Docupace Alternatives for Independent RIAs in 2027: 6 Tools
Pick the job before you pick a vendor
Docupace alternatives fall into three groups, and most of the wasted effort in this search comes from comparing products across groups as if they were interchangeable. Advisor platforms such as Orion and Advyzon can replace several systems at once. Document repositories such as Box and SmartVault replace only the file store. Point tools such as OnBord and DocuSign replace only the intake or signing step. If your pain is records that are hard to find or hard to retain, start with a repository. If it is account-opening packets that come back incomplete, start with an intake tool. If you want one system of record and can absorb a larger migration, start with a platform.
A Docupace alternative is any product that stores, routes or signs the client and account-opening documents a firm currently runs through Docupace.
TL;DR: most independent RIAs will end up choosing between consolidating into one platform and keeping a lighter stack of a repository plus an intake tool. Most of the options here are quote-based, so get written quotes before you compare totals.
Key Takeaways
Choose by job first: storage, intake and signing each point to a different kind of vendor.
Docupace, Orion, Advyzon and OnBord showed no published prices on the pages we opened, so their costs require a quote.
Box, SmartVault and DocuSign publish at least some prices, which makes them the easiest to budget first.
Moving to a platform also moves CRM, portal and account-opening work, so treat it as a project rather than a tool swap.
Regulation S-P compliance dates have passed for registered advisers of both sizes, so vendor security documentation belongs on the shortlist.
An automation layer can route exceptions and log actions, but the repository or platform remains the system of record.
Why this decision is on the calendar
Docupace now sells a bundle rather than a single vault. Its site lists Document Management and New Account Opening alongside advisor transitions and compliance modules, and it names Hubly and PreciseFP as related brands. Wealth Management reported that Docupace had acquired Hubly, an RIA workflow platform, with integration planned to finish by the end of 2025 and terms undisclosed, according to Wealth Management (2025).
The usage figures Docupace reports for its subsidiaries are vendor-reported, but they show how quickly workflow tools are growing. Hubly: 719,559 workflows completed in 2025 according to InvestmentNews (2026), alongside 3.9 million individual tasks in the same year.
Adoption across the industry is moving too. Proposal and onboarding tools: 21.45% penetration in 2026 according to InvestmentNews (2026). That survey covers advisers generally, so read it as a trend rather than an RIA-only count.
Regulation is the harder deadline. Reg S-P deadlines: December 3, 2025 and June 3, 2026 according to Holland & Knight (2026). Larger registered advisers, those above $1.5 billion in assets under management, were due on the first date and smaller ones on the second. Both dates have passed, so a vendor that cannot produce its security and service-provider documentation should come off the shortlist early.
How we evaluated these tools
We read each vendor's public product and pricing pages, then checked the market context against trade press and a law-firm summary. We did not run any of these products, and no vendor supplied material for this guide. The weights below are our judgment. They tell you what to ask each vendor for in writing, not a score any vendor has earned.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it carries this weight |
|---|---|---|
| Document control and retention | 25% | Records must be findable, retained and traceable; Advyzon's page lists retention of 3 years, 6 years or lifetime |
| Advisor intake fit (forms, account opening, custodian paths) | 25% | This is the job most firms are replacing, so it outweighs generic storage |
| Integrations (CRM, custodian, e-signature, API or export) | 20% | Re-keying is where intake breaks; only 2 of the 7 product pages we read name specific CRM integrations |
| Client experience (portal, reminders, mobile) | 10% | Missing items are a common cause of delay, and OnBord's home page describes automated reminders |
| Implementation and migration effort | 10% | Platform moves touch several systems; a repository swap touches one |
| Pricing transparency | 10% | Only 3 of the 7 products show a price on their own pages |
Feature matrix: what the public pages state
Each cell records what the page we read says. "Not described" means the page did not mention the feature, which is not the same as the product lacking it. Treat those cells as questions to put to the vendor.
