Skip to content
AI & Automation

Dental Subscription Software: 4 Steps to Choose in 2027

Oct 19, 2026

Pick the category before the brand

Dental subscription software is the system a practice uses to sell and run its own prepaid membership plans: it enrolls patients, bills them on a recurring schedule and posts each payment to the ledger. The first decision is the category, not the vendor. A dedicated membership platform suits a practice that wants one tool across several practice management systems (PMS) or several locations. A membership module inside the PMS suits a practice already on that system that accepts the vendor's roadmap. For a broader list of platforms, see our in-house membership platform guide.

TL;DR: Shortlist two vendors that publish prices, confirm in writing that your PMS is supported, and price the per-member fees at the enrollment you expect in year one.

Key Takeaways

  • Four of the eight products profiled show a dollar figure on a page reviewed for this guide. The other four publish none, so their pricing is quote-based.

  • Per-member fees move the total more than the headline price. BoomCloud's Basic and Pro tiers cost the same at 200 members, because Pro's $200 higher flat fee is offset by $1 less per member.

  • Smile Advantage's Core tier does not include PMS integration. Its pricing page places that feature on Pro and Enterprise.

  • Clerri's integration page claims coverage of over 90% of PMS systems and also shows a "20+ supported" callout. Confirm your exact PMS version in writing.

  • Curve Memberships is the only product here built into a PMS, and no price was visible on its page when checked.

  • Building the workflow in Zapier, Make or n8n is workable, but someone on staff has to own monitoring, retries and access control.

How we evaluated these tools

This guide weights six criteria. The weights are an editorial choice for a small practice, not an industry standard, and they set the order in which the products are discussed below.

CriterionWeightWhy it carries that weight
Published price and total monthly cost25%Only four of eight products show a figure, and per-member fees scale with enrollment
PMS integration depth20%Manual re-entry of enrollments and payments grows when the PMS is not supported
Enrollment and renewal handling20%Renewal and cancellation handling decides how much manual work remains after launch
Plan-setup flexibility15%Insured and uninsured patients, multiple locations and custom pricing change the setup
Payment fees and processing terms10%Card-processing rates and fee netting change what the practice actually keeps
Verifiability of claims10%Vendor marketing statistics receive no weight; a claim needs a page that states it

Sources were vendor pricing and feature pages, American Dental Association pages, an Indiana Dental Association listing, DrBicuspid trade coverage, and Twilio's API reference used for the worked example. Subscribili, Planrise, Dental Menu and MedLoyalty are left out. For Subscribili, the only page found was a partner page with no prices. For the other three, no official page could be verified with product scope and pricing. Retention rates, revenue-growth percentages and case-acceptance claims that appear on vendor sites are excluded from the weighting.

Who this is for

Who this is for: an owner or operations lead at a small dental practice who has decided to offer in-house plans to patients without insurance and now needs software to enroll, bill and renew them.

Red flags: your PMS is not on a vendor's named list, nobody on staff will own failed payments and cancellations, or you need insured-patient benefit administration rather than a membership discount.

The demand case is real, though the measurement is uneven. Over 1 in 5 working-age U.S. adults lack dental benefits according to DrBicuspid (2026), which attributes the figure to the American Dental Association's Health Policy Institute. A figure like that explains why vendors exist; it does not tell a practice which vendor to pick.

What the published prices show

Pricing checked October 18, 2026. Only prices visible on a vendor's own pricing or order page appear as figures below. Where no figure is visible, the table says Quote-based.

BoomCloud's Basic plan costs $197 per location per month plus $4.50 per member per month, and its Pro plan costs $397 plus $3.50, both with a 30-day free trial and no setup fee, according to BoomCloud (undated page). The same page lists a free option at $0 in software for one membership plan and up to 10 members through a BoomCloud Certified Consultant, with an upgrade required at member 11, and standard card processing at 2.9% plus $0.30.

Core tier: $279 per month, billed annually according to Smile Advantage (undated page). Pro is listed at $398 per month billed annually, and the page says "No per-member charges" and "No revenue sharing," while standard card processing still applies.

Platform fee: $4 per patient per month according to American Dental Association (undated fee; page copyright 2026). The fee is $5 for non-ADA members, there is no setup fee, and ADA members receive a 20% discount on the monthly subscription fee. The page does not say whether the fee is netted from member dues or invoiced to the practice, which is a question to settle before signing.

illumitrac's purchase page shows $149.00 on an order form beside a $499 figure with no labels, and it lists zero per-patient fees, no contracts and no monthly fees, according to illumitrac (undated page). The page header also shows $25 minimum yearly dues, which are paid by patients rather than the practice.

