Best Treatment Presentation Tools: 6 Picks for 2027
Decide the presentation layer before you pick a vendor
A treatment presentation tool shows a patient a proposed plan, what it costs, and how they can pay, so they can say yes or ask a better question. For a small practice, the first decision is which layer owns that moment: the practice software you already run, a standalone presentation app, or a workflow layer that moves plan status between systems. Choose the layer first, and the vendor list becomes a short comparison instead of an open search.
TL;DR: If your practice software already sends plans to a portal or kiosk for signature, start there. If you need a better visual or a chairside price conversation, a standalone app can fill that gap. If most of the lost value happens after the plan leaves the chair, you need follow-up routing, and no presentation app covers that alone.
Key Takeaways
Only CareStack and DentiCalc show prices we could cite at a specific page. AcceptCare is quote-based, and three other vendors show no citable price.
Presentation is one step. Most of the lost value sits in the follow-up after a plan is presented, and few of these vendors describe it.
Payment on the plan changes the conversation. AcceptCare and CareStack both put financing or payment arrangements on the plan itself.
Independent evidence is thin. The best research-network figure we found covers orthodontic cases, not general practice.
Workflow automation is a separate purchase. Buy it only when you can name the system of record, the person who approves each message, and the export you need.
Get the full annual cost, add-ons, implementation fees and trial terms in writing before you compare vendors.
How we evaluated these tools
We started from each vendor's own site, opened its pricing page where one existed, and checked independent sources: a practice-based research network, a dental trade publication, and the official documentation for the DIY workflow tools we compare. Facts come from those pages. Our weights and fit reads are analysis, and we label them that way. We dropped Zuub because its site now sells payer-data APIs to dental technology companies, not a presentation tool for a practice.
The weights below set how we read each criterion. The counts show how many of the six vendors' pages show that capability.
| Criterion | Weight | Vendors showing it (of 6) | What it checks |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plan presentation on screen or device | 30% | 5 of 6 | Plan, costs and options visible to the patient |
| Payment or financing on the plan | 25% | 2 of 6 | Patient can see and act on payment options |
| Follow-up after presentation | 20% | 1 of 6 | Reminders, tasks or messages after the visit |
| Fit with practice software | 15% | 2 of 6 | The vendor names the systems it works with |
| Published price clarity | 10% | 2 of 6 | A price is public and citable |
| Total | 100% | — | Weights sum to 100 |
DentiCalc counts as partial on plan presentation. Weights are our judgment for a small practice, not a vendor score. A tool that scores low on follow-up can still be the right buy if your practice software already handles follow-up.
Who this is for
This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a small dental business who already writes treatment plans and wants a tool to present them. It is not for a group replacing its whole practice system without a project lead. Use these options when plans are written but patients leave without deciding, and when someone needs to see which proposals are still open.
Red flags: you have no practice software that records plan status; nobody on staff will own approval of patient messages; or the vendor will not put its price and add-on terms in writing.
Feature matrix: what each page shows the patient
| Tool | Plan presentation | Payment on the plan | Follow-up described | Practice-system link | Trial on vendor page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AcceptCare (OrthoFi) | Stated: one-screen payment slider | Stated | Stated: automated SMS and email | Not named | Not stated |
| CareStack | Stated: portal, kiosk, printed signature | Stated: financial arrangements sent to patient | Not described | Built into CareStack's software | Not stated |
| Makemeclear | Stated: editable explanations, branded report | Not described | Not described | Not described | Free trial offered |
| DentiCalc | Partial: calculator and Smart consult tool | Estimates only | Not described | Not described | Not stated |
| BrightPlans | Stated: Classic PDF and Ultimate web plan | Not described | Not described | Works alongside existing software | Not stated |
| Consult-PRO | Stated: case presentation materials | Not described | Not described | Not described | Trial stated on home page |
This matrix records what each vendor page says, not how well a feature works. "Not described" means the page we opened did not describe it, not that the product lacks it. Ask for a demonstration of each row you need before you decide.