| Product | Document storage | Audit or event record | Client-facing access | Account opening or intake | E-signature | Price on page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Docupace | Document Management module listed | Not described | Not named on site | New Account Opening module; Docupace Next adds guided opening for Pershing, NFS and Axos | Not named on site | Quote-based |
| Orion | No vault product listed | Not described | Client Portal listed | Redtail, Schwab and Fidelity account-opening links | Not named | Quote-based |
| Advyzon | WORM-compliant document system | Audit trails listed | Client portal on a separate page | Not described | Not described | Quote-based |
| Box | File storage on business tiers | Event triggers in developer docs | Not described | Not described | Sign-request events in developer docs | Headline only |
| SmartVault | Secure storage for accounting and tax firms | Not described | Client collaboration on Business Pro | Not described | Not described | Yes, per plan |
| DocuSign | Not a document vault | Not described | Not a portal | Not an intake tool | eSignature plans | Yes, per user |
| OnBord | Collects data and forms; not described as a vault | Not described | Texted link for clients | Digital intake with reminders | Routes to e-signature partners | Quote-based |
Vendor profiles: where each option fits
Docupace, the baseline
Best fit: firms whose intake already runs through New Account Opening and who want the vendor that also owns Hubly and PreciseFP. Docupace's documentation says that entering initial account information creates a work item with the relevant forms, which then moves through review, signing and back-office processing, depending on how the firm has configured its workflow (Docupace documentation).
Limitations: the public site names no specific custodian, CRM or e-signature integration and publishes no prices. Docupace Next, launched in October 2026, is described as adding guided account opening for Pershing, NFS and Axos, a public GraphQL API and a consolidated signing packet, according to Wealth Management (2026). The same report does not mention pricing.
Implementation: before you treat Docupace Next as a reason to stay, ask for the custodian list, the export format and a written price in the same request.
Orion
Best fit: firms that want portfolio accounting, a client portal and a CRM from one vendor. Orion's advisor technology page lists a Client Portal and billing and reporting tools, and it names Redtail as Orion's own CRM with a two-way Salesforce sync (Orion). The page says Redtail can send a new contact directly into Orion's New Account Center, and it describes digital account opening workflows with Schwab and Fidelity.
Limitations: the page lists no document vault as an Orion product, and its only vault mention refers to eMoney. It publishes no prices and does not say pricing is quote-based. Implementation is a platform decision. Map where each client record, account file and form will live before you sign.
Advyzon
Best fit: firms that want compliance-style document storage with a client portal. Its document system offers WORM-compliant storage, audit trails, role-based permissions and a choice of retention periods. Retention periods: 3 years, 6 years or lifetime according to Advyzon (2026).
Limitations: the page we read publishes no prices and points visitors to request a demo. It sends client-portal detail to a separate page, so this review does not verify portal features. Implementation: confirm which retention setting matches your firm's policy before any records are migrated.
Box
Best fit: firms with someone who can script folder-based workflows on a general file platform. Box is not an RIA product, so the advisor-specific logic is yours to build. Box's pricing page shows the headline "From $5 Per User/Month," but it does not attach that figure to a named plan, and its business tiers carry a minimum of 3 users. API add-ons are sold through sales contact.
Limitations: the pages we read describe no RIA forms logic and no custodian connections. Confirm feature differences between tiers in writing, because the pricing text we read did not list them. Implementation: webhook setup and maintenance need developer time, and the endpoint has to stay reachable.
SmartVault
Best fit: accounting-led firms, or firms that want a published per-user price for storage and client collaboration. The pricing page is built for accounting and tax firms, and its Business Pro plan is aimed at small and medium businesses that need secure storage and client collaboration. SmartVault's Business Pro plan costs $65 per user per month when billed annually, according to SmartVault (2026).
Limitations: we opened only SmartVault's pricing page, so this review does not verify its compliance or retention features, and the public text does not address custodial account-opening forms. Implementation: confirm the seat model and the minimum user count before you commit, since Business Pro lists a minimum of 3 users.
DocuSign
Best fit: firms that already have their forms and file structure and need only signatures. Limitations: DocuSign does not hold the account file, the forms checklist or back-office status, and its enhanced plans are sold through sales contact. Implementation: pair it with a repository or platform, and decide early who owns the envelope templates. Plan prices appear in the pricing section below.
OnBord
Best fit: firms that want client intake and CRM handoff in a lightweight tool rather than a platform. OnBord's home page describes texting clients a link to complete their account information, sending SMS or email reminders for missing items, and delivering Form ADV 2A, Form CRS and ADV 2B to account holders, with DocuSign and Google integrations named. Its integrations page lists Redtail, Wealthbox, Salesforce Financial Services Cloud and Practifi.
Limitations: its pricing page publishes no prices and names no plans, and its only calls to action are labeled Schedule Demo (OnBord pricing). We found no custodian connections named on the pages we read. Implementation: confirm your CRM is on the integration list, because that mapping decides whether intake data lands in one place. If Docupace still holds your account file, OnBord would be the front end, not a replacement. For the onboarding-specific side of this decision, our PreciseFP alternatives guide covers the intake layer in more depth.
