Skip to content
AI & Automation

Dentist Two Way Texting Platform: 5 Steps to Choose (2027)

Oct 16, 2026

The short answer: shortlist platforms that show replies, PMS fit and price

A dentist two way texting platform is software that sends appointment and recall texts from a practice number and routes patient replies to staff in one shared dashboard or app. For most small offices, the shortlist should include only vendors whose own pages show three things: two-way replies in the plan you would buy, a named connection to your practice management system (PMS), and a price you can get in writing. Of the seven products reviewed here, Weave and Demandforce describe reply handling most directly, and NexHealth and Lighthouse 360+ publish the most specific PMS details. Most of the others are quote-based, so ask for written terms before comparing them.

TL;DR: Pick the platform whose replies land where your front desk works, whose PMS version is on its supported list, and whose total cost you have in writing.

Key Takeaways

  • On the pages we opened, Weave lists two-way texting in its Base Plan, and its bundles, which do not show it, sit below that plan on price.

  • Weave and CareStack publish starting prices; the other five products route pricing to a quote, a demo request or a "Get pricing" form.

  • NexHealth names Dentrix, Eaglesoft and Open Dental with minimum versions, so a version check is a fast first filter.

  • Building reminders yourself on a messaging API adds per-campaign fees before labor and carrier charges, so the build is not free.

  • Consent, opt-out handling and business associate terms are easy to skip; ask for them in writing before any demo.

What a two-way texting platform has to do in a dental office

A two-way platform has to do three jobs. First, a patient who replies to a reminder must reach a named person, with the reply tied to the right appointment. Demandforce's two-way texting page shows the pattern: a patient answers "Confirm" to keep a slot or "Reschedule" to ask for a new time, and staff see the reply in the dashboard with desktop alerts.

Second, replies must write back to the schedule. A confirmation that lives only in the texting tool creates a second list that someone reconciles by hand. Lighthouse 360+ says its confirmations go directly to the PMS, which is the behavior to ask every vendor to demonstrate.

Third, consent and content need a plan. Under federal telephone rules, texts are generally treated as calls that need prior express consent, and the healthcare exception that covers some appointment messages is narrow, with limits on frequency and content. Ask counsel to confirm how those rules apply in your state and to your message types. Keep appointment texts to the minimum detail a patient needs, because a text that names a procedure can disclose more than the patient expects. For an EHR-side setup, our two-way SMS recipe for eClinicalWorks walks through the steps.

How we evaluated these tools

This is an informed buyer's guide built from public vendor pages, NexHealth's developer documentation, one review site and one trade-press article. It is not a hands-on trial. We did not request quotes from vendors, and every price here comes from a vendor's own pricing or plan page. The weights below are our judgment about what a small office needs to decide.

CriterionWeight
Two-way replies: patients reply, staff see and answer in one place25%
Pricing transparency: printed price or a clear written-quote path20%
Named PMS integration with version or sync detail20%
Consent, opt-out and business associate evidence15%
Message allowance and plan limits stated10%
Implementation and contract evidence10%

Two-way replies carry the most weight because a texting tool that cannot route a reply has not solved the front-desk problem. Consent and compliance evidence scored low across the board, since most pages we opened did not publish opt-out handling or business associate terms. Treat that as a question for every vendor, not a sign of who is safer.

Feature matrix: what the vendor pages say

The factual columns below come from the vendor pages and documents we opened. "Not stated" means the page we opened did not say it, not that the vendor lacks it.

