Skip to content
AI & Automation

Best POS Software for Coffee Shops: 3 Steps for 2027

Oct 28, 2026

The category decision for coffee shops

A coffee shop that sells mostly espresso drinks, pastries and bottled goods should choose a counter-service POS built for fast drink modifiers, offline card acceptance and simple reporting, not a full-service restaurant suite. That category decision comes before any brand. If your shop runs table service or a bar, the answer changes, and the Toast profile below matters more. A coffee shop POS is the register, ticketing and payment software that turns drink orders into barista or kitchen tickets, takes card and mobile payments, and passes sales data to inventory and reporting.

TL;DR: On the vendor pages we could read, Dripos makes the most explicit coffee-workflow claims, Square for Restaurants has the lowest published starting price, and Lightspeed Restaurant makes the clearest ingredient-level inventory claim. Toast and Clover could not be priced from their official pages in this research, so they appear for context rather than as price comparisons. Get written quotes and run a trial before you sign anything.

Key Takeaways

  • Dripos's homepage describes item-level ticket routing and its coffee page says offline mode keeps transactions running on spotty connections, and its core subscription is $160 per month.

  • Square for Restaurants lists its free tier as starting at $0, but its offline acceptance window is 24 hours on readers, and the card rates for its free tier were not printed on the page we read.

  • Lightspeed Restaurant lists Starter, Essential and Premium plans at $69, $189 and $399, and its inventory page says it tracks "inventory to the ingredient level."

  • Korona lists per-terminal plans from $59 and says it is processing-agnostic, so the card rate is one you choose and must confirm in writing.

  • Clover and Toast official pricing pages could not be read in this research, so get quotes that show software, processing, hardware and contract length before comparing them.

  • For a small shop, card processing on small drink tickets often costs more than the software fee, so compare all-in monthly cost at your own sales volume.

Who this is for

This guide is for the owner or operations lead of a coffee shop, cafe or drive-through who is close to choosing a point-of-sale system and wants a direct answer. It assumes one location or a small group, where the monthly software fee, the card-processing rate and the contract length decide most of the cost. Multi-unit chains with procurement teams need a longer process, and several enterprise tiers below are quote-based.

Red flags: you run table service or a full kitchen, you need a multi-unit rollout with formal procurement review, or you cannot test offline checkout before signing a contract.

How we evaluated these tools

We built the shortlist from six products that are sold today and that appear on the vendor and review pages we opened for this guide. The weights below are our judgment about what matters for a coffee shop, not vendor data. Facts come from the pages cited in each section, and where a page is silent or unreadable we say so instead of filling the gap.

CriterionWeightWhy it matters for a coffee shop
Total monthly cost, including card processing25%Card fees on small tickets can exceed the software fee
Drink modifiers and ticket routing20%A single latte can carry many variables, and slow modifiers slow the bar
Offline payment tolerance15%Morning rushes continue when Wi-Fi or cell service drops
Inventory depth, by unit or ingredient15%Milk, syrup and shot usage drive waste and margin
Contract flexibility15%Multi-year terms raise the cost of leaving a single location
Loyalty and customer data10%Repeat-visit tools affect how often regulars come back

The weights total 100%. We weighted cost highest because fee schedules are where small operators most often compare products wrongly, and because a low software fee can hide a high card rate.

What the vendor pages say about coffee needs

The table below records only what we could read on each vendor's own pages, plus the review sources cited in the profiles. "Not verified" means the page we opened did not state the feature. That is not the same as saying the product lacks it.

VendorOffline behaviorIngredient inventoryKitchen ticketsLoyaltyDeveloper access
Square for Restaurants24 hours to accept on readersNot verifiedKDS app on Plus planNot verifiedWebhook events with permissions
ToastNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verified
CloverNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verified
Lightspeed RestaurantSoftware keeps working offline, per its FAQTracked to the ingredient levelKitchen Display System, $30 per screen per monthNot native; third-party toolsPartner API access
DriposKeeps transactions running on spotty connectionsInventory named; syncs to a main shopItem-level routing to a built-in KDS, per its homepageBuilt-in loyalty programNot verified
Korona POSNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedIntegration module, $45 per token per month

Offline behavior is the cell that matters most on a busy morning, and vendor wording varies. Square's US help article gives a 24-hour acceptance window on its readers and Stand, and a 72-hour window to reconnect and upload for Register, Terminal and Handheld, while recommending upload within 24 hours. Offline acceptance window: 24 hours on readers according to Square (2026). Dripos's coffee page says offline mode "keeps transactions running even with spotty wifi or cell service," but it does not explain how offline transactions sync or what limits apply. Ask every vendor to complete a sale with the Wi-Fi off and to state the upload window in writing.