Who this is for
This guide is for owners and operations leads at small RIAs who already use Docupace or a similar intake system and are close to a decision. Choose a platform if one vendor should replace several tools. Choose a repository if your CRM stays put and you need controlled storage. Choose an intake or signing tool if the problem is the gap between client data and forms.
Red flags: a vendor that will not state a price in writing after a sales conversation; a plan that depends on a custodian or CRM the vendor cannot name; a migration plan that does not say how historical records and their audit trail move.
What each option costs
Pricing checked October 26, 2026. Four of the seven products publish no prices, so their totals must come from quotes. The three that publish figures are shown below, and every figure in this guide comes from a page we opened.
The two clearest figures come from DocuSign and Box. Standard plan on DocuSign: $30 per user per month according to DocuSign (2026), on an annual commitment. Box's headline price: From $5 per user per month according to Box (2026). Box's figure is a floor, not a plan price, because the page does not attach it to a named plan.
Table 3 below sets out the published plans with an illustrative 12-user annual cost, computed as users × monthly rate × 12 months at the annual-billing rate.
| Vendor | Plan | Published price | Minimum users | Illustrative 12-user annual cost | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Docupace | Not named on site | Quote-based | Not published | Quote-based | Wealth Management |
| Orion | Platform | Quote-based | Not published | Quote-based | Orion |
| Advyzon | Platform and document system | Quote-based | Not published | Quote-based | Advyzon |
| Box | Not tied to a plan | From $5 per user per month | 3 on business tiers | $720 at the $5 floor | Box pricing |
| SmartVault | Business Pro | $65 per user per month annual; $85 monthly | 3 | $9,360 | SmartVault pricing |
| SmartVault | Accounting Unlimited | $85 per user per month annual; $110 monthly | 2 | $12,240 | SmartVault pricing |
| DocuSign | Standard | $30 per user per month, annual commitment | Not stated | $4,320 | DocuSign pricing |
| DocuSign | Business Pro | $45 per user per month, annual commitment | Not stated | $6,480 | DocuSign pricing |
| OnBord | Not named on page | Quote-based | Not published | Quote-based | OnBord pricing |
Table 4 repeats the published figures this guide relies on, with the date each was read or published, so you can check them against the source before you use them.
| Figure | Value | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| DocuSign Standard plan | $30 per user per month, annual commitment | Read October 26, 2026 | DocuSign pricing |
| DocuSign Business Pro plan | $45 per user per month, annual commitment | Read October 26, 2026 | DocuSign pricing |
| SmartVault Business Pro plan | $65 per user per month annual; $85 monthly | Read October 26, 2026 | SmartVault pricing |
| Box headline price | From $5 per user per month | Read October 26, 2026 | Box pricing |
| Advyzon retention periods | 3 years, 6 years or lifetime | Read October 26, 2026 | Advyzon |
| Hubly workflows, vendor-reported | 719,559 in 2025 | October 12, 2026 | InvestmentNews |
| Proposal and onboarding tool penetration | 21.45% in 2026 | October 12, 2026 | InvestmentNews |
| Reg S-P compliance dates | December 3, 2025 (larger); June 3, 2026 (smaller) | May 2026 | Holland & Knight |
A worked example for a 12-person firm
Take an illustrative 12-person RIA that wants every account packet filed in one repository and signed in one tool. Using the published rates in the pricing section, twelve users on the Business Pro plan at SmartVault cost 12 × $65 × 12 = $9,360 a year billed annually, or 12 × $85 × 12 = $12,240 billed monthly. Twelve DocuSign senders on the Standard plan cost 12 × $30 × 12 = $4,320 a year. If the firm also wants an upload trigger on Box, the FILE.UPLOADED event applies to folders rather than individual files, according to Box Developer (2026), so the design needs one watched folder per intake stream. The $5 Box headline would add a floor of 12 × $5 × 12 = $720 a year, but that is not a plan price. The math leaves out implementation labor and any custodian or CRM fees, which these vendors do not publish.
Closing the gap between signed and filed
Whichever option you choose, the handoff between a signed form and a checked packet is where manual errors tend to accumulate, so it is the step to design first. A proposed design from US Tech Automations would start with a trigger in the CRM, when an opportunity moves to a "paperwork requested" stage. The configured action would create an onboarding folder in the chosen repository using a naming convention, attach the forms required for that account type and write a checklist status back to the CRM. The output is a checklist with open items for the operations lead. Prerequisites are API access or a scheduled export from the CRM with write permission, a service account limited to the onboarding folder, and a written list of required forms for each account type. The human review point is an operations person confirming the account type before any client-facing link goes out.
