.

Cherry calls its merchant fees "the lowest merchant fees in the industry," citing its own 2026 internal analysis. That is a self-description until a signed rate sheet shows the figure. Its pages also disagree on the loan cap, and a 60-day refund window applies, so transactions older than that cannot be refunded through its platform. Owners who want a refund after that window will need to deal with the clinic.

Choose Cherry when speed of payout matters more than the lowest published fee. Avoid it if the merchant fee cannot be shown before signing, or if your clinic regularly handles refunds after 60 days.

VetBilling

VetBilling suits clinics that want practice-controlled plans with no lender in the middle. Its page says its team handles missed or failed payments, and the page states "No more chasing payments." Those statements are the vendor's own description of how the service works, so ask for the collections process in writing.

The limits are the gaps. The page does not state contract length or cancellation terms. Credit Score Recommendation is available only on the Premium tier. Nonprofit pricing is quote-based, and no integration with a named practice management system appears on the page.

Choose VetBilling when your clinic wants to keep the plan under its own name and can take on the operational work of running it. Avoid it if you cannot get contract length and cancellation terms in writing, or if your owners need a card they already carry.

Varidi

Varidi suits clinics whose main barrier is owners who fail a credit check. Its pricing page says the platform fee is "small, simple, and baked in," and that cost details require a call, according to Varidi (checked 2026). The same page describes a client-side one-time setup or processing fee "based on client affordability," with no schedule published.

The limits are the missing numbers. Practices receive monthly deposits, which helps cash planning, but nothing on the pages we checked states a fee the practice can budget against. The Frontiers study is the main independent evidence, and it is small. Its funding statement should be read before the study is treated as a benchmark.

Choose Varidi when credit checks are the main owner barrier and you can get the platform fee in writing. Avoid it if you need a published fee schedule before budgeting.

Who this is for

  • Owners of one or two clinics who need the practice paid quickly and cannot spare staff to chase balances should start with a lender-funded product, CareCredit or Scratchpay, and get the fee in writing.

  • Clinics that want owners to avoid credit checks, or that want to keep the plan under the clinic's own name, should look at VetBilling or Varidi.

  • Operations leads whose practice management system already reports payouts should put integration first and choose the vendor that names their system or offers a clean export.

Red flags: vendors that will not state the practice fee in writing; plans whose promotions rely on deferred interest that owners do not understand; contracts that move non-payment risk to the clinic with no price attached.

VendorChoose it whenAvoid it when
CareCreditOwners want a recognized card and the rate is confirmed in writingOwners will not understand deferred interest
ScratchpayYou want a percentage fee and your state is servedYour state is West Virginia, or the 5% fee is unconfirmed
CherryFast payout is the top priorityThe merchant fee cannot be shown before signing
VetBillingThe clinic wants practice-controlled plansContract length and cancellation terms cannot be obtained
VaridiCredit checks are the main owner barrierA published fee schedule is needed before budgeting

Where reconciliation and missed payments land

Reconciliation is where a lender-funded or platform-run plan first creates work for the front desk. A proposed US Tech Automations flow would start from a settlement event: when a payout or deposit posts, the workflow would match the amount to the invoice in your practice management export and write a reconciled line for staff to review. The prerequisites are a payout report or CSV export from the vendor where one exists, read access to invoice data in your practice management system, and one named owner who maintains the field mapping. The human review point is any mismatch, which goes to a queue rather than being posted automatically. This is a configurable design, not a description of a live deployment or a measured result.

The second proposed flow starts when an installment shows as failed or late in the vendor's export. A proposed US Tech Automations design would queue a text reminder, log the result and place the account in a staff review queue. The prerequisites are an export or webhook that flags failed installments, consent language for text messages, and the clinic's own reminder rules. Staff approve any escalation, and the workflow does not write off or send balances to collections. Those decisions stay with the front desk, because no lender or platform can make them for your clinic.