Pricing and total cost of ownership

Pricing checked October 26, 2026. Each figure below comes from the vendor's own pricing page. A "Not confirmed" cell means we did not read a figure on that vendor's page; it does not mean no price exists.

VendorPlan or itemListed priceBilling and notes
Square for RestaurantsFree tierStarting at $0Card rates not printed on the page we read
Square for RestaurantsKDS app on PlusNot confirmedPer-device rate not verified
Square for RestaurantsSquare ProQuote-basedPage says to talk to sales for high-volume card processing
ToastSoftware plansNot confirmedOfficial pricing page could not be read
CloverSoftware plansNot confirmedOfficial pricing page could not be read
Lightspeed RestaurantStarter$69Billing period not stated on the page we read
Lightspeed RestaurantEssential$189Billing period not stated on the page we read
Lightspeed RestaurantPremium$399Billing period not stated on the page we read
Lightspeed RestaurantEnterpriseQuote-basedCustom hardware, software and services package
Lightspeed RestaurantKitchen display$30 per screenPer screen, per month
DriposCore subscription$160 per monthPage tagline: "One base fee. No hidden costs."
DriposBranded App add-on$100 per monthListed in the pricing section
DriposCard-present processing2.6% + 15¢Online processing listed at 2.6% + 30¢
Korona POSCore plan$59 per terminal per monthMonth-to-month agreement
Korona POSRetail plan$79 per terminal per monthMonth-to-month agreement
Korona POSPlus plan$99 per terminal per monthMonth-to-month agreement

Core subscription: $160 per month according to Dripos (2026). Dripos's pricing section and its FAQ disagree on some add-ons. Payroll reads "$30/EIN + $6/employee" in the pricing section but "$30 base / month + $6 / employee" in the FAQ, and the Branded App is "$100/month" in one place and "$100 / location / month" in the other. Ask for add-on terms in writing before you assume a single-location price.

Core terminal plan: $59 per month according to KORONA POS (2026). Korona's page says there are no forced contracts, that it is processing-agnostic and "never takes a percentage of your sales," and that hardware and software carry 30-day and 60-day money-back guarantees. The Food module costs $10 per register per month, and the page gives no per-transaction card rate, so the processing cost has to come from your own quote.

On Lightspeed's pricing page, the Starter plan is $69, Essential is $189 and Premium is $399, and Enterprise is quote-based, according to Lightspeed (2026). That page does not state processing rates, contract length or a billing period, so those three numbers need confirmation before you compare them with a fully loaded quote.

On Square's pricing page, the Free tier starts at $0, and the Plus plan lists the KDS app at a per-device rate: Free tier: starting at $0 according to Square (2026). The text we read says Plus offers lower processing fees than Free, but the card rates were not printed. Square's top tier, listed as Square Pro, has no list price; the page says to talk to sales if you process a high volume of card payments.

We could not read Clover's or Toast's official pricing pages in this research. Clover's page returned only its title, and Toast's pricing page returned a 403 error. Third-party figures for both products conflict, so this guide prints none of them. For Clover, the review we opened says a direct purchase carries a standard term, and that Clover does not offer month-to-month contracts: Standard direct contract: 3 years according to Merchant Maverick (2025).

What card fees do to a weekly budget

Consider an illustrative shop, not a real customer, that takes 600 card sales a week at an assumed average ticket of $6.50, which means $3,900 in card volume. At the card-present rate listed on Dripos's pricing page, 2.6% + 15¢, processing is $101.40 for the percentage (2.6% of $3,900) plus $90.00 for 600 transactions at 15¢, or $191.40 a week. Annualized over 52 weeks and divided by 12 months, that is about $829 a month in card processing. Adding Dripos's $160 core subscription gives roughly $989 a month before hardware, add-ons and any tax, which is why the processing line matters more than the software line for this shop. If the same shop ran on Square, the events to watch in a reconciliation build would be order.created and payment.created, which Square's webhook reference lists under ORDERS_READ and PAYMENTS_READ permissions.

Build it yourself or buy a configured workflow

The most common alternative to a coffee POS is not a second POS. It is a stitched setup: a POS export into a spreadsheet, or a flow built in Zapier, Make or n8n that copies sales or stock counts between systems. Those tools can keep run histories, retries and error branches when someone configures them. The buyer still has to design and own the parts that fail quietly: idempotency, so a retried webhook does not count the same sale twice; alerts when a run fails; escalation to a person; access controls on supplier and payment data; and upkeep when a vendor changes its API.