Clerri, Plan Forward, DentalHQ and Curve Memberships show no price on the pages reviewed, so they are quote-based in the table below.

VendorPlanPublished pricePer-member feeIllustrative year at 100 members
BoomCloudBasic$197 per location per month$4.50 per member per month$2,364 software; $5,400 member fees
BoomCloudPro$397 per location per month$3.50 per member per month$4,764 software; $4,200 member fees
Smile AdvantageCore$279 per month, billed annuallyNone stated$3,348 software; no PMS integration
Smile AdvantagePro$398 per month, billed annuallyNone stated$4,776 software; PMS integration included
BentoPlatform fee$4 per patient per month ($5 non-ADA)Same fee$4,800 at $4; $6,000 at $5
illumitracOne-time purchase$149.00 on order formZero per-patient fees$149 once
ClerriPer practiceQuote-basedNot publishedQuote-based
Plan ForwardNot statedQuote-basedNot publishedQuote-based
DentalHQNot statedQuote-basedNot publishedQuote-based
Curve MembershipsNot statedQuote-basedNot publishedQuote-based

The software and member-fee columns are arithmetic on the cited figures, not forecasts. BoomCloud states that per-member fees and card processing are built into the membership dues members pay rather than added to the office's software bill, so a practice may see the member-fee column as a program cost instead of a line item. The break-even is clear from the same figures: Basic costs $197 + $4.50 × members and Pro costs $397 + $3.50 × members, so the two are equal at 200 members, and Pro is cheaper above that count.

The table below applies those two formulas to BoomCloud's tiers at three enrollment levels, in US dollars per month.

MembersBasic tier monthly totalPro tier monthly totalPro minus Basic
100647747100
2001,0971,0970
3001,5471,447-100

Here is an illustrative worked example, not a measured result. Take a single-location practice with 120 members. On Smile Advantage's Core tier the software line is $3,348 a year ($279 × 12), but Core has no PMS integration, so a practice that needs one would pay $4,776 a year on Pro ($398 × 12). On Bento's $4 per patient per month fee, the same 120 members produce $480 a month, or $5,760 a year ($4 × 120 × 12), before anyone confirms how the fee is netted. Suppose a proposed renewal-text workflow sends 120 texts a month and 6 fail. The Twilio Message resource returns error_code for messages whose status is failed or undelivered, according to Twilio (current API reference). Routing those 6 records to a staff queue at 10 minutes each adds one hour of review a month.

Feature matrix from public pages

The matrix records only what each vendor's own page, or a cited listing, states. A blank or "Not stated" cell means the page did not say, not that the feature is missing. The price cells draw on the pricing section above.

VendorPrice on pagePer-member fee statedTrial or setup termsPMS integration statedContract terms stated
ClerriNo, quote-basedNot statedNot statedYes, 13 named systems"No long contracts"
BoomCloudYesYes30-day trial, no setup feeNot statedCancel anytime
Smile AdvantageYesNo per-member chargesNot statedPro and Enterprise onlyMonthly or annual billing
BentoPlatform fee onlyYes, per patientNo setup feeNot statedNot stated
Plan ForwardNo, quote-basedNot statedNot statedGeneral claim onlyNot stated
illumitracYes, $149.00 on order formZero per-patient fees14-day trial on order formNot statedNo contracts, no monthly fees
DentalHQNo, quote-basedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Curve MembershipsNo, quote-basedNot statedNot statedNative to Curve PMSNot stated

Clerri lists 13 named PMS systems according to Clerri (undated page). The list includes Dentrix, Eaglesoft, Open Dental, Curve, CareStack and Cloud9, but the same page also says integration "timelines vary by system" and carries a "20+ supported" callout that does not match its "over 90%" claim. Ask for the coverage statement in writing for your specific PMS version. For PMS-specific comparisons, see Open Dental versus Curve Dental.

Vendor profiles: fit, limits and evidence

Clerri (formerly Kleer and Membersy)

Best fit: groups, DSOs and multi-location practices that want one membership platform across many PMS systems. Clerri's site describes a platform for DSOs, groups and independent practices, and its integration grid is the most specific PMS list of any vendor reviewed here.

Limits: pricing is quote-based, and the coverage claim needs a written check against your PMS version. Clerri's own integration page says membership plans "are not insurance," which is the right framing for patients and staff.

