Skip to content
AI & Automation

6 Best Proof of Delivery Capture Apps for Carriers 2027

Nov 5, 2026

Key Takeaways

  • Pick the category first. Dispatch-focused apps (Onfleet, Upper, Detrack, OptimoRoute) fit stop-by-stop delivery under your own dispatch, while Alvys and Transflo fit carriers whose proof of delivery has to flow into freight billing.

  • For drop-by-drop work with a known driver count, the Pro plan on Detrack is the lowest published per-driver price that lists signature, photos, location, and time stamps.

  • Onfleet prices by completed deliveries rather than by driver, so it suits steady high volume better than a small fleet with few stops.

  • Offline capture is the gap to close. None of the pricing or product pages we opened says offline capture works, so get that answer in writing before you sign.

  • Electronic signatures carry legal weight under federal law, so the real decision comes down to capture quality, handoff to billing, and cost per seat.

TL;DR: Start with Detrack or OptimoRoute if you want published per-driver pricing that includes proof of delivery, choose Onfleet if monthly volume is the cost driver, and pick Alvys or Transflo if proof of delivery has to reach your billing system.

Pick the category before the brand

Proof of delivery (POD) capture is the step where the receiver's signature, photos, and the time and place of drop-off are recorded at the door and stored as a record you can bill against. Two kinds of app cover this. Dispatch-focused tools were built around stops: they sequence a route, push tasks to drivers, and collect proof at each stop. Freight-focused platforms were built around shipping documents: they handle bills of lading (BOLs), capture paperwork, and push it into a transportation management system (TMS).

Choose the category from your paperwork, not from a brand list. If your drivers run their own multi-stop drops and you need proof for each stop, start with the dispatch group. If billing depends on signed BOLs and PODs from loads you haul, start with the freight group and ask whether the TMS you already own can do the capture.

Who this is for

This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a small carrier or delivery business who has narrowed the list and needs to know which app matches how drivers actually work. It does not cover full routing or load-board software in depth, even though several of the vendors below also sell it.

Red flags: your drivers regularly work where there is no signal and you need offline capture confirmed in writing; you need POD tied to settlement and invoicing in one system you do not yet have; nobody on your team will own a webhook, export, or approval queue.

How we evaluated these tools

We weighted six criteria, shown below, and scored each vendor only on what its own pricing or product pages say as of the research date. The weights are our judgment for a small-carrier buyer, not a published industry standard.

CriterionWeightWhy it matters for a small carrier
Capture evidence: signature, photos, time stamps25%Disputes turn on whether the receiver's signature and drop time are on the record
Handoff to billing: webhooks, API, or export20%A POD that cannot reach invoicing still delays billing
Price transparency and unit of cost20%Per driver, per user, and per load produce very different bills
Offline capture and upload behavior15%Dead-zone drops are where paper returns come from
Freight-document fit: BOL and ePOD10%BOL-driven billing needs document handling, not just stop logs
Documentation you can check10%A feature you cannot find in the vendor's own pages is one you cannot rely on

We opened each vendor's pricing and product pages on October 29, 2026. We dropped Track-POD because its official pricing URLs returned not-found errors during this check, and third-party listings for it disagreed. We also did not find an official carrier pricing page for Trucker Tools, so it is not in the comparison. G2, Capterra, GetApp, Software Advice, and Gartner returned access errors, so we did not use their ratings. Independent sources here are limited to a federal statute, a third-party integration guide, and trade press, and we flag where each one appears. This is a desk review of public information, not hands-on testing.

Feature matrix for six POD capture options

The table records what each vendor's own pages state. "Not mentioned" means the page is silent, not that the feature is absent. Our read follows the table.