US Tech Automations can configure a proposed reorder workflow for a shop whose POS exposes stock changes through an API. This is a configurable design, not a live deployment. The trigger is inventory.count.updated, which Square's webhook reference says fires when a catalog item variation's quantity changes. The action compares the new count with a par level kept for each ingredient unit, and the output is a draft reorder note for the manager. Prerequisites are a Square app with INVENTORY_READ permission, catalog items mapped to units such as ounces or pumps, and a par-level table the owner maintains. The review point is a manager approving every draft before anything goes to a supplier.

A second proposed workflow builds a daily reconciliation. It uses order.created and payment.created to match each order to its payment, and any mismatch goes to an exception list. US Tech Automations would configure the matching rules, but a staff member reviews every exception and every refund before the day closes, and the owner confirms the Square webhook subscriptions are active before relying on the output.

On Lightspeed or Dripos, the same designs depend on an export or a partner API. Lightspeed's page lists Partner API access, while the Dripos pages we read do not describe an API, so confirm that before anyone designs around it.

Vendor profiles: who should choose each one

Dripos

Dripos fits coffee-only counters, drive-through lanes and mobile routes best. Its coffee and mobile page says "POS, inventory, and reporting connect automatically," describes a built-in loyalty program, and lists a menu builder for compact coffee truck menus, and its homepage describes item-level ticket routing to a built-in KDS. We could not link a deep page for the ticket-routing claim, so confirm it in a trial. The limitations are real: the pages we read do not name drink modifiers, recipes or ingredient costing, and inventory appears mainly as an operations tagline. Its add-on terms also differ between the pricing section and the FAQ. Implementation starts with a trial that uses your actual modifier tree, a sale with Wi-Fi off, and written offline sync rules. Dripos is a weaker choice if ingredient-level costing is your main priority, because the pages we read do not show it.

Square for Restaurants

Square for Restaurants fits a single-location cafe that wants a free starting tier and a fast setup. NerdWallet names Square Restaurant POS its pick for cafes and bars, and quotes its reviewer saying Square "hits the mark for most small cafes, coffee shops and bars." NerdWallet also says its partners compensate it for advertisements and does not say whether Square is one of them, so treat the pick as one reviewer's view. The same reviewer warns that the free plan lacked tip pooling and some staff tools, and calls the free plan's processing rates "more expensive than competitors." Offline behavior is documented in more detail than most vendors offer, but the window differs by hardware. Implementation is simple for a single shop, and a custom stock sync can start from inventory.count.updated with INVENTORY_READ. Square is a weaker choice if you need verified ingredient costing on day one, because we could not confirm that feature on the pages we read.

Lightspeed Restaurant

Lightspeed Restaurant fits cafes that want ingredient-level inventory alongside a restaurant POS and a kitchen display. Its features page says Inventory Management tracks "inventory to the ingredient level," and its Kitchen Display System is listed at $30 per screen per month. Its plans start at $69, and the page lists Partner API access for integrations. The limitations are the missing details: the page we read does not state processing rates, a billing period or contract length, and loyalty appears only as a third-party integration. Implementation means mapping each drink to ingredient units during setup and asking for the partner API terms before any custom build. Lightspeed is a weaker choice if you need a built-in loyalty program from the start or if the base monthly plan is larger than your margin on a single location.

Korona POS

Korona POS fits shops that sell beans, merchandise and drinks through one register, and buyers who want month-to-month terms. Its pricing page lists Core at $59, Retail at $79 and Plus at $99 per terminal per month, and it says annual plans are discounted. The limitations are that the pages we read do not name drink modifiers, recipes or loyalty features. Its coffee guide says a POS should handle a latte's modifiers natively, and that milk and syrup should be tracked by pump or ounce, but that is vendor content rather than a verified product feature. The Integration module requires a quote per token and is listed at $45 per token per month. Implementation means testing modifiers and unit inventory in the trial, which its pricing page describes as unlimited but without a stated length. Korona is a weaker choice for a shop that needs a card rate printed on the vendor page, since that rate is not listed.

Clover

Clover fits quick-service counters that accept a bundled hardware package and a multi-year commitment. NerdWallet labels Clover its pick for quick-service restaurants, not for cafes. The limitations are the most concrete in this list. The reviewer we opened says Clover software "can only be used with Clover hardware," advises against leasing hardware from a reseller, and calls the standard direct contract "very difficult to get out of." Some resellers may offer shorter terms, so ask for them in writing. Clover is a weaker choice for a shop that wants to keep the option to leave within a few months. Request a written total for the full contract term, since we could not read Clover's own pricing page. For a side-by-side of two of these platforms, see our Toast and Clover comparison.