What one plan does to a clinic's month

Take an illustrative $3,000 surgery estimate that an owner finances over 12 months through a lender with the 5% practice fee Scratchpay states. The clinic's cost is 5% of $3,000, or $150, so it nets $2,850 at funding. By our arithmetic, Scratchpay's own example of $860.62 a month on $10,000 scales to about $258 a month on $3,000 at the same 5.99% APR and term, though real APRs vary by applicant. If an installment fails, a proposed messaging step can check status on Twilio's Message resource and log the error_code field, which Twilio populates when status is failed or undelivered, per Twilio's Message resource docs, and route the case to a staff queue instead of retrying the text.

Building it yourself in Zapier, Make, or n8n

Zapier, Make and n8n can each support run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when a builder configures them, and many clinics can cover a simple reconciliation flow this way. What the buyer must still design and own is observability, idempotency so a retried payout does not post twice, escalation rules, access controls for bank and client data, and maintenance when a vendor changes its export format. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure those same controls as part of the flow, with named prerequisites: API or export access from each vendor, a test account, a staff review queue, and one owner for changes. Before choosing this route, ask whether someone at the clinic will maintain the flow, because an unmaintained flow tends to fail quietly.

Where a workflow layer adds nothing

A workflow layer is the wrong purchase in several cases. If you use one lender at one clinic and its portal already reconciles payouts, a spreadsheet and a monthly review will cost less than building a flow. If you only want the vendor's own checkout, the lender's built-in collections already cover the job. If your plan volume is low enough that staff can work each failed installment from the vendor's report by hand, a simpler existing tool wins. US Tech Automations is the wrong purchase in those cases.

Decision checklist

  1. Get the practice fee in writing, including any percentage, monthly fee and setup charge.

  2. Ask who carries default risk, and whether the clinic is paid if a client stops paying.

  3. Confirm the payout date and whether the merchant fee is deducted before payment.

  4. Confirm the integration with your practice management system, or the export format you will reconcile from.

  5. Check the client APR and whether any promotion uses deferred interest.

  6. Ask how refunds and late fees are handled, and what happens after the refund window closes.

Frequently asked questions

Which option gets a clinic paid fastest?

On their own pages, Cherry and CareCredit both describe payouts within a few business days, so payout speed alone rarely separates them. Compare the payout date and any fee deduction in each contract.

Do pet owners face a credit check?

Cherry says its application uses a soft check and no hard check, and Varidi says its plans require no credit check. CareCredit is a card application, so expect a credit review, and VetBilling's soft-check service is optional.

What is deferred interest, and why should a clinic care?

Deferred interest means interest can be charged back to the purchase date if the promotional balance is not paid in full by the end of the promotional period. Clinics should explain those terms when they offer a deferred-interest card, because the CFPB action described above concerned health care card enrollment.

Do these tools charge the clinic a monthly fee?

Scratchpay's practice page and Cherry's page say clinics pay no setup or monthly fee. VetBilling sells a monthly subscription, and its tiers are listed above.

Which of these connect to a practice management system?

Only Scratchpay names a practice management system in the pages we checked: Scratch Checkout names Cornerstone. Cherry names VetBilling as a billing platform it complements, which is not a practice management integration. The CareCredit, VetBilling and Varidi pages name none, so confirm integration before you sign.

When is a clinic better off keeping its own plans?

A clinic is better off keeping its own plans when it has a written default policy, can carry collections in-house, and wants the plan to stay under its own name. The VetBilling model is built for that approach.

Next steps before you sign

Before you sign, collect four items in writing: the practice fee, the default-risk clause, the payout date and any deduction, and the integration or export format. Those four answers decide most of the comparison above. To see how a reconciliation and missed-payment flow could be configured, see how US Tech Automations configures this, with the prerequisites and review points set out for your clinic. Clinics weighing the same decision for another practice type can start with the dental treatment financing automation comparison.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.