A second configurable flow would sit on the file side. When a signed form lands in a watched folder, the repository's upload event would start a check that compares the document type to the account's required list. A complete packet would route to the custodian step, and an incomplete one would go to an exception queue with the missing item named. Prerequisites include a Box developer app and webhook if the repository is Box, a document-type field that staff fill in, and a stable endpoint to receive the event. Staff verify the document type on every exception and confirm each packet before it leaves the firm.
Zapier, Make and n8n can run flows like these. When configured, they can keep run histories, retries and error branches, and some teams use those logs as audit evidence. The buyer still owns the design of idempotency, so a retried upload does not file twice, along with escalation paths, access controls and maintenance when a form or API changes. If your team already runs one of those tools well, keep it. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure the same retries, exception queue and log as parts of one flow, with the same prerequisites and review points, so the difference is who builds and maintains the flow.
Who should choose which option
The table below matches each product to the firm it suits and the situation where it is the wrong choice.
| Option | Choose it if | Look elsewhere if |
|---|---|---|
| Docupace | Your intake already runs through New Account Opening and you want the vendor that also owns Hubly and PreciseFP | You need published prices or a clear integration list before you can decide |
| Orion | You want portfolio accounting, a client portal and a CRM from one vendor | You need a document vault, since no vault product appears on Orion's page |
| Advyzon | You want a document system with WORM storage, audit trails and retention you can set | You need published prices before you can compare totals |
| Box | You have staff who can script folder-based workflows on a general file platform | You need RIA forms logic and custodian connections out of the box |
| SmartVault | Your firm is accounting-led or you need a published per-user price for storage | You need custodial account-opening forms, since its pricing page targets accounting and tax firms |
| DocuSign | You need signatures on forms you already have and nothing else | You need storage, retention or account-opening logic |
| OnBord | You want client intake, reminders and CRM handoff in a lightweight tool | You need custodian connections or a full document vault |
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip an automation layer if you need e-signature on a handful of forms each month, because DocuSign's plans or your platform's signing step cover that without a flow. Skip it if you have not chosen a system of record, since a flow built on a repository you later drop has to be rebuilt. Skip it if your custodian offers no API or export path, because the flow would then depend on staff re-keying data anyway. In each case the simpler tool is the better first step.
Decision checklist before you sign
Name the job first: storage, intake or signing.
Ask each vendor for a written quote at your user count and billing term.
Get the list of custodians and CRMs connected, in writing.
Confirm the retention settings and how you would export records if you leave.
Ask for the audit or event log format and how long it is kept.
Check the migration plan for historical files and their audit history.
Name the staff member who owns the workflow after go-live.
Mistakes that add cost later
Comparing a repository with a platform as if they did the same job.
Treating a "From" price as a plan price. Box's headline is not tied to a named plan.
Assuming a feature missing from a public page is absent. Ask in writing instead.
Buying e-signature and calling the intake problem solved.
Moving files before the retention rules are set.
Questions firms ask before switching
Is Docupace the only RIA-specific option?
No. Advyzon and Orion both sell advisor platforms with document or portal features, although neither public page we read matches Docupace's New Account Opening module feature for feature.
Which of these publish prices?
Three of the seven products show at least one figure on their own pages: Box, SmartVault and DocuSign. The other four are quote-based on the pages we read.
Does an automation tool replace a records system?
No. A workflow layer routes work and logs actions, but the repository or platform stays the system of record.
Is e-signature enough to replace Docupace?
No. Signing covers one step; it does not hold the account file, the forms checklist or back-office status.
Does Regulation S-P apply to a small RIA?
Registered advisers under $1.5 billion in assets fall in the smaller-entity group, and the compliance date for that group has already passed. Confirm your firm's status and obligations with counsel.
What should I ask a vendor before signing?
Ask for a written quote at your user count, the list of connected custodians and CRMs, the retention settings and the export format for your records.
Make the call before the next renewal
Decide whether you are replacing a vault, an intake process or a signing step, then shortlist two options in the same category and get written quotes. Platforms need the most migration planning, repositories need the most configuration, and point tools need the cleanest handoff to the file system. To see how that handoff could be configured, see how US Tech Automations configures this.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.