VendorSignaturePhotosBarcodeLocation or time stampsOffline capture stated
OnfleetYes, from LaunchYes, from LaunchFrom ScaleNot listedNot mentioned
UpperYes, all listed plans3, 5, or 10 by planFrom ProfessionalGeotagged verification from ProfessionalNot mentioned
DetrackYes, Pro10, ProNot listedLocation and time stamps, ProNot mentioned
OptimoRoutePOD feature in Pro and CustomPOD feature in Pro and CustomNot tied to a planNot statedNot mentioned
AlvysNot statedDocument scanner and uploadNot statedNot statedNot mentioned
TransfloYes, the only POD method on the Mobile+ pageDescribed on the homepageNot statedTime stamp on the homepageNot mentioned

The clearest plan-by-plan capture specs come from Upper and Detrack. Onfleet's entry tier already includes the photo and signature proof that carriers ask for first, and barcode scanning moves up to Scale. OptimoRoute ties POD to its Pro and Custom plans. Alvys and Transflo describe documents rather than stop-level proof, so their rows are thinner. Transflo's homepage and its Mobile+ product page also differ: the homepage lists a timestamp with the signature and photos, while the product page describes signatures only.

What the published prices cover

Four of six vendors publish a number. The table uses the plan figures on each vendor's own pricing page, and the last column shows the monthly math for eight users or driver apps so the unit of cost is visible.

VendorPlanPublished priceBilling unitMonthly math for 8 users or driver apps
OnfleetLaunch$619 a month, 2,500 completed deliveriesFlat, per tier$619 flat
OnfleetScale$1,349 a month, 5,000 completed deliveriesFlat, per tier$1,349 flat
UpperStarter$50 per user monthly, $40 billed yearlyPer user$400 monthly; $320 yearly
UpperProfessional$60 per user monthly, $48 billed yearlyPer user$480 monthly; $384 yearly
DetrackPro$29 per driver app, billed monthlyPer driver app$232
DetrackAdvanced$39 per driver app, billed monthlyPer driver app$312
OptimoRouteLite$35.10 per driver, billed annuallyPer driver$280.80
OptimoRoutePro$44.10 per driver, billed annuallyPer driver$352.80
AlvysFoundations, Growth, ScaleQuote-basedPer load volumeQuote-based
TransfloMobile+ with eBOL and ePODQuote-basedNot publishedQuote-based

Pricing checked October 29, 2026.

The cited figures sit in the paragraphs directly under the table. The Launch plan on Onfleet is priced on completed deliveries, and it is the entry point for proof of delivery on that vendor's page.

Onfleet's entry plan: $619 a month for 2,500 deliveries according to Onfleet (2026).

Upper's entry plan: $50 per user a month, or $40 billed yearly according to Upper (2026).

The Pro plan on Detrack is $29 per driver app a month, billed monthly, according to Detrack (2026). The Lite plan on OptimoRoute is $35.10 per driver a month, and Pro is $44.10, both billed annually, according to OptimoRoute (2026).

Alvys and Transflo do not publish dollar figures. The Alvys pricing page says its plans are quoted based on load volume and that customers pay per load with no per-seat charges, and its Foundations tier includes a 14-day free trial. The Transflo Mobile+ page links only to a demo request and a contact form.

Our read: a per-driver price multiplies with headcount, while Onfleet's flat tier scales with completed deliveries up to its cap. The lowest line on the table is not automatically the cheapest app for your operation, so do the multiplication with your own numbers.

Vendor-by-vendor fit

Each profile separates what the vendor states from our judgment about fit.

Onfleet

Best fit: a delivery operation with steady monthly volume. The Scale tier on Onfleet costs $1,349 a month for 5,000 completed deliveries, and Enterprise plans typically start at $3,099 a month, according to Onfleet (2026). Barcode scanning first appears at Scale.

Limitations: the entry tier is a flat monthly fee with a volume cap, so a small fleet with few stops pays for capacity it does not use. Offline mode is not mentioned on the pricing page.

Implementation: Onfleet's webhook reference says each webhook targets a single trigger and sends a POST to your URL. The task-completed trigger carries numeric ID 3, so a completion handoff starts there. Plan a receiving endpoint that acknowledges quickly and queues the work for processing.

Primary evidence: Onfleet webhook reference and the pricing page above.

Upper

Best fit: teams where office staff need seats and drivers need signature plus photo proof. The Professional plan on Upper costs $60 per user a month, or $48 billed yearly, according to Upper (2026), and it is the first tier listing barcode scanning and geotagged verification.

