Skip to content
AI & Automation

5 Best Teletherapy Platforms for Private Practice 2027

Oct 31, 2026

Pick the category before the brand

A therapist choosing teletherapy software is really choosing between two categories. The first is a practice suite that bundles scheduling, client records, notes and billing with secure video, so one login and one data set cover most of the week. The second is a standalone video tool that you connect to a separate scheduler, notes app and billing service. For most solo and small group practices the suite wins on fewer handoffs, but only if telehealth, insurance claims and extra clinicians are inside the plan you would actually buy. This guide compares five practice-management platforms on those terms.

A teletherapy platform, in this guide, is practice-management software that runs secure video sessions alongside the scheduling, records and billing around them.

TL;DR: Pick the platform whose telehealth terms, claim fees and per-clinician pricing match the next year of your practice, not the lowest headline price. Confirm telehealth, a business associate agreement and claim fees in writing before you pay.

Key Takeaways

  • Telehealth is the first filter. On several vendor pages it appears only on higher tiers or as an add-on, so confirm it on the exact plan you would buy.

  • Insurance billing is usually a separate line with per-claim fees, so a low headline price can understate the monthly cost of an insurance-based caseload.

  • Per-clinician pricing changes the math quickly. The worked example in the pricing section shows two different structures landing on the same total.

  • Free-trial terms differ by vendor and by plan, and at least one vendor's page says it has no free trial at all.

  • Owl Practice's own pricing page did not load in this review, and TherapyNotes' pricing page returned only a title, so neither is priced here.

  • Get a business associate agreement in writing before any vendor handles protected health information from video or claims.

How we evaluated these platforms

The evaluation uses seven weighted criteria. The weights are our analysis for a small therapy business, not vendor data, and they show what this guide puts first.

CriterionWeightWhy it matters for a private practice
Telehealth in the plan you would buy25%Telehealth is often an add-on or a higher-tier feature, so the headline price can mislead.
Monthly cost at one to four clinicians20%Most small practices start here, and per-clinician pricing drives the total.
Insurance and claims fees15%Claim fees and billing add-ons add up quickly for insurance-based caseloads.
Cost as you add clinicians15%Group pricing decides whether growth stays affordable.
Trial length and plan limits10%A trial shows whether the plan fits before you pay.
Business associate agreement and compliance documents10%A video or billing vendor that handles protected health information needs a BAA.
Fit for scheduling, intake and notes5%Workflow fit matters, but it ranks below cost and telehealth terms.

Evidence comes from vendor pricing pages opened for this guide, plus two independent sources: a dated independent review of Owl Practice and a professional association's summary of telehealth vendor requirements. No product was used hands-on for this guide, so every feature claim below is what the vendor or the reviewer says in public. Five products are compared. TherapyNotes was on the starting list, but its pricing page returned no plan details, so it is left out of the price and feature comparison rather than estimated.

What each platform charges at small scale

Pricing checked October 27, 2026. The table below uses the figures printed on each vendor's own pricing page, and "not confirmed" means the page did not give a usable figure. Prices are monthly list prices before taxes, payment processing and insurance fees.

Entry tier list price: $29 per therapist monthly according to Ensora Health (2026).

VendorPlanMonthly list priceTelehealth on this planTrialSource
SimplePracticeStarter$49Not shown on the pricing page30 days per page textpricing page
SimplePracticeEssential$79Not shown on the pricing page30 days per page textpricing page
SimplePracticePlus, solo$99Listed as group telehealth on the group Plus plan30 days per page textpricing page
TheraNest (Ensora Health)Essentials$29 per therapistAdd-on at $12 per therapistTrial applies to Premier onlypricing page
TheraNest (Ensora Health)Advanced$59 per therapistIncludedTrial applies to Premier onlypricing page
TheraNest (Ensora Health)Premier$89 per therapistIncluded21 days, no card neededpricing page
JaneBalance$59One-to-one included; group add-on $15 per practitionerNo free trialpricing page
JanePractice$79One-to-one included; group add-on $15 per practitionerNo free trialpricing page
JaneThrive$99One-to-one included; group add-on $15 per practitionerNo free trialpricing page
TherapyAppointmentSolo Practice$0 for 30 days, then $10Add-on at $15 per provider30 dayspricing page
TherapyAppointmentGroup Practice$59, plus $39 per added clinicianAdd-on at $15 per provider30 dayspricing page
Owl PracticeNot printedNot confirmed; vendor page did not loadNot confirmedNot confirmedReviewed in ChoosingTherapy

TheraNest's pricing now sits under Ensora Health, and its page prices per therapist. The page also states that annual billing discounts the monthly rate, which matters if your headcount is stable. Telehealth is an add-on on Essentials and included from Advanced upward, so the cheapest TheraNest tier is not the cheapest tier that includes video.

The worked example below uses only the list prices in the table. It is an illustration for a hypothetical four-clinician group, not a quote or a forecast.