Pricing and annual cost
Pricing checked October 19, 2026. Prices here come only from vendor pages we opened in this session, each cited where it appears. Where a vendor shows no citable price, the table says so instead of estimating one.
| Tool | Plan or purchase | Published price | Annual cost basis | Price checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CareStack | Essentials plan | $829 per month, according to CareStack | 12 months at list | October 19, 2026 |
| CareStack | Intelligence plan | $1,299 per month, according to CareStack | 12 months at list | October 19, 2026 |
| AcceptCare (OrthoFi) | Not published | Quote-based | Quote-based | October 19, 2026 |
| DentiCalc | Free app with in-app items | In-app items from $1.99 to $89.99, according to Apple App Store | Not calculated | October 19, 2026 |
| Makemeclear | Monthly and yearly plans | Not printed (no citable page) | Not calculated | October 19, 2026 |
| BrightPlans | Classic and Ultimate | Not printed (no citable page) | Not calculated | October 19, 2026 |
| Consult-PRO | Not published | Not published | Not calculated | October 19, 2026 |
CareStack sells practice software, so its starting prices buy a full system, not a presentation add-on. The DentiCalc range is for in-app items inside a free app, not a subscription. Makemeclear, BrightPlans and Consult-PRO show no price we could cite at a specific page, so this article prints none for them.
Vendor profiles
AcceptCare from OrthoFi
What the page says: AcceptCare's product page describes a financing slider that puts every payment option on one screen, e-signed consent, Sign@Home for remote acceptance, and a pending-patient dashboard for manual follow-up. The patient-side financing term it lists is shown below.
Patient-side financing term: 0% APR for 6 to 24 months according to OrthoFi (checked 2026). That term is what the patient sees, not an AcceptCare fee, so ask the vendor to separate the two in writing.
Best fit: practices that want the money conversation on the same screen as the plan, with messages already scheduled after the visit. Our read: it is the most payment-centered option here, so it fits a money objection better than a clinical-explanation problem.
Limitations: the page does not name the practice management systems it connects to. It also makes conversion and collection claims we could not verify, so we have left them out.
Implementation: the entry point is a consultation request, and the page lists no published price list. Ask for the fee structure, lender terms and integration list in writing. For the financing side of this choice, see our financing automation comparison.
Follow-up: the page says automated SMS and email workflows send messages one day after a presentation and then every 7 days for up to 90 days, according to OrthoFi (checked 2026).
CareStack
What the page says: treatment planning in CareStack's software lets staff build plans in phases, assign a treatment coordinator, see insurance and patient estimates, and send plans to the patient portal for at-home review and e-signature. A kiosk can push a plan for same-day signing, and staff can print a plan for a paper signature and scan it back in. Plans can include the odontogram, educational material and saved templates.
Best fit: practices already on CareStack, or practices ready to change software and want presentation built into the system that holds the chart. Our read: this is the only option here where the plan lives inside the system that already holds the chart.
Limitations: this is a practice-software decision, not a presentation purchase. The pages we opened show no case-acceptance dashboard and no follow-up messaging, so ask the vendor to show both before you rely on them.
Implementation: the plans sit inside the practice system, so adoption means a migration decision. The pages do not describe migration steps, and the pricing page lists add-ons such as VoiceStack, CareRevenue and Ace DSN without prices. Ask for both in writing.
Makemeclear
What the page says: the software writes editable explanations of diagnoses and treatments, lets you add photos, x-rays and documents, and produces a report with your clinic's logo and details to send to patients. The home page shows monthly and yearly plans and offers a free trial.
Best fit: solo or small practices that want a branded, editable treatment report with images, and a trial before they commit. Our read: it fits a "send the plan home" step, not a plan that tracks status inside a practice system.
Limitations: the home page describes no link to a practice system. It also makes a higher-acceptance claim we could not verify, so we have not repeated it.
Implementation: the page does not describe onboarding. Ask for the price list in writing, since we could not open a pricing page we could cite.
Evidence: none we could cite at a specific page in this session.
DentiCalc
What the page says: a mobile app for iOS and Android with a calculator that gives patients estimated treatment costs, a customizable price list, a library of patient education photos and videos, and a Smart consultation tool that uses 3D animations. The App Store lists the app as free, with in-app purchases.
Best fit: a solo or small practice that wants a low-cost chairside price conversation and patient education visuals. Our read: it answers "what will this cost me," not "did they accept."
Limitations: the calculator gives estimates, not a signed plan, and the pages we opened describe no practice-system link. The App Store lists the developer as BrightPlans Szoftverek Korlatolt Felelossegu Tarsasag, and another listing names a different vendor, so confirm which company bills you before you buy.