Limitations: Starter gives signature, delivery notes, and three photos, but no barcode scanning or geotagged verification. The Enterprise plan has no published price. Per-user billing means office users add cost even if they never touch a truck.

Implementation: count the people who need a login before choosing a tier. The pricing page does not explain how seats are assigned across drivers and staff, so confirm that with sales.

Primary evidence: Upper pricing.

Detrack

Best fit: small fleets that pay per driver app and want the proof fields in one tier. The Advanced plan on Detrack costs $39 per driver app a month, and the vendor's page says it includes everything in Pro, according to Detrack (2026).

Limitations: the Pro list includes signature, 10 photos, location, and time stamps, but not barcode scanning. Offline capture is not mentioned, and the Enterprise plan is custom-priced.

Implementation: the per-driver-app model means every driver needs an app. We did not find Detrack's own API documentation in this session, so do not assume an integration exists until the vendor confirms it.

Primary evidence: Detrack pricing.

OptimoRoute

Best fit: operators who want route planning and POD on one per-driver plan, and who will push orders through an API. POD appears on Pro and Custom, not on Lite.

Limitations: Lite has no POD. The pricing page lists annual billing for its per-driver figures and does not show a monthly-billed rate. Custom plans are quote-based.

Implementation: the API reference identifies each order by an orderNo you set and a vendor-assigned id, which takes priority when sent. The reference says barcode data appears only when the Proof of Delivery feature is available, so confirm that the feature is enabled on your account before you design around it. We could not read the order-completion endpoints in full during this review.

Primary evidence: OptimoRoute API reference and the OptimoRoute pricing page.

Alvys

Best fit: carriers whose POD has to feed a TMS for billing, and who prefer load-based pricing to per-seat fees. Alvys's own FAQ says you only pay per load and there are no per-seat charges.

Limitations: the pricing page does not name proof of delivery among driver-app features, and it does not mention offline mode. The price itself is not published.

Implementation: this is a TMS decision, so the POD workflow depends on how the TMS modules are configured. Ask for a demo that covers driver upload and the invoice trigger before you sign.

Primary evidence: Alvys pricing.

Transflo

Best fit: freight carriers and brokers who need eBOL and ePOD with document scanning tied to a freight workflow. The Mobile+ product page describes receiver signatures captured from any device, and it describes shipper visibility into those signatures.

Limitations: pricing is quote-based, the product page links only to a demo request and a contact form, and offline capture or queued upload is not mentioned. In 2020 trade coverage, Transflo's Mobile+ app was described with a large user base: Transflo's Mobile+ app had 1.6 million users in 2020 according to The Trucker (2020). That is a dated figure, and the vendor's current pages use different measures, so treat it as reach rather than a current count.

Implementation: expect a sales-led setup that involves the shipper or broker side, since the product is designed around shared signature visibility.

Primary evidence: Transflo Mobile+.

One delivery, worked through

Take an illustrative eight-driver team, a hypothetical and not a customer, that completes 25 drops per driver on each of 22 working days, or 4,400 deliveries a month. Eight Detrack driver apps at the $29 Pro price shown above come to $232 a month, and at the $39 Advanced price they come to $312, a gap of $80 a month or $960 a year. The Launch tier on Onfleet at $619 covers only 2,500 completed deliveries, so at this volume the team would need Scale, which costs $1,349 a month for up to 5,000, or $1,117 more than the Detrack Pro total each month, about $13,400 a year. On OptimoRoute, eight Pro seats at the $44.10 annual-billing rate come to $352.80 a month, and the barcode field appears only when the Proof of Delivery feature is available, so confirm that before modeling it. An integration that writes the invoice reference to custom_field_1 would use a legacy custom field key that OptimoRoute's reference lists, while its Order Object uses customField1 instead, so verify which key your account exposes before you map it.

Where the signed record goes next

The app captures the proof, but the proof still has to reach the people who bill, and that handoff is where many small carriers still retype or email PDFs.