Consider a four-clinician group that wants telehealth for every therapist. The Advanced plan on TheraNest costs $59 per therapist, so four seats come to $236 a month with telehealth included. The Essentials plan plus the $12 telehealth add-on comes to 4 × ($29 + $12) = $164 a month, which is $72 less but depends on the add-on being sold on your exact setup. The Group Practice plan on TherapyAppointment costs $59 plus $39 for each added clinician, so three added clinicians bring the base to $176, and adding the $15 telehealth add-on for four providers, which is $60, lifts the total to $236 before the $10 low-session fee and claim fees. Two structures can land on the same total, so the question becomes which one still works when you add a fifth clinician.

Telehealth, claims and compliance: where the fine print sits

Three questions decide most of the cost. Is video in the tier you would buy? Are claim fees separate? Will the vendor sign a business associate agreement? The matrix below answers the first two from the pages reviewed, and the rows marked per review come from an independent reviewer rather than the vendor.

VendorTelehealth in the entry tierInsurance billingGroup supportLimits named on the page or in review
SimplePracticeNot stated on the pricing pageInsurance Navigator listed as coming soonGroup Plus priced per practitionerClaims filed at $1.79 each after 30 free days
TheraNest (Ensora Health)Add-on on Essentials; included on Advanced and PremierClaims are an add-on on Essentials; Premier includes insurance billing automationPer-therapist pricingTrial applies to Premier only
JaneOne-to-one included on all three plansAdd-on on Practice and Thrive; not offered on BalancePractitioner charges per profileBalance capped at 20 appointments a month
TherapyAppointmentAdd-on at $15 per provider; included in no listed planElectronic claims at $0.15 each, paid to Office AllyGroup Practice at $59 plus $39 per added clinicianFree for 30 days, then $10 until more than 10 sessions are booked
Owl PracticeIntegrated telehealth from the Core tier (per review)Insurance billing on the Pro tier (per review)Group practices offered (per review)Starter capped at 20 sessions a month (per review)

Figures in this matrix come from the pages cited in the sections above and in the profiles below.

The telehealth question has two parts. The first is whether video is in the tier you buy, which the table answers. The second is whether the vendor will sign a business associate agreement. Business associate requirement: needed for vendors handling protected health information according to CAMFT (undated). That article says a therapist should obtain a BAA from a telehealth vendor, that many HIPAA-compatible video platforms have one available to review, and that therapists who are not covered entities do not have to comply with HIPAA. Check your own status before you assume the requirement applies.

Federal HHS and OCR pages did not load in this review, so the BAA point rests on CAMFT's summary. Check the current guidance on HHS.gov before you rely on any enforcement history, and treat a "HIPAA compliant" label on a pricing page as a claim to verify rather than proof.

Telehealth is also the line item most likely to surprise you. Telehealth add-on cost: $15 per provider monthly according to TherapyAppointment (2026). The page also lists an Integrated Zoom option at $5 a month per provider if you bring your own Zoom for Healthcare license, so the cost depends on what you already pay for.

Platform profiles

SimplePractice

SimplePractice is the best fit for a practice that wants a wide suite of scheduling, notes and billing in one place and can accept a tiered structure. Starter list price: $49 per month according to SimplePractice (2026). Its pricing page does not say which tiers include telehealth, so you should confirm telehealth on the tier you intend to buy before you sign up. Its group Plus plan is priced per practitioner, which suits a practice that expects to add people. The limitation is insurance: Insurance Navigator: free for 30 days, then $1.79 per claim according to SimplePractice (2026), and the page labels that feature as coming soon. Implementation starts with the free trial, which the page describes as running to 30 days, and loading schedules, intake forms and the client list before the trial ends.

TheraNest (Ensora Health)

TheraNest suits a practice that wants telehealth included on a higher tier and per-therapist pricing that stays predictable. Entry tier list price: $29 per therapist monthly is the Essentials price, and that tier leaves telehealth as an add-on. The Premier plan offers Premier trial: 21 days, no credit card according to Ensora Health (2026). The limitation is cost growth, because every therapist you add carries a per-therapist charge, and claims are an add-on on Essentials and capped at 50 free a month per practice on Advanced. Implementation is simplest if you start the 21-day Premier trial with the staff who will use the system daily.

Jane

Jane suits a solo or small practice that wants one-to-one telehealth included across every plan. Balance plan list price: $59 per month according to Jane (2026), and that tier is capped at 20 appointments a month. Insurance billing is not offered on Balance. On the higher tiers, Insurance billing add-on: $20 per month according to Jane (2026), plus a per-practitioner charge for additional clinicians. The page states there is no free trial, so the first test is a demo account or a paid month. Implementation should plan for the practitioner charges on Practice and Thrive from the start, because the page describes them as per profile.

TherapyAppointment

TherapyAppointment suits a solo clinician who books few sessions at first and wants a low entry price that rises with volume. The Solo Practice plan on TherapyAppointment is free for 30 days and then costs $10 a month until more than 10 sessions are booked, according to TherapyAppointment (2026). Telehealth is an extra charge on every listed plan, and electronic claims are billed per claim, which the page says are paid to Office Ally. The limitation is that a practice that needs video and claims both will pay two add-on lines on top of the base plan. Implementation should start with the 30-day all-access trial, using it to confirm intake, scheduling and the claim flow before you commit.