Implementation: download the app, build the price list, and decide which in-app items you actually need.
BrightPlans
What the page says: Classic is a print-ready PDF for records and patients who prefer paper. Ultimate is an interactive web plan for phones, tablets and desktops, with 3D animations, videos, before-and-after galleries and a clinic showcase inside the plan. Ultimate includes AI-written summaries, and the page says staff can adjust any text, price or animation before sending. It also says the plan works alongside existing practice software.
Best fit: practices that want the richest visual plan and will keep a person checking each price before it goes out. Our read: the human check matters more here than with the other tools, because the drafts are generated.
Limitations: the page describes features well but not where the tiers split. Third-party listings disagree on price, so get the plan sheet from the vendor.
Implementation: the page mentions an onboarding session with annual billing. Ask what onboarding covers and whether it includes your practice software.
Evidence: the pricing page we tried returned an access error, and the home page gives no price we could cite, so this article prints no BrightPlans figure.
Consult-PRO
What the page says: case presentation materials, digital forms and brochures, automatic informed consent, 3D animated videos, and reception-area tools. It names private practice, university and dental service organization audiences. The pricing page we tried returned a content-unavailable message, and the home page shows no price.
Best fit: practices that need consent and patient education content more than plan-building or payment presentation. Our read: based on the pages we opened, it covers the education step well and the money step not at all.
Limitations: the home page footer looks dated, so confirm the product is current before you buy. The pages we opened describe no payment presentation and no practice-system link.
Implementation: not described on the pages we opened. Ask for setup and training scope in writing.
Evidence: none we could cite at a specific page.
The follow-up gap and the evidence we could check
Most of the claims on these vendor pages are the vendors' own. The strongest independent figure we found comes from a practice-based research network.
Most recommended plan accepted: 78% of 345 adults according to National Dental PBRN (2024).
The network's post, dated September 5, 2024, reports on 345 adult patients treated by 91 orthodontic providers across the United States, according to National Dental PBRN (2024). Patients who declined surgical options cited invasiveness, risk and cost. That is an orthodontic study, so use it as a reference point, not a benchmark for your practice.
A June 2025 trade article makes the practical version of the same point: show costs alongside financing options and give patients a take-home proposal, according to Dental Economics (June 18, 2025). Its author founds Patientli, which sells the template the article promotes, so weigh the advice the way you would weigh any vendor's. If follow-up is your gap, our dental treatment plan follow-up automation guide covers the messaging side in more depth.
Table 5 shows the arithmetic behind any lift in acceptance. It uses no vendor data.
| Presented plans per month | Lift in acceptance (points) | Extra accepted plans per month |
|---|---|---|
| 50 | 2 | 1 |
| 50 | 5 | 2.5 |
| 50 | 10 | 5 |
| 100 | 2 | 2 |
| 100 | 5 | 5 |
| 100 | 10 | 10 |
Illustrative arithmetic: extra plans equal presented plans times the lift. Replace the assumptions with your own counts.
Where a workflow layer fits
A presentation app ends at the screen. A workflow layer handles what happens after the plan is presented, and it is a separate purchase with its own prerequisites.
US Tech Automations says it builds and runs custom workflows, and its site lists Gmail, Google Sheets, HubSpot, QuickBooks and Stripe among the tools it connects to, with more not listed. One proposed configuration for a presentation backlog works like this: when a plan's status changes to presented in your practice software (the trigger), the workflow writes the plan ID, presented date, amount and owner to a Google Sheet (the action and output) and drafts a follow-up email for the front-desk lead. The lead approves, edits or rejects each draft before anything sends, which is the human review point. The prerequisites are a nightly export or API feed of plan status from your practice software, which you must confirm exists, and a written definition of which statuses count as presented.
A second proposed configuration covers money. Stripe's subscription webhook guide describes invoice.paid as the event sent when an invoice is successfully paid. A configured workflow could use that trigger to mark the plan accepted in the sheet, remove it from the follow-up queue, and add it to a daily list for the office manager. The same guide says to check subscription status before extending access, so the workflow should confirm the invoice and status before it closes a plan. The prerequisites are Stripe access, a mapping from each invoice to a plan ID, and a rule that partial payments stay open for a person to review.