Onfleet's webhook waits 10 seconds for a response according to Hookdeck (undated). Hookdeck, which sells webhook tooling, also reports that Onfleet retries timed-out requests every 30 seconds and disables a webhook after 300 consecutive failed requests. An endpoint that is slow to answer can therefore stop receiving completions without an obvious error, so check that claim against Onfleet's current documentation before you build on it.

A proposed, configurable workflow for this handoff would start with the completion event. The trigger is a task-completed event from the POD app, which on Onfleet is the taskCompleted trigger in its webhook reference. The action reads the signature image, photo references, timestamp, and a shared order reference, then compares them with the billing record for that stop. The output is a draft invoice or an exception record for a person to review. Nothing is sent to a customer automatically.

The prerequisites come first. The POD app needs an export or API access that delivers the signature image and the order reference. The dispatch record and the billing record must share a stable identifier. The receiving endpoint must answer inside the vendor's time window and queue the work. Human review belongs at three points: missing or unreadable signatures, timestamps outside the delivery window, and any rate dispute. Access controls on stored signature images also matter, because those files can carry personal information about receivers.

US Tech Automations builds custom AI automation workflows, and its public site lists integrations with Gmail, Google Sheets, HubSpot, QuickBooks, and Stripe. The site does not list a logistics or proof-of-delivery connector, so the first step in any scoping would be to check whether your chosen POD app exposes the export described above and whether that export can reach QuickBooks or your TMS.

The other path is stitching this together yourself in Zapier, Make, or n8n. Those tools can keep run histories, retries, and error branches when they are configured, and they are a reasonable choice when the POD app already sends a clean webhook. What they do not provide is the design. Your team still owns idempotency so a retried webhook does not create a duplicate invoice, escalation when a signature is missing, access controls on stored images, and maintenance when a vendor changes its payload. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure the same retry, escalation, and review steps, but the prerequisites above and the human approvals stay with your team either way.

Common mistakes to avoid

  • Comparing sticker prices across units. Per-user, per-driver-app, and per-delivery figures only compare after you multiply by your own headcount or volume.

  • Assuming POD is in the entry plan. Upper's Starter omits barcode scanning and geotagged verification, and OptimoRoute's Lite omits POD entirely.

  • Skipping the offline test. None of the pricing or product pages we opened states that offline capture works, so test it at your worst drop site before you commit.

  • Buying the app before defining the handoff. A signed image that no one reconciles against an invoice is not billing data.

  • Trusting ratings you did not check. Several review sites blocked access during this review, so we left their scores out rather than estimate them.

Frequently asked questions

Which proof of delivery app is the lowest-cost start for a small fleet?

Among the six we reviewed, the Pro plan on Detrack is the lowest published per-driver price that lists signature, photos, location, and time stamps.

Are electronic signatures valid for proof of delivery?

Yes, under federal law a signature may not be denied legal effect solely because it is in electronic form, per 15 U.S.C. § 7001, but state rules and your customer contracts still decide what a receiver must sign.

Do these apps work without a signal?

None of the pricing or product pages we opened says offline capture works, so treat it as unconfirmed and ask each vendor for written confirmation before you rely on it.

Should I build POD capture with Zapier, Make, or n8n instead of buying an app?

Build it yourself only if your driver app already exposes a webhook or export and someone on your team will own retries, duplicate protection, and access controls.

When should you not use US Tech Automations for this?

Skip a custom workflow when your POD app or TMS already routes signed records into invoicing, because a built-in step is cheaper to keep running than a custom one. It is also the wrong choice when no one on your team will own the review queue, since the approvals are the part that cannot be automated away. If you only need a stop log for occasional deliveries, a manual check of signature images against invoices may be enough, and a simple spreadsheet with a manual upload beats an automation nobody maintains.

Where to go next

Start with the category: dispatch tools for stop-level proof, freight platforms for document-driven billing. Inside the dispatch group, compare the lowest tier that includes signature, photos, and time stamps against the monthly math for your own driver count, and get written answers on offline capture and API or export access before you sign anything. If the handoff to billing needs its own workflow, see how US Tech Automations configures this and review the proposed design against your own prerequisites.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.