Owl Practice

Owl Practice suits a solo or small private-pay practice that wants video, online booking and intake in one tool. The Owl Practice pricing page did not load in this review, so no Owl prices are printed here. The independent review by ChoosingTherapy, dated February 6, 2026 and updated August 20, 2026, says Owl Starter capped at 20 sessions a month according to ChoosingTherapy (2026). The same review says the billing tools "prioritize ease of use over depth" and lack advanced claim scrubbing and denial management, and it notes that the video room has no built-in note overlay or whiteboard. Implementation should begin with a written quote from Owl before any comparison with the other platforms.

Who this is for and when to skip it

Choose a suite if you want scheduling, notes and video in one login and can confirm the telehealth terms of the tier you need. Choose per-therapist pricing if telehealth must be included for every therapist and your headcount is steady. Choose a low-entry plan such as TherapyAppointment's if you can accept telehealth as an add-on and want to grow in steps.

Red flags: the vendor will not put its BAA terms in writing; the tier you need shows telehealth only as an unconfirmed add-on; or your claim volume needs advanced denial management that the vendor's billing tools do not describe.

Where the session paperwork goes

A proposed, configurable workflow could start when a clinician marks a telehealth session complete in the practice platform. US Tech Automations could configure that trigger to create a draft note task with the client ID, appointment ID and session date already filled in, and the output would be a task in the clinician's queue. Prerequisites come first: the platform must export appointment status or expose it through an API, and that access should be confirmed before any design, because the pages reviewed here do not describe it for every vendor. The human review point is the clinician, who reads and signs the note. The workflow should never file a note on its own.

On the billing side, a second proposed workflow could run when a session is marked claim-eligible. It would compile the claim fields and flag gaps, such as a missing payer ID or an unsigned note, into an exceptions list for billing staff. A US Tech Automations design would configure the flags, but the prerequisites are claim export access, a clearinghouse account and payer rules owned by a named billing lead. Billing staff approve every claim before submission, and the workflow does not decide coding or payer rules.

Zapier, Make and n8n can run steps like these too. When configured, they can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence. The buyer still designs and owns observability, idempotency (so a retried event does not create a duplicate note task), escalation, access controls and ongoing maintenance. What a US Tech Automations design could configure differently is the exception list and the approval step, and both still depend on your own access reviews and upkeep.

Decision checklist

  • Confirm telehealth is included in the exact plan you would buy, in writing.
  • Ask for the business associate agreement and read its terms before you enter client data.
  • Model the monthly cost at your current clinician count and at one more clinician.
  • Add per-claim fees and clearinghouse charges if you bill insurance.
  • Check whether the free trial covers the tier you need, since some trials run on a top tier only.
  • Confirm export or API access before you plan any automation.
  • Ask how you would export client records if you leave the platform.

Common mistakes

  1. Comparing headline prices without checking whether telehealth is included or sold as an add-on.

  2. Assuming a plan with a billing feature covers insurance claims; on the pages reviewed, insurance is often a separate add-on or a higher-tier feature.

  3. Ignoring per-clinician growth, so a plan that fits one therapist costs far more at four.

  4. Treating a "HIPAA compliant" label as the same thing as a signed BAA.

  5. Designing automation before confirming that the platform allows export or API access.

Frequently asked questions

Which platform has the lowest starting price?

Among the five, TherapyAppointment's Solo Practice plan has the lowest listed monthly price after its trial, though telehealth costs extra. Compare that figure against the table above, because the lowest entry price often excludes the video line you need.

Do I need a business associate agreement with my video vendor?

In most cases yes, when the vendor transmits or stores protected health information. CAMFT's summary is the source for this point in this guide, and you should confirm your own status with a compliance advisor.

Does telehealth come with every plan?

No. On the pages reviewed, telehealth is an add-on on some tiers, included only from a higher tier, or not stated at all, so check the exact plan before you buy.

Is a free trial available on every plan?

No. Jane's pricing page states it has no free trial, and TheraNest's 21-day trial applies to the Premier plan.

When is US Tech Automations the wrong choice?

US Tech Automations is the wrong choice when you only need a video room, because a vendor's built-in telehealth is simpler and cheaper to run. It is also the wrong choice when claim volume calls for dedicated billing software with advanced denial management, which the Owl review says is missing from that vendor's billing tools. A simpler existing tool also wins when your practice system offers no export or API access, because the workflows described above depend on that access.

Conclusion

Start with the category: choose a suite if you want one system, per-therapist pricing if video must be included for every therapist, and a low entry price only if you accept telehealth as an add-on. Confirm telehealth, the business associate agreement and claim fees in writing before you commit. If you want to check what a configured review queue would involve for your own stack, see how US Tech Automations configures this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.