The DIY route is Zapier, n8n or in-house code, and it can do more of this than buyers expect. Zapier's help article on error handling says error handlers attach to most steps except the trigger and Paths steps, that handler runs appear in Zap history, and that handlers require a Professional, Team or Enterprise plan. n8n's executions documentation lets you filter runs by Failed, Running, Success or Waiting, and retry with either the saved or the original workflow. Configured well, both give run history, retries, error branches and audit evidence. What you still own is the design: preventing duplicate messages, setting access controls, defining the escalation path to a person, and maintaining the mappings when your practice software changes its export. A managed build like the one US Tech Automations describes takes on some of that build work, but the approvers and review points stay with your office either way.
| Control | Zapier or n8n, once configured | What your office still owns |
|---|---|---|
| Run history | Zap history; n8n executions list with status filters | Reviewing failed runs on a set schedule |
| Retries | n8n retry with saved or original workflow | Deciding which failures are safe to rerun |
| Error branches | Zapier error handlers on most steps, on paid plans | Writing the escalation path to a named person |
| Audit evidence | Run records kept in each platform | Retention rules and who may view patient data |
| Idempotency | Not described on the pages we opened | Preventing duplicate follow-up messages |
| Access controls | Not detailed on the pages we opened | Who may approve outbound messages |
| Maintenance | Platform updates | Fixing field mappings when your export changes |
Worked example: what one more accepted plan is worth
Illustrative arithmetic, not a customer result: assume a practice presents 50 treatment plans a month, closes 40% of them, and averages $2,400 of production per accepted plan. That is 20 accepted plans and $48,000 of accepted production. A five-point lift to 45% closes 2.5 more plans, or $6,000 a month, and the same lift on 100 presented plans doubles that effect, as Table 5 shows. Replace each assumption with your own counts before you use the result. A configured workflow runs the same logic at smaller scale: each invoice.paid event that moves a plan out of the follow-up queue saves a person a manual check, and the value comes from the plans recovered, not from the event itself.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations
Skip US Tech Automations in three cases. If you only need a printed or PDF plan, a document-style plan such as the Classic format does that without a build. If you want a chairside price calculator and education visuals, DentiCalc or Consult-PRO covers that more directly. If your practice software already sends plans to a portal and signature, as CareStack's features describe, and your only gap is a reminder you can configure there, a custom workflow adds cost and an approval burden without a new result.
Common mistakes
Buying a presentation app before you know which system holds plan status.
Treating a vendor's acceptance claim as a benchmark for your own office.
Comparing a full practice-software price with a presentation app's cost as if they buy the same thing.
Letting an automation send money-related messages without a person approving them.
Skipping the written price list, add-on terms and trial length.
Decision checklist
- Name the system that stores plan status, and confirm it can export that status.
- Choose the layer first: practice software, presentation app, or workflow layer.
- Get the vendor's full-year price, add-ons and implementation fee in writing.
- Name the person who approves every outbound patient message.
- Define "presented" and "accepted" before you build anything.
- If an in-house membership plan is part of the offer, compare options in our membership platform comparison.
Frequently asked questions
Is treatment presentation software worth it for a small practice?
It is worth pricing out when plans are written but patients leave without deciding, and nobody can see which proposals are still open. If your plans are rarely written in the first place, fix the clinical presentation process before you buy anything.
Do I need a separate tool if my practice software already has a portal?
Usually not for the presentation itself. A separate tool earns its place only when you need a visual, chairside or education layer that your system lacks.
Which of these tools publish prices?
Only CareStack and DentiCalc's in-app items show prices we could cite at a specific page. AcceptCare is quote-based, and the rest show no citable price.
Can a workflow tool replace a presentation app?
No. A workflow tool routes and tracks what happens after a plan is presented, but it does not make the plan visual or explain it to the patient.
What should I ask a vendor before signing?
Ask for the full-year price in writing, the add-on and implementation fees, the practice systems it connects to, and who approves outbound patient messages.
Choose the layer, then the vendor
Start with the layer that holds plan status. If that is your practice software, compare its built-in presentation first, and add a standalone app only for a gap you can name. If you need a workflow to route accepted and open plans, define the statuses, the approver and the export before you ask for a build. If you want to see how a configured workflow would handle this, see how US Tech Automations configures this.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.