ProductTwo-way repliesStaff reply pathNamed dental PMSPrice on the pageFree trial stated
WeaveYes, in the Base PlanStaff text from a practice number in the app; group threadsNot named on pages openedStarting price shownNot stated
NexHealthMessaging listed; reply handling not describedNot describedDentrix, Eaglesoft, Open DentalQuote-basedNot stated
SolutionreachDescribed as text follow-up; staff inbox not describedNot describedNot named on pages openedQuote-basedNot stated
Lighthouse 360+Yes, one-to-one from the dashboardDashboard, no mobile neededPMS sync stated; systems not listedQuote-based (demo request only)Not stated
CareStackListed as two-way patient texting; plan unclearNot describedIs an all-in-one PMSStarting prices shownNot stated
RevenueWellYes, in all three plan columnsNot describedNot named on pages openedQuote-basedStated on homepage
DemandforceYes, "Two-Way Text"Dashboard alerts and saved templatesNot named on pages openedQuote-basedNot stated

Two patterns stand out. Weave and Demandforce describe staff reply handling in detail, while NexHealth's homepage says only that its messaging feature sends texts, not how replies come back. Lighthouse 360+ is the clearest on sync timing, and NexHealth is the clearest on which PMS versions it supports.

Pricing and total cost

Only two of the seven vendors print starting prices on the pages we opened. The others route you to a quote, a demo or a "Get pricing" form, and the table says so rather than estimating a figure.

ProductPlan names on the vendor pageStarting price on the vendor pageTwo-way texting on the vendor page
WeaveBase Plan; Coordinate Bundle; Attract BundleBase Plan from $199 a month; bundles at $149 a month, according to Weave (checked 2026)Yes, Base Plan
NexHealthModules: scheduling, forms, communications, paymentsQuote-basedMessaging listed
SolutionreachPatient Connect; Practice Efficiency; Practice Growth; EnterpriseQuote-basedNot confirmed on plan table
Lighthouse 360+Not named on the pageQuote-basedYes
CareStackEssentials; IntelligenceStarting prices published; see belowListed; plan unclear
RevenueWellStarter; Professional; PremiumQuote-basedYes, in all three plans
DemandforceNot named on the pageQuote-basedYes

Pricing checked October 16, 2026.

Essentials and Intelligence: starting at $829 and $1,299 a month according to CareStack (checked 2026). The same page says pricing depends on locations, chairs and providers, and that an implementation fee may apply in some cases (CareStack pricing page).

A starting price is not total cost. Ask each vendor for setup or implementation fees, forms upload charges, extra devices, per-location pricing and any per-message charges, in writing. Most of the pages we opened did not list those items, and that gap is the reason to ask.

Vendor profiles

Each profile separates what the vendor's page says from our read of fit.

Weave

Best fit: offices that want two-way texting, reminders and team messaging from one tool and can start on the Base Plan. Weave's plans page lists two-way texting as included in the Base Plan, and its texting page describes staff texting from a practice number, with group threads that contacts answer from their usual texting app.

Limitations: the two Weave pages we opened use different plan structures. One lists Base, Coordinate and Attract; the other lists Pro, Elite and Ultimate. Confirm the tier name and what it includes before you compare. Its pricing page lists bulk texting allowances of 1,500, 3,000 and 15,000 messages a month in tier order, according to Weave (checked 2026).

Red flag: a quote that does not state which tier includes two-way texting. Weave's plans page says plans can be built in a product demonstration with a Weave expert, so the final tier comes out of that conversation.

NexHealth

Best fit: offices running Dentrix, Eaglesoft or Open Dental that want the version check done before any sales call. NexHealth's supported-systems documentation lists Dentrix G6.2+, Eaglesoft 18+ (server) and Open Dental V17+ (server), according to NexHealth (checked 2026).

Limitations: the NexHealth pages we opened describe messaging as "Stop leaving voicemails. Start sending texts," but do not say how patient replies return to staff, so make a reply test part of the demo. Its pricing page lists modules, including scheduling, forms, communications and payments, with "Get pricing" buttons and no plan names.

Red flag: a PMS version that is not on the supported list, since the minimums are specific.

Solutionreach

Best fit: practices that want confirmations and patient follow-up by text and are comfortable with a quote-based build. Its homepage describes handling "quick questions, confirmations, and patient follow-up by text," but the pages we opened do not describe a staff inbox.

Monthly SMS allowances listed: 1,750, 3,500 and 4,500 according to Solutionreach (checked 2026). The page shows "Request a Quote" for three plans and "Get in Touch" for Enterprise, and it does not clearly map each allowance to a plan, so ask which plan carries which limit.