Implementation: ask Clerri which of its listed integrations are live for your PMS version, and whether the "data partnership" route it mentions applies to a system not on the grid.

BoomCloud

Best fit: a single-location practice that wants published prices, a trial and control over its own membership price. The pricing page says the practice sets its own membership price.

Limits: the Basic tier is cheaper flat, but Pro becomes cheaper only above 200 members. Because per-member fees sit inside member dues, the visible software bill can understate what the program costs. The multi-location tier is a custom annual agreement with no figure shown, and PMS integration is not stated on the pricing page.

Implementation: start on the free trial, then confirm the PMS question and the dues structure in writing before the trial ends.

Smile Advantage

Best fit: practices that want a flat monthly price and no per-member charges, and that do not need PMS integration on the entry tier.

Limits: Core lacks PMS integration, and the page's FAQ answers on contracts, free trials and PMS integration did not appear in the text reviewed. Enterprise is priced by sales conversation with no figure shown.

Implementation: if you need PMS integration, the cost comparison starts from the Pro tier, not Core. Ask for contract length and a trial in writing.

Bento

Best fit: practices that want plans created at no cost, no setup fee and a per-patient fee instead of a fixed software charge. The American Dental Association's FAQ on Bento says dentists "can create and launch plans for free."

Limits: a per-patient fee rises with enrollment, so the worked example above applies directly. The pages reviewed do not state PMS integration, and the netting question remains open.

Implementation: confirm whether the $4 or $5 fee is deducted from member payments or billed to the office, and whether ADA membership changes the platform fee or only the subscription fee.

Plan Forward

Best fit: dental service organizations and groups that want membership software together with program-support services. The Indiana Dental Association lists the platform for customized membership plans for uninsured patients and says it operates in four states according to Indiana Dental Association (undated listing).

Limits: no price is published on the pages reviewed. Plan Forward says it integrates with "all leading PMS platforms," but I could not find a named PMS list on a page I could cite, so that claim needs a written list before purchase.

Implementation: ask for the price per plan, the services fee and the named PMS list in one written quote.

illumitrac

Best fit: a practice that prefers a one-time purchase over a monthly software charge and wants a white-label membership club. The order page lists white-label setup, onboarding, unlimited support and training among what a license includes.

Limits: the $499 and $149.00 figures both appear on the order form without labels, so the current price must be confirmed. The license agreement is a PDF that was not reviewed here, and PMS integration is not stated on the page.

Implementation: request the license terms and the PMS position before paying, and confirm the trial terms, which the order form gives as 14 days.

DentalHQ

Best fit: practices that want a dedicated membership platform that can connect to a PMS. DrBicuspid reported on November 13, 2025, that Curve Dental partnered with DentalHQ to bring its membership platform into Curve's cloud-based software.

Limits: according to DentalHQ (undated page), the pricing page shows no dollar figures and names no plans. Its testimonials and growth percentages are vendor claims, not independent evidence.

Implementation: ask for a written price, the plan structure for insured and uninsured patients, and the PMS integration method before any commitment.

Curve Memberships

Best fit: Curve Dental practices that want membership enrollment and payments inside the PMS they already use. DrBicuspid reported on September 9, 2026, that the feature sends enrollment invitations automatically and posts membership payments to patient accounts.

Limits: the feature launched in September 2026, so the track record is short. According to Curve Dental (undated page), the membership page shows no price and no contract, trial or availability terms.

Implementation: the rollout is for eligible Curve customers, so confirm eligibility and the price with Curve before comparing it to an outside platform.

Where renewals and failed payments go wrong

Most of the work after launch is renewal and exception handling, so this is where a configurable workflow matters. A proposed US Tech Automations workflow for renewals would start when a member's renewal date falls within a configurable number of days, or when the membership platform's export shows a failed charge. It would pull the member and ledger record through the PMS API or a scheduled export, then draft a reminder text for a staff member to approve. The output would be a row in a review queue with the member identifier, the failure reason and the next retry date. Prerequisites are API or export access from both the membership platform and the PMS, messaging credentials, and a consent rule for texts that matches your state. The staff member approves each reminder and decides any cancellation, so the workflow never removes a member on its own. For reminder design more broadly, see patient engagement platforms for dental practices.

A second proposed workflow would start from the schedule rather than from renewals. The trigger would be an appointment in a configurable upcoming window for a patient the PMS export marks as uninsured. The workflow would check whether that patient already holds a plan, then build an enrollment invitation for staff to approve. The output would be a daily list of invitations sent, invitations still open and enrollments completed. The prerequisite is a schedule export that carries an insurance status field and an enrollment link from the chosen vendor. A person checks the uninsured status in the PMS before any invitation goes out, because the workflow does not decide who qualifies.

Four steps to a shortlist

  1. Confirm the category. Choose a dedicated platform if you run several locations or want one tool across PMS systems. Choose a PMS module such as Curve Memberships only if you already run that PMS.

  2. Check PMS fit in writing. Ask each vendor for the exact supported version of your system. Clerri lists 13 named systems, and Plan Forward's claim needs a named list. For a Curve or Open Dental context, compare the PMS options in the Open Dental versus Curve Dental guide first.

  3. Price the roster you expect in year one. Use the pricing table: for BoomCloud, Pro overtakes Basic at 200 members. For Smile Advantage, Core is cheaper only if you do not need PMS integration. For Bento, the per-patient fee grows with every member.

  4. Assign ownership for failed payments and cancellations before you sign. Name the staff member who reviews the exception queue, and confirm which vendor reports carry the failure reason.

Build in Zapier, Make or n8n instead?

Zapier, Make and n8n can support run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when they are configured that way. The buyer still designs and owns observability, idempotency (so a retried charge is not sent twice), escalation, access controls and ongoing maintenance. That is a fair alternative for a practice with an IT-minded staff member and a stable PMS export. A proposed US Tech Automations design could configure the same review queue and retry rules as a managed flow, with the same prerequisites of PMS export or API access and a named human owner. The trade-off is one more vendor to review, and it is not a substitute for knowing who answers when a payment fails.

Who should choose which vendor

VendorChoose it ifDisqualifier to check
ClerriYou run several locations or a DSO and want wide PMS coverageCoverage claims conflict on the page; pricing is quote-based
BoomCloudA single location wants published prices and a 30-day trialMulti-location tier is custom; PMS integration not stated
Smile AdvantageYou want a flat monthly price with no per-member chargesCore has no PMS integration
BentoYou want plans created at no cost with no setup feePer-patient fee grows with enrollment; netting unclear
Plan ForwardA group wants software plus program-support servicesNo price published; PMS list not on a citable page
illumitracYou prefer a one-time purchase over a monthly charge$149.00 and $499 both shown on the order form
DentalHQYou want a dedicated platform or already use CurveNo dollar figures on the pricing page
Curve MembershipsYou already run Curve DentalLaunched September 2026; no price published

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip a custom workflow if your membership platform already sends renewal reminders and posts payments to your PMS without any custom logic. A single-location practice with a small roster, where one staff member handles exceptions by hand each week, may be better served by the vendor's own reminders and a weekly review. And if the PMS export is unavailable, the proposed design cannot start at all. In those cases the vendor's standard setup is the simpler choice.

Frequently asked questions

Is dental subscription software the same as dental insurance?

No. It runs a prepaid membership plan that the practice sells to patients, and the vendor pages reviewed say membership plans are not insurance. Coverage rules, claims and benefit maximums do not apply to a membership discount.

Do I need PMS integration to start?

No, but without it staff re-enter enrollments and payments by hand. Smile Advantage places PMS integration on its Pro and Enterprise tiers, and BoomCloud's pricing page does not state it, so ask for it in writing before a trial starts.

How much does a membership program cost at 100 members?

It depends on the vendor, and only four of the eight products publish figures you can multiply by your roster. The pricing table gives the year-one arithmetic for those four, and the others must be quoted before a comparison is possible.

Should a practice build this in Zapier, Make or n8n?

Only if a named staff member will own monitoring, retries and access control. Those tools keep run histories and error branches when configured, but the design, idempotency and upkeep fall to the buyer.

When should a practice wait before buying?

Wait when no one owns failed-payment follow-up, or when your PMS is not on a vendor's supported list. In both cases the blocker is a missing prerequisite, not the choice of software.

Bottom line for a small practice

Choose the category first: a dedicated platform or a PMS module. Then shortlist two vendors with published prices, such as BoomCloud or Smile Advantage if you want figures, or Bento if a per-patient fee fits your enrollment, and confirm PMS support in writing before any commitment. Assign the exception queue to a named person before you sign. If you want to see how a configurable renewal and exception workflow is laid out before committing, see how US Tech Automations configures this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.