Toast

Toast fits full-service restaurants with a food program. NerdWallet labels Toast "Best for Full-service restaurants," and it mentions a coffee chain that runs Toast only as a methodology example, not as a cafe pick. The limitation is the largest gap in this guide. Toast's pricing page could not be read, so we cannot confirm software tiers, card rates, hardware costs or contract length, and the coffee-specific features were not verified on the pages we opened. A counter-only shop without a food program should check which features it needs on the base tier, because a restaurant suite can carry features the shop never uses. Implementation means requesting a written quote that prices hardware for your counter layout and states the contract length.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip a configured workflow if your POS already produces the reorder or sales report you need, because a native report costs less to maintain. Skip it if you run one register with a short product list and a manual count is faster than any sync. Skip it if you are still choosing between Square, Dripos and Lightspeed on features alone, since the workflow only helps after the POS is chosen. In each case, the POS's own reports or a simple spreadsheet wins, and a configured workflow adds a moving part your staff has to maintain.

Decision checklist and common mistakes

Three steps to a shortlist you can defend:

  1. Shortlist by the cost and feature facts above, and drop any product whose contract term or processing rate you cannot get in writing.

  2. Test the two finalists with a real menu: build your five best-selling drinks with full modifier trees, time the ticket, and complete a sale with Wi-Fi off.

  3. Compare written all-in quotes that show software, card rate, hardware, add-ons, contract length and exit terms, using your own monthly sales volume.

Common mistakes to avoid:

  • Comparing software fees and ignoring the card rate on small drink tickets.

  • Leasing hardware through a reseller without comparing the full cost.

  • Assuming offline mode covers every card type and every reader. Check the list for your hardware.

  • Choosing on a feature list without a trial that uses your own menu.

  • Reading "inventory" on a vendor page as ingredient-level tracking. Dripos's pages mention inventory mainly as a tagline.

Frequently asked questions

Is Square for Restaurants the best POS for a coffee shop?

Square for Restaurants is the most direct low-cost starting point among the six, and NerdWallet names it its cafe pick, but it is not the best fit for every coffee shop. Its free tier starts at $0, while its offline window of 24 hours on readers and the free-tier limits a NerdWallet reviewer describes, such as the lack of tip pooling, matter on a busy counter.

What does Dripos cost?

Dripos's core subscription is $160 per month, with card-present processing listed at 2.6% + 15¢ and online processing at 2.6% + 30¢, as shown on its pricing page. Add-ons such as the Branded App are listed separately, and the pricing section and FAQ disagree on some add-on terms, so get those terms in writing.

Can a coffee shop POS keep taking payments when Wi-Fi drops?

Sometimes, and the limits differ by vendor. Square's US help article gives 24 hours to accept offline payments on readers and 72 hours to upload on Register, Terminal and Handheld. Lightspeed says its software keeps working offline, and Dripos says offline mode keeps transactions running on spotty connections, but it does not explain how those transactions sync. Test it with the Wi-Fi off before you buy.

Do I need ingredient-level inventory?

You need it if you want cost per drink or waste per ounce. Lightspeed's features page describes tracking to the ingredient level, while the Square and Dripos pages we read do not confirm it. If you only need to count bags of beans and cups, a simpler inventory list is enough.

Are Toast and Clover worth considering for a coffee shop?

They can be, for different formats. NerdWallet labels Toast for full-service restaurants and Clover for quick-service restaurants. The review we opened says Clover's direct standard contract runs 3 years, and we could not read the official Toast or Clover pricing pages, so get written quotes before you rule either one in or out.

Should I build this with Zapier, Make or n8n instead?

Those tools can run automations with run histories, retries and error branches when someone configures them, but you then own the monitoring, duplicate protection, access controls and upkeep. Start with the simplest manual report that answers your question, and add automation only when that report stops being enough.

Bottom line

For most single-location coffee shops, start with a shortlist of Square for Restaurants, Dripos and Lightspeed Restaurant, then decide on the three checks above: a sale with Wi-Fi off, the level of inventory costing you need, and an all-in monthly figure from a written quote. Keep Clover and Toast in view for counter or full-service formats where their contracts and hardware fit, and get their numbers in writing before you rule them out. If a POS export needs to feed a reorder or a reconciliation, see how US Tech Automations configures this against your own export and API access before you commit.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.