Limitations: the homepage says implementation time depends on the practice management software in place, so the PMS question sets the timeline. Red flag: a quote that does not say whether two-way replies are included.

Lighthouse 360+

Best fit: practices that want one-to-one texting from the dashboard and a fill-in text for last-minute cancellations, with a vendor focused on PMS-connected dental workflows. The features page says staff can "exchange texts right from the dashboard – no mobile needed."

PMS sync: every 10 minutes according to Lighthouse 360+ (checked 2026), and the same page says confirmations go directly to the PMS.

Limitations: the features page gives no pricing, contract length or terms, and it labels some services as add-ons. According to SelectHub, its listed drawbacks include that "the subscription fees associated with Lighthouse 360 may be a deterrent for smaller dental practices or those with budget constraints," which is a reason to request a written quote early.

CareStack

Best fit: offices ready to replace the PMS with an all-in-one system rather than add a texting tool. Its pricing page says there are "no other additional charges when you switch over," with the implementation-fee caveat noted above.

Limitations: the feature table lists "2-way Patient Texting" under Practice Growth, but the page does not clearly show which plan includes it. A PMS switch is a larger project than buying a texting tool. CareStack says it does not charge for third-party applications with an active integration, though those providers may pass fees through. Red flag: a switch you have not scoped with your staff.

RevenueWell

Best fit: offices that want texting bundled with patient engagement in a tiered plan. The plans page lists Starter, Professional and Premium, with "Two Way Text" under Patient Communication and a check in each plan column, and text limits of 750, 1,750 and 3,250 in plan order, according to RevenueWell (checked 2026).

Limitations: the plans page prints no monthly prices, and its add-ons, including an AI receptionist, are marked "Add-On" without a clear per-plan map. The homepage says free trials are available and contracts are monthly or annual, which you should confirm in writing. Red flag: a Starter-tier quote that leaves out the two-way text line item.

Demandforce

Best fit: offices that want staff to answer texts from a dashboard with saved templates and alerts. The two-way texting page says patients reply to reminders, staff respond from the dashboard, and templates can be saved for future use.

Pricing and history: the page shows a "Get pricing" button and no amounts, so treat it as quote-based. A 2016 trade-press item reported that Demandforce would add two-way texting at no additional charge to current customers, according to Dr. Bicuspid (2016). That is a decade-old statement, not a current plan term.

Limitations: the two-way page states no limitations and does not describe message volume caps or setup requirements. Red flag: a quote that does not say whether two-way texting is included in the plan you would buy.

Build it yourself or buy?

The real alternative for many offices is stitching this together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or building it in-house. Those tools can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when they are configured that way. The buyer still has to design and own observability, idempotency so a patient is not texted twice, escalation paths, access controls and maintenance after every PMS or texting update.

If you build on a messaging API, the fee floor is small but real: Campaign fees: $15 once per campaign, then $1.50 to $10 monthly according to Twilio (checked 2026). Brand registration is a separate one-time fee that depends on business type, so confirm the current amount with Twilio before budgeting. Twilio's Message resource exposes fields such as messaging_service_sid and date_sent, which you would need to log for every outbound text, according to its Message resource reference.

If you want a partner to design the workflow layer, US Tech Automations describes done-for-you builds on its own platform, with a person approving drafts before anything sends in its support workflow. Its public page names Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Sheets, HubSpot, QuickBooks and Stripe as integrations, not dental practice management systems, so a PMS connection would need to be confirmed separately.

The table uses only the Twilio figures above.

Cost lineBasisQuantityAmount
Campaign vetting, one time$15 per campaign1$15
Monthly campaign fee, top of published range$10 per month12$120
Year one, campaign fees onlySum—$135

Carrier per-message charges are not on the pages we opened, so the table excludes them, along with the time to build and maintain the logic.

