Bullhorn vs JobDiva for Staffing: Which Fits You in 2027
The short answer for a small staffing desk
A staffing applicant tracking system is the software where a recruiting firm records candidates, job orders, client contacts, submissions and placements. The Bullhorn-versus-JobDiva choice comes down to how far that system has to reach past the desk. Pick Bullhorn if you want published entry prices, a tier path that adds AI and automation one step at a time, and a product family that extends into middle office. Pick JobDiva if your daily work runs through timesheets, vendor-management feeds and billing, and you are willing to negotiate a quote before you can compare cost.
One change belongs in this first section. Bullhorn acquired TargetRecruit, a Houston-based provider of front- and middle-office solutions built on Salesforce, and announced the deal on August 1, 2025. Bullhorn says it will keep supporting existing TargetRecruit offerings. Its product documentation uses names such as Recruitment Cloud and Front Office Growth, so confirm the exact product name in any quote. Bullhorn Salesforce user base: nearly 150,000 users according to Bullhorn (2025).
TL;DR: Bullhorn publishes two per-user plan prices and quotes its top tiers, while JobDiva publishes no price on the pages we could open, so the only fair cost comparison is two written quotes for the same seats and modules.
Key Takeaways
Bullhorn lists two per-user plan prices and quotes Pro and Max, so its entry cost can be checked before any sales call.
JobDiva publishes no price on the pages we opened, so its cost becomes known only after a quote built on your seat count and modules.
JobDiva's public material puts the most weight on back office, timesheets and VMS feeds. Bullhorn's puts it on a larger product family and a tier path into AI.
Bullhorn's AI features are sorted by tier. JobDiva's AI page names capabilities but gives no metrics and no human review step.
Neither vendor's pages we checked offer a free trial, so the demo and the written scope are your only test before a contract.
How we evaluated these two platforms
This guide weights seven criteria by what a small desk actually decides on: whether it can compare cost before a demo, how well the daily ATS and CRM fit, how much automation and AI runs with human sign-off, what implementation covers, how easily data leaves, how far back-office and VMS work reaches, and how clear the vendor's roadmap is.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it matters for a small desk |
|---|---|---|
| Cost you can compare before a demo | 20% | Bullhorn lists two plan prices; JobDiva lists none |
| Daily ATS and CRM fit | 20% | Candidate, job and client records drive every placement |
| Automation and AI with human sign-off | 15% | Sets how much work runs without a recruiter's approval |
| Implementation and migration scope | 15% | Setup terms differ across sources, so scope must be written down |
| Integrations, API and data export | 15% | Decides whether you can extend the system or leave it |
| Back-office, timesheet and VMS reach | 10% | Matters only if billing and vendor work run in the same tool |
| Vendor scale and roadmap clarity | 5% | Scale figures are vendor claims, so they carry the least weight |
Weights are this guide's judgment, not vendor data. The evidence is each vendor's own pricing, product and press pages, plus two third-party cost guides, SoftwareFinder and CostBench. We did not rank on aggregated star ratings. Several review-site and trade-press pages refused automated access during this research, and the scores that did load disagree with one another.
Feature matrix: what each vendor publicly claims
The matrix separates what each vendor publishes from what it only claims. "Not stated" means the pages we opened say nothing about that capability, which is not the same as saying the product lacks it.
| Capability | Bullhorn | JobDiva |
|---|---|---|
| Applicant tracking | Included in Starter: applicant tracking, resume parsing, job posting | ATS page describes real-time resume enrichment and fast search |
| Built-in CRM | Client management in Starter; recruitment CRM in Pro | Built-in CRM for client service, linked to the ATS |
| AI features | AI search and match in Pro; agentic screening and outreach in Max | Names semantic resume summaries, chatbots, sentiment analysis; no metrics |
| Human review of AI | Not stated on the pricing page | Not described on the AI page |
| Automation | Process automation in Pro; interview scheduling in Max | Timesheet collection and electronic approval workflows |
| Timesheets and contractor app | Not stated on the pages we opened | Timesheet collection on the ATS page; MyTime contractor app on the homepage |
| Onboarding and compliance | Onboarding sold as an optional add-on | I-9 document handling, E-Verify and background-check integrations |
| Back office and payroll | Middle Office sold as an optional add-on; Recruitment Cloud 360 described as covering intake through payroll | DivaFinancials back-office suite; billing and payroll processes described |
| VMS | Not stated on the pages we opened | VMS synchronization with major platforms; separate DivaVMS page |
| Reporting | Real-time analytics in Pro; Reporting & Analytics listed as a product | Reports and BI tools; a large reports library is claimed |
| Marketplace and API | Marketplace access from Core; API not stated on the pages we opened | Open API suite described on the homepage |
| Public price | Starter and Core listed; Pro and Max quote-based | None published |
| Free trial | None, per the pricing page | None stated; demo requests only |
Bullhorn's column comes from its pricing page. JobDiva's comes from its ATS, AI and homepage pages. The pages we opened give no AI accuracy metrics for either vendor, so treat every AI row as a claim to test in a demo. A blank cell means "not published." That makes it a question for the written quote, not a reason to rule the product out.
What each platform costs to start
Bullhorn's Starter plan costs $99 per user per month, and Bullhorn's Core plan costs $165 per user per month, with free implementation listed for both and sales tax excluded, according to Bullhorn (checked October 29, 2026). Pro and Max are quote-based on the same page. Bullhorn also states that it does not currently offer a free trial and offers a demo instead.
JobDiva publishes no price on the pages we could open, and its homepage links to demo requests rather than a pricing page. A third-party cost guide describes JobDiva's model as a recurring subscription whose cost varies with company size and workforce needs, and it lists implementation as its own cost item, according to SoftwareFinder (updated April 15, 2026).
| Vendor | Plan | Public price | Trial | What the page says is included |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bullhorn | Starter | $99 per user per month | None | Applicant tracking, resume parsing, client management, job posting, free implementation |
| Bullhorn | Core | $165 per user per month | None | Starter plus marketplace access, custom fields and workflows, LinkedIn integrations |
| Bullhorn | Pro | Quote-based | None | AI search and match, recruitment CRM, process automation, dedicated account manager |
| Bullhorn | Max | Quote-based | None | Agentic workflows and screening; implementation scoped inside the quote |
| JobDiva | Plans not published | Quote-based | No trial stated; demos offered | Subscription priced by company size, per the third-party guide above |
Pricing checked October 29, 2026. Quote-based means the vendor's public page gave no figure for that plan. It is not an estimate.
The table below multiplies Bullhorn's two list prices by illustrative seat counts. It is arithmetic, not a quote, and it excludes negotiated discounts and any implementation scope.
| Seats | Starter per month | Core per month | Starter per year | Core per year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 | $495 | $825 | $5,940 | $9,900 |
| 10 | $990 | $1,650 | $11,880 | $19,800 |
| 25 | $2,475 | $4,125 | $29,700 | $49,500 |
Seat counts are illustrative, not a size threshold. Yearly figures assume 12 months at list price with no discount.
Take a 10-recruiter desk that wants the Core plan's marketplace access and custom workflows. At the $165 Core list price, that is 10 × $165 = $1,650 per month, or $19,800 across 12 months, compared with 10 × $99 = $990 per month and $11,880 a year on Starter, so the step up costs $660 a month or $7,920 a year. If the same desk needs a custom field to hold a client's vendor-management requisition number, Bullhorn's REST documentation says custom objects extend entities such as JobOrder and Placement and can be searched in a query with dotted identifiers like customObject9s.text1, but Bullhorn Support has to set them up before the API can use them. The JobDiva side of that math stays blank until JobDiva quotes the same 10 seats and modules, so the fair comparison is Bullhorn's list arithmetic against a written JobDiva quote.
Bullhorn: best fit, limits and rollout
Best fit. Bullhorn suits an operations lead who wants a published first step and a clear path to Pro or Max. Core adds access to Bullhorn's app marketplace, custom fields and workflows, LinkedIn integrations and an email sidebar, which matter when sourcing runs through LinkedIn and Outlook every day.
Limits. Bullhorn's product names are spread widely: Starter, Core, Pro, Max, Front Office Growth, Front Office Enterprise and several Recruitment Cloud tiers. Most of the upper names have no public price, so a budget owner can approve Starter or Core on paper and then stall when the AI features described in sales conversations point to Pro or Max. Get the Pro and Max scope in writing before you schedule a demo.
Implementation. Bullhorn's pricing page lists free implementation for Starter, Core and Pro, and says Max's implementation is scoped inside its quote. CostBench, a cost-research site, lists implementation as a hidden cost and flags that as contradicting the free-implementation claim, according to CostBench (last verified October 24, 2026). Ask for the implementation scope, the data-migration plan and the renewal terms in writing before you sign.
JobDiva: best fit, limits and rollout
Best fit. JobDiva's public material puts the most weight on work around the desk. Its ATS page describes a built-in CRM for client service, onboarding tools for I-9 documents, E-Verify and background-check integrations, timesheet collection with electronic approval, and VMS synchronization with major vendor-management systems. The same page makes a JobDiva ATS reporting claim: 1000+ reports and cites "20+ years" of staffing focus, according to JobDiva (page checked October 29, 2026).
Limits. JobDiva's AI page names semantic resume summaries, email templates, chatbots, sentiment analysis and data extraction. It gives no metrics and describes no specific human review or approval step, according to JobDiva (page checked October 29, 2026). Its homepage describes a MyTime app for contractor timesheets and an open API suite, but no public tier table tells a buyer which modules sit at which price. Quote-based pricing also means you cannot test one module's cost before the demo.
Implementation. JobDiva's public pages do not publish implementation terms, timelines or migration fees. Its ATS page frames onboarding as a mobile-friendly, paperless and traceable process, which tells you what the product does, not what your go-live costs. Ask for named implementation steps, training scope and the cost of moving your current records before you compare quotes.
Automation and human review: where the pain shows up
Three points tend to create the most manual work at a small desk: candidate records entered twice, timesheets chased by email, and approvals that sit in one person's inbox. The two workflows below are proposed designs, not live deployments. Each depends on API or export access that you should confirm in writing first.
On a Bullhorn desk, a configurable US Tech Automations workflow could start when a web response creates a JobSubmission record with the status New Lead, which is how Bullhorn's REST documentation describes the web-response path. The workflow would read the candidate and job fields through the REST API, compare them with the job's must-have criteria, and write a short summary to a note on the candidate record. The output is a review queue in which a recruiter approves, rejects or sends each candidate to the hiring manager, and no status changes to Submitted happen until a person clicks. Prerequisites are API credentials and a sandbox from Bullhorn Support, a field map agreed with whoever owns the ATS, and written confirmation that your edition includes API access, since the public tiers we opened do not say.
On a JobDiva desk, a proposed US Tech Automations flow could watch for a contractor timesheet that reaches JobDiva's electronic approval step. The flow would match approved hours to the placement record and export a reconciliation list to the billing team's ledger through JobDiva's integrations, flagging any hours that do not match a placement. The output is an exception list rather than an invoice, and a billing lead signs off each exception before anything is posted. Prerequisites are written confirmation of export or API rights, the name of the payroll or ledger system, and a test run on sample timesheets before any live batch.
Stitching it together yourself versus a managed layer
The real alternative for many desks is building this in Zapier, Make or n8n, or writing in-house code. Those tools can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when they are configured that way. The buyer still has to design and own the parts that decide whether a workflow is safe: observability (knowing what ran), idempotency (so a retry does not create a second submission), escalation to a person, access controls on API keys, and maintenance when either vendor changes a field name. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure the same review queue and exception list described above, with the same prerequisites of API access, a sandbox, a field map and a named owner. The difference is who maintains the design, and that belongs in the contract.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations. Three cases point to a simpler tool. If the need is a single notification, such as an email when a candidate's status changes, the ATS's own triggers or one Zapier step are cheaper to run and easier to explain. If nobody on your team can own field maps and API credentials, a managed design adds a dependency you cannot maintain, so keep the work native. If your volume is small enough that a recruiter reviews every record by hand, an added review queue adds steps without removing any.
Who should choose which
Who this is for
Bullhorn fits operations leads who want a published entry price and a tier path into AI, automation and the wider product family.
Red flags: you need a firm Pro or Max price before budget approval, you need AI features confirmed in writing before you commit, or no one on your side can own field configuration.
JobDiva fits desks whose daily work runs through timesheets, vendor-management feeds and billing, and whose buyer can wait for a quote.
Red flags: you must compare cost before any sales call, you need public API documentation to plan your own integration, or you need documented human-review controls for AI before you buy.
Decision checklist
- Both vendors have quoted the same seat count, modules and go-live date.
- You know whether timesheets, VMS and billing must live in the same system.
- Implementation scope, data-migration steps and training are written into the quote.
- API access and export rights are confirmed in writing for your tier.
- A named person owns AI review and can stop an automated step.
Common mistakes to avoid
Comparing Bullhorn's list price with a JobDiva quote built on different seats or modules.
Reading "free implementation" as zero implementation cost, when a third-party guide lists implementation as a hidden cost.
Ranking on star ratings alone, since the scores that loaded in this research disagree with one another.
Buying an AI tier before the candidate data is clean and deduplicated.
Signing without export rights, which makes a later move expensive.
Frequently asked questions
Is Bullhorn cheaper than JobDiva?
Not on published numbers: Bullhorn's Starter and Core list prices are public and JobDiva's are not, so you can compare totals only after JobDiva quotes the same seats and modules. Use the TCO table above as the Bullhorn side of that comparison.
Does either vendor offer a free trial?
Bullhorn says it does not currently offer a free trial and points buyers to a demo instead, and the JobDiva pages we opened list demo requests with no trial terms. Ask each vendor to confirm its trial or sandbox policy in writing before you schedule a demo.
Which platform is stronger for VMS-heavy work?
On the pages we opened, JobDiva is the one to test first, because its ATS page describes VMS synchronization and it has a separate DivaVMS page. Ask Bullhorn to show its VMS capability in writing before you rule it out.
Does Bullhorn include AI in its entry plans?
No. On the pricing page, AI search and match is listed under Pro and Max, not under Starter or Core.
Do I need a workflow layer on top of either system?
Not always. A single notification can stay native, and a layer earns its place when exceptions must be routed and a person has to approve each step, as in the timesheet and candidate-review examples above.
Where does data entry fit into this decision?
If your bottleneck is typing candidate records rather than choosing a system, treat that as a separate decision from this comparison.
How do I get comparable quotes?
Send both vendors the same seat count, modules, data-migration scope, go-live date and export requirements, then ask for renewal and price-increase terms in writing.
The bottom line
Pick Bullhorn when a published entry price and a staged path into AI matter most, and pick JobDiva when timesheets, vendor feeds and billing decide the day. In both cases, get the scope, export rights and a same-seat quote in writing before you sign, and treat every AI claim as something to see working on your own data in a demo. If you want to see how this review layer is configured, see how US Tech Automations configures this.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.