Hypothetical: a practice that sends 1,000 texts a month and builds its own reminders on Twilio would pay $15 once plus $10 for each of 12 months, or $135 in year one at the top of the published range. The fee does not scale with the 1,000 texts, but per-message charges, which the pages we opened do not quantify, would. The larger cost is staff time: 3 hours a week spent building and checking reply logic is 156 hours a year. If the build logs messaging_service_sid and date_sent for every message, that logging sits inside those 156 hours rather than on top of them.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations

Skip a custom build from US Tech Automations in three cases. If your PMS already sends two-way replies to a queue your staff check, a native module is cheaper to run than a new workflow. If you want one shared inbox with no custom routing, a dental texting platform gives you that with less build. If nobody on your team can approve drafts, or you cannot give a builder read or export access to scheduling data, the workflow will stall, and a managed texting plan is the better fit.

Where replies go and who answers them

Here is a proposed, configurable design for the reply problem. It is not a live deployment and has no measured result. Trigger: an inbound patient text in the texting platform's message log, delivered by export or webhook, that contains a reschedule or cancel keyword. Action: classify the intent, match the patient to the appointment in a scheduled PMS export, and draft a reply from approved templates. Output: a draft in a review queue that shows the appointment, plus a row in a log. Prerequisites: API or scheduled export access to both the message log and the schedule, and a field that marks opt-outs. Human review: a staff member approves every reply that changes a booking, and any clinical question goes to a clinician and is never auto-answered.

A second proposed design covers no-shows and recall. Trigger: a no-show status or recall due date in the PMS export. Action: create a task for the front desk and queue a text from a practice-approved template. Output: a dated task and a text that sends only after approval. Prerequisites: scheduled export or read access to the schedule, and templates the practice has reviewed. Human review: staff confirm the patient's status before any text goes out, because an export can be a day old by the time a text would send.

Who this is for

Who this is for: an owner or operations lead at a small dental office who has narrowed the choice and needs a shortlist that can be checked by phone and in writing. If you also run an in-house membership plan, our dental membership platforms roundup covers renewal messages separately.

Red flags: your PMS is not on any vendor's supported list, you cannot get written pricing before a demo, or no one on your front desk can answer a patient text on a working day.

Decision checklist: 5 steps to choose

  1. Confirm your PMS and its version against the vendor's supported list, and get the minimum in writing.

  2. Ask for two-way texting in the exact plan you would buy, in writing.

  3. Run a reply test in the demo: have a test patient text "Reschedule" and watch where it lands.

  4. Get consent capture, opt-out handling and a business associate agreement in writing.

  5. Request a total-cost quote that covers setup, forms, extra devices, locations and any per-message charges.

Common mistakes

  • Comparing starting prices instead of the plan you would need.

  • Assuming "two-way" means a shared inbox that someone owns and checks.

  • Skipping the PMS version check until after purchase.

  • Putting procedure details in appointment texts.

  • Writing every reply template from scratch. Drafting a library takes time, and our roundup of general writing tools covers options if you want help.

  • Letting replies that change a booking go out without a staff approval step.

Frequently asked questions

Is two-way texting included in every dental texting plan?

No. On the pages we opened, Weave lists two-way texting in its Base Plan but not in its bundles, and RevenueWell's plan table appears to include it in all three plans.

Which dentist two way texting platforms publish starting prices?

Weave and CareStack publish starting prices on the pages we opened, and the other five products are quote-based on those pages.

Does the PMS version matter?

Yes. NexHealth's supported-systems documentation lists minimum versions for Dentrix, Eaglesoft and Open Dental, so check your version before you request a demo.

Generally yes. Federal telephone rules treat texts as calls that need prior express consent, and the healthcare exceptions are narrow, so confirm your use with counsel.

Should I build this in Zapier, Make or n8n instead?

Build it only if you will own monitoring, error handling, access control and upkeep. For most small offices, a dental platform needs less build effort.

Bottom line

Shortlist the platforms whose reply path, PMS version and written price all check out, and drop any that cannot show all three. If you need someone to design the workflow around the tool you choose, see how US Tech Automations configures this for a proposed build, with the access and